Reviews
23 reviews   
Tuli Safari - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   28 July 2019

Kicking up dust we cantered across the plains spotting animals. Lots of fast canters and a chance to jump if anyone wanted to. I was perfectly matched with a cheeky pony called Lightening who was forward and responsive. He did get a little fidgety whilst game viewing which made taking photographs quite a challenge. :-). The guides were outstanding - fun and informative.
However, it does states in the brochure a maximum group number of 8 - we were a group of 10 and although we were split up to go out game viewing this did lead to a guest having varying accommodation to the other guests, not enough seats around the camp fire and it got quite cosy around the dinner table.


Tuli Safari - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   28 July 2019

I was matched with an ex-racer much to my delight as it's what I'm used to. Lynx was simply the best Thoroughbred I've ever had the privilege to ride. So well behaved and bold. Beautifully schooled. He responded to the lightest of aids and was a complete joy to ride. My son, Josh, was also equally pleased with Rodeo, the horse he was selected. There were 10 of us on the trip and nobody asked to swap horses which I think says something. Lindy was very careful to listen to what sort of horse we wanted to ride and she got my request perfectly


Tuli Safari - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   21 July 2019

Absolutely loved my horse, a real character, I trusted him completely. The riding definitely met my expectations.


Tuli Safari - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   21 July 2019

The guides bent over backwards to make our holiday a truly fabulous time. Their expertise was evident.


Tuli Safari - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   7 July 2019

Very impressed by the quality and variety of the horses and the care they clearly receive. From talking to the guides the horses get good long breaks between rides which is great to see compared to some places I've ridden. They are obviously well fed, watered and groomed - which is an impressive task in the African bush!

The saddles were very comfortable and it's nice to see simple bits and bridles. Only slight criticism would be that as I had the smallest horse (Million - what a superstar!) His breastplate was uselessly big so David had to adjust the saddle at every opportunity as it would slide back. My stirrups leathers were also mismatched and couldn't be shorted to quite my liking.


Tuli Safari - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   7 July 2019

The horses were all in excellent condition, the saddles very comfortable, the horses were schooled to an ok standard, some of them could have done with martingales - was surprised that no account was taken of height/weight when allocating horses. I ended up on a large horse and people much taller than me ended up on smaller horses which seemed a bit odd. The riding was absolutely excellent and could not have been better, loads of gallops and a lot of hours in the saddle, fast paced, great fun.


Tuli Safari - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Safari

4 star rating   7 July 2019

My riding experience was somewhat compromised by travelling companion Jill's stupid request for a none brown horse 15hh plus, having spent the first full day getting to grips with the horse I was allocated, I then felt obliged to swap with Jill when she admitted she couldn't manage her mount's paces. Though by the end of the week she had persuaded herself that I actually wanted to ride her horse. I have previously lead rides in the U.K. & know how difficult & potentially dangerous the job can be. The group was too big & took 2 days to sort out due to some ignorant, selfish and potentially dangerous riding resulting in one very predictable fall. Given the overall cost of the experience I personally would prefer to pay more to GUARANTEE a smaller, therefore safer group able to crack on from day one.[ITS Comment - thank you for advising us that the group size was 9 guests. We had been led to understand that if this was the case, two smaller riding groups would go out from camp. I am sorry that this didn't happen on this occasion]


Tuli Safari - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   26 May 2019

Very impressed by the quality, training and care of the horses here. I was matched with a lovely horse who was exactly what I requested!


Tuli Safari - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   21 April 2019

The horses were in very good condition, all fit, muscled, clean and ready to go.


Tuli Safari - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   11 November 2018

Right from the beginning from the booklet of what to expect ,advice what to take the itinerary even included my flight details which I booked ,
Met up with Lindy and her lovely horses after some lunch we We’re introduced to are horse, after a brief ride for 5min,we set off to
are first camp, the standard of the tents, beds, food .throughout each camp was fantastic,
Some of the many highlights were the baboons about 30 of them running through the camp at 6:00 in the morning, the sighting of a leopard under a clump of bushes when the leopard Told us we were close enough with a growl the horse only jump side ways ,,,,didn’t bolt off, and the heynena cubs just 5yards away, the fathers taking them back in his mouth to safer ground, cantering with the giraffe and widerbeast,the horses side stepping the rocks in canter, we saw lots more animals and birds, Thank you to every one the guides the Cooke’s and grooms for a fantastic holiday hope to see you next year jeff pritchard November 2018


Tuli Safari - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   21 October 2018

The only ? I have is the numbers on the ride. We were 9 ( included a camp volunteer) + 2 guides and from Friday - Sunday we were 10 + 2. A couple of horses were prone to kick at each other which proved a challenge at times.


Tuli Safari - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   7 October 2018

Limpopo Horse Safaris are known for the quality and well being of their horses. Our group of 8 were well matched with our horses and no one felt the need to ask for a change.
Interesting terrain with lots of walking, then long canters to make up ground. We were in the saddle for 4-6 hrs a day but it passed very quickly.


Tuli Safari - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   12 August 2018

The long walks to see game were very pleasant and these were interspersed with long canters. There was some rough terrain in places in order to cross dry river beds with some steep inclines and declines so needed to be competent but this was as expected.
The long canters often varied in speed and direction with quick turns so you needed to be secure in the saddle and a competent rider and there was some jumping if you wanted to do it but you could just watch if you preferred. There was no pressure to jump.
The horses were incredibly fit and sure footed but well behaved. As a rider you needed to be fit and capable but I expected this, I was sore for a day or two but after that I got into the swing of things and came home very happy!

All riders on the group were capable and this made it an enjoyment for everyone


Tuli Safari - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   17 June 2018

So much fun lots of medium and fast paced canters in and out of the bushes which were great. Jumping if we wanted during canters and specific obstacles. Confidence built through the week so just went for it!


Tuli Safari - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   17 June 2018

My horse, Menate, was a dream, responsive and well mannered and also a good jumper which meant we got to have some fun with a variety of natural obstacles. A couple of members of the group I was in were struggling slightly with their horses, especially as the week went on, but the guides were attuned to this and controlled it appropriately.


Tuli Safari - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   10 June 2018

Great horse match, I got exactly what I asked for in Valiant. Guides paced the ride really well. I found the saddle a bit uncomfortable and would have welcomed a seat saver, plus my stirrup leather broke while I was riding.


Tuli Safari - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   10 June 2018

Changed my horse after the first full day. Really didn't 'gel' with Thundercloud. No problem and LHS happy to do so. However, I realised by the end of the week why I was having issues with the (much) faster pace - my own horse is 17h and Lynx was 15h3 so the fast canter and the jumping left me not very confident or comfortable in that saddle! 'Normal' daily long/fairly fast caters were brilliant. Mpho was very attuned to the abilities of the group and everything was done to maximise confidence and enjoyment. The standard of the tack was very good but not as comfy as I'd hoped!! And I had odd stirrups. I noticed Mpho did too!!


Tuli Safari - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   13 May 2018

I joined a group of eight others and we were all really pleased with our horses.
The pace was just right - lots of fast canters, some in line and some spread out.
The going was very good though you did have to look out for holes and branches. Would not have suited a nervous rider due to the presence of wild game and sometimes having to take quick evasive action.
Fabulous guides - knowledgeable and considerate.


Tuli Safari - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   29 April 2018

Excellent


Tuli Safari - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   29 April 2018

The quality of the horse and the riding exceeded expectations. The tack was very suitable and the saddles remarkably comfortable for the amount of time we were in the saddle.

Our guides David and Tips were both knowledgeable and charming.


Tuli Safari - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   25 March 2018

Excellent


Tuli Safari - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   25 March 2018

I will say that I am probably too old to do much more of this kind of thing! I came away with my back not too happy, and am slowly getting more comfortable. (Some of my discomfort is due to the ridiculous flights we had to take to get home after Delta cancelled out of Johannesburg.)
But West and Zaouni were wonderful, and the horse I had, Albany, was a good fit for me. The position I had to canter in with the sore back left me with not too defensive a seat, so that had he stumbled or shied, I probably would have unloaded over his head!
All in all a very wonderful experience, and the only way to go! However. I did really enjoy how close we were able to get to animals when in a jeep.
Each camp was unique and luxurious in a not-glitzy way- I have only camped on other horse trips I have taken over the years, and must say I felt pampered with real beds and tents tall enough to move around in. The staff was so aware of making everything comfortable and enjoyable, and I would recommend this trip to anyone with a bit younger body than I have!
My other compliment is for how the trip was customized for a group of three riders, two jeep travellers, and three cyclists. Meshing the arrangements must have been really hard to achieve, and the companies involved certainly deserve kudos for how well all guests were accomodated.


Tuli Safari - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   25 March 2018

Perfect


23 reviews