Reviews
11 reviews   
Nile Explorer - Uganda

Nile Explorer

5 star rating   9 July 2023

Vivien who has been on 40 In The Saddle rides. Wonderful | This holiday more than met expectations. Natalie and TJ are some of the best hosts I have met on all the riding holidays I have been on. They are super nice people, have lots of interesting stories of their adventures and how they came to move to Uganda, have superb horses and really care about their welfare (not easy in the tropics). I rode Hunters Gold who had the smoothest paces I've experienced, a really nice horse. All the horses were in great health without a mark on them. They also have a great team of local people working for them. Moses and Erasmus did a great job of looking after us and the horses on the rides. We did lots of fast riding, at the group's request, and rode through villages, countryside, tropical jungles and along the river Nile. It was so different from the many southern Africa riding holidays I've been on and so interesting. Uganda is an amazing, complicated country, and so worth visiting. Stunningly beautiful as well. You get to see the real Africa on this holiday.

[Abbie from ITS replies: Thank you so much for your super feedback. We’re thrilled that you had such a wonderful time in Uganda.]


Nile Explorer - Uganda

Nile Explorer

5 star rating   9 July 2023

Mary who has been on 11 In The Saddle rides. Off the Beaten Track | Natalie and TJ are true horse people who really care for their horses. The horses are bomb proof (no falls on our ride). They also gallop very fast. I rode a pony called Bullrush and he was perfect for me.
The rides along the Nile and through the villages was an amazing experience and we had a great break for lunch along the way. The scenery was beautiful so much green and the ride through the forest seeing monkeys was a unique.
Staying at Wild Waters topped off a fabulous week. I would also recommend doing the rafting as the crew are really professional and kept to their word that my boat would not flip.

[Abbie from ITS replies: Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. We're so pleased that you enjoyed the Nile Explorer Ride].


Nile Explorer - Uganda

Nile Explorer

5 star rating   9 July 2023

Elaine who has been on 11 In The Saddle rides. Amazing to ride fit, well cared for horses in a unique environment | The riding more than met my expectations, riding through plantations, villages (where everyone would come out to wave) and the Mabira forest. The scenery is stunning, very lush and green along the banks of the Nile. I rode Southern Comfort who was just perfect for me, he liked a bit of space (better for photo opportunities) plus he was very responsive and took everything in his stride. He really knew his job and took good care of me. Lots of opportunities for long canters which Moses and Erasmus expertly handled, looking out for us all. Nat and TJ clearly love their horses and give them 5* care which is reflected in the horses who are enjoying the best life.

[Abbie from ITS replies: Many thanks for your feedback on your adventure in Uganda. We're so pleased that you enjoyed the Nile Explorer).


Nile Explorer - Uganda

Nile Explorer

5 star rating   16 October 2022

Jo who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. The riding in Uganda surpassed my expectations! I've never ridden such fit, forward but safe and sensible horses. Natalie & TJ are passionate about their horses' wellbeing and have produced an excellent team who care for them.


Nile Explorer - Uganda

Nile Explorer

5 star rating   18 September 2022

Fiona who has been on 10 In The Saddle rides. Amazing riding experience along Nile with fabulous hosts, Natalie and TJ | It is clear that Natalie is 100% committed to the welfare of the horses. All were beautifully trained and in great condition.

[In The Saddle - we are so glad that you enjoyed this wonderful holiday in Uganda]


Nile Explorer - Uganda

Nile Explorer

5 star rating   18 September 2022

Richard who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Wonderful, stimulating, memorable week. | The riding is frequently amongst villages and around cultivated land, so not open country gallops like other safari experiences. We were well aware of this beforehand. It is very special to ride so close to villagers and children, especially as there is no horse culture in the area. There are enough good canters to enjoy, and wonderful scenery all around. The guides made it very comfortable for all of us. Horses were fit, eager, well-schooled and had functioning brakes when needed. They know their job and were solid in all terrain. There are quite a few hours in the saddle, so best to be riding fit to enjoy the experience.
[In The Saddle - so pleased that you enjoyed this great riding holiday].


Nile Explorer - Uganda

Nile Explorer

5 star rating   17 July 2022

Alison who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous - Trip of a Life Time | We experienced all sorts of terrains through villages, rain forest and plantations. Lots of chances to canter and gallop (if you wanted to) whilst waving and smiling at the beautiful Ugandan people. We even got to swim the horses. The guides were upbeat and fun to ride with.
[Olwen from In The Saddle - we are so pleased that you enjoyed this wonderful holiday in Uganda]


Nile Explorer - Uganda

Nile Explorer

5 star rating   19 June 2022

Emily who has been on 25 In The Saddle rides. An adventure down the Rive Nile through sugar and tea plantations and the Mabira rainforest | Natalie had gathered information on what horses the riders liked from ITS in advance and I was matched with my dream horse, a stunning 17HH thoroughbread called Kumi Kumi. The care affored to the horses was second to none, with each horse having their own groom. There were plenty of opportunities for long canters and some gallops.


Nile Explorer - Uganda

Nile Explorer

5 star rating   19 June 2022

Anne-Marie who has been on 29 In The Saddle rides. Great fun with exceptional horses and company | I don’t think I have ever been better matched to a horse, Hunter’s Gold was everything I asked for , forward going but very controllable and calm, the right height for me and just generally a pleasure to be with. The riding took us through a variety of terrain, with some great canters and flat out gallops up hills. The option was available to go slower had we wanted to, but our group was very happy to go faster. The horses are beautifully cared for and in fabulous condition, all credit must go to Natalie , T.J. and the very attentive grooms. Moses the back up guide was also good company.. Natalie made sure everyone in the group was happy with their horses and the rides, and still took obvious delight from finding new routes and meeting new locals along the way. After having had this ride postponed for 2 years due to Covid it was fantastic to find it was worth waiting for.


Nile Explorer - Uganda

Nile Explorer

5 star rating   19 June 2022

Liz who has been on 10 In The Saddle rides. Trip of a lifetime | The riding exceeded my expectations and was very fast


Nile Explorer - Uganda

Nile Explorer

5 star rating   30 May 2021

Thomas who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Amazing and far better than I have ever expected - a part of africa which is worth to discover - do it with this perfect team | Horses are really very good - healthy, friendly, sure-footed and just beautiful. The staff does an outstanding job in caring for the horses. They are kept in a very good stable. Natalie, the owner, has that special kind of sensitivitiy for the horses, which can´t be learned by lessons. It is really a very hard thing to keep horses so well under the circumstances of rural africa and tropical climate. But they manage it.


11 reviews