Reviews
26 reviews   
Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   26 October 2019

Ignacio (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Quinta do Rol - the heartland of the Lusitano horse | In the Saddle recommended to us Quinta do Rol listening to our expectations. Well they were all surpassed! This is a place to bond with most noble horses, face your mistakes and improve your riding under the guide of top trainer Pedro Texeira.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   25 October 2019

Ruth who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Excellent tuition | I was impressed with the the care that the instructors gave to our lessons and the horses we were given. I felt I made more progress than on previous dressage holidays.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   5 October 2019

Sarah who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Exceptional riding holiday! | The instructors at Quinta do Rol really take care and anticipate your evolution as a rider during your time at the centre. My learning and progression during my time exceeded anything I could have imagined! The pairing of horses is spot on.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   5 October 2019

Lisa (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Dressage riding I could only ever dream of! | The horses and instructors were fabulous. Riding superbly trained, fit and willing Lusitano stallions was an amazing experience. Whilst beautifully trained, they also demanded correct and confident riding to get the best out of them - they exceeded my expectations in every way. They were in tip top condition and obviously very well looked after and loved.

The chief instructor, Pedro, was excellent - he was positive, patient, encouraging and keen to give me new tools to take back home and use when working with my own horse. He carefully chose different horses for me to ride, that would benefit my learning experience and also made sure my holiday ended on a high. All the staff were friendly and professional, calm and well organised. The facilities were also outstanding.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   27 September 2019

Lesley who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Fab horses. | Good informative and fun lessons.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   27 September 2019

Julie (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Paradise | The horses are wonderful , very well cared for and beautifully schooled.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   11 September 2019

William who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Dressage teaching in Portugal | Beautifully cared for horses, carefully matched to our ability and also allowing us some challenge within safe boundaries which facilitated learning.
Stables immaculate and ménage excellently cared for.
Well organised , efficient and fun.
More then matched our expectations


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   15 August 2019

Julie who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Quinta do Rol - Fantastico | Excellent


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   15 August 2019

Gillian who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. The instructors, staff and owner of Quinta do Rol could not have been more helpful, my friends and me had a ball | Yes all the boxes were ticked


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   15 August 2019

Phillippa who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Quinta do Rol | Excellent


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   1 August 2019

Anna Abigail (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Great place, with incredibly nice, well-groomed horses and talented staff. Already ready for one more trip! 🙂


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   24 June 2019

Bronwen (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Six days of magic! | The first lesson was challenging, because the horses and riding style is different from the German style I am more familiar with. However, the horses were patient with my mistakes and tried so hard to interpret my requests. By the third lesson it all clicked into place and it was the most amazing holiday I have ever had. I really recommend taking two lessons a day, and although some days, my body didn't feel up to the challenge, the rate of improvement was worth every ache and pain! By the last ride, I was accomplishing moves I had only ever dreamed of, and with enough confidence I believe I now know the 'feel' to find on my own horse.

There are inevitable 'lost in translation' moments, but the instructors were amazing and again, after a couple of lessons, my ear was better tuned in to the words and less mistakes were made. 🙂 All three instructors - Pedro, Carlos and João, brought different personality styles to the lessons and I learned from each of them. There is definitely a high level of energy and animation from the instructors, and I can understand why some participants struggled with that. However, the intent is so good and with such a drive for you to improve as a rider, that I wasn't bothered by the volume and passion. There was also an amazing amount of fun and laughter. I can't remember when I laughed as much as I did with these wonderful people.

All the horses I rode were incredible. Some were more complex to ride than others, but of course, that simply helped me to improve my sensitivity and skills. I did feel that each horse I was paired with was a good match for my ability and I never felt over-faced. The horses know their jobs and are excellent teachers. Considering they have different riders at different levels all the time, I was impressed with their kindness and willingness to try.

If you have the option to try working equitation, I strongly recommend it. It gives you an opportunity to put your dressage skills to practice in a very different environment, sometimes at speed. I had 2 WE sessions, and after each one, it felt like I had champagne sizzling through my veins and I had the biggest smile on my face.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   2 June 2019

Åsa (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fantastic horses, great teaching. | Absolutely lovely horses, beautifully cared for. Tuition is great too, the instructors really want you to improve. Their english is sometimes tricky to understand (did he say "now canter" or "no canter"???) and yes, sometimes they shout, but it's all good humoured. Take some time to chat to them, and all will be well! The viewing gallery is great and adds alot. Great school, it was 30C outside but still ok to ride in there.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   1 June 2019

Kate B who has been on 15 In The Saddle rides. A brilliant (and exhausting) week! | I was paired very well with horses that matched the type of horses i like and were suitable for my ability.

