Reviews
91 reviews    1 2 3
Los Alamos - Spain

Short Break

5 star rating   8 March 2020

Angie who has been on 12 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous short-break | The pace of the riding could have been a bit faster but the actual rides were wonderful. Great location and beautiful scenery. My two horses were lovely especially Paloma, a real sweetheart.


Los Alamos - Spain

Short Break

5 star rating   8 March 2020

Rosemary who has been on 37 In The Saddle rides. Consistently good riding | It's my fourth time at Los Alamos (albeit over a period of 16 years) though my first on a short break. In general on riding holidays I prefer slightly longer time spent in the saddle, with longer canters and a bit less time spent walking (makes my back ache!), but I also know the soft sand is hard for the horses so the rides entirely met my expectations. I'm coming back again next year so that says it all really. Great hospitality, lovely people and gorgeous horses.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   23 February 2020

Vivien who has been on 30 In The Saddle rides. Wonderful | Another wonderful week at Los Alamos. This time, I spent most days riding Galeno - a lovely horse, speedy but controllable and beautifully schooled. The February weather was perfect for riding, really sunny and fresh (nice change from the storms in the UK!). [Lois from In The Saddle writes: I am so pleased that you enjoyed your return trip. The winter sun is well deserved indeed.]


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   23 February 2020

Elaine who has been on 10 In The Saddle rides. Perfect combination of riding willing well cared for horses and relaxation. | Rachel did an excellent job of selecting Camboria for me to ride, she was very willing, speedy yet responsive. Both Jose and Roberto made sure that the rides were fun, fast and safe. All the horses and tack were well cared for, the horses certainly looked forward to their daily shower.


Los Alamos - Spain

New Year Week

5 star rating   5 January 2020

Gillian who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Perfect escape. | This trip exceeded my high expectations. The terrain was fabulous and the hosts and fellow regulars extremely warm and friendly. The riding was pacey and exciting. The day out at Jerez was interesting.

A note to myself is that as per the weight limit advertised, I'd definitely want to be trimmer before returning as the Spanish horses are beautiful and delicate.


Los Alamos - Spain

New Year Week

5 star rating   5 January 2020

Erica who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Second time at Los Alamos exceeded my expectations. | The riding was fast and fun but always felt safe.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   24 November 2019

Linnea Lund who has been on 21 In The Saddle rides. Perfect. | Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   24 November 2019

Rachel who has been on 17 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous riding in Spain. | The horses are a dream, beautiful Spanish horses perfectly matched to each rider, Rachel is a genius at knowing which would suit you best.


Los Alamos - Spain

Short Break

5 star rating   17 November 2019

Louise (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Superlative horses and hospitality | Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   10 November 2019

Pauline who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Fast | Los Alamos has fabulous well bred and trained horses.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   10 November 2019

Trisha (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Los Alamos | I loved the riding but could have ridden for longer, but realise it is hard work in the sand for the horses.


Los Alamos - Spain

Short Break

5 star rating   3 November 2019

Sarah (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) An exhilariating horseriding holdiay in a beautiful setting. | I started riding after having my youngest son. Having not ridden before it was a bumpy ride, but the dream was always to gallop across a beach. Seven years on and at the age of 52, have achieved just that. With long canters through the woods, and galloping in the fire tracks and on the beach, I couldn't have wished for more.
Hercules was forwards, but secure, and I felt completely safe in every pace.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   3 November 2019

Debra who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Brilliant | I have been before so knew what to expect and it was brilliant. Will probably visit again at some point in the future but fancy a riding holiday to Iceland next.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   3 November 2019

Dee who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Absolutely fantastic. | What a team. Thank you so much Rachel, Jose and Roberto. Everything was perfect.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   27 October 2019

Catherine who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic! | Lovely horses - well trained & cared for. Varied rides each day with plenty of opportunities for a canter / gallop. Great to be able to ride on the beach. Looked after really well by Rachel, Jose and Roberto.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   27 October 2019

