Reviews
82 reviews    1 2 3
Los Alamos - Spain

Christmas Week

5 star rating   28 December 2021

who has been on In The Saddle rides. Utterly wonderful | The horses were wonderful. Very well behaved and trained, with wonderful personalities. They were chosen very well for each guest. The scenery is fantastic and there was ample opportunities for long canters and gallops. Just perfect!


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   12 December 2021

Rachel who has been on 19 In The Saddle rides. Absolutely perfect | Lovely mix of pottering around the forest with some speedy canters and gallops thrown in, not forgetting the wonderful beach rides.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   21 November 2021

Rosemary who has been on 38 In The Saddle rides. Consistently good riding and hospitality | My fifth time at Los A, so I knew what to expect. Lovely horses, great people, and a very relaxed atmosphere.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   21 November 2021

Julie who has been on 10 In The Saddle rides. Los Alamos - Fabulous | Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain

Short Break - Sunday to Thursday

5 star rating   11 November 2021

Katalin (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fabulous | Those who horse riding know, that the most important is to keep both the horses and the riders safe. It was great to see that the ridings were well planned each day, according to the weather circumstances and the condition of the trails.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   24 October 2021

Synnove who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Perfect week - great horses, good rides, lovely host and wonderful lazy afternoons | Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   17 October 2021

Astrid Synnove who has been on 35 In The Saddle rides. Perfect, as always at Los Alamos | Los Alamos have horses for all levels and Rachel really understand what we like to ride. After Covid-19 the horses could not work full week so we "have" to try more horses. So many nice horses.... 🙂


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   10 October 2021

Flynn who has been on 16 In The Saddle rides. Excellent as always | Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   3 October 2021

Andrea who has been on 9 In The Saddle rides. Best Holiday! | The riding is excellent, from the perfectly matched horses by Rachel to riding through magical forests and picture perfect beaches led by Jose and Roberto.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   12 September 2021

Deborah who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Superb time at Los Alamos | I have ridden here before and despite a pandemic and lockdown very little had changed the standard of horses and horse care was still excellent. The team do a really good job to care for the horses and riders and provide excellent riding


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   12 September 2021

Helen who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous | Los Alamos won’t disappoint. Rachel and her team ‘Jose & Roberto’ at the yard are just wonderful. They know their horses so well and will make sure you are given the right horse for your ability. The horses are so beautifully cared for.
The rides are taken out by Jose and Roberto who know the area so well, they guide you through stunning forests or exhilarating rides on the beach making sure your safety and the horses is always paramount.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   12 September 2021

Caroline who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Never fails to please | The horses are impeccably schooled…..even in a group of 10 guests with 2 outriders there were no problems.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   12 September 2021

Jackie who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. All the reviews are true! | The riding was faced paced at times which was fabulous. The guides knew the terrain and expertly negotiated us through it
It was exactly as described Rachel matches you to a horse and never gets it wrong. People were friendly and we all ate and laughed together .


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   29 August 2021

Vivien who has been on 34 In The Saddle rides. So good to be back | We all rode a variety of horses in order to help get them back to full match fitness after their extended break. This meant I added yet another horse to my long list of favourites. Little Hercules - really soft mouth, so light on his feet and very responsive. What more could you ask for. It was so good to ride Rachel's amazing horses again.


Los Alamos - Spain

Short Break

5 star rating   8 March 2020

Angie who has been on 15 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous short-break | The pace of the riding could have been a bit faster but the actual rides were wonderful. Great location and beautiful scenery. My two horses were lovely especially Paloma, a real sweetheart.


Los Alamos - Spain

Short Break

5 star rating   8 March 2020

Rosemary who has been on 38 In The Saddle rides. Consistently good riding | It's my fourth time at Los Alamos (albeit over a period of 16 years) though my first on a short break. In general on riding holidays I prefer slightly longer time spent in the saddle, with longer canters and a bit less time spent walking (makes my back ache!), but I also know the soft sand is hard for the horses so the rides entirely met my expectations. I'm coming back again next year so that says it all really. Great hospitality, lovely people and gorgeous horses.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   23 February 2020

Vivien who has been on 34 In The Saddle rides. Wonderful | Another wonderful week at Los Alamos. This time, I spent most days riding Galeno - a lovely horse, speedy but controllable and beautifully schooled. The February weather was perfect for riding, really sunny and fresh (nice change from the storms in the UK!). [Lois from In The Saddle writes: I am so pleased that you enjoyed your return trip. The winter sun is well deserved indeed.]


