Reviews
25 reviews   
Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon

5 star rating   18 January 2020

Clare who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Brilliant yet again | I really enjoyed riding Spice and Apache. I really enjoyed the long bendy canters in the game reserve. 1st week Polocross was really fun shame on the 2nd week we had somebody who had played it a lot. (Claire from In The Saddle comments: I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed the riding)


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon

5 star rating   17 January 2020

Julie who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Horizon - brilliant break | Wide range of horses who are extremely well trained! Llots of opportunities to learn about horsemanship and engage in other activities.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon

2 star rating   8 November 2019

Karolyn who has been on 15 In The Saddle rides. Relaxing in the sun | All the horses seemed relaxed but willing and, even on faster rides, did not feel the need to bunch up close.
At this time of year, those at the back of the ride get to eat quite a bit of dust, and 8 riders can be uncomfortable.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon

5 star rating   3 November 2019

Grace who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Trip of a lifetime | Please add any further comments on the riding e.g. did it meet your expectations: I’m fairly new to riding and my friend is very experienced. We were both matched with the perfect horse which equally allowed me to keep up with the pack and my friend to have a enjoyable challenging ride (precisely what we both wanted!) horses are happy and clearly well loved and not treated like a commodity.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon

5 star rating   31 October 2019

Clare (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Amazing! Amazing! Amazing! | Varied rides in small groups. Lots of long canters and suitable for ability.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon

5 star rating   2 October 2019

Marian (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Absolutely Fabulous | The horses were extremely well cared for, in fact I would go as far as to say you would be hard pushed to find anywhere any better at this. All the horses looked very well and you could tell they were happy as they were always willing to work. This is probably due to the fact that one, they are not overworked and hence are always fresh and keen and secondly, they live as close to a natural life as possible, ie live in a herd and turned out 24/7.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon

5 star rating   20 September 2019

Caroline who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Spectacularly brilliant in every way | Beautifully schooled horses who were a joy to ride


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon

4 star rating   15 August 2019

Rahma (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) We expected to see more animals.Overall satisfying! We had a great time. Each guide has his own style, which contributed to have an enriching experience .We particularly liked the guide Owen. Unfortunately we didn’t get to see as many animals as we were promised.
[Becky from In The Saddle replied: I am sorry to hear that you didn't see as many animals as you'd have liked to. Unfortunately we can never promise game sightings as the animals are free to roam throughout the reserve.]


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon

5 star rating   29 June 2019

Sue (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Awesome riding experience....heavenly! | The horses were excellent and bomb proof. Horizon takes very good care of their horses, which is nice to see. I loved the long canters too and all the pretty scenery. It was very relaxing and the guides were super. They all had fun stories and a good sense of humor. Can not say enough good things.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon

5 star rating   10 June 2019

Rebecca who has been on 8 In The Saddle rides. Horse heaven with great hospitality. | I gave feedback about a couple of horses that really matched me well and was spoilt with riding both of them a lot. I would have taken either home. I rode plenty of other horses too - also well matched to me. The guides and Kirsty, the stable manager, were fantastically responsive to my comments. I enjoy riding a forward horse, although on one occasion, when I had just ridden one who had been itching to overtake and lead....I could feel it in my muscles - I asked to ride "push button" horses the following day and sure enough the next day I was given two horses with beautiful manners and light mouths. I swam with my horse which is something I have always dreamed of doing and did some rustic jumps - the first time I had tried that for more than 10 years. It was all great fun and we had some wonderful game viewing too.
Something must be said about the people involved with the horses and riding... They are the friendliest, most knowledgeable, thoughtful and fun guides, volunteers and staff. Thank you.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Camp Davidson

5 star rating   10 May 2019

Amelia who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Great riding holiday | Excellent


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Camp Davidson

5 star rating   10 May 2019

LS who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Great trip, was well taken care of, good horses, eventful, good food. | Excellent


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon

5 star rating   5 May 2019

B who has been on 12 In The Saddle rides. We changed horses every day - some very good, others OK.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon

5 star rating   5 May 2019

Leslie who has been on 19 In The Saddle rides. Excellent | Excellent


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon

5 star rating   5 May 2019

elis who has been on 14 In The Saddle rides. Very well organized and a lot of opertunities | Excellent


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon

5 star rating   5 May 2019

Marianne who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Experience of a lifetime | Excellent


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Camp Davidson

5 star rating   12 April 2019

Happy Horsey Lady who has been on 7 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic! | Our 2nd visit to Horizon was even better. We rode some of our requested fave horses & new ones , which have also become favourites. The guides looked after us very well, Riding location excellent, and suited our experience. Horses well looked after, fit and forward going.
[ITS Comment: We are so pleased to hear you loved your return visit to Horizon!]


