Reviews
8 reviews   
Tsylos Lodge - British Columbia
Experience Level

Lodge Horseback Riding

5 star rating   27 September 2018

I rode the sister of my previous wonderful horse (now retired) at Tsylos. They were identical in temperament and shape (slim Thoroughbred cross Arab). Both were willing to do everything and anything I asked and were supremely comfortable at all paces.

No-one expected hail on 12 September (enough to lie white on the ground) or the snow on 13 September (about 5cm). It remained very cold so I rode in all my layers - 2 vests, t-shirt, shirt, 2 cardigans, fleece and waterproof jacket with waterproof overtrousers for warmth. My boots were brilliant - waterproof and with good non-slip tread. Those with smart riding boots had to wear polythene bags inside them.


Tsylos Lodge - British Columbia
Experience Level

Lodge Horseback Riding

4 star rating   5 September 2018

While the riding, per se, was good, the horse quality as mixed. With a few of the horses we were supposed to ride, we (the riders) discovered physical problems that should have meant the horse not be ridden. In some cases, that was the course of action, but in other cases it wasn't due to limited number of horses available. I discovered a problem with the back of my first horse and was given a replacement (a much slower horse). Because the replacement horse coughed considerably during the first day, I was moved to another one (a large Fresian that was lovely but very slow.

In Marco's horse, there was a clear issue with its belly and it would react aggressively when tightening the girth--biting and kicking. But because there were no other horses, he was forced to ride it for the entire time. The problem became increasingly worse. While the horse did behave properly once saddled, it was clear there was something going on that the horse guides acknowledged was not normal. There were other examples of people who were on horses that didn't really suit them, but due to the limited options of horses, changing was not possible.


Tsylos Lodge - British Columbia
Experience Level

Lodge Horseback Riding

4 star rating   30 August 2018

The horses were excellent. It does state that there are lots of canters in the guidebook description of the holiday, but I do feel the riding was quite slow pace overall (only cantered on 2 days), however I do appreciate this may have been because of the terrain. I actually enjoyed tacking up the horses myself, something I have never had to do before on the In The Saddle Holidays.


Tsylos Lodge - British Columbia
Experience Level

Lodge Horseback Riding

5 star rating   26 July 2018

The riding starts off slow and is dictated by the mountainous terrain but does build every day, to some long canters and as the scenery is so incredible stunning it's nice to take the time to enjoy it.

Tash the guide was great, really good fun and really knows her horses.

One point of note if you have any issues with heights this isn't the ride for you, as there is a lot of riding at heights and along ridges, the horses are incredibly sure footed and I was always comfortable with the riding, so if you're not worried by heights and want to see incredible scenery on horseback go for it.


Tsylos Lodge - British Columbia
Experience Level

Lodge Horseback Riding

5 star rating   20 July 2018

The riding more than met my expectations, the guides were great, they really catered to our riding abilities, lots of long canters and even a few jumps!


Tsylos Lodge - British Columbia
Experience Level

Lodge Horseback Riding

5 star rating   24 July 2017

As a not very experienced rider, it was very good and enjoyable - and quite varied. The horses were extremely sure footed over some very difficult terrain.


Tsylos Lodge - British Columbia
Experience Level

Lodge Horseback Riding

5 star rating   17 July 2017

Slow at first, but some good canters later. The 'roller coaster' is great fun. The guides were knowledgeable, sympathetic and considerate. My horse (Copper) was lovely and all the other horses seemed fine too. The last rise was shortened for our (mature!) benefit, and we got a chance to see the horses' summer pastures, which was lovely. Seeing the horses swim the river is memorable, too. (We went by boat.)

Glorious place for riding: no roads, no towns, just splendid views, mountains, pine woods, peace and quiet.

Only drawback: the flies. It is no coincindence that there is a town nearby called Horsefly. But I've known as bad at home.

Warning: take plenty of sunscreen, lip salve and moisturiser. Don't try to ride in contact lenses: it's agony because of the dust.


Tsylos Lodge - British Columbia
Experience Level

Lodge Horseback Riding

5 star rating   10 July 2017

had to forgo one of the rides because of pre-existing back problems, but Karen (the owner) organised a less demanding one through wonderful lupin filled woods. I very much appreciated all the help in tacking up from Louise and David; thank you ITS for passing on my limitations!


8 reviews