Reviews
17 reviews   
Highland Trails - Iceland

Knit and Ride Adventure

5 star rating   5 April 2024

Judy (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Lovely | I don’t think this holiday would be suitable for people who are inexperienced hacking over different ground. The terrain was uneven. I enjoyed every moment but I spend most of my time hacking.


Highland Trails - Iceland

Geysir - Gullfoss Special

4 star rating   24 August 2023

Michelle who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic horses and people but be prepared for basic | So different to what used to but got in to it eventually. Great variety of routes although a lot were road side but I guess nothing can be done about that to get to where we needed to get to


Highland Trails - Iceland

Geysir - Gullfoss Special

4 star rating   24 August 2023

Gaynor who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. A different riding experience | The riding and the horses were good. I found on some horses I was bumpy and bouncy as not sure if they were tolting or trotting, the saddles were comfortable.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for your feedback. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the riding but I'm sorry to hear that a few of the horses weren't that comfortable.]


Highland Trails - Iceland

Snæfellsnes Beach and Mountain Ride

5 star rating   24 June 2023

Nina who has been on 10 In The Saddle rides. Scenery and riding, absolutely outstanding! | I had high expectations to begin with but the riding and scenery exceeded them. I was blown away! Every day is so different for what you see and it's incredibly beautiful. I felt like I was on a movie set every day. I loved the riding. It was fast, just how I like it. I loved how we could ride as we wished. Riding side by side and overtaking was completely ok. The horses all get on so well. [In The Saddle replies: Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear the riding and scenery exceeded your expectations.]


Highland Trails - Iceland

Winter Riding and Northern Lights

5 star rating   19 November 2022

Nina who has been on 10 In The Saddle rides. A dream come true | This was one of the best riding holidays and riding experiences I've ever had. It was my first time riding an Icelandic horse and after doing so they are now my favourite breed. The way they move feels amazing and they have incredible personalities.
The rides out we did were short but we experienced something different each time. The scenery is stunning and the type of ground we rode on changed all the time. Where many horses would have a difficult time, the Icelandic horses skipped over it like mountain goats.
We tolted lots! I loved the pace of the ride which was quick, as did the horses. My horse was perfectly matched to me. The best horse I've ever ridden!
The log cabin accomodation was beautiful, with an outdoor hot tub you could look at the stars from. The food was plenty and excellent. The hosts and guides was just fabulous. Super friendly and caring, making sure we had the best experience possible, and they succeeded!
Everything about this holiday was perfection. I also loved the trip to the Golden Circle. Way better being taken by our host Sophie, than on a big bus full of people! She taught us so much about Iceland and their way of life. We also met the family and was able to buy Icelandic jumpers the ladies had knitted. The holiday also felt like a wonderful cultural experience too.
We didn't see the Northern Lights, but that was fine as the horses made me as happy as I could be anyway.
I can't wait to return to Iceland and ride again! [In The Saddle replies: Thank you for your wonderful feedback, it is great to hear how much of a great time you had. The horses are certainly unique and many people do love them.]


Highland Trails - Iceland

Winter Riding and Northern Lights

4 star rating   12 November 2022

Hester who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Based to the itinerary I expected the rides to be longer and more diverse. Riding was a lot of fun, but rides were short and basically the same.


Highland Trails - Iceland

Snæfellsnes Beach and Mountain Ride

5 star rating   3 September 2022

Karena who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Amazing adventure | Riding was superb the horses were loved and part of the Icelandic family as were we. The guide made an extra effort to suit me to each horse and the riding was awesome. Would recommend to anyone and would certainly go back!

We rode in beaches and across lava fields some of the most beautiful countryside I’ve ever seen. Strong sturdy and sure footed speedy horses !

Love loved it!


Highland Trails - Iceland

Snæfellsnes Beach and Mountain Ride

5 star rating   20 August 2022

Dag (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) A perfect vacation | Excellent


Highland Trails - Iceland

Kjölur - North to South

4 star rating   12 August 2022

Katrine who has been on 9 In The Saddle rides. We changed horses twice a day, and not all of them were equally good, but mostly the horse fit perfectly, and the horses were of different levels, and everyone had to be allowed to try different horses.
In addition, all horses were friendly and well handled, most quite contact-seeking and curious.


Highland Trails - Iceland

Kjölur - North to South

5 star rating   12 August 2022

Katie (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fabulous riding, horses, scenery and hosts | Riding the Kjolur trail was an amazing experience. The landscapes are beautiful and the horses are fantastic. We rode north to south and at the end I would have happily joined the next group to do it all again and ride south to north and that was even with getting drenched on two of our riding days.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for your feedback, we are so happy you enjoyed riding in Iceland :-)]


Highland Trails - Iceland

Golden Circle

4 star rating   5 August 2022

Sarah who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Very good | Met expectations. Accommodation and food relatively basic, but pretty much as expected. Don't choose this for a fast ride- walk and tolt only, really.


Highland Trails - Iceland

Kjölur - North to South

5 star rating   15 July 2022

Ros (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Breathtaking | What a fabulous experience! Such a hardy & willing breed of horse, a joy to ride.
Very much enjoyed learning the Tolt and Pace!
The team at Islandshestar were brilliant with people and clearly loved their horses.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for your feedback and we are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday in Iceland.]


Highland Trails - Iceland

Kjölur - South to North

5 star rating   8 July 2022

Joely (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Amazing Experience | The riding was fast and exciting, covering a huge variety of terrain. The horses were all so willing, and excited to get going each morning. Sophie the team leader put a lot of effort in matching horses to riders, and always wanted to hear feedback in order to improve her pairings.


Highland Trails - Iceland

Winter Riding and Northern Lights

5 star rating   19 March 2022

Rochelle (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Magically Enchanting | There were plenty of helmets - of varying sizes - for everyone to use. At least for this specific riding operator -IslandsHestar - run by Sophie and Hanes, helmets are NOT necessary to bring. I would have liked knowing that, as helmets take space in a suitcase. I also think that it needs to be strongly stressed that the Northern Lights are very unpredictable, even during March. We had very extreme winter weather during our 3 day ride, so the Northern Lights were not visible. That’s normal, as we have no control over the weather, but I think this ride needs to say it several times, that the chances of seeing them are never assured.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear the weather was extreme during your holiday and you didn’t see the Northern Lights. We will review the ride information and make sure it is very clear that the lights are subject to the correct weather conditions.
Our 'recommended packing list' mentions that hats are available to borrow locally but we would always recommend riders take their own to ensure fit and quality.]


Highland Trails - Iceland

Winter Riding and Northern Lights

5 star rating   12 March 2022

Maddy who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. A really fun experience! | We rode Icelandic Horses at a mixture of walk and tolt. These horses are so smooth to ride and lovely to handle. A really fun experience I would definitely recommend!
[Becky from ITS replies: It's great to hear that you had such fun riding the Icelandic horses!]


Highland Trails - Iceland

Kjölur - South to North

5 star rating   11 July 2020

Line (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Kjolur Ride | Excellent


Highland Trails - Iceland

Kjölur - South to North

5 star rating   11 July 2020

Ulla (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Kjolur Ride | Fantastic terrain, skilled people around the horses and us. Our guide Bjørk was good at selecting horses that suited me and my level. The standard of the horses was far better than the tack (Satisfied/Very Satisfied). It was worn saddles and girths, saddlebags that were perforated and disgusting (Unsatisfied).


17 reviews