Reviews
114 reviews    1 2 3 4
Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   24 November 2019

Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   24 November 2019

The horses are a dream, beautiful Spanish horses perfectly matched to each rider, Rachel is a genius at knowing which would suit you best.


Los Alamos - Spain

Short Break

5 star rating   17 November 2019

Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   10 November 2019

Los Alamos has fabulous well bred and trained horses.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   10 November 2019

I loved the riding but could have ridden for longer, but realise it is hard work in the sand for the horses.


Los Alamos - Spain

Short Break

5 star rating   3 November 2019

I started riding after having my youngest son. Having not ridden before it was a bumpy ride, but the dream was always to gallop across a beach. Seven years on and at the age of 52, have achieved just that. With long canters through the woods, and galloping in the fire tracks and on the beach, I couldn't have wished for more.
Hercules was forwards, but secure, and I felt completely safe in every pace.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   3 November 2019

I have been before so knew what to expect and it was brilliant. Will probably visit again at some point in the future but fancy a riding holiday to Iceland next.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   3 November 2019

What a team. Thank you so much Rachel, Jose and Roberto. Everything was perfect.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   27 October 2019

Lovely horses - well trained & cared for. Varied rides each day with plenty of opportunities for a canter / gallop. Great to be able to ride on the beach. Looked after really well by Rachel, Jose and Roberto.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   27 October 2019

I had been quite anxious before arriving at Los Alamos as I haven’t a great deal of trekking experience. I needn’t have worried. Rachel, who owns these wonderful Spanish horses, is a very experienced judge of the right matches between horse & rider which means that everyone gets to ride the horse most suited to them. The countryside is beautiful & the beach riding very enjoyable. The most magical ride was riding through the woods in the dark & emerging on to the beach at sunrise. The light was amazing.
The guides were fantastic, very careful but without any fussing. Plenty of fast paces to suit everyone but also allowing us time to wander quietly through the woods to soak up their silence. It also taught me a lot about trusting your horse to do the best thing as they know the terrain so well. It was a marvellous experience all round & greatly exceeded my expectations.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   20 October 2019

I was very lucky as Rachel found me a different horse to ride on each of the six days (we were given an extra day riding too!) - this was fantastic and I really appreciated her going to this trouble.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   13 October 2019

The high points of my week at Los Alamos were the gallops along the beach, but I have many other wonderful memories as well. I rode Camboria all week and was completely in love with her from the first day. The guides took good care of us and the horses were all very well cared for.

On the less than perfect side, the biting insects were definitely a problem and the extremely dry trails meant that lots of dust was kicked up when we did anything faster than walking.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   13 October 2019

Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   29 September 2019

Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

4 star rating   29 September 2019

Yes, it met my expectation.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   22 September 2019

The riding was excellent with very good safety standards provided by the guides (Jose and Roberto). I could have wished for a couple of more hours of riding each day, but understand the length of the ride is to take good care of the horses.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   22 September 2019

The riding at Los Alamos is so fun and Rachel is great when it comes to matching horse and rider! All of my group were happy with the horses, they have a lot of energy!


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   22 September 2019

Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   22 September 2019

The riding is excellent. Lovely walks in great scenery mixed with canter and lovely gallops. Very well kept horses which is a joy to be around.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   22 September 2019

Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   22 September 2019

Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   8 September 2019

Please add any further comments on the riding e.g. did it meet your expectations: Totally happy with the overall experience. Rachel matched me with the very best horse for my ability with the promise that “he would take care of me” and he did just that! I felt so safe even at a gallop. It was a riding experience never to be forgotten. Our guides, Hosea and Roberto, were knowledgeable, professional, caring and fun.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   8 September 2019

Yes it did. I rode two horses and they were both rideable and fun. The pace was fast at times but I was always well within my comfort zone and the guides made sure were all prepared and ready for the canters and gallops on the varied terrain. Rachel made a point of talking to us at the yard the day we arrived about our experience and our aspirations for the week and was always interested in how each ride went.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   8 September 2019

The riding is wonderful , exhilarating canters and gallops . Beautiful peaceful walking through the forest . Amazing beach rides . This experience always surpasses my expectations .


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   8 September 2019

I was given another fab horse that I kept for the week who was both fun, fast and friendly and liked all the bread sticks I had smuggled out in my suitcase. There was 10 of us riding plus the 2 guides and all the horses were great, I don't think you'd be disappointed with any of them. They are well cared for and enjoy the rides.


Los Alamos - Spain

Short Break

5 star rating   25 August 2019

Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain

Short Break

5 star rating   14 July 2019

The Andalucian Arabs were amazing, sure footed and fast, the rides were so much fun and the views amazing, loved the terain of the forest. I’ll be going back again.


Los Alamos - Spain

Short Break

5 star rating   14 July 2019

Yet again the holiday exceeded all expectations. Riding was superb horses excellent Rachel, Jose and Roberto were thoughtful and matched me perfectly to the horse.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   7 July 2019

Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain

Short Break - Sunday to Thursday

5 star rating   4 July 2019

The only disagreement in group all week,was which was best, beach gallop, rollercoaster (got to try it!) Or fire break gallop???, we just couldn't decide, fortunately you get to do them all.

Wonderful horses, perfectly matched to each person's needs, I had Camboria and Hercules who are both lovely, speed with brains. Special note to Camboria who took me from calm as you like walk at start of gallop, and then flew all the way down the fire break, no better feeling!


Los Alamos - Spain

Short Break - Sunday to Thursday

5 star rating   4 July 2019

Riding at Los Alamos was quite literally the best holiday i've ever had. The riding was varied and so much fun. Lots of long walks through the forest which were then interspersed with fast canters and gallops as and when the guides advised us. The guides always always kept us fully informed and ensured everyone was ready for whatever we were about to do. The horses were matched to the riders impeccably. The first day was a slightly slower pace as everyone got used to their horses, although still lots of cantering through the forest. The second day was the beach ride day and the horses although very up for the speed were so well mannered and galloped beautifully alongside the waves. Such an awesome experience first thing in the morning, my heart got so full it almost spilled out of my eyes! Then afterwards we went for breakfast and I felt a little sad that the beach ride was done, however to my amazement our lovely guide then announced he was taking us on what they refer to as the roller coaster. This was basically fast going down the sand dunes. It was amazing!! Best experience ever!! I'd never ridden fast down hill until then, but needless to say at the end of it I was wanting to do more! The final day we got to race on one of the fire breaks. I was somewhat blessed with a little horse called Shukran, a gorgeous flea bitten grey and oh my goodness can he fly! His walk was so laid back and chilled I could have fallen asleep on him but boy oh boy when he got onto the fire break, again he was super polite and just sat behind the others quite happily until I found a gap and got up out of the saddle and by nothing more than voice and lifting off his back asked him to go go go!! He flew so fast I'm surprised he didn't sprout wings!!! Literally the best experience of my life as he sped up to be with the front runners. That is why my review is headed as it is, because riding Shukran was quite simply a few minutes of heaven to enjoy on earth. Most amazing experience ever. There is absolutely no doubt I'll be going back again and again.


Los Alamos - Spain

Short Break - Sunday to Thursday

5 star rating   4 July 2019

The riding experience for my daughter was excellent. She thoroughly enjoyed the holiday and would love to return.
I had great confidence in Rachel at the stables. She was very competent around and with the horses and gave me a real security in her ability.


114 reviews    1 2 3 4