Reviews
27 reviews   
Horizon Lodge - South Africa
Experience Level

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   16 November 2018

I have been visiting Horizon for 10 years and seen the herd of horses grow to currently c. 90. They live out in the bush so are free to develop their natural relationships and mini herds, as natural as a ridden horse can be. They are brought in twice a day to be chosen for a ride, fed, checked and treated for injuries, etc. Consequently they are happy, healthy and good natured - and very fit for the longer rides. Watching them happily gallop into the yard is a treat in itself. Kirsty is the manager and knows all the horses as if they were her children. There are shapes, sizes and characters to suit everyone. Kirsty is also expert in matching the horses to rider ability and preferences. Where else can you go for so many happy horses, varied and open spaces and the opportunity for very long or very fast canters for experienced riders, while on the other hand getting non-riders cantering by the end of their stay. Plus added giraffes, zebra and other African animals. Brilliant!


Horizon Lodge - South Africa
Experience Level

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   11 September 2018

I rode Spice first who needed a bit of encouragement and then Trapper, Misty and Nadal. I would have liked to have ridden Trapper more but enjoyed riding all the different horses. All the horses were well cared for and equipment was serviceable and well maintained.

Whilst I would have preferred to do more riding at speed, overall, the riding was amazing. Every ride was different. From seeing the African wildlife, herding cattle, swimming, jumps and polocrosse, there was lots of variety - whilst I started to recognise the various trails no ride ever felt the same. Being particularly rusty at the start I felt the guides were excellent at judging the pace and ability of each rider and then set a pace which was appropriate (and safe) for all riders in the group.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa
Experience Level

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   30 August 2018

We were a family of four ranging from 8 to 48 and riding ability from 6 months to over 40 years. The team at Horizon did a great job of making a holiday work for everyone. The horses were well matched to the ability of the riders with no one either being pushed out of their comfort zone, or feeling their horse was not forward enough for them. What really worked was the option to also do other activities, polocrosse; cross country; western games and jumping. This broke up the day and gave the opportunity for everyone to learn something. On one ride the more experienced of us went for a fast / long ride but on the whole we stayed in the same group to ride - but it really worked as a family as they just adjusted the pace for us and so we were able to ride together most of the time. The horses have a nice life living out in the Bush and all seemed very happy in their herd and were certainly long lived - with my daughter riding a 30 year old pony for much of the time! The guides were superb and listened, and tried to accommodate what everyone wanted to do, supported by a great team of back up guides / volunteers. We rode different trails every day and were never bored with the odd jumping lane or short course to add interest. I can also really recommend the trip to Camp Davidson for at least a couple of night, which was a longer ride and a fantastic experience for us all

We all really had a blast.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa
Experience Level

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   13 June 2018

I didn't really dare to ask for a specific type of horses because I am a beginner and I thought they would know best, which turned out to be quite true. The guides and staff were checking every time that my riding experience was meeting my expectations and needs. I think that all their horses are really nice animals, willing to do well even when they have a bit a temper.
During the riding, I was the one with the least experience in the group but they were organised so that I could follow and were always checking that everything was fine, giving advice if required


Horizon Lodge - South Africa
Experience Level

Camp Davidson

5 star rating   9 May 2018

I'd have rated this overall excellent but for occasional riders in the group who were included for logistical reasons but were less well matched in terms of ability


Horizon Lodge - South Africa
Experience Level

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   9 April 2018

This was a great holiday. Amazing staff, super friendly and eager to please. Often went the extra mile to make guests happy. Horses in superb condition living a great and free life. Beautiful surroundings and game. Once I expressed I wanted more forward going horses I was given better horses (for my tastes). Occasionally I did feel rides were a little slow with too much walking - this was often because groups of mixed abilities were sent out together when they should have been split however this only bothered me on one or two occasions. Once I made it clear I would prefer faster rides Horizon did accommodate that extremely well. Incredible food also here- I certainly put on weight! Will 100% be returning here and am already recommending it to everyone I know!


Horizon Lodge - South Africa
Experience Level

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   5 April 2018

The horses are all well trained, in excellent condition and cared for with love and expertise. They take a lot of care in matching you with a suitable horse but it can be a little haphazard and not transparent as to whether your likes and dislikes or increased confidence or ability are subsequently taken into account. In the best case the volunteers changed the assigned horse off their own bat to give me one they knew I would prefer (thank you!) but in another I was given a horse I had said I didn’t want to ride again. It could also be unclear sometimes as to how fast the ride would be or how much your preferences would be taken into account. But these comments are against a background of fabulous horses, great riding in a beautiful place, friendly and excellent guides, volunteers and staff. It really is a fabulous place and you will mingle easily with other guests who are friendly and interesting in a homely atmosphere.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa
Experience Level

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   5 April 2018

There is not one thing to complain!
All the guides and volunteers looked great after us!
I’m a horrible nervous rider, and I never feel so safe on all the outrides!


Horizon Lodge - South Africa
Experience Level

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   23 March 2018

The horses are really amazing and super well trained. I would have liked if they provided feedback on if we could get a horse that needed slightly more "riding" or if they had found that i could not handle such a horse. I had no compliants about the horse as they where all extremely well trained and beutiful rides. i had asked twice if i could get a little more of a "ride" but maybe they thought i could not handle this so would have been good to just feed that back to me.

