Reviews
909 reviews    1 2 3 29
Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   18 February 2024

Jane who has been on 17 In The Saddle rides. Best adventure ever in Argentina | I could not be happier with the riding I experienced at Los Potreros. During my stay I rode 14 different horses, all wonderfully comfortable and well mannered, and the pasos were to die for! Soooo smooth and comfortable. If I had stayed longer there were more horses for me to try - I fell in love with all the horses I rode.

The saddles were extremely comfortable for long rides and the care that was taken by the gauchos and guides was second to none. Their passion for their horses and providing guests with nothing but the best experience was so evident.

I rode in the mornings from 10 am until around 2 pm and again in the evenings from 5.30 pm until 7.30 ish. Sometimes we were able to help with work on the farm such as moving cattle or horses for specific reasons and I really enjoyed this. I was also glad that it was a working farm and not events specially put on for the benefit of the guests. Having grown up on a farm it was wonderful to be herding cattle. Made me feel that I was 10 years old again.

Los Potreros more than met my expectations and I would love to go back.


Explore Winter - Sweden

Explore Winter and Ice Hotel

5 star rating   17 February 2024

Janet who has been on 15 In The Saddle rides. Truly Magical | It was as described


Explore Winter - Sweden

Explore Winter and Ice Hotel

5 star rating   17 February 2024

Julie who has been on 9 In The Saddle rides. Icy cold outside but a warm glow inside | Less riding than on most ITS holidays but we knew that before we went. Riding the little Icelandic ponies above the arctic circle surrounded by beautiful snow covered scenery was a real treat. Learning how to tolt from the experts was really good.


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   17 February 2024

Adrian who has been on 23 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic fast coastal/ beach trail ride | Excellent quality horses


Wild Coast - South Africa

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   17 February 2024

Sarah who has been on 17 In The Saddle rides. Amazing horses, scenery, organisation. Great guides. It had it all. | My horse was perfect for me, forward going but sensible, probably one of the best horses I have been paired with on a trip. The riding was fast with lots of canters on the beach and inland.
I normally don’t return to rides as there are so many new ones to do, but I think I’ll be back.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   12 February 2024

Bob who has been on 10 In The Saddle rides. Never fails to amaze! | I was initially in a mixed abilities group but was taken off for some lovely canters.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   12 February 2024

Hetty who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. A holiday of a lifetime! | Beyond our expectations! My husband only had about 6 lessons before coming. They matched him with appropriate horses and gave him huge amounts of confidence. He was able to keep up with the advanced group and absolutely loved it. We both loved the riding and loved the way that the horses roam free in the reserve.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for your feedback and we are so pleased that you had such a wonderful time.]


Serengeti Migration Safari - Tanzania

Serengeti Migration Safari

5 star rating   11 February 2024

Melita who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. A fantastic holiday with fabulous riding and animal sightings and experiences | The riding was fabulous. We were well guided in preparation for hazards we might expect (holes, thorns etc). Their ability to navigate across the Serengeti savannah was was amazing.
It was quite fast paced and in every way met, indeed exceeded expectations.
We were massively fortunate with the weather and the incredible numbers of animals we saw.

[Abbie from ITS replies: Thank you very much for your super feedback. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your return visit to Tanzania].


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   11 February 2024

Rachel who has been on 26 In The Saddle rides. Perfect riding holiday | All riders were beautifully matched to their ability. I rode a few different horses this week and loved them all. The horses are fantastic as is the organisation and guides. Thank you Rachel, Jose and Roberto for looking after me so well.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   11 February 2024

Dani (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) A truly special holiday | Excellent


Serengeti Migration Safari - Tanzania

Serengeti Migration Safari

5 star rating   11 February 2024

Sophie who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Serengeti Migration Safari - there are no words… | The horses were all fantastic, so well matched for each rider and so clearly cared for and loved by every member of the team.

[Abbie from ITS replies: Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We're absolutely thrilled that you had such a great return visit to Tanzania.]


Ol Donyo Lodge - Kenya

Ol Donyo Lodge

5 star rating   5 February 2024

Suzanne who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Magical Once in a Lifetime Experience | All riders have their priviate guides. I would let the guide know what pace and how long of a ride I would like to do. When my husband came along we went much slower. Everything is so personalized. The horses are incredibly cared for and you could tell how much they loved them. I fell in love with my horse who was perfect for me and my husband also had an incredible horse. We also had our personal game driver who was so incredible. We designed what we wanted to do each day. If my hubby and our guide went hiking but I rode, we would meet up somewhere special. It was so incredible how personalized EVERYTHING was.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   5 February 2024

who has been on In The Saddle rides. Wonderful holiday | Lovely, fit well trained horses who know and really enjoy their job.


