Reviews
34 reviews    1 2
Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Kei River Trail (6 nights)

5 star rating   20 July 2019

Loved the saddles. All three horses I rode were great. Loved the beaches and long canters along grassy tracks


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Kei River Trail

5 star rating   1 June 2019

Long gallops on miles of empty beaches on the South African Wild coast followed by a week camping in Okavango with amazing wildlife viewing. The highlight? Galloping with a herd of giraffe, followed by zebra and wildebeest.


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   18 May 2019

Spectacular views, amazing beach rides and strong, healthy happy horses. Very professional guides - reassuring, relaxed and friendly. The terrain can be a little daunting at times if you're used to mainly flat/straightforward ground, but the horses are sure footed and steady in temperament, so you can have a lot of confidence in them. Loved it!


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Kei River Trail

5 star rating   11 May 2019

The longest flat out gallop I've ever done, and I’ve ridden on a few good beaches! Plus the horses cope with rock scrambling, getting on a ferry to cross the river and swimming the river while the riders got kayaks. The horses are well loved, willing and super fit. The one I rode for the trail and gallop, Tenna Sea, was brilliant.


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Kei River Trail

5 star rating   11 May 2019

It exceeded my expectations. Both venues could not do enough to please and were very focussed on making the holiday enjoyable. Horses were a delight and very well cared for


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Tailored Itinerary

5 star rating   1 May 2019

At Ant's Nest I rode a few too slow horses, but ended up with a very nice horse.


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Tailored Itinerary

5 star rating   1 May 2019

At Ant's Nest I rode a few too slow horses, but ended up with a very nice horse.


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Tailored Itinerary

5 star rating   1 May 2019

At Ant's Nest I rode a few too slow horses, but ended up with a very nice horse.


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Tailored Itinerary

5 star rating   1 May 2019

The one room I had in the guest house at Kei Mouth had plumbing problems and the door didn't close properly. It could use an upgrade.


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Tailored Itinerary

4 star rating   1 May 2019

Good or Very Good


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Kei River Trail

5 star rating   2 February 2019

I rode five different horses during the Kei Mouth Trail and all of them were extremely fit, incredibly sure-footed and very willing. They scrambled over rocks and canter over hills and gallop on the beaches beautifully. It was very hard to pick a favourite as they were all so good. The deserted beaches are perfect for long canters and gallops but I also enjoyed cantering up and down hills inland. Credit to team for keeping 40+ horse in such top condition!


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Kei River Trail

5 star rating   2 February 2019

The horses and the riding by far exceeded my expectations - the horses are very well trained, with amazing personalities, sure-footed and with outstanding athletic abilities. Even on the steepest terrain, on slippery and wet rocks, I never felt unsafe. It was great that Mel had all participants try different horses at first, and once we'd found our matches, we went on the two-day trail to Wavecrest. The canters along the beach were almost the best - only exceeded by the gallop along the beach - I don't think I've ever been on a horse going so fast!


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   26 January 2019

My second time riding the Wild Coast and just as good as before. Weather much more varied this time.

(ITS NOTE: We are so pleased that you enjoyed your return visit despite the varied weather).


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   26 January 2019

Great ride - we both loved our horses.


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

4 star rating   24 November 2018

I was first given a horse for which I was clearly the wrong match, and I would not have enjoyed doing a week on that horse. I got then a different horse who was lovely. I think there is a wide range of horses, and there are quite a few that I would not wish to ride for a week, while others seem great to ride.

The guides are wonderful, and will do everything they can to make the trip enjoyable; and so just don't hesitate to speak to them.

The riding was great, lots of canters on the beach and elsewhere. Lots of trotting too.

The tack was great.


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   24 November 2018

Horses were extremely fit and well cared for. Very safe and steady to ride. They were responsive and controllable individually, even on the beach!


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Beach Trails (7 nights)

5 star rating   17 November 2018

I really enjoyed my riding experience on the Wild Coast. Loved the horse I had, pace and terrain were excellent and guides exceptional.


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   27 October 2018

The horses were extremely fit, going on for long canters again and again. They were well trained and a pleasure to ride. The accommodation was friendly and comfortable and the food good. Our guides, Melanie and Caty, were friendly, competent and good fun! The views, scenery and seas were spectacular. We saw whales and dolphin as well as many birds. This is the best ride I have been on (out of five ITS holidays).


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   29 September 2018

The horses were all superb, obviously so well looked after, immensely fit and fabulously fast on the beach canters.


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   25 August 2018

The condition of the horses is excellent and the saddles are extremely comfortable.


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   30 June 2018

The beach riding was exceptional. Good variety of terrain.


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   16 June 2018

Excellent horses.


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   5 May 2018

Excellent


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   24 February 2018

Wow, wow, wow !! It was an amazing week! Had a fresh and forwardgoing mare, nice horse and a perfect match! We rode on the beach, in the green hills above the beach, up and down really steep hills, crossed small and large rivers, through small villages, past many, many cows and across stones and rocks … And the horses went so safe and steady everywhere. The biggest river took us almost 10 minutes to cross over and the water came up to the stomach of the horses, but they were completely carefree. And rock climbing was no trouble for the horses! And all the gallops on the beach -WOW !! 🙂


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

4 star rating   24 February 2018

Good or Very Good


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Surf & Turf

5 star rating   25 November 2017

Perfectly matched horses for the trail part of the ride. Unfortunately my husband's horse at the game park seemed very lazy and did not keep up with any of canters (apart from our final beach canter on the last day) which was disappointing. On the trail there was a nice mix of fast, long beach canters giving us the opportunity to spread out and see what our horses could do, and shorter canters on the smaller beaches. One incredible gallop along a 2 1/2 km stretch of beach. Some challenging terrain and several rivers and streams to cross. The trail saddles were really comfortable.


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

4 star rating   21 October 2017

Beyond expectations.


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Wild Coast Adventure Trail (short)

5 star rating   14 October 2017

The horses were excellent, well above the normal trail ride standard. The were very well looked after as well.
The tack was the best I've had on a holiday for a long time - very comfy both for the horse and the rider. The saddles were very well fitted to the horses and never moved, and so all the horses had healthy backs.


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Surf & Turf

4 star rating   14 October 2017

Fab time. Horses and guides know their job.


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Surf & Turf

5 star rating   7 October 2017

The riding completely surpassed my expectations, the horse, guides, scenery, terrain and riding were all exceptionally good, only the weather wasn't as good as I expected, but it really didn't matter a jot!


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Surf & Turf

5 star rating   7 October 2017

More than .. particularly on the surf part .. just wish I could have taken that mare home!


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Surf & Turf

5 star rating   7 October 2017

Just wish i could have taken my mare from the surf bit home with me ..would if I could!!


34 reviews    1 2