Reviews
84 reviews    1 2 3
Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   13 February 2019

Was as articulated.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

2 star rating   8 January 2019

The riding was a bit one-note compared to our previous experience with the dolphin trail in Portugal (which was brilliant) - most of the time was spent walking in single file on very tight woodland tracks which wasn't that conducive to chatting, punctuated with short spells on the beach and firebreak. It would've been great to spend more time riding around the town next to the beach, as I think we all found it really interesting to see the houses there and something that wasn't forest!

[In The Saddle Comment: Los Alamos is based in a forested area and so much of the riding is based on forest tracks. However there are lots of open spaces where people chat if they want to. The rides are not around the town because the vast majority of clients prefer the serenity of being away from houses.]

The main, and rather unusual note I have is on the business model that the farm seems to be run on. Many of the customers end up buying the horses which then stay in Spain for training, before being taken back to the UK. Half of the group were new, and we all collectively found this rather strange.

There seemed to be some pressure to buy, and in-fact two sales were made over the week we were there. It's obviously a great model for the owners – customers buy horses and then pay for their keep in Spain while other customers ride them, but we felt a little bit uneasy about the whole thing

Myself and one other guest rode horses that both reared on a couple of occasions – this was fine for us, but I don't feel the standard of horse is as high as was drummed into us (rather exhaustingly) throughout the week.

[In The Saddle comment: Los Alamos do occasionally sell their horses but this is no more than 3 or 4 horses a year and is definitely not a business focus. We have checked our records and by coincidence on this particular week (September 2018) the other guests had previously bought horses from Los Alamos and two of the group were specifically in Spain to buy horses and so we can see how this could have left you with the impression that it was a key focus for Los Alamos.

We are surprised and sorry to read that your horses reared on occasion. This is very unusual feedback on Los Alamos horses. All incidents such as this would be logged and we hadn't been informed that any horses were misbehaving.]


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Christmas Week

4 star rating   3 January 2019

I am suffering from a hip problem which is made worse when riding narrow horses. Unfortunately the "chunkier" ones like Sarita and India were being used by less experienced riders. I had the lovely Sancho for a few days but he then injured himself in the paddock . So I had Shukran - who I adore. But he is very narrow and caused my hip pain to worsen which meant I couldn't actually ride on Christmas day and had to finish at lunchtime another day. They need another Sarita type please


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Christmas Week

5 star rating   3 January 2019

The hosts are brilliant. The riding is great, especially for good riders. Plenty of time to chill out, enjoy and take in the day's riding. So far so good, please keep it to competent riders and not beginners please. Thank you all at In the Saddle for all your help, patience and advice over the years.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   27 December 2018

As always Rachel matched me brilliantly with 2 fantastic horses, Camboria and Vaquero. Speed with sense and breaks perfect!


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   10 December 2018

Rachel is a veritable magician at matching her variety of "guest-proof," sure-footed, extraordinarily fit set of horses to visitors. Everyone in our group had mounts that perfectly suited not just riding ability but personality, with the result that every single one of us would have taken our horse home in a heartbeat.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Short Break

5 star rating   29 November 2018

Riding and horses fantastic as usual, Rachel is so good at knowing which horses you like to ride and everyone in the group was very happy.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   28 November 2018

The riding blew my expectations out of the water, it was amazing! What I really loved was that we had so many opportunities to canter and gallop. it really was amazing. The horses are fantastic and the guides are fabulous.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   23 November 2018

Met all expectations


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   21 November 2018

I was matched to a horse of my riding ability. I am a nervous rider so I was very happy with Sarita


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Short Break

5 star rating   19 November 2018

Had the pleasure of riding a lovely, well mannered horse, perfectly matched for what I asked for.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   16 November 2018

Rachel knows her horses very well and was excellent in allocating the right horse to the right person. She ensured that the rides were interesting and at the right speed for all riders.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Short Break

5 star rating   14 November 2018

I’ve been going to Los Alamos once or twice a year since the holiday was first available.
I’ve never been disappointed.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

