Reviews
31 reviews   
Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   16 December 2023

Donna (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) The most amazing and fascinationg adventure I've ever experienced in my life. | The horses were well matched to every person, the guides were superb and knew the Bush inside and out, the wildlife is non stop from large game to tiny creatures that live on the ground, the food was home made and very healthy, the people could not do enough to assist, help and cater for us. I honestly cannot fault any part of this adventure. I would do it all again in a heartbeat. We got caught in Thunderstorms and Dust storms but our horses did not flinch, I felt very comfortable with my horse and I learnt to trust him within the first hour of knowing him. The riding is not for the faint hearted and you must be of a good standard and not mind cantering for long periods as walking and cantering with the odd gallop is the norm.

The riding is on difficult terrain and at first I thought I may not be up to the standard they required, however I soon began to relax and knew I just needed to balance on the stirrups in order to enjoy the long canters. The horses are so trustworthy and fit and very sure footed. I trusted mine completely, I could have easily have taken him home and swapped him for my mare! Lovely horses with fantastic temperaments. I felt I was well matched to my horse, I thought I was a slight nervous rider so they ensured I had a very experienced horse who knew the bush and animals, I need not have worried. I found new confidence in my riding as by two days in to the holiday I was galloping without needing any reins whatsoever as I had found my independent seat again after many years of not feeling I had one.


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Two

5 star rating   6 November 2023

Julia (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Immense! Trip of a life time! | I didn't have any expectations but I would say that there is far longer canters than most of us would be used to in the UK. Sometimes we would canter for 7 or 8 minutes at a time, walk for 10 mins, and then go again for another 5 minute canter. No trotting, just walking or cantering.


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Two

5 star rating   9 October 2023

Susie (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) A wonderful Holiday Experience | Due to conditions beyond control the area was very dry, dusty and the weather very hot, which was a bit of a shame as the rivers were dried up and we had to ride early in the morning. Not a problem though.. it was still lovely and we saw a lot of animals. I felt for the organisasers.
The tack definitely needs attention. Much of the tack was very worn and held together with pretty unsafe materials - insulation tape/Elastoplast! One girl’s stirrup leather broke and ripped through three holes.
My horse was lovely - he has a buck in him. Not an issue to me, but could be to someone else.
Our guide was a nice man and was very responsible. He does have a quiet voice which meant that those not at the front were not picking up the information about animals or sites.
The guide and his helper did not say goodbye to any of our group at the airport. We were all quite affronted- we had all got on and had no issues with either of them. In fact we all liked them.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for your feedback and it's great to hear you had a great safari. Thank you for letting us know about the tack and I will certainly follow this up with the ride operator.]


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Two

5 star rating   9 October 2023

Catherine who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Excellent wildlife and riding | There could have been better communication between the front and the back of the group. It was often hard to tell if we were doing a single line canter or if we could spread out. Additionally, we did a fast canter/gallop that was not really announced. I spent most of the trip towards the back as my horse was comfortable anywhere in the group and was easy to control. My horse was truly amazing and, in my opinion, the best of the group. He was incredibly well-schooled but also had plenty of speed on him. I did greatly enjoy all of the long canters.

[Abbie from ITS replies: Thank you so much for your feedback; we are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your safari. We will be sure to pass on your comments regarding communication to the ride operator.]


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Two

5 star rating   9 October 2023

Jayne (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fabulous Riding Safari Experience | Excellent


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Two

5 star rating   9 October 2023

Sarah (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Amazing holiday!! | Unfortunately the first horse that I was given was completely neurotic and shied violently at anything he didn’t like - which was pretty much everything!! On paper, he was my perfect match - but in reality was only suitable for people that were paid to ride him, not paying guests!! He was hugely unpredictable and even I, as an experienced rider, did not feel safe!!
However, Horseback Horizon were brilliant and swapped him for another one as soon as I voiced my concerns (on day 5), so I can’t fault them.
The riding was fantastic, plenty of long, fast canters with great game viewing opportunities in between.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: It's great to hear that you let the guides know about your horse and that you were able to swap :)]


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   2 September 2023

Chiara (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Unforgettable experience! | Great variety of riding, nice long canters, loved jumping the logs and racing which were optional activities.
The horses were fantastic - I trusted my horse Prisma 100%


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

4 star rating   12 August 2023

Ruth who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Looking back. Amazing and different | Just wish the guide hadn’t been so patronising cos I am of a certain age!!!!


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   10 June 2023

Susana (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) My best holiday ever! | When I first noticed the Horse Safaris in Instagram by Horizon, I decided that I wanted to be there and live the experience, because I looked like there is so much freedom and when I got there, it really was as I saw in the videos. I felt the freedom I was wanting to feel in a horse surrounded by the richest and exotic wild life that Botswana offers plus the amazing land scapes. Loving every minute of it.


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   27 May 2023

Anne who has been on 18 In The Saddle rides. Exhilarating | Very well matched with my horse, I loved him. He was exactly as he was described to me. Perfect around the game allowing me to get some great photos.


