Reviews
32 reviews   
Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   16 November 2019

Victoria who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Incredible beaches, great horses and a wonderful holiday | The riding was varied and at times quite fast paced. Given the size of the group (9 riders plus two guides) and bad weather at times, the guides did incredibly well to keep within everyone's limits while keeping things interesting for those of us who like to push ourselves a bit more.

The horses were lovely - forward going but manageable and reliable - and were obviously very well looked after.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   16 November 2019

Jackie who has been on 10 In The Saddle rides. Exhilarating | Yes, our leader, Mel, did a great job of keeping us moving at suitable speeds to match the terrain and keep us safe


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   16 November 2019

Cheryl (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Stunning location good horses | Excellent


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   16 November 2019

Sue who has been on 14 In The Saddle rides. Surely one of the best trail rides in the world! | My mare Tatum was perfect for me...kind, forward going and polite - a real credit to the training given by the Wild Coast team. All the group seemed really happy with the horses they were matched with. These horses are fit and clearly love their job.
The riding, whether on pristine beaches, crossinf rivers, through the hills and valleys or in villages, was perfectly paced with plenty of long fast canters and loads of photo opps. The tack was comfortable and in good condition. Our guides Mel and Tertia, plus Chelle in support, couldn't have been better - safety conscious, caring of the horses and super fun.
Julie-Anne spent time with us at meals on the first and last days which was lovely. She is deservedly proud of her operation. I've done many rides all over the globe and this is one of the very best!

(Claire from In The Saddle comments: We are so delighted that you had such a great riding holiday.)


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   16 November 2019

Linda who has been on 18 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic week-long trail ride along the stunning Wild Coast of South Africa | Expectations fully met. Our second visit to the Wild Coast - a longer trail this time. Julie Ann's horses are amazing, clearly very well loved and cared for, sure footed, fast when you want them to be, with brakes, and with the stamina to go for 30 - 40 kms a day and still be up for fast canters or gallops . The riding is varied and interesting (who knew horses could climb rocks?), fun and fast on the endless beaches, challenging at times when negotiating rivers and steep inclines inland and up and down to the beaches, relaxing to meander through the villages. I love the Leon Liversage trail saddles that are used - comfortable and secure. Troy is one of the best trail horses I have ever ridden. Guides Mel and Tertia worked extremely hard to look after all of us and made sure that everyone's needs were catered for. All done with a smile even on the day that rain peed down on us for 6 hours!! They were also very good hosts at meal times. Michelle provided great back up and was also a fun, cheerful companion at meal times.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

4 star rating   19 October 2019

Kate who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Lots of canters on deserted beaches | The saddles were uncomfortable, very wide and put a lot of pressure on the inner thigh. I ride every day and am riding fit, but the saddles caused a fair bit of discomfort. They were good for the horses which is paramount, but it did impact quite strongly on the riding pleasure. Claire from In The Saddle writes – the ride operator uses good quality South African trail saddles with sheepskin covers so we are very sorry to read that you were not comfortable. We do recommend that if you are in any discomfort that you raise this with the guide because sometimes buckles from the stirrup leathers or girth can be moved to relieve pressure.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   14 September 2019

Jess who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. A unique trail across beautiful coastline | The riding lived up to high expectations


Wild Coast - South Africa

Kei River Trail

5 star rating   31 August 2019

Jayne who has been on 8 In The Saddle rides. Breath Taking | Excellent


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   17 August 2019

Amanda who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Wild Coast Adventure Trail - A holiday of a lifetime. | The most incredible week in the saddle; the horses were incredibly fit and extremely sure footed. Loved the breathtaking scenery and fantastic long canters. There was a huge variety of terrain; beaches, rocks, river crossings, hills and gorges, which made the trail fun and challenging. The best riding we've experienced!


Wild Coast - South Africa

Kei River Trail (6 nights)

5 star rating   20 July 2019

Equiphile who has been on 8 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic | Loved the saddles. All three horses I rode were great. Loved the beaches and long canters along grassy tracks


Wild Coast - South Africa

Kei River Trail

5 star rating   1 June 2019

Dotsky who has been on 9 In The Saddle rides. kei river mouth and Okavango Mobile safari - 2 holidays back to back - both excellent | Long gallops on miles of empty beaches on the South African Wild coast followed by a week camping in Okavango with amazing wildlife viewing. The highlight? Galloping with a herd of giraffe, followed by zebra and wildebeest.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   18 May 2019

Sarah J (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Outstanding - an absolute bucket-list holiday | Spectacular views, amazing beach rides and strong, healthy happy horses. Very professional guides - reassuring, relaxed and friendly. The terrain can be a little daunting at times if you're used to mainly flat/straightforward ground, but the horses are sure footed and steady in temperament, so you can have a lot of confidence in them. Loved it!


