Reviews
40 reviews    1 2
Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   8 April 2024

Linda who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Perfect! | The horses and instruction were superb and appropriate for my level of riding. All the riding facilities and care for the horses are exemplary, and also extremely relaxing for the rider. Everything about the yard works really well - including the adorable, friendly Jack Russell dogs who make one feel at home! I really enjoyed watching fellow riders’ lessons from the glamorous and comfortable viewing lounge/bar. The instructors are brilliant and intuitively gauge how to get the best from each rider. I will definitely return.

[Abbie from ITS replies: Wonderful that you had such a great time at Quinta do Rol. Many thanks for your feedback].


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   5 April 2024

Kathryn who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Excellent | Horses immaculate and very well cared for.
Stables immaculate.
Lessons very well structured catering for individual riders needs.
Instruction excellent.
Facilities excellent including the viewing gallery with easy access to home grown wine
Improved my riding position which has helped with riding my own horses at home

[Abbie from ITS replies: We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Quinta do Rol. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experiences].


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   31 March 2024

Janet who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Amazing | Met more than my expectations! An amazing place with stunning well trained horses.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   30 March 2024

Jennifer (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Incredible horses! | Incredible experience! The horses were amazing and I was sad to be leaving. Can’t wait to go back again!

[Abbie from ITS replies: Many thanks for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay at Quinta do Rol. We very much look forward to arranging your return visit].


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   17 March 2024

Amelie who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic dressage training on Lusitano horses | The trip was absolutely incredible. It was everything I’ve always hoped for in riding and haven’t been able to find before. Riding Lusitano horses has been a revelation for me. They are everything I’ve always dreamt for in a horse, forward and ultra-responsive while being quiet and safe, super smart, perfect size for me and a lovely temperament. Perfect schoolmasters! All the horses I rode were amazing and they all taught me something different. All three trainers were really great too, again teaching me different things and constantly pushing me to improve. I got to ride piaffe, passage, Spanish walk, flying changes and one-tempis for the first time, which was incredible and a lot more than I ever expected I’d be able to do!


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

4 star rating   9 March 2024

Ashley who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Memorable | Beautiful horses and great trainers and grooms
I was lucky enough to ride experienced advanced horses and also some not used in the school much yet due to the stage of their education so great variety.
We were not asked about if we wanted to do anything other than lessons. When we did ask for a hack it was soon accommodated and one of us wanted an inhand lesson which they quickly organised too
We couldn’t use the gym as used as storage and we were told couldn’t use the pool either.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   22 December 2023

Sabrina (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Unforgettable | The facilities at the riding centre are top notch: Viewing area, covered 20 X 40 arena, stables, lockers. The trainers Miguel and Rui are amazing and well knowledgeable trainers. The Lusitano horses are beautiful, well cared for and well trained. Such a pleasure to ride them.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   26 November 2023

Camilla who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Now the focus was dressage, so riding in terrain was slow and calm maybe a little too quiet, but good for the horses. I have been extremely satisfied with the entire process! from the high service from Rid & Rejs to the absolutely fantastic surroundings, high service, friendliness and helpfulness and especially the highly trained horses and good instructors on the place.
I absolutely cannot recommend it enough. and I will definitely return to the same location and will use Rid & Rejs again.

[Abbie from ITS replies: Thank you very much for your super feedback. We at In The Saddle and Melina at Rid & Rejs (in Denmark) are really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Quinta do Rol.]


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

4 star rating   20 November 2023

Sandra (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Amazing experience | The riding was excellent, a brilliant experience. However I did think the saddle cloths could have been changed they were very grubby.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   10 November 2023

Jennifer who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Exceeded expectations! | Overall I had a great riding experience and Quinta do Rol has exceeded my expectations. The instruction was excellent with their highly trained horses. I felt safe and relaxed knowing I'm in capable hands as a novice rider.

