Reviews
55 reviews    1 2
Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   12 April 2024

Nikki who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Brilliant experience | I asked to work on a couple of specific things, and even though I had different instructors it felt like they communicated between them so that the learning was progressive.

[Abbie from ITS replies: Thanks so much for your lovely feedback from your third visit to Monte Velho. We're so pleased that you had an enjoyable time and have already booked your next stay].


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   11 April 2024

Jennifer (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Wonderful | The dressage lessons were of a very high standard and the instruction was absolutely wonderful.


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   9 March 2024

Lynda who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. A little bit of horse heaven | The riding was fantastic. Anne Sylvie and Loerke are exceptional instructors ,both very knowledgeable, encouraging ,kind and know when to push you and when to back off and let you work it out.
The horses were very well trained and very well looked after.
The owner displays such a rapport with all of the horses not just the top dressage horses.The bonus of this place is that you get to watch some of the top dressage horses in Portugal being trained it's wonderful


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   29 February 2024

Jennifer who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience! | Top marks for excellent riding instruction with their highly trained and well cared for horses in a stunning location and modern facilities. I was particularly impressed with the trail rides not just for the sheer beauty of the landscape and incredible horses but also because you get to choose the pace so you can really test yourself as a rider and have a lot of fun!


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   24 February 2024

Jacquie who has been on 9 In The Saddle rides. Excellent dressage training | All the instructors are very passionate and professional. The horse welfare is expectational.


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   21 February 2024

Rebecca who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Educational and enjoyable in top-class accommodation | I went to Monte Velho with no experience of dressage, although I would have said I was a strong intermediate horse rider for trails and cross country. This was very far outside my comfort zone but the instructors were very patient with me. Fellow guests were also very encouraging, despite all being substantially more experiences. The horses are beautiful.


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   14 January 2024

Anderley (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Superb horses, excellent instructors, welcoming hosts, comfortable accommodation, beautiful landscape | All good horses. Instructors quick to see best horse for each rider. Variety of horses offered to each rider. Bernardo is a really fun, dynamic, energetic and committed instructor - definitely wants each rider to be the best they can be. Laerke is a calming, clear, positive, sympathetic instructor who is able to try different approaches to get the best out of different riders. Both are excellent. The open arena is beautiful and perfectly maintained, with a very wide, crystal clear mirror which is useful for assessing yourself as you ride and to keep distance when in the arena with another rider. The 'indoor' school has open sides and a wonderful view so it is also pleasant to ride in. The trail rides were excellent as we went in a small group, led by the son of the owner or the owner himself. Several canters all together in a group and a long ride over to see the neighbours! We also rode amongst the young mares, which were loose in the fields! Lovely hosting by the father and son. [In The Saddle replies: Thank you for your wonderful feedback. It is lovely to hear how much you enjoyed Monte Velho. The covered arena has open sides, but there is also a seperately located indoor school which doesn't have open sides.]


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   5 January 2024

Cristina who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. A game changer in | Excellent riding instructors, with a variety of styles. This experience really helped me improve and realize what it means to ride a well balanced dressage horse. It's also such a pleasure to see the senior trainers riding themselves.

The hacks outside were in a very beautiful scenery. I enjoyed particularly the one with Diogo Jr. The intern guides were a bit less experienced.


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   22 November 2023

Maxine who has been on 7 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous! | My fourth year of visiting Monte Velho and won’t be my last. I visited for 5 days and had 6 lessons. I really benefited from the superb instruction and very tolerant schoolmasters. Each lesson I was matched with a horse which suited my ability and increasing skill level. The difference to my riding when I returned home was obvious.

[Abbie from ITS replies: Thank you for your lovely feedback. We're so pleased that you enjoy your visits to Monte Velho so much].


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   4 November 2023

Veronica who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Memorable and Fun | This was my second visit to Monte Velho and my mounts for lessons on my first visit were more suited in that I progressed (albeit slowly) from Day 1. However, having a more difficult horse at the beginning of the week this time meant that when I did sit on my favourite Xico, I was super happy, more relaxed and achieved more thanks to Laerke who deserves a medal for her patience!

