Reviews
15 reviews   
Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   5 May 2024

Inge who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous!! So much fun! | The riding was super fun. All horses had great attitudes to do their job, and of course I liked one better than the other. We have seen so many animals, and we really enjoyed the sundowners where the groups came together at the end of the day for a sunset drink. The guides are really good, supported by lovely volunteers that are happy to help with anything, and the food is delicious! Savanna Lodge and Camp Davidson were both magical trips.

[Abbie from ITS replies: So delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Horizon Lodge - I was really pleased to be able to arrange this last-minute trip for you 🙂 ].


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   4 October 2023

Caroline (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fabulous horse riding holiday in South Africa | The horses were beautiful, well cared for and good natured. I was given the right level of horse for my ability and the guides were constantly checking and advising. I rode eight different horses. The terrain was varied and the scenery was beautiful. There was a good balance of exhilaration and relaxation on the rides.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   31 August 2023

Alison who has been on 11 In The Saddle rides. Wonderful horses, brilliant people, amazing experiences | Asked in advance as to what type of horse we would like, given a "briefing" on the horses' personality before going on a ride and asked for feedback after rides to make sure we all matched our horses.
The horses are well loved and very well cared for, with individual plans for feeding etc even though there is a large herd.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   1 July 2023

Fiona who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Heavenly Horizon | I love Horizon, because they love their horses and seem to look after their staff too.
Will definitely be back.
Always meets expectations.

One small suggestion - not everyone is familiar with these saddles and would be good to give people a bit of info about them, e.g. getting on and off, letting them know that buckles can be adjusted if they are rubbing / causing soreness. One of the other ladies was struggling quite a lot and had no idea her issues could be sorted our very simply and quickly - it just came up in conversation at dinner one evening and I advised her what to do but I don't think she'd have raised it otherwise.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   1 July 2023

Jill who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Incredible! | The horses are forward-going and absolutely bombproof.

[Abbie from ITS replies: We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Horizon. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review].


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   23 February 2023

Claudia who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. South Africa horizon lodge | Excellent


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   3 January 2023

Mandy who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Brilliant riding, food and accomodation | Excellent


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   26 November 2022

Philippa who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Horizon - so much fun! | The riding was excellent, a great mix of wildlife spotting and canters through varied terrain and, for those who wanted to do it, jumping. The horses were great, forward going but I felt comfortable riding every single one they put me on.

[Abbie from ITS replies: Thanks so much for taking the time to tell us about your holiday. We're so pleased you had such a wonderful time at Horizon].


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   19 October 2022

Sophie who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. My favourite place ever! | Excellent


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   12 October 2022

Marian who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous | This was our second holiday at Horizon - and I have to say I think we enjoyed it even more second time around. The owners and staff are so welcoming and really fun to be around. The riding was superb - horses matched perfectly to our individual abilities.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   1 July 2022

Fiona who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous trip to Horizon | I love this place so much!!!
Lovely riding, great guides, super accommodation and food. All done to a high standard and still retains a friendly, family type feel.
Can't wait to come back to see TP and Hilbillie Blue.
I had some tears when it was time to leave - has only ever happened on one holiday before (also in South Africa)
Thank you Horizon.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   12 June 2022

Rebecca who has been on 10 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous riding | Wonderful horses, great guides and always something fun to do. This time because the dam was full I enjoyed a lot of swims on the horses and I was impressed with the new jumping lane. At Horizon, it's not just about the horses, everyone is helpful, warm and fun to spend time with. So many people go the extra mile... thank you


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   5 May 2022

Barbara who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Horizon - Friendly, exciting, fun week with nature | This holiday surpassed my expectations as I had been on a few safaris before with elephant & cats so I thought this safari may be a little “tame". However I was entirely wrong, the horses were fabulous, characterful but mannerly, very well cared for & super professional! The rides were fun, very much gauged to the rider's ability. The team couldn’t do enough for the guests, so kind, fun & thoughtful.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   2 May 2022

Alison who has been on 12 In The Saddle rides. Another wonderful holiday | Excellent


Horizon Lodge - South Africa

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   3 April 2022

Shannon who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. An Amazing Family Holiday | We had an fantastic week at Horizon. All five members of our family are at different riding levels, with ages ranging from 9 to 50, but we managed to ride together all week with no one feeling left out or held back. The staff and horses were perfect. Some great activities were organised from Polocrosse to swimming with the horses. I wouldn't change a thing.


15 reviews