Reviews
16 reviews   
Sierra Nevada - Spain

Sulayr Ride

5 star rating   27 March 2024

Johnathan (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Faultless service and experience | Dallas and her brother are very generous hosts.
They are interesting to talk to, fun to be with and clearly care about their horses. A great trip.


Sierra Nevada - Spain

Sulayr Ride

5 star rating   27 March 2024

Russell (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Great riding holiday in the Sierra Nevada | We were hampered by the weather (rain & snow) but the hosts adjusted the routes sensibly and appropriately


Sierra Nevada - Spain

Poqueira Ride

4 star rating   13 July 2023

Sharon (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Well organised | I knew the ride would be mainly taken at a walk due to the terrain. This was not a problem. The scenery was outstanding and the horses very well cared for. Delicious lunches too. It was a shame that the heat was such that my enjoyment was reduced. I would have liked to go out earlier in the day but understand that this was not necessarily possible.


Sierra Nevada - Spain

Alpujarra Short Break

5 star rating   29 June 2023

Janine who has been on 11 In The Saddle rides. A VERY unexpected holiday in beautiful mountains | This ride was beyond my expectations. It was adventurous, relaxing, fun and friendly.
The accommodation was beautiful and clean. The villages were beautiful, the villagers were friendly and so very houseproud! Our hostess, Dallas was knowledgeable and passionate about her country. The horses were so very well cared for in fact the best I have seen. Dallas knew each and everyone inside out. They are a credit to her.
The food was outstanding and I would recommend anyone to go. Although, you must be able to walk uneven ground easily.
Thank you for a great Ride "In The Saddle" you haven't failed us yet!

[Abbie from ITS replies: Hooray - we're so pleased you had yet another great riding holiday! Thank you for your lovely feedback on riding in the stunning Sierra Nevada Mountains. We're thrilled that you enjoyed this destination, which is a real In The Saddle favourite].


Sierra Nevada - Spain

Poqueira Ride

5 star rating   21 June 2023

Richard who has been on 7 In The Saddle rides. A lovely way to experience a grand and historic area of the Sierra Nevada | We were matched with lovely experienced horses. Dallas guided us on several varied trail rides, each with wonderful views. Dallas' knowledge of the area and her horsemanship are exceptional - and she makes a great picnic lunch. A lot of the trails are taken at walking pace, with some requiring the rider to dismount and lead the horse, but there were stretches where a faster pace, trot of canter, was possible.


Sierra Nevada - Spain

Contraviesa Ride

5 star rating   25 March 2023

Andrea (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) A very nice exciting horse ride trip through beautiful nature | The guide had a lot of experience and trust everybody and the horses in the mountains of the Sierra Nevada and all the exciting situations we had there. We had nice hotels and good dinner. The horses were well educated and strong for climbing in the mountains.


Sierra Nevada - Spain

Sulayr Ride

5 star rating   5 October 2022

Jane who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Memorable and great fun | As anticipated this ride was slow due to the terrain with quite a lot of on foot walking where terrain very steep.However some cantering days 2 and 3 and well worth the ride to cross the high Sierra Nevada. Horses sure footed , picnics delicious , views amazing and you really were off the beaten tracks. We keep talking about our Spanish adventure. We loved being in the mountains and the two villages, Bubion and Trevelez, were fascinating.The horses were well schooled so could relax and enjoy the countryside eg picked their way over rough terrain, you just gave them a long rein, in canter went into a rhythm and did not pull so can just sit still with light contact, when leading they walked behind and did not tread on you !


Sierra Nevada - Spain

Alpujarra Short Break

5 star rating   29 September 2022

Ebba who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. The weather was impeccable - the horse super good and the terrain as I had imagined - so all in all a trip I would like to recommend to others. The fact that it also was an excellent group does not make the experience any worse!
Consideration was given to the work load on the horses going downhill, and they were given adequate rest when going uphill.


Sierra Nevada - Spain

Alpujarra Short Break

5 star rating   29 September 2022

Nicolette who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous; horses, scenery, riding and food! | The riding was excellent. Varied terrain, stunning scenery. Dallas Love, the leader was very experienced and her horses were well trained and lovely to ride. She took care to ensure we knew what lay ahead and ensured her horses were ok. The getting on and off for short periods of walking when the terrain was two steep or slippy to ride on helped to reduce stiffness. Lunches with a spot of merlot on the mountainside were delicious.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for your feedback. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed riding with Dallas - she is a wonderful guide.]


Sierra Nevada - Spain

Alpujarra Short Break

5 star rating   29 September 2022

Dawn who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous trip never to be forgotten trip on great horses | The riding certainly met my expectations. The rides were challenging enough to be interesting and engaging. The best way to see rural Spain and some fabulous scenery. Confident that the horses were fit, up to the job and very well cared for. They enjoyed their work. Food And accommodation great too.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for your feedback and we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday in the Sierra Nevada Mountains]


Sierra Nevada - Spain

Buena Vista

5 star rating   16 July 2022

Sue who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Brilliant week’s trekking on well schooled horses in the most beautiful environment. | The holiday met with my expectations, it was everything I’d hoped for and read about. The scenery was spectacular and riding well schooled, exceptionally sure footed and safe horses allowed for relaxed viewing of the landscape as we rode. In addition there were plenty of rest stops (partly to allow for the extreme heat), and photo opportunities. Though not a fast paced ride we did enjoy some decent canters along the forest paths, and my horse ‘Kinder’ was very comfortable, gentle and a perfect match.
This ride does demand a good level of fitness as there was a fair amount of mounting and dismounting to enable the horses to be led up and down some vey steep and often slippery slopes, however Dallas and her great team gave clear instructions on how to negotiate these challenges and we all felt completely safe and well looked after.
I would recommend riding in long sleeves, taking a sunhat for use at lunch time, and cycling water bottles for ease of drinking whilst mounted.
The accommodation was extremely comfortable and meals varied with plenty of choice. The picnic lunches provided each day by Dallas were legendary!
All in all, I would thoroughly recommend this ride.


Sierra Nevada - Spain

Contraviesa Ride

5 star rating   26 March 2022

Michael who has been on 9 In The Saddle rides. Good fun but just unlucky with bad weather | Excellent


Sierra Nevada - Spain

Contraviesa Ride

5 star rating   23 October 2021

Jane who has been on 17 In The Saddle rides. Very enjoyable week riding a beautiful horse in fabulous country side | It was a privilege to be able to ride such a high quality horse for the week. The pace of the ride was completely suited to the terrain. The countryside was stunningly beautiful and varied and we were blessed with sunny, warm and dry weather.


Sierra Nevada - Spain

Contraviesa Ride

5 star rating   23 October 2021

Margaret who has been on 7 In The Saddle rides. Brilliant time riding an excellent forward going horse. | The riding certainly met my expectations and what happy horses - my horse was lovely and enthusiastic


Sierra Nevada - Spain

Contraviesa Ride

5 star rating   23 October 2021

Lone who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic horses, well-schooled and impressively safe on their hoof in all kinds of terrain. Got a perfectly matched horse in beautiful Tello.
The pace is as described, mostly walk. A little trot / canter a couple of days. Could have wished for a little more pace on a couple of the stretches. But of course "better safe than sorry".


Sierra Nevada - Spain

Alpujarra Ride

5 star rating   25 September 2021

Sarah who has been on 7 In The Saddle rides. La Alpujara | The riding and the horses were fabulous. The horses were beautifully schooled and a pleasure to ride. The terrain was very varied from mountainous, lovely fresh air to almond orchards being harvested.


16 reviews