Reviews
937 reviews    1 2 3 30
Highland Expeditions - Iceland

Kjölur - South to North

5 star rating   11 July 2020

Ulla Raundrup (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Kjolur Ride | Fantastic terrain, skilled people around the horses and us. Our guide Bjørk was good at selecting horses that suited me and my level. The standard of the horses was far better than the tack (Satisfied/Very Satisfied). It was worn saddles and girths, saddlebags that were perforated and disgusting (Unsatisfied).


Highland Expeditions - Iceland

Kjölur - South to North

5 star rating   11 July 2020

Line Marie (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Kjolur Ride | Excellent


Explore Winter - Sweden

Explore Winter and Ice Hotel

5 star rating   21 March 2020

Christopher who has been on 8 In The Saddle rides. An Exciting Arctic Winter Adventure | We have fallen in love with the lovely sturdy Icelandic horses - so comfortable to ride and so willing in extreme conditions.

We had excellent tuition in tolting from Kerstin, Jenna and Gry. We rode several different horses each with their own personalty.

We also enjoyed looking after them - they were very patient with our rather inexpert attempts at grooming, tacking up etc.
[Becky from In The Saddle replied: It's great to hear how much you loved the Icelandic horses - they are great fun to ride!]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   19 March 2020

Helen (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Ant’s Hill, South Africa - Superb! | The riding is tailored to your needs and ability. The horses are extremely well cared for and a dream to ride. One minute your metres away from the wild zebra, giraffe or buffalo and the next you’re galloping along amazing tracks. The accommodation is second to none and Ant’s team take the time to make sure your every need is taken care of. It’s a magical holiday that would recommend without hesitation.


Kambaku Safari Lodge - Namibia

Kambaku Safari Lodge

5 star rating   18 March 2020

Inge (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Namibia's green explosion | The riding was magical, the guides made a very nice mix between places to trot and canter but also made time to walk through the bushes in the search for different wild life. The horses were cared for really well and were listening really well to the rider and guide. It was so much nicer than I could have imagined, the guides truly are wonderful people making you feel at home.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   17 March 2020

JE who has been on 7 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic riding, ranging from fast canters along the sandy tracks to long meanders through the bush tracking the game.
The guys who took us out were terrific- all very knowledgable and fun too. Special thanks to Lucas, Sekwhiri and Mozi (and Ant of course for giving up his precious time to take us out a few times ? ).
I rode 8 different horses and they were all different but I enjoyed each of them in their own way. My favourite was Niassa who I was lucky enough to ride most mornings.
Very happy healthy horses.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   16 March 2020

Eleanor (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Ant's Hill - A very special place | There are plenty of different types of horses available and staff are more than happy to help you find something that matches your wants and needs. You can change horses as much as you like or stick with the same one (although you would also have a backup to ensure they get rested). Horses seem happy and well cared for and it's so lovely that they are free to roam around the reserve and know to come home for food! The riding is excellent and varied and the staff are happy to tailor the riding to you completely - if you prefer to do a different route or pace to other guests you will be catered for.


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   15 March 2020

Donna who has been on 27 In The Saddle rides. Excellent trail | Had great horses which suited us nicely, Phil's initial horse went a little lame on day 5, so a replacement was bought out to him which was one of the guides' horses. He had a great ‘engine‘ and Phil loved him!


Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

5 star rating   14 March 2020

Fiona (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fabulous time with lovely Lusitanos! 🙂 | The horses were highly trained and very responsive; the instructors often changes horses to help you improve your riding and learn/experience specific movements.
Instructors are very passionate about their horses and helping you get as much as you can from you tuition.
It was lovely to be as hands on with your horse as you wanted to be; grooming, tacking up etc.
A lovely bonus was to see how their breeding programme works; the day I arrived a foal was born!
Right from the instructors down to the groom/chef/cleaners, I felt like one of the family by the time I left. 🙂


Ol Donyo Lodge - Kenya

Ol Donyo Lodge

5 star rating   13 March 2020

Patrick who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Luxury Riding safari surpasses all expectations. | The riding was excellent and set with the beautiful backdrop of both the Chulu Hills on one side and Mount Kilimanjaro on the other. Possibly one of the highlights was riding for 2.5 hours out to a bush breakfast complete with silver service on a table covered by a white table cloth.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   13 March 2020

Linnea Lund who has been on 20 In The Saddle rides. Stunning, best riding holiday ever! | I rode two different horses, and they were great bot hof them. Fast polite horses, I could trust them and enjoy the rides trhrough the bush.

