Reviews
19 reviews   
Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   28 November 2018

All the horses were very well behaved, fun and safe. They were all extremely well looked after as was the tack. The riding was fun, varied and exciting.


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   19 November 2018

Amazing horses. So well cared for. Lovely tack and very comfortable saddles


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   29 October 2018

Riding was great but we had a few people that were maybe not up to the standard they should have been. This meant we had a few falls which held us up, with one rider going to hospital. Not the fault of wait a little or in the saddle, just disappointing from other agents!


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Ride and Dine Safari

5 star rating   14 June 2018

Happy, much loved, very well trained horses with exceptional saddles and tack. Riding these animals is a privilege. They are always alert and show an understanding of the animals they face but will stand and listen to the rider's commands. This allows amazingly close encounters with the animals you encounter. Rusty, our guide, so careful of his riders reads the animal body language knowing how far he can safely take each sighting, whether to stay or when to withdraw.


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Camp Safari

5 star rating   21 May 2018

Although there are long fast canters tracking the big 5 through the bush necessarily entails walking. As we hunt in England this was no problem and gave us time to learn more about the environment from Rusty and Phillip. The horses are well turned out and well mannered and during the whole holiday no one requested a change. The light and fun atmosphere belies the smooth operation that runs perfectly. The rooms are nice and spacious and well separated from each other. Sleeping out is a must! The team are excellent at drawing together the guests and making it a great holiday.


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   26 January 2018

Pace necessarily slow due to dense terrain and need to track the game, so not a problem.


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Camp Safari

5 star rating   23 January 2018

We were well matched with horses and if we did not like them they were changed. The horses are amazing in the terrain and know their jobs, they are a credit to the team.


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   1 December 2017

Horses were polite, well schooled, but still had character


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   27 November 2017

I rode three different horses all stunning, with character and perfectly matched to my riding level. They were just brilliant and compensated for any weakness in my riding skills. The riding wasn’t difficult but you just know there could be a ‘situation’. The horses are magnificently turned out for each ride to virtually show standard and the tack room was so ordered I found it intimidating. Everything to do with the horses and riding was done with pride. Even the volunteers are stylishly turned out. I thought for years about doing a horse safari before taking the plunge on this one as they’re so expensive but some times the best things in life do cost lots of money!


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   22 November 2017

The riding was excellent, I had 2 different horses and couldn't fault either of them. They were both very well behaved even with the wild animals so close to us. We walked most of the time whilst we were tracking various animals but had some really good canters and I don't think I saw anyone having any real difficulty with their horse. The horses were very sure footed when we walked up and down some quite steep banks along the dry river bed.


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   21 November 2017

Both of my horses were good quality, well schooled and good temperament.


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   24 October 2017

The horses are just excellent! Well prepared for meeting dangerous game, having different riders on them, very well schooled horses with a nice behaviour!


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   18 July 2017

Excellent riding - fast, long canters (I recorded 5-6 mins on several occasions), with some really fun winding canters off road through the Bush and even some jumping thrown in. Beautifully balanced horses that are very well schooled and really off the leg. Must be an experienced rider and able to sit out a spook - they are well schooled but still horses at the end of the day. One guest did not ride regularly at present, and during an early canter she did not use enough leg when passing a termite mound - her horse spooked and she came off. Mine jumped from side to side a few times in canters after lion sightings (getting out his tension!), which was great fun but if you cannot ride that then this would not be the holiday for you.


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Camp Safari

5 star rating   11 July 2017

The saddles were incredibly comfortable and Gerti and Phillip have done an excellent job training their horses. Each horse I rode was brave and comfortable!


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Camp Safari

5 star rating   11 July 2017

This is mostly walking interspersed with fast gallops. You definitely have to bring your A game to ride with the wild animals!


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Camp Safari

5 star rating   11 July 2017

Absolutely beautiful riding and animal sightings. I was extremely impressed by the training of the horses at the sightings. We got closer to the animals than I expected.


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Garonga Ride

5 star rating   27 June 2017

This was my fifth trip to Wait a Little and my second Garonga ride. What makes this so special for me is the quality of the horses. All the horses that I have ridden have been responsive, soft mouthed and well mannered. The thrill of the canter and their calmness around the game makes for fantastic experiences. Whether you ride with Philip or Rusty, both Guides of the highest competence, you can find yourself so very close to Elephant, Lion, Buffalo and Rhino. Here your trusty steed really comes into his own and due to their training they stand, alert but waiting for their riders commands. Oh what a thrill and then to exit the scene walking quietly leaving the animals to continue their day.


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   22 March 2017

The horses really enjoyed the rides which we loved too, riding through the bush and good canters not knowing what to expect next, wonderful.


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   3 March 2017

Exceptionally long canters - as warned in the brochure.
The practice is not to dismount while riding in a game reserve, so on one occasion I was in the saddle for 6.5 hours.


19 reviews