Reviews
8 reviews   
Lesotho Expedition - Lesotho and South Africa
Experience Level

Lesotho Expedition

5 star rating   4 March 2019

This expedition exceeded all expectations. It is the most physically challenging riding I have ever done or indeed expect to do, but for all that I would not have missed it for the world and the sense of achievement afterwards was enormous. Certainly not for the fainthearted or those who do not like heights - fortunately I do not fit into either category. Full of admiration for our ponies - so strong and sure footed - they were truly amazing.


Lesotho Expedition - Lesotho and South Africa
Experience Level

Lesotho Expedition

5 star rating   4 March 2019

All the horses/ponies were in excellent condition and well looked after. Their ability to cover the terrain was amazing and never have I put so much trust in a horse. The country of Lesotho was stunningly beautiful and all the people we met on our trek were extremely friendly. The terrain and going were challenging in places which added to the enjoyment of the holiday. Our hosts and guides were exceptional and I felt very privileged to have met Steve Black(our host) and to ride through Lesotho.


Lesotho Expedition - Lesotho and South Africa
Experience Level

Lesotho Expedition

5 star rating   26 November 2018

Although not big the horses were brillant. I've been on many rides but these horses ability over rough ground is outstanding, sure footed ,willing and very sensible and yet quick when the terrine allows. This was a mixed pace ride, much at walk as you climbed and descended the mountains but then wonderful gallops on the mountain tops where the ground is relatively flat. All this whilst surrounded by amazing scenery.
Saddles also very comfortable and in good condition..


Lesotho Expedition - Lesotho and South Africa
Experience Level

Lesotho Expedition

5 star rating   19 May 2018

Excellent


Lesotho Expedition - Lesotho and South Africa
Experience Level

Lesotho Expedition

4 star rating   19 May 2018

No expectations (other than perhaps challenging!) as it was an exploratory, yet I was still overwhelmed by the magnificent scenery and the nimbleness of those awesome Basotho ponies. The saddles were new and while the seats themselves (provided with seat savers) were probably the most comfortable I’ve experienced on a riding holiday, the absence of flaps gave the girth and stirrup leather buckles a lot of bruising potential. The stirrup leather buckles could obviously be moved up and down which helped. I’ve ridden in McClellans that do have flaps so maybe that’s a possibility. I’m also assuming these will be more comfortable once broken-in. Regardless, I couldn’t have asked for a better mount than Smash - she took incredibly good care of me at all times and was always happy to take the lead and even be the brave one to first cross the big bridge!


Lesotho Expedition - Lesotho and South Africa
Experience Level

Lesotho Expedition

5 star rating   19 May 2018

My horse was lovely, long paced, very responsive, very comfortable and very sure-footed. Horse maintained condition throughout the 7 days.
Rode in Mcclellan saddles with seat savers so were very comfortable.


Lesotho Expedition - Lesotho and South Africa
Experience Level

Lesotho Expedition

5 star rating   19 May 2018

The horses were remarkable: tough, resilient, gentle, obedient.
I am not a very good rider and my horse was ideal for me.
The saddles were very comfortable.


Lesotho Expedition - Lesotho and South Africa
Experience Level

Lesotho Expedition

5 star rating   19 May 2018

Fit, well-behaved, sure footed working horses that were able to carry us up and down fabulous mountainous terrain. The riding was as described prior to departure, with some time spent on foot when necessary. There was plenty of time in the saddle and there was a good mix of pace as appropriate. The riding fully met my expectations. I loved that the horses were barefoot.


8 reviews