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Two

5 star rating   1 May 2023

Melanie (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Tuli Safari | Excellent


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Two

5 star rating   1 May 2023

Michele who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Amazing out of this world | Excellent


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Two

5 star rating   1 May 2023

Adrian who has been on 23 In The Saddle rides. Great horseback safari experience | Great riding and care . Not a luxury safari experience .But camps are comfortable with amenities,shared . Extremely well looked after .horses of good quality .


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Two

5 star rating   1 May 2023

Sue who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous | Lovely horses who were all light in the hand, well balanced, sure footed and well mannered


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   15 April 2023

Emily who has been on 25 In The Saddle rides. Tuli Safari - An adventure riding with zebra and plenty of other wildlife along the banks of the Limpopo River | There is a test ride at the start of the trip to ensure that everyone is a competent rider and happy with their horse which is an excellent idea and frankly something all riding establishments should do. There riding was excellent with lot of long canters through the bush.


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   20 November 2022

Jane (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fabulous | The riding met my expectations.
The guides were very good - Mpho (lead) and Poloco (second guide were engaged and knowledgeable (horses, schedule, history, changes to plan - flooding of Limpopo, Motloutse, Mojali and Majele rivers ) and Poloco had exceptional knowledge fo the plant life) .
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for your feedback and we are so pleased you enjoyed riding in the Tuli]


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   20 November 2022

Isobel (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Beyond our wildest dreams! | The riding was a brilliant & integral way of experiencing the wonders of our surroundings whilst building a relationship with the hosrse.


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   20 November 2022

Robyn (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Absolutely Incredible! | The riding was excellent - my horse was wonderful! Exceeded expectations


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   18 September 2022

Lindsay (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Amazing setting, brilliant hosts and superb riding | The horses were very well cared for. The riding was mainly at walk and steady canter, with a few gallops and jumping (optional). The riding exceeded expectations - it was really fun tracking animals and exploring the landscape.

[Abbie from In The Saddle replies: Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you had such a memorable safari in Botswana.]


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   11 September 2022

Halina who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Epic! | All the horses were fit for their job and well cared for. The riding was fast and technical at times (with obstacles to navigate such as steep up and down hills, rocks and low hanging trees - making the riding fun and challenging). My horse suited me well; Horizon had clearly listened to the type of horse I liked to ride and matched me to a suitable horse. There was also the opportunity for a test ride after which a horse could be swapped.


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   24 July 2022

Kate who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Tuli Safari - Unbeatable horse riding safari | This was by far the best riding holiday I have been on. The horses were wonderful and really well matched to myself and my two teenage daughters, the guides were so knowledgeable and great fun, we saw tons of animals and had lots of fun, fast canters. Riding from camp to camp rather than riding out from the same place every day made it really interesting and such a different, exciting experience. Couldn’t recommend it enough. My daughters, who have never been on safari before, were blown away and both now want to go and volunteer at Horizon in Botswana in a year off before University

[In The Saddle note: We’re absolutely delighted that you all had such a great time on the Tuli Safari. It is a special experience and we are so glad that you enjoyed it].


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   26 June 2022

Mary who has been on 11 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous Experiences, Not to be missed | I did three rides on this trip which was quite a challenge for my fitness, but it was well worth it. I started off with Ants, then went to the Wild Coast, then off to Botswana, to the Tuli Block. This was a safari ride and lots of fast riding and fantastic wildlife. Most of the tent accom was great.
On all the rides, we have a great group of people. Everyone contributed and will remember these holidays!


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   19 June 2022

Kate who has been on 11 In The Saddle rides. Superb | First horse was too slow and couldn’t jump. I asked to change after a couple of days and the next was a perfect match


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   19 June 2022

Janine who has been on 11 In The Saddle rides. Another amazing experience | The horses were all well cared for, healthy and happy. They knew their job and stopped to graze while we were able to photograph the game.


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   12 June 2022

Andy who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. A long-awaited holiday that lived up to all hopes and expectations | The first horse that I was matched with was not forward going enough for me. A change of horse on the second day saw me on a much more suitable horse for the rest of the ride.
The overall standard and attitude of the riding group could perhaps have allowed for a slightly faster/longer canter on more occasions.


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   1 May 2022

Hilde who has been on 13 In The Saddle rides. The most amazing riding holiday ever! | The riding itself met all expectations. The horses were super calm and stabile when we met/looked at animals. It was a lovly terrain to ride in, and there were so many animals 🙂
We also had som long, nice canters. Som alongside hords of impalas and zebas - absolutley fantastic!


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   1 May 2022

Merete who has been on 8 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous horses, people and nature | Great horses that behaved fantastic, great tracks and guides!! I absolute need to do this again sometime!


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   1 May 2022

Elisabeth who has been on 20 In The Saddle rides. Adventure | The horse was forwardgoing as I asked for and with a nice temper. Good match 🙂


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   20 March 2022

Anne who has been on 18 In The Saddle rides. Another excellent safari | Lots of walking to view game but long canters where appropriate and terrain allowed.
Perfectly matched to my horse ( a bit of 'cheating' as I had ridden him before and was delighted to be reacquainted after 4 years!).


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   16 January 2022

Julie who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Safari holiday | All the horses were in lovely condition and all got on with each other too.


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   16 January 2022

Michael who has been on 9 In The Saddle rides. Great | Excellent


31 reviews