Reviews
668 reviews    1 2 3 21
Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride Seville Feria Week

5 star rating   8 May 2022

Elise who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous and varied rides on well mannered and forward going horses. | The horses at Los Alamos are very much loved. The riding is at varied paces and exhilarating at times. If you like a more forward going or steadier horse there will be a suitable horse for you. I have always felt safe and Rachel and her team at the stables are excellent hosts and look after horse and rider very well.


Tombstone Monument Ranch - Arizona

Tombstone Monument Ranch

5 star rating   8 May 2022

Paul (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) What a fantastic holiday! | The ranch was extremely well run and the staff were all extremely helpful.
The horses were all very well trained and are super easy to ride, real confidence giving horses for beginners.
The variety of trail rides was excellent and the wranglers management and supervision of the rides was superb.


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa

African Explorer

5 star rating   6 May 2022

Jodie (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) African expoler | Excellent


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon

5 star rating   2 May 2022

Alison who has been on 12 In The Saddle rides. Another wonderful holiday | Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   1 May 2022

Caroline who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. The perfect holiday | Perfect balance of good riding and relaxation


Catalan Coastal Trails - Spain

Dali Beach & Coast Trail

5 star rating   1 May 2022

Raymond who has been on 10 In The Saddle rides. Homage to Catalonia | Exceeded expectations
Just the right amount of challenge to keep the adrenaline levels up
Very impressively schooled, fit and willing horses
Got well used to the tacking up routine after a couple of days
Very professional and safe guide Corinna and super guy trail assistant Om.


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   1 May 2022

Hilde who has been on 10 In The Saddle rides. The most amazing riding holiday ever! | The riding itself met all expectations. The horses were super calm and stabile when we met/looked at animals. It was a lovly terrain to ride in, and there were so many animals 🙂
We also had som long, nice canters. Som alongside hords of impalas and zebas - absolutley fantastic!


White Stallion Ranch - Arizona

White Stallion Ranch

5 star rating   1 May 2022

Donna who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Escape to the sunny relaxing ranch | Having visited twice before it definitely met my expectations and even had my requested horse


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   1 May 2022

Juliette who has been on 16 In The Saddle rides. As fun as it always is | Excellent


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   1 May 2022

Elisabeth who has been on 18 In The Saddle rides. Adventure | The horse was forwardgoing as I asked for and with a nice temper. Good match 🙂


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   1 May 2022

Merete who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous horses, people and nature | Great horses that behaved fantastic, great tracks and guides!! I absolute need to do this again sometime!


Velani Country Hotel - Crete

Sun and Riding

5 star rating   30 April 2022

Ann who has been on 15 In The Saddle rides. None of us rode this year. Horses look very good, excellently cared for, and tack clean and well cared for. Saddles looked newish and very comfortable.
.
All horses even the stallion were very well behaved in their stables.


Velani Country Hotel - Crete

Sun and Riding

4 star rating   30 April 2022

Penny who has been on 9 In The Saddle rides. A relaxing week in a stunning location | I did not ride!


Velani Country Hotel - Crete

Sun and Riding

5 star rating   24 April 2022

Lesley who has been on 9 In The Saddle rides. Crete - fabulous week with the right balance of riding and holiday | Our guide, despite only having been in post 3 weeks was very knowledgeable and attentive to our needs. The scenery was spectacular, even some snow on the highest peaks. The tracks were mainly very stony and hard with frequent patches of concrete which could be very s!ippery but the horses were very sure footed. I have to say most of the places we cantered I would never have dreamed of cantering on but the horses are obviously used to it.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   24 April 2022

Sally (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Beautiful horses in Andalucia! | I had no expectations having not been on a riding holiday before, and went with an open mind.
I found the horses a joy to ride, as they were naturally so forward going, and needed only the lighest touch of aids. They were also very well mannered.
The trails were beautiful and peaceful through the forest, and exhilerating and wild along the beach.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   24 April 2022

Jane who has been on 18 In The Saddle rides. The horses at Los Alamos never disappoint. The riding was wonderful and the beach as stunning as ever.


Velani Country Hotel - Crete

Sun and Riding

5 star rating   24 April 2022

Paul who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Hotel with stable attached | A fairly relaxed week with excellent accommodation and food. Riding is mainly on hard ground - gravel, stone, concrete carved out of the hills. The horses cope with it extremely well but best not to fall off! Really nice guides, very helpful. All the hotel staff were great too.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   24 April 2022

Sarah who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. A great holiday with my lovely sister! | The riding on this holiday was excellent for many reasons: the horses were lovely to ride, well trained and willing. the terrain, views and beach were perfect and the length of time in the saddle was just right for me...not too long so as to be tiring but plenty of time to relax and enjoy the whole experience. The gallops were amazing!


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   24 April 2022

Jane (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Best thing I’ve done in a very long time | The rides met and expanded on my expectations. Of course an early highlight was that first beach gallop yet there was also such peace and tranquillity in meandering through the pine woods. I thoroughly enjoyed every single ride.

