Reviews
1009 reviews    1 2 3 32
Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

5 star rating   16 June 2024

Nina who has been on 10 In The Saddle rides. Incredible scenery and fast riding | The riding was very fast and intense. The scenery was incredible and jaw dropping, and so even though I struggled physically at times with all the uphill and downhill (there I a lot of it) and the long hours is the saddle, it was absolutely worth it. The food at every meal was superb and you eat a lot here. The team look after our needs perfectly and are all wonderful people.

The ceremony at the end is the icing on the cake and it was one of my favourite parts of the trip. Vasko had so many wonderful surprises for us up his sleeve.

It is worth mentioning that there is a lot of racing on this trip at full gallop and on uneven ground and long grass in some places, with Grand National type starts. I did love the racing and the speed but I wasn't happy to gallop downhill. ITS 'the riding' description says 'to avoid racing the canters will be in single file'. This is only true in some spots such as the forests, but out in the open you are encouraged to race and overtake. If you love lots of fast riding and racing and can cope with uneven ground then this trip is for you (if not, you may struggle). Its such an adventure and the incredible scenery plus the warm hospitality will blow you away.
[In The Saddle - We are so pleased that you enjoyed visiting this incredible country. It is the case that the riding is fast in places and that, where the terrain permits, riders are encouraged to spread out and take their own line. Some of the horses do know where these fast sections are and of course can get a bit excited about the forthcoming gallop].


Sierra Nevada - Spain

Alpujarra Short Break

5 star rating   13 June 2024

Judith who has been on 15 In The Saddle rides. Love the Sierra Nevada | I wanted to visit the Alpujarra’s after reading Chris Stewart’s books about El Valero. The scenery did not disappoint and I’m in awe of how Dallas and her very small team run these trails with great efficiency. Glad that I’d done a bit of my own fitness training as there was plenty of leading up and down shaly and often steep paths. The washed out arroyo we had to cross was made easier by letting the horses go by themselves with us going ahead to catch them at the other side. Quite an adventure. June was perfect, still some wildflowers in bloom and not too hot due to the altitude with one very heavy rain. Saddles were comfortable as promised and please mention if you want to use your seatsaver before horses get tacked up on the first morning.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for your email and we're so pleased that you enjoyed riding with Dallas.]


Sierra Nevada - Spain

Alpujarra Short Break

5 star rating   13 June 2024

Karine (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Beautiful horses, stunning surroundings, delicious food | We were rising over rocky paths, riding up and down hill, but if possible we had lovely trots and canters. The horses were great in finding their own way. They were trustworthy, but not at all boring.


Rocking Z - Montana

Ranch Stay 10 nights

5 star rating   12 June 2024

Celia (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Excellent | Excellent


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Two

5 star rating   10 June 2024

Lisa (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Exceeding expectations | Fabulous riding and great combination of cantering and walking— never boring!


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Two

5 star rating   10 June 2024

Tom (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Unforgettable Adventure | The horses (and guides) are 100% what’s advertised. They’re calm, sure footed, experienced and completely capable of any challenges encountered on the ride.


Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

5 star rating   9 June 2024

who has been on In The Saddle rides. Brilliant! | I learnt so much on this holiday. It was necessary to get the aids exactly right which, although difficult at the time, has very noticeably improved my riding at home.

The instructor, Mario, gave me very useful advice about the position of my legs and hands which, when I remembered to do it all, was brilliant.

[Abbie from ITS replies: Thank you for your feedback on Alcainca. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your visit.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Game census

5 star rating   9 June 2024

Karen who has been on 11 In The Saddle rides. Holiday that just keeps giving! | My horse was absolutely super fun, keen but not strong and very sure footed.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for your feedback, it's wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your return to Ant's.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Game census

5 star rating   9 June 2024

Kate who has been on 10 In The Saddle rides. Excellent


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   8 June 2024

Katie who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic in every way | It went beyond my expectations. What wonderful people,horses,scenery. Beautiful place and was welcomed in like a family member. I went as a solo traveler,but at no point did I feel lonely or bored. Guides are fun and knowledgeable. They really look after you here. Would highly recommend going here.
(Olwen from In The Saddle replies - we are so glad that you enjoyed your riding holiday at the wonderful Quinta da Terca).


