Reviews
72 reviews    1 2 3
Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

4 star rating   5 December 2018

I was definitely bottom of the class! but positively showed how much I have to learn. Had a different teacher each day and each did have their own approach/preferences but all was useful. I think they had a lot more they could have taught had I been more advanced


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   28 November 2018

The riding at Monte Velho was amazing. During lessons, I was well matched to my horses and the tuition was excellent and very encouraging, with good focus on strengths and areas for improvement. I liked that different instructors focused on different areas. The horses were beautifully turned out every time and cared for to the highest standards. I also enjoyed two trail rides where I was able to ride the same horse both times, and there were good opportunities for cantering and exploring different areas across beautiful countryside.


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   22 November 2018

Fantastic horses for both lessons and trail rides which provided for a great and varied experience. Horses were turned out to a very high standard and clearly very well cared for.


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   19 November 2018

Wonderful instructors and perfectly turned out and well looked after horses.


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   30 October 2018

Yes, some variability in trainers, but we were swapped over to our preferred trainer when we expressed reservations


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   4 October 2018

Fantastic instructors on a variety of well trained horses. It's best to tell the instructor at the beginning of the lesson if you want them to concentrate on a particular area or subject as we found they didn't ask.


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   28 September 2018

Apart from the information given when booking no further assessment of our riding was made. That said all the horses we rode at Monte Vehlo were very well schooled and knew their jobs well. Once the correct buttons were found....wow!
The lessons were great. Each of the instructors we had knew the horses well and adapted their teaching for us as individuals. Our group had three lessons each over our stay, it would have been nice to have continuity of teaching over our stay but we had different instructors each time. It would also have been nice to have a discussion with the instructors about what you would like to focus on during your stay, but this was not forthcoming. I asked at the start of my last lesson what we would be focusing on and was told by the instructor they had not yet decided, however when I said can we do lateral work the answer was a very quick yes. I guess the answer is to ask/discuss before you get going. I'll know next time!

The trail rides were Ok, the terrain was very dry and stoney, not the best time of year for riding out. Spring would be wonderful. By this stage I'd got the lesson bug! I am spoilt by my home hacking so probably over critical.

The school horses are immaculate clean good quality tack, nice dressage saddles. Legs bandaged and hoof oil every time. The trail horse are second class citizens by comparison, not so gleaming and tack much older.


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

4 star rating   26 September 2018

The horses are exceptionally well looked after and the yard is immaculate. Our trail guide was lovely and we really enjoyed our rides even if not very fast as it was very hot. We found that sometimes when large groups come in they start to alter the lessons and horses to suit them so you have to make sure you are up to date with times and happy with the horses selected. If you’re not don’t be afraid to let them know or members of other parties will. Also ensure your instructor knows what you want to achieve and either give the horse a rest when they are teaching another person or work on something for yourself.


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   17 September 2018

I loved both the trail rides and lesson.Would have more lessons next time to really improve in that area.


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   2 September 2018

Beautiful horses showing off rider's mistakes and rewarding any improvements made. Possibility of mixing trails and lessons gave me the ability to enjoy every minute spent in the saddle.


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   20 August 2018

Superb horses trained to a high level. Instructors that wanted you to do well- my riding improved over the week whilst having fun. Horses looked after to a top class standard

Only improvement would be to have a individual, fitted saddle for each horse as some were not quite right (I am a saddler in the UK).


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   24 July 2018

The riding instructors were able to assess my ability and match with horses I enjoyed riding very much. Horses are truly exceptional.


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   16 July 2018

The trainers suited the horses to our ability very swiftly and in my daughter’s case sought to challenge her with more experienced schoolmasters as the week went on. We learnt so much and came home brimming with confidence and new skills to try out. All the trainers were of a very high standard and offered different perspectives on our training.


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   25 June 2018

Couldn’t have asked for better instruction or horses. Very enjoyable and learnt a huge amount!


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   18 June 2018

Fantastic holiday. Greeted by Diogo and about 14 Swedish and Danish ladies plus a wine tasting
GOOD START.
The horses and tuition as last year was to a very high standard.
My special thanks to Annie who was my main instructor and perfectly understood what I wanted to learn from the lessons. Importantly this has improved my riding at home.
A treat for all of us was to meet the mares and a week old foal in their paddock, also to visit the family home and meet Diogo's parents for drinks.

