Reviews
18 reviews   
Nile Explorer - Uganda

Nile Explorer

5 star rating   16 October 2022

Joanna who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. The riding in Uganda surpassed my expectations! I've never ridden such fit, forward but safe and sensible horses. Natalie & TJ are passionate about their horses' wellbeing and have produced an excellent team who care for them.


Nile Explorer - Uganda

Nile Explorer

5 star rating   18 September 2022

Fiona who has been on 10 In The Saddle rides. Amazing riding experience along Nile with fabulous hosts, Natalie and TJ | It is clear that Natalie is 100% committed to the welfare of the horses. All were beautifully trained and in great condition.

[In The Saddle - we are so glad that you enjoyed this wonderful holiday in Uganda]


Nile Explorer - Uganda

Nile Explorer

5 star rating   18 September 2022

Richard who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Wonderful, stimulating, memorable week. | The riding is frequently amongst villages and around cultivated land, so not open country gallops like other safari experiences. We were well aware of this beforehand. It is very special to ride so close to villagers and children, especially as there is no horse culture in the area. There are enough good canters to enjoy, and wonderful scenery all around. The guides made it very comfortable for all of us. Horses were fit, eager, well-schooled and had functioning brakes when needed. They know their job and were solid in all terrain. There are quite a few hours in the saddle, so best to be riding fit to enjoy the experience.
[In The Saddle - so pleased that you enjoyed this great riding holiday].


Nile Explorer - Uganda

Nile Explorer

5 star rating   17 July 2022

Alison who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous - Trip of a Life Time | We experienced all sorts of terrains through villages, rain forest and plantations. Lots of chances to canter and gallop (if you wanted to) whilst waving and smiling at the beautiful Ugandan people. We even got to swim the horses. The guides were upbeat and fun to ride with.
[Olwen from In The Saddle - we are so pleased that you enjoyed this wonderful holiday in Uganda]


Nile Explorer - Uganda

Nile Explorer

5 star rating   19 June 2022

Emily who has been on 22 In The Saddle rides. An adventure down the Rive Nile through sugar and tea plantations and the Mabira rainforest | Natalie had gathered information on what horses the riders liked from ITS in advance and I was matched with my dream horse, a stunning 17HH thoroughbread called Kumi Kumi. The care affored to the horses was second to none, with each horse having their own groom. There were plenty of opportunities for long canters and some gallops.


Nile Explorer - Uganda

Nile Explorer

5 star rating   19 June 2022

Anne-Marie who has been on 28 In The Saddle rides. Great fun with exceptional horses and company | I don’t think I have ever been better matched to a horse, Hunter’s Gold was everything I asked for , forward going but very controllable and calm, the right height for me and just generally a pleasure to be with. The riding took us through a variety of terrain, with some great canters and flat out gallops up hills. The option was available to go slower had we wanted to, but our group was very happy to go faster. The horses are beautifully cared for and in fabulous condition, all credit must go to Natalie , T.J. and the very attentive grooms. Moses the back up guide was also good company.. Natalie made sure everyone in the group was happy with their horses and the rides, and still took obvious delight from finding new routes and meeting new locals along the way. After having had this ride postponed for 2 years due to Covid it was fantastic to find it was worth waiting for.


Nile Explorer - Uganda

Nile Explorer

5 star rating   19 June 2022

Elizabeth who has been on 9 In The Saddle rides. Trip of a lifetime | The riding exceeded my expectations and was very fast


Nile Explorer - Uganda

Nile Explorer

5 star rating   30 May 2021

Thomas who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Amazing and far better than I have ever expected - a part of africa which is worth to discover - do it with this perfect team | Horses are really very good - healthy, friendly, sure-footed and just beautiful. The staff does an outstanding job in caring for the horses. They are kept in a very good stable. Natalie, the owner, has that special kind of sensitivitiy for the horses, which can´t be learned by lessons. It is really a very hard thing to keep horses so well under the circumstances of rural africa and tropical climate. But they manage it.


Nile Explorer - Uganda

Nile Explorer

5 star rating   6 October 2019

Claudia who has been on 11 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous riding, very nice local staff and charming Ugandan people - with a live changing Gorilla meeting! | Great riding - through plantations and small villages! The horses are very well trained for the safaris. They are fit, motivated and with an excellent behaving, even when they are still young.


