Reviews
40 reviews    1 2
Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   1 July 2019

yes, the horses were incredibly kind and well trained and SAFE. Tack (saddles) could be slightly more comfortable, but were certainly suitable.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   1 July 2019

My family and I had a wonderful time on all of your horses. When we had a concern about something, you fixed it right away. The rides themselves were beautiful and full of excitement. On the days we were feeling a little sore, our guide made our rides fun but not over taxing on our bodies. The grooms and stable manager know the horses so well and were very insightful when it came to any questions we had.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   29 June 2019

Mod, as stable manager, was brilliant at his job.
The horses are in very good condition, extremely fit and their welfare is paramount.
Over the period of a week I rode 4 horses and felt they were all ideal mounts. 3-4 different horses over a week is typical due to horses resting requirements.
If any member was struggling with their horse a suitable replacement was found immediately.
It is vital not to overstate your riding ability.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   22 June 2019

As I am recovering from a broken shoulder I requested bomb proof horses that I could trust wouldn't shy at nothing and that is what i got. Still had some fabulous canters and a few gallops so was very happy.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   20 March 2019

Excellent


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   23 February 2019

I rode a total of 5 horses that were all great, forward going and well behaved but I especially liked riding little Apache, very comfortable and super-speedy. Bongwe is a fantastic guide and I really enjoyed the long fast canters in the morning rides. Saw wild dogs on the first two days and leopard 4 times which was really special. Also witnessed hyenas tucking into a giraffe kill which was like being in a wildlife documentary.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   5 January 2019

The selection of horses available is great. It was nice to ride different horses over the two weeks which added to the overall experience


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   3 January 2019

Breakfast was fine , but a little bit more variety wouldn't go amiss .


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   18 December 2018

All expectations met. As usual Mod matched us to our horses really well. I had Zorba and Blue who were comfortable and forward going with good brakes - also brave with the game. We cantered with giraffes and zebra and also, memorably, with hyenas! Not much water around (we were there in December) so not much chance for water canters. However, the lack of water meant we could travel further afield. We asked for, and got, trail saddles which we prefer for this type of riding. They were comfortable.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   30 November 2018

Excellent


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   31 October 2018

Excellent


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

4 star rating   23 September 2018

I have two observations/suggestions regarding tack:

Firstly, it is quite inconvenient that no saddle savers are provided/offered. I understand the need for the synthetic saddles as a result of the wet conditions but we felt that it would not have been hard for the camp to carry a couple of spare saddle savers for those few guests who may request them. We took our own but this does take up quite a lot of the limited weight and space in bags.

Secondly, the condition of the tack. Again, I understand the use synthetic tack for bridles and saddles; reins and stirrup leathers being the only leather tack. Therefore I found it a little disappointing that there was not better care taken for these. We often rode with reins (which were originally plaited), which were frayed to the point that they were getting caught on gloves, other tack and clothing. We often found the reins tied together with bits of elastic and tape and very twisted. Also, out cantering fast once a stirrup leather broke as it was simply too old and warn.

Considering the cost of this holiday, we felt that there should be seat savers offered and that it wouldn't take a great deal of time to ensure that the little leather tack there is is better cared for.

Regarding the riding:

I feel most of our party was happy the majority of the time.
I only had one concern. One morning we were sent out with three horses in our group that all kicked which caused some uncomfortable moments when they would buck mid canter when cantering in a line. One of the horses was kicked quite hard and one kicked at the horse my mother was riding and caught her just below her knee which resulted in a very nasty bruise. Perhaps fewer kickers all out on the same ride would be advisable.

Otherwise we were all very happy with the riding and the condition of the horses.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   23 September 2018

Excellent


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   16 September 2018

Everything we hoped for and more.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   10 September 2018

The organisation was excellent and the guides/grooms helpful and knowledgeable. Above all it was fun and those who bring it all together are to be congratulated.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   22 August 2018

The horses were in an impressive condition. It was an unforgettable experience to canter through the water next to wild animals like giraffes and zebras. Some of the horses needed a stronger hand to control during canter.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   29 July 2018

The riding was amazing - all of us were very experienced riders which meant the could make the very best of the experience.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   28 July 2018

The riding experience was awesome, thank you.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   28 July 2018

Great country,no fences, fast canters/gallops through knee deep water, sure footed horses,fearless in front of game...what's not to like!?


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   14 July 2018

Lovely horses, super fit and happy in their work. All the long splashy canters you could wish for. Wonderful game viewing - including leopard.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   14 July 2018

Due to the groups mixed abilities we had a couple of slower rides as well as some faster ones which worked well. The horses were fantastic, incredibly well looked after.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   14 July 2018

I think a little bit more time could have been spent talking to the riders about the type of horse they would like and the options open to them. And then also reviewing it each day. Although we were always asked if we liked the horse, it was just by the groom. I'm sure a lot of effort went in to trying to match us to the right horse, but a bit more discussion would have been helpful.

I know you asked us in advance about what type of horse, but as I hadnt been on a riding holiday for a very long time, I had forgotten how important this is and how much it can make a difference. its also quite difficult to find the right words to put on a form. it would be good to have some sort of multiple choice questions or on a scale of 1 to 10 or some trade offs.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   14 July 2018

Exceptional horses being ridden across amazing terrain. The best experience in the world. Exhilarating and exciting.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   26 May 2018

Excellent


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   18 May 2018

The riding and gaming viewing from the horses was brilliant. The horses were well matched with the requested we’d put in. Only downside is when other guests have inflated views on their riding ability and struggle to cope with the fast pace on various terrains, this can have an impact on everyone else on the ride.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   12 May 2018

I was given two horses (Fartal and Macoco) who suited me perfectly. They were both calm, well mannered horses, which did not shy despite other horses around them shying. I felt safe on both of them.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   20 April 2018

I would have liked a slightly faster pace, but this was very much limited to the others in the group so not the fault of the guides etc
Horses were amazingly well looked after, this was the most impressive. I saw no girth galls, they were all happy healthy horses that work hard but get a lot of rest.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   31 March 2018

Macatoo tack quality not great-- chiefly on the comfort front. Most rides were good, fast-paced. Can see how when lodge more crowded rides could be catered to slower pace with larger group.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   15 March 2018

Fantastically trained horses, for every taste and ability. Impressive!


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   4 January 2018

Great horses, groups of riders were appropriate for experience.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   29 December 2017

Excellent


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   25 November 2017

Good to be with an experienced group. Plenty of fast-paced gallops, In and out of water. Not challenging riding, except if something happens with the game. Horses will all stick together, so no independent riding.


40 reviews    1 2