My thanks to everyone at Monti Velho to all my fellow guests and In the saddle

I had a brilliant time.

Graham


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   13 June 2018

There were excellent horses and talented and enthusiastic instructors. A timetable for the week's riding was produced and we had a combination of predominantly dressage riding with some trail rides and instruction from four different instructors. Our only criticism is that there was little continuity between the horses, lessons and instructors and little attempt to enquire as to what we would like to do, so some lessons felt like the were spent becoming familiar with the particular characteristics of the horse we were riding - rather than allowing us to develop and explore more dressage moves in a progressive manner. This is a minor criticism because the horses and instructors were great -but we felt at times we were repeating ourselves - rather than building on the skills we had already practised.


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   12 June 2018

Yes, we have been before and it was even better as they knew us.


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   5 June 2018

The riding experience exceeded my expectations. Nothing can match this, I feel.


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   2 June 2018

The horses where beautiful, in excellent condition and clearly very well cared for.
The trail rides were varied and all over stunning terrain, with lots of opportunities for long canters.
The instructors where very good with each lesson tailored to the riders ability. I didn't get the opportunity to try any of the higher movements, I would have needed a few more lessons to get to that stage, but plenty of the other guests did.


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   31 May 2018

I would have liked to try some more advanced moves. I appreciate it is difficult when they do not how much you have done and to what level. They did not seem interested to find out.


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   23 May 2018

We opted for 4 trail rides (no dressage lessons). We rode in the ecological reserve in which the accommodation & stud farm is located. The scenery is breath-taking; it reminded us vaguely of Africa. There was an abundance of wild flowers such as I've never seen - very special indeed! Every trail ride was different.


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   22 May 2018

The horses were beautifully cared for and treated really well. The tuition and training of the horses was of a very high standard. It surpassed my expectations. The lessons were well planned and we got lots of attention and horses were chosen to match our ability. Annie, who took most of my lessons, really helped me. Can't fault any of it. The trial rides were lovely - expertly led by Rita and Diego and the horses were lgreat.


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   23 April 2018

Brilliant instruction, leading on rides out. Fabulous horses immaculately turned out and cared for to the highest standards


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   20 April 2018

It was good to ride out in a small group of experienced people for a faster, more varied ride


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   4 April 2018

There were all level of horses, thankfully as my riding improved, so did the level of horse. Horses were immaculate as was the tack, the dressage saddles were all high quality. Horses were well looked after, and seemed happy in the stable and their work. Trail rides out were just right. The countryside is beautiful. The tuition was fantastic, patient, corrective and informative. The lectures were a bonus and helped with the riding.


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   16 March 2018

The horses were all well schooled and were matched with the ability of each rider. The instructors were patient, flexible, encouraging and clearly experienced.


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   15 March 2018

I have been here before so knew what to expect but the standard of teaching and horses was (again) outstanding.


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   15 March 2018

Teaching was good. Tack sometimes a bit questionable but understand it’s very difficult to saddle every horse in a perfect saddle and also perhaps UK opinions of curb chain tightness differs from Europe. The riding was very good but unfortunately the weather let us down which meant most days were spent in the smaller schools rather than the large one which could be a bit tricky with 2 people.


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

4 star rating   5 March 2018

It was a shame that combinations were not taught by the same instructor for the duration it made continuity difficult. It also seemed that once you were given a horse that you got on OK with you stayed with that horse. Perhaps some thought to the variety of experience (obviosuly where appropriate and understanding that in some cases this is not appropriate) of horses allocated but keepign with the same instructor would have provided a more beneficial training experience as many come not for a holiday but to improve and train.


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   1 March 2018

Tuition from Coralie Cendrine and Annie was excellent, all had an eye for detail and were focused on helping the riders make improvements to their seat and position.


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   9 January 2018

Perfect holiday in great location ,highly recommended.


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   27 December 2017

The trail rides are in beautiful countryside, but are rather tame. The dressage lessons are of a high quality.


72 reviews    1 2 3