Reviews
43 reviews    1 2
Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   11 June 2022

Louise who has been on 9 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous as always | Excellent


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   22 May 2022

Theresa (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Enjoyed every minute | Was lovely to see so many horses and all so happy, living a very natural life with plenty of turn out (with careful protection) and no horses overworked. The Head Groom (Mud) was very knowledgeable about each horse and could discuss them as individuals around their characteristics and way of going. All of the Guide Leads (Chief) equally had a good knowledge of each horse - which is very helpful for the riders. It is clear to see they are very fond of the horses and care about their well being and happiness. Each of the grooms were very polite with big smiles when you came to get on and off the horses. The riding was exceptional - such beautiful country along side a Guide Lead who clearly has great tracking skills and knowledge to find and approach all the animals in the most careful and gentle way, giving the riders the very best experience of viewing whilst also feeling safe.


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   22 May 2022

Lorraine who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Absolutely amazing ! | Once you had learned how to ride them on a long rein, grazing as and when they wanted, and heads were straight down when they stopped they were great. They were all very responsive and a pleasure to ride. Due to the length of time in the saddle it was also helpful to lengthen your stirrups a bit to help with knee and ankle strains.


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   22 May 2022

Caroline (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) A dream come by true | Our high expectations were exceeded.
Mod at Macatoo perfectly matched our experience and personalities with fit well behaved well looked after horses


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   22 May 2022

Samantha (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Amazing! | All the horses are so well cared for. A huge range of horses. The riding was out of this world. It exceeded my expectations for sure!
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday at Macatoo.]


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   20 April 2022

Flora (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Macatoo - Loads of fun! | The riding was excellent - we cantered and even galloped. Cantering with zebras is an unforgettable experience. Horses were good and well cared.


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

4 star rating   5 January 2022

Nicola (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Macatoo - The Okavango Delta on horseback is always magical! | Staff were lovely, friendly and knowledgeable, and honestly this made a lot of the trip for me. Katie is great, as is Mod, Bernie, Thabo and Chief. I liked that guides eat and socialise with you beyond riding / guiding. I liked the effort to eat in different locations, and enthusiasm to go out in the car when makes sense (i.e. having seen lions on horseback).
I'd prefer a bit more mixed pace on the riding. It's quite a set formula - 90% walking with a few long canters in the morning or a couple of trots in the evening ride. Horses were also generally wonderful, clearly kept in good healthy condition and happy. Some horses perhaps could benefit from additional schooling.


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   1 January 2022

Caroline (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Macatoo - The most incredible holiday with fantastic horses, stunning wildlife and nature | The riding was fantastic and I was very spoilt in the range of horses I was given. I loved riding them all and they looked after me, but you definitely need to know how to ride as they were forward and sensitive to commands. It exceeded all my expectations and more.


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   24 September 2021

Sabine who has been on 10 In The Saddle rides. Awesome as usual 😉 | Excellent


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   10 September 2021

Fika who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Unforgettable | Absolutely. the horse "Brandberg" needed a lot of prodding when walking, but was comfortable in trotting and cantering.


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   2 November 2019

Ann who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. an amazing bucket list trip | The horses were superb; brave, forward going and fit, responsive, well cared for and comfortable. The riding allowed you to observe the habitats and wildlife with minimal disruption and intrusion, which makes these safaris unique. Some of the game were oblivious to our presence, others inquisitive, some appeared to enjoy our company (the zebra) and we really appreciated the opportunity to 'take time, watch, listen and learn' under the expert and ever watchful eye our guide Bernie. If you didn't gel with your horse, or wanted one a tad slower or faster, Mod sorted you out with another trusty steed for the next ride, there were plenty to chose from. Whilst there was no opportunity for splashy canters, the dry terrain created opportunities for fast canters across the open plains, which were exhilarating.


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   26 October 2019

Ruth who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Exceeding My Expectations | Excellent


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   12 October 2019

Helen who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Excellent


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   12 October 2019

Andrea who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Holiday of a life time (Part II) | The riding was excellent and the horses were superb! Can’t fault Katie and Mod on their ability to match people to the right horses.


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   3 October 2019

Belinda who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Amazing Africa | Due to a severe drought, the gallops in water did not happen. That being said, the riding was great with plenty of wildlife. The camp is very nice. I can't imagine a better one, anywhere. The staff was excellent and the food amazing and delicious. Having wild animals, literally, at camp, was a wonderful experience I never tired of. The guides extensive knowledge of wildlife and birds, enriched the experience. A big variety of horses for anyone, provides suitable mounts for all. The horses were taken care of very well, as were we. I'd go back any time, loved it.


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   3 October 2019

Vivienne who has been on 16 In The Saddle rides. Fab-u-lous!!! | The 2 horses I rode were exactly what I asked for - I loved both of them and wouldn't have changed either of them for the world. The riding was as expected and as described and exactly what I was hoping for. Fantastic!


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   25 August 2019

Gillian (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Breathtaking! | Yes, the description of the riding as maintaining a fair hunting pace over varied terrain was spot on. The horses that I rode were all forward going and fit, able to maintain a fast pace over rough ground for sustained periods.
They were relaxed in the presence of game and would graze quietly whilst we took photos.


