Reviews
979 reviews    1 2 3 31
Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   17 May 2024

Suzanne (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Horse Riding Safari | There is a wide variety of horses available for all standards of riding.
For the first 2 days the lodge was at full capacity and the available horses was limited
They did try and match me with a more suitable horse at this time
The horse guides are both excellent and the guide hands were very amenable and competent as well as helpful


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

The Devetaki Plateau

5 star rating   11 May 2024

Céleste (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Truly amazing | If you want to be treated like royalty, this is the tour to book along with Kingdom of the Thracians! The guides and supporting staff have truly exceptional service - I wasn't even allowed to carry my own luggage! The food is sublime. Whether it be lunch or dinner, a hot meal is always served!

You can expect to have lunch with a table while the horses graze beside you. The staff were all entertaining and easy to talk to. Unfortunately due to the wet weather, we weren't able to do all the gallops that were promised but the team was quick to offer us different options. The team did everything in their power for us to enjoy ourselves.

Side note: most of the guests were in their 20's so being fit is a must if you want to keep up! Would highly recommend brushing up on lessons before heading out on this tour to enjoy the most out of it.


Rocking Z - Montana

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   11 May 2024

Anna (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fabulous! | The horses were all so lovely and friendly. They were well matched to our ability - some were very forward going but had breaks! The wranglers were very caring and helped if we had any concerns.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the riding at Rocking Z Ranch.]


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

The Devetaki Plateau

5 star rating   11 May 2024

Gail who has been on 8 In The Saddle rides. Absolutely Fantastic | The whole holiday was amazing. The horses were great - like whippets, small and fast.

The family team that looked after us were brilliant. And I have a special mention for the brother Vasko who was an amazing host. Nothing was too much trouble and he went the extra mile making sure we were all happy and looked after.

The riding and terrain was great with lots of fast and long gallops. The hotels and food was also good. Vasko's picnics being the BEST!

I would definitely recommend this riding holiday.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   11 May 2024

Karen who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic! | the riding was excellent. considering the horses are rescue horses and some have suffered trauma, they were very calm and well behaved and practically nothing spooks them especially in traffic! once the guides got to know us and that we enjoy a fast ride, they arranged rides that we all very much enjoyed. the guides were fabulous so friendly and super knowledgeable about the island.


White Stallion Ranch - Arizona

White Stallion Ranch

5 star rating   9 May 2024

Paul who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. A fabulous experience | White Stallion Ranch offers a wide variety of riding to suit all abilities, from complete first time riders, to those who have been riding for years. You can also experience some of the cowboy lifestyle by taking part in cattle sorting to team cattle penning (both excellent fun). There are also plenty of non-riding activities if you are feeling a bit saddle sore, or a very nice pool to relax by.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time at White Stallion Ranch and thank you very much for leaving such lovely feedback.]


Castellare di Tonda - Italy

Castellare Train & Trail Short Break

5 star rating   8 May 2024

Rosie who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Short break western riding holiday was fantastic! | Ailsa and the team were just fabulous, very knowledgeable and helpful . I throughly enjoyed the lessons with Franco, I had very little experience with western riding and over the 3 days he taught me the basics for western riding. I thoroughly enjoyed it and was just what I needed !
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for your feedback and it's wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed the riding at Castellare di Tonda.]


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   5 May 2024

Inge who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous!! So much fun! | The riding was super fun. All horses had great attitudes to do their job, and of course I liked one better than the other. We have seen so many animals, and we really enjoyed the sundowners where the groups came together at the end of the day for a sunset drink. The guides are really good, supported by lovely volunteers that are happy to help with anything, and the food is delicious! Savanna Lodge and Camp Davidson were both magical trips.

[Abbie from ITS replies: So delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Horizon Lodge - I was really pleased to be able to arrange this last-minute trip for you 🙂 ].


Chianti Castles and Wine Tasting - Italy

Chianti Castles and Wine Tasting

5 star rating   5 May 2024

Debbie who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Just a perfect week in Tuscany | My husband and I each rode 3 different horses during the week. Without exception they were all very well schooled, light and responsive to the aids and fit enough for the long days out. They all coped exceptionally well with the, sometimes, steep and stoney gradients.
Sadio and Donatella do a fantastic job of choosing suitable horses and they are some of the best cared for horses I have ever ridden on riding holidays.

[Abbie from ITS replies: Thank you for much for your lovely feedback. I am so pleased that you enjoyed riding and wine tasting in Italy!]


Castellare di Tonda - Italy

Medieval Tuscany

4 star rating   4 May 2024

Sharon (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Great Experience | The horses were magnificent. Well cared for and well trained. Ailsa and the team, headed by Franco took the time to assess us and make sure we were well matched with our horses and that we understood how to ride a reigning trained horse, for their continuity and for us to get the best out of them. Caring for the horses was an underlying theme that we appreciated and understood.
The terrain was typical bucolic Tuscany and the sights were amazing wherever we looked.
We had three full days of riding with fantastic picnics for lunch and then the rain moved in. We still rode, but then moved into the large indoor arena and elected to have lessons. Ailsa and Franco were very flexible and accommodating to ensure we enjoyed our time.
Ailsa looked after us outside the riding as well, smoothing out any issues and making great recommendations for restaurants and sites to visit.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for your feedback and I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your riding holiday in Tuscany.]