White Stallion Ranch - Arizona

White Stallion Ranch

4 star rating   4 February 2024

Vikki who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Taste of Wild West | It was lovely to have an opportunity to try riding in a Western saddle, however this is not a holiday for experienced riders. The lopes/canters were short and none of the rides were out for their advertised time. We were incredibly lucky as met up with some other competent riders and asked to ride out with them at all times, but being with total novices would have been a frustrating experience and the majority of guests on the ranch were no novices having never ridden before. The horses were well matched to riders, my husband and I got exactly the sort of horses we had requested. Some of their hooves were a bit long in the toe, and horses were not groomed particularly well but standards in US are different to those at home.


Winter Ride - Romania

Winter Ride

5 star rating   3 February 2024

Amanda who has been on 14 In The Saddle rides. A winter wonderland | This was my 3rd trip to Equus but my first in the snow.
Inevitably the riding is not as fast as at other times of the year but we enjoyed plenty of canters and the experience of riding through the spectacular winter landscape is something I’ll never forget.


Horses, Dunes & Nomads - Morocco

Horses, Dunes & Nomads

5 star rating   28 January 2024

Alexis who has been on 11 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic faster ride | I had a great time. I was impressed by how fit & well behaved the horses were. There was a variety of terrain and we walked in deep sand or rockier, volcanic areas, but there were lots of opportunities for long, flowing canters in the dry lake bed & river beds. Abdel was a great guide, he kept everything running smoothly. I enjoyed the overall pacing - just enough to leave us tired but wanting more!

[Abbie from ITS replies: Many thanks for your lovely feedback. We are so pleased that you had a great time in the Moroccan desert].


Kambaku Safari Lodge - Namibia

Kambaku Safari Lodge

5 star rating   26 January 2024

Rachel who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Kambaku | Excellent


Kambaku Safari Lodge - Namibia

Kambaku Safari Lodge

5 star rating   26 January 2024

Hannah who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Beautiful riding retreat | The guides were so attentive, matching people to horses very carefully and always asking if we were happy with our pairings. They also did their best to keep groups to a manageable size, splitting according to ability. There are plenty of routes around the reserve allowing for sightings of various animals, heading deeper into the bush or cantering through more open plains.

[Abbie from ITS replies: We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Kambaku. Thank you for providing your feedback.]


Tierra del Fuego - Argentina

Mitre Peninsula

5 star rating   23 January 2024

Larissa (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Inolvidable y hermoso!!! | For sure! The landscape is wild and also the weather, but the energy of this place is just incredible. If you like being outside and in totally nature with almost nobody else, it is like paradise!

[Abbie from ITS replies: Thank you for your feedback. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your adventure at Fin del Mundo - the end of the world.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   16 January 2024

Simone who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Everything we hoped it would be and more! | Myself and my two sons were complete beginners to horse riding. The staff at Ant's nest took very good care of us. They ensured that at all times we felt comfortable and safe on the horses that had been chosen for us. Day by day they built our confidence and our skill level. They gave us plenty of encouragement.


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   14 January 2024

Anderley (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Superb horses, excellent instructors, welcoming hosts, comfortable accommodation, beautiful landscape | All good horses. Instructors quick to see best horse for each rider. Variety of horses offered to each rider. Bernardo is a really fun, dynamic, energetic and committed instructor - definitely wants each rider to be the best they can be. Laerke is a calming, clear, positive, sympathetic instructor who is able to try different approaches to get the best out of different riders. Both are excellent. The open arena is beautiful and perfectly maintained, with a very wide, crystal clear mirror which is useful for assessing yourself as you ride and to keep distance when in the arena with another rider. The 'indoor' school has open sides and a wonderful view so it is also pleasant to ride in. The trail rides were excellent as we went in a small group, led by the son of the owner or the owner himself. Several canters all together in a group and a long ride over to see the neighbours! We also rode amongst the young mares, which were loose in the fields! Lovely hosting by the father and son. [In The Saddle replies: Thank you for your wonderful feedback. It is lovely to hear how much you enjoyed Monte Velho. The covered arena has open sides, but there is also a seperately located indoor school which doesn't have open sides.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   7 January 2024

Paula who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. 2nd visit and amazing again! | All the horses I have ridden have been matched to my ability, forward going and well schooled. Even in a mixed ability ride they try to cater for everyone e.g. splitting for fast canters.


Los Alamos - Spain

New Year Week

4 star rating   6 January 2024

Karen who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Good | this was my second ride at Los alamos. Andrew, Rhianon and Jack absolutely amazing and could not do enough to make the stay enjoyable. however I was a bit disappointed with riding. I feel like I did something wrong when I rode in May as I was not given any of the horses I like to ride until I made a bit of a fuss about it on the last but one day. If I did something wrong in May it would be nice to be told. Also it feels like regulars get preferences on horses. [In The Saddle replies: Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are pleased you had a good time overall, and have followed up your comments with Los Alamos. They say you have absolutely done nothing wrong in the past, and they are sorry you felt there was preferences given. They also agree that the food at one of the bars at lunch time was not of the usual standard. This was due to staff shortages, but is now rectified.]


