Reviews
28 reviews   
Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

4 star rating   15 October 2018

I have two observations/suggestions regarding tack:

Firstly, it is quite inconvenient that no saddle savers are provided/offered. I understand the need for the synthetic saddles as a result of the wet conditions but we felt that it would not have been hard for the camp to carry a couple of spare saddle savers for those few guests who may request them. We took our own but this does take up quite a lot of the limited weight and space in bags.

Secondly, the condition of the tack. Again, I understand the use synthetic tack for bridles and saddles; reins and stirrup leathers being the only leather tack. Therefore I found it a little disappointing that there was not better care taken for these. We often rode with reins (which were originally plaited), which were frayed to the point that they were getting caught on gloves, other tack and clothing. We often found the reins tied together with bits of elastic and tape and very twisted. Also, out cantering fast once a stirrup leather broke as it was simply too old and warn.

Considering the cost of this holiday, we felt that there should be seat savers offered and that it wouldn't take a great deal of time to ensure that the little leather tack there is is better cared for.

Regarding the riding:

I feel most of our party was happy the majority of the time.
I only had one concern. One morning we were sent out with three horses in our group that all kicked which caused some uncomfortable moments when they would buck mid canter when cantering in a line. One of the horses was kicked quite hard and one kicked at the horse my mother was riding and caught her just below her knee which resulted in a very nasty bruise. Perhaps fewer kickers all out on the same ride would be advisable.

Otherwise we were all very happy with the riding and the condition of the horses.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   30 September 2018

Everything we hoped for and more.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   14 September 2018

The organisation was excellent and the guides/grooms helpful and knowledgeable. Above all it was fun and those who bring it all together are to be congratulated.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   29 August 2018

The horses were in an impressive condition. It was an unforgettable experience to canter through the water next to wild animals like giraffes and zebras. Some of the horses needed a stronger hand to control during canter.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   10 August 2018

Great country,no fences, fast canters/gallops through knee deep water, sure footed horses,fearless in front of game...what's not to like!?


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   7 August 2018

The riding experience was awesome, thank you.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   6 August 2018

Lovely horses, super fit and happy in their work. All the long splashy canters you could wish for. Wonderful game viewing - including leopard.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   19 July 2018

I think a little bit more time could have been spent talking to the riders about the type of horse they would like and the options open to them. And then also reviewing it each day. Although we were always asked if we liked the horse, it was just by the groom. I'm sure a lot of effort went in to trying to match us to the right horse, but a bit more discussion would have been helpful.

I know you asked us in advance about what type of horse, but as I hadnt been on a riding holiday for a very long time, I had forgotten how important this is and how much it can make a difference. its also quite difficult to find the right words to put on a form. it would be good to have some sort of multiple choice questions or on a scale of 1 to 10 or some trade offs.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   18 July 2018

Due to the groups mixed abilities we had a couple of slower rides as well as some faster ones which worked well. The horses were fantastic, incredibly well looked after.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   17 July 2018

Exceptional horses being ridden across amazing terrain. The best experience in the world. Exhilarating and exciting.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   22 May 2018

The riding and gaming viewing from the horses was brilliant. The horses were well matched with the requested we’d put in. Only downside is when other guests have inflated views on their riding ability and struggle to cope with the fast pace on various terrains, this can have an impact on everyone else on the ride.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   15 May 2018

I was given two horses (Fartal and Macoco) who suited me perfectly. They were both calm, well mannered horses, which did not shy despite other horses around them shying. I felt safe on both of them.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   25 April 2018

I would have liked a slightly faster pace, but this was very much limited to the others in the group so not the fault of the guides etc
Horses were amazingly well looked after, this was the most impressive. I saw no girth galls, they were all happy healthy horses that work hard but get a lot of rest.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   13 April 2018

Macatoo tack quality not great-- chiefly on the comfort front. Most rides were good, fast-paced. Can see how when lodge more crowded rides could be catered to slower pace with larger group.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   21 March 2018

Fantastically trained horses, for every taste and ability. Impressive!


