Reviews
12 reviews   
Lesotho Expedition - Lesotho and South Africa

Lesotho Expedition

5 star rating   30 November 2019

Katy who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. A true adventure! Challenging and wonderful riding in spectacular scenery. | The riding was challenging in places due to the terrain. There were periods most days where we had to lead our horses on the steeper, often rocky, mountain tracks. The horses were amazing; fit, sure-footed and completely comfortable in the mountains. I trusted my pony completely to navigate her way up and down the mountain passes. There were opportunities to canter every day, where the terrain allowed.


Lesotho Expedition - Lesotho and South Africa

Lesotho Expedition

5 star rating   30 November 2019

Tamasin who has been on 18 In The Saddle rides. A real adventure in stunning surroundings | This isn't a ride for the faint-hearted or anyone who's afraid of heights. At times it was like rock-climbing on horse back, and you really need to have trust in your horse (pony!), which fortunately is easy as they are the most agile and sure-footed I've ever ridden - taking steep climbs and descents, narrow paths and boulders in their stride. Despite the often challenging terrain, there were also chances for faster riding every day.


Lesotho Expedition - Lesotho and South Africa

Lesotho Expedition

5 star rating   18 November 2019

Anna who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. A fantastic adventure | This is a fantastic ride with a good amount of time in all paces. Some brilliant long canters on lovely terrain, the horses on our ride were all strong, sure footed, polite and trustworthy - total heroes.

The landscape is beautiful and different every day - with good, clean and comfortable accommodation every night, even when basic.

The team were amazing - absolutely nothing was too much trouble - friendly and welcoming (I am a solo traveller and never felt at a loose end), excellent company and a lot of fun. The guides were very knowledgable about the country and its history (I learnt a lot), about the mountains and about the horses. They looked after the horses brilliantly.


Lesotho Expedition - Lesotho and South Africa

Lesotho Expedition

5 star rating   24 June 2019

Rosalyn (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Amazing horses, people and scenery. An outstanding experience. | The riding was very well paced; an initial hour on the first day to match you on your horse and plenty of opportunities to gallop, climb and descend once you are in the swing of things. The horses are really something special - hauling riders up and down the rocky paths and managing some amazing ascents and descents.


Lesotho Expedition - Lesotho and South Africa

Lesotho Expedition

5 star rating   4 March 2019

Grizzle who has been on 12 In The Saddle rides. The most amazing, challenging and rewarding riding holiday you are ever likely to encounter. | This expedition exceeded all expectations. It is the most physically challenging riding I have ever done or indeed expect to do, but for all that I would not have missed it for the world and the sense of achievement afterwards was enormous. Certainly not for the fainthearted or those who do not like heights - fortunately I do not fit into either category. Full of admiration for our ponies - so strong and sure footed - they were truly amazing.


Lesotho Expedition - Lesotho and South Africa

Lesotho Expedition

5 star rating   4 March 2019

Tanya who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Stunningly beautiful. | All the horses/ponies were in excellent condition and well looked after. Their ability to cover the terrain was amazing and never have I put so much trust in a horse. The country of Lesotho was stunningly beautiful and all the people we met on our trek were extremely friendly. The terrain and going were challenging in places which added to the enjoyment of the holiday. Our hosts and guides were exceptional and I felt very privileged to have met Steve Black(our host) and to ride through Lesotho.


Lesotho Expedition - Lesotho and South Africa

Lesotho Expedition

5 star rating   26 November 2018

Rachel who has been on 12 In The Saddle rides. Amazing horses and country | Although not big the horses were brillant. I've been on many rides but these horses ability over rough ground is outstanding, sure footed ,willing and very sensible and yet quick when the terrine allows. This was a mixed pace ride, much at walk as you climbed and descended the mountains but then wonderful gallops on the mountain tops where the ground is relatively flat. All this whilst surrounded by amazing scenery.
Saddles also very comfortable and in good condition..


Lesotho Expedition - Lesotho and South Africa

Lesotho Expedition

5 star rating   19 May 2018

Doc who has been on 19 In The Saddle rides. Lesotho | Excellent


Lesotho Expedition - Lesotho and South Africa

Lesotho Expedition

4 star rating   19 May 2018

Amyank who has been on 7 In The Saddle rides. Lesotho Exploratory | No expectations (other than perhaps challenging!) as it was an exploratory, yet I was still overwhelmed by the magnificent scenery and the nimbleness of those awesome Basotho ponies. The saddles were new and while the seats themselves (provided with seat savers) were probably the most comfortable I’ve experienced on a riding holiday, the absence of flaps gave the girth and stirrup leather buckles a lot of bruising potential. The stirrup leather buckles could obviously be moved up and down which helped. I’ve ridden in McClellans that do have flaps so maybe that’s a possibility. I’m also assuming these will be more comfortable once broken-in. Regardless, I couldn’t have asked for a better mount than Smash - she took incredibly good care of me at all times and was always happy to take the lead and even be the brave one to first cross the big bridge!


Lesotho Expedition - Lesotho and South Africa

Lesotho Expedition

5 star rating   19 May 2018

HB who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Lesotho - Lesotho Expedition | My horse was lovely, long paced, very responsive, very comfortable and very sure-footed. Horse maintained condition throughout the 7 days.
Rode in Mcclellan saddles with seat savers so were very comfortable.


Lesotho Expedition - Lesotho and South Africa

Lesotho Expedition

5 star rating   19 May 2018

Red Sea who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Lesotho Expedition | The horses were remarkable: tough, resilient, gentle, obedient.
I am not a very good rider and my horse was ideal for me.
The saddles were very comfortable.


Lesotho Expedition - Lesotho and South Africa

Lesotho Expedition

5 star rating   19 May 2018

CarolD who has been on 9 In The Saddle rides. Wonderful! | Fit, well-behaved, sure footed working horses that were able to carry us up and down fabulous mountainous terrain. The riding was as described prior to departure, with some time spent on foot when necessary. There was plenty of time in the saddle and there was a good mix of pace as appropriate. The riding fully met my expectations. I loved that the horses were barefoot.


12 reviews