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   23 February 2020

Elaine who has been on 10 In The Saddle rides. Perfect combination of riding willing well cared for horses and relaxation. | Rachel did an excellent job of selecting Camboria for me to ride, she was very willing, speedy yet responsive. Both Jose and Roberto made sure that the rides were fun, fast and safe. All the horses and tack were well cared for, the horses certainly looked forward to their daily shower.


Los Alamos - Spain

New Year Week

5 star rating   5 January 2020

Gillian who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Perfect escape. | This trip exceeded my high expectations. The terrain was fabulous and the hosts and fellow regulars extremely warm and friendly. The riding was pacey and exciting. The day out at Jerez was interesting.

A note to myself is that as per the weight limit advertised, I'd definitely want to be trimmer before returning as the Spanish horses are beautiful and delicate.


Los Alamos - Spain

New Year Week

5 star rating   5 January 2020

Erica who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Second time at Los Alamos exceeded my expectations. | The riding was fast and fun but always felt safe.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   24 November 2019

Linnea Lund who has been on 21 In The Saddle rides. Perfect. | Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   24 November 2019

Rachel who has been on 19 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous riding in Spain. | The horses are a dream, beautiful Spanish horses perfectly matched to each rider, Rachel is a genius at knowing which would suit you best.


Los Alamos - Spain

Short Break

5 star rating   17 November 2019

Louise (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Superlative horses and hospitality | Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   10 November 2019

Pauline who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Fast | Los Alamos has fabulous well bred and trained horses.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   10 November 2019

Trisha (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Los Alamos | I loved the riding but could have ridden for longer, but realise it is hard work in the sand for the horses.


Los Alamos - Spain

Short Break

5 star rating   3 November 2019

Sarah (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) An exhilariating horseriding holdiay in a beautiful setting. | I started riding after having my youngest son. Having not ridden before it was a bumpy ride, but the dream was always to gallop across a beach. Seven years on and at the age of 52, have achieved just that. With long canters through the woods, and galloping in the fire tracks and on the beach, I couldn't have wished for more.
Hercules was forwards, but secure, and I felt completely safe in every pace.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   3 November 2019

Debra who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Brilliant | I have been before so knew what to expect and it was brilliant. Will probably visit again at some point in the future but fancy a riding holiday to Iceland next.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   3 November 2019

Dee who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Absolutely fantastic. | What a team. Thank you so much Rachel, Jose and Roberto. Everything was perfect.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   27 October 2019

Catherine who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic! | Lovely horses - well trained & cared for. Varied rides each day with plenty of opportunities for a canter / gallop. Great to be able to ride on the beach. Looked after really well by Rachel, Jose and Roberto.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   27 October 2019

Christine (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) The joys of riding in SW Andalusia | I had been quite anxious before arriving at Los Alamos as I haven’t a great deal of trekking experience. I needn’t have worried. Rachel, who owns these wonderful Spanish horses, is a very experienced judge of the right matches between horse & rider which means that everyone gets to ride the horse most suited to them. The countryside is beautiful & the beach riding very enjoyable. The most magical ride was riding through the woods in the dark & emerging on to the beach at sunrise. The light was amazing.
The guides were fantastic, very careful but without any fussing. Plenty of fast paces to suit everyone but also allowing us time to wander quietly through the woods to soak up their silence. It also taught me a lot about trusting your horse to do the best thing as they know the terrain so well. It was a marvellous experience all round & greatly exceeded my expectations.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   20 October 2019

Anita who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Lots of fun and well looked after. | I was very lucky as Rachel found me a different horse to ride on each of the six days (we were given an extra day riding too!) - this was fantastic and I really appreciated her going to this trouble.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   13 October 2019

Josie who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Some lovely memories | The high points of my week at Los Alamos were the gallops along the beach, but I have many other wonderful memories as well. I rode Camboria all week and was completely in love with her from the first day. The guides took good care of us and the horses were all very well cared for.

On the less than perfect side, the biting insects were definitely a problem and the extremely dry trails meant that lots of dust was kicked up when we did anything faster than walking.


82 reviews    1 2 3