Reviews
21 reviews   
Quinta do Rol - Portugal
Experience Level

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   6 December 2018

As a repeat customer of Quinta Do Rol, i come back elated with my vastly improved mastery of equitation. The quality of the horses with their phenomenal care headed up by Pedro never cease to impress.
Highly recommended ! Horses heaven, i just wish it was on my back door.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal
Experience Level

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   3 November 2018

Perfectly selected horses to support, encourage and push my boundaries. I was equally supported and encouraged to develop on strengths and weaknesses - instructors sensitive to my abilities and perceptive enough to push me to achieve more and trust in my own riding. I progressed in detail, evolving a much stronger seat, position and ability.
My expectations were met and more.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal
Experience Level

Quinta do Rol

1 star rating   29 October 2018

Not to be recommended. It did not meet my expectations at all.
The two horses that I rode and (many of the other horses that I observed) were very stiff and could hardly even walk and trot and the canter was like trying to ride a crippled horse. Which was a horrible experience. The instruction was very limited, the first 20 minutes consisted of the two instructors who were in the arena just talking in their own language to each other. I was merely just told to do things rather than having anything explained. I had provided my riding experience and knowledge prior to arriving at the centre which was that I had ridden to FEI level and am a grand prix dressage judge and a coach but the horses I was expected to ride were very basic riding school horses that were very stiff and seemed to have unsoundness issues. I tried to discuss with the senior instructor about the fact that the horses were very stiff and could hardly move forward to which he chased the horse around the arena with a whip just making him rush around. I attempted to explain that fast is not active and has nothing to do with classical dressage. The lesson was a complete waste of time and I felt for the horse being forced to work when he felt so uncomfortable in his way of going. I also on more that one occasion observed the instructor hitting the forearm of one of the horses which made a loud crack while the rider was attempting to do passage, the horse appeared stressed and was a welfare issue as the episode went on around and around the arena for a long time. This was commented on by other riders who also observed the episode. Clearly a welfare issue, horses should not be forced to perform like that while being hit constantly in the manner in which this occurred. For any rider who like myself who were hoping to ride the higher movements on well trained supple horses, this place is not recommended. [In The Saddle - we are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Quinta do Rol. We have visited twice and have very positive feedback from many experienced riders who enjoy riding these highly trained and very well cared for horses.]


Quinta do Rol - Portugal
Experience Level

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   24 October 2018

Having been before, I found that I was really pushed to build on my previous experience. Encouraged to progress technically, whilst fine tuning my riding position.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal
Experience Level

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   22 October 2018

The horses at Quinta do Rol were magnificent! I'd never ridden such fine horses and appreciated being able to ride a variety of them! The entire equestrian facility was immaculate, the instruction from Pedro and Gancalo was superb, the quality of the tack was outstanding, the indoor and outdoor riding rings were well maintained and spacious and the viewing gallery an added bonus! The entire staff that worked at the equestrian facility was friendly, hard working and efficient in their respective roles. The entire experience was enjoyable and made me a better rider.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal
Experience Level

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   17 October 2018

Both instructors were very capable and the horses were well matched to every riders ability. Horses, tack and the entire facility were very well cared for and always clean. All staff made us feel very welcome.
The lessons were very helpful to improve our riding both in what we wanted to improve and in improving issues we were less aware of.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal
Experience Level

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   6 June 2018

The standard of teaching and horses was amazing and made the holiday. Exceeded my expectations.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal
Experience Level

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   3 April 2018

Exceeded my expectations. Very good level of tuition from both the junior trainer (Goncales) and the chief trainer (Pedro)
Lovely well schooled horses and plenty of opportunity to work on the things that I requested and all in a lovely friendly atmosphere.
I will definitely return


Quinta do Rol - Portugal
Experience Level

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   3 April 2018

This is dressage training of the highest standard, riding great horses who are training you almost as much as Pedro and Gonzales, the gentlemen who actually tell you what to do. Or try to do. Nearly all of our fellow riders were way ahead of us in terms of expertise, but this made no difference - all anyone wanted was for us to do our best, and get better.

Everything about Quinta is first class - Rita, the owner/manager and force of nature behind the estancia only does things full tilt, with amazing attention to detail. So the Centro de Hipico mirrors the facilities you will see at the national Portuguese riding school, with an amazing string of beautifully schooled, pedigree Lusitanos that, astonishingly, they allow guests to ride.

