Reviews
31 reviews   
Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   16 November 2019

The riding was varied and at times quite fast paced. Given the size of the group (9 riders plus two guides) and bad weather at times, the guides did incredibly well to keep within everyone's limits while keeping things interesting for those of us who like to push ourselves a bit more.

The horses were lovely - forward going but manageable and reliable - and were obviously very well looked after.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   16 November 2019

Yes, our leader, Mel, did a great job of keeping us moving at suitable speeds to match the terrain and keep us safe


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   16 November 2019

Excellent


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   16 November 2019

My mare Tatum was perfect for me...kind, forward going and polite - a real credit to the training given by the Wild Coast team. All the group seemed really happy with the horses they were matched with. These horses are fit and clearly love their job.
The riding, whether on pristine beaches, crossinf rivers, through the hills and valleys or in villages, was perfectly paced with plenty of long fast canters and loads of photo opps. The tack was comfortable and in good condition. Our guides Mel and Tertia, plus Chelle in support, couldn't have been better - safety conscious, caring of the horses and super fun.
Julie-Anne spent time with us at meals on the first and last days which was lovely. She is deservedly proud of her operation. I've done many rides all over the globe and this is one of the very best!

(Claire from In The Saddle comments: We are so delighted that you had such a great riding holiday.)


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   16 November 2019

Expectations fully met. Our second visit to the Wild Coast - a longer trail this time. Julie Ann's horses are amazing, clearly very well loved and cared for, sure footed, fast when you want them to be, with brakes, and with the stamina to go for 30 - 40 kms a day and still be up for fast canters or gallops . The riding is varied and interesting (who knew horses could climb rocks?), fun and fast on the endless beaches, challenging at times when negotiating rivers and steep inclines inland and up and down to the beaches, relaxing to meander through the villages. I love the Leon Liversage trail saddles that are used - comfortable and secure. Troy is one of the best trail horses I have ever ridden. Guides Mel and Tertia worked extremely hard to look after all of us and made sure that everyone's needs were catered for. All done with a smile even on the day that rain peed down on us for 6 hours!! They were also very good hosts at meal times. Michelle provided great back up and was also a fun, cheerful companion at meal times.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

4 star rating   19 October 2019

The saddles were uncomfortable, very wide and put a lot of pressure on the inner thigh. I ride every day and am riding fit, but the saddles caused a fair bit of discomfort. They were good for the horses which is paramount, but it did impact quite strongly on the riding pleasure. Claire from In The Saddle writes – the ride operator uses good quality South African trail saddles with sheepskin covers so we are very sorry to read that you were not comfortable. We do recommend that if you are in any discomfort that you raise this with the guide because sometimes buckles from the stirrup leathers or girth can be moved to relieve pressure.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   14 September 2019

The riding lived up to high expectations


Wild Coast - South Africa

Kei River Trail

5 star rating   31 August 2019

Excellent


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   17 August 2019

The most incredible week in the saddle; the horses were incredibly fit and extremely sure footed. Loved the breathtaking scenery and fantastic long canters. There was a huge variety of terrain; beaches, rocks, river crossings, hills and gorges, which made the trail fun and challenging. The best riding we've experienced!


Wild Coast - South Africa

Kei River Trail (6 nights)

5 star rating   20 July 2019

Loved the saddles. All three horses I rode were great. Loved the beaches and long canters along grassy tracks


Wild Coast - South Africa

Kei River Trail

5 star rating   1 June 2019

Long gallops on miles of empty beaches on the South African Wild coast followed by a week camping in Okavango with amazing wildlife viewing. The highlight? Galloping with a herd of giraffe, followed by zebra and wildebeest.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   18 May 2019

Spectacular views, amazing beach rides and strong, healthy happy horses. Very professional guides - reassuring, relaxed and friendly. The terrain can be a little daunting at times if you're used to mainly flat/straightforward ground, but the horses are sure footed and steady in temperament, so you can have a lot of confidence in them. Loved it!