I'll be back as soon as possible!
[Becky from In The Saddle replied: We are so pleased you enjoyed the riding at Ant's :-)]


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   12 March 2020

Janet who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Dressage and Trail riding with beautiful Lusitano horses and expert instructors in fabulous surroundings. | Fantastic to meet the brood mares, to ride very well trained dressage horses and enjoy the fabulous accommodation and beautiful landscape. Everyone at Monte Velho were very welcoming and helpful.


Los Alamos - Spain

Short Break

5 star rating   8 March 2020

Angie who has been on 12 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous short-break | The pace of the riding could have been a bit faster but the actual rides were wonderful. Great location and beautiful scenery. My two horses were lovely especially Paloma, a real sweetheart.


Los Alamos - Spain

Short Break

5 star rating   8 March 2020

Rosemary who has been on 37 In The Saddle rides. Consistently good riding | It's my fourth time at Los Alamos (albeit over a period of 16 years) though my first on a short break. In general on riding holidays I prefer slightly longer time spent in the saddle, with longer canters and a bit less time spent walking (makes my back ache!), but I also know the soft sand is hard for the horses so the rides entirely met my expectations. I'm coming back again next year so that says it all really. Great hospitality, lovely people and gorgeous horses.


El Bronco - Hungary

Trail Clinic

5 star rating   8 March 2020

Ida Karoline who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Great holiday | I asked for calm and well behaved horses for me and my boyfriend, as it's been a while since I've been riding and my boyfriend has never ridden before. I think the horses we had were a little lazy, and difficult to keep going forward, but otherwise the horses seemed very kind and patient. They seemed to have a really nice life at El Bronco.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   7 March 2020

who has been on In The Saddle rides. Relaxing, fun, superbly organised | The week began with a lesson in the indoor school - very worthwhile. It gave us a chance to get a feel for the horses and the instructor/guides an opportunity to assess our riding. Quite a lot of the terrain is either uphill or downhill, but the horses are familiar with the routes, know their jobs and seem happy in their work. Pace was varied throughout the day. Trots and canters were plentiful. Significant advance planning by the team made sure we rode a variety of different routes - not always starting or ending in the same place.

I rode 4 different horses across the week and enjoyed being able to swap. If nothing else, it eases any saddle/stirrup pressures and gives welcome variety. We rode out with 3 different guides and this was also a good thing. Each guide had something different to tell us, a slightly different approach/attitude, new conversation, etc. Without fail every guide was incredibly cheerful, helpful and great at balancing safety with excitement.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   7 March 2020

Vanessa who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Beautiful island views from the back of willing horses | I rode five different horses, each with their own unique character. All of them were extremely capable and willing and very well suited to the terrain. The owner, Christina, and the guides asked for feedback after every ride and took that into account when matching you up with a horse for the following day.

The riding was varied and fun. Walk where it was steep, but plenty of trots and canters were faster paces were possible. Also some really fun gallops where it was safe. They really look after their riders and check on the wellbeing of everyone regularly. The horses are well-loved and well looked after.

Very knowledgeable guides who shared detailed information about the local flora and fauna.


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   6 March 2020

Polly who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Lovely relaxing week at a friendly location. | The riding was excellent, and the quality of teaching and horses very high.


Ol Donyo Lodge - Kenya

Ol Donyo Lodge

5 star rating   2 March 2020

Loretta who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Wonderful and lovely | This was my 5th visit and each year has been better. The new horses are great and the riding is still interesting after returning year after year.