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   8 June 2024

Michaeleen (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) I had the time of my life! | This riding adventure was not for the meek of heart--it was a dressage boot camp and I learned so much! The trainers were excellent and took their responsibility to make me an improved rider very seriously Rui and Miguel were on point yet kind, allowed questions and did further explanation of a riding skill I was struggling to master. The grooms were kind and the horses were so well taken care of. Even the dogs were a joy. Quinta do Rol met all my expections and more. I look forward to a return visit.


Sierra Nevada - Spain

Poqueira Ride

5 star rating   5 June 2024

Nila (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Amazing trip and wonderful horses! | This was my first riding vacation, and I had the best time on this trip! The horses were magnificent, very well cared for, and a pleasure to ride. The trails we went on were breathtaking, and while the pace was slower for most of the ride, the terrain kept the ride very interesting. Some of my favorite parts were when we had to get off and lead the horses through some of the trails as you had to really trust your horse and your own two feet. Dallas Love is an exceptional host and horsewoman. It is clear that her horses' wellbeing and safety are extremely important to her, and it was a pleasure getting to know her and the rest of her team. We had a great group on the trip of mixed ages and backgrounds. The house we stayed in was clean well kept, and had everything I needed. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone interested!


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   2 June 2024

Ros who has been on 17 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic, exciting holiday. | I had a bad riding accident, 3.5 years ago but managed to get back in the saddle a year after. However I was missing fast riding in open country. In Spain the weather (end of May) was glorious, if quite hot. I had 3 lovely horses to ride and the riding exceeded my expectations. We had exciting long canters and gallops in the umbrella pine forests and along sandy beaches. I went on my own but both our hosts, Andrew, Rhiannon, Rachel and Jack and the other riders (who had been before) were so welcoming, that I felt at home. The horses were fantasic, well cared for and matched to each rider. My favourite of the 3 (Portabello) was my first ride and a joy to ride but it was nice to be able to try a couple of other horses as well. I felt really safe despite have lost some of my confidence after the accident.


White Stallion Ranch - Arizona

White Stallion Ranch

5 star rating   2 June 2024

Lisa who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. It was a really fun experience, less of a Riding holiday and more of a holiday with riding. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, all the horses were lovely, care was taken to make sure you enjoyed your horse.

I was a solo traveller and I fitted in and made new friends.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had a good time at the ranch and I would absolutely agree with your description. It is a holiday with riding rather than a full on 'riding holiday' :)]


Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

5 star rating   2 June 2024

Jessica (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Unforgettable adventure | Excellent riding on forward going and sure footed horses who seemed to have enjoyed the ride too. Lots of fast canters in magnificent landscape. The horses were very well looked after by Vasko and his amazing team. Long days in the saddle and every minute a single pleasure.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   31 May 2024

Nigel (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fantastic | Long , fast canters


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   27 May 2024

Rosie who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous ! | The riding lessons were just fabulous. The instructors were lovely and so knowledgeable! Right from the first lesson I was put at ease and Miguel and Joao matched me with the suitable horses for my level. They both pushed me out of my comfort zone and made me have the confidence to give it all a go and do movements that I had dreamed about doing ! All of the horses are well cared for and are very well trained!
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday.]


Transylvania Trail - Romania

Transylvania Trail

5 star rating   25 May 2024

Svenja who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Wonderful active vacation | We were both matched to lovely horses. The trail is fast and the horses are all very eager, especially when getting closer to areas where they are used to gallop. There are many canters, on the last day also very long ones; there was some trotting at the start of each day; and from day 3 there were several gallops uphill or through meadows in the midst of beautiful spring flowers. One day has the option to jump fallen logs on the path, but the riders could also chose to go around.

