Reviews
791 reviews    1 2 3 25
Los Alamos - Spain

Short Break - Sunday to Thursday

5 star rating   11 November 2021

Katalin (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fabulous | Those who horse riding know, that the most important is to keep both the horses and the riders safe. It was great to see that the ridings were well planned each day, according to the weather circumstances and the condition of the trails.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   7 November 2021

Wendy who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. long. long canters ! | this ride offers long.long canters along forest and dirt tracks . There are also lots of very long trots too !
in addition to the tracks there are climbs up and down the hills with some lovely views
The horses are very sure footed, reliable and willing, a real joy to ride .


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   7 November 2021

Linda who has been on 14 In The Saddle rides. The Amazing Dolphin Trail | More than met my expectations, the canters were so long and controlled as were the trots loved all of it, the horses are strong and very fit


Catalan Coastal Trails - Spain

Mediterranean Trail

5 star rating   7 November 2021

Christine who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Mediterranean Trail in Catalonia at a Gallop - Everything perfect | The riding was fabulous, varied, fast-paced at times. Riders had to keep their distance, some horses needed quite a lot of personal space.


Velani Country Hotel - Crete

Sun and Riding

5 star rating   31 October 2021

Teresa who has been on 13 In The Saddle rides. Olive groves and mountains on horseback - what’s not to like? | So impressed with these tough, happy horses - really enjoying their work and so fit!


Wolves and Wild Horses - Portugal

Wolves and Wild Horses

5 star rating   30 October 2021

Amanda who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous holiday, great experience for my first in the saddle holiday! | Yes the riding more than met my expectations.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   24 October 2021

Synnove who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Perfect week - great horses, good rides, lovely host and wonderful lazy afternoons | Excellent


El Bronco - Hungary

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   23 October 2021

Dan (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Outstanding!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! | The riding tour was wonderful, the host was wonderful, In the saddle was wonderful!
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you for your feedback Dan and it's great to hear you enjoyed the riding.]


Sierra Nevada - Spain

Contraviesa Ride

5 star rating   23 October 2021

Jane who has been on 14 In The Saddle rides. Very enjoyable week riding a beautiful horse in fabulous country side | It was a privilege to be able to ride such a high quality horse for the week. The pace of the ride was completely suited to the terrain. The countryside was stunningly beautiful and varied and we were blessed with sunny, warm and dry weather.


Sierra Nevada - Spain

Contraviesa Ride

5 star rating   23 October 2021

Margaret who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Brilliant time riding an excellent forward going horse. | The riding certainly met my expectations and what happy horses - my horse was lovely and enthusiastic


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   23 October 2021

Mickaela who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. An Equestrian Delight | My only comment would be that I would like to have progressed more but that possibly is more to do with my riding ability than the instructors.


El Bronco - Hungary

Ranch Stay

4 star rating   22 October 2021

who has been on In The Saddle rides. El Bronco - a well needed rest | Horse behaviour and cleanliness was outstanding.

More teaching and giving of tips on rides would have been appreciated. Some staff were less engaged and wanted to ride at the front and talk to their friends, so chances to develop and learn more were missed.

Lessons in the arena would have added to variety.

Lesson in the arena or plan B for bad weather. On the Thursday afternoon our ride was cancelled due to the wind and we were left to our own devices. It felt like the tour leader used that as an opportunity to run some errands and do her own thing.

A little better English speaking staff would have helped development through the week, rather than just checking we were ok on the horse and doing the same thing all week.

As a beginner, I would have benefitted from having the same instructor all week and a mixture of lessons and rides. With the opportunity to reach canter sooner rather than just walking and trotting.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   17 October 2021

Astrid Synnove who has been on 34 In The Saddle rides. Perfect, as always at Los Alamos | Los Alamos have horses for all levels and Rachel really understand what we like to ride. After Covid-19 the horses could not work full week so we "have" to try more horses. So many nice horses.... 🙂


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   16 October 2021

Emma who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Amazing! | Really gorgeous trails, perfect range of well cared for and eager horses, and loads of fun and varied riding. Great opportunities for canter and gallop too.


Sicilian Trails - Italy

Deep Sicily Trail

5 star rating   16 October 2021

Naja who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Everything is in order. It's all just running smoothly. Good horses, good guides, totally delicious dinner, great places to visit, accommodations, views: EVERYTHING!


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   15 October 2021

Eloise who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous - exceeded all my expectations | Ricardo was a great instructor - engaged, expert, energetic. I rode 10 different horses during my visit - each one taught me something and I enjoyed every minute of the riding.


Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

5 star rating   10 October 2021

Roberta (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) An amazing adventure ! | Short bursts of canters


Chianti Castles and Wine Tasting - Italy

Chianti Castles and Wine Tasting

5 star rating   10 October 2021

Elizabeth (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Wine tasting and horse riding Tuscany | Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   10 October 2021

Flynn who has been on 15 In The Saddle rides. Excellent as always | Excellent


Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

5 star rating   10 October 2021

Emily who has been on 18 In The Saddle rides. MIYAK TRIBE TRAIL | Lovely horses and very well looked after.


Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

5 star rating   10 October 2021

Christopher who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Undiscovered Country | Very well matched, forward going and fun horse.


Transylvania Trail - Romania

Transylvania Trail

5 star rating   9 October 2021

Cathryn (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fantastic trip | The horses were really lovely- their care was the number one consideration for the team there. They were extremely fit and responsive, and I felt mine were well matched.
The riding was great- day one wasn't the best riding as you were passing around the edges of towns and there was some litter- but by day two you reached the open countryside and it was wonderful. The days were long and some fast riding so you need to be fit!
The countryside and scenery was absolutely incredible and the guides were very good.


Velani Country Hotel - Crete

Sun and Riding

5 star rating   9 October 2021

Anne who has been on 16 In The Saddle rides. Was rather startled to be given a pony to ride the first day as I am by no means pony rider sized!! The little mare was, however, a pocket rocket and incredibly sure footed not to mention as tough as nails and I very much enjoyed her.
I rode 3 other horses during my holiday and enjoyed them all. The terrain is incredibly stony, even rocky, but we trotted and cantered away over all sorts of ground with not a hint of a problem. The ride through the gorge and up to Kera was a highlight.


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   7 October 2021

Elizabeth (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Gorgeous venue and beautiful part of the world... with even more beautiful horses! | It was an absolutely beautiful venue with well cared for horses and excellent facilities. I was well looked after (particularly in terms of food) and the level of instruction was great. Anyone, whether a dressage rider or not could leave there and know they have solid things to work but also know they have achieved something in their riding. I specifically chose to focus on lessons but other riders commented on the beautiful trail rides.


Lassithi Trek - Crete

Lassithi Trek

5 star rating   3 October 2021

Tracy who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. We certainly were not short changed on riding experience - it really is 5-6 hours per day in the saddle. To make this holiday even better it would be lovely to have a day or half day off in the middle (and swim in the sea more maybe!). However the whole experience was just fantastic and it was so nice to get out our country despite the covid rules. Strangely the large earthquake during our first breakfast turned out to be a great group bonding moment and did not faze our hosts or disturb our ride.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   3 October 2021

Andrea who has been on 9 In The Saddle rides. Best Holiday! | The riding is excellent, from the perfectly matched horses by Rachel to riding through magical forests and picture perfect beaches led by Jose and Roberto.


Sicilian Trails - Italy

Wild Sicily Trail

5 star rating   2 October 2021

Sarah who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Best trail ride yet | The riding was varied according to terrain
and was as I expected


Sicilian Trails - Italy

Wild Sicily Trail

5 star rating   2 October 2021

Sophia (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Quite an adventure | 'Wild Sicily' would be great for charities looking for a challenge ride, such as BHS or the Injured Jockeys Fund. Huge distances are covered each day with a range of forest and montane environments involving steep gradients. The guides take ancient tracks - which makes for both interest and safety - but there is not much soft going. Riders need to be fit, taking boots with thick rubber soles. The final day, riding up Mount Etna and around some of the lateral craters was a unique experience.

The guides, Alessandro and Lizzie, are charming and organised everything beautifully. They obviously have a deep love for trail riding and we felt confident that they had chosen the very best for us. I felt we were in safe hands and would be happy to recommend their trail rides to others.

I did not expect to encounter so many wild flowers in September. There was not much bird life in the mountains but we spotted griffon vultures and quite a few wild pigs. We were enchanted by herds of cattle, sheep and goats with traditional bells hanging around their necks and rode past a variety of traditional farms.

I found myself comparing this trip to riding in Georgia and Romania, countries which lack rural fences and so enable faster going, but don't offer such good food or accommodation. Our final day on Sicily, climbing Mt Etna and riding through vineyards into the historic town of Castiglione offered a world class climax that rivals other European rides.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Coastal Trail South to North

5 star rating   26 September 2021

Ann who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Superb experience | Yes more than, I was worried it wouldn't be fast enough for my husband who has a 'need for speed' but there were plenty of long collected canters on sandy tracks and we all rode forward going sweet tempered fit horses who were well schooled and cared for.
[Becky from the In The Saddle replies: We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the riding on this holiday.]


Sierra De Gredos - Spain

Castles of the Gredos Mountains

5 star rating   25 September 2021

Pia (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Excellent


Sierra Nevada - Spain

Alpujarra Ride

5 star rating   25 September 2021

Sarah who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. La Alpujara | The riding and the horses were fabulous. The horses were beautifully schooled and a pleasure to ride. The terrain was very varied from mountainous, lovely fresh air to almond orchards being harvested.


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   24 September 2021

Sabine who has been on 9 In The Saddle rides. Awesome as usual 😉 | Excellent


791 reviews    1 2 3 25