Reviews
1244 reviews    1 2 3 39
Highland Trails - Iceland

Golden Circle

4 star rating   5 August 2022

Sarah who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Very good | Met expectations. Accommodation and food relatively basic, but pretty much as expected. Don't choose this for a fast ride- walk and tolt only, really.


Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

5 star rating   31 July 2022

Sarah who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Miyak Tribe trail - probably my favourite trail so far | The horses were incredible - very sure-footed even on rocks and ready to canter uphill. They were never scared even when we occasionally met trucks or people cutting trees. There are frequent stops to adjust the girths to prevent injuries, and every horse ischecked during lunch breaks and at the end of the day. Vasco took time asking us individually about our riding experience and expectations to match us with our horses. This really makes a difference. Lastly, I was so impressed by the number of gallops we had even in mountain terrain! The horses were totally trustworthy - they knew the path, knew when they were allowed to overtake in canter, where the race stops, and when to stand in a line! The ride to the sunrise was truly magical. It is not for everyone though - it is quite tough, with very long days in the saddle and short nights.


Velani Country Hotel - Crete

Sun and Riding

5 star rating   27 July 2022

Penny who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Pretty amazing | The only thing that I was not happy about on this holiday is the horse trainers. I observed a very heavy handed approach to training that left the horses fearful of the trainer. Horses were disciplined while on the rides in a manner that I felt was not safe. On one occasion the trainer was attempting to school her horse who was afraid of the mounting stairs in the arena. He spooked and fled dragging the trainer while several of the riders were mounted in the arena and waiting to go on the ride. I know that Sabine cares deeply for her horses and do not understand why this type of training is allowed to occur.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for letting us know and we've followed this up with the owner, Sabine. The safety and welfare of the horses is very important to us.
Sabine explained that the horse in question was only recently backed and has a tendancy to bolt when spooked. He isn't easily mounted and so for now he remains a guide only horse until he becomes more confident.]


Castle Leslie Estate - Ireland

Riding Programme

5 star rating   25 July 2022

Stephanie (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Amazing horses, amazing staff, amazing food! | Excellent planning
Horses were looked after and the stables were pristine
Tack in excellent condition and cleaned frequently
Yard in excellent condition
Horses well fed and looked after.
Staff were keen to meet every need of both horse and rider.
Russel the horse is fantastic!
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you so much for your feedback and it's lovely to hear that you had such a great time at Castle Leslie.]


Tuli Safari - Botswana and South Africa

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   24 July 2022

Kathleen who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Tuli Safari - Unbeatable horse riding safari | This was by far the best riding holiday I have been on. The horses were wonderful and really well matched to myself and my two teenage daughters, the guides were so knowledgeable and great fun, we saw tons of animals and had lots of fun, fast canters. Riding from camp to camp rather than riding out from the same place every day made it really interesting and such a different, exciting experience. Couldn’t recommend it enough. My daughters, who have never been on safari before, were blown away and both now want to go and volunteer at Horizon in Botswana in a year off before University

[In The Saddle note: We’re absolutely delighted that you all had such a great time on the Tuli Safari. It is a special experience and we are so glad that you enjoyed it].


Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

5 star rating   24 July 2022

Giselle who has been on 13 In The Saddle rides. Miyak Tribe Trail - real sense of achievement trail riding | This holiday exceeded my expectations in every way. Every care was taken to match rider with horse. On the first morning, we each had to ride around in the paddock so that our riding seat and balance could be assessed. Every-one was matched very well. The riding was challenging, fast and vigorous - probably the more so than any other trip I have been on, but the sense of achievement at the end was all the greater for it.

The landscape was very varied, indescribably beautiful and completely natural and unspoilt, all open and unfenced and absolutely timeless. Nothing to remind you of what century you are in.

The horses' tack was amazing and of exceptionally high quality - no expense spared. All hand crafted in the best leather from Rajasthan.

[In The Saddle Note: Thank you for this incredible feedback. We're so pleased that you enjoyed the Miyak Tribe Trail so much.]


Velani Country Hotel - Crete

Sun and Riding

5 star rating   20 July 2022

Caitlin (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) A Perfect Week! | The riding and the horses all exceeded my expectations. No ride was the same and the variety on offer was great. They are wonderfully trained and cared for. [In The Saddle replies: we are pleased to hear that you had such a great time.]


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

4 star rating   20 July 2022

Linda who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Monte Velho - nice time but uninspiring riding | I expected the riding to be much more challenging. In the whole of the week I must have done a total of about six flying changes and just a few minutes of passage. No piaffe at all.

All the instructors were lovely - calm, clear and professional. The problem was that they give personal tuition but there were always two people in a lesson. So, while one person was being taught the other person was doing nothing which meant that an hour's lesson was really only half an hour at the very most.

I could have quite happily done at least twice the amount of riding that I actually did.


