Reviews
905 reviews    1 2 3 29
Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   12 September 2021

Deborah who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Superb time at Los Alamos | I have ridden here before and despite a pandemic and lockdown very little had changed the standard of horses and horse care was still excellent. The team do a really good job to care for the horses and riders and provide excellent riding


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   12 September 2021

Caroline who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Never fails to please | The horses are impeccably schooled…..even in a group of 10 guests with 2 outriders there were no problems.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   12 September 2021

Jackie (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) All the reviews are true! | The riding was faced paced at times which was fabulous. The guides knew the terrain and expertly negotiated us through it
It was exactly as described Rachel matches you to a horse and never gets it wrong. People were friendly and we all ate and laughed together .


Equus Silvania - Romania

Equus Silvania

5 star rating   11 September 2021

Rebecca who has been on 7 In The Saddle rides. Rode 3 different horses, all super fine horses. Forwardgoing and good horses. Thought it was cool to be allowed to try different horses. Equus Silvania's guides were all top professionals, very service minded and super good riders, they had control of it all.


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   10 September 2021

Fika who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Unforgettable | Absolutely. the horse "Brandberg" needed a lot of prodding when walking, but was comfortable in trotting and cantering.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   29 August 2021

Vivien who has been on 33 In The Saddle rides. So good to be back | We all rode a variety of horses in order to help get them back to full match fitness after their extended break. This meant I added yet another horse to my long list of favourites. Little Hercules - really soft mouth, so light on his feet and very responsive. What more could you ask for. It was so good to ride Rachel's amazing horses again.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   28 August 2021

Nicola who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Azores green island trail | It exceeded our expectations in all ways, the excellent condition of the horses and their tack, the wonderful staff, the home cooked food, everything.


Learn to Ride in a Week - Azores

Learn to Ride in a Week

5 star rating   28 August 2021

Hilary who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. A masterclass with Nelson | The riding was tremendous, and the dressage lessons from Nelson were some of the best riding lessons I have ever had.


Equus Silvania - Romania

Equus Silvania

5 star rating   28 August 2021

Ingrid who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Here it was probably my own fault that I said I was a little excited about having to ride big horses, I am used to Icelandic horses. Because I was not afraid to ride them, I thought I should push a lot on them in walk, but they were ok in trot and canters. I tried 4 horses and there was not really much difference on them. Well behaved, did what was asked of them. I'm just used to horses that are very progressive. Basically I am satisfied, I could completely relax on the horses.


Castle Leslie Estate - Ireland

Riding Programme

5 star rating   23 August 2021

Michael who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Amazing holiday | The riding experience exceeded our expectations. The riding staff were so friendly but also matched horse and rider brilliantly as well as allowing riders to safely stretch their riding ability. When going out as a group, whilst staying together, those who had more ability were not held back. Absolutely brilliant holiday!


Cappadocia Trails - Turkey

Cappadocia Highlights

5 star rating   20 August 2021

who has been on In The Saddle rides. A very good experience - a friendly guide takes you on great horses through fantastic landscapes | We are quite experienced trail riders and have done a lot of rides nearly all over the world. I really have to say, this is a great one. We spent 6 days doing the cappadocia higlights trail. It was perfect. First of all the horses were treated well, were in very good shape and amazingly sure footed. The stable is kept well. You could feel, how happy the horses are. Ercihan, our friendly guide has a real good sense for horses. The tour was not too strenous with a perfect pace and nice rests on the way. Food was very good, accomodation friendly and nice.


The Great Trek - Kyrgyzstan

Secret 2

2 star rating   7 August 2021

Isabelle who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Beautiful landscapes | The riding was a little slower then I expected. The horses are well behaved and well taken care off


Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

5 star rating   1 August 2021

Lesley who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Miyak Trail - Exploring off grid Macedonia | We were part of the July Miyak trail. What an awesome experience! Hardy forward going trusty horses, carried us through the beautifully unique Macedonian countryside. We stayed in comfortable hotels with good home cooked dishes but the highlight was two nights wild camping. Going to sleep in total darkness and waking up to the sound of birdsong was stunning. Dinner and breakfast cooked over an open fire was a great experience. To enjoy the trail fully you need to be very saddle fit, comfortable with full on gallop and have good riding/walking boots. Sometimes the terrain demands that you get off and lead the horse. It’s a trail for riders with an open mind and a sense of adventure.