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   5 January 2024

Cristina (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) A game changer in | Excellent riding instructors, with a variety of styles. This experience really helped me improve and realize what it means to ride a well balanced dressage horse. It's also such a pleasure to see the senior trainers riding themselves.

The hacks outside were in a very beautiful scenery. I enjoyed particularly the one with Diogo Jr. The intern guides were a bit less experienced.


Horses, Dunes & Nomads - Morocco

Horses, Dunes & Nomads

5 star rating   31 December 2023

Jorge who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Amazing ride and amazing place | I was assigned one of the best horses I have ridden. A beautiful spirited stallion that kept me on my toes but rewarded me a thousand fold. The gaits on these horses were amazing. You felt like floating in a cloud. That alone made this ride worth it.

Then add an amazing guide, the varied terrain, an awesome rider group, and the great food each night and it made for one of the best horse treks I have done. This may actually be a repeat and I am not a repeat kind of traveller.

Highly recommend.


Los Alamos - Spain

Christmas Week

5 star rating   30 December 2023

Chris who has been on 19 In The Saddle rides. My third time never disappointing | Always


Los Alamos - Spain

Christmas Week

5 star rating   30 December 2023

Manna (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) 12/10 totally recommend | Rachel does a fantastic job of hearing the riders out on their wants/expectations, taking into considerations personalities of riders/horses and making matches. I started with a sweet Arab that is easier to handle to start off to get used to, and switched to a gorgeous Andalusian that taught me so much in the 3 days with him. They can switch gears up and down very smoothly and the ride throughout felt very steady and energetic.


Los Alamos - Spain

Christmas Week

5 star rating   30 December 2023

Netta who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous | I always love the riding in Los Alamos. I have never been disappointed and all the horses are well cared for.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   22 December 2023

Sabrina (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Unforgettable | The facilities at the riding centre are top notch: Viewing area, covered 20 X 40 arena, stables, lockers. The trainers Miguel and Rui are amazing and well knowledgeable trainers. The Lusitano horses are beautiful, well cared for and well trained. Such a pleasure to ride them.


Tierra del Fuego - Argentina

Mitre Peninsula

5 star rating   20 December 2023

Grace (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) AMAZING! I loved every second. The landscape is spectacular and my horse is now my Argentinian love affair (not in a creepy way). Adolfo and his team are fabulous, we all had so much fun. | My horse Cara Súcia, was independent, strong and sure footed. We connected really well and even had some sweet moments i.e I called out his name when he was off lead and he came running to me.

There were times where we traveled at a jog (seated trot) so it felt fast, and then long beach gallops which was incredible. At one point wild horses joined us. Other parts were technical, but because my horse was so sure footed and independent he always found his way and I trusted him and let him choose the path.

The riding was better than I had expected.

[Abbie from ITS replies: Many thanks for your feedback. We're delighted that you enjoyed your adventure in Argentina so much.]


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   16 December 2023

Donna (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) The most amazing and fascinationg adventure I've ever experienced in my life. | The horses were well matched to every person, the guides were superb and knew the Bush inside and out, the wildlife is non stop from large game to tiny creatures that live on the ground, the food was home made and very healthy, the people could not do enough to assist, help and cater for us. I honestly cannot fault any part of this adventure. I would do it all again in a heartbeat. We got caught in Thunderstorms and Dust storms but our horses did not flinch, I felt very comfortable with my horse and I learnt to trust him within the first hour of knowing him. The riding is not for the faint hearted and you must be of a good standard and not mind cantering for long periods as walking and cantering with the odd gallop is the norm.

The riding is on difficult terrain and at first I thought I may not be up to the standard they required, however I soon began to relax and knew I just needed to balance on the stirrups in order to enjoy the long canters. The horses are so trustworthy and fit and very sure footed. I trusted mine completely, I could have easily have taken him home and swapped him for my mare! Lovely horses with fantastic temperaments. I felt I was well matched to my horse, I thought I was a slight nervous rider so they ensured I had a very experienced horse who knew the bush and animals, I need not have worried. I found new confidence in my riding as by two days in to the holiday I was galloping without needing any reins whatsoever as I had found my independent seat again after many years of not feeling I had one.


Moolmanshoek - South Africa

Moolmanshoek

5 star rating   10 December 2023

Sylvia who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Adventure | I found the riding challenging at times due to the steep climbs and descents but the horses were brilliant. The rewards were the amazing views once we reached the high peaks.

[Abbie from ITS replies: Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your time at beautiful Moolmanshoek].


909 reviews    1 2 3 29