Requiring a high level of both rider fitness and riding experience is definitely not misplaced here. Being in shape (half-marathon running) definitely made us enjoy the ride more.

Still being in the beginning of the season most horses where exchanged after the 3rd day, while my horse Zaphir was my faithful companion throughout the whole ride.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

Kingdom of Thracians

5 star rating   25 May 2024

Jacqui who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Great riding with lovely horses and super hosts | Great riding countryside, super horses and hosts were very friendly helpful, making sure tack was ok for me (first trip back after recovering from a back injury). Lots of cantering on the later days, through beautiful meadows and fields.


Transylvania Trail - Romania

Transylvania Trail

5 star rating   25 May 2024

Donna who has been on 40 In The Saddle rides. Great fun holiday | Great holiday. Lots of fun with lots of canters and gallops across lovely countryside with amazing scenery.

[Abbie from ITS replies: Thank you very much for your feedback. We are really pleased you enjoyed your trail ride through Transylvania].


Castellare di Tonda - Italy

Medieval Tuscany Short Break

5 star rating   22 May 2024

Debbie (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fantastic! | I have been fortunate to ride all over the world and am delighted to say that the horses at Castellare di Tonda were some of the best cared for and well mannered that I have ever experienced. Ailsa our guide was excellent. Her care and attention was second to none and nothing was too much trouble for her.


Castellare di Tonda - Italy

Medieval Tuscany Short Break

5 star rating   22 May 2024

Clare (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Great Riding, Great Scenery, Everything We Could've Asked For | The horses are sooooooooooo well trained and responsive we honestly couldn’t believe it. I cannot speak highly enough about the quality of the horses, how well they were cared for and how well we were matched to them. My horse Roomba was fast, which I'd asked for, but didn't have ANY of the qualities you sometimes get with a highly spirited horse, e.g. cheeky, misbehaving. She was perfect, and forward going. For my husband, who has slightly less experience, they paired him with Binoda who took great care of him without having any of the qualities of a traditionally reliable horse - she could go with the best of them, and was also incredibly responsive.

Franco, their trainer - this is clearly his passion and his life and he looks after and trains those horses better than anyone I've ever met. This is his craft and he's amazing at it - the guides would say you could always tell if a horse had recently worked with Franco because they were so soft on the reins, and to have access to horse with this kind of world class training is incredibly rare.

In terms of pace and terrain, there was lots of variety, a good amount of cantering, trotting and up and down hill work - despite there being weather conditions that slightly tempered the amount of terrain we could cover, they were amazing at making sure we got every last ounce of the riding that we could - without ever compromising our safety, of course.

And last but certainly not least - the guides!!!! Ailsa is the best guide I've ever had in my entire life, in any riding capacity. She made it so unique and personal and clearly cared about helping us improve our riding above and beyond just guiding us through the incredible hills and valleys. She even let us play with her German Shepherd and would give us a lift back to big house after a ride, which she absolutely did not have to do. It's cringe, but I would honestly say we made a new friend in Ailsa!!!


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   21 May 2024

Jane who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. So glad we went on this holiday the riding is BRILLIANT | Excellent riding with a huge variety of landscapes. We rode by lakes, by the coast, through jungle, along lanes and over fields. Some steep hills but horses very sure footed.A certain amount of road work to get to places but horses 100% in traffic.Big effort to box horses so could go to different areas.Guides made sure everyone was happy with the pace and would split up if some less confident. Gave us lots of information on local flora and fauna and made it all great fun.

Brilliant way to combine riding, seeing the Island and some cultural trips.The full day lakes ride will never be forgotten, it was stunning.We were lucky to have clear views and sunshine.Note when it does rain you will get seriously wet but we only had 1 wet day out of 6.

Worth a walk to local beach to swim
(Olwen from In The Saddle - We are so glad you enjoyed this wonderful riding holiday in the Azores).


