Reviews
22 reviews   
Wait A Little - South Africa

Ride and Dine Safari

4 star rating   23 November 2019

Jane who has been on 7 In The Saddle rides. Mixed | The riding was described as pacy with jumps. It wasn't which gave us one extremely awkward day when the issue was raised and dealt with aggressively and in a very confrontational way by the owners.

I am unsure exactly what happened but to me that day...on an expensive holiday …. was wasted and deeply unpleasant

I don’t expect hosts to shout at their guests! I do expect a holiday to match descriptions


Wait A Little - South Africa

Ride and Dine Safari

5 star rating   23 November 2019

Nicola who has been on 7 In The Saddle rides. Wait A Little | The horses were amazing and extremely well cared for.

The pace was a lot slower than advertised in the holiday description….. Although we did eventually get to canter along the tracks there was no fast riding or jumping.

[Olwen from In The Saddle adds - gallops are rare and the only jumping would be should there be a small log in your path. We are sorry if we misled you on this].

Ray is a very different guide to Rusty who no longer works there and so the style and pace of the riding has changed dramatically. This is fine but it may be worth changing the description so people know what to expect. Had we known this in advance then expectations of a very fast ride would not have been so high and the whole problem might not have occurred.

The animal sightings from the horses exceeded all expectations and our guide Ray was amazing- such a knowledgeable young man with a total love of all things in the bush- I learnt a lot and it was really interesting riding with him learning about tracking and all the animals.
In no way am I complaining about Ray as a guide- he is awesome and I’d happily ride with him again any time, But as I said above he is a lot slower than Rusty!)


Wait A Little - South Africa

Ride and Dine Safari

4 star rating   23 November 2019

Gillian who has been on 9 In The Saddle rides. Wait A Little | The riding is different as the countryside is dense and careful riding is required. I felt that we were treated like learner riders with little thought of the fact that we may know what we were doing and that we did have considerable past knowledge behind us. The guide is a young budding natural horseman and is keen to impress and the follow at the rear girl is a student keen to pick fault as she is a budding dressage rider/showjumper, unfortunately with no knowledge of cross country riding. Rather spoils the feel of the ride. The discription in your itinery says long fast canters and that they can be long in duration so require to be fit. Ray our guide did not like more than a walk we did canter very short canters but because they were start stop it became untidy to keep organised.

[Olwen from In The Saddle writes - we have spoken to Wait A Little about your feedback. They have told me that there was a lot of rain prior to your holiday which made it very slippy in the first couple of days and so made faster riding impossible. Wait A Little have also explained that their impression was that some of the group were very happy with the slower pace.
Everyone has commented that Ray was a great guide and that you had amazing sightings, which of course would not have been possible if you had been going very fast].

As a guide Ray was amazing, maybe a chancer with the wildlife but we learnt an awful lot from him.


Wait A Little - South Africa

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   26 October 2019

Nicola who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Wait A Little - It was just like being in a movie....unbelievable | Excellent


Wait A Little - South Africa

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   26 October 2019

Kate (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Best holiday of my life! | Completely surpassed my expectations.
Horses were wonderful, very well schooled and very well looked after.
Riding & Guides was fantastic - beyond anything I expected.


Wait A Little - South Africa

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   20 July 2019

Bertie's owner (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fantastic | The horses were all lovely, really well cared for, and because were riding twice daily, we had different horses over the course of the week, so that they were fresh and not over worked. Riding in the Bush was a new experience for me, but the horses ‘knew the job’ perfectly. The tack was fabulous, in every way,; clean, well fitted and the saddles were comfortable.


Wait A Little - South Africa

Big Five Extended Safari

5 star rating   24 June 2019

Cathy who has been on 43 In The Saddle rides. Riding, Adrenalin and the Big Five | This was my 8th trip to Wait a Little and more than exceeded my high expectations. I rode 5 horses, from my favourite, to the old boy and 3 newish ones who were all a sheer privilege to ride, enthusiastic to canter, characterful, calm and patient in the sightings and when faced by 3 advancing and extremely interested lions when asked, all the Ride quietly walked out of the sighting whilst the bull whip cracked and the riders pulse rates soared!

You never can guarantee what you will see, that's the fun of it, it's always different. From the Cheetahs who welcomed me at the gate, the elusive but from the tracks ever present Leopard, Buffalos, stroppy Lions, Rhinos including a baby, inquisitive Hippos, and Elephants who allowed us so many sightings. Nights punctuated by the pride male roaring his tenancy of the reserve sometimes from outside my room, hyena calling, to the Sleep Out at Beacon Rock and the lovely lodge Xidulu, this made for another very breathtaking and special trip.

The tack is beautifully looked after and each horse is turned out for each ride immaculately. Horses and riders showed no problems from the tack.


Wait A Little - South Africa

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   15 June 2019

ega05ece who has been on 14 In The Saddle rides. Wait a Little | As this ride is tracking the big 5 through sometimes quite thick foliage, the pace is naturally slower, so if you want a holiday where you can gallop for miles, this may not be for you. However, if you want to get up close to white rhinos and elephants, I would definitely recommend.


