Reviews
115 reviews    1 2 3 4
Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   26 May 2019

Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   19 May 2019

Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   14 April 2019

Great horses - very fast gallops on the beach but felt safe too.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Short Break

5 star rating   24 March 2019

Very helpful and attentive guides with great knowledge of the area. Good to match horse and rider according to temperament and ability. Willing to change horse if the rider does not think it works.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Short Break

5 star rating   24 March 2019

It exceeded my expectations, what a wonderful holiday. It was just brilliant.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   24 March 2019

The riding was excellent-- faster than I had expected (a good number of flat out gallops over the week), on exceptionally well-trained and responsive horses. They really go, but they also stop!


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Short Break

5 star rating   24 March 2019

Riding was more advanced than intermediate (which suited me fine) but other less experienced/less confident riders may find the (many gallops) a little frightening. The beach ride was a particular breath taking highlight. The horses appeared very well looked after and all seemed to enjoy the faster work.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Short Break

5 star rating   24 March 2019

The riding is excellent for those who prefer a faster pace. The beach was totally awesome & Karim was the best fun with bags of energy! I thoroughly enjoyed this trip but could see how nervous or less experienced riders could be out of their comfort zone.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   24 March 2019

Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Short Break

5 star rating   24 March 2019

The riding through the forest and on the beach was excellant, with peaceful walks and fabulous gallops.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Short Break

5 star rating   17 March 2019

Riding is on beautiful terrain with very little road work and the beach ride was wonderful. The riding is exciting enough but not hugely strenuous and the hours per day relatively light (about 3 hours) compared to some other trips - so do consider alternative entertainment for the odd afternoon especially if the weathers not great - there’s on site Yoga classes and massages available if booked in advance.

Horses in great condition and very well cared for.

Food and service very good. Consider flying to Jerez (easyJet Gatwick) as Malaga transfers very long and co-ordinating with other riders meant it took me 12 hours to get back to London…


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   24 February 2019

Good variety at all paces. The horses were well chosen for the rider and were fit, forward and carefully prepared so that each rider could have the horse he or she was best suited to. The guides were careful to make sure that the horses and riders were cared for throughout.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   10 February 2019

Was as articulated.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

2 star rating   8 January 2019

The riding was a bit one-note compared to our previous experience with the dolphin trail in Portugal (which was brilliant) - most of the time was spent walking in single file on very tight woodland tracks which wasn't that conducive to chatting, punctuated with short spells on the beach and firebreak. It would've been great to spend more time riding around the town next to the beach, as I think we all found it really interesting to see the houses there and something that wasn't forest!

[In The Saddle Comment: Los Alamos is based in a forested area and so much of the riding is based on forest tracks. However there are lots of open spaces where people chat if they want to. The rides are not around the town because the vast majority of clients prefer the serenity of being away from houses.]

The main, and rather unusual note I have is on the business model that the farm seems to be run on. Many of the customers end up buying the horses which then stay in Spain for training, before being taken back to the UK. Half of the group were new, and we all collectively found this rather strange.

There seemed to be some pressure to buy, and in-fact two sales were made over the week we were there. It's obviously a great model for the owners – customers buy horses and then pay for their keep in Spain while other customers ride them, but we felt a little bit uneasy about the whole thing

Myself and one other guest rode horses that both reared on a couple of occasions – this was fine for us, but I don't feel the standard of horse is as high as was drummed into us (rather exhaustingly) throughout the week.

[In The Saddle comment: Los Alamos do occasionally sell their horses but this is no more than 3 or 4 horses a year and is definitely not a business focus. We have checked our records and by coincidence on this particular week (September 2018) the other guests had previously bought horses from Los Alamos and two of the group were specifically in Spain to buy horses and so we can see how this could have left you with the impression that it was a key focus for Los Alamos.

We are surprised and sorry to read that your horses reared on occasion. This is very unusual feedback on Los Alamos horses. All incidents such as this would be logged and we hadn't been informed that any horses were misbehaving.]


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Christmas Week

4 star rating   29 December 2018

I am suffering from a hip problem which is made worse when riding narrow horses. Unfortunately the "chunkier" ones like Sarita and India were being used by less experienced riders. I had the lovely Sancho for a few days but he then injured himself in the paddock . So I had Shukran - who I adore. But he is very narrow and caused my hip pain to worsen which meant I couldn't actually ride on Christmas day and had to finish at lunchtime another day. They need another Sarita type please


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Christmas Week

5 star rating   29 December 2018

The hosts are brilliant. The riding is great, especially for good riders. Plenty of time to chill out, enjoy and take in the day's riding. So far so good, please keep it to competent riders and not beginners please. Thank you all at In the Saddle for all your help, patience and advice over the years.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Christmas Week

5 star rating   29 December 2018

Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   25 November 2018

The riding blew my expectations out of the water, it was amazing! What I really loved was that we had so many opportunities to canter and gallop. it really was amazing. The horses are fantastic and the guides are fabulous.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   25 November 2018

Rachel is a veritable magician at matching her variety of "guest-proof," sure-footed, extraordinarily fit set of horses to visitors. Everyone in our group had mounts that perfectly suited not just riding ability but personality, with the result that every single one of us would have taken our horse home in a heartbeat.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Short Break

5 star rating   25 November 2018

Riding and horses fantastic as usual, Rachel is so good at knowing which horses you like to ride and everyone in the group was very happy.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   18 November 2018

Met all expectations


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   18 November 2018

As always Rachel matched me brilliantly with 2 fantastic horses, Camboria and Vaquero. Speed with sense and breaks perfect!


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   18 November 2018

I was matched to a horse of my riding ability. I am a nervous rider so I was very happy with Sarita


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Short Break

5 star rating   11 November 2018

Had the pleasure of riding a lovely, well mannered horse, perfectly matched for what I asked for.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Short Break

5 star rating   11 November 2018

I’ve been going to Los Alamos once or twice a year since the holiday was first available.
I’ve never been disappointed.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   4 November 2018

Andrew, Rhiannon and Rachel really made you feel relaxed and at home. Vinny was a star taking the photos. not forgetting Jim who picked us up at the airport. Rachel really put me at ease as I was very nervous that first day. My horse Hercules was a real star, looking after me so well. Not forgetting our guides Jose and Roberto [toy boy]. roll on new year when we will be back.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   4 November 2018

I had very high expectations, having been before, and they were fully met. The outstanding features are the high quality and well schooled horses, the lovely surroundings (with plenty of scope for canters and gallops) and the tasty and varied meals.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

4 star rating   28 October 2018

The horses were an absolute 10/10. loved them and the footing/terrain/ and the beach- so, so fun. Rachel was fantastic.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   28 October 2018

My three horses were excellent and I enjoyed riding them very much. They were well trained and responsive.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   28 October 2018

The riding was exceptional. To gallop on the ocean and through forests and down sand dunes was glorious.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   28 October 2018

Rachel knows her horses very well and was excellent in allocating the right horse to the right person. She ensured that the rides were interesting and at the right speed for all riders.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   28 October 2018

Met and exceeded all my expectations! Everything was great - horses, tack, guide, accommodations, food, variety of riding terrain - and a special nod to hosts Andrew, Rhianna, and Rachael whose generous hospitality was unflagging in every aspect


115 reviews    1 2 3 4