Reviews
26 reviews   
Provence Trails - France
Experience Level

Luberon and The Camargue

5 star rating   26 October 2018

I rode a lovely little horse called Carmen who was such a professional and gave me safe uncomplicated five days on the trail.
The variety of the scenery from the Alpilles looking over to Les Baux in the evening sunshine to the uniqueness of the Camargue,,actually wading through the marshes is reason enough to go on this holiday. Plenty of forest trails,the rocky garrigue,fascinating apple orchards and flat marshland meant that there was so much to see.
We had some really good gallops especially on the beach where the hard working horses found a speedy fifth gear.


Provence Trails - France
Experience Level

Luberon and The Camargue

5 star rating   15 October 2018

Happy that there was more time in the saddle than I'd expected. Pleased that I was riding fit, particularly as it was quite hot most days. A good variety of scenery and pace. The guide was very knowledgeable about the history of the area.


Provence Trails - France
Experience Level

Luberon and The Camargue

4 star rating   8 October 2018

The riding exceeded my expectations! Enjoyed every moment and felt challenging and rewarding .Huge thanks to Didier and Piero who made the holiday amazing


Provence Trails - France
Experience Level

Luberon and The Camargue

4 star rating   3 October 2018

The riding exceeded my expectations! Enjoyed every moment and felt challenging and rewarding .Huge thanks to Didier and Piero who made the holiday amazing.
[ITS Comment: We are so glad that you enjoyed the riding on your trip.]


Provence Trails - France
Experience Level

Perched Villages

5 star rating   14 September 2018

The guide, Didier, was so nice and cool. Had a great time with the group. One day we got caught up in heavy rain and I enjoyed riding in those conditions. Do it and you will not be disappointed. Horses were great and well trained.


Provence Trails - France
Experience Level

Lavender Ride

4 star rating   6 August 2018

Relaxed riding on a lovely straightforward horse, who was also easy to care for. Varied scenery, nothing too extreme for very long. The lavender was striking, and worth riding in the hot conditions.


Provence Trails - France
Experience Level

Luberon and The Camargue

5 star rating   22 June 2018

Good mix of walk, trot and canter as the terrain permitted.
The riding matched the description given and so my expectations.


Provence Trails - France
Experience Level

Luberon and The Camargue

4 star rating   18 June 2018

Horses were nice but equipment could have been better. I had to change saddle during the ride since the girth connection to the saddle (previously repaired) had worn off again and was hanging by threads.


Provence Trails - France
Experience Level

Luberon and The Camargue

4 star rating   18 June 2018

Very good horses. Calm and forward going. Equipment worked well, but some of it was old and not clean. Perhaps spend some more effort in cleaning/washing the horses.


Provence Trails - France
Experience Level

Luberon and The Camargue

5 star rating   18 June 2018

We moved from place to place and in general the accommodation were satisfying. The first and last night we stayed in the same place. The hospitality was excellent and so was the food. this place would need an upgrading at some point. The starting point gives a first impression and we did not look forward to the last night. As a start, simple things could be done which doesn’t cost anything, e.g. cut the trees, clean the garden/deckchairs, flowers on the table.


Provence Trails - France
Experience Level

Luberon and The Camargue

5 star rating   23 May 2018

I had a wonderful horse, steady and true. The element of trust was established with both of us. Very lucky and happy to have had this occur.


Provence Trails - France
Experience Level

Luberon and The Camargue

4 star rating   23 May 2018

Wonderful horses and amazing, well-organized route, but at times the pace could have been varied.


Provence Trails - France
Experience Level

Luberon and The Camargue

2 star rating   10 May 2018

A trail as advertised and obviously slow over the terrain.
The horrendous mosquitoes in the Camargue should have been brought to our attention before the ride.

The beach "gallop" was disappointingly short, and a long boring ride back to the hotel. However the first three days were very enjoyable with fantastic views.


Provence Trails - France
Experience Level

Luberon and The Camargue

5 star rating   6 November 2017

Really enjoyed the riding; the horses were lovely and really looked after me. On some days it would have been nicer to have some more trots/canters but I understand the terrain didn't always allow this. The route we took was beautiful!


Provence Trails - France
Experience Level

Luberon to Upper Provence

5 star rating   20 September 2017

I would like more canter an trot!


Provence Trails - France
Experience Level

Luberon to Upper Provence

5 star rating   14 September 2017

Possibly a few more trots/ canters in first week.


Provence Trails - France
Experience Level

Perched Villages

4 star rating   7 September 2017

The terrain was a bit challenging because of all the torns and bushes. I would recommend a long light sweater or similar to cover the arms from scratches. Was hoping for a little more speed, but again terrain too challenging. Nice views from the mountains and very beautiful places to stay for the night. Very good route from day 3 and to the end of the holiday. Guides were very helpful and nice. They care much about both the group and make sure the horses are doing well at all time.


Provence Trails - France
Experience Level

Perched Villages

5 star rating   16 August 2017

The horses were great - well suited to their riders and forward yet responsive. They work hard and are very fit, but never gave the impression they were jaded or bored.

Some of the tack was a little tired and we were short of saddle bags, but little niggles only in a fabulous trip.

A lot of the ride was slow due to the terrain, but that was specified in the trip description so I was happy with this.


Provence Trails - France
Experience Level

Perched Villages

5 star rating   14 August 2017

Lovely mix of horses (and riders) in the group - all well matched by our guide Didier Mejard. Mixture of conventional tack and trail riding/western - everyone learned some new skills of knot tying or girth lacing !

We were all amazed at just how fit and tough the horses were - it was very hot throughout - over 40C on one day - 6hrs plus in the saddle over 25km or so with a mix of paces - my lovely mare Carmen hardly breaking into a sweat !!!

Got re-routed on one day because of the exceptional fire risk in the Grand Luberon - but Didier figured out a good alternative which meant trucking the horses back to Cap Rando one night and starting from there the next day - meant we got to ride down/in the Durance river - cool at last!


Provence Trails - France
Experience Level

Luberon and The Camargue

5 star rating   7 August 2017

We rode for many hours each day through varied and beautiful countryside, mountains, marshlands and beach. Due to the trails and hills on the first few days, there is more walking than at the beach, however, we still found many places to trot and canter. I was never bored and enjoyed every minute of the riding. I am extremely fit, but I would say that due to the heat, the riding still required a fair amount of stamina.


Provence Trails - France
Experience Level

Perched Villages

5 star rating   31 July 2017

The horses are very good and social. They fit for good for experienced and less experienced riders.
At the beginning of your travel, they will give you a horse which you choose and which one you described.


Provence Trails - France
Experience Level

Luberon and The Camargue

5 star rating   30 May 2017

Fantastic horses, surefooted in the mountains and across rivers and
fantastic canters on the beaches.


Provence Trails - France
Experience Level

Luberon and The Camargue

4 star rating   24 April 2017

My horse was a good horse for riding but you had to be a confident rider. He bucks to go on a gallop and is very fast and spooked by little things.

Because of the group (2 less experienced riders) we didn't have the beach gallops. Not many gallops at all. On average once a day and they were just a few meters, not long. That is a pity.


Provence Trails - France
Experience Level

Luberon and The Camargue

4 star rating   19 April 2017

Two horses were really good, but the first saddle was very uncomfortable .


Provence Trails - France
Experience Level

Wine Tour

5 star rating   8 November 2016

As a man, a wider horse would have been my preference.


Provence Trails - France
Experience Level

Luberon and The Camargue

5 star rating   30 November -0001

Lovely fit Arabic horses, a rich variety of different trials, amazing scenery (the caves), riding through different small villages and cities.


26 reviews