Reviews
15 reviews   
Old Mulberry - Croatia
Experience Level

Fixed Programme

5 star rating   31 August 2019

I think everyone on the trip would agree that the riding was epic. There was a good variety of trails from technical, uneven, twisting forest trails to open plains. There were many long canters and plenty of fast gallops.
The guide was a fantastic rider. He knew the terrain so well and knew exactly what each horse could do. He was very good a going up and down the group and spending time with each of us so he knew how we were doing to enable him to pitch the ride just right.


Old Mulberry - Croatia
Experience Level

Fixed Programme

4 star rating   31 August 2019

This was a fast and furious riding holiday. The horses were very fit, if not a little excited on the first day!
Long canters, fast cornering, through wooded areas, fields and open spaces, defiantly not for the faint hearted!


Old Mulberry - Croatia
Experience Level

Fixed Programme

5 star rating   31 August 2019

This has been my most enjoyable riding holiday so far. Loved rverything about it. Hosts welcoming. Food plentiful and excellent. Guide knowledgeable and nothing was too much trouble.


Old Mulberry - Croatia
Experience Level

Fixed Programme

5 star rating   31 August 2019

the riding was more exciting than what I suppose , with very large beutiful canters and galop!

Only sometimes a little bit stressful when we were in the middle of the forests


Old Mulberry - Croatia
Experience Level

Fixed Programme

5 star rating   31 August 2019

The riding was incredible, very faced paced, not for the faint hearted. It was the most amazing terrain (not at all as expected it was so green and lush) and the place was just beautiful. I loved every second of it. The guide Saffi was soooo much fun and we had a great time, I swapped horses with him and he let me carry on riding the lead horse which was great, I had such an amazing time, I really didn't want it to end although my body was saying otherwise :). My best riding holiday yet!!


Old Mulberry - Croatia
Experience Level

Fixed Programme

5 star rating   17 August 2019

This is a truly relaxing but at the same time challenging riding holiday. I have been on many and varied riding holidays but it would be difficult to beat the combination of beautiful remote countryside, enthusiastic well cared for horses and ever changing trails offered by the Stari Dud ranch. Another plus for me was that although it is a center based holiday with the comforts of home every evening, there are two nights when the horses are left where the ride finishes that day and picked up again to continue on different trails in the morning - making it more like a trekking type ride.

A riding holiday well worth trying and particularly suited to experienced riders with plenty of fast riding possible.


Old Mulberry - Croatia
Experience Level

Flexible Programme

5 star rating   16 August 2019

There was plenty of variety in the riding, several long canters and at least one fantastic flat out gallop each day, broken up with beautiful walks through trails and forest. The tack was comfortable and safe, and the horses' well being was clearly cared for. Every horse was well trained and solid both on the ground and while riding, but with enough variety in equine personalities and styles that everyone in our group found a horse that they "fell in love" with.


Old Mulberry - Croatia
Experience Level

Fixed Programme

4 star rating   13 July 2019

I loved my horse! Phil changed after the first day for a horse with a ‘bigger engine’ and was very happy. My saddle was hard but was given a sheepskin which was great. The tack was all good although some of the bits looked as though they hadn’t been cleaned in ages so were a bit on the rusty side..


Old Mulberry - Croatia
Experience Level

Fixed Programme

4 star rating   29 June 2019

The riding was fantastic... our guide Saphi was just the right amount of crazy while keeping everyone safe . It took me back to riding my ponies when I was a kid fun fast riding over miles of unspoilt countryside . I don’t think I have laughed so much on a riding holiday . My horse Junior was exactly what I had asked for small fast and fun I loved him . Despite the heatwave we rode in the horses were all happy fit and up for a gallop .
They all appeared happy and well cared for and knew their jobs and the whole group agreed all horses were well matched . It was an amazing experience on the last day when two people weren’t riding that their horses came loose with us back home as a herd . Saphi the guide clearly has a real affinity with the horses which was lovely to see.
This is excellent holiday for someone wanting some fun riding and escape the constraints of UK riding !


Old Mulberry - Croatia
Experience Level

Fixed Programme

5 star rating   15 June 2019

I like rides that have some fast sections, so this one really suited me. I also like a variety of terrain, and this one has plenty of riding over beautiful grassy plains as well as through lovely forests, where the filtered light enabled us to get out of the sun.


Old Mulberry - Croatia
Experience Level

Fixed Programme

5 star rating   15 June 2019

Excellent


Old Mulberry - Croatia
Experience Level

Fixed Programme

5 star rating   1 June 2019

It was a little muddier than I expected, due to the uncharacteristic heavy rainfall...I hadn’t packed strong enough waterproofs to cope with the torrential rain.
As a result of the wet ground, we didn’t canter as much as they would normally as some of the other guests weren’t happy cantering on the mud. There was one day when the rain was too heavy for the other guests however thankfully the guide still agreed to take me out on that day’s leg, this was probably my favourite day as we cantered and trotted most of the way as I’m not bothered by slippery mud.

My horse was an absolute sweetheart, only young at 4 years old but so comfy with a lovely temperament and fast.


Old Mulberry - Croatia
Experience Level

Fixed Programme

4 star rating   4 May 2019

Riding was exciting - up hill and down dale, fast paced with a fun guide. Not for the faint-hearted! If you were only used to a manege, this would be one hell of a surprise!. Some long canters over very rough ground. Hardly a gate all week, and about 20 foot of tarmac. Indeed most horses are unshod. You don't cover as much ground as in some hols - I reckon we did about 100km in 5 days - but this is partly cos some terrain is steep. But there were always a good lot of canters each day. Croatia is very empty so there's acres of forest and hillside to ride in, and the horse have turnout in a field so big you couldn't see where it ended.
There was a generous hospitable atmosphere with drinks before meal at the estate being free, wine with dinner etc. The food is Eastern european rather than Mediterranean, so don't expect sophistication, or spices, and vegetarians don't have the best time.
Overall this holiday was good fun, and excellent value for money.


Old Mulberry - Croatia
Experience Level

Fixed Programme

4 star rating   4 May 2019

Much bolder than we'd do in England: cantering over really boggy land with mud in your face and clothes; galloping up steep hills - well, I guess a bit like hunting (which I've never done). Quite thrilling in places.
We'd have done more if some in the group had not been so cautious, but it was well-adapted to suit us all - as long as you don't mind staying in line.


Old Mulberry - Croatia
Experience Level

Flexible Programme

5 star rating   4 May 2019

The terrain was difficult due to being very wet but the guides were able to vary the pace and find opportunities for long, fast canters. The horses clearly enjoyed their work and were well matched to their riders.


15 reviews