Reviews
1170 reviews    1 2 3 37
Moolmanshoek - South Africa

Riding Holiday

5 star rating   3 December 2019

We are very very happy of our riding vacation at Moolmanshoek! We are both experienced riders and we have to say that the horses at Moolmanshoek are the best we ever ride! Very well trained horses, well responsive and quite! The guides are amazing ad well and the tracks we did were different every day!


Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

4 star rating   29 November 2019

All the horses were well schooled, but some were better than others in gaits and agility. The boxes were a little small for some of the horses. The tack ranged from "good condition to easier worn." I was challenged on my riding skills that I can use on the horses at home in Denmark. This is not the last time I book a holiday with Rid & Rejs.


Ultimate Uruguay - Uruguay

Ultimate Uruguay

5 star rating   27 November 2019

It took me a day or two to adjust to the Uruguay gaucho style of riding (different from other gaucho/western riding I've done) but it was a great way to see a beautiful country. The beaches, especially in the Rocha province, were absolutely stunning and we did the most chilled out, relaxed canters I've ever done on a beach.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   25 November 2019

The rides were great, the guides chose the best times of the day to avoid the real heat of the day and to ensure the horses were cared for.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   24 November 2019

Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   24 November 2019

The horses are a dream, beautiful Spanish horses perfectly matched to each rider, Rachel is a genius at knowing which would suit you best.


Fin del Mundo - Argentina

Mitre Peninsula

5 star rating   23 November 2019

The riding was a good combination of slow and fast with a bit of climbing thrown in for good measure. Excellent. Good to have had the same horse for the whole trip as that builds a bond and confidence and allows for more independent riding which gives an amazing sense of freedom.


Wait A Little - South Africa

Ride and Dine Safari

4 star rating   23 November 2019

The riding was described as pacy with jumps. It wasn't which gave us one extremely awkward day when the issue was raised and dealt with aggressively and in a very confrontational way by the owners.

I am unsure exactly what happened but to me that day...on an expensive holiday …. was wasted and deeply unpleasant

I don’t expect hosts to shout at their guests! I do expect a holiday to match descriptions


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa

African Explorer

5 star rating   22 November 2019

Definitely to be recommended


Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

5 star rating   19 November 2019

Instruction was brilliant. You often are asked to do things whilst riding, carry your hands at a certain height, sit on this or that seat bone, but not often are the effects of the aids explained in detail. George was excellent at doing this. I enjoyed his and Renato's lessons very much and look forward to a return visit.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   18 November 2019

As with our previous trip to Ant's, the riding was exceptional - varied and exciting. The guides were engaging, entertaining and knowledgable. The quality , variety and preparation of the horses was outstanding and the team went to great lengths to match horses, riders and groups to ensure we all got the best from our rides.


Lesotho Expedition - Lesotho and South Africa

Lesotho Expedition

5 star rating   18 November 2019

This is a fantastic ride with a good amount of time in all paces. Some brilliant long canters on lovely terrain, the horses on our ride were all strong, sure footed, polite and trustworthy - total heroes.

The landscape is beautiful and different every day - with good, clean and comfortable accommodation every night, even when basic.

The team were amazing - absolutely nothing was too much trouble - friendly and welcoming (I am a solo traveller and never felt at a loose end), excellent company and a lot of fun. The guides were very knowledgable about the country and its history (I learnt a lot), about the mountains and about the horses. They looked after the horses brilliantly.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   17 November 2019

Early in the week we found the riding a little too focused on long canters and then over an hour of walking. However, once we mentioned we would prefer shorter canters and shorter periods of walk changes were made and the result was superb. Plenty of close up animals and fantastic riding.
[Becky from In The Saddle replied: It's great to hear you enjoyed the riding :-)]


Los Alamos - Spain

Short Break

5 star rating   17 November 2019

Excellent


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   17 November 2019

Excellent


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina

Estancia Los Potreros

4 star rating   17 November 2019

All of my riding experience is in the English style and this holiday requires a very different riding style which it took a bit of getting used to. I'd encourage ladies to take advice on sports bras seriously. The Criollo horses were a little bit bouncy for me (I'm about 7 and a half stone) so it can be difficult to screw myself into a saddle, but the Pasos were wonderful.

The riding was at a varied pace and the mix of activities (standard hack / herding cattle / herding horses / gaucho games meant that it was kept interesting.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   16 November 2019

The riding was varied and at times quite fast paced. Given the size of the group (9 riders plus two guides) and bad weather at times, the guides did incredibly well to keep within everyone's limits while keeping things interesting for those of us who like to push ourselves a bit more.