Kingdom of the Lusitano - Portugal

Kingdom of the Lusitano

5 star rating   19 May 2024

Emily who has been on 25 In The Saddle rides. Lovely ride exploring Alentejo while the wild flowers were in full bloom | There were some nice long canters. The scenery was stunning so it was nice to be able to walk along and take it all in. The horses were excellent and well cared for.


Chianti Castles and Wine Tasting - Italy

Chianti Castles and Wine Tasting

4 star rating   19 May 2024

Deborah who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Chianti castles and wine tasting | The horses were without exception very well cared for, fit and well suited to their role. Our type of horse preferences were accommodated well.
The riding was less varied in pace than expected / hoped for. That said we covered a lot of ground and saw loads.
Some of the saddles were not comfortable- high pommels - my padded pants made a big difference so would recommend.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Qolora Trail

5 star rating   18 May 2024

Rachel who has been on 26 In The Saddle rides. Wonderful beach and inland riding | The variety of riding terrain exceeded my expectations, which were already high. Yes the beach riding is great fun but for me the surprise was the beauty and variety of the riding away from the beaches, wide open plains, lovely cliff tops, tropical sections stunning. I rode 2 lovely horses that were perfect for me, sensible and fun.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   17 May 2024

Suzanne (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Horse Riding Safari | There is a wide variety of horses available for all standards of riding.
For the first 2 days the lodge was at full capacity and the available horses was limited
They did try and match me with a more suitable horse at this time
The horse guides are both excellent and the guide hands were very amenable and competent as well as helpful


Rocking Z - Montana

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   11 May 2024

Anna (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fabulous! | The horses were all so lovely and friendly. They were well matched to our ability - some were very forward going but had brakes! The wranglers were very caring and helped if we had any concerns.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the riding at Rocking Z Ranch.]


Wild Horses Ride - Namibia

Wild Horses Ride

5 star rating   11 May 2024

Michelle who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Out of this world | The wild horses ride was exceptional. The horses were superb, they looked really well, were fast and lovely to ride. The desert was amazing, huge vistas, wide open terrain and riding through the dunes was a fabulous experience. Andrew and the whole team were fantastic, the food was excellent and the evenings around the camp fire were great fun. My second trip to Namibia which topped the last one and I will certainly be going back!

[Abbie from ITS replies: Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your return visit to the magical Namib Desert].


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

The Devetaki Plateau

5 star rating   11 May 2024

Céleste (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Truly amazing | If you want to be treated like royalty, this is the tour to book along with Kingdom of the Thracians! The guides and supporting staff have truly exceptional service - I wasn't even allowed to carry my own luggage! The food is sublime. Whether it be lunch or dinner, a hot meal is always served!

You can expect to have lunch with a table while the horses graze beside you. The staff were all entertaining and easy to talk to. Unfortunately due to the wet weather, we weren't able to do all the gallops that were promised but the team was quick to offer us different options. The team did everything in their power for us to enjoy ourselves.

Side note: most of the guests were in their 20's so being fit is a must if you want to keep up! Would highly recommend brushing up on lessons before heading out on this tour to enjoy the most out of it.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   11 May 2024

Karen who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic! | the riding was excellent. considering the horses are rescue horses and some have suffered trauma, they were very calm and well behaved and practically nothing spooks them especially in traffic! once the guides got to know us and that we enjoy a fast ride, they arranged rides that we all very much enjoyed. the guides were fabulous so friendly and super knowledgeable about the island.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

The Devetaki Plateau

5 star rating   11 May 2024

Gail who has been on 8 In The Saddle rides. Absolutely Fantastic | The whole holiday was amazing. The horses were great - like whippets, small and fast.

The family team that looked after us were brilliant. And I have a special mention for the brother Vasko who was an amazing host. Nothing was too much trouble and he went the extra mile making sure we were all happy and looked after.

The riding and terrain was great with lots of fast and long gallops. The hotels and food was also good. Vasko's picnics being the BEST!

I would definitely recommend this riding holiday.


1009 reviews    1 2 3 32