Estancias Ride - Chile

Estancias Ride

5 star rating   28 February 2020

Ingrid who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Breathtaking! | We were riding up to 50km a day - up to 9 hours a day - and after 5 days I had a sore back and skipped 2 days of riding. We were at a lovely estancia and another girl took 2 days off as well, so we had lots of fun. I'm 65, so I think in future I'd book rides that involved fewer hours in the saddle.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   25 February 2020

Plum who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Out of this world the best hoilday in a long while | The horses were the best I’ve had on this type of hoilday. A joy to ride ex racehorses. They were best cared for horses too .


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   23 February 2020

Vivien who has been on 30 In The Saddle rides. Wonderful | Another wonderful week at Los Alamos. This time, I spent most days riding Galeno - a lovely horse, speedy but controllable and beautifully schooled. The February weather was perfect for riding, really sunny and fresh (nice change from the storms in the UK!). [Lois from In The Saddle writes: I am so pleased that you enjoyed your return trip. The winter sun is well deserved indeed.]


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   23 February 2020

Elaine who has been on 10 In The Saddle rides. Perfect combination of riding willing well cared for horses and relaxation. | Rachel did an excellent job of selecting Camboria for me to ride, she was very willing, speedy yet responsive. Both Jose and Roberto made sure that the rides were fun, fast and safe. All the horses and tack were well cared for, the horses certainly looked forward to their daily shower.


Explore Winter - Sweden

Explore Winter and Ice Hotel

5 star rating   22 February 2020

Jill who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Amazing holiday. | Horses very well looked after and clearly loved. While the rides were not long, due to the cold, they were the right length.


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   22 February 2020

Zarum (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Great Experience. | This family-owned and run property shows how this wonderful family took a raw canvas 25 years ago and have painted a masterpiece of a property and resort for lovers of dressage and the Lusitano horse. We were attracted to the combination of old world feel and modern accommodations when we first researched the property. The Owner is an architect who has seamlessly blended the transformation of the ruined farmhouse they started with and the modern pods that house the bedrooms. One of the first things you come across when entering the property is the brilliant views in all directions. As you drive up to the parking area you are surrounded by dressage arenas and stables housing some magnificent horses. Further views of the surrounding fields yielding an array of pregnant mares. In fact, one night after arrival we were blessed with the sight of a foal who the day before we had walked amongst its pregnant mother. The experience of standing amongst this newborn, its mother and the other one and two-year-old Lusitanos was one of the highlights of the visit. We checked into our spacious and modern room with a sweeping view off the balcony. The dining room was a warm, and welcoming room where we dined three times a day on some great food surrounded by other wonderful guests. The conversations almost always revolved around each person's dressage lessons that day or their trail ride around the property. Adjacent to one of the room pods and across from the dining room is a common space in the form of a very comfortable and spacious living room with an honesty bar that is available to guests 24hrs. From the sliding doors of the common living room, you step out onto patios which look out to the swimming pool and acres of stunning scenery laced with the famous Portuguese cork tree and a small lake where you can take out a canoe. Also in that area is the gym, sauna, and massage room. The staff is all exceptional from the kitchen staff who greet you and cater to your appetite to the riding staff who work with you to better your dressage level. We can attest to the fact that after a week we left far better riders than when we arrived. The property is also a breeding facility where currently one of Portugal's entry into the upcoming summer Olympics in Tokyo and his stunning steed are training. One suggestion I would make to future guests is this. If you are a fairly new rider or you want the full attention of the instructors during your lesson, make sure you book the lessons in that manner. Otherwise, you may find that you will have one instructor to two people and they have to balance the time of the lesson between the two. Other than that, it was a great week and we hope to be back in the future. You won't be disappointed at Monte-Velho whether you are a rider not.

[Imogen from In The Saddle says: It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time at Monte Velho and that you gained so much from your lessons.]


