Reviews
13 reviews   
Sierra De Gredos - Spain
Experience Level

Castles of the Gredos Mountains

4 star rating   27 October 2018

Good or Very Good


Sierra De Gredos - Spain
Experience Level

Crystalline Waters of Gredos

5 star rating   18 August 2018

I had probably expected more canters from home, but we climbed and rode for many hours, 100km in five days, mostly in step in an overwhelming nature


Sierra De Gredos - Spain
Experience Level

Castles of the Gredos Mountains

5 star rating   16 June 2018

Emilio and Mamen have great love, respect and abilities with their horses and it is therefore extremely well-behaved horses and very lovely and good animals we see and ride.


Sierra De Gredos - Spain
Experience Level

Four Valleys

5 star rating   16 September 2017

The riding was as described and met expectations - majority was at a walk which was very relaxing with a trot and canter on the first day then at least one canter on every other day.


Sierra De Gredos - Spain
Experience Level

Four Valleys

5 star rating   16 September 2017

Horses were very well schooled, forward going but had brakes, I loved it!


Sierra De Gredos - Spain
Experience Level

Castles of the Gredos Mountains

5 star rating   2 September 2017

The horses were very well looked after and seemed very happy.


Sierra De Gredos - Spain
Experience Level

Castles of the Gredos Mountains

5 star rating   2 September 2017

The tour was intense (7hrs trekking) but very well organized. Walk and canter were possible and safe for us and for the horses. Emilio is a very experienced guide, discreet and professional. It was a relaxing touch of nature. The horses are very docile and well integrated. The daily routine of horse care has amazed me as there is a lot of attention to their well-being. Padded pads and talcum post massage with ad hoc brush, between the steps to follow. Love and respect for horses and management skills is evident. I wanted to put Cholo in my luggage for sure.


Sierra De Gredos - Spain
Experience Level

Castles of the Gredos (long)

4 star rating   27 August 2017

Good or Very Good


Sierra De Gredos - Spain
Experience Level

Crystalline Waters of Gredos

5 star rating   15 July 2017

Unfortunately my horse got injured after the second day of riding, so I had to change horses. I liked
the new horse as well though.
Even though it is mostly walking it is still challenging and fun. You get to see great nature.
It did absolutely meet the expectations.


Sierra De Gredos - Spain
Experience Level

Crystalline Waters of Gredos

5 star rating   15 July 2017

We were given very safe, fit, knowledgable horses that we completely trusted.


Sierra De Gredos - Spain
Experience Level

Crystalline Waters of Gredos

5 star rating   15 July 2017

It was a very good combination of adventure whilst having enough comfort to enjoy a relaxing time. Everything was taken care of by Emilio and Mamen to make my holiday an excellent experience. My holiday started immediately with the smile and warm welcome of Mamen when picking me up at the airport. Emilio is very a friendly man and he quietly observes his riders to make sure he gets the best match for the rider and horse. I had a great horse, very forward going and yet so reliable. This made me feel very comfortable at riding and I could really enjoy this trail. All horses had a very friendly character and are so beautiful and healthy. Every day we experienced something new during the trail, there was always something else to discover and to admire. It is a pleasure to see that they treat their horses so well, they really love their horses. Mamen is a great cook. Every day she prepared something else for us (paella, grilled steak, tortilla's with different flavours, desserts) and not to forget the homemade 'happy juice'. And last but not least, their amusing dog Brasas accompanied us on the trail. She's a pleasure to have had her around! Thanks Emilio and Mamen for this great experience! I'm so happy I joined your trail!


Sierra De Gredos - Spain
Experience Level

Castles of the Gredos (long)

5 star rating   18 June 2017

The riding was varied in pace and scenery taking us through series of changing landscapes and villages where we could take in changing conditions of topography, vegetation and local village building traditions. The pace varied between walking and cantering where appropriate and with good intervals. It never got boring! The horses are all well balanced and Emilio matched me up with with a wonderful horse matching my level of experience making it a joyful ride throughout the 6 days.


Sierra De Gredos - Spain
Experience Level

Castles of the Gredos (long)

5 star rating   18 June 2017

This ride was terrific- I traveled solo to Spain and met amazing new friends on this ride.

I have been on many rides prior to this one and this ride certainly ranked at the top. The horses were well-mannered and took care of their riders. The terrain we rode on was different every day and the scenery never got boring. We spent long days in the saddle (sometimes up to 7 hours) which was refreshing, since I was used to trips where only 3-5 hours a day were spent riding. When you go on a horse trip, the point it to ride! Well, that's what you definitely get with this trip.

We did plenty of cantering and not once did I ever feel like the ride was too "slow" - in fact, I would have felt bad for the horses if we made them canter more than they did - I feel like it was a perfect amount of cantering for both horse and rider! Whereas other trips I had been on had several short spurts of canters and gallops, this ride had longer canters where it didn't seem like a race between the horses. Usually, when the terrain allowed for a safe canter, we cantered. In many areas, the terrain did not allow for this and so we enjoyed walking and taking everything in! Truly, one of more enjoyable canters I have yet to experience on a horse trip.

Emilio was a terrific guide - he took amazing care of his horses and you can tell he really loved them. They were all well fed and in great riding shape. Emilio knew the terrain and the route very well and would point out interesting facts along the way. Since 7 hours is a lot of time for anyone one person take the podium talking, we enjoyed our days of bantering and laughing together along the ride while Emilio led the way.

Mamen was wonderful - she greeted us every morning with her lovely smile and contagious laugh - she seemed to never tire as she kept us well fed with her delicious meals throughout the day. She really seemed to be so happy with being around us and had so many great stories to share. It was a pleasure being around her and sharing meals with both her and Emilio.

If you are looking for a ride where you can experience the best that rural Spain can offer and visit countless small towns, stay in cozy and clean Inns, and share meals, stories and experiences with amazing hosts, this is the ride for you! I'd repeat it in a heartbeat!


13 reviews