Reviews
23 reviews   
Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   20 July 2019

The horses were all lovely, really well cared for, and because were riding twice daily, we had different horses over the course of the week, so that they were fresh and not over worked. Riding in the Bush was a new experience for me, but the horses ‘knew the job’ perfectly. The tack was fabulous, in every way,; clean, well fitted and the saddles were comfortable.


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Big Five Extended Safari

5 star rating   24 June 2019

This was my 8th trip to Wait a Little and more than exceeded my high expectations. I rode 5 horses, from my favourite, to the old boy and 3 newish ones who were all a sheer privilege to ride, enthusiastic to canter, characterful, calm and patient in the sightings and when faced by 3 advancing and extremely interested lions when asked, all the Ride quietly walked out of the sighting whilst the bull whip cracked and the riders pulse rates soared!

You never can guarantee what you will see, that's the fun of it, it's always different. From the Cheetahs who welcomed me at the gate, the elusive but from the tracks ever present Leopard, Buffalos, stroppy Lions, Rhinos including a baby, inquisitive Hippos, and Elephants who allowed us so many sightings. Nights punctuated by the pride male roaring his tenancy of the reserve sometimes from outside my room, hyena calling, to the Sleep Out at Beacon Rock and the lovely lodge Xidulu, this made for another very breathtaking and special trip.

The tack is beautifully looked after and each horse is turned out for each ride immaculately. Horses and riders showed no problems from the tack.


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   15 June 2019

As this ride is tracking the big 5 through sometimes quite thick foliage, the pace is naturally slower, so if you want a holiday where you can gallop for miles, this may not be for you. However, if you want to get up close to white rhinos and elephants, I would definitely recommend.


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   18 May 2019

The horses and team were exceptional. Inevitably in a mixed group the pace will be set to the weaker riders and that is what you accept when joining a larger group. It would have been perhaps more fun for the wait a little team if we had all been able to speak english or german because the evenings were sometimes quiet and there were a few issues over the instructions issued.

Selfishly a few faster moments and a slightly tighter group may have added some extra highlights but perhaps this was because we had an unlucky week with sightings.

Notwithstanding the above I had the most incredible week and was so very lucky to ride Monarch and Perroni and with Monarch wanting to be at the front I got to learn so much more about the bush, conservation work and the animals than I had hoped and I feel very lucky to have had that experience.


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   27 April 2019

The horses had just come off a long break so were a little feisty the first day of riding. If we'd had the time it would have been great to take a couple of loops around the ring just to get used to the tack and the horse. We jump right into the trail and gallop. After being so tired from the flight and anxious with a new horse I'd say some of us took a couple of days to settle into the environment. [ITS Note: Thank you for your comment regarding a practise lap around the arena. We will pass this suggestion onto our partners at Wait a Little. We agree it can sometimes take a while to adapt to a strange/new horse and tack that you find different to that available in America).


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   27 April 2019

I rode two horses over the course of the week and both were absolutely fantastic. I had specified that I feel most comfortable with horses around 15.2/16hh and prefer something fairly forward going, both horses matched me perfectly. They were extremely well behaved but also very forward and enjoyed their canters. The tack is immaculate (it is cleaned after every ride!) and it is obvious how well cared for all of the horses are, they are in fabulous condition and very fit, they both still felt full or energy even after returning from some of the longer morning rides.


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   16 March 2019

Nothing too much trouble


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Camp Safari

5 star rating   24 January 2019

The horses that I rode were the best trained I think I've ever had on a holiday (Nugget, Theakston and Ice), not lacking in personality (Nugget had a little go at sitting down in a pond), but very responsive whilst relaxed, and as happy at the front as at the middle or back of the ride. You get closer to the game on this safari than any other one I've been on, just a few yards away from a rhino, for example. The horses are immaculately turned out , and seat savers readily provided on our request. The only thing I got really fed up were the thorn bushes, but there's not a lot can be done about that! Pace was a little slower at times as we had a couple of mishaps with riders being unshipped, and one rider had aggravated a previous back injury on the last day.


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   12 January 2019

Everything was perfect.


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   15 December 2018

The horses were immaculate from care, tack, living conditions to behavior and suitability for what was required of them.


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   24 November 2018

All the horses were very well behaved, fun and safe. They were all extremely well looked after as was the tack. The riding was fun, varied and exciting.


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   3 November 2018

Excellent


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   3 November 2018

Amazing horses. So well cared for. Lovely tack and very comfortable saddles


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   20 October 2018

Riding was great but we had a few people that were maybe not up to the standard they should have been. This meant we had a few falls which held us up, with one rider going to hospital. Not the fault of wait a little or in the saddle, just disappointing from other agents!


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Ride and Dine Safari

5 star rating   5 June 2018

Happy, much loved, very well trained horses with exceptional saddles and tack. Riding these animals is a privilege. They are always alert and show an understanding of the animals they face but will stand and listen to the rider's commands. This allows amazingly close encounters with the animals you encounter. Rusty, our guide, so careful of his riders reads the animal body language knowing how far he can safely take each sighting, whether to stay or when to withdraw.


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Camp Safari

5 star rating   16 May 2018

Although there are long fast canters tracking the big 5 through the bush necessarily entails walking. As we hunt in England this was no problem and gave us time to learn more about the environment from Rusty and Phillip. The horses are well turned out and well mannered and during the whole holiday no one requested a change. The light and fun atmosphere belies the smooth operation that runs perfectly. The rooms are nice and spacious and well separated from each other. Sleeping out is a must! The team are excellent at drawing together the guests and making it a great holiday.


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Camp Safari

5 star rating   17 January 2018

We were well matched with horses and if we did not like them they were changed. The horses are amazing in the terrain and know their jobs, they are a credit to the team.


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   13 January 2018

Pace necessarily slow due to dense terrain and need to track the game, so not a problem.


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   11 November 2017

Horses were polite, well schooled, but still had character


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   4 November 2017

The riding was excellent, I had 2 different horses and couldn't fault either of them. They were both very well behaved even with the wild animals so close to us. We walked most of the time whilst we were tracking various animals but had some really good canters and I don't think I saw anyone having any real difficulty with their horse. The horses were very sure footed when we walked up and down some quite steep banks along the dry river bed.


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   4 November 2017

Both of my horses were good quality, well schooled and good temperament.


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   28 October 2017

I rode three different horses all stunning, with character and perfectly matched to my riding level. They were just brilliant and compensated for any weakness in my riding skills. The riding wasn’t difficult but you just know there could be a ‘situation’. The horses are magnificently turned out for each ride to virtually show standard and the tack room was so ordered I found it intimidating. Everything to do with the horses and riding was done with pride. Even the volunteers are stylishly turned out. I thought for years about doing a horse safari before taking the plunge on this one as they’re so expensive but some times the best things in life do cost lots of money!


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   14 October 2017

The horses are just excellent! Well prepared for meeting dangerous game, having different riders on them, very well schooled horses with a nice behaviour!


23 reviews