Reviews
15 reviews   
Transylvania Trail - Romania
Experience Level

Transylvania Trail

5 star rating   3 August 2019

Lots of varied riding from wide open fields to riding through old forests. The guides Sam, Tanya and Mika made every ride interesting and fun. They can tell you lots about the local area and are very approachable. There are lots of canters and some exhiliarating races that the horses love. We even had the opportunity to pop some small logs in the forest. A great ride that I would happily do again!
[Becky from In The Saddle replied: This is great to hear and I'm so pleased you enjoyed the riding!]


Transylvania Trail - Romania
Experience Level

Transylvania Trail

4 star rating   8 June 2019

I had two horses during the ride as the first horse was tired by the third day and unable to keep up with the group in gallup.


Transylvania Trail - Romania
Experience Level

Transylvania Trail

2 star rating   11 May 2019

My horse was lovely, beautifully behaved, extremely fit and fast when she got the opportunity. Other riders had, I would say, exaggerated their riding ability and experience and were given a horse they could not control so for the first few days the pace was mostly walk and trot to avoid any incidents. I think it would have been helpful if there had been an assessment ride either at the centre or use Day 1 as a trail ride returning to Equus Silvana for the first night so any changes that need to be made can be carried out promptly. Interestingly we were not asked to sign any waiver forms before or during the ride and I'm not sure any incident forms were completed when someone fell off which happened on two occasions. My horse, as I said was fabulous, others were unfit and simply could keep up with a not very fast ride. My tack was fine but other's found their saddles very uncomfortable and there was a dearth of spare tack.

(ITS NOTE: We have investigated the two falls; incident forms were completed and signed by those involved. Thank you very much for your other comments, which we take on board and have passed on to your hosts).


Transylvania Trail - Romania
Experience Level

Transylvania Trail

5 star rating   11 May 2019

It was VERY rainy, and one of the days we couldn´t ride because the mud was really dangerous - so slippery. But this is nobody´s fault. Other than that, the ride was amazing, with very beautiful views and well behaved horses. They know their job! The good thing about the rain is that everything was very green and the air was so clean we could enjoy breathking mountain views.


Transylvania Trail - Romania
Experience Level

Transylvania Trail

4 star rating   8 September 2018

Good or Very Good


Transylvania Trail - Romania
Experience Level

Transylvania Trail

5 star rating   8 September 2018

Not the most comfortable saddles but in good condition.


Transylvania Trail - Romania
Experience Level

Transylvania Trail

4 star rating   18 August 2018

Lots of fast long canters and gallops.


Transylvania Trail - Romania
Experience Level

Transylvania Trail

4 star rating   18 August 2018

Good or Very Good


Transylvania Trail - Romania
Experience Level

Transylvania Trail

5 star rating   9 June 2018

This is an ideal trip for someone who enjoys fast riding across open country with no gates. There is ample opportunity for some gallops and really long canters. There are some amazing views as you are so high up in the mountains at certain points. You cover around 30k a day, so you spend around six hours a day in the saddle.


Transylvania Trail - Romania
Experience Level

Transylvania Trail

5 star rating   28 April 2018

The riding was pretty much as I expected and was really perfectly described in that it was long hours in the saddle, with forward horses and very nice long canters, with a few amazing gallops thrown in and maybe a jump or two (if you wanted to). What I didn't expect was the amazing condition of these particular horses. They were so fit considering we were the first long ride of the season. We switched out horses on the 3rd day since it was the first ride of the season, and both of my horses were total athletes, and I enjoyed them both individually. I love that one of the owners Barbara is an endurance rider, as I ride endurance as well, and her impeccable good taste in horses, quality of their care and attention to detail with the tack did not go unnoticed by me. I have to say I love this ride more than I expected to, with all due respect. Having been on adventurous rides to the Sahara and ridden in the Okavanga Delta with wild animals, Romania seemed pretty tame, and possibly not as adventurous. Oh, how I was wrong about the people and the culture that we were able to experience. This wasn't just a horse riding holiday it was an adventure in to the past and to a culture that hasn't existed where I'm from in Kansas for over 100 years. The Sahara was spiritual, the Okavanga Delta, Adventurous and Romania, magical. Our Guides Bree, Ben and Taylor were so attentive to our needs, and always making sure we were content. Our primary guide Bree did an excellent job of making sure the riding was fun, but always safe, as well as being a fountain of information about everything Romania. There was hardly a question we asked she didn't know the answer to, or know the person to ask. My one recommendation to anyone considering this ride is to skip Bucharest if you are planning to come a day or two early. One afternoon there was plenty and upon reflection I would have enjoyed staying a day or two in Brasov or one of the smaller towns much more than in Bucharest like our group did. This is a ride where you can clear your mind, free your soul and gallop like the wind, and not only would I highly recommend it, I would love to go back myself


Transylvania Trail - Romania
Experience Level

Transylvania Trail

5 star rating   28 October 2017

The horses are a bit of a mixture of types but definitely as fit as any I've ever ridden and you really need to be riding fit too to fully enjoy this ride. My horse could have been a little more forward in walk and was slightly jumpy with traffic but we didn't see much of that so overall an enjoyable ride.

We were lucky to have a group who were all capable riders and were therefore able to make the most of the wonderful uninterrupted rolling countryside, perfect for lots of long fast canters (the longest lasting over 10 minutes!) and a few jumps over small logs in the forest.

Our guide, Greta, is one of the best I've had - taking extremely good care of both horses and riders, but with a very light touch so it never felt intrusive. Equus Silvania are lucky to have her. With the small army of young assistant guides and other staff, this is a very slick operation.


Transylvania Trail - Romania
Experience Level

Transylvania Trail

5 star rating   28 October 2017

The horses are all in very good condition, forward going and beautiful.


Transylvania Trail - Romania
Experience Level

Transylvania Trail

5 star rating   14 October 2017

The perfect countryside for exciting & thrilling riding. The horses were fit, forward going & obviously enjoyed every minute. They were very well tended.


Transylvania Trail - Romania
Experience Level

Transylvania Trail

5 star rating   14 October 2017

Horse excellent - very fit and well behaved. Tack was a little scruffy but serviceable. I have ridden in many countries and think perhaps that we are a little obsessive about keeping leather in good order?!


Transylvania Trail - Romania
Experience Level

Transylvania Trail

5 star rating   14 October 2017

The riding was challenging, mainly because of the fast pace. Long canters are a feature of this holiday and it is important to be as riding fit as you can before you go. It was probably the best riding of my life and certainly met all my expectations.


15 reviews