Thoroughly enjoyed the trail rides. My horse on Day 1 didn’t suit me but asked for a change. Everyone would prefer you say if you are not happy and all steps are taken to ensure you get the best out of your MV experience.

I am a 75 year old lightweight without a dressage background but would urge anyone considering this experience, to give it a try. The jacuzzi is waiting!


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   29 October 2023

Maddy who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Wonderful week | The horses are all beautifully schooled and very well behaved. Some are schooled to PSG and above. The instruction is very good indeed. It exceeded our expectations. The instructors assess you very quickly and then try and match you with a variety of horses to improve your riding through the week . Ann-Sylvie the senior instructor is amazing the way she manages it all.
We had a lovely group and bonded well all supporting each other and watching each other improve.

[Abbie from ITS replies: Many thanks for your lovely feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday.]


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

2 star rating   18 October 2023

Kirsti who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. It was ok, I wouldn’t go back. | We asked several months ago to do more than one ride per day but we’re told that there was no availability however two couple who booked in the last 6 weeks (one via you) did get 2 lessons per day which was very frustrating.
The trail ride was pretty uninspiring and it felt like the guide was killing tome by lapping fields.
We didn’t know about the breeding program and wine tasting talks which take place on a Wednesday evening, had we have known we would have changes our dates to be there for this.
[Lois from In The Saddle replies - Monte Velho now have a strict policy that there can only be two lessons per room each day and so because you were two people sharing a room they would only permit you to each have one lesson per day. The couple from In The Saddle who booked at the last minute were one rider and one non-rider which is why the rider was able to book two lessons per day. I am sorry but this is a Monte Velho rule.
The trail rides are an opportunity to see a bit of the estate - I'm sorry you didn't enjoy it.
With regards to the breeding program and wine tasting talks - we never mention these because they are not guaranteed to happen every week and not every Wednesday. They are just a nice surprise if they can happen.]


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   13 September 2023

Helena (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Monte Velho - Fantastic | Exceeded all expectations. Horses were superb. Instructors and guides were fantastic.

[ITS Replies: Many thanks for your lovely feedback. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Monte Velho].


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   13 September 2023

Rose who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. I thoroughly enjoyed my holiday. Everything exceeded my expectations. | The horses, both dressage and trail were fabulous . They were generous and beautifully mannered.


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   23 July 2023

Rachel who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Absolutely outstanding in every way | Beautifully cared for and presented well trained and talented horses.
Passionate and informative instructors.
In a location of outstanding natural beauty very high end accommodation and facilities and very caring helpful friendly staff

[Abbie from ITS replies: Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Monte Velho].


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   23 July 2023

Chloe who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Monte Velho - dressage dream | Excellent


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   14 July 2023

Ashley who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Incredible Luxury On Another Level! | Beyond expectation - this holiday is for the equestrian who loves luxury and riding beautifully trained horses with top quality tuition - there was nothing that I could fault in this entire holiday experience - apart from the fact it was too short - I could have stayed for eternity!


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   9 June 2023

Alison who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Had a great time | Instructors are world class


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   8 June 2023

Jim who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. 4th visit, best ever (so far) | My wife Bev does the riding, I watch, video and learn too. She has a German warmblood at home competing at Advanced Medium level but even though he's now 21 everyone is saying there is PSG in there soon. Although Lusitanos are different, the opportunity to ride horses who can do the higher level moves is just amazing, to really get a riding feel and bring home to pass on. All the trainers at Monte Velho have been amazing, they know their horses and are very adept at matching horse with rider capabilities and aspirations. The 2 riders per trainer hour lessons work well, balancing time to learn with walk breaks to catch breath and let the instructions sink in. So lots of perspiration but loads more inspiration!