Castellare di Tonda - Italy

Medieval Tuscany

5 star rating   4 May 2024

Julie (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Well trained and cared for horses, a great guide, fabulous food and scenery! | Tuscany is green and beautiful in the spring! The rides out into the forests and vineyards were amazing with lots of significant ups and downs but many smooth spots as well. The picnic sites and food provided on the picnics were amazing. We had significant rain and were offered reining lessons in the covered arena in place of a couple rides. Great instruction on well trained horses.


Velani Country Hotel - Crete

Sun and Riding

5 star rating   3 May 2024

Guy who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic experience, hopefully to be repeated. | Being a relatively new rider compared to some, it was an experience to suddenly be cantering over quite hard, shailly trails. In this case it might be worth suggesting protective eyewear to prevent any injuries occurring from stones being kicked up.After that concern all the rides were excellent in different ways. A slightly better description of the terrain might also be appropriate, as one ride included a 20 min walk on a steep downhill leading the horses, it was unsafe to ride down! Again, wearing normal riding boots for this wasn’t the best, especially when you notice your guide is wearing walking boots.


Velani Country Hotel - Crete

Sun and Riding

5 star rating   2 May 2024

Elaine who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Enjoyable and not too strenuous riding holiday | I went with a friend and chose this ride as we wanted a slower paced riding holiday based in one place rather than the trail rides we had previously been on. Our hosts Sabine who managed the stable part of the business and Manolis who oversaw the catering , etc. could not do enough to make our holiday and others who were there very enjoyable. The accommodation was good. I think I ate my body weight in food ! All of which was delicious. My horse La Boriosa was well matched with what I had asked for. She was such a delight to ride. A couple of people on the ride wanted to change their horse and there was no issue at all. Our guide Judith was very attentive and could not do enough to help people prepare and saddle up the horses before the ride and untack after we returned. Nothing was rushed. You can join the holiday on any day of the week which meant some of our fellow riders were changing during our weeks stay.
The riding was on hard tracks but we knew this before we went. We still had trots and canters. [In The Saddle replies: Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time at Velani.]


Velani Country Hotel - Crete

Sun and Riding

5 star rating   2 May 2024

Yvonne who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. The riding was sufficiently varied to maintain interest each day given the local terrain
It would have been better to have been told which ride we were going on the day before rather than find this out on the morning
This is an observation rather than a criticism as every aspect of the riding was excellent.


Sierra Nevada - Spain

Poqueira Ride

5 star rating   28 April 2024

Julie who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. It was wonderful - a very special place | The whole experience was wonderful. The horses are so well cared for and very well behaved. There was a fair amount of trot and canter, more than I had been expecting as we were riding so high up, so that was a plus. There was of course a lot of up and down, and a fair amount of leading, but that was never a problem as soon as my lungs adjusted to the altitude! The horses are all used to the ascents and descents which a lesser horse would refuse to do. I loved how relaxed the riding was, with no bossing or fuss about riding in a certain order and it was fine when appropriate to ride two abreast. The horses weren't bothered by much and are fit and happy. I am not a frequent rider and was impressed with the help and support I was always given by Dallas and her brother. It says a huge amount about this establishment that while we were there, two ladies who had spent time working with Dallas in the past, had returned and were instantly welcomed and became part of the place again. I had so much respect for every aspect of this wonderful set up. In spite of some challenging weather on the last day which actually turned into an adventure. The whole trip was enhanced by the great good fortune I had in riding with a group of the most wonderful ladies. They and Dallas, her brother, and the horses, made everything into such a fun and memorable experience.


Sierra Nevada - Spain

Poqueira Ride

5 star rating   28 April 2024

Wendy (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Incredible | This location surpassed expectations in every way. Superb, well schooled, well behaved horses ideal for the terrain and the experience of each rider. Knowledgeable, friendly hosts who care for their horses and genuinely want every guest to have a great time.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   27 April 2024

Fi who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Excellent instructors helped improve my riding so much | Wonderful patient instructors who really tailored my lessons to me and what I wanted to improve.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   26 April 2024

Nicola (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fantastic | Immaculate arenas, stables and horses. Beautiful building, excellent trainers and grooms.

[ITS replies: Thank you for your feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday].


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   26 April 2024

Alison (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Amazing few days | The dressage training was an amazing experience, the horses were well trained and the trainers were very excellent.

[Abbie from ITS replies: Thanks so much for your feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your dressage holiday at Quinta do Rol].