Christine (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) The joys of riding in SW Andalusia | I had been quite anxious before arriving at Los Alamos as I haven’t a great deal of trekking experience. I needn’t have worried. Rachel, who owns these wonderful Spanish horses, is a very experienced judge of the right matches between horse & rider which means that everyone gets to ride the horse most suited to them. The countryside is beautiful & the beach riding very enjoyable. The most magical ride was riding through the woods in the dark & emerging on to the beach at sunrise. The light was amazing.
The guides were fantastic, very careful but without any fussing. Plenty of fast paces to suit everyone but also allowing us time to wander quietly through the woods to soak up their silence. It also taught me a lot about trusting your horse to do the best thing as they know the terrain so well. It was a marvellous experience all round & greatly exceeded my expectations.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   20 October 2019

Anita who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Lots of fun and well looked after. | I was very lucky as Rachel found me a different horse to ride on each of the six days (we were given an extra day riding too!) - this was fantastic and I really appreciated her going to this trouble.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   13 October 2019

Josie who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Some lovely memories | The high points of my week at Los Alamos were the gallops along the beach, but I have many other wonderful memories as well. I rode Camboria all week and was completely in love with her from the first day. The guides took good care of us and the horses were all very well cared for.

On the less than perfect side, the biting insects were definitely a problem and the extremely dry trails meant that lots of dust was kicked up when we did anything faster than walking.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   13 October 2019

Geoffrey who has been on 46 In The Saddle rides. Los Alamos at it's Best Except me | Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   29 September 2019

Leslie who has been on 19 In The Saddle rides. Wonderful | Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

4 star rating   29 September 2019

Elsa who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Very good | Yes, it met my expectation.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   22 September 2019

Ingrid who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Great days of riding and relaxation | The riding was excellent with very good safety standards provided by the guides (Jose and Roberto). I could have wished for a couple of more hours of riding each day, but understand the length of the ride is to take good care of the horses.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   22 September 2019

Astrid Synnove who has been on 32 In The Saddle rides. Great riding / food / place to have a holiday | The riding at Los Alamos is so fun and Rachel is great when it comes to matching horse and rider! All of my group were happy with the horses, they have a lot of energy!


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   22 September 2019

Liv who has been on 7 In The Saddle rides. Great horses and very friendly and helpful hosts. | Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   22 September 2019

Synnove who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Great riding-holiday | The riding is excellent. Lovely walks in great scenery mixed with canter and lovely gallops. Very well kept horses which is a joy to be around.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   22 September 2019

Hilde Haumann who has been on 8 In The Saddle rides. Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   22 September 2019

Unni who has been on 9 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic holdiday with excellent horses, fun riding & tasteful food | Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   8 September 2019

Lillian (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Awesome...a Dream come true | Please add any further comments on the riding e.g. did it meet your expectations: Totally happy with the overall experience. Rachel matched me with the very best horse for my ability with the promise that “he would take care of me” and he did just that! I felt so safe even at a gallop. It was a riding experience never to be forgotten. Our guides, Hosea and Roberto, were knowledgeable, professional, caring and fun.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   8 September 2019

Amanda (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fantastic holiday | Yes it did. I rode two horses and they were both rideable and fun. The pace was fast at times but I was always well within my comfort zone and the guides made sure were all prepared and ready for the canters and gallops on the varied terrain. Rachel made a point of talking to us at the yard the day we arrived about our experience and our aspirations for the week and was always interested in how each ride went.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   8 September 2019

Alison who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. A Joyful week | The riding is wonderful , exhilarating canters and gallops . Beautiful peaceful walking through the forest . Amazing beach rides . This experience always surpasses my expectations .


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   8 September 2019

Sian who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Another fab visit | I was given another fab horse that I kept for the week who was both fun, fast and friendly and liked all the bread sticks I had smuggled out in my suitcase. There was 10 of us riding plus the 2 guides and all the horses were great, I don't think you'd be disappointed with any of them. They are well cared for and enjoy the rides.


Los Alamos - Spain

Short Break

5 star rating   25 August 2019

Fern (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Excellent


91 reviews    1 2 3