Reviews
139 reviews    1 2 3 5
Los Alamos - Spain

Short Break - Sunday to Thursday

5 star rating   17 November 2022

Soraya who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Relaxing and fun short break | Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain

Short Break - Sunday to Thursday

5 star rating   17 November 2022

Barbara who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. BM-happy rider | Everything was excellent : people, food, horses, weather- despite very scary forecast (they were wrong!).
However I wouldn't mind longer hours in the saddle and more canters/gallops, maybe 2 rides per day? 😉


Los Alamos - Spain

Short Break - Sunday to Thursday

4 star rating   17 November 2022

Tessa who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Relaxing autumn short break | Good


Los Alamos - Spain

Short Break - Sunday to Thursday

5 star rating   10 November 2022

Samantha who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Great Holiday | Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain

Short Break - Sunday to Thursday

5 star rating   10 November 2022

Jessica (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Excellent! | The holiday far exceeded my expectations. The location, people and horses were all incredible.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for your feedback. We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed riding at Los Alamos.]


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   30 October 2022

Susan who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. The time of my life (part 2) | My first trip to Los Alamos was in April 2022. I adored it so much that as soon as I returned home I booked again for May 2023. However, after a few weeks at home I decided that I couldn't possibly wait until May, so I booked this October trip as well.

This time I was travelling on my own and I didn't know any of the other guests beforehand. I knew as soon as we met at Malaga airport, for our transfer to Los Alamos, that we would all get on well. Thank you ladies - you were tremendous company.

The October weather was extremely kind. It was hot and sunny every day. One day, as the forecast was for a temperature of 33 degrees, we set off riding at 7:30 a.m. It was still dark and we started our ride under a starlit sky - it was magical. We rode through the pine forest for about an hour and reached the beach as the sun was appearing over the horizon. The riding on the beach was breathtaking. Canters and flat out gallops on the most well behaved horses. They don't go until you tell them to and they stop with the slightest touch on the reins. The other rides were just as good, particularly the firebreak gallops in the forest where you are permitted to overtake (usually you have to canter and gallop in single file).

I was fortunate to ride 3 different horses during my stay, all of them were delightful. However, Olivera stole my heart. She was fast and brave - the most gorgeous Andalucian grey mare. Rachel is very intuitive and is able to match the horses to the riders with ease.

Our guides, Jose and Roberto, were utterly professional. Very safety conscious and always checking that we were happy and had no concerns.

[Abbie from In The Saddle replies: Thank you for your feedback. We're so glad that you had such a wonderful return visit to Los Alamos].


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   23 October 2022

Ingrid (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Los Alamos | Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   23 October 2022

Synnove who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. I am very happy with the well kept horses which are perfectly fit for beach rides and fire break runs


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   23 October 2022

Astrid Synnove who has been on 35 In The Saddle rides. Perfect! - as always | Nice and strong horses that looks happy.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   23 October 2022

Sandra who has been on 7 In The Saddle rides. Los Alamos 16-23 October 2022 | Focus on safety. Consistently good horses that are doing well. I got the opportunity to test four horses during the week.
Beautiful landscape to ride in - good balance between speed and slower pace.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for your feedback :-)]


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   23 October 2022

Leslie Ann Hesse who has been on 21 In The Saddle rides. Exhilarating and relaxing! | Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   23 October 2022

Anne (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) A complete riding holiday | No comments, everything satisfying.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   16 October 2022

Karen who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Very good | The riding and the horses were fantastic. I don't think I've ever ridden such good horses before.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   2 October 2022

Sarah who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Outstanding. | Horses were superbly looked after. Rachel had great insight and diplomacy, with all the riders. Unusually we were allowed to gallop on the beach day 1. (We only found out after they normally assess you first but seemed happy w us after we said we hunted regularly). There was not a single horse that misbehaved or put a foot out of line at any point in the week. Fantastic ratio of horses to riders to ensure adequate rest time between work. They all knew their job and are a great testament to Rachels investment into training over a long period. They were all well shod, sound and a delight to ride. I was given three greys through the week.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for your feedback, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday at Los Alamos.]