4 star rating   7 November 2018

The horses were an absolute 10/10. loved them and the footing/terrain/ and the beach- so, so fun. Rachel was fantastic.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   7 November 2018

I had very high expectations, having been before, and they were fully met. The outstanding features are the high quality and well schooled horses, the lovely surroundings (with plenty of scope for canters and gallops) and the tasty and varied meals.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   6 November 2018

Andrew, Rhiannon and Rachel really made you feel relaxed and at home. Vinny was a star taking the photos. not forgetting Jim who picked us up at the airport. Rachel really put me at ease as I was very nervous that first day. My horse Hercules was a real star, looking after me so well. Not forgetting our guides Jose and Roberto [toy boy]. roll on new year when we will be back.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   5 November 2018

My three horses were excellent and I enjoyed riding them very much. They were well trained and responsive.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   1 November 2018

The riding was exceptional. To gallop on the ocean and through forests and down sand dunes was glorious.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   31 October 2018

Met and exceeded all my expectations! Everything was great - horses, tack, guide, accommodations, food, variety of riding terrain - and a special nod to hosts Andrew, Rhianna, and Rachael whose generous hospitality was unflagging in every aspect


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   29 October 2018

It met my expectations. I have only been on one riding holiday before, so my comparison basis is little.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   29 October 2018

They are good matching horse and rider. Fun riding in the forest and on the beach. I enjoy the care-taking of the bridle after the ride, this helps keeping the leather smooth.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   29 October 2018

Beautiful and well behaved horses. Lots of good canters and gallops.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   25 October 2018

Mixture of fast and relaxing riding on well schooled, responsive and fit horses in beautiful surroundings.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   25 October 2018

The riding and horses at Los Alamos are superb leveryone was so up for the exhilarating rides .


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   1 October 2018

Rachel did her usual brilliant job of matching horses and riders.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   28 September 2018

After 16 years I was treated like family.
No complaints at all..
Wonderful horses, good company, good food, totally fantastic.
Hate to be at an age 77 when my trips are coming to an end.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   19 September 2018

The riding definitely met my expectations. Rachel was great at matching people to the right horses and tried her best to listen to requests. I had 4 horses throughout the week and all of them were sure footed and forward going (but with brakes when needed!).
The firebreaker was such a highlight for me and it was good to see that the horses clearly enjoyed it too.
Jose and Roberto were great guides and I had such confidence in them at all times, so professional but also friendly. The whole team there were excellent at checking the weather/tides to decide when the best days were for beach rides and what times we should start in the mornings.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   15 September 2018

Lovely horses who are very well cared for and therefore interested in the people around them.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Short Break

5 star rating   29 August 2018

Rachel matched us well with beautiful, responsive and super fit horses. Riding through the woods and the early start meant we started off at the coolest part of the day. The stop for breakfast and coffee was welcome. We had 2 days riding on the beaches. The pace was good and the horses super responsive and fit.
The villa was lovely - with separate rooms and bathrooms - which enabled some welcome down time.
We used the pool - but also really enjoyed going to the beach in the afternoon and getting a taxi back. The mixture of riding, lunches out and the beach in the afternoon was perfect and we were well looked after by Rachel, Andrew and Rhianon. The riding guides - were also great.
We all want to go back and my friend Mel has already booked 2019.
Definitely will go again.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Short Break

5 star rating   24 July 2018

The riding was everything I hoped it would be. Rachel is an excellent horse-mistress, her horses are very fit, very well behaved and great characters. Jose and Roberto, the guides, are great characters and riders; the both looked after us and the horses very well. This holiday was a bit of a test for me - I had lost my confidence so have been having lessons and going hacking to try to get it back. This holiday proved that I am back! The photos Vinny took are amazing!


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   9 July 2018

Riding is on sandy ground and very comfortable to ride on. They have really good horses, you can choose from really forward-going to the quieter horses. Rachel is really good to match rider and horse! They take really good care of both horses and their tack. Also very funny to see picture taken by Vinnie, in-action pictures!


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   2 July 2018

As the least experienced rider in my group I felt very well supported, encouraged and safe


84 reviews    1 2 3