Reviews
11 reviews   
Sierra De Gredos - Spain

Castles of the Gredos Mountains

4 star rating   21 October 2023

Cecilia who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Awsome. | Yes, it did.


Sierra De Gredos - Spain

Crystalline Waters of Gredos

4 star rating   5 August 2023

Mary who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Good riding and great food in the mountains | The riding was relatively leisurely, as indicated in the ride description, with just 1-3 short canters each day. This is largely due to the terrain being not very suitable for longer and more frequent canter's, but the pay-off is that the scenery is very nice. The horses were well behaved and keen, but not auto-pilot horses, which was good. I would have personally preferred a bit more fast bits, but I knew when I booked that it wasn't advertised as a fast ride, so it was in line with my expectations.


Sierra De Gredos - Spain

Crystalline Waters of Gredos

5 star rating   8 July 2023

Fi who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. The most wonderful experience! | Can not begin to describe what a wonderful week we had with Mamen, Emilio, Barras the collie dog and their beautifully trained and cared for horses.

It was heaven to spend all day riding through the beautiful Gredos mountains, with the gorgeous smiley Mamen to meet us with tapas late morning, the then again later for a delicious home cooked lunch (the paella and Local Avila beef entrecote was epic!). Lunch stops were always by a beautiful river (and the waters really are"crystalline"), so after lunch we'd have a refreshing swim, then siesta in the sunshine before mounting up to ride for a few more hours.

The scenery is stunning; we felt so well looked after and safe, guided by Emilio's wonderful horsemanship. Emilio matched me with a gorgeous forward-going PRExArab mare and she was a delight! I know some previous visitors have mentioned the amount of walking you do, however I felt the scenery was so amazing I was more than happy with our steady pace to just relax and enjoy my surroundings.

I'm already planning a return visit...enough said! 🙂 x


Sierra De Gredos - Spain

Castles of the Gredos Mountains

5 star rating   10 June 2023

Joy (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Amazing | A dream experience come true. Our hosts Mamen and Emilio were awesome. Their horses well trained and much loved. The countryside beautiful:) Exceeded all expectations!!
A long haul from Australia, but worth every minute. [ITS replies: Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed it.]


Sierra De Gredos - Spain

Castles of the Gredos Mountains

5 star rating   10 June 2023

Anne who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Cannot get any better | Great hosts. We felt safe and well taken care of. Mamen, Emilio, their dog and their horses made this a week to remember. Are so greatful.


Sierra De Gredos - Spain

Castles of the Gredos Mountains

5 star rating   10 June 2023

Hege-renate who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Incredible experience | Dedicated and caring hosts. Always good service, Far beyond expected. Excellent horses, well trained and cared for.
Beautiful landscape and the guide were very familiar with the area, giving us good insight. Friendly company from large parts of the world. Would love to Come back.


Sierra De Gredos - Spain

Castles of the Gredos Mountains

5 star rating   24 September 2022

Katie who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Out of this world amazing horses, delicious food, warm and lovely hosts, fabulous accommodation, | The riding was great. I always felt safe. Emilio was calm and professional. The horses were all very well behaved. We had a chance for canters. We could have trotted a bit more but all the walking didn't detract from the holiday. The days were long, we loved the tapas stop and then we rode on for a late lunch, which was always home made and delicious, and then a long siesta and back in the saddle for two more hours and getting to our accommodation about 7:30. This is the Spanish way but not much time for relaxing before dinner.

[Abbie from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for your feedback. I am so glad that you enjoyed your trip.]


Sierra De Gredos - Spain

Castles of the Gredos Mountains

5 star rating   12 February 2022

Sarah who has been on 7 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous | A fabulous ride through the most beautiful part of rural Spain. The horses were excellent, well cared for and the saddles were very comfortable.


Sierra De Gredos - Spain

Castles of the Gredos Mountains

5 star rating   25 September 2021

Pia (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Excellent


Sierra De Gredos - Spain

Castles of the Gredos Mountains

5 star rating   18 September 2021

Katie who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic scenery | I had been on a ride previously with Emilio,so knew the riding would be good. I did love this ride,as got to do some trotting & long canters most days. Majority of the ride is at walk,but lovely to take in the scenery around you. So peaceful.


Sierra De Gredos - Spain

Castles of the Gredos Mountains

4 star rating   24 July 2021

Mette who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Mamen and Emilio are amazing horse people and their love and respect for the animals pervade the whole ride. Just the fact that you ride bitless says it all. It IS a slow ride, which is also described when booking it and this year's heat wave probably slowed it down further. A couple of beautiful canters - but otherwise the pace is in calm walk. It was a beautiful experience to meet the locals and ride through small sleeping villages in the region, and experience the beautiful castles and squares, but if you, like me, are more into the deserted and completely raw nature, there are a little too many cars and roads to crossed on this ride.


11 reviews