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

4 star rating   2 October 2022

Claire who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Beach and Forest riding | Definitely met expectations
Horse operation was excellent


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   25 September 2022

Anita who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. 5 Star | Absolutely love the horses the wonderful people that look after us, the amazing food, all round fantastic.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed Los Alamos.]


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   11 September 2022

Angela (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Absolutely Fabulous Holiday!!! | I had the most fabulous holiday at Los Alamos from the 4-11 September.

From arriving at Gibraltar airport, everything went so smoothly from the outset as Andrew was already there waiting with transport. Spot on throughout!!!

Andrew and Rhiannon are wonderful hosts , as are the rest of the family, Rachel, Jack, Denisa and, the one and only Derek!!! The food was lovely and the open bar (non-alcoholic or otherwise) was great!!! The plentiful Rioja was very good!!!

As for the riding and the horses well, it was everything I expected, hoped for and more!!!

My horse for the week was a stunning PRE called Galeno…I absolutely loved him and as he was classically trained, I had a great time with all the moves in between the canters and gallops.

There’s a lot of walking but, that’s essentially down to the soft ground/sand but, the forest, firebreak and beach gallops were fantastic, absolutely fantastic!!! I didn’t want the holiday to end.

The horses are so incredibly fit and well behaved…they certainly know their job too. They work so very hard…they’re all amazing and a real credit!!!

Thank you so much Galeno and also the ride leaders, Jose and Roberto…they were fabulous and great fun!!!

I’ve got wonderful lifelong memories and will definitely be back next year, maybe even twice, if they’ll have me.

All the other guests were really lovely people and all rode well. I’ve also got some wonderful full action photos of my beach gallops and they are so getting framed and going pride of place in my house!!!

Thank you also to Lois at In The Saddle for her knowledge and experience and a seamless booking throughout, as well as the lovely chats too.

All in all….11 out of 10 and, I’ll see you at Los Alamos next year ….I really hope to ride Galeno again and, on his day off, hopefully either Ruvia or Olivero.

No wonder Los Alamos is so popular…they’ve provide fabulous holidays and horses and roll on my next visit!!! Thank you!!!

A couple of tips:-

1) Take ear plugs as the dogs, cockerels and other animals nearby are often nocturnal and noisy. There’s two very early morning calls for the beach riding.

2) I totally recommend flying into Gibraltar…it’s seamless and fast!!! It’s also smaller and much more personal.

Example:-

EasyJet take off from Manchester bang on time at 06.05. I landed in Gibraltar bang on time at 10.10am.

Plane fully offloaded (including luggage) by 10.25am. By 10.30am, I’d already negotiated passport control, had my luggage and was with Andrew. Absolutely unbelievable and the quickest airport run through ever and, I’ve travelled a lot in my life. Thank you Gibraltar airport.

I just wish my week hadn’t flown by so fast!!! Thank you again Andrew, Rhiannon, Jack, Denisa and Derek and, the INCOMPARABLE GALENO!!!


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   4 September 2022

Katherine who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous horses, stunning scenary and great hospitality | I visited Los Alamos with my daughter and good friends. Los Alamos holds a special place in our hearts and memories of a very dear friend.
We had a wonderful week and Rachel as always matched us to suitable horses. I rode Gordi and Hercules who were both absolute gentleman but also fast and fun rides.
The scenary as you ride through the forest, along the coast and on the huge beach is stunning. Much of the riding is at a steady pace so you can take it all in but there are also some very fast and exhilarating gallops. Cantering and galloping through the forest in darkness to get to the beach for sunset was an amazing experience!
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your return to Los Alamos.]


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   4 September 2022

Karon who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Didn’t want to come home | The accommodation was lovely very comfortable and you are made to feel very welcome. The food was amazing, couldn’t fit into one of my dresses by the end of the week! How Rachel matches you with a horse is incredible just from a small informal chat. The riding is fast but you feel so safe on the horses as they know their job. The scenery is beautiful and everyday you see something new. Will be back for sure.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   4 September 2022

Julie (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Truly Magical | The guides knew the terrain so well, they made every ride magical - the scenery was breathtaking, riding on the beaches and through the National Park was idyllic.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: We are so pleased you enjoyed your time at Los Alamos, thank you for leaving us feedback.]


