Reviews
24 reviews   
Tuli Trail - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Trail

5 star rating   26 May 2019

Very impressed by the quality, training and care of the horses here. I was matched with a lovely horse who was exactly what I requested!


Tuli Trail - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Trail

5 star rating   21 April 2019

The horses were in very good condition, all fit, muscled, clean and ready to go.


Tuli Trail - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Trail

5 star rating   11 November 2018

Right from the beginning from the booklet of what to expect ,advice what to take the itinerary even included my flight details which I booked ,
Met up with Lindy and her lovely horses after some lunch we We’re introduced to are horse, after a brief ride for 5min,we set off to
are first camp, the standard of the tents, beds, food .throughout each camp was fantastic,
Some of the many highlights were the baboons about 30 of them running through the camp at 6:00 in the morning, the sighting of a leopard under a clump of bushes when the leopard Told us we were close enough with a growl the horse only jump side ways ,,,,didn’t bolt off, and the heynena cubs just 5yards away, the fathers taking them back in his mouth to safer ground, cantering with the giraffe and widerbeast,the horses side stepping the rocks in canter, we saw lots more animals and birds, Thank you to every one the guides the Cooke’s and grooms for a fantastic holiday hope to see you next year jeff pritchard November 2018


Tuli Trail - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Trail

5 star rating   21 October 2018

The only ? I have is the numbers on the ride. We were 9 ( included a camp volunteer) + 2 guides and from Friday - Sunday we were 10 + 2. A couple of horses were prone to kick at each other which proved a challenge at times.


Tuli Trail - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Trail

5 star rating   7 October 2018

Limpopo Horse Safaris are known for the quality and well being of their horses. Our group of 8 were well matched with our horses and no one felt the need to ask for a change.
Interesting terrain with lots of walking, then long canters to make up ground. We were in the saddle for 4-6 hrs a day but it passed very quickly.


Tuli Trail - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Trail

5 star rating   12 August 2018

The long walks to see game were very pleasant and these were interspersed with long canters. There was some rough terrain in places in order to cross dry river beds with some steep inclines and declines so needed to be competent but this was as expected.
The long canters often varied in speed and direction with quick turns so you needed to be secure in the saddle and a competent rider and there was some jumping if you wanted to do it but you could just watch if you preferred. There was no pressure to jump.
The horses were incredibly fit and sure footed but well behaved. As a rider you needed to be fit and capable but I expected this, I was sore for a day or two but after that I got into the swing of things and came home very happy!

All riders on the group were capable and this made it an enjoyment for everyone


Tuli Trail - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Trail

5 star rating   17 June 2018

So much fun lots of medium and fast paced canters in and out of the bushes which were great. Jumping if we wanted during canters and specific obstacles. Confidence built through the week so just went for it!


Tuli Trail - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Trail

5 star rating   17 June 2018

My horse, Menate, was a dream, responsive and well mannered and also a good jumper which meant we got to have some fun with a variety of natural obstacles. A couple of members of the group I was in were struggling slightly with their horses, especially as the week went on, but the guides were attuned to this and controlled it appropriately.


Tuli Trail - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Trail

5 star rating   10 June 2018

Great horse match, I got exactly what I asked for in Valiant. Guides paced the ride really well. I found the saddle a bit uncomfortable and would have welcomed a seat saver, plus my stirrup leather broke while I was riding.


Tuli Trail - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Trail

5 star rating   10 June 2018

Changed my horse after the first full day. Really didn't 'gel' with Thundercloud. No problem and LHS happy to do so. However, I realised by the end of the week why I was having issues with the (much) faster pace - my own horse is 17h and Lynx was 15h3 so the fast canter and the jumping left me not very confident or comfortable in that saddle! 'Normal' daily long/fairly fast caters were brilliant. Mpho was very attuned to the abilities of the group and everything was done to maximise confidence and enjoyment. The standard of the tack was very good but not as comfy as I'd hoped!! And I had odd stirrups. I noticed Mpho did too!!


