Reviews
12 reviews   
Perol Chico - Peru
Experience Level

The Sacred Valley Ride

5 star rating   22 May 2019

Far and beyond expectations. We all wept when we had to leave.


Perol Chico - Peru
Experience Level

The Sacred Valley Ride

5 star rating   22 May 2019

Excellent


Perol Chico - Peru
Experience Level

The Sacred Valley Ride

5 star rating   22 May 2019

Horses were amazing. Very well looked after. Eddy is an amazing horseman who knows and loves his horses. Riding was an incredible experience.


Perol Chico - Peru
Experience Level

The Sacred Valley Ride

5 star rating   22 May 2019

The riding was brilliant, the horses were in beautiful condition and are also Eddy's priority and pride and joy. There are very few words to describe how brilliant this ride is and how lovely the food is and Eddy, Maria and the boys who were there to peel us off our horses at lunch time and again at the end of the day.


Perol Chico - Peru
Experience Level

The Sacred Valley Ride

5 star rating   3 October 2018

On our first day at Perol Chico I was very pleased to find how important his horses' welfare was to Eddie. He was clearly passionate about how they were ridden and managed by the clients and I thoroughly approve of this. I would be very unhappy to be on a holiday where the horses didn't really matter, were just tools for earning money! The horses were incredible at the job they were asked to do. They were spirited and forward going - looked a bit challenging on day 1 but actually very safe and fun. They were all in good and fit physical shape and well cared for throughout each day by the grooms - well fed at lunchtime for example. One of the horses was lame on Day 2 and was taken back to the ranch and the client given a new ride. I would hate to see unsound horses having to keep going for the sake of convenience.

The briefings were thorough and the ride leaders and grooms excellent. I felt safe and prepared throughout.

Parting from my lovely Chachani at the end was emotional.

I really enjoyed the experience of learning to ride in the unfamiliar tack and in the classical style. It took us all a couple of days to master the Paso Llano but reckon we got it taped by the end of the trip - have a video to prove it! I'm sure it will enhance my overall riding now I'm back home.

(ITS NOTE: Thank you very much for your detailled comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed riding Eddy's fabulous horses and experiencing Peruvian-style riding).


Perol Chico - Peru
Experience Level

The Sacred Valley Ride

5 star rating   3 October 2018

The horses, company and riding far exceeded my expectations. The scenery was incredible as was the hospitality.


Perol Chico - Peru
Experience Level

The Sacred Valley Ride

5 star rating   3 October 2018

Excellent


Perol Chico - Peru
Experience Level

The Sacred Valley Ride

5 star rating   15 August 2018

The Peruvian Paso horses were such a pleasure to ride! Very forward going, but comfortable and fun to ride. The terrain was varied and included some very challenging climbs and descents.


Perol Chico - Peru
Experience Level

The Sacred Valley Ride

5 star rating   25 July 2018

I do realise the high altitude make fast pace riding unfeasible. The Peruvian Paso with its unique gaits are incredible smooth.


Perol Chico - Peru
Experience Level

The Sacred Valley Ride

5 star rating   20 May 2018

The riding was challenging with the steep terrain you did need to be fit. It was all I had expected so was well prepared. It excided my expectations.


Perol Chico - Peru
Experience Level

The Sacred Valley Ride

5 star rating   25 April 2018

The riding was as described in the details received.... there are quite a few tough climbs up the mountain so you must be balanced and confident in the saddle. Due to this the pace is generally slow with trots up the hills and plenty of opportunities for Paso llano. We had a few canters but not many - so not a fast riding trip if that’s what you’re after.

The horses were all forward going - some more spirited than others but Eddie is good at matching horses to riders. He knows his horses well and will match accordingly.


Perol Chico - Peru
Experience Level

The Sacred Valley Ride

5 star rating   14 September 2017

Our group was 6 experienced riders, which gave the guides the freedom to really ride-out. We changed pace quickly and often, galloping steeply uphill or across open steppes, but also careful, slow climbs and descents. I scored the "overall horse and tack" with a satisfactory because although everything was almost perfect, we did have a tack incident that could have been avoided. But Eddy reacted well and I'm sure he won't let it happen again. The Peruvian saddles and bridles were a joy to use. In combination with the horses' paso llano gait, you couldn't ask for a smoother, ground covering ride. All the horses were perfect: very responsive and fantastically fit, with even more energy on the last day than on the first. And beautiful!
The "humans" were also great. Eddy was a perfect guide and friend, Maria is unique - full of warmth and a fantastic cook, Fernando was our in-the-saddle groom - always helpful and watchful, Willy was our on-the-ground groom - quick to help with anything horse-related and always with a smile. Pompello was our special driver, getting us back and forth to the horses, but also a very pleasant companion/chauffeur on other outings.


12 reviews