Reviews
846 reviews    1 2 3 27
Chianti Castles and Wine Tasting - Italy

Chianti Castles and Wine Tasting

5 star rating   10 October 2021

Elizabeth (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Wine tasting and horse riding Tuscany | Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   10 October 2021

Flynn who has been on 15 In The Saddle rides. Excellent as always | Excellent


Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

5 star rating   10 October 2021

Emily who has been on 17 In The Saddle rides. MIYAK TRIBE TRAIL | Lovely horses and very well looked after.


Transylvania Trail - Romania

Transylvania Trail

5 star rating   9 October 2021

Cathryn (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fantastic trip | The horses were really lovely- their care was the number one consideration for the team there. They were extremely fit and responsive, and I felt mine were well matched.
The riding was great- day one wasn't the best riding as you were passing around the edges of towns and there was some litter- but by day two you reached the open countryside and it was wonderful. The days were long and some fast riding so you need to be fit!
The countryside and scenery was absolutely incredible and the guides were very good.


Sicilian Trails - Italy

Wild Sicily Trail

5 star rating   2 October 2021

Sarah who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Best trail ride yet | The riding was varied according to terrain
and was as I expected


Sicilian Trails - Italy

Wild Sicily Trail

5 star rating   2 October 2021

Sophia (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Quite an adventure | 'Wild Sicily' would be great for charities looking for a challenge ride, such as BHS or the Injured Jockeys Fund. Huge distances are covered each day with a range of forest and montane environments involving steep gradients. The guides take ancient tracks - which makes for both interest and safety - but there is not much soft going. Riders need to be fit, taking boots with thick rubber soles. The final day, riding up Mount Etna and around some of the lateral craters was a unique experience.

The guides, Alessandro and Lizzie, are charming and organised everything beautifully. They obviously have a deep love for trail riding and we felt confident that they had chosen the very best for us. I felt we were in safe hands and would be happy to recommend their trail rides to others.

I did not expect to encounter so many wild flowers in September. There was not much bird life in the mountains but we spotted griffon vultures and quite a few wild pigs. We were enchanted by herds of cattle, sheep and goats with traditional bells hanging around their necks and rode past a variety of traditional farms.

I found myself comparing this trip to riding in Georgia and Romania, countries which lack rural fences and so enable faster going, but don't offer such good food or accommodation. Our final day on Sicily, climbing Mt Etna and riding through vineyards into the historic town of Castiglione offered a world class climax that rivals other European rides.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Coastal Trail South to North

5 star rating   26 September 2021

Ann who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Superb experience | Yes more than, I was worried it wouldn't be fast enough for my husband who has a 'need for speed' but there were plenty of long collected canters on sandy tracks and we all rode forward going sweet tempered fit horses who were well schooled and cared for.
[Becky from the In The Saddle replies: We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the riding on this holiday.]


Sierra De Gredos - Spain

Castles of the Gredos Mountains

5 star rating   25 September 2021

Pia (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Excellent


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   24 September 2021

Juliet who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Dressage in stunning scenery | Excellent training.
Only comment would it would be nice to have a bit more continuity of trainers.
Excellent range of experienced schoolmaster horses.


Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

5 star rating   19 September 2021

Katy who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. A true adventure in a wild and remote mountain region | This is a truly amazing trip. The riding was fast paced with lots of fast canters where the terrain allowed. The horses, as you said in the itinerary, have a very forward going walk and you are encouraged to maintain this rather than trot. This is a real endurance ride and being fit in and out of the saddle is important. Good (non-slip) boots that will cope with the downhill walking, when leading your horse, are also important.
I found riding in a western saddle took a bit of getting used to (first time for me), and I decided to change saddles on day 3 for a barrel racing saddle which was slightly narrower and suited me better.
The horses are incredibly fit , keen, and love to go fast but were always well behaved in canters and easy to control.

The whole set up was really well organised and the support team were fantastic.


Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

5 star rating   19 September 2021

Line Holm (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Super nice horses and absolute top fit. We rode the same horses for 6 days, up and down the mountains and they were never tired. The horses were forwardgoing, in the good way, and always ready to canter. They were surefooted and my horse only stumbled once on the 6 riding days. However, it was some long days in the saddle, so the better fit you are, the better the ride will be. Hiking boots to ride in or riding boots with a really good sole are a necessity, because when you walk and lead the horses down the hill, it goes steep down, and it can be a bit difficult terrain.


Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

5 star rating   19 September 2021

Susan (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) A totally fabulous, stunning adventure in amazing mountains. Very interesting culture and fabulously capable horses. | The riding was challenging but at just the right level. The terrain was very varied and the horses coped extremely well with it. The views were stunning every single day. The horses were very fit and footsure - perfect for the job. There was a lot of getting on and off from the ground so you need to be agile enough for that. At the end of each day you really felt like you had ridden a lot and seen a huge amount of wonderful scenery. The group I was in varied from 21 - 50 somethings and we all coped well. Not everyone had their own horses but everyone rode fairly regularly and were able to cope with the riding level.


Sierra De Gredos - Spain

Castles of the Gredos Mountains

5 star rating   18 September 2021

Katie who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic scenery | I had been on a ride previously with Emilio,so knew the riding would be good. I did love this ride,as got to do some trotting & long canters most days. Majority of the ride is at walk,but lovely to take in the scenery around you. So peaceful.


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   17 September 2021

Sarah who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic teaching, beautiful place and lovely people | I went to learn and work on my own competition capability along with some different work for younger horses. I was able to ride horses I learned a lot from including the Grand Prix work. Joao, Lorena and Nuno are excellent and I realy did learn a lot that I have been able to bring home and use in my own training. Will be back asap!