The horses were lovely - forward going but manageable and reliable - and were obviously very well looked after.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   16 November 2019

Yes, our leader, Mel, did a great job of keeping us moving at suitable speeds to match the terrain and keep us safe


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   16 November 2019

Excellent


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   16 November 2019

My mare Tatum was perfect for me...kind, forward going and polite - a real credit to the training given by the Wild Coast team. All the group seemed really happy with the horses they were matched with. These horses are fit and clearly love their job.
The riding, whether on pristine beaches, crossinf rivers, through the hills and valleys or in villages, was perfectly paced with plenty of long fast canters and loads of photo opps. The tack was comfortable and in good condition. Our guides Mel and Tertia, plus Chelle in support, couldn't have been better - safety conscious, caring of the horses and super fun.
Julie-Anne spent time with us at meals on the first and last days which was lovely. She is deservedly proud of her operation. I've done many rides all over the globe and this is one of the very best!

(Claire from In The Saddle comments: We are so delighted that you had such a great riding holiday.)


Assam Tea Gardens - India

Heritage Ride with Arunachal Pradesh

5 star rating   16 November 2019

Super horses, well cared for and well led.

Good variety of riding experience from ambling walks to exciting canters. Appropriate rest periods and refreshments along the way.

Great tack and stabling.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   16 November 2019

Expectations fully met. Our second visit to the Wild Coast - a longer trail this time. Julie Ann's horses are amazing, clearly very well loved and cared for, sure footed, fast when you want them to be, with brakes, and with the stamina to go for 30 - 40 kms a day and still be up for fast canters or gallops . The riding is varied and interesting (who knew horses could climb rocks?), fun and fast on the endless beaches, challenging at times when negotiating rivers and steep inclines inland and up and down to the beaches, relaxing to meander through the villages. I love the Leon Liversage trail saddles that are used - comfortable and secure. Troy is one of the best trail horses I have ever ridden. Guides Mel and Tertia worked extremely hard to look after all of us and made sure that everyone's needs were catered for. All done with a smile even on the day that rain peed down on us for 6 hours!! They were also very good hosts at meal times. Michelle provided great back up and was also a fun, cheerful companion at meal times.


Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

5 star rating   15 November 2019

Excellent


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   12 November 2019

Please add any further comments on the riding e.g. did it meet your expectations: I rode two trail horses and four arena horses (we had a trail ride and lesson each day). The only blip was my very first trail horse, Conquistador, who is the biggest trail horse, i.e. the smallest, lightest (43kg) person was on the biggest striding horse! I was OK but then slightly anxious about later horse matches. However, my first lesson was on trusty Xico so all was well. I haven’t had arena lessons for many years and never Dressage lessons. I enjoyed the lessons more than I thought I would and the instructors deserve a medal for patience! The experience exceeded my expectations.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   10 November 2019

Los Alamos has fabulous well bred and trained horses.


Horses, Dunes & Nomads - Morocco

Horses, Dunes & Nomads

5 star rating   10 November 2019

Yes, a good variety.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   10 November 2019

I loved the riding but could have ridden for longer, but realise it is hard work in the sand for the horses.


South Kaipara - New Zealand

Riding Holiday

5 star rating   10 November 2019

Rod, Bev and their daughter Georgie took really good care of us. Your rarely meet such a hospitality what we met in their farm. I feel like we got three really good friends from the other side of globe.

Bev's breakfasts and dinners were brilliant and we also got good picnick lunch every day.

We rode in really different kind of beautiful areas everyday with Rod and Georgie and they gave us a lot of information of the area. Horses were safe and still forward going.

[Becky from In The Saddle replied: We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday in New Zealand :-)]


South Kaipara - New Zealand

Riding Holiday

5 star rating   10 November 2019

Rod and Georgie were very good guides. Every day was different and allowed us to see a variety of terrain.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon

2 star rating   8 November 2019

All the horses seemed relaxed but willing and, even on faster rides, did not feel the need to bunch up close.
At this time of year, those at the back of the ride get to eat quite a bit of dust, and 8 riders can be uncomfortable.


Pushkar Fair - India

Pushkar Fair Forts & Palaces full ride

5 star rating   8 November 2019

It more than met my expectations. I did not realise that marwari horses are fantastic endurance horses and the soft tracks are ideal for long canter and gallops. It made up for the serious disappointment of Romania which, though riding endurance horses, is comparatively slow.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   8 November 2019

Horses are lovely. I rode four, all very acceptable but one of which particularly took my fancy. A lovely little Arab called Xia Xia , keen, with a bit of 'personality'. The other three were absolutely fine too but it's always good to have a favourite.
We were especially pleased to have some faster paced riding with some long canters with Moses, among others. Obviously we spent a lot of time just walking and watching the wildlife and it's a pleasure to be able to get so close.
[Becky from In The Saddle replied: Thank you so much for your lovely feedback and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your return visit to Ant's Nest]


1170 reviews    1 2 3 37