Reviews
9 reviews   
Tsylos Lodge - British Columbia

Lodge Horseback Riding

5 star rating   8 September 2019

Teresa who has been on 12 In The Saddle rides. Breathtaking Canadian wilderness with excellent Western riding | We have ridden Western before, but this was the first time we'd been taught how to tack up our own horses in Western kit - and permitted to do the catching and turnout - very welcome. The riding was a mix of terrain with lots of hills and twisty trails and plenty of faster work as the week went on.
Lovely horses - lots of character, super to handle and comfortable to ride.


Tsylos Lodge - British Columbia

Lodge Horseback Riding

5 star rating   30 June 2019

Tarja (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fantastic holiday at Tsylos Lodge. | The horses were great as were the place itself, the staff and the food. We had an amazing time there. A thoroughly wonderful experience!


Tsylos Lodge - British Columbia

Lodge Horseback Riding

5 star rating   16 September 2018

Rocky who has been on 21 In The Saddle rides. Not as expected but still wonderful | I rode the sister of my previous wonderful horse (now retired) at Tsylos. They were identical in temperament and shape (slim Thoroughbred cross Arab). Both were willing to do everything and anything I asked and were supremely comfortable at all paces.

No-one expected hail on 12 September (enough to lie white on the ground) or the snow on 13 September (about 5cm). It remained very cold so I rode in all my layers - 2 vests, t-shirt, shirt, 2 cardigans, fleece and waterproof jacket with waterproof overtrousers for warmth. My boots were brilliant - waterproof and with good non-slip tread. Those with smart riding boots had to wear polythene bags inside them.


Tsylos Lodge - British Columbia

Lodge Horseback Riding

5 star rating   9 September 2018

Elizabeth who has been on 8 In The Saddle rides. Tsylos Lodge adventure | Excellent


Tsylos Lodge - British Columbia

Lodge Horseback Riding

4 star rating   19 August 2018

David who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Very nice, but with a note | While the riding, per se, was good, the horse quality as mixed. With a few of the horses we were supposed to ride, we (the riders) discovered physical problems that should have meant the horse not be ridden. In some cases, that was the course of action, but in other cases it wasn't due to limited number of horses available. I discovered a problem with the back of my first horse and was given a replacement (a much slower horse). Because the replacement horse coughed considerably during the first day, I was moved to another one (a large Fresian that was lovely but very slow.

In Marco's horse, there was a clear issue with its belly and it would react aggressively when tightening the girth--biting and kicking. But because there were no other horses, he was forced to ride it for the entire time. The problem became increasingly worse. While the horse did behave properly once saddled, it was clear there was something going on that the horse guides acknowledged was not normal. There were other examples of people who were on horses that didn't really suit them, but due to the limited options of horses, changing was not possible.


Tsylos Lodge - British Columbia

Lodge Horseback Riding

4 star rating   29 July 2018

Rach who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Enjoyable Holiday | The horses were excellent. It does state that there are lots of canters in the guidebook description of the holiday, but I do feel the riding was quite slow pace overall (only cantered on 2 days), however I do appreciate this may have been because of the terrain. I actually enjoyed tacking up the horses myself, something I have never had to do before on the In The Saddle Holidays.


Tsylos Lodge - British Columbia

Lodge Horseback Riding

5 star rating   22 July 2018

Rach who has been on 17 In The Saddle rides. Incredible scenery | The riding starts off slow and is dictated by the mountainous terrain but does build every day, to some long canters and as the scenery is so incredible stunning it's nice to take the time to enjoy it.

Tash the guide was great, really good fun and really knows her horses.

One point of note if you have any issues with heights this isn't the ride for you, as there is a lot of riding at heights and along ridges, the horses are incredibly sure footed and I was always comfortable with the riding, so if you're not worried by heights and want to see incredible scenery on horseback go for it.


Tsylos Lodge - British Columbia

Lodge Horseback Riding

5 star rating   1 July 2018

Robyn who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Amazing!! | The riding more than met my expectations, the guides were great, they really catered to our riding abilities, lots of long canters and even a few jumps!


Tsylos Lodge - British Columbia

Lodge Horseback Riding

5 star rating   1 July 2018

Laura who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Tsylos Lodge | Excellent


9 reviews