Relaxed Ride - Azores

Relaxed Ride

4 star rating   31 July 2021

Liza who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. The tack was worn and not very well fitted. We experienced, on the 3 trips we participated in, that 2 reins and a stirrup strap broke, which is not very reassuring.

(Abbie from In The Saddle responds: Thank you very much for your feedback. We have highlighted this issue with the ride operator, who is going to look into it).


Sierra De Gredos - Spain

Castles of the Gredos Mountains

4 star rating   24 July 2021

Mette who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Mamen and Emilio are amazing horse people and their love and respect for the animals pervade the whole ride. Just the fact that you ride bitless says it all. It IS a slow ride, which is also described when booking it and this year's heat wave probably slowed it down further. A couple of beautiful canters - but otherwise the pace is in calm walk. It was a beautiful experience to meet the locals and ride through small sleeping villages in the region, and experience the beautiful castles and squares, but if you, like me, are more into the deserted and completely raw nature, there are a little too many cars and roads to crossed on this ride.


Equus Silvania - Romania

Equus Silvania

4 star rating   10 July 2021

Bettina who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. I got some really kind, calm and reliable horses. I was not for a second nervous about whether they would make it in the steep terrain. I had three different horses and the one that was Arab cross was the one that was easiest for me to ride.


Equus Silvania - Romania

Equus Silvania

5 star rating   26 June 2021

Maria Johansson (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) I wanted an independent and forwardgoing horse - and I got it - three different times even. The quality of the horses is superb, they are well-schooled and keep a cool head when, for example, you meet large flocks of sheep with large herds of barking guarding dogs.


Wolves and Wild Horses - Portugal

Wolves and Wild Horses

5 star rating   19 June 2021

Emily who has been on 17 In The Saddle rides. Lovely riding in the Portuguese countryside. | Pedro shows great care for his horses and is an expert in horse behaviour. The scenery was stunning with plenty of sightings of the wild horses. I rode two horses and both were lovely.


Nile Explorer - Uganda

Nile Explorer

5 star rating   30 May 2021

Thomas who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Amazing and far better than I have ever expected - a part of africa which is worth to discover - do it with this perfect team | Horses are really very good - healthy, friendly, sure-footed and just beautiful. The staff does an outstanding job in caring for the horses. They are kept in a very good stable. Natalie, the owner, has that special kind of sensitivitiy for the horses, which can´t be learned by lessons. It is really a very hard thing to keep horses so well under the circumstances of rural africa and tropical climate. But they manage it.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   1 November 2020

Janet who has been on 7 In The Saddle rides. Portugal Alentejo Trails - Fabulous | Excellent


Lassithi Trek - Crete

Lassithi Trek

5 star rating   18 October 2020

Alexandra who has been on 7 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic time in Crete | As I had been on the Panorama ride before I had a favourite horse from last time which I requested and got allocated for the trek.


Lassithi Trek - Crete

Lassithi Trek

4 star rating   18 October 2020

Claudia who has been on 10 In The Saddle rides. A very pleasant riding trek, perfectly organised, lovely horses and good guiding. | Crete is a very rocky country. The riding was very much strongly ups and strongly downs - in the heat and in very rocky area. Having made it once was nice, but I would not do it a second time.


Chianti Castles and Wine Tasting - Italy

Chianti Castles and Wine Tasting

5 star rating   11 October 2020

Rikke Selene who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. I rode four horses, which I had not expected. I usually only ride my own horse, so having to ride several different ones was a challenge, but all the horses were super kind and easy to handle. Among the horses, I rode two older horses aged 17-18 and even though they had been in the business for many years, there was still lots of life, energy and joy in them. It was clear that the hosts take good care of their horses and take into account to offer them varied training (trail / arena) days off and turn-out time.


Galiny Palace - Poland

Galiny Palace

5 star rating   10 October 2020

Charlotte Schang (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Riding holiday with a few jumps. Very skilled instructors who had an eye for what could be done better - and remembered to praise when done satisfactorily.