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Camp Davidson

5 star rating   12 April 2019

Michelle who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. A truly special place | The horses are just amazing and so well trained. There is a horse to suit any ability and they matched me really well. Having been before, i had my favourite (Zara) and was lucky enough to have her at camp with me when I arrived. At the lodge all horses i rode were new to me and I can honestly say I enjoyed every horse I rode. Definitely made some new favourites for my next trip! This place really does put the welfare of the horses before anything else and it shows by how happy the horses are.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon

5 star rating   2 March 2019

Growbag (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Horizon | I had high expectations, but these were totally surpassed by the absolutely superb experience which we were fortunate enough to have at Horizon.
Nothing was too much trouble for the team - the horses were light mouthed and responsive, well trained and trustworthy. All were in excellent condition, and a strict schedule is kept to ensure that every horse has the necessary 'down time'. We rode a large selection of horses, all of which were delivering an experience of a life time. It was most interesting to see that each animal was slowly but surely educated so that it could be either a lead horse or at the back, and they would all stand quietly while we watched the game. We liked the way that several of them were 'rescues', but had been restored to having the confidence to build back their trust in people. Great care had been taken to see that each rider was given a horse suitable for what they required - either a reliable 'Mum's Chum' type, or one which would be happy to do as much as any intermediate or advanced rider wished. They were all so light mouthed, and neck reined, leaving one hand free for the camera! I have artificial hips, but Horizon are well used to assisting amputees and others with physical problems - so they helped me most expertly with mounting and dismounting (I cannot lift my leg over the cantle), and whenever we were given a lovely surprise (sundowners or bush pop-up breakfasts etc), 2 of the staff would be instantly assisting me so that I did not miss anything at all.
The guides not only kept us safe - pointing out any dangers such as holes, overhanging branches, but they were all able to tell us amazing facts about the flora and fauna of the Waterberg. They ensured that we saw all we had come so far to see, and so much more, so very much more. We were able to request any horse we had made a good bond with, provided it was not due for a day off.
It was lovely to hear that the horses often live on to 30 or 35 as they are so well cared for, and when they are older, they are given lighter duties, which ensures they keep fit and active. They were lovely to watch in their herd, as some of them had made particular friendships, and all were able to be with the particular friend or other horses in the herd as they felt inclined. So they were happy and dependable, and we had such a brilliant time with them.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon

5 star rating   2 March 2019

RebeccaD who has been on 8 In The Saddle rides. Horizon - South Africa | I enjoyed riding some different horses and understand the need for them all to be worked but not overworked. In an ideal world, I would prefer to ride with and bond with fewer horses over the course of a holiday. But I rode some horses that were perfect for me so they did the matching very well.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon

5 star rating   2 March 2019

bubbles (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) An Oasis. | One guide cantered off when we had asked him not to , but apart from that is was Top Banana !!!!!


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon

5 star rating   13 January 2019

Tonto who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Breath-taking | I had a different horse for every ride bar the last one - which was a lot. I was happy to canter but not gallop which meant for the last few rides I was in a group which separated with the odd canter.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon

5 star rating   3 January 2019

Kirstie who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Horizon Signature Safari | The holiday far exceeded our expectations. From the staff through to the facilities. Nothing was too much trouble. I loved the family atmosphere of the ranch. Words can’t describe how great a time we had.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Camp Davidson

5 star rating   11 December 2018

Anya who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Horizon | With a choice of 90 horses they managed to get it spot on. Rides were split according to capabilities, only once were we held back by a nervous riders, however this is because they were quiet and there was no one else for her to ride with. Good fast paced canters when possible, swimming and game viewing. Some people were given different horses every ride and were satisfied with all of them and others (us included) only rode two different ones throughout the stay which I preferred as get attached very quickly.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon

5 star rating   9 November 2018

Chris E who has been on 38 In The Saddle rides. Horizon Lodge, South Africa | I have been visiting Horizon for 10 years and seen the herd of horses grow to currently c. 90. They live out in the bush so are free to develop their natural relationships and mini herds, as natural as a ridden horse can be. They are brought in twice a day to be chosen for a ride, fed, checked and treated for injuries, etc. Consequently they are happy, healthy and good natured - and very fit for the longer rides. Watching them happily gallop into the yard is a treat in itself. Kirsty is the manager and knows all the horses as if they were her children. There are shapes, sizes and characters to suit everyone. Kirsty is also expert in matching the horses to rider ability and preferences. Where else can you go for so many happy horses, varied and open spaces and the opportunity for very long or very fast canters for experienced riders, while on the other hand getting non-riders cantering by the end of their stay. Plus added giraffes, zebra and other African animals. Brilliant!


25 reviews