Wild Coast - South Africa

Kei River Trail

5 star rating   11 May 2019

Chris who has been on 40 In The Saddle rides. Excellent beach riding | The longest flat out gallop I've ever done, and I’ve ridden on a few good beaches! Plus the horses cope with rock scrambling, getting on a ferry to cross the river and swimming the river while the riders got kayaks. The horses are well loved, willing and super fit. The one I rode for the trail and gallop, Tenna Sea, was brilliant.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Kei River Trail

5 star rating   11 May 2019

Louise who has been on 12 In The Saddle rides. Amazing experience at both venues | It exceeded my expectations. Both venues could not do enough to please and were very focussed on making the holiday enjoyable. Horses were a delight and very well cared for


Wild Coast - South Africa

Tailored Itinerary

5 star rating   1 May 2019

Astrid who has been on 33 In The Saddle rides. Great rides / great food / great service | At Ant's Nest I rode a few too slow horses, but ended up with a very nice horse.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Tailored Itinerary

5 star rating   1 May 2019

Astrid who has been on 33 In The Saddle rides. Great rides / great food / great service | At Ant's Nest I rode a few too slow horses, but ended up with a very nice horse.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Tailored Itinerary

5 star rating   1 May 2019

Astrid who has been on 33 In The Saddle rides. Great rides / great food / great service | At Ant's Nest I rode a few too slow horses, but ended up with a very nice horse.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Tailored Itinerary

5 star rating   1 May 2019

Leslie who has been on 22 In The Saddle rides. Very nice riding on the beaches | The one room I had in the guest house at Kei Mouth had plumbing problems and the door didn't close properly. It could use an upgrade.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Tailored Itinerary

4 star rating   1 May 2019

elis who has been on 16 In The Saddle rides. Adventure | Good or Very Good


Wild Coast - South Africa

Kei River Trail

5 star rating   2 February 2019

Vanessa who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Wild Coast | I rode five different horses during the Kei Mouth Trail and all of them were extremely fit, incredibly sure-footed and very willing. They scrambled over rocks and canter over hills and gallop on the beaches beautifully. It was very hard to pick a favourite as they were all so good. The deserted beaches are perfect for long canters and gallops but I also enjoyed cantering up and down hills inland. Credit to team for keeping 40+ horse in such top condition!


Wild Coast - South Africa

Kei River Trail

5 star rating   2 February 2019

B. Bormann (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Absolutely amazing! | The horses and the riding by far exceeded my expectations - the horses are very well trained, with amazing personalities, sure-footed and with outstanding athletic abilities. Even on the steepest terrain, on slippery and wet rocks, I never felt unsafe. It was great that Mel had all participants try different horses at first, and once we'd found our matches, we went on the two-day trail to Wavecrest. The canters along the beach were almost the best - only exceeded by the gallop along the beach - I don't think I've ever been on a horse going so fast!


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   26 January 2019

Bridgie who has been on 15 In The Saddle rides. Another great ITS ride. | My second time riding the Wild Coast and just as good as before. Weather much more varied this time.

(ITS NOTE: We are so pleased that you enjoyed your return visit despite the varied weather).


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   26 January 2019

Donna D who has been on 29 In The Saddle rides. Wild Coast | Great ride - we both loved our horses.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

4 star rating   24 November 2018

Nicole who has been on 19 In The Saddle rides. South Africa - Wild Coast | I was first given a horse for which I was clearly the wrong match, and I would not have enjoyed doing a week on that horse. I got then a different horse who was lovely. I think there is a wide range of horses, and there are quite a few that I would not wish to ride for a week, while others seem great to ride.

The guides are wonderful, and will do everything they can to make the trip enjoyable; and so just don't hesitate to speak to them.

The riding was great, lots of canters on the beach and elsewhere. Lots of trotting too.

The tack was great.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   24 November 2018

JAC who has been on 9 In The Saddle rides. v | Horses were extremely fit and well cared for. Very safe and steady to ride. They were responsive and controllable individually, even on the beach!


Wild Coast - South Africa

Beach Trails (7 nights)

5 star rating   17 November 2018

Jane who has been on 12 In The Saddle rides. Wild Coast and Cape wine region South Africa | I really enjoyed my riding experience on the Wild Coast. Loved the horse I had, pace and terrain were excellent and guides exceptional.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   27 October 2018

Mags G who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Wild Coast | The horses were extremely fit, going on for long canters again and again. They were well trained and a pleasure to ride. The accommodation was friendly and comfortable and the food good. Our guides, Melanie and Caty, were friendly, competent and good fun! The views, scenery and seas were spectacular. We saw whales and dolphin as well as many birds. This is the best ride I have been on (out of five ITS holidays).


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   29 September 2018

Nicho who has been on 17 In The Saddle rides. Better than brilliant | The horses were all superb, obviously so well looked after, immensely fit and fabulously fast on the beach canters.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   25 August 2018

Neil who has been on 40 In The Saddle rides. Wild Coast horse trails | The condition of the horses is excellent and the saddles are extremely comfortable.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   30 June 2018

Amanda who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Amazing | The beach riding was exceptional. Good variety of terrain.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   16 June 2018

Mrs K who has been on 15 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic riding. | Excellent horses.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   5 May 2018

Sylvia who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. A Beach Riding Delight | Excellent


32 reviews