Reviews
143 reviews    1 2 3 5
Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   12 June 2022

Brian who has been on 8 In The Saddle rides. A terrific week,great food ,lovely company. Everyone at L.A. went the extra mile and more. | The riding was as good as my last trip 11 years ago. Time has caught up with me but Rachel put me on 2 horses that suited me well which is why I have made so many visits there. All the guides went out of their way to help everyone on the ride. If my health permits I would have have every hope of going back.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your return to Los Alamos.]


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   12 June 2022

Pat (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Confidence Building | Excellent guides


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   5 June 2022

Louise who has been on 17 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic | Excellent as always


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   5 June 2022

Ann who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. exhilarating horse riding under the Spanish sun | The horses are very fit, well behaved and well trained, very responsive to your aids, can stop from a gallop on a sixpence, and light to the hand, none of my muscles ached after riding which was delightful, although if you do have any aches and pains they can organise a massage!. I rode the same horse all week except for the last day, and they were very well matched to my ability. We enjoyed two beach rides on our trip, at the same beach, and despite the beach being very popular with locals for exercising or dog walking, we still managed to get our canters and gallops in. Our guide Jose is quite rightly very safety conscious, and is careful not to put any rider or walker at risk.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   29 May 2022

Patti (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) A lovely week! | The horses were beautiful but the riding was very 2 paced - it was either walk or gallop. (the guide kept saying we would have a slow canter, but such a thing did not exist!) We were all experienced riders and the galloping was great, but we had to walk a lot to allow the horses to cool down, so personally I would rather have had some nice slow canters and not quite so much walking. And for me personally, probably as I have ridden in coastal Australia a lot, the landscape got bit samey. There were people who were back for the 12th time though!!
Really nicely structured with only 4-5 hours riding (much of it walking) so if you hadn't ridden for a year like me, it was no problem and it was really nice having the afternoons round the pool.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for your feedback, we're glad you enjoyed your time at Los Alamos.]


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   29 May 2022

Vivien who has been on 34 In The Saddle rides. Fab as always | Great holiday at Los Alamos as always. I had the pleasure of riding Polly for a couple of days, a real bundle of joy and proper speed queen - appearances are deceptive! It was a really nice group too with lots of laughs.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   22 May 2022

Ellen Margrete (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Everything was great! Very nice hosts and we had lovely meals, so I will be back !


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   22 May 2022

Suzan who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Los Alamos - absolutely perfect | My time at Los Alamos surpassed expectations. We were all so well looked after and felt relaxed literally from being greeted at the airport. I expected to be quite let down by the food as I'm a vegetarian, however, nothing was too much trouble and I ate some of the nicest food I've ever had. A real home from home feeling at the house. Our hosts were absolutely amazing and nothing was too much trouble. I always felt safe and well looked after on the rides. The horses were so well schooled and knew what they were doing. The rides were well organised and very exciting. I can't wait to go again next year.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   22 May 2022

Ase who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Very good, lovely riding and very good organized. | Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   22 May 2022

Sophie (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Absolutely Perfect! | The riding was amazing, I felt so confident on my horse and you could tell all the horses are well cared for.
Jose and Roberto were so knowledgeable and friendly and I felt in such safe hands throughout the entire trip. They couldn't do enough.
Rachael matched us all up perfectly, she came out with us on the first day to ensure we were all happy and confident and met us numerous times throughout the week and back at the stables.
The riding was relaxing, exhilarating, fun, and exciting all at the same time.
The entire team couldn't have done any more for you, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this holiday to anyone. I just wish I could have brought the horse home with me as he was so perfect!


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride Jerez Feria Week

5 star rating   15 May 2022

Helen (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Everything I dreamed of and more. | The riding blew all my expectations. The guides were informative and ensured our safety at all times. The horses were in top condition and obviously very well cared for.
Rachel constantly checked we were happy with the horse we’d been given and made sure they had adequate rest days.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride Jerez Feria Week

5 star rating   15 May 2022

Isabel (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Los Alamos - Fabulous | The riding was spectacular through the forest and on the beach


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride Seville Feria Week

5 star rating   8 May 2022

Elise who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous and varied rides on well mannered and forward going horses. | The horses at Los Alamos are very much loved. The riding is at varied paces and exhilarating at times. If you like a more forward going or steadier horse there will be a suitable horse for you. I have always felt safe and Rachel and her team at the stables are excellent hosts and look after horse and rider very well.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   1 May 2022

Caroline who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. The perfect holiday | Perfect balance of good riding and relaxation


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   1 May 2022

Juliette who has been on 16 In The Saddle rides. As fun as it always is | Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   1 May 2022

Alison who has been on 17 In The Saddle rides. So good to be back! | Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   24 April 2022

Sally (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Beautiful horses in Andalucia! | I had no expectations having not been on a riding holiday before, and went with an open mind.
I found the horses a joy to ride, as they were naturally so forward going, and needed only the lighest touch of aids. They were also very well mannered.
The trails were beautiful and peaceful through the forest, and exhilerating and wild along the beach.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   24 April 2022

Jane who has been on 18 In The Saddle rides. The horses at Los Alamos never disappoint. The riding was wonderful and the beach as stunning as ever.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   24 April 2022

Sarah who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. A great holiday with my lovely sister! | The riding on this holiday was excellent for many reasons: the horses were lovely to ride, well trained and willing. the terrain, views and beach were perfect and the length of time in the saddle was just right for me...not too long so as to be tiring but plenty of time to relax and enjoy the whole experience. The gallops were amazing!