Nile Explorer - Uganda

Nile Explorer

5 star rating   17 July 2022

Alison who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous - Trip of a Life Time | We experienced all sorts of terrains through villages, rain forest and plantations. Lots of chances to canter and gallop (if you wanted to) whilst waving and smiling at the beautiful Ugandan people. We even got to swim the horses. The guides were upbeat and fun to ride with.
[Olwen from In The Saddle - we are so pleased that you enjoyed this wonderful holiday in Uganda]


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   16 July 2022

Maria (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Refreshing holiday | Riding was through beautiful scenery. Horses were well cared for, but not all the equipment best fit each horse.


Velani Country Hotel - Crete

Sun and Riding

5 star rating   16 July 2022

Christel Shermer (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) We had a really nice experience at the Velani Country Hotel in Crete and a nice riding experience. The riding suited our level well and there was an opportunity for our 12-year-old daughter to get extra hours and enjoy herself in the stable with the horses. Both guides were competent, friendly and welcoming, and we felt in safe hands with both, especially the male guide. The female guide was super good at “nerding” horses with our daughter and was sweet and welcoming, which provided a wonderful experience for young and old ones. It works well with some in the family riding and others walking, there are good hiking trails right outside the hotel.


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   16 July 2022

Penny who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Monte Velho - Fantastic accommodation and great horses | The horses were lovely and I was able to experience flying changes and Passage on a schoolmaster. It was July so incredibly hot, but the horses were willing and submissive.

The lessons were always for 2, taking turns and usually with a Bluetooth earpiece which made it easy to hear instructions. The only downside was that this meant for half the lesson you spent your time trying to keep out of the way of the other person, and I can imagine if there was more than one lesson taking place it would have been difficult.

The instruction was relevant and pitched to the right level. I got a lot out of them as did my daughter.

Riders were all expected to wear spurs so although they can be provided, best to bring your own.

[In The Saddle replies: Thank you for your feedback. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Monte Velho and gained so much from the lessons. Spurs are included as an item on our suggested packing list].


Sierra Nevada - Spain

Buena Vista

5 star rating   16 July 2022

Susan (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Brilliant week’s trekking on well schooled horses in the most beautiful environment. | The holiday met with my expectations, it was everything I’d hoped for and read about. The scenery was spectacular and riding well schooled, exceptionally sure footed and safe horses allowed for relaxed viewing of the landscape as we rode. In addition there were plenty of rest stops (partly to allow for the extreme heat), and photo opportunities. Though not a fast paced ride we did enjoy some decent canters along the forest paths, and my horse ‘Kinder’ was very comfortable, gentle and a perfect match.
This ride does demand a good level of fitness as there was a fair amount of mounting and dismounting to enable the horses to be led up and down some vey steep and often slippery slopes, however Dallas and her great team gave clear instructions on how to negotiate these challenges and we all felt completely safe and well looked after.
I would recommend riding in long sleeves, taking a sunhat for use at lunch time, and cycling water bottles for ease of drinking whilst mounted.
The accommodation was extremely comfortable and meals varied with plenty of choice. The picnic lunches provided each day by Dallas were legendary!
All in all, I would thoroughly recommend this ride.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   16 July 2022

Troels Vang (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Good, steady, fresh horses. Nice to try different horses and get your favorite horse on the last ride. The guides are very attentive to all riders, throughout the ride, they are in control of everything.


Highland Expeditions - Iceland

Kjölur - North to South

5 star rating   15 July 2022

Ros (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Breathtaking | What a fabulous experience! Such a hardy & willing breed of horse, a joy to ride.
Very much enjoyed learning the Tolt and Pace!
The team at Islandshestar were brilliant with people and clearly loved their horses.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for your feedback and we are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday in Iceland.]


Glaciers and Fjords - Greenland

Glaciers and Fjords

5 star rating   12 July 2022

Helen who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Beyond my expectations ! | I was well suited to the horse I was given so all good . The riding was varied and I particularly enjoyed the ride on the last day to the farm


Damara Ride - Namibia

Damara Elephant Safari

5 star rating   11 July 2022

Rebecca who has been on 7 In The Saddle rides. World class horses, fast and super safe on their hooves. Tried 3 different horses, all amazing in their own way. And the horses are well taken care of.


Maasai Mara - Kenya

Maasai Mara Starting at KO 8

5 star rating   10 July 2022

Tim (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Masai Mara Ride - an amazing experience | The horses were all in tip-top condition and were responsive and well behaved, It was clear that Felicia had taken great care to match the horses to the riders. All of us really enjoyed our horses. We specifically booked this holiday for the wildlife experience and as such fully expected a leisurely pace getting very close to a wide variety of game, yet feeling totally safe in the experienced and capable hands of Gordie
I have to say we had heard great things of this trip from a few years ago and, with that in mind and the Covid wait we had built up very high expectations of the holiday. Our expectations were very much exceeded. Where this safari really excelled was the personal hands-on involvement of Gordie and Felicia in every aspect of the holiday
The whole camp team were simply wonderful, it was great to see that everyone was so happy, friendly and obliging. The service was first class, the tents and beds excellent and the food was superb
We can can certainly recommend anyone seeking a true wildlife experience to book this trip.