Nile Explorer - Uganda

Nile Explorer

5 star rating   6 October 2019

Amy (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Amazing Riding Holiday along the Nile | The horses were spectacular. Some of the best horses I have ridden (very responsive) and extremely well cared for. Everything was perfectly organized.


Nile Explorer - Uganda

Nile Explorer

5 star rating   6 October 2019

Bob who has been on 13 In The Saddle rides. Exceeded my expectations | I have had some excellent experiences with ITS, but this was the best yet! The horses were so well cared for, and as requested mine was certainly forward going but controllable. I have never felt so safe whilst cantering and galloping along sandy tracks, certain that nothing was going to spook my horse, not even the numerous small children who would suddenly appear, particularly when passing schools. Riding through the many villages was fascinating, and the people were so friendly that I almost got repetitive strain injury from so much waving!


Nile Explorer - Uganda

Nile Explorer

5 star rating   8 September 2019

Erica who has been on 8 In The Saddle rides. The best trip I've ever taken | Wow.

The riding was excellent - so much better than I had expected based on the description in the brochure. The horses were the healthiest, happiest, best trained, and most well cared for horses that I've ever witnessed. The ratio of grooms to horses is almost 1:1 so every little thing is well taken care of. The horses were so fast but very responsive on the great long canters, and thrilling gallops. The guides were accommodating, knowledgeable, and a pleasure to talk with.

The locals were so wonderful and friendly and seemed more than happy for us to be exploring the local villages, forests, and agricultural landscape.

Honestly, my standards were already high with ITS trips but this trip has exceeding expectations and raised the bar!


Nile Explorer - Uganda

Nile Explorer

5 star rating   8 September 2019

Fiona who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Excellent trip! | Loved this trip!! Beautiful horses, so well cared for and a pleasure to ride. I'm really picky about horses and I was so impressed at the standard. Nat and TJ must be amongst the best hosts in the world, nothing too much trouble. Lots of guides and grooms, able to vary the ride should someone want to go faster / slower, not feel up to riding the whole day and choose to go home with the vehicle and let the groom take the horse home. And lots of fun!!


Nile Explorer - Uganda

Nile Explorer

5 star rating   8 September 2019

Laura (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Outstanding, fantastic, a once in a lifetime | This was a very fast ride which catered to the level of the capability of the riders. I know Natalie & TJ can adjust this to suit the group. The horses were superb and there was a variety to choose from. Each day was very different, which was great and allowed us to see a variety of terrain and the countryside/villages.


Nile Explorer - Uganda

Nile Explorer

5 star rating   8 September 2019

Sue who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. The Best Holiday EVER! | The riding far surpassed all expectations....! The write up did not give it justice. When we came to decide which riding holiday to book the “selling point” for Uganda was the Gorillas not the riding - how wrong we were!!

I’m so glad that we picked this holiday as Uganda is an amazing place. Natalie and TJ are truly the best hosts that you could wish for, their horses are spectacular and the places that you visit and stay at are breathless! Riding through the local villages and the welcome that you received along the way (especially from the children!) was something that I will never forget.

The gorilla experience was unbelievable too - you were closer than you could ever imagine! Appreciating the conservation programme and meeting the people in the local community was fascinating.

This is a MUST DO holiday 🙂


Nile Explorer - Uganda

Nile Explorer

5 star rating   23 June 2019

Mary who has been on 7 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic Holiday | I was very happy with my horse and we had many canters and gallops


Nile Explorer - Uganda

Nile Explorer

4 star rating   23 June 2019

RGT who has been on 41 In The Saddle rides. Riding through a verdant and fertile land | With the exception of a couple of areas, most of the riding was on hard dirt tracks but the horses are well used to this. It would have been nicer to be on softer ground but there are no such options here. I enjoyed the pace of the ride which was varied, so though there was quite a lot of walking there were also loads of long canters and some very good gallops.


Nile Explorer - Uganda

Nile Explorer

5 star rating   9 June 2019

The March Hare who has been on 16 In The Saddle rides. One of the Best Holidays I have been on with ITS | TJ and Natalie's horses are really well behaved, forward going and bomb proof with excellent brakes. Their tack is well maintained and comfortable. The Pace was fast and furious but great fun with a variety of terrains and wonderful views


18 reviews