Tuli Trail - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Trail

5 star rating   13 May 2018

I joined a group of eight others and we were all really pleased with our horses.
The pace was just right - lots of fast canters, some in line and some spread out.
The going was very good though you did have to look out for holes and branches. Would not have suited a nervous rider due to the presence of wild game and sometimes having to take quick evasive action.
Fabulous guides - knowledgeable and considerate.


Tuli Trail - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Trail

5 star rating   29 April 2018

Excellent


Tuli Trail - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Trail

5 star rating   29 April 2018

The quality of the horse and the riding exceeded expectations. The tack was very suitable and the saddles remarkably comfortable for the amount of time we were in the saddle.

Our guides David and Tips were both knowledgeable and charming.


Tuli Trail - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Trail

5 star rating   25 March 2018

Excellent


Tuli Trail - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Trail

5 star rating   25 March 2018

I will say that I am probably too old to do much more of this kind of thing! I came away with my back not too happy, and am slowly getting more comfortable. (Some of my discomfort is due to the ridiculous flights we had to take to get home after Delta cancelled out of Johannesburg.)
But West and Zaouni were wonderful, and the horse I had, Albany, was a good fit for me. The position I had to canter in with the sore back left me with not too defensive a seat, so that had he stumbled or shied, I probably would have unloaded over his head!
All in all a very wonderful experience, and the only way to go! However. I did really enjoy how close we were able to get to animals when in a jeep.
Each camp was unique and luxurious in a not-glitzy way- I have only camped on other horse trips I have taken over the years, and must say I felt pampered with real beds and tents tall enough to move around in. The staff was so aware of making everything comfortable and enjoyable, and I would recommend this trip to anyone with a bit younger body than I have!
My other compliment is for how the trip was customized for a group of three riders, two jeep travellers, and three cyclists. Meshing the arrangements must have been really hard to achieve, and the companies involved certainly deserve kudos for how well all guests were accomodated.


Tuli Trail - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Trail

5 star rating   25 March 2018

Perfect


Tuli Trail - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Trail

5 star rating   1 October 2017

The riding was fabulous. Horses very well looked after and knew their jobs. Both guides were extremely knowledgable.


Tuli Trail - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Trail

5 star rating   17 September 2017

Lovely horses and very well cared for, they looked happy.


Tuli Trail - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Trail

5 star rating   17 September 2017

Really well thought out for our needs - we wanted to use the horses as a means to see the wildlife not just for the riding.


Tuli Trail - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Trail

5 star rating   27 August 2017

Due to my allotted horse being bitten I was given Manate, a great little horse whom Lindy said was her best. He was fast, very responsive and had a huge jump. The riding was much faster than I had expected, which was wonderful, a lot of fast cantering with spinning past trees and bushes and a couple of real gallops. Not for those lacking confidence.

The whole experience was much improved from my trip in 2003.


Tuli Trail - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Trail

5 star rating   6 August 2017

I think I was expecting it to be more challenging in terms of pace, but the challenges came from an unexpected direction! Close encounters with elephants where we had to be on high alert. Twice on the ride we were instructed to follow the second guide because an elephant was getting rather cross! It was hard to resist cantering away, but we had to walk quietly and carefully away from any possible danger. Scary at the time, but very memorable! Many steep river banks, too, ditch jumping at speed and plenty of logs to jump if desired. Great fun!


Tuli Trail - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Trail

5 star rating   30 July 2017

Horses fabulously trained, safari staff couldn't have been more wonderful (cooks, grooms etc.) and our guides - David and Tips were outstanding.


Tuli Trail - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Trail

5 star rating   30 July 2017

The first day I was not 100%sure about my horse. However you have to approach the holiday not as a hack out at home but as an entire week. As the holiday progressed I realised that I had a very nimble, clever little horse who gave me a fabulous ride and am so pleased I didn't change him!
As we cantered along through the bush it was impossible to keep the grins from our faces. Really exhilarating!!


Tuli Trail - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Trail

5 star rating   2 July 2017

Very well schooled horses who were thoughtfully matched with the rider. Horses were in excellent condition and any signs of issues were immediately addressed.


24 reviews