My one recommendation would be around the mix of lessons and people in the arena. It is not so easy to work and really concentrate with 4 in an arena when 2 or 3 are inexperienced riders. I totally understand they need their space and to enjoy their lessons but it does affect the quality of time in arena. Riding with the MV riders or another experience rider is completely fine and normal as we all understand how to do that. But I also know it was intimidating for some of those who were learning to ride to find themselves with 2 of us doing more advanced work and them feeling crowded.


Pyrenean Adventures - Spain

Bandit Trail

5 star rating   12 September 2021

Maria (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Bandit Trail - Brilliant scenery, exhilarating riding, outstanding horses! | Definitely! Very high-adventure! If you are afraid of heights, this is definitely not for you.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   12 September 2021

Deborah who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Superb time at Los Alamos | I have ridden here before and despite a pandemic and lockdown very little had changed the standard of horses and horse care was still excellent. The team do a really good job to care for the horses and riders and provide excellent riding


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   12 September 2021

Helen who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous | Los Alamos won’t disappoint. Rachel and her team ‘Jose & Roberto’ at the yard are just wonderful. They know their horses so well and will make sure you are given the right horse for your ability. The horses are so beautifully cared for.
The rides are taken out by Jose and Roberto who know the area so well, they guide you through stunning forests or exhilarating rides on the beach making sure your safety and the horses is always paramount.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   12 September 2021

Caroline who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Never fails to please | The horses are impeccably schooled…..even in a group of 10 guests with 2 outriders there were no problems.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   12 September 2021

Jackie who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. All the reviews are true! | The riding was faced paced at times which was fabulous. The guides knew the terrain and expertly negotiated us through it
It was exactly as described Rachel matches you to a horse and never gets it wrong. People were friendly and we all ate and laughed together .


Equus Silvania - Romania

Equus Silvania

5 star rating   11 September 2021

Rebecca who has been on 7 In The Saddle rides. Rode 3 different horses, all super fine horses. Forwardgoing and good horses. Thought it was cool to be allowed to try different horses. Equus Silvania's guides were all top professionals, very service minded and super good riders, they had control of it all.


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   10 September 2021

Fika who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Unforgettable | Absolutely. the horse "Brandberg" needed a lot of prodding when walking, but was comfortable in trotting and cantering.


Kambaku Safari Lodge - Namibia

Kambaku Safari Lodge

5 star rating   6 September 2021

Raffaella (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Perfect holiday good riding and relax | More different scenarios, but think the seasons time was not the best one to see the colors of Namibia


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   4 September 2021

Deborah who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Azores Green Island - Second time here and it was just as fabulous | Well loved and cared for horses. The grooms and guides were very accommodating and couldn't do enough for us. Nothing was too much trouble. The riding was varied and the scenery breath taking. Plenty of chances for a change in pace


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   3 September 2021

Nour (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) An amazing, unforgettable, luxurious horse riding vacation | The riding exceeded expectation. I went on this vacation with my wife who is a beginner rider - she was able to canter from the first day given how lovely, well trained, and well-disciplined the horses were. The rides were tailored to our levels (I would sometimes go cantering with a guide while she would go on a chill afternoon walk on the horse with another guide).


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   30 August 2021

Helle Marie (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fantastic place. The horses had a great life - most were rescue horses that were rescued from bad treatment etc.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   29 August 2021

Vivien who has been on 34 In The Saddle rides. So good to be back | We all rode a variety of horses in order to help get them back to full match fitness after their extended break. This meant I added yet another horse to my long list of favourites. Little Hercules - really soft mouth, so light on his feet and very responsive. What more could you ask for. It was so good to ride Rachel's amazing horses again.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   28 August 2021

Nicola who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Azores green island trail | It exceeded our expectations in all ways, the excellent condition of the horses and their tack, the wonderful staff, the home cooked food, everything.


Learn to Ride in a Week - Azores

Learn to Ride in a Week

5 star rating   28 August 2021

Hilary who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. A masterclass with Nelson | The riding was tremendous, and the dressage lessons from Nelson were some of the best riding lessons I have ever had.


Equus Silvania - Romania

Equus Silvania

5 star rating   28 August 2021

Ingrid who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Here it was probably my own fault that I said I was a little excited about having to ride big horses, I am used to Icelandic horses. Because I was not afraid to ride them, I thought I should push a lot on them in walk, but they were ok in trot and canters. I tried 4 horses and there was not really much difference on them. Well behaved, did what was asked of them. I'm just used to horses that are very progressive. Basically I am satisfied, I could completely relax on the horses.


Castle Leslie Estate - Ireland

Riding Programme

5 star rating   23 August 2021

Michael who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Amazing holiday | The riding experience exceeded our expectations. The riding staff were so friendly but also matched horse and rider brilliantly as well as allowing riders to safely stretch their riding ability. When going out as a group, whilst staying together, those who had more ability were not held back. Absolutely brilliant holiday!


Cappadocia Trails - Turkey

Cappadocia Highlights

5 star rating   20 August 2021

Thomas who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. A very good experience - a friendly guide takes you on great horses through fantastic landscapes | We are quite experienced trail riders and have done a lot of rides nearly all over the world. I really have to say, this is a great one. We spent 6 days doing the cappadocia higlights trail. It was perfect. First of all the horses were treated well, were in very good shape and amazingly sure footed. The stable is kept well. You could feel, how happy the horses are. Ercihan, our friendly guide has a real good sense for horses. The tour was not too strenous with a perfect pace and nice rests on the way. Food was very good, accomodation friendly and nice.


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   18 August 2021

Kristin (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) All in all, I had a wonderful trip. There was a ride out, which only took place in walk due to different rider levels. However the following day, the riding instructor adjusted the level according to the riders ability.


846 reviews    1 2 3 27