ALL the horses were special and performed to a top level. It's nearly impossible to pick a favourite. As soon as you set foot in their stables it's quite obvious that the horses are treated and cared for to a high standard.

I also appreciated their attention to detail -- from the comfortable viewing area where you can watch others ride, the clean and modern facilities both for humans and horses, even a kit to clean your boots was provided in the stables. The instructors and grooms were all genuinely nice and friendly making it a very relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere for everyone.

[Abbie from ITS replies: Thanks for your super feedback. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your first holiday with In The Saddle. We hope it will be the first of many!].


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   5 November 2023

Lesley who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Great | Excellent


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

4 star rating   24 October 2023

Cynthia who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Excellent horses and Instructors | The horses and instructors were absolutely fantastic. It was so great to get to do dressage moves that I cannot (yet!) do on my own horse. It was really inspiring to take my own schooling at home up a notch.

[Abbie from ITS replies: Thanks so much for your feedback. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your time at Quinta do Rol and returned home feeling inspired].


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   21 October 2023

Graham who has been on 9 In The Saddle rides. A really great holiday | I arrived quite late due to delays but the owner was there to greet me and a dinner was also waiting for me.
The horses are lovely and instruction is really good, I liked the one to one as I'm used to that at home.
I have learnt a lot. The horses are well trained and consequently have more "Buttons" to press.
I found my leg position had to be more precise to get the correct movements, which was good to know and take home with me.
I rode one lesson through storm Babet in the huge covered outdoor school & although the rain was monsoon we stayed dry, the horse was totally unfazed by the wind and rain.
I rode five horses & loved them all each one a little different. The horses are well looked after and tack is very good . Each instructor brought something new to the lessons.
My fellow guest were all friendly & I enjoyed watching & talking about our lessons with them.
I had a lovely time and would definitely recommend Quinta do Rol.

Graham


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   21 September 2023

Carolle (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Perfect dressage vacations | Excellent


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   25 August 2023

Lowri who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Great Portuguese experience | The horses were excellently trained and cared for. The instructors were patient and animated and I feel that I maanged to improve my riding whilst having fun.

[ITS Replies: Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Quinta do Rol].


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   17 August 2023

Susan who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous from start to finish! | The horses were fantastic. I felt humbled by their grace and willingness. I'm quite novice in dressage riding and don't have my own horse or compete at home. I learnt more at Quinta do Rol in 4 days then I have in a year at home - the horses really helped me develop my feel for lateral work and my riding generally.

The instructors were brilliant. Absolutely passionate about the lesson and making sure you improve but have fun along the way. I really felt they believed in me and gave me a lot of confidence, with honest feedback. I wish I could bring them (& the horses of course) back to the UK with me!

The facilities are the best I have ever seen. The indoor school is stunning with a really comfortable riders lounge over looking the arena. It was difficult to choose between the indoor and the enormous outdoor school surrounded by glorious farm countryside. The horses have better facilities than a lot of hotels for humans! All the staff I saw treated the horses with great care, respect and a lot of love which created a wonderful calm ambiance.

[Abbie from ITS replies: Many thanks for your contructive feedback. We're so pleased you enjoyed your time at Quinta do Rol].


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   9 August 2023

Montse (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Better than expected! | Excellent


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   8 July 2023

Rachael who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic - it has re-inspired me | This trip exceeded expectations. The instructors were all very knowledgeable and the horses beautifully trained. We worked on my weak areas, improved on the basics and tried out some of the fun flashy movements.
The holiday has given me motivation to take what i have learnt back home to try and apply on my own horse. I feel totally re-inspired now i can see my weaknesses and know how to correct them, and i can now also feel and understand the correct way to ask for things as the horses are so well trained and sensitive to commands.

