Reviews
40 reviews    1 2
Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   26 October 2019

Excellent


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   12 October 2019

Excellent


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   12 October 2019

The riding was excellent and the horses were superb! Can’t fault Katie and Mod on their ability to match people to the right horses.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   3 October 2019

Due to a severe drought, the gallops in water did not happen. That being said, the riding was great with plenty of wildlife. The camp is very nice. I can't imagine a better one, anywhere. The staff was excellent and the food amazing and delicious. Having wild animals, literally, at camp, was a wonderful experience I never tired of. The guides extensive knowledge of wildlife and birds, enriched the experience. A big variety of horses for anyone, provides suitable mounts for all. The horses were taken care of very well, as were we. I'd go back any time, loved it.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   3 October 2019

The 2 horses I rode were exactly what I asked for - I loved both of them and wouldn't have changed either of them for the world. The riding was as expected and as described and exactly what I was hoping for. Fantastic!


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   25 August 2019

Yes, the description of the riding as maintaining a fair hunting pace over varied terrain was spot on. The horses that I rode were all forward going and fit, able to maintain a fast pace over rough ground for sustained periods.
They were relaxed in the presence of game and would graze quietly whilst we took photos.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   25 August 2019

The required riding experience described in the brochure was absolutely what was required. It would be a mistake to underestimate the importance of this!


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   20 July 2019

The riding was fantastic, an excellent way to do a safari. The horses knew their job inside out. You could stand on buckle end and watch the game, wander across the floodplains and in and out of trees on a loose rein and gallop across country with ease. Bernard, our guide, knew the land exceptionally well - this allowed fast gallops, short winding canters and weaving through the trees watching the game - and we had full confidence in him that we were safe to do so.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   1 July 2019

yes, the horses were incredibly kind and well trained and SAFE. Tack (saddles) could be slightly more comfortable, but were certainly suitable.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   1 July 2019

My family and I had a wonderful time on all of your horses. When we had a concern about something, you fixed it right away. The rides themselves were beautiful and full of excitement. On the days we were feeling a little sore, our guide made our rides fun but not over taxing on our bodies. The grooms and stable manager know the horses so well and were very insightful when it came to any questions we had.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   29 June 2019

Mod, as stable manager, was brilliant at his job.
The horses are in very good condition, extremely fit and their welfare is paramount.
Over the period of a week I rode 4 horses and felt they were all ideal mounts. 3-4 different horses over a week is typical due to horses resting requirements.
If any member was struggling with their horse a suitable replacement was found immediately.
It is vital not to overstate your riding ability.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   22 June 2019

As I am recovering from a broken shoulder I requested bomb proof horses that I could trust wouldn't shy at nothing and that is what i got. Still had some fabulous canters and a few gallops so was very happy.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   22 June 2019

Riding and horses exceeded expectations


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   20 March 2019

Excellent


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   23 February 2019

I rode a total of 5 horses that were all great, forward going and well behaved but I especially liked riding little Apache, very comfortable and super-speedy. Bongwe is a fantastic guide and I really enjoyed the long fast canters in the morning rides. Saw wild dogs on the first two days and leopard 4 times which was really special. Also witnessed hyenas tucking into a giraffe kill which was like being in a wildlife documentary.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   5 January 2019

The selection of horses available is great. It was nice to ride different horses over the two weeks which added to the overall experience


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   3 January 2019

Breakfast was fine , but a little bit more variety wouldn't go amiss .


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   18 December 2018

All expectations met. As usual Mod matched us to our horses really well. I had Zorba and Blue who were comfortable and forward going with good brakes - also brave with the game. We cantered with giraffes and zebra and also, memorably, with hyenas! Not much water around (we were there in December) so not much chance for water canters. However, the lack of water meant we could travel further afield. We asked for, and got, trail saddles which we prefer for this type of riding. They were comfortable.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   30 November 2018

Excellent


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   31 October 2018

Excellent


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   23 September 2018

Excellent


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   16 September 2018

Everything we hoped for and more.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   10 September 2018

The organisation was excellent and the guides/grooms helpful and knowledgeable. Above all it was fun and those who bring it all together are to be congratulated.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   22 August 2018

The horses were in an impressive condition. It was an unforgettable experience to canter through the water next to wild animals like giraffes and zebras. Some of the horses needed a stronger hand to control during canter.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   29 July 2018

The riding was amazing - all of us were very experienced riders which meant the could make the very best of the experience.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   28 July 2018

The riding experience was awesome, thank you.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   28 July 2018

Great country,no fences, fast canters/gallops through knee deep water, sure footed horses,fearless in front of game...what's not to like!?


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   14 July 2018

Lovely horses, super fit and happy in their work. All the long splashy canters you could wish for. Wonderful game viewing - including leopard.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   14 July 2018

Due to the groups mixed abilities we had a couple of slower rides as well as some faster ones which worked well. The horses were fantastic, incredibly well looked after.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   14 July 2018

I think a little bit more time could have been spent talking to the riders about the type of horse they would like and the options open to them. And then also reviewing it each day. Although we were always asked if we liked the horse, it was just by the groom. I'm sure a lot of effort went in to trying to match us to the right horse, but a bit more discussion would have been helpful.

I know you asked us in advance about what type of horse, but as I hadnt been on a riding holiday for a very long time, I had forgotten how important this is and how much it can make a difference. its also quite difficult to find the right words to put on a form. it would be good to have some sort of multiple choice questions or on a scale of 1 to 10 or some trade offs.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   14 July 2018

Exceptional horses being ridden across amazing terrain. The best experience in the world. Exhilarating and exciting.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   26 May 2018

Excellent


40 reviews    1 2