The flexibility of the staff at the lodge was very profession and everything was possible.
One comment was that the feedback to us was not always provided or misleading.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa
Experience Level

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   22 March 2018

Very good, comfortable saddles for long rides


Horizon Lodge - South Africa
Experience Level

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   20 March 2018

The range and standard of the horses at Horizon would be hard to beat. They have a wonderful near natural life when not being ridden being turned out to roam free as a herd when not being ridden.
They enjoy the best of care and each horse is matched to the rider and their perceived capability with adjustments being made to the choice of horse as riding capability dictates.
With currently 88 horses you will never run out of choice!


Horizon Lodge - South Africa
Experience Level

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   20 March 2018

The riding was well balanced, generally a good match of riders and wishes, always respecting the horses. The horses were very well behaved, easy going but responsive. The guides were very nice, explaining bush life, and looking after us well.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa
Experience Level

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   19 February 2018

The horses were perfect. I had a different horse for each half day and I would have happily bought any of them! Very very easy but also very fun to ride. They have a huge number of horses there (90?!) so you are bound to find a few that suit you.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa
Experience Level

Horizon Lodge

4 star rating   31 January 2018

I was started on slower horses at the beginning of the week and progressed to faster horses by the end. I was happy with this approach but other members of the group had to keep asking for faster horses. The horses were all polite easy well schooled rides, happy to canter, happy to stand still whilst we watched the game. All were in excellent condition.
The riding was quite steady, we did quite a few canters but these (bar one) were steady, I think this was due to having a less experienced rider in our riding group. I went with two other friends and we did get to do one ride on our own which enabled us to go at a faster pace


Horizon Lodge - South Africa
Experience Level

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   29 January 2018

Lovely horses that are well looked after. Tack in order, beautiful scenery, amazing, attentive guides.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa
Experience Level

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   5 December 2017

The horses were all chosen to suit my ability and the riding was matched to all levels in the group. The horses in Botswana especially were amazingly well schooled.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa
Experience Level

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   30 November 2017

The first couple of rides were to work out my ability and then the horses got better and better. The welfare of the horses was the most important to all. The horses were so well looked after, I've never been anywhere before where all the horses looked in fabulous condition.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa
Experience Level

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   23 November 2017

I was really satisfied with the 4 horses I rode during my stay, and was nice to try different horses. The horses were all forward going and really responsive. The guides were always trying to fulfill your wishes, whether is was searching for a specific animal, jumping, playing polocrosse or going swimming with horses, and I was always out riding with people with similar riding ability so that it was possible to go fast.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa
Experience Level

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   25 September 2017

I was very pleased with all the horses I got to ride. They were very well cared fir and responsive to "commands". The guides were very knowledgable and made sure that I felt safe and comfortable with my horse. Fully recommend this holiday to anyone who loves horses, and also whatever level of riding they are at. One of the guides (Erin) "took care" of me when I asked to do jumping, she took me over the jumps on my owne so I could get my confidence back.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa
Experience Level

Horizon Lodge

4 star rating   21 September 2017

I had expected that the riding was a bit more challenging, but I also understand that they do not want to take unneccessary risks.
Very nice that they also asked for regular feedback, and take into account your wishes wherever possible.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa
Experience Level

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   21 September 2017

The riding was so fantastic and it was great to do a variety of rides from long canters, fast canters, jumping, polo crosse and swimming with the horses.

The horses were generally very forward going and overall I was matched well. It was lovely to see how well cared for they are and the fantastic life they have at the lodge.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa
Experience Level

Horizon Lodge

4 star rating   23 August 2017

Didn't expect to be on the African Explorer - was aiming for relatively low-key relaxing time at Horizon/Camp Davidson but was offered chance to join the African Explorer ride and went for it. As a result the riding was probably a lot more to my taste - long fast canters with the occasional gallop at Camp Davidson and some very long canters with some super animal encounters (on horseback and by jeep) in Botswana.
Goose, my horse at Camp Davidson, was perfect - I loved her. My first horse at Two Mashatus was gorgeous but he was a bit of a naughty boy on the first evening ride and the following morning so our guide considered it a bit too risky for possible close encounters with dangerous game so I was given Selous, an experienced safari horse, who was very forward going and a very enjoyable ride.
A word of warning though - if you go at this time of the year it's very dry and there is a lot of dust when you are cantering along. Take a scarf or buff to put over your nose/mouth. I'm still coughing and wheezing several days later!


Horizon Lodge - South Africa
Experience Level

Camp Davidson

5 star rating   3 July 2017

I was not matched correctly with a horse at the beginning of the holiday which unfortunately meant I had the wrong horse for the first two days at camp. After that I had generally forward going and responses horses other than one which I did not enjoy. I liked the fact we changed horses as they varied considerably so it meant if you had one that was not to your liking you could change to another.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa
Experience Level

Camp Davidson

5 star rating   5 June 2017

I only had 1 bad horse and it was really bad. Horatio - about 13hh, short neck, short strides and extremely lazy. We rode different horses most days and I had my favourites.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa
Experience Level

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   25 April 2017

This was such an amazing trip, once in a life time experience. It surpassed my expectations, would go back in a heartbeat!


Horizon Lodge - South Africa
Experience Level

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   25 April 2017

Excellent! Just the right amount of riding per day. The horses were so good! The guides adjusted pace of ride depending on our personal preference and threw in a few optional jumps.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa
Experience Level

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   25 April 2017

We were lucky enough to get a guide who was delighted to do fast rides with us. This may not have been the case with another guide.


27 reviews