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   4 June 2023

Alix who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Unbelievable learning and fun | Brilliant tuition, well trained happy horses. Accommodation stylish, comfortable, to die for. Hot tub, plunge pool. Lovely food. Honesty bar. Brilliant staff. Very accommodating. Other guests very supportive and friendly. Thoroughly recommend!

[Abbie from ITS replies: Many thanks for your lovely feedback. We're so pleased that you had such a good time at Monte Velho in dressage paradise!]


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   28 May 2023

Anna who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Wonderful short break | We had two lessons in a group of two and they were very informative and gave us a chance to try new things. The instructors were lovely. We also had two trail rides around the property, through the cork trees paddocks and tracks, which were relaxing and involved a few short canters.


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   27 May 2023

Sandrine who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Great riding experience in Monte Velho | Excellent


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   25 May 2023

Jenny who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Incredible days in a beautiful location | The accommodation, facilities and meals at Monte Velho were all of a high standard. The horses are a credit to them and the instructors provide a super level of instruction.
I was privileged to ride 3 different well schooled horses. There are some challenges involved in meeting the demand for lessons and some guests had lessons taken out from their original schedule. Also important to know lessons are shared rather than individual. This was fine for me to have a walk and give the horse a break at times as the instructors switch between riders during the session.
I had a great trip, which was my second visit here. The evening walk to meet this years foals with the owner was a highlight as it’s incredible to learn about the history and breeding program. I’m sure I’ll return again.


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   19 April 2023

Lisa (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Individual lessons would have been preferred


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   29 March 2023

Aisling (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Monte Velho | Teaching, horses and accommodation were fantastic. Even when an issue with the No of horses MVH went to great lengths to sort with demo/breeding tour etc. lovely experience

[Abbie from In The Saddle replies: Many thanks for your feedback. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your holiday].


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

4 star rating   29 March 2023

Gemma (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Amazing location | I was a bit disappointed with my rides unfortunately. I was given difficult horses on 3 out of my 4 lessons (and we booked 5!) which unfortunately meant that by the time we’d sorted them out my lesson was over. I did have 1 fabulous lesson on a beautiful horse called Favourite and asked if I could ride him again on the last day but was given one of the difficult horses again instead. I understand that everyone wants to ride the GP horses but as an inter 1 rider I only had that 1 ride where I felt like I really learnt anything.

I also have a fear of heights and this was not accounted for on the trail ride and the trainer did not understand when I tried to tell him and I ended up having a pretty unpleasant experience.

Sorry that this sounds so negative the place is amazing and it wouldn’t stop me going back but I just wanted to be honest about my experience.

[Abbie from In The Saddle replies: Many thanks for your feedback. We are looking into this and will be in touch shortly].


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   12 March 2023

Imke who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous | Excellent


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   26 November 2022

Sarah who has been on 17 In The Saddle rides. Another wonderful few days at Monte Velho! | This was my second trip to Monte Velho this year. I learn so much there on their wonderful horses with great instruction. I really felt like I built on what I learnt last time and what I have been learning with my instructors at home.


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   13 November 2022

Ann who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Monte Velho, Portugal - Great holiday! This was our second time at Monte Velho and we enjoyed it just as much as last time. | I mostly had lessons and only one trail ride. Mostly I had Lorena as a teacher and she is very good. Sadly she is leaving, but there are other excellent teachers at Monte Velho.


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   20 October 2022

Lizzie who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. 3 days of trails | Excellent


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   1 October 2022

Maxine who has been on 7 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous week of riding | I had an amazing week at Monte Velho, my riding improved so much with some great instruction and superb schoolmasters.

[In The Saddle replies: Thank you for your feedback on Monte Velho. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your return visit.]


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   1 October 2022

Juliet who has been on 17 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic - as always | Super, well trained and willing horses. A great variety to suit all abilities.
I have had numerous trips here ( I’ve lost count!) and can always feel an improvement in my riding when I get back home. Emphasis on correct riding but also the opportunity to work on ‘the tricks’ too.


55 reviews    1 2