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   8 January 2018

Great horses, groups of riders were appropriate for experience.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   8 January 2018

Botswana is wild. We were alone out in the wilderness. When you fly in you realize how far apart the camps are in the Okavanga Delta and you will never see another person beyond those in the camp.

On horseback we saw many elephants, wild dogs, hippos, giraffes, zebras, warthogs, antelopes... We almost saw a leopard but he ran away faster than we could turn and look when the guide shouted. They prefer not to take you to the big cats on horseback, but by jeep I had encounters with two prides and two solo mothers with babes. I also got a good look at an 8 month old male leopard up in a tree.

I stayed for an entire week at Macatoo and was glad I chose to do that, rather than go from camp to camp. I mostly rode - the 1.5 relaxed rides in the evening and 3.5-4 hour energetic rides in the morning. It was nice to occasionally rest in the jeep and it's also better for taking pictures.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   5 December 2017

Good to be with an experienced group. Plenty of fast-paced gallops, In and out of water. Not challenging riding, except if something happens with the game. Horses will all stick together, so no independent riding.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   26 October 2017

We really enjoyed the experience. The staff did their best to match us with the right horses, and we all had several favorite horses. Definitely, the trip exceeded our expectations.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   17 October 2017

Horses were excellent. Very fit and happy forward going. Well matched to the rider.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   14 August 2017

Exhilarating riding, especially across the water. Fast in the mornings and slower in the evenings ideal for cameras Plenty of game including elephant, buffalo and giraffe in the camp itself. The changes in terrain need you to be fit and have a good sense of balance in canter .Two very different horses for the week both clearly enjoying their job.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   11 August 2017

The riding is fantastic at Macatoo. The horses were excellent quality, very well cared for and all the ones I rode were well suited to me. I rode a grey Arab cross that was powerful and fast without being strong and he was a joy to ride. I also rode several other horses who were lovely as well. The riding is super fun with lots of splashy canters and twisting and turning through the bush. It was incredible to get so close to the animals who were amazingly relaxed with the horses. Getting so close to elephants is something I will never forget!


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   30 June 2017

I loved all my horses. I rode 3 different ones. The care of the horses and the riders was absolutely supreme on this trip. Could fault nothing.

The riding included quite long and fast canters at times, quite "tough" riding as we are not used to jiggling and squiggling in canter through undergrowth/uneven ground with logs/obstacles etc. Riding in the water was amazing. I have never experienced anything like this. Sometimes I was nearly swimming when I had a small horse. Long canters in quite deep water so the horse almost had to jump in and out. Wading through deep water, water in over my boots, water weed stuck in my shoes, wet pants! Like nothing else I have done before. Amazing. Got soaked each day from head to foot. Splashing and giggling, sometimes hard to stay on slippy/bouncy, so quite hard work to ride but soooo much fun. Tiring! Advice would be chaps and short rubber boots with no lining (my linings disintegrated completely). Boots don't dry overnight so you definitely need 2 pairs. Old ones you can trash would be best 🙂

I will treasure the memories of this trip forever. We saw so much game too!


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   16 June 2017

The horses at Macatoo are extremely fit, healthy and a pleasure to ride. Their fitness level is all the more amazing considering they spend hours each day cantering over uneven, sandy ground and through large expanses of water. The yard manager and his team do an incredible job. I was impressed with the tidiness of the tack room and the condition of the tack too.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   25 May 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed all the riding - the horses were absolutely superb - they were forward going but all you had to do to steady the pace a little or come down from canter to trot was simply sit up a little and alter your balance a tad. I found all the horses to be very responsive - I rode seven different ones ranging from a Percheron to an ex-racehorse but they all responded to subtle aids. Without doubt the Macatoo horses are the fittest and most polite I have ridden.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   24 May 2017

Lovely horses. Superb condition. Great grooms. Excellent tack. Very happy.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   23 December 2016

Whilst I accept this was sold as 'experienced' riders only, I think a quiet conversation ahead of the first ride-out with the selected horse in sight, would be beneficial.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   30 November -0001

The riding was amazing - all of us were very experienced riders which meant the could make the very best of the experience.


28 reviews