Wait A Little - South Africa

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   18 May 2019

Sarah (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Amazing, dream come true. | Excellent


Wait A Little - South Africa

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   18 May 2019

Charlotte (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) An incredible and educational week - I feel very lucky to have spent time with the Wait a Little team | The horses and team were exceptional. Inevitably in a mixed group the pace will be set to the weaker riders and that is what you accept when joining a larger group. It would have been perhaps more fun for the wait a little team if we had all been able to speak english or german because the evenings were sometimes quiet and there were a few issues over the instructions issued.

Selfishly a few faster moments and a slightly tighter group may have added some extra highlights but perhaps this was because we had an unlucky week with sightings.

Notwithstanding the above I had the most incredible week and was so very lucky to ride Monarch and Perroni and with Monarch wanting to be at the front I got to learn so much more about the bush, conservation work and the animals than I had hoped and I feel very lucky to have had that experience.


Wait A Little - South Africa

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   27 April 2019

Rocket (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) The Best Experience of My Life | The horses had just come off a long break so were a little feisty the first day of riding. If we'd had the time it would have been great to take a couple of loops around the ring just to get used to the tack and the horse. We jump right into the trail and gallop. After being so tired from the flight and anxious with a new horse I'd say some of us took a couple of days to settle into the environment. [ITS Note: Thank you for your comment regarding a practise lap around the arena. We will pass this suggestion onto our partners at Wait a Little. We agree it can sometimes take a while to adapt to a strange/new horse and tack that you find different to that available in America).


Wait A Little - South Africa

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   27 April 2019

The best week ever!!! who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. The best week ever!!! | I rode two horses over the course of the week and both were absolutely fantastic. I had specified that I feel most comfortable with horses around 15.2/16hh and prefer something fairly forward going, both horses matched me perfectly. They were extremely well behaved but also very forward and enjoyed their canters. The tack is immaculate (it is cleaned after every ride!) and it is obvious how well cared for all of the horses are, they are in fabulous condition and very fit, they both still felt full or energy even after returning from some of the longer morning rides.


Wait A Little - South Africa

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   16 March 2019

Richardm who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Second time in 10 months! | Nothing too much trouble


Wait A Little - South Africa

Camp Safari

5 star rating   24 January 2019

Campbellcat who has been on 28 In The Saddle rides. Very beautiful horses and a lovely friendly place to stay | The horses that I rode were the best trained I think I've ever had on a holiday (Nugget, Theakston and Ice), not lacking in personality (Nugget had a little go at sitting down in a pond), but very responsive whilst relaxed, and as happy at the front as at the middle or back of the ride. You get closer to the game on this safari than any other one I've been on, just a few yards away from a rhino, for example. The horses are immaculately turned out , and seat savers readily provided on our request. The only thing I got really fed up were the thorn bushes, but there's not a lot can be done about that! Pace was a little slower at times as we had a couple of mishaps with riders being unshipped, and one rider had aggravated a previous back injury on the last day.


Wait A Little - South Africa

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   12 January 2019

Linda (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Wait a little | Everything was perfect.


Wait A Little - South Africa

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   15 December 2018

Hanshe who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Wait A Little Big Five | The horses were immaculate from care, tack, living conditions to behavior and suitability for what was required of them.


Wait A Little - South Africa

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   24 November 2018

Lisa (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Everything I imagine and more! | All the horses were very well behaved, fun and safe. They were all extremely well looked after as was the tack. The riding was fun, varied and exciting.


Wait A Little - South Africa

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   3 November 2018

SariSi who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Wait A Little - Big Five Safari | Excellent


Wait A Little - South Africa

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   3 November 2018

Sarz (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Amazing experience +++++ | Amazing horses. So well cared for. Lovely tack and very comfortable saddles


Wait A Little - South Africa

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   20 October 2018

Nicky who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic luxury horse safari | Riding was great but we had a few people that were maybe not up to the standard they should have been. This meant we had a few falls which held us up, with one rider going to hospital. Not the fault of wait a little or in the saddle, just disappointing from other agents!


Wait A Little - South Africa

Ride and Dine Safari

5 star rating   5 June 2018

Cathy who has been on 43 In The Saddle rides. Wait a Little, Gourmet Ride | Happy, much loved, very well trained horses with exceptional saddles and tack. Riding these animals is a privilege. They are always alert and show an understanding of the animals they face but will stand and listen to the rider's commands. This allows amazingly close encounters with the animals you encounter. Rusty, our guide, so careful of his riders reads the animal body language knowing how far he can safely take each sighting, whether to stay or when to withdraw.


Wait A Little - South Africa

Camp Safari

5 star rating   16 May 2018

Richard who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Wait a Little, Big 5 | Although there are long fast canters tracking the big 5 through the bush necessarily entails walking. As we hunt in England this was no problem and gave us time to learn more about the environment from Rusty and Phillip. The horses are well turned out and well mannered and during the whole holiday no one requested a change. The light and fun atmosphere belies the smooth operation that runs perfectly. The rooms are nice and spacious and well separated from each other. Sleeping out is a must! The team are excellent at drawing together the guests and making it a great holiday.


22 reviews