Wild Coast - South Africa

Kei River Trail

5 star rating   11 May 2019

The longest flat out gallop I've ever done, and I’ve ridden on a few good beaches! Plus the horses cope with rock scrambling, getting on a ferry to cross the river and swimming the river while the riders got kayaks. The horses are well loved, willing and super fit. The one I rode for the trail and gallop, Tenna Sea, was brilliant.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Kei River Trail

5 star rating   11 May 2019

It exceeded my expectations. Both venues could not do enough to please and were very focussed on making the holiday enjoyable. Horses were a delight and very well cared for


Wild Coast - South Africa

Tailored Itinerary

5 star rating   1 May 2019

At Ant's Nest I rode a few too slow horses, but ended up with a very nice horse.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Tailored Itinerary

5 star rating   1 May 2019

At Ant's Nest I rode a few too slow horses, but ended up with a very nice horse.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Tailored Itinerary

5 star rating   1 May 2019

At Ant's Nest I rode a few too slow horses, but ended up with a very nice horse.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Tailored Itinerary

5 star rating   1 May 2019

The one room I had in the guest house at Kei Mouth had plumbing problems and the door didn't close properly. It could use an upgrade.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Kei River Trail

5 star rating   2 February 2019

I rode five different horses during the Kei Mouth Trail and all of them were extremely fit, incredibly sure-footed and very willing. They scrambled over rocks and canter over hills and gallop on the beaches beautifully. It was very hard to pick a favourite as they were all so good. The deserted beaches are perfect for long canters and gallops but I also enjoyed cantering up and down hills inland. Credit to team for keeping 40+ horse in such top condition!


Wild Coast - South Africa

Kei River Trail

5 star rating   2 February 2019

The horses and the riding by far exceeded my expectations - the horses are very well trained, with amazing personalities, sure-footed and with outstanding athletic abilities. Even on the steepest terrain, on slippery and wet rocks, I never felt unsafe. It was great that Mel had all participants try different horses at first, and once we'd found our matches, we went on the two-day trail to Wavecrest. The canters along the beach were almost the best - only exceeded by the gallop along the beach - I don't think I've ever been on a horse going so fast!


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   26 January 2019

My second time riding the Wild Coast and just as good as before. Weather much more varied this time.

(ITS NOTE: We are so pleased that you enjoyed your return visit despite the varied weather).


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   26 January 2019

Great ride - we both loved our horses.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   24 November 2018

Horses were extremely fit and well cared for. Very safe and steady to ride. They were responsive and controllable individually, even on the beach!


Wild Coast - South Africa

Beach Trails (7 nights)

5 star rating   17 November 2018

I really enjoyed my riding experience on the Wild Coast. Loved the horse I had, pace and terrain were excellent and guides exceptional.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   27 October 2018

The horses were extremely fit, going on for long canters again and again. They were well trained and a pleasure to ride. The accommodation was friendly and comfortable and the food good. Our guides, Melanie and Caty, were friendly, competent and good fun! The views, scenery and seas were spectacular. We saw whales and dolphin as well as many birds. This is the best ride I have been on (out of five ITS holidays).


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   29 September 2018

The horses were all superb, obviously so well looked after, immensely fit and fabulously fast on the beach canters.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   25 August 2018

The condition of the horses is excellent and the saddles are extremely comfortable.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   30 June 2018

The beach riding was exceptional. Good variety of terrain.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   16 June 2018

Excellent horses.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   5 May 2018

Excellent


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   24 February 2018

Wow, wow, wow !! It was an amazing week! Had a fresh and forwardgoing mare, nice horse and a perfect match! We rode on the beach, in the green hills above the beach, up and down really steep hills, crossed small and large rivers, through small villages, past many, many cows and across stones and rocks … And the horses went so safe and steady everywhere. The biggest river took us almost 10 minutes to cross over and the water came up to the stomach of the horses, but they were completely carefree. And rock climbing was no trouble for the horses! And all the gallops on the beach -WOW !! 🙂


31 reviews