Reviews
9 reviews   
Footsteps of Lawrence - Jordan

Bedouin Trails & Dead Sea

5 star rating   30 May 2022

Carole who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Memorable Experience | Truly memorable experience. Ten days in Jordan, five of them riding in the Wadi Rum. Met wonderful people, AMAZING horses, superb food, even in the middle of the desert. Happy Birthday sung to me in several languages under the Wadi Rum stars