I learnt so much on this holiday working on the dressage movements i wanted to improve and improving my seat etc. They also guided me to had a go at several very difficult high level dressage moves that i never dreamed i would perform, including spanish walk, piaffe and passage, and canter pirouette! It was exhausting physically and mentally but brilliant, I learned loads and had so much fun.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   19 May 2019

Julie (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fabulous holiday - amazing horses; stunning location; beautiful farm, vineyard and accommodation; and first class hospitality. | Excellent


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   19 May 2019

Tpl (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Amazing experience | The instructor is very knowledgeable on how each horse should be ridden. They are immaculately schooled and very willing to please. I'd like to take every horse home with me as all have amazing characters


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   12 May 2019

Teresa who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Wonderfully trained Lusitanos | Excellent


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   25 April 2019

Lucky (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Excellent opportunity to ride wonderful Lusitano Stallions | Great trip and riding experience, the staff was wonderful & helpful and very pleasant ! The food and wine were excellent . I'd love to go back, and wish it wasn't so far.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   7 April 2019

Ryla Beth (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) High standards and nothing was too much trouble. | The horses at Quinta do Rol are very classy and are very highly trained. Most of them are stallions but they were calm and relaxed even when being ridden in the arena with another stallion. Don’t think you’ll get on these horses and immediately become the next dressage world champion. This is a training establishment and if you put the work in you’ll soon be performing high level dressage moves. The two instructors are knowledgeable and experienced and good humoured. Every day there is a lot of thought put into the selection of the horse most suited to enabling your learning goals. If you are looking for a riding holiday to improve your dressage then this will be for you


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

2 star rating   24 March 2019

Julie-Anne who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Boot camp on horseback | The lessons varied from enjoyable through frustrating to miserable.
The instructors were moody, shouted at everyone there like children. When I tried to stop to explain that he was asking me to do something that I had no idea what it was, Pedro screamed at me to keep moving and just try. He told me to “Traverse down the long side” I had no idea what this was and he wouldn’t tell me so I guessed I needed to go sideways across the school. When I did he screamed “why are you doing that!!!!” When I said I don’t know what it is he just kept saying “Traverse down the side”!!!!! He was trying to get me to do flying changes, of which I did a couple then he wanted more and more and more. By this time the horse had had enough and started bucking. No matter what I did he kept shouting and the horse kept bucking in the end I got off. Pedro let out a rant in Portuguese and made me get back on. It was my last lesson and awful.
Both instructors were intimidating they decided the mood of the day and sometimes it was clear they were both in a mood and the clients were on the receiving end of it.
[In The Saddle: we have spoken to you on your return. We understand you had one fabulous lesson on a dun horse and had booked to have a second lesson on this horse, but that it had not gone well for you. We are aware that sometimes the Portuguese instructors can become very excited, they may raise their voice and become animated and some people feel intimidated by this. We are sorry you felt this way and are discussing this with the owners at Quinta da Rol so that they can talk to the instructors].


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   2 March 2019

Monika who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic Experience | It exceeded my expectations, wonderful horses and the best instructor I ever had


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   19 October 2018

NRC who has been on 8 In The Saddle rides. Challenging dressage lessons on beautifully schooled Lusitanos | Having been before, I found that I was really pushed to build on my previous experience. Encouraged to progress technically, whilst fine tuning my riding position.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   19 October 2018

Jan who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Quinta do Rol | Perfectly selected horses to support, encourage and push my boundaries. I was equally supported and encouraged to develop on strengths and weaknesses - instructors sensitive to my abilities and perceptive enough to push me to achieve more and trust in my own riding. I progressed in detail, evolving a much stronger seat, position and ability.
My expectations were met and more.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   13 October 2018

ML in VA (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Top notch experience at Quinta do Rol | The horses at Quinta do Rol were magnificent! I'd never ridden such fine horses and appreciated being able to ride a variety of them! The entire equestrian facility was immaculate, the instruction from Pedro and Gancalo was superb, the quality of the tack was outstanding, the indoor and outdoor riding rings were well maintained and spacious and the viewing gallery an added bonus! The entire staff that worked at the equestrian facility was friendly, hard working and efficient in their respective roles. The entire experience was enjoyable and made me a better rider.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   12 October 2018

Elvet (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Quinta Do Rol | Both instructors were very capable and the horses were well matched to every riders ability. Horses, tack and the entire facility were very well cared for and always clean. All staff made us feel very welcome.
The lessons were very helpful to improve our riding both in what we wanted to improve and in improving issues we were less aware of.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

1 star rating   30 September 2018

cat (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Not to be recommended. It did not meet my expectations at all.
The two horses that I rode and (many of the other horses that I observed) were very stiff and could hardly even walk and trot and the canter was like trying to ride a crippled horse. Which was a horrible experience. The instruction was very limited, the first 20 minutes consisted of the two instructors who were in the arena just talking in their own language to each other. I was merely just told to do things rather than having anything explained. I had provided my riding experience and knowledge prior to arriving at the centre which was that I had ridden to FEI level and am a grand prix dressage judge and a coach but the horses I was expected to ride were very basic riding school horses that were very stiff and seemed to have unsoundness issues. I tried to discuss with the senior instructor about the fact that the horses were very stiff and could hardly move forward to which he chased the horse around the arena with a whip just making him rush around. I attempted to explain that fast is not active and has nothing to do with classical dressage. The lesson was a complete waste of time and I felt for the horse being forced to work when he felt so uncomfortable in his way of going. I also on more that one occasion observed the instructor hitting the forearm of one of the horses which made a loud crack while the rider was attempting to do passage, the horse appeared stressed and was a welfare issue as the episode went on around and around the arena for a long time. This was commented on by other riders who also observed the episode. Clearly a welfare issue, horses should not be forced to perform like that while being hit constantly in the manner in which this occurred. For any rider who like myself who were hoping to ride the higher movements on well trained supple horses, this place is not recommended. [In The Saddle - we are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Quinta do Rol. We have visited twice and have very positive feedback from many experienced riders who enjoy riding these highly trained and very well cared for horses.]


26 reviews