Los Alamos - Spain

Short Break - Sunday to Thursday

5 star rating   18 August 2022

Rebecca who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Incredible riding holiday at Los Alamos | This was our second time staying at Los Alamos and it didn't disappoint. We had incredible horses and rode through some wonderful terrain. The amazing Los Alamos team were fabulous! Comfy beds, great food, lovely wine and we were very well looked after. We cannot wait to return.
Many thanks Becky, Sally and Kaye
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for your feedback and we are so pleased you enjoyed your return to Los Alamos.]


Los Alamos - Spain

Short Break - Sunday to Thursday

5 star rating   18 August 2022

Kay (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) We couldn't have wished for a more perfect holiday! | The rides through beautiful scenery and on the beach were very well organised and the horses were well behaved. The faster paces were always explained and everyone was given an opportunity to ask questions if needed. All of the leaders were experienced, friendly, professional and a pleasure to ride with.


Los Alamos - Spain

Short Break - Sunday to Thursday

5 star rating   7 July 2022

Andrea who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Short stay riding holiday - Spain | Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   3 July 2022

Steven who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Amazing | Great riding, enjoyed the fast canters and gallops, especially on the beach.
My wife was lacking confidence due to bad fall before the holiday, Los Alamos matched her perfectly with a horse that boosted her confidence and was able to thoroughly enjoy all the rides


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   12 June 2022

Brian who has been on 8 In The Saddle rides. A terrific week,great food ,lovely company. Everyone at L.A. went the extra mile and more. | The riding was as good as my last trip 11 years ago. Time has caught up with me but Rachel put me on 2 horses that suited me well which is why I have made so many visits there. All the guides went out of their way to help everyone on the ride. If my health permits I would have have every hope of going back.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your return to Los Alamos.]


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   12 June 2022

Pat (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Confidence Building | Excellent guides


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   5 June 2022

Louise who has been on 17 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic | Excellent as always


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   5 June 2022

Ann who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. exhilarating horse riding under the Spanish sun | The horses are very fit, well behaved and well trained, very responsive to your aids, can stop from a gallop on a sixpence, and light to the hand, none of my muscles ached after riding which was delightful, although if you do have any aches and pains they can organise a massage!. I rode the same horse all week except for the last day, and they were very well matched to my ability. We enjoyed two beach rides on our trip, at the same beach, and despite the beach being very popular with locals for exercising or dog walking, we still managed to get our canters and gallops in. Our guide Jose is quite rightly very safety conscious, and is careful not to put any rider or walker at risk.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   29 May 2022

Patti (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) A lovely week! | The horses were beautiful but the riding was very 2 paced - it was either walk or gallop. (the guide kept saying we would have a slow canter, but such a thing did not exist!) We were all experienced riders and the galloping was great, but we had to walk a lot to allow the horses to cool down, so personally I would rather have had some nice slow canters and not quite so much walking. And for me personally, probably as I have ridden in coastal Australia a lot, the landscape got bit samey. There were people who were back for the 12th time though!!
Really nicely structured with only 4-5 hours riding (much of it walking) so if you hadn't ridden for a year like me, it was no problem and it was really nice having the afternoons round the pool.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for your feedback, we're glad you enjoyed your time at Los Alamos.]


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   29 May 2022

Vivien who has been on 36 In The Saddle rides. Fab as always | Great holiday at Los Alamos as always. I had the pleasure of riding Polly for a couple of days, a real bundle of joy and proper speed queen - appearances are deceptive! It was a really nice group too with lots of laughs.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   22 May 2022

Ellen Margrete who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Everything was great! Very nice hosts and we had lovely meals, so I will be back !


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   22 May 2022

Suzan who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Los Alamos - absolutely perfect | My time at Los Alamos surpassed expectations. We were all so well looked after and felt relaxed literally from being greeted at the airport. I expected to be quite let down by the food as I'm a vegetarian, however, nothing was too much trouble and I ate some of the nicest food I've ever had. A real home from home feeling at the house. Our hosts were absolutely amazing and nothing was too much trouble. I always felt safe and well looked after on the rides. The horses were so well schooled and knew what they were doing. The rides were well organised and very exciting. I can't wait to go again next year.


139 reviews    1 2 3 5