Lassithi Trek - Crete

Lassithi Trek

5 star rating   27 September 2020

Emily who has been on 17 In The Saddle rides. Lassithi Trek - A lovely trip exploring the beautiful island of Crete on excellent horses. | My horse Pluto was very nice to ride; he was forward but kept his pace and I didn't need to fight with him. An excellent match.


Sicilian Trails - Italy

Wild Sicily Trail

5 star rating   26 September 2020

Leonard who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. At home in the wild | Horses were well mannered, safe, fit and forward going. We covered a huge variety of terrain and had a lot of opportunities for relaxed riding between vineyards, challenging mountain climbs, trotting through medieval towns and long fun woodland canters. Everyone was well matched to their horse and each day's ride was interesting, different and thoroughly enjoyable.


Sicilian Trails - Italy

Wild Sicily Trail

5 star rating   26 September 2020

Sue who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. All round amazing experience | Exceeded expectations - extremely fit, well behaved, horses that were incredibly sure footed and suitable for job. I was amazed at the terrain that they went over with seeming ease! Being in a mountainous area, the ascents (seemingly vertical at times) and descents were very much a part of the ride, which naturally offered different types of countryside, vegetation, scenery and far reaching views - it seemed that every day the afternoon was different from the morning and each day different. Alex the guide kept us informed of places and things of interest. Very comfortable sheepskin saddle covers and rain covers - not seen rain covers before, they were such a good idea!

If I have a niggling criticism it’s that I’m not a fan of riding in a crocodile line in a set order, I completely understand why they do it ( they know their horses very well) and fully appreciate that majority of the tracks can only be ridden one behind the other, but when the opportunity arose and seeing that we were all competent and in control of our horses, I would have liked to ride alongside someone else - not that I didn’t enjoy their company, far from it - but long days were spent in the saddle and I felt there were a few in the group who I hadn’t had the chance to chat to except in the evening.


Sicilian Trails - Italy

Wild Sicily Trail

5 star rating   26 September 2020

Jill who has been on 13 In The Saddle rides. Wonderful- just the break I needed | This was the first exploratory ride that I have done with In The saddle, so was not sure what to expect, but I loved it! The horses were amazing, you have to admire how tough and fit they were and although we covered over 200km they did not lose any condition at all. Alex was really knowledgeable about the areas we were riding through and the pace was just right. I had wondered if I was going to be fit enough to ride for up to 8 hours a day, I usually get bored after 6, but I found it fairly easy, although going downhill for 2 1/2 hours on one day did make my knees ache!


Sicilian Trails - Italy

Wild Sicily Trail

5 star rating   26 September 2020

Bregje who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Great trail!!!! | I think Lizzie and Alex did a great job finding the right horse for each rider. I really enjoyed riding mine. Very forward but good to control , sure footed, reliable, and comfortable in all gates


Sicilian Trails - Italy

Wild Sicily Trail

5 star rating   26 September 2020

Jane who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Wonderful | Excellent


Lassithi Trek - Crete

Lassithi Trek

5 star rating   20 September 2020

Geoffrey who has been on 10 In The Saddle rides. Lassithi Trek | A highly enjoyable trip with very good horses, an excellent guide who was knowledgeable, considerate and great fun. The riding provided much variety and a great opportunity to experience the 'real' Crete off the beaten track. Our hosts Sabine and Manolis at Velani were excellent, creating a 'house party' atmosphere at the hotel, with fellow guests enjoying each others company. I cannot recommend the ride highly enough.

Only reservation was infrequent watering of horses on the trek, but I can honestly say that they did not appear to suffer as a consequence, hence overall I think they were well cared for.

Abbie from In The Saddle says, "Thank you for your feedback. Please be assured that the horses are always watered again during the evening".


Chianti Riding - Italy

Chianti Riding

5 star rating   14 September 2020

Kate who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Che bellezza | Absolutely, Donatella gives fantastic instruction for flatwork, horses are really great and hacks are picture perfect. Faultless trip.


905 reviews    1 2 3 29