Reviews
20 reviews   
Pyrenean Adventures - Spain
Experience Level

Outlaw Trail

5 star rating   23 October 2018

This was an interesting and enjoyable ride on well cared for fit horses. The terrain dictated the pace but there were enough opportunities for faster riding to make it fun. Some of the down hills on foot were 'interesting' - I trusted my horse following behind me on his four feet much more that I did my own two! There was a nice variety of scenery to enjoy as we climed up through the Spanish Pyrenees, crossed into France, back into Spain and finally wound our way back down to through the lowlands to the Mediterranean coast. All topped off with great food and wines.


Pyrenean Adventures - Spain
Experience Level

Fresh & Saltwater Trail

5 star rating   1 September 2018

Nice to experience well cared horses, got rest, plenty of food and it was the horses that were supposed to be well/taking care of before we riders got food, rest etc, and helpful guide (Nikki)


Pyrenean Adventures - Spain
Experience Level

Fresh & Saltwater Trail

5 star rating   16 August 2018

Amazing views


Pyrenean Adventures - Spain
Experience Level

Fresh & Saltwater Trail

5 star rating   2 July 2018

Riding pace was not what I hoped for because of the varied levels of riding in the group.


Pyrenean Adventures - Spain
Experience Level

Fresh & Saltwater Trail

5 star rating   27 June 2018

Lovely riding through the forests and being abe to stop for lunch and swim.


Pyrenean Adventures - Spain
Experience Level

Outlaw Trail

5 star rating   13 October 2017

The accommodation was excellent, and the food interesting and different.


Pyrenean Adventures - Spain
Experience Level

Herdsmen's Trail (Pyrenees High Mountain)

5 star rating   2 October 2017

Good horses and pace of riding. Unfortunate that the weather meant changing itinerary but was the time of the year for rain.


Pyrenean Adventures - Spain
Experience Level

Fresh & Saltwater Trail

5 star rating   18 September 2017

The horses were beautifully cared for and knew their job well. The pace probably wasn't as fast as I expected (I hunt two days a week) but obviously health & safety was foremost and the riding was very peaceful. The scenery was fabulous and varied.


Pyrenean Adventures - Spain
Experience Level

Fresh & Saltwater Trail

4 star rating   6 September 2017

Unfortunately, I had to get a new horse after the first day because my horse became ill. The one I got after this was super sweet and easy. I probably matched better with my first one as he was more energetic.


Pyrenean Adventures - Spain
Experience Level

Herdsmen's Trail (Pyrenees High Mountain)

5 star rating   5 September 2017

Lots of climbing and downhill walking. It was necessary to be able to walk on steep paths downhill
with the horse for quite some time almost every day. Not many opportunities for trot or gallop, but we went occasionally at a fast pace.


Pyrenean Adventures - Spain
Experience Level

Fresh & Saltwater Trail

4 star rating   4 September 2017

The horse I had was really nice.
Only problem was that its pace did not quite fit with the other horses as we climbed down the mountains.
It has to be said that I felt incredibly safe on the back of this horse.


Pyrenean Adventures - Spain
Experience Level

Fresh & Saltwater Trail

5 star rating   30 August 2017

The horses are well trained and maintained, the tack and saddle were in good condition. All in all it was perfect!


Pyrenean Adventures - Spain
Experience Level

Bandit Trail

4 star rating   14 August 2017

Impressed with the sure-footedness of the horses, but almost half the group (horses) didn't seem to like each other so it made breaks and stops less enjoyable trying to keep them away from biting/kicking each other!


Pyrenean Adventures - Spain
Experience Level

Herdsmen's Trail (Pyrenees High Mountain)

4 star rating   7 August 2017

The riding lived up to my expectations. There were some stretches of tarmacked road to cover but they were thankfully not too long and while this is more of a climb than a very fast ride we did trot and canter, where weather and terrain permitted it. There were plenty of rocky trails, and the views were lovely, especially on the last two days of riding

The horses seemed well fit for the job, and I was given a good little horse that I enjoyed riding. There was only one guide, and being a larger group the last few often couldn’t hear the commands given out at the front (however hard we tried keeping close with our ears open). This was a little frustrating, as they were at time quite important.


Pyrenean Adventures - Spain
Experience Level

Herdsmen's Trail (Pyrenees High Mountain)

5 star rating   3 August 2017

The riding was over very tough terrain in places -steep and rocky paths -and the horses and guide were wonderful in managing it.


Pyrenean Adventures - Spain
Experience Level

Bandit Trail

4 star rating   17 July 2017

I rode a really good horse. The riding was according to the terrain, the conditions were quite varied.


Pyrenean Adventures - Spain
Experience Level

Bandit Trail

5 star rating   26 June 2017

Had expected more riding in cliffs and views. They fixed whatever was broken on the tack.


Pyrenean Adventures - Spain
Experience Level

Herdsmen's Trail (Pyrenees High Mountain)

5 star rating   20 June 2017

Much better than I ever expected. So much fun.


Pyrenean Adventures - Spain
Experience Level

Bandit Trail

2 star rating   12 June 2017

The ride may have changed some since you last rode. I know you had said there was a lot of walking and the booklet description said walking 3 days of the ride, about twice a day. Just note to update the description that everyday we got down and walked the horses, at least 3-4 times each day, often more times. The riding was slower than expected, less trot and canter than I thought. Granted, one person did fall off during a canter and the terrain was mountainous and rocky, so all those factors could have accounted for it. Plus, in my prior rides, the guides have more more engaging, talking to us more, and telling us stories and history of the area and the towns/villages we were in. At least that would have made the ride more interesting especially during the long walking parts. However, the guides (especially the first 3 days) gave little information about the area and the ride. I am not sure if she didn't know much of the history, thus did not offer information? Plus, she seemed to not be familiar with the route, sometimes having to backtrack, etc. On the last day, I finally had to ask the guide to tell us the story about the Famous Bandit, which she did, and it was a great story. But I thought that should have been offered/told to us near the beginning or middle of the ride. Perhaps also, the guides might offer to stop at certain points so we could take some pictures? [In The Saddle - we are sorry to read that there were many more occasions when you had to walk on foot. This should only have been once or at most twice a day. But we have been informed that during this week the cattle were in the pastures and since horses can be easily spooked by loose cattle it was necessary to lead the horses on more occasions. We have also passed on your feedback that the guide could have been more interactive and hopefully they will take this on board]


Pyrenean Adventures - Spain
Experience Level

Fresh & Saltwater Trail

5 star rating   12 June 2017

Thank you to our guide Nacho and the incredible horses for a magical week in the mountains of the Pyrenees. While we thought it would be a fantastic holiday what you delivered was way beyond my expectations: a tenacious, sure-footed, big-hearted and beautiful pura raza española took me safely up and down steep, winding narrow paths, jumped over rocks as if part-goat, waded through rivers, unhesitatingly took to deep waters to swim with me, clip clopped confidently through alleyways in ancient towns and flew fleet of foot across wild plains. Utter heaven. Nacho was an exceptional guide - his compassion, fun and great raconteuring, together with the great hospitality at our hostels and hotels each evening and unbelievable lunches at beautifully set tables that had been conjured into the middle of nowhere by Om made this a holiday of a lifetime. I am already trying to plan another trip. Thank you. Especially to El Bubba!


20 reviews