I’m not surprised more than half the guests were on second or third visits. The training is real - with two hour-long sessions every day I haven’t worked so hard since my teens - and it was worth every sweaty minute.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal
Experience Level

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   26 March 2018

The riding here is just exceptional and the horses divine, you are given horses to match your riding ability and pushed to become a better rider. I had two lessons a day and my position improved so much over the time I was at Quinta Do Rol. You can tell the horses are loved and cared for well and all the staff take pride in the smallest of details. In your lessons you start off being warmed up by Gonzalez and he helps you get the horses relaxed and moving forward, then onto Pedro for the canter work and some of the more challenging moves. The instructors have the perfect balance challenging you, whilst also making it fun to learn.

When you are not riding the Riders Lounge is perfect to watch others learn and you can relax in comfort with a glass of something cold. The pool is a wonderful place to unwind, with sun lounges and sofas for relaxing


Quinta do Rol - Portugal
Experience Level

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   23 January 2018

Pedro the chief d'equip has a wonderful manner, that immediately puts you at ease. He easily assess your riding ability and expertly chooses horses for you. Horses that will aid you in specific areas of weakness and highlight your strengths.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal
Experience Level

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   20 November 2017

Exceptionally well cared for horses, very well schooled.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal
Experience Level

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   24 October 2017

Very nice and intensive lessons. Really fantastic and beautiful horses. It is important to have full control of the English terms for riding, because the teachers speak with Portuguese accent and misunderstandings can arise - even when it's only a letter in the pronunciation.
If you do not have the experience of riding Lusitanos, then you may feel that you can not ride it at all after the first lesson, but do not worry about it, you will leave as a better rider.
The horse is tacked and ready for the lesson (at the agreed time) and you do not have to tack, wash or brush your horse yourself. Just ride and enjoy it. Super nice indoor riding hall and covered outdoor arena (20x60) are soon done.

(ITS NOTE: We understand that the new outdoor arena will be completed in 2018).

The lessons takes place with a headset on. It usually worked very well.
Instructors: The warm up takes place with the instruction from a younger but very pleasant instructor in the first half hour after which Pedro takes over. So you ride two at a time in the arena.
Lessons is always done indoors (suppose that it will also be outdoors when the covered arena is completed)

Important! You get much more out of the lessons if you have the opportunity to be filmed. It's works enough with the mobile phone.

For next time - for there will be a next time - I will book two hours lessons a day.

(ITS NOTE: We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Quinta do Rol. Thank you for your detailed comments.)


Quinta do Rol - Portugal
Experience Level

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   23 October 2017

Two amazing and skilled instructors! They were good at challenging one and explaining the different exercises and how to do the exercises better.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal
Experience Level

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   15 August 2017

I felt like I stepped into an Olympic Equestrian centre. Pedro and Gonzales my two instructors where phenomenal, along with the highly trained horses. I just didn't want to leave!


Quinta do Rol - Portugal
Experience Level

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   2 June 2017

The horses were in beautiful condition, very well metained, certainly not a average riding school horse. They are only allowed to be ridden once a day with frequent schooling sessions from the professionals to keep them fresh, ready and willing to work. They are not machines, you have to ride, some are quite young, but very well schooled and with the help of Gonzales and Pedro, you find your riding improving to a level that before you know it you are performing high level movements you never dreamt you were able to do. An amazing learning opportunity and experience!


Quinta do Rol - Portugal
Experience Level

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   19 May 2017

The horses and tuition exceeded all of our expectations. The instructor Pedro was patience and very experienced and dealt with our group of varying dressage experience with patience and understanding.

The thrill of us experiencing riding such talented responsive horses with such advanced movements was amazing.

The individual tuition suited us all.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal
Experience Level

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   19 May 2017

This was an amazing experience and although we were only there for 4 days the intensive training really made a difference to my riding in this limited time. The standard of the training of the horses was exceptional with almost every horse being capable of advanced movements.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal
Experience Level

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   10 May 2017

Very well trained horses, all the equipement is available and in good condition
The stables were amazing, very well managed and cleaned - almost cleaner than a surgery block.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal
Experience Level

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   18 April 2017

It is a fantastic place. The horses are so well looked after in terms of feeding, care and training.
Pedro is a great teacher, with lots of knowledge and a sense for both animals and humans.
Gonzales is young, but makes it so good when teaching for the warm up.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal
Experience Level

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   18 April 2017

Skilled horses, skilled intructors, lovely environment for both horses and humans.


21 reviews