Sierra Nevada - Spain

Alpujarra Short Break

5 star rating   23 April 2024

Penny (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) The holiday of a life time. | The riding exceeded my expectations. It was challenging in parts but I did not ever feel uncomfortable or over challenged.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   23 April 2024

Lorna who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous, amazing experience | This certainly met our expectations, being our second visit to Ants Safaris, we stayed at the Hill, and were just as happy following our visit to Ants Nest 6 years ago. I am an experienced rider, my husband not, but the horses were matched to our abilities, splitting off for some fabulous fun fast riding, then meeting up with the less experienced riders so everyone was happy. The guide are all excellent, knowledgeable, friendly and professional and did everything they could to ensure we enjoyed the riding, allowing time to take photos too.
Sundowns were fantastic visiting different locations each day.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you so much for your lovely feedback and it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your return to Ant's Lodges.]


Footsteps of Lawrence - Jordan

Bedouin Trails and Dead Sea

5 star rating   22 April 2024

Julie (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) I had the most amazing time | Saleem and his team were great, and the horses were super. I had a particularly feisty little fellow who was young and had a more challenging nature, and I absolutely loved forming a bond with him over the 6 days as we got to know each other well! I was delighted to ride where it felt we had the desert all to ourselves, riding together as a group chatting and laughing, as well as enjoying some peaceful riding with the group, but not constrained to a line or formation, to take in the stunning landscape. We had plenty of canters and it was a very happy balance between fast and exhilarating, and gentle to enjoy the surrounds - and say hello to the Camels we came across along the way!

It’s not for the inexperienced or feint hearted - and that’s why I loved it! A truly authentic exploration of the country’s stunning history and sights, with an incredible experience of the desert on lovely, very well looked after and loved horses. And the dead sea was much appreciated after our days in the saddle to ease the muscles and wash the sand off!


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride Seville Feria Week

5 star rating   21 April 2024

Lesley who has been on 7 In The Saddle rides. Amazing | The riding was exceptional the horses were well schooled and responsive. Rachel matched horses to riders brilliantly.

[Abbie from ITS replies: So pleased that you enjoyed another great week at Los Alamos! Thanks so much for your feedback].


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride Seville Feria Week

5 star rating   21 April 2024

Pauline who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Amazing | Fantastic riding, perfect horses and Rachael and the Team go above and beyond to make sure everyone is happy.

[Abbie from ITS replies: How lovely that you enjoyed your return visit to Los Alamos. We're so pleased that you had another great trip!].


Extremadura - Spain

Pilgrimage to Guadalupe Monastery

5 star rating   20 April 2024

Alison who has been on 11 In The Saddle rides. A fantastic week! | Excellent


Extremadura - Spain

Pilgrimage to Guadalupe Monastery

5 star rating   20 April 2024

Nicky who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. A fun ride through a magnificent landscape | The Spanish bred horses from a range of breeds, Iberian Arab Andalusian, were well schooled, good at their job and very comfortable to ride.
The countryside we rode though was fabulous, mountains, valleys, vineyards and olive groves.
We saw lots of birds raptors and storks and there were wild flowers everywhere.
Mamen and Emilio were generous and kind hosts and the food was fantastic.


Namib Desert - Namibia

Namib Desert

5 star rating   20 April 2024

Lene (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Namib Desert - Leave the world behind | The most amazing horses. They were the daytime stars of the show, making us feel both thrilled and safe through fast and challenging terrain. Special shout out to Larissa for her amazing love for the horses.

[Abbie from ITS replies: Many thanks for your super feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your desert adventure].


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   20 April 2024

Sylvia who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Simply a heaven | Los Potreros is an absolute riding paradise. The tranquility of the landscape is a perfect backdrop to exhilarating gallops (now I know what "hell bent for the leather" means) under the watchful guide of the gauchos. Georgia is a genius matchmaker when it comes to horses and people and I could not have been happier with the selection she made for me. While we were part of many working endeavors on the farm, I have to admit moving horses was my favorite activity. Cantering with horses and bunch of like-minded women one morning was an absolute dream.
I have a partner who is a beginner rider and I was so impressed how well he was taken care of by the whole team and how much riding he was able to do.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you so much for your feedback and I'm so pleased that you both enjoyed your holiday at Los Potreros.]


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   20 April 2024

Kimberly who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Tuli Safari - A wonderful riding experience | The riding was excellent. The long canters weaving around the vegetation were great fun. The horses were well cared for and the tack in good condition. They are trail saddles so no knee pads as we tend to have in the UK so they took a couple of days to get used to. The guides helped you mount and checked girths each time. We felt very safe with the guides and the horses.

[ITS replies: We're so pleased you enjoyed your safari. Thanks so much for taking the time to tell us about it].


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa

African Explorer

5 star rating   19 April 2024

Margaret (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) African Explorer - Really Great Experience | The horses were fabulous, well cared for, well schooled and happy to work. The riding was varied. There were few extended canters due to other group member rider ability limitations but overall a really good mix of riding.

[ITS replies: Many thanks for your feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the African Explorer].


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   16 April 2024

Claus (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Overall good service and friendliness. Great flexibility in relation to wishes.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday]


Sierra Nevada - Spain

Contraviesa Ride

5 star rating   13 April 2024

Rikke (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) It was just as good as I remembered it


979 reviews    1 2 3 31