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   25 August 2019

Alison (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Beyond my expectations. | The required riding experience described in the brochure was absolutely what was required. It would be a mistake to underestimate the importance of this!


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   20 July 2019

Walker Family (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Exceeding all expectations, wonderful hosts - unbelievable amount of game! | The riding was fantastic, an excellent way to do a safari. The horses knew their job inside out. You could stand on buckle end and watch the game, wander across the floodplains and in and out of trees on a loose rein and gallop across country with ease. Bernard, our guide, knew the land exceptionally well - this allowed fast gallops, short winding canters and weaving through the trees watching the game - and we had full confidence in him that we were safe to do so.


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   1 July 2019

Adam (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Trip of a lifetime | yes, the horses were incredibly kind and well trained and SAFE. Tack (saddles) could be slightly more comfortable, but were certainly suitable.


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   1 July 2019

Family Safari Adventure (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Amazing | My family and I had a wonderful time on all of your horses. When we had a concern about something, you fixed it right away. The rides themselves were beautiful and full of excitement. On the days we were feeling a little sore, our guide made our rides fun but not over taxing on our bodies. The grooms and stable manager know the horses so well and were very insightful when it came to any questions we had.


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   29 June 2019

Louisa (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) An outstanding adventure that more than exceeded our high expectation | Mod, as stable manager, was brilliant at his job.
The horses are in very good condition, extremely fit and their welfare is paramount.
Over the period of a week I rode 4 horses and felt they were all ideal mounts. 3-4 different horses over a week is typical due to horses resting requirements.
If any member was struggling with their horse a suitable replacement was found immediately.
It is vital not to overstate your riding ability.


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   22 June 2019

Mad about Macatoo who has been on 9 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous as ever | As I am recovering from a broken shoulder I requested bomb proof horses that I could trust wouldn't shy at nothing and that is what i got. Still had some fabulous canters and a few gallops so was very happy.


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   22 June 2019

Debbie (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Amazing | Riding and horses exceeded expectations


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   20 March 2019

Neil who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous! | Excellent


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   23 February 2019

Vivien who has been on 34 In The Saddle rides. Macatoo - Botswana | I rode a total of 5 horses that were all great, forward going and well behaved but I especially liked riding little Apache, very comfortable and super-speedy. Bongwe is a fantastic guide and I really enjoyed the long fast canters in the morning rides. Saw wild dogs on the first two days and leopard 4 times which was really special. Also witnessed hyenas tucking into a giraffe kill which was like being in a wildlife documentary.


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   5 January 2019

Mandy who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Amazing experience | The selection of horses available is great. It was nice to ride different horses over the two weeks which added to the overall experience


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   3 January 2019

Michael who has been on 7 In The Saddle rides. Riding safari | Breakfast was fine , but a little bit more variety wouldn't go amiss .


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   18 December 2018

Linda P who has been on 18 In The Saddle rides. Botswana Macatoo | All expectations met. As usual Mod matched us to our horses really well. I had Zorba and Blue who were comfortable and forward going with good brakes - also brave with the game. We cantered with giraffes and zebra and also, memorably, with hyenas! Not much water around (we were there in December) so not much chance for water canters. However, the lack of water meant we could travel further afield. We asked for, and got, trail saddles which we prefer for this type of riding. They were comfortable.


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   30 November 2018

ToMac2018 who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Amazing | Excellent


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   31 October 2018

Max (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Macatoo Riding Camp | Excellent


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

4 star rating   23 September 2018

Lydia (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Macatoo | I have two observations/suggestions regarding tack:

Firstly, it is quite inconvenient that no saddle savers are provided/offered. I understand the need for the synthetic saddles as a result of the wet conditions but we felt that it would not have been hard for the camp to carry a couple of spare saddle savers for those few guests who may request them. We took our own but this does take up quite a lot of the limited weight and space in bags.

Secondly, the condition of the tack. Again, I understand the use synthetic tack for bridles and saddles; reins and stirrup leathers being the only leather tack. Therefore I found it a little disappointing that there was not better care taken for these. We often rode with reins (which were originally plaited), which were frayed to the point that they were getting caught on gloves, other tack and clothing. We often found the reins tied together with bits of elastic and tape and very twisted. Also, out cantering fast once a stirrup leather broke as it was simply too old and warn.

Considering the cost of this holiday, we felt that there should be seat savers offered and that it wouldn't take a great deal of time to ensure that the little leather tack there is is better cared for.

Regarding the riding:

I feel most of our party was happy the majority of the time.
I only had one concern. One morning we were sent out with three horses in our group that all kicked which caused some uncomfortable moments when they would buck mid canter when cantering in a line. One of the horses was kicked quite hard and one kicked at the horse my mother was riding and caught her just below her knee which resulted in a very nasty bruise. Perhaps fewer kickers all out on the same ride would be advisable.

Otherwise we were all very happy with the riding and the condition of the horses.


43 reviews    1 2