One thing I would say to anyone who, like me, rode a lot as a child but now only rides once a week in the past few years as an adult: You do not need to say you’d like a forward-going horse as they are all incredibly fit and responsive. Rachel matched me with a beautiful Arab gelding who was very sweet natured and I was extremely happy riding him for the whole week. Most of my fellow riders were far more experienced than me and I wouldn’t have been as comfortable as they were riding the more spirited horses.


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   20 April 2022

Flora (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Macatoo - Loads of fun! | The riding was excellent - we cantered and even galloped. Cantering with zebras is an unforgettable experience. Horses were good and well cared.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   19 April 2022

Katie who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Quinta Do Rol - First Class | This short stay vacation met all my requirements and exceeded my expectations. It felt like home, the horses and training were excellent and the staff were passionate, knowledgeable and friendly. A safe environment with well kept horses, tack and equipment. Lockers for your riding equipment.


Borana - Kenya

Lodge stay

5 star rating   18 April 2022

Steve (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Borana/House in the Wild - A wonderful memorable experience | The riding was exciting, varied and very well guided. We are experienced riders and were not disappointed with any aspect of the offer. long canters, exciting gallops, fun jumps over natural terrain, very well thought thorough days in the saddle.


White Stallion Ranch - Arizona

White Stallion Ranch

5 star rating   17 April 2022

Christine (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Amazing | The riding was lovely, we wished we could have stayed longer, two of us hadn’t ridden but felt very comfortable at all times. The scenery was exactly what we had hoped for.


Velani Country Hotel - Crete

Sun and Riding

5 star rating   17 April 2022

Jane (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Amazing experience | Instructors were excellent, support was fantastic and riding was wonderful


Lassithi Trek - Crete

Lassithi Trek

5 star rating   10 April 2022

Alison who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. On the first morning Sabine sat down with the group and asked us about our riding experience and what type of horse we wanted to ride. She then matched us with our horses and we had a three hour introductory ride to get to know them. We were all happy with the horses and no one wanted to change. My horse was a lovely mare called Iris who was forward going and enjoyed a canter but she also felt very safe.
The riding met my expectations - there was lots of ups and downs as we crossed the mountains to and from the south coast but we still did plenty of canters, including a couple of long canters on the flat. The ground was uneven in places but all the horses seemed fine with it. We had to walk our horses on a few downhill sections but not for very long at a time.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   10 April 2022

Sarah who has been on 11 In The Saddle rides. Riding holiday | Riding was fantastic. Good balance of relaxing and exhilaration. Horses I rode were all very fit and well mannered.


Lassithi Trek - Crete

Lassithi Trek

5 star rating   10 April 2022

Jackie who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Wonderful | I just wanted to say a big thank for another super holiday! We had the best time, Velani was amazing, horses great, food was delicious, weather was lovely, the staff, guides everyone were brilliant. To top it off, we had the most amazing group, who all got along so well. The scenery was spectacular and we were mostly totally off the beaten track well away from roads, tourists, people


Lassithi Trek - Crete

Lassithi Trek

5 star rating   10 April 2022

Anabel who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Incredible trip with amazing horses across the best landscapes Crete has to offer! | Really fabulous trip, I had a great time and created some memories that will last forever. Everything was really well organised, the hosts were very attentive, delicious food always provided and the horses were wonderful and very well cared for and looked after.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   10 April 2022

Kim who has been on 8 In The Saddle rides. Perfect | This was my fourth visit to Los Alamos and my favourite. The riding, as always, was perfect for the terrain and climate. The horses are extremely fit and forward, even the more sedate ones! They need to be ridden, not just sat upon, but they are very forgiving when you use a bit too much ‘English style’ before you’re used to the more relaxed ‘Spanish style’! Rachel clearly loves her horses and will always ensure their needs are met and no horse will do more than its fair share, reassuring if you love horses!


Los Alamos - Spain

Short Break - Sunday to Thursday

5 star rating   7 April 2022

Susan who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. The time of my life | The riding exceeded my expectations. The horses were so beautifully schooled and responsive. At no time did I feel that I might not be able to stop at canter or gallop.

The horses were so fit and nimble footed. My horse (Gordi) barely broke out into a sweat after a full days riding.

All the staff were delightful. Rachel has an uncanny ability to match horse to rider. Jose and Roberto were so relaxed but inspired confidence.

The terrain was perfect. I couldn't have wished for better. The pine forests with wild rosemary and lavender, the deep sandy tracks, the magnificent fire break gallops and, of course, the beach.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   3 April 2022

Mette Lise (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Los Alamos | The tack was fine, a lot was done to make the saddles comfortable to sit in, for many hours. The paddocks were not fantastic seen with Danish eyes, but think they were perfectly ok for Spanish conditions. The horses were taken really well cared of.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

4 star rating   3 April 2022

Tine Anette (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Los Alamos | Gel pads were provided on the saddles which was very nice when riding for many hours.
Absolutely safe and willing horses.
Beautiful terrain.


668 reviews    1 2 3 21