[Abbie from In The Saddle replies - Thank you so much for providing feedback on your long-awaited trip to Kenya. We are thrilled that you had such a memorable and special experience. It was a pleasure to arrange your safari].


Rocking Z - Montana

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   9 July 2022

Liza who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. The quality of 2 of the horses I rode was perhaps not quite as good. One seemed to be slightly lame and the other had no doubt previously been very good, but coughed a lot, had difficulty keeping up and was affected by his age. But there was no problem in getting another horse.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   9 July 2022

Janet who has been on 14 In The Saddle rides. Well worth waiting for | This was my third attempt at going on this holiday and wow did it deliver. First the horses are perfectly cared for and know their job in a nice way. They are certainly not dull. The guides are very attentive to what is going on and we did have a riding lesson on Day 1! It is beautiful, lush with extremely different terrains...and no biting insects. The riding is very varied, plenty of change of pace and you do see all parts of the island. Christina and Claude have an amazingly beautiful place and organise everything perfectly nothing is too much trouble. Christina cooks the food and it is delicious....what more can I say other that this is a place you will meet people from everywhere.For us we had Americans and Danes all delightful. I will certainly go back
[Olwen from In The Saddle - we are so glad that you were eventually able to enjoy this wonderful holiday having deferred from 2020 and 2021.]


Sicilian Trails - Italy

Wild Sicily Trail

5 star rating   9 July 2022

Christine Kjeldgaard (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) The horses were fresh and well schooled, and they were really well looked after by the guides. I asked for a forwardgoing horse that was responsive for light helpers. I was very happy with the horse I was allocated, which suited me very well and lived up to my expectations. It was long days in the saddle with an average of 8 hours of riding, but my experience was that everyone on the ride enjoyed every moment.


Wolves and Wild Horses - Portugal

Wolves and Wild Horses

5 star rating   9 July 2022

Linda who has been on 14 In The Saddle rides. Special | Rocky ground, two canters a day


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   9 July 2022

Jo (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Dream come true! | Great instructors for both lessons and trail rides.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

The Devetaki Plateau

4 star rating   9 July 2022

Alison who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. A good riding experience | These are working horses and as such were fit and well cared for with the odd knock here and there. My horse suffered from heat stroke one lunchtime and the crew were on it immediately and soon had everything under control. I was impressed by their efficiency in dealing with the issue - this is about the 14th trip I've done so I've seen it all before and have owned horses for more that 40 years so I accept that different countries have differing standards.
This was a good team and they looked after us well.


Sicilian Trails - Italy

Wild Sicily Trail

5 star rating   9 July 2022

Jo who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Perfect Sicilian Adventure | Excellent


Wolves and Wild Horses - Portugal

Wolves and Wild Horses

5 star rating   9 July 2022

Wendy who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Portugal-Wolves and wild horses | The pace of the ride is leisurely as it is in the mountains which gives you time to take in the beautiful and varied surroundings. We were able to canter two times each day with the canters being long ,fast and fabulous!
The horses are all schooled by Pedro and are ridden with a loose rein and a light squeeze ,no kicking needed ( or allowed ). The horses are very sensitive to the human on board but if you are confident with them they are confident with you and are a joy to ride !
We saw lots of groups of the wild garrano horses on our rides out .
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you for your great feedback and we are so pleased that you had a lovely time in Portugal.]


Rocking Z - Montana

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   9 July 2022

Sine Orgaard Olsson who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. A dream that was fulfilled. Good horse, tack and fantastic scenery


Highland Expeditions - Iceland

Kjölur - South to North

5 star rating   8 July 2022

Joely (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Amazing Experience | The riding was fast and exciting, covering a huge variety of terrain. The horses were all so willing, and excited to get going each morning. Sophie the team leader put a lot of effort in matching horses to riders, and always wanted to hear feedback in order to improve her pairings.


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa

African Explorer

5 star rating   8 July 2022

Sarah who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Amazing | It was well-paced and the horses were forward-going and sure-footed.


Los Alamos - Spain

Short Break - Sunday to Thursday

5 star rating   7 July 2022

Andrea who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Short stay riding holiday - Spain | Excellent


Velani Country Hotel - Crete

Sun and Riding

5 star rating   5 July 2022

Susan who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Wonderful | The riding net my expectations, and was very enjoyable. Our guide was extremely good and very knowledgeable about horses. Nothing was too much trouble and they were very accommodating.


Velani Country Hotel - Crete

Sun and Riding

5 star rating   5 July 2022

Helen (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fun and relaxing | Riding was brilliant. Really liked that there was only us with the guide. They look into account some of the difficulties my daughter was having mentally and made her feel comfortable.


1244 reviews    1 2 3 39