[Abbie from ITS replies: What super feedback - thank you! We're delighted that you feel inspired by your stay at Quinta do Rol}.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   2 July 2023

Jenn who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. 10/10 | Surpassed expectations, can't wait to go back.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   10 June 2023

Lynda who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. A lovely peaceful quinta | The instruction was good , Miguel was exceptionally good .
you need to update the information you give out as it seems that Georgina Rogers does not work there now . My Portuguese friend seemed to think that Britta Paes taught there too but he did not seem to teach , we saw him ride though.
There was some confusion over our change of plans but that was sorted out. The taxi drive is actually an hour not 45 mins. It seemed odd too that no staff are on site after the evening meal which was a worry as one lady managed to lock herself out of her room.
The horses were good and well trained there was one we were a bit concerned about who did not seem" right "behind the instructors said he was always a bit stiff and that they do have osteopaths etc visiting.The horses are well looked after and the place is immaculate.Staff are super , really attentive and friendly and the pool area is lovely. There did not seem to be any massage on offer or yoga though but that did not matter to me.Accomodation was very clean and very comfortable


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   30 April 2023

Lesley who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Fab | Excellent instruction. Could not fault the horses or their care. The instructors quickly assessed us and based the lessons on our ability.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for your feedback and we are so pleased you enjoyed the riding at Quinta do Rol.]


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   7 April 2023

MJ who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Quinta do Rol - Exceeded Expectations | The horses are beautiful and lovingly cared for. For the lessons, in my experience, many riding instructors understand very well how horses learn but need to be more attuned to how people learn. I am happy to say that this was not the case at Quinta do Rol. João Gouveia, Miguel Pereira, and Carlos Rosa are kindhearted with excellent people skills with the flexibility to adapt to whoever the student is. From my impressions, João is very personable and patient. Miguel is very detail-oriented and has an exceptionally sophisticated and refined understanding of anatomy and alignment. He goes above and beyond in his teaching. Carlos has a tranquil and gentle instruction style, which I appreciated, and his lessons left me very happy on the last day. They are all absolute gems – genuine articles- anyone would be lucky to learn from them.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   25 March 2023

Charlotte Ostermand who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Absolutely fantastic horses and lessons, a dream Riding Holiday.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   25 March 2023

Rikke Hvenegaard (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fantastic talented horses. Feel safe being on them because the instructors know them so well. Skilled, sweet, welcoming and patient instructors.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   25 March 2023

Mia Sander who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Excellent


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   17 February 2023

Kristin who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Everything was top notch. The best of the best. Horses, instructors, stable, tack. I learned a lot in a short time.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   16 February 2023

Naja (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Thank you so much to Quinta do Rol for trying to ride their amazing Lusitano horses, guided by very good and dedicated instructors. It was very instructive to get an introduction to how to ride Lusitano horses and try different horses and different exercises. Seeing the instructors work with the horses was also a big pleasure and very inspiring. It was done in such a respectful, positive, professional and loving way.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   10 February 2023

Zoe who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Everything we expected and more | The horses are very well schooled and had excellent temperaments.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

4 star rating   28 November 2022

Claudia who has been on 11 In The Saddle rides. Quinta do Rol - A very nice and good place for riding Lusitano horses. | Good


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

4 star rating   1 November 2022

Lene (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) The lessons were good. Instructors were skilled and so were the horses.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   9 October 2022

Charlotte who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Amazing holiday - excellent riding, wonderful hosts, great tuition | The horses were outstanding as was the instruction. The facilities were excellent and I learnt a tremendous amount in a very short period of time. The horses and tuition were very well matched to my requirements but with the right amount of "stretch".


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   9 October 2022

Nicola who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Quinta Do Rol - Fantastic | The riding was fantastic. We were not the most experienced riders but the instructors never made us feel awkward about that. They were enthusiastic, encouraging and had a wealth of knowledge to impart. Our riding really developed during our stay and each lesson was the perfect mix of being challenging and fun. The riding centre itself is incredibly well run and the horses were amazing.

[Abbie from In The Saddle replies: We really appreciate your feedback, thank you. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Quinta do Rol.]


40 reviews    1 2