Reviews
12 reviews   
Mlilwane Explorer - eSwatini (formerly Swaziland)
Experience Level

Mlilwane Explorer

5 star rating   15 July 2018

The riding exceeded expectations in terms of stunning countryside and a huge host of game to see. Ann’s team at Big Game Parks were great especially our guides Nathi and Thandaza . Kate took good care of us during our non riding jaunts. As a new ride I expected a few glitches but the organisation of the whole ride was exceptional and the horses were perfect for the riding we did.


Mlilwane Explorer - eSwatini (formerly Swaziland)
Experience Level

Mlilwane Explorer

5 star rating   15 July 2018

This was my first trail ride and trip to Africa. The horses were all very well cared for and so very well schooled. Great care was taken to make sure that we were all matched to the right level of horse. I got to ride the very beatiful Toppy who i would have happily packed in my suitcase and transported home. The riding pace matched the terrain, and the variety of terrain really surprised me. We rode through the Mlilwane reserve getting up close to the zebra, wildebeest and antelope, then through forests, the community and into the mountains where you felt you were on top of the world with 360 degree views that stretched on for miles an miles!


Mlilwane Explorer - eSwatini (formerly Swaziland)
Experience Level

Mlilwane Explorer

5 star rating   15 July 2018

The horses were in excellent condition and it was very evident that the welfare of the horses was paramount.
The whole holiday far exceeded my expectations. I had not ridden for over 10 years and was not sure what to expect. I was perfectly teamed up with a horse that ensured I had the most wonderful 6 days of trail riding. Millpond was a perfect gentleman.


Mlilwane Explorer - eSwatini (formerly Swaziland)
Experience Level

Mlilwane Explorer

5 star rating   15 July 2018

Everything exceeded expectations. The saddles were very comfortable indeed and had been tailormade for endurance riding. No horse had any scarring, or sores or old marks, testament to the standard of care and attention they are given.


Mlilwane Explorer - eSwatini (formerly Swaziland)
Experience Level

World Horse Welfare Mlilwane Explorer

5 star rating   28 June 2018

Horses were excellent, forward going but sensible and extremely well cared for. It was so nice to see the love of the whole team for the horses. The riding was varied, walking across tricky terrain but lots of opportunities for a good canter. Riding amongst the wildlife is amazing and our guides were knowledgeable and entertaining.


Mlilwane Explorer - eSwatini (formerly Swaziland)
Experience Level

World Horse Welfare Mlilwane Explorer

4 star rating   28 June 2018

The horses were wonderful. Well schooled and fantastically well cared for. The campsites were excellently managed and the food and service couldn’t have been improved. The wildlife viewing exceeded my expectations. The only downside was the very long bus journey to and from Swaziland.


Mlilwane Explorer - eSwatini (formerly Swaziland)
Experience Level

World Horse Welfare Mlilwane Explorer

5 star rating   28 June 2018

My first horse was too strong for me so I was given the wonderful Vicki (Victoria Cross) who was much bigger than my usual rides, but who was so smooth and responsive. I really loved her. Unfortunately she struck into herself on a long descent so I was given Nkune who was very different but equally enjoyable to ride. He looked after me when I was unable to ride fast and my only regret was that I did not have a chance to enjoy his lovely canter for longer.
The trails were great with plenty of cantering on the sensible bits - will never forget when the very pregnant zebra joined our group! The river crossing was interesting and showed the trust that the horses had in the staff.


Mlilwane Explorer - eSwatini (formerly Swaziland)
Experience Level

World Horse Welfare Mlilwane Explorer

5 star rating   28 June 2018

The horses were incredibly well looked after. The whole team had a wonderful manner with them and it was clear their welfare was the highest priority. All were easily fit enough for this trail and were well matched to each rider. Every horse had its own fantastic temperament (some rather cheekier than others!) and the care they were given throughout was impeccable.


Mlilwane Explorer - eSwatini (formerly Swaziland)
Experience Level

World Horse Welfare Mlilwane Explorer

5 star rating   28 June 2018

Fantastic well trained horses- all matched to us individually- in great condition- fit- happy healthy animals.
Went as a sponsored ride for WORLD HORSE WELFARE- so there was quite a few of us-


Mlilwane Explorer - eSwatini (formerly Swaziland)
Experience Level

World Horse Welfare Mlilwane Explorer

5 star rating   28 June 2018

The horses were absolutely fantastic and I felt a great deal of care went into matching riders to the ideal horse.


Mlilwane Explorer - eSwatini (formerly Swaziland)
Experience Level

World Horse Welfare Mlilwane Explorer

5 star rating   28 June 2018

Very good, well looked after.


Mlilwane Explorer - eSwatini (formerly Swaziland)
Experience Level

Mlilwane Explorer

4 star rating   26 May 2018

Due to unfortunate (for us) downpour of rain all starting on the second evening and lasting all night into the morning we had to postpone our departure from base camp by 24 hours. This affected the speed of the ride through the forest on the following day as the ground was very slippery so unfortunately canters were severely restricted, though as the week went on we were able to 'stretch our legs' a bit more.


12 reviews