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   24 April 2022

Jane (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Best thing I’ve done in a very long time | The rides met and expanded on my expectations. Of course an early highlight was that first beach gallop yet there was also such peace and tranquillity in meandering through the pine woods. I thoroughly enjoyed every single ride.

One thing I would say to anyone who, like me, rode a lot as a child but now only rides once a week in the past few years as an adult: You do not need to say you’d like a forward-going horse as they are all incredibly fit and responsive. Rachel matched me with a beautiful Arab gelding who was very sweet natured and I was extremely happy riding him for the whole week. Most of my fellow riders were far more experienced than me and I wouldn’t have been as comfortable as they were riding the more spirited horses.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   10 April 2022

Sarah who has been on 11 In The Saddle rides. Riding holiday | Riding was fantastic. Good balance of relaxing and exhilaration. Horses I rode were all very fit and well mannered.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   10 April 2022

Kim who has been on 8 In The Saddle rides. Perfect | This was my fourth visit to Los Alamos and my favourite. The riding, as always, was perfect for the terrain and climate. The horses are extremely fit and forward, even the more sedate ones! They need to be ridden, not just sat upon, but they are very forgiving when you use a bit too much ‘English style’ before you’re used to the more relaxed ‘Spanish style’! Rachel clearly loves her horses and will always ensure their needs are met and no horse will do more than its fair share, reassuring if you love horses!


Los Alamos - Spain

Short Break - Sunday to Thursday

5 star rating   7 April 2022

Susan who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. The time of my life | The riding exceeded my expectations. The horses were so beautifully schooled and responsive. At no time did I feel that I might not be able to stop at canter or gallop.

The horses were so fit and nimble footed. My horse (Gordi) barely broke out into a sweat after a full days riding.

All the staff were delightful. Rachel has an uncanny ability to match horse to rider. Jose and Roberto were so relaxed but inspired confidence.

The terrain was perfect. I couldn't have wished for better. The pine forests with wild rosemary and lavender, the deep sandy tracks, the magnificent fire break gallops and, of course, the beach.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   3 April 2022

Mette Lise who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Los Alamos | The tack was fine, a lot was done to make the saddles comfortable to sit in, for many hours. The paddocks were not fantastic seen with Danish eyes, but think they were perfectly ok for Spanish conditions. The horses were taken really well cared of.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

4 star rating   3 April 2022

Tine Anette who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Los Alamos | Gel pads were provided on the saddles which was very nice when riding for many hours.
Absolutely safe and willing horses.
Beautiful terrain.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   3 April 2022

Mette who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Los Alamos | Super beautiful horses that were easy to ride, in really good fitness and happy to walk. A little for everyone and you wanted to ride them all.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   3 April 2022

Lisbet who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Beautiful well-groomed horses that were taken very good care off and was safe in the terrain. Rachel was so good at finding the right horse for me.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   27 March 2022

Rachel who has been on 20 In The Saddle rides. Wonderful horses, hosts and setting | Wonderful horses, perfectly matched to each rider.


Los Alamos - Spain

Short Break - Sunday to Thursday

5 star rating   3 March 2022

who has been on In The Saddle rides. Lovely relaxing holiday with fantastic riding | Second time at Los Alamos - had a brilliant time again! Rachel is fantastic with her horses. Andrew and Rhiannon are amazing hosts and very accommodating. The guides are amazing with the horses as well, and are generally very attentive.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   6 February 2022

Diana who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Another fantastic riding holiday at Los Alamos | A fantastic range of horses to suit each rider. Rachel is excellent at matching the individual to the horses. fantastic chances for fast riding on the fire breaks and on the beach.


Los Alamos - Spain

Christmas Week

5 star rating   28 December 2021

Emma (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Utterly wonderful | The horses were wonderful. Very well behaved and trained, with wonderful personalities. They were chosen very well for each guest. The scenery is fantastic and there was ample opportunities for long canters and gallops. Just perfect!


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   12 December 2021

Rachel who has been on 20 In The Saddle rides. Absolutely perfect | Lovely mix of pottering around the forest with some speedy canters and gallops thrown in, not forgetting the wonderful beach rides.


143 reviews    1 2 3 5