Ol Donyo Lodge - Kenya

Ol Donyo Lodge

5 star rating   19 February 2020

Janet (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fantastic! | It was pure excellence. Monica was caring and accommodating both to the needs of her horses and her clients. Wonderful people


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   17 February 2020

Karen who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Best holiday ever | The riding was brilliant. The horses were responsive, easy to ride and extremely well cared for. Being able to get so close to the animals without the sound of vehicles was a highlight. We enjoyed the mix of riding. We spent time wandering gently through the bush, climbing and descending rocky slopes, cantering along sandy tracks and galloping for miles on horses that never seem to tire. The absolute best bit of the day was riding to sundowners in a different location each night.
[Becky from In The Saddle replied: It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your holiday and the riding at Ant's! Maybe we can arrange another trip for you soon.]


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

4 star rating   8 February 2020

Alison who has been on 12 In The Saddle rides. Lovely horses. | I chose to just take lessons and having been there once before I knew what to expect. They have some new horses and the horses I rode all taught me something. Being taught a couple of times by Joao (now selected to represent Portugal for the Olympics) was a real privilege. Other lessons were good although could start to feel a little 'samey' over time.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   8 February 2020

Susan who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Horse riding in paradise | Thrilling riding on much loved ,well trained ,reliable ,forward going horses through varied, breath taking landscapes with well informed guides who told us all about the local environment, history and geology as we went. And so many fields of dairy cows! i loved every moment.


Winter Ride - Romania

Winter Ride

4 star rating   8 February 2020

Anne-Marie who has been on 28 In The Saddle rides. An interesting experience | Having been to Romania before and really enjoyed the trail ride I was very much looking forward to seeing it at a different time of year and riding the horses again. Unfortunately, conditions weren't quite as hoped initially and there was much rain and mud in the first couple of days, and the horses on the first day were very fresh and lively and 3 riders were unshipped. Things improved later in the week when the snow arrived, and the whole landscape looked entirely beautiful, and the Wednesday afternoon ride was gorgeous. The Thursday morning ride didn't entirely go to plan as there was much ice meaning the horses couldn't go faster until later in the ride, by which time a couple of them had got quite worked up. By Friday the snow had finally properly come, and the Friday morning ride was long with many canters through the powdery snow which were wonderful. I also particularly enjoyed the Monday and Friday afternoon rides where the group was consisting of only 2 or 3 riders and the horses appeared a little more relaxed and we were able to go flat out on a couple of canters without any concerns that things may go awry.We did also have an encounter with a family of wild boar running in front of us which was wonderful to see. I did get slightly over-horsed on one morning, but was able to swap and after that was allocated horses within my capabilities which were a pleasure to ride, I was especially fond of Kiruna, Ayda and Widra.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   3 February 2020

Linda who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Most amazing experience ever on holiday | For me the riding was amazing as was the closeness to the horses and other animals. I thoroughly enjoyed leisurely meandering on horseback to see and photograph the wild animals, insects and birds in close up or trotting along the pathways and listening to the different guides' local understanding of the environment and wildlife (the guides had exceptional knowledge at Ant's for birdwatching) The landscape was breathtaking and I loved cantering along sandy tracks, bush riding and open grasslands in the sun at Ant's as my confidence grew and riding up and down the slopes and rocky terrain at Moolmans (especially to explore the cave paintings). Both centres I felt, had close links to the environment, knowledge of the flora and fauna and an exceptional feel for conservation.

I had been a nervous rider to begin with but my horses were always matched to my level of riding confidence. My friends were able to gallop off into the distance when they wanted more challenging riding and we had our own guides with us throughout the rides. Although the terrain was very different at both centres, I was quickly able to adapt and enjoy the comfortable saddles and long rein style with the help of the riding staff and the amazingly surefooted Boerpeds that I rode while others rode equally competent, schooled Arabs, Thoroughbreds or cross- bred horses. This was a spectacularly wonderful riding holiday.


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa

African Explorer

5 star rating   31 January 2020

Sarah-Lee who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Amazing | Excellent


937 reviews    1 2 3 30