Reviews
17 reviews   
Provence Trails - France

Luberon and The Camargue

5 star rating   19 October 2019

It exceeded my expectations! The group was of mixed ability, ranging from people who own their own horses and ride everyday, to less frequent riders such as myself who only ride occasionally, and despite this, everyone commented that the riding was perfect for them, which is really hard to achieve! A good mix of mostly walk, trot, and the occasional canter (galloping on the beach past the flamingos in the Camargue was the best moment of the holiday for me!) Scenery was incredible. The horses were superb and despite varying terrain you never felt worried on them at all. Getting involved with the grooming and tacking up I loved as well, but with people always on hand to help if needed. By the end of the holiday I put the bridle and saddle on for the first time by myself! I already miss my horse Carmen.


Provence Trails - France

Luberon and The Camargue

5 star rating   27 September 2019

Riding was amazing, but I could have done with a little smoother horse as mine was a little small, almost a pony and tended to have a choppy gait to him. Also he tended to be a typical pony, hard headed and stubborn. He was a Camargue horse so I did appreciate getting to ride a horse from the region I have read about and have had a life long dream to see. I had a concern that the horses didn't seem to get enough water over the course of the days journey and it was quite hot in some spots.


Provence Trails - France

Luberon and The Camargue

5 star rating   27 September 2019

The riding was all I expected it to be, but I would have liked to have seen a better quality of tack and clean. Also the horses were extremely good and very willing but I felt they could have been cared for better. The riding was amazing and the scenery spectacular at times. We were disappointed that we were unable to go on the ferry to the Little Camargue, apparently the ferry was broken.


Provence Trails - France

Luberon and The Camargue

2 star rating   21 September 2019

There was a significant amount of road work (minor lanes) on the first day. With temperatures in the 30s the tarmac reflected the heat. The gallops in the Camargue were great fun and the horses, as ever, generous of spirit. In the mountains they took me to places I could not walk to.

The horses are in good condition on a diet of hay and grass (surprisingly no hard feed). Over winter they get four months holiday in the Jura as a herd.


Provence Trails - France

Luberon and The Camargue

4 star rating   14 September 2019

I really enjoyed the trip. In particular the riding through the mountains was beautiful and really interesting terrain to ride through. I enjoyed the mountains more than the Camargue, I was a little dissapointed with the Camargue, as were some others. Perhaps it was the time of year.

Regarding the riding - I do need to point out that different members of the group booked with other 3rd party companies or direct with the operator, and I would say that In the Saddle had this down as a lower ability ride than other companies and indeed the operator. This was fine for me as I am very keen to improve my riding, but it was more challenging than I expected and I think the range of abilities in the group caused some friction (either rightly or wrongly) in the group. I should point out I was not the least able there. I think/hope I held my own! But you should know that on the owners website this trip is rated 3 out of 3 in terms of ability and that you should be happy at walk, trot, canter and gallop - which is why some members who'd booked directly probably expected a faster ride. On your site it's down as intermediate "Has had a number of lessons and is reasonably confident on a horse at walk, trot and canter." and is only level 2 of 4, so quite different.
Hannah from In The Saddle comments: In order to join this ride you have to be capable of walk, trot and canter out in the open on a well behaved horse. More experienced riders are obviously welcome to join this ride too, but novice riders who arent capable of this description arent suited.


Provence Trails - France

Luberon and The Camargue

5 star rating   18 May 2019

Excellent


Provence Trails - France

Luberon and The Camargue

5 star rating   20 April 2019

The riding was excellent. It was mostly at a gentle pace (walking) but with enough trotting and cantering. There was some fast cantering/galloping on the beach. It definitely met my expectations.


Provence Trails - France

Luberon and The Camargue

5 star rating   13 April 2019

Excellent


Provence Trails - France

Luberon and The Camargue

5 star rating   20 October 2018

I rode a lovely little horse called Carmen who was such a professional and gave me safe uncomplicated five days on the trail.
The variety of the scenery from the Alpilles looking over to Les Baux in the evening sunshine to the uniqueness of the Camargue,,actually wading through the marshes is reason enough to go on this holiday. Plenty of forest trails,the rocky garrigue,fascinating apple orchards and flat marshland meant that there was so much to see.
We had some really good gallops especially on the beach where the hard working horses found a speedy fifth gear.


Provence Trails - France

Luberon and The Camargue

5 star rating   22 September 2018

Happy that there was more time in the saddle than I'd expected. Pleased that I was riding fit, particularly as it was quite hot most days. A good variety of scenery and pace. The guide was very knowledgeable about the history of the area.


Provence Trails - France

Perched Villages

5 star rating   11 August 2018

The guide, Didier, was so nice and cool. Had a great time with the group. One day we got caught up in heavy rain and I enjoyed riding in those conditions. Do it and you will not be disappointed. Horses were great and well trained.


Provence Trails - France

Lavender Ride

5 star rating   21 July 2018

Excellent


Provence Trails - France

Luberon and The Camargue

5 star rating   16 June 2018

Good mix of walk, trot and canter as the terrain permitted.
The riding matched the description given and so my expectations.


Provence Trails - France

Luberon and The Camargue

5 star rating   9 June 2018

We moved from place to place and in general the accommodation were satisfying. The first and last night we stayed in the same place. The hospitality was excellent and so was the food. this place would need an upgrading at some point. The starting point gives a first impression and we did not look forward to the last night. As a start, simple things could be done which doesn’t cost anything, e.g. cut the trees, clean the garden/deckchairs, flowers on the table.


Provence Trails - France

Luberon and The Camargue

5 star rating   9 June 2018

Lovely fit Arabic horses, a rich variety of different trials, amazing scenery (the caves), riding through different small villages and cities.


Provence Trails - France

Luberon and The Camargue

5 star rating   19 May 2018

I had a wonderful horse, steady and true. The element of trust was established with both of us. Very lucky and happy to have had this occur.


Provence Trails - France

Luberon and The Camargue

2 star rating   5 May 2018

A trail as advertised and obviously slow over the terrain.
The horrendous mosquitoes in the Camargue should have been brought to our attention before the ride.

The beach "gallop" was disappointingly short, and a long boring ride back to the hotel. However the first three days were very enjoyable with fantastic views.


17 reviews