Reviews
19 reviews   
Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

5 star rating   12 June 2022

Jane who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Full of wonderful surprises | yes, exceeded expectations. Vasco took great care of his horses - those of us who have a horse, and we had an experienced vet in our group, could see the condition of backs, legs, mouth etc was excellent. The tack fitted well and great care was taken to ensure that girths/cinches were checked several times during each day's ride to accommodate up and downhill work - often very steep.
The horses were watered and fed appropriately and were all very fit and happy.
This is so important for MY enjoyment - to know the horse that is working under me is a fit, sound animal and has received the best care possible.


Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

5 star rating   12 June 2022

Annalise (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Exceeded expectations, with excellent group of people. | The terrain and vegetation, forests etc were just what I was hoping for.


Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

5 star rating   12 June 2022

Laura (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Out of this world | The scenery/ mountains/ vast plains exceeded my expectations. The terrain was steep and rough at times but these horses are so sure footed. Everything was explained to us and we were matched perfectly to our horses. I can’t explain how beautiful the mountains were from rocky outcrops to expansive plains. The wild flowers were out and Vasko gave us lots of opertunities to take plenty photos.
Food was turkey amazing as my waist has expanded. Vasko is passionate about his heritage and the way of life of shepherds high in the mountains. Nothing was a bother even when we were meant to be camping but the weather was terrible he just went to plan B. I will definitely be back. This whole experience gets 200% from me one very happy customer


Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

5 star rating   29 May 2022

Jackie who has been on 11 In The Saddle rides. Superb holiday in every aspect | The terrain was varied including woodland tracks, open mountain ascents and descents and open grassy valleys where we enjoyed some fast canters/gallops. Although it was the first trail of the season, the horses were all forward going and managed the terrain and long days (9 hours +) exceptionally well. They were all extremely well behaved.


Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

5 star rating   29 May 2022

Lorraine who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Miyak Tribe Trail | The riding exceeded expectations. Lots of fast walking as expected, but also plenty of nice canters and races in gallop! So exhilarating! The horses were always up for it, even on the toughest days!


Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

5 star rating   31 October 2021

Sara (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) A breath of fresh air | The horses are incredibly fit and sure-footed on the roughest terrain. It was a pleasure to ride them and they were always ready for a canter without ever being too forward-going. The horses are trained to walk fast and much of the ride was at this pace, although we had fast canters/gallops every day. The terrain included tracks through vast forests of beech trees and high mountain grassland pastures, with exceptional scenery and stunning views as far as Greece and Bulgaria. We brought dual purpose hiking/riding boots and these were really useful on rough terrain when we had to lead the horses. We found the Western saddles really comfortable.


Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

5 star rating   10 October 2021

Roberta who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. An amazing adventure ! | Short bursts of canters


Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

5 star rating   10 October 2021

Emily who has been on 22 In The Saddle rides. MIYAK TRIBE TRAIL | Lovely horses and very well looked after.


Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

5 star rating   10 October 2021

Christopher who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Undiscovered Country | Very well matched, forward going and fun horse.


Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

5 star rating   19 September 2021

Katy who has been on 7 In The Saddle rides. A true adventure in a wild and remote mountain region | This is a truly amazing trip. The riding was fast paced with lots of fast canters where the terrain allowed. The horses, as you said in the itinerary, have a very forward going walk and you are encouraged to maintain this rather than trot. This is a real endurance ride and being fit in and out of the saddle is important. Good (non-slip) boots that will cope with the downhill walking, when leading your horse, are also important.
I found riding in a western saddle took a bit of getting used to (first time for me), and I decided to change saddles on day 3 for a barrel racing saddle which was slightly narrower and suited me better.
The horses are incredibly fit , keen, and love to go fast but were always well behaved in canters and easy to control.

The whole set up was really well organised and the support team were fantastic.


Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

5 star rating   19 September 2021

Line Holm (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Super nice horses and absolute top fit. We rode the same horses for 6 days, up and down the mountains and they were never tired. The horses were forwardgoing, in the good way, and always ready to canter. They were surefooted and my horse only stumbled once on the 6 riding days. However, it was some long days in the saddle, so the better fit you are, the better the ride will be. Hiking boots to ride in or riding boots with a really good sole are a necessity, because when you walk and lead the horses down the hill, it goes steep down, and it can be a bit difficult terrain.


Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

5 star rating   19 September 2021

Susan who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. A totally fabulous, stunning adventure in amazing mountains. Very interesting culture and fabulously capable horses. | The riding was challenging but at just the right level. The terrain was very varied and the horses coped extremely well with it. The views were stunning every single day. The horses were very fit and footsure - perfect for the job. There was a lot of getting on and off from the ground so you need to be agile enough for that. At the end of each day you really felt like you had ridden a lot and seen a huge amount of wonderful scenery. The group I was in varied from 21 - 50 somethings and we all coped well. Not everyone had their own horses but everyone rode fairly regularly and were able to cope with the riding level.


Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

5 star rating   1 August 2021

Lesley who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Miyak Trail - Exploring off grid Macedonia | We were part of the July Miyak trail. What an awesome experience! Hardy forward going trusty horses, carried us through the beautifully unique Macedonian countryside. We stayed in comfortable hotels with good home cooked dishes but the highlight was two nights wild camping. Going to sleep in total darkness and waking up to the sound of birdsong was stunning. Dinner and breakfast cooked over an open fire was a great experience. To enjoy the trail fully you need to be very saddle fit, comfortable with full on gallop and have good riding/walking boots. Sometimes the terrain demands that you get off and lead the horse. It’s a trail for riders with an open mind and a sense of adventure.


Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

4 star rating   5 October 2019

Claudia who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Mountain Adventures | The horses are a sure footed mix of Balkan mountain horses and Arabs who are very fit and well trained with impeccable manners. My horse Fidan was a true gentleman and a joy to ride. Whilst most of the riding is done in single file you are actively encouraged to take independent control of your horse and be able to ride out of order when the terrain permits. Mostly the riding is done in a fast paced walk and you are encouraged to make the horses walk out rather than trot and are told how to achieve this. There are some short fast burst of canters within the forest trails and some glorious gallops across the plains where the horses can show their true speed! The variety of terrain leads for some interesting and challenging riding - these horses are extremely able to climb very steep slopes although you will have to lead them for short periods on some days. There are a couple of very long days in the saddle but the variety of the terrain on each day makes it worthwhile. We had exceptional weather bar the last two days when the fog descended, which meant the views across the mountains were phenomenal. It is a beautiful landscape to ride across, seeing how the traditional sheep farmers live and work, together with the huge flocks of sheep and dogs make you really feel part of another way of life.


Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

5 star rating   5 October 2019

Bertina (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Miyak Tribe Trail | It went over all expectaions for my first trip, my horse was wonderfull and steady exactly what I needed since I had not ridden much the last 15 years. I did not feel unsecure or that I held the group back.


Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

5 star rating   22 June 2019

Caroline who has been on 16 In The Saddle rides. Extraordinary horses, food and music | The horses are mountain horses and so reminded me a little of those we rode in Tibet and Kyrgyzstan. They walk fast, they gallop fast, and they don't bother with trotting or collected canter. They are extraordinarily fit. And pure pleasure to ride, not least as they are so different from the horses we ride in the UK. That contrast is a real joy to experience. I always felt very safe on my horse: it listened, it didn't just do what the horse in front did (when asked), and incredibly steady on its feet over rocks and through water. It took a bit of getting used to, and the guide was very helpful in telling us how best to use the contact.


Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

5 star rating   22 June 2019

Jules who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Truly fantastic! | Vasko, our guide, had an excellent knack of suiting each person to the right horse. He made a few switches during the week which was a great idea.
All of the tack was relatively new and well cared for.
The terrain was varied even though it was all mountain based - woodland tracks, rocky bits, grassland and trails.


Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

5 star rating   22 June 2019

Anna who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. A fantastic, exhilarating adventure | It was challenging and very enjoyable


Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

5 star rating   22 June 2019

Len who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Great Mountain Ride | The horses were very fit and willing. It was hard going at times, but they seemed to have endless energy. The variety and beauty of the landscape was breath taking. The support arrangements were very good, back up was on hand immediately if needed. The leaders were responsive and took a lot of trouble to ensure that everyone was okay. We got plenty of chances for some long and fast canters / gallops and the rides across the wildflower pastures, through the Beech woods and along the mountain ridges were about as good as it gets. The whole thing exceeded my expectations by a long way.


19 reviews