Reviews
15 reviews   
Mlilwane Explorer - eSwatini (formerly Swaziland)
Experience Level

World Horse Welfare Mlilwane Explorer

5 star rating   29 November 2018

Fantastic well trained horses- all matched to us individually- in great condition- fit- happy healthy animals.
Went as a sponsored ride for WORLD HORSE WELFARE- so there was quite a few of us-


Mlilwane Explorer - eSwatini (formerly Swaziland)
Experience Level

World Horse Welfare Mlilwane Explorer

5 star rating   27 November 2018

Horses were excellent, forward going but sensible and extremely well cared for. It was so nice to see the love of the whole team for the horses. The riding was varied, walking across tricky terrain but lots of opportunities for a good canter. Riding amongst the wildlife is amazing and our guides were knowledgeable and entertaining.


Mlilwane Explorer - eSwatini (formerly Swaziland)
Experience Level

World Horse Welfare Mlilwane Explorer

4 star rating   27 November 2018

The horses were wonderful. Well schooled and fantastically well cared for. The campsites were excellently managed and the food and service couldn’t have been improved. The wildlife viewing exceeded my expectations. The only downside was the very long bus journey to and from Swaziland.


Mlilwane Explorer - eSwatini (formerly Swaziland)
Experience Level

World Horse Welfare Mlilwane Explorer

5 star rating   27 November 2018

My first horse was too strong for me so I was given the wonderful Vicki (Victoria Cross) who was much bigger than my usual rides, but who was so smooth and responsive. I really loved her. Unfortunately she struck into herself on a long descent so I was given Nkune who was very different but equally enjoyable to ride. He looked after me when I was unable to ride fast and my only regret was that I did not have a chance to enjoy his lovely canter for longer.
The trails were great with plenty of cantering on the sensible bits - will never forget when the very pregnant zebra joined our group! The river crossing was interesting and showed the trust that the horses had in the staff.


Mlilwane Explorer - eSwatini (formerly Swaziland)
Experience Level

World Horse Welfare Mlilwane Explorer

5 star rating   27 November 2018

The horses were incredibly well looked after. The whole team had a wonderful manner with them and it was clear their welfare was the highest priority. All were easily fit enough for this trail and were well matched to each rider. Every horse had its own fantastic temperament (some rather cheekier than others!) and the care they were given throughout was impeccable.


Mlilwane Explorer - eSwatini (formerly Swaziland)
Experience Level

Mlilwane Explorer

5 star rating   29 July 2018

The horses were in excellent condition and it was very evident that the welfare of the horses was paramount.
The whole holiday far exceeded my expectations. I had not ridden for over 10 years and was not sure what to expect. I was perfectly teamed up with a horse that ensured I had the most wonderful 6 days of trail riding. Millpond was a perfect gentleman.


Mlilwane Explorer - eSwatini (formerly Swaziland)
Experience Level

Mlilwane Explorer

5 star rating   23 July 2018

The riding exceeded expectations in terms of stunning countryside and a huge host of game to see. Ann’s team at Big Game Parks were great especially our guides Nathi and Thandaza . Kate took good care of us during our non riding jaunts. As a new ride I expected a few glitches but the organisation of the whole ride was exceptional and the horses were perfect for the riding we did.


Mlilwane Explorer - eSwatini (formerly Swaziland)
Experience Level

Mlilwane Explorer

5 star rating   19 July 2018

This was my first trail ride and trip to Africa. The horses were all very well cared for and so very well schooled. Great care was taken to make sure that we were all matched to the right level of horse. I got to ride the very beatiful Toppy who i would have happily packed in my suitcase and transported home. The riding pace matched the terrain, and the variety of terrain really surprised me. We rode through the Mlilwane reserve getting up close to the zebra, wildebeest and antelope, then through forests, the community and into the mountains where you felt you were on top of the world with 360 degree views that stretched on for miles an miles!


Mlilwane Explorer - eSwatini (formerly Swaziland)
Experience Level

Mlilwane Explorer

5 star rating   19 July 2018

Everything exceeded expectations. The saddles were very comfortable indeed and had been tailormade for endurance riding. No horse had any scarring, or sores or old marks, testament to the standard of care and attention they are given.


Mlilwane Explorer - eSwatini (formerly Swaziland)
Experience Level

Mlilwane Explorer

4 star rating   4 June 2018

Due to unfortunate (for us) downpour of rain all starting on the second evening and lasting all night into the morning we had to postpone our departure from base camp by 24 hours. This affected the speed of the ride through the forest on the following day as the ground was very slippery so unfortunately canters were severely restricted, though as the week went on we were able to 'stretch our legs' a bit more.


Mlilwane Explorer - eSwatini (formerly Swaziland)
Experience Level

Mlilwane Explorer

5 star rating   17 July 2017

I had a cracking little horse who suited me perfectly - forward going and well-mannered -and it seemed that the group generally were well matched with horses that suited their own preferences.


Mlilwane Explorer - eSwatini (formerly Swaziland)
Experience Level

Mlilwane Explorer

5 star rating   13 July 2017

A very good riding experience on excellent horses. Less riding with wildlife and more of a trail ride . Given the standard of our group, the pace could probably have been a little faster in places where terrain permitted but as this was a new trail it was reasonable to ensure it worked for all groups, which it should.


Mlilwane Explorer - eSwatini (formerly Swaziland)
Experience Level

Mlilwane Explorer

5 star rating   13 July 2017

As advised, the terrain didn't allow for the fastest riding though we did manage some lovely canters on all days. There were quite a lot of steep slopes to negotiate but the horses were sure-footed even in tricky places like crossing rivers. Tack was in excellent condition and the saddles very comfortable. My first horse was a strong, handsome chesnut - smooth and willing. My second was the amazing Troy - one of the best trail horses I've ever ridden. All the mounts were in very good condition and happy doing their jobs. They'd never done a 5 day trail before but clearly loved it. It was fun to ride through Mlilwane game park on the first and last days and get close to various antelope, zebra etc.


Mlilwane Explorer - eSwatini (formerly Swaziland)
Experience Level

Mlilwane Explorer

5 star rating   13 July 2017

The horses were very special - wonderful in temperament and willingness - and were well matched to the riders. It was wonderful having the chance to bond with my horse over the course of the ride and I felt that we developed together, so that there was a noticeable difference in the riding relationship by the end of the trail.


Mlilwane Explorer - eSwatini (formerly Swaziland)
Experience Level

Mlilwane Explorer

4 star rating   10 July 2017

Loved my horse Serenity, fast and smooth with brakes. Husband liked his horse also but she did not always do as she was told! Riding was fairly slow on the first few days, although there were chances to canter each day - the terrain in the mountains does not often allow for fast riding. We did have some faster canters on the last couple of days. Some of the riding was challenging (and fun) because of the steep, rocky terrain and trails criss-crossed by rivers and streams. It was necessary to lead our horses at times. Worth the steep climbs for the views from the top. This was the first time these horses have done a 5 day trail and they coped very well dealing with traffic (hardly any and only one road to cross), dogs, cows etc. in the community. The Liversage trail saddles were very comfortable.


15 reviews