Reviews
18 reviews   
Wolves and Wild Horses - Portugal

Wolves and Wild Horses

5 star rating   5 November 2022

Rosemary who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Wild landscape, well-schooled horses | The pace was generally walk due to the very beautiful but rough terrain. Canters were very speedy in contrast.

Ideally I would have more change of pace but that's no complaint, just an explanation of the score above.

Pedro kindly lent me gloves when the weather got cold. I hadn't realised I would need them. We rode in double socks that day.

The family were great hosts, especially regarding the riding and our needs / happiness with our mounts.


Wolves and Wild Horses - Portugal

Wolves and Wild Horses

5 star rating   10 September 2022

Ella-Louise Wennerberg (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) If you expect to come to a top tuned stable where everything is posh and is about prestige, then I would recommend that you choose another travel destination.
At Pedro, Anabela and Mariana, the horse's welfare is top priority, and you are matched with the horse you will ride during the week, among other things on the basis of chemistry with the individual horse.


Wolves and Wild Horses - Portugal

Wolves and Wild Horses

5 star rating   3 September 2022

Ed (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fantastic | OMG what a ride. The scenery and pace of the ride was perfect. Thank you Mariana for being a tremendous guide, and to Pedro for having such outstanding horses.


Wolves and Wild Horses - Portugal

Wolves and Wild Horses

5 star rating   13 August 2022

Elizabeth who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Great trip | It was lovely to be up on the plateau with cool breezes and wonderful views.


Wolves and Wild Horses - Portugal

Wolves and Wild Horses

5 star rating   9 July 2022

Linda who has been on 15 In The Saddle rides. Special | Rocky ground, two canters a day


Wolves and Wild Horses - Portugal

Wolves and Wild Horses

5 star rating   9 July 2022

Wendy who has been on 7 In The Saddle rides. Portugal-Wolves and wild horses | The pace of the ride is leisurely as it is in the mountains which gives you time to take in the beautiful and varied surroundings. We were able to canter two times each day with the canters being long ,fast and fabulous!
The horses are all schooled by Pedro and are ridden with a loose rein and a light squeeze ,no kicking needed ( or allowed ). The horses are very sensitive to the human on board but if you are confident with them they are confident with you and are a joy to ride !
We saw lots of groups of the wild garrano horses on our rides out .
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you for your great feedback and we are so pleased that you had a lovely time in Portugal.]


Wolves and Wild Horses - Portugal

Wolves and Wild Horses

5 star rating   28 May 2022

Katy who has been on 8 In The Saddle rides. A relaxing, immersive journey into a remote and beautiful area of Portugal | The riding is relaxed and due to the nature of the terrain, there are limited opportunities for canter. It was possible to canter at least once on each day however, and sometimes twice. The scenery is stunning, particularly at the end of May, early June, when the countryside is covered with purple heather, yellow gorse and broom - a real treat to see!
There was quite a lot of free time on this holiday and the riding day starts late. For example, we were collected between 10 and 10.30 in the morning and driven to the stable, which is about 20 minutes by car. By the time you have collected your horse from the paddock, groomed and tacked up, it may be nearer to 12 by the time you set out. Be prepared for a relaxed approach with late lunches and late suppers - Portuguese style!


Wolves and Wild Horses - Portugal

Wolves and Wild Horses

5 star rating   30 October 2021

Amanda who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous holiday, great experience for my first in the saddle holiday! | Yes the riding more than met my expectations.


Wolves and Wild Horses - Portugal

Wolves and Wild Horses

5 star rating   19 June 2021

Emily who has been on 22 In The Saddle rides. Lovely riding in the Portuguese countryside. | Pedro shows great care for his horses and is an expert in horse behaviour. The scenery was stunning with plenty of sightings of the wild horses. I rode two horses and both were lovely.


Wolves and Wild Horses - Portugal

Wolves and Wild Horses

5 star rating   20 October 2019

Donnaldson who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Beautiful country, wild and rugged..... | I rode a really lovely young Lusitano gelding. I liked him very much. Well trained, and pretty.


Wolves and Wild Horses - Portugal

Wolves and Wild Horses

5 star rating   29 September 2019

Drusilla who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Unusual and very good | Yes it was very good - unusual in that we were up so high and remote, but wonderful that we could see for miles and into Spain. The weather was not too good, but the willing and charming horses made up for that.


Wolves and Wild Horses - Portugal

Wolves and Wild Horses

5 star rating   29 September 2019

Patricia who has been on 15 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic riding holiday for those interested getting away from it all and riding in nature and wildlife | Pedro, Is really concerned about all his animals in his care. The horses are well cared for, used to their work and very fit. The speed of riding is very much governed by the terrain most is walking admiring the wonderful wild mountain scenery. Pedro is very relaxed and so calm and patient with his horses and makes the guests feel really well cared for. He is very knowledgeable and happy to inform one all about his horses and the animals which reside in the National Park. It's a great holiday to combine riding with sightseeing and visiting places of interest within a wild national Park. Pedro adjusted the days riding and programme dependent on the weather in the region.


Wolves and Wild Horses - Portugal

Wolves and Wild Horses

4 star rating   22 September 2019

Beth who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Relaxing riding in beautiful scenery | The riding pace was not as fast as we expected. There was a lot of walking. Seeing the terrain we can understand why the pace was slow, however maybe the ride description on the website should be worded differently.


Wolves and Wild Horses - Portugal

Wolves and Wild Horses

5 star rating   1 September 2019

Sarah who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Lovely. | Yes, definitely - a lovely riding holiday.


Wolves and Wild Horses - Portugal

Wolves and Wild Horses

5 star rating   18 August 2019

Phoebe (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fantastic | The riding was brilliant - there were plenty of opportunities for trots and canters (terrain permitting of course) in this beautiful setting, and the horses were a joy to ride - nicely responsive, forward-going, and calm. It's immediately clear that they are really well-loved and cared for.
[Becky from In The Saddle replied: It's fantastic to hear how much you enjoyed the riding!]


Wolves and Wild Horses - Portugal

Wolves and Wild Horses

5 star rating   21 July 2019

Mette who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Wolves and Wild Horses | If you expect to be picked up exact on time in the morning and arrive at a streamlined barn with posh equipment and facilities you will be disappointed. If, on the other hand, you expect to be picked up at 'southern relaxed time' and arrive at an authentic, warm-hearted and 'living' barn with horses, dogs and cats, you will be delighted. Very happy!

Pedro was very concerned about matching the most optimal equipage - based on temperament and personality. Not just riding skills. The connection between horse and rider was prioritized, which to me was an absolute plus, showing great love and a deep respect for the horses.


Wolves and Wild Horses - Portugal

Wolves and Wild Horses

5 star rating   9 June 2019

Bethany D (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Hideaway horseback heaven | The horses were all incredibly sure-footed, forward, responsive and kind. Whilst initially riding an impressive Lusitano Stallion, I had the opportunity to ride a Garrano mare on day 2 and it was love at first ride. She was bitless but I felt totally safe, most sensitive horse I have ever sat on. Our week was affected by rain so opportunities for fast riding were slightly less than usual and the itinerary did have to change, but still overall a fantastic week of riding in a stunning landscape.


Wolves and Wild Horses - Portugal

Wolves and Wild Horses

5 star rating   28 April 2019

Janet who has been on 8 In The Saddle rides. Amazing hosts, horses and countryside | I loved the horse that I rode, he was calm, yet very responsive and well trained.


18 reviews