Reviews
8 reviews   
Sicilian Trails - Italy

Deep Sicily Trail

5 star rating   16 October 2021

Naja who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Everything is in order. It's all just running smoothly. Good horses, good guides, totally delicious dinner, great places to visit, accommodations, views: EVERYTHING!


Sicilian Trails - Italy

Wild Sicily Trail

5 star rating   2 October 2021

Sarah who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Best trail ride yet | The riding was varied according to terrain
and was as I expected


Sicilian Trails - Italy

Wild Sicily Trail

5 star rating   2 October 2021

Sophia (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Quite an adventure | 'Wild Sicily' would be great for charities looking for a challenge ride, such as BHS or the Injured Jockeys Fund. Huge distances are covered each day with a range of forest and montane environments involving steep gradients. The guides take ancient tracks - which makes for both interest and safety - but there is not much soft going. Riders need to be fit, taking boots with thick rubber soles. The final day, riding up Mount Etna and around some of the lateral craters was a unique experience.

The guides, Alessandro and Lizzie, are charming and organised everything beautifully. They obviously have a deep love for trail riding and we felt confident that they had chosen the very best for us. I felt we were in safe hands and would be happy to recommend their trail rides to others.

I did not expect to encounter so many wild flowers in September. There was not much bird life in the mountains but we spotted griffon vultures and quite a few wild pigs. We were enchanted by herds of cattle, sheep and goats with traditional bells hanging around their necks and rode past a variety of traditional farms.

I found myself comparing this trip to riding in Georgia and Romania, countries which lack rural fences and so enable faster going, but don't offer such good food or accommodation. Our final day on Sicily, climbing Mt Etna and riding through vineyards into the historic town of Castiglione offered a world class climax that rivals other European rides.


Sicilian Trails - Italy

Wild Sicily Trail

5 star rating   26 September 2020

Leonard who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. At home in the wild | Horses were well mannered, safe, fit and forward going. We covered a huge variety of terrain and had a lot of opportunities for relaxed riding between vineyards, challenging mountain climbs, trotting through medieval towns and long fun woodland canters. Everyone was well matched to their horse and each day's ride was interesting, different and thoroughly enjoyable.


Sicilian Trails - Italy

Wild Sicily Trail

5 star rating   26 September 2020

Sue who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. All round amazing experience | Exceeded expectations - extremely fit, well behaved, horses that were incredibly sure footed and suitable for job. I was amazed at the terrain that they went over with seeming ease! Being in a mountainous area, the ascents (seemingly vertical at times) and descents were very much a part of the ride, which naturally offered different types of countryside, vegetation, scenery and far reaching views - it seemed that every day the afternoon was different from the morning and each day different. Alex the guide kept us informed of places and things of interest. Very comfortable sheepskin saddle covers and rain covers - not seen rain covers before, they were such a good idea!

If I have a niggling criticism it’s that I’m not a fan of riding in a crocodile line in a set order, I completely understand why they do it ( they know their horses very well) and fully appreciate that majority of the tracks can only be ridden one behind the other, but when the opportunity arose and seeing that we were all competent and in control of our horses, I would have liked to ride alongside someone else - not that I didn’t enjoy their company, far from it - but long days were spent in the saddle and I felt there were a few in the group who I hadn’t had the chance to chat to except in the evening.


Sicilian Trails - Italy

Wild Sicily Trail

5 star rating   26 September 2020

Jill who has been on 13 In The Saddle rides. Wonderful- just the break I needed | This was the first exploratory ride that I have done with In The saddle, so was not sure what to expect, but I loved it! The horses were amazing, you have to admire how tough and fit they were and although we covered over 200km they did not lose any condition at all. Alex was really knowledgeable about the areas we were riding through and the pace was just right. I had wondered if I was going to be fit enough to ride for up to 8 hours a day, I usually get bored after 6, but I found it fairly easy, although going downhill for 2 1/2 hours on one day did make my knees ache!


Sicilian Trails - Italy

Wild Sicily Trail

5 star rating   26 September 2020

Bregje who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Great trail!!!! | I think Lizzie and Alex did a great job finding the right horse for each rider. I really enjoyed riding mine. Very forward but good to control , sure footed, reliable, and comfortable in all gates


Sicilian Trails - Italy

Wild Sicily Trail

5 star rating   26 September 2020

Jane who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Wonderful | Excellent


8 reviews