Reviews
28 reviews   
Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   20 November 2022

Robyn (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Absolutely Incredible! | The riding was excellent - my horse was wonderful! Exceeded expectations


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   18 September 2022

Lindsay (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Amazing setting, brilliant hosts and superb riding | The horses were very well cared for. The riding was mainly at walk and steady canter, with a few gallops and jumping (optional). The riding exceeded expectations - it was really fun tracking animals and exploring the landscape.

[Abbie from In The Saddle replies: Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you had such a memorable safari in Botswana.]


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   11 September 2022

Halina who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Epic! | All the horses were fit for their job and well cared for. The riding was fast and technical at times (with obstacles to navigate such as steep up and down hills, rocks and low hanging trees - making the riding fun and challenging). My horse suited me well; Horizon had clearly listened to the type of horse I liked to ride and matched me to a suitable horse. There was also the opportunity for a test ride after which a horse could be swapped.


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   24 July 2022

Kathleen who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Tuli Safari - Unbeatable horse riding safari | This was by far the best riding holiday I have been on. The horses were wonderful and really well matched to myself and my two teenage daughters, the guides were so knowledgeable and great fun, we saw tons of animals and had lots of fun, fast canters. Riding from camp to camp rather than riding out from the same place every day made it really interesting and such a different, exciting experience. Couldn’t recommend it enough. My daughters, who have never been on safari before, were blown away and both now want to go and volunteer at Horizon in Botswana in a year off before University

[In The Saddle note: We’re absolutely delighted that you all had such a great time on the Tuli Safari. It is a special experience and we are so glad that you enjoyed it].


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   26 June 2022

Mary who has been on 11 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous Experiences, Not to be missed | I did three rides on this trip which was quite a challenge for my fitness, but it was well worth it. I started off with Ants, then went to the Wild Coast, then off to Botswana, to the Tuli Block. This was a safari ride and lots of fast riding and fantastic wildlife. Most of the tent accom was great.
On all the rides, we have a great group of people. Everyone contributed and will remember these holidays!


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   19 June 2022

Janine who has been on 11 In The Saddle rides. Another amazing experience | The horses were all well cared for, healthy and happy. They knew their job and stopped to graze while we were able to photograph the game.


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   19 June 2022

Catherine who has been on 11 In The Saddle rides. Superb | First horse was too slow and couldn’t jump. I asked to change after a couple of days and the next was a perfect match


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   12 June 2022

Andrew (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) A long-awaited holiday that lived up to all hopes and expectations | The first horse that I was matched with was not forward going enough for me. A change of horse on the second day saw me on a much more suitable horse for the rest of the ride.
The overall standard and attitude of the riding group could perhaps have allowed for a slightly faster/longer canter on more occasions.


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   1 May 2022

Hilde who has been on 12 In The Saddle rides. The most amazing riding holiday ever! | The riding itself met all expectations. The horses were super calm and stabile when we met/looked at animals. It was a lovly terrain to ride in, and there were so many animals 🙂
We also had som long, nice canters. Som alongside hords of impalas and zebas - absolutley fantastic!


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   1 May 2022

Elisabeth who has been on 18 In The Saddle rides. Adventure | The horse was forwardgoing as I asked for and with a nice temper. Good match 🙂


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   1 May 2022

Merete who has been on 7 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous horses, people and nature | Great horses that behaved fantastic, great tracks and guides!! I absolute need to do this again sometime!


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   20 March 2022

Anne who has been on 17 In The Saddle rides. Another excellent safari | Lots of walking to view game but long canters where appropriate and terrain allowed.
Perfectly matched to my horse ( a bit of 'cheating' as I had ridden him before and was delighted to be reacquainted after 4 years!).


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   16 January 2022

Julie who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Safari holiday | All the horses were in lovely condition and all got on with each other too.


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   16 January 2022

Michael who has been on 9 In The Saddle rides. Great | Excellent


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   15 March 2020

Donna who has been on 34 In The Saddle rides. Excellent trail | Had great horses which suited us nicely, Phil's initial horse went a little lame on day 5, so a replacement was bought out to him which was one of the guides' horses. He had a great ‘engine‘ and Phil loved him!


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   8 December 2019

Alison who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Experience of a lifetime | The riding was just as described by Sarah. Long swinging canters and fantastic close sightings of wildlife. Stunning scenery and was fun popping over some logs.


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   27 October 2019

Katinka (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fantastic! | Really good guides, variety of riding places.


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   20 October 2019

Chloe who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. A true once in a lifetime holiday | The riding on the Tuli trail far exceeded my expectations! Right from the moment we set off from the stables we started to encounter some of the many game the reserve is homed to. The guides had no issues stopping whenever we asked to so we could snap pictures (although only when safe to do so!). Over the week we had so many sightings, not just on horseback but in the jeep to, including; leopards, lions and a mother with younger cheetah cubs enjoying their freshly caught lunch.
Each ride had a varied pace to it, and for much of the week we stuck to a slower pace to accommodate a less confident rider who joined our ride as part of the "African explorer", but after they left the guides were happy for us to kick it up a few gears and also allowed us to jump some of the fallen trees.
All the horses were cared for impeccably and the grooms were happy for you to assist them, when appropriate, at the end of the rides. They always had fresh water and full haynets provided for them at all times of the day


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   20 October 2019

Helen who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Tuli Spectacular | Fantastic adventure through varied landscapes with exciting game sightings. The pace was varied with some long slow canters in denser vegetation and faster paces on open ground with jumping for those who wanted. We were lucky to have a great guide, David, who went to great lengths to ensure the varying needs of the group were met and all were happy. Game sightings exceeded expectations, lion, leopard, elephant, hyena, all seen from horseback and cantering amongst the giraffe was unforgettable. David and Tsoane’s knowledge and obvious love of this environment was infectious, thank you to them!


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   28 July 2019

Alison who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Another amazing Trip to Africa | Kicking up dust we cantered across the plains spotting animals. Lots of fast canters and a chance to jump if anyone wanted to. I was perfectly matched with a cheeky pony called Lightening who was forward and responsive. He did get a little fidgety whilst game viewing which made taking photographs quite a challenge. :-). The guides were outstanding - fun and informative.
However, it does states in the brochure a maximum group number of 8 - we were a group of 10 and although we were split up to go out game viewing this did lead to a guest having varying accommodation to the other guests, not enough seats around the camp fire and it got quite cosy around the dinner table.


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   28 July 2019

Live2Ride who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Holiday of a lifetime. | I was matched with an ex-racer much to my delight as it's what I'm used to. Lynx was simply the best Thoroughbred I've ever had the privilege to ride. So well behaved and bold. Beautifully schooled. He responded to the lightest of aids and was a complete joy to ride. My son, Josh, was also equally pleased with Rodeo, the horse he was selected. There were 10 of us on the trip and nobody asked to swap horses which I think says something. Lindy was very careful to listen to what sort of horse we wanted to ride and she got my request perfectly


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   21 July 2019

Pip P (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Holiday of a lifetime | Absolutely loved my horse, a real character, I trusted him completely. The riding definitely met my expectations.


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   21 July 2019

Stripeytop (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Ride on the wild side | The guides bent over backwards to make our holiday a truly fabulous time. Their expertise was evident.


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   7 July 2019

Robyn who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Spectacular | Very impressed by the quality and variety of the horses and the care they clearly receive. From talking to the guides the horses get good long breaks between rides which is great to see compared to some places I've ridden. They are obviously well fed, watered and groomed - which is an impressive task in the African bush!

The saddles were very comfortable and it's nice to see simple bits and bridles. Only slight criticism would be that as I had the smallest horse (Million - what a superstar!) His breastplate was uselessly big so David had to adjust the saddle at every opportunity as it would slide back. My stirrups leathers were also mismatched and couldn't be shorted to quite my liking.


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   7 July 2019

Jill from Cumbria (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Incredible Holiday! | The horses were all in excellent condition, the saddles very comfortable, the horses were schooled to an ok standard, some of them could have done with martingales - was surprised that no account was taken of height/weight when allocating horses. I ended up on a large horse and people much taller than me ended up on smaller horses which seemed a bit odd. The riding was absolutely excellent and could not have been better, loads of gallops and a lot of hours in the saddle, fast paced, great fun.


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

4 star rating   7 July 2019

Jennifer (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Variable | My riding experience was somewhat compromised by travelling companion Jill's stupid request for a none brown horse 15hh plus, having spent the first full day getting to grips with the horse I was allocated, I then felt obliged to swap with Jill when she admitted she couldn't manage her mount's paces. Though by the end of the week she had persuaded herself that I actually wanted to ride her horse. I have previously lead rides in the U.K. & know how difficult & potentially dangerous the job can be. The group was too big & took 2 days to sort out due to some ignorant, selfish and potentially dangerous riding resulting in one very predictable fall. Given the overall cost of the experience I personally would prefer to pay more to GUARANTEE a smaller, therefore safer group able to crack on from day one.[ITS Comment - thank you for advising us that the group size was 9 guests. We had been led to understand that if this was the case, two smaller riding groups would go out from camp. I am sorry that this didn't happen on this occasion]


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   26 May 2019

Polly who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. An incredible experience | Very impressed by the quality, training and care of the horses here. I was matched with a lovely horse who was exactly what I requested!


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   21 April 2019

Pippa C-T (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Exhilarating and Beautiful Safari Experience | The horses were in very good condition, all fit, muscled, clean and ready to go.


28 reviews