Reviews
11 reviews   
Footsteps of Lawrence - Jordan
Experience Level

Ride and Visit to Dead Sea

5 star rating   6 May 2019

I’ve wanted to do this ride for near on 20 years, it didn’t disappoint! The riding and scenery was stunning. My horse was spritly and fun without ever making me feel unsafe. The wadi rum desert is unspoilt with few tourists. Every corner turned reminded me of being on a hollywood film set!
The simplicity of sleeping outside under the stars was magical. But equally arriving in the static camp after a couple of sweaty dusty days riding for a ‘real’ shower was most welcome.
The pace of the ride was slower than I first anticipated with perhaps 2 canters per ride, however this allowed you to admire the stunning rock formations and beauty of the desert.
The rhythm of wake, eat, ride, sleep, ride, eat, sleep! was alien to begin with, I never get a chance to stop! But by day 3 I felt fully relaxed and looked forward to each part of the day.
The food was outstanding, I feel inspired to buy a Jordanian cookbook!
Overall I loved this holiday and would recommend it to any horsey enthusiast who enjoys amazing scenery and good food!


Footsteps of Lawrence - Jordan
Experience Level

Ride and Visit to Dead Sea

4 star rating   29 April 2019

There were a couple of older riders in our group which meant the ride was slower than everyone else would have wanted. I don't think they were well suited to the trip. I got on really well with my mare Na'am - very forward going and great temperament - also responsive.


Footsteps of Lawrence - Jordan
Experience Level

Ride and Visit to Dead Sea

5 star rating   15 October 2018

Excellent


Footsteps of Lawrence - Jordan
Experience Level

Ride (8 nights)

1 star rating   7 October 2018

Horses: Bedouin hoses in the desert are different from other Arabic horses that I rode. They are super sensitive to ambience and this means riders need to pay much more attention on controlling them. Almost all our nine horses do not befriend each other and kick even when walking. When cantering, they all intend to run in full speed and be first instead of following an order. However, they are very powerful and there is a great pleasure to canter / gallop. It is definitely valuable to ride Bedouin horse in Wadi Rum.

Guide: our 9 people only have 1 riding guide (normally 2). With different levels of riding capability, it is hard to canter/gallop as a group. So we almost walked throughout the journey. Landscape is similar and this made the trip very boring. Biggest issue is that our guide is quite introvert and silent. Bedouin culture is rich. Bedouin people are full of wisdom and great stories. There are skills to survive in desert. There are stories of Arab independence and wars. As our guide is silent, we almost did not learn anything from him. So it is important to make sure your guide is right.
[In The Sadde - This was a private group. We had been informed that all were experienced riders, but unfortunately this wasn't the case and so to ensure there were no accidents the ride had to go at the pace of the weakest riders. The guide was our regular guide Salem who normally gets really excellent feedback, so we cannot understand the comments. There may have been a language barrier.]


Footsteps of Lawrence - Jordan
Experience Level

Ride and Visit to Dead Sea

5 star rating   10 September 2018

The guide & grooms were very knowledgeable. You could tell that they really cared for the horses. Both the horses & tack were well looked after.


Footsteps of Lawrence - Jordan
Experience Level

Ride and Visit to Dead Sea

5 star rating   23 April 2018

The riding was absolutely fantastic. The horses were all fit, happy and very willing! The pace was a perfect mixture and suited the terrain perfectly. The length of time in the saddle was perfect.


Footsteps of Lawrence - Jordan
Experience Level

Ride and Visit to Dead Sea

5 star rating   23 April 2018

Better than expected. Tip though the dust and heat is harder on the body than the riding itself, so protect your mouth and nose from breathing in the dust and sand. Very exciting, be prepared to be adventurous it makes it more fun!


Footsteps of Lawrence - Jordan
Experience Level

Ride and Visit to Dead Sea

5 star rating   19 March 2018

The horses were great, perfectly matched to riders and really well looked after.

The Jordan Track team reads all of the riders requests in advance and select a horse to match your wishes (please be honest).
Horses are forward going and there are variety of horses to fit rider's preferences.

The scenery is amazing and changes from day to day. Large part of the ride is at walk but we did a number of fast canters/gallops a day depending on the terrain.

The Jordan Track team is great and they really look after their guests and keen to share with you the love of their beautiful country.


Footsteps of Lawrence - Jordan
Experience Level

Ride (8 nights)

5 star rating   18 March 2018

At times, riding was fast and fun. At other times, we snaked along taking in the beautiful vistas. Both were equally enjoyable.


Footsteps of Lawrence - Jordan
Experience Level

Ride and Visit to Dead Sea

5 star rating   23 October 2017

Excellent


Footsteps of Lawrence - Jordan
Experience Level

Ride and Visit to Dead Sea

5 star rating   16 October 2017

Horses are very well taken care of. Machmoud who takes care of the horses cleans the eyes and nose with a cloth. You can see those horses are being loved by their owners. You have to be a good rider although they have also "easier" horses for less experience/adventurous riders. All horses have a high level of cuddling. Saleem the owner is very social and tried his best to get to know everyone. I can only recommend this trail if you like 'back to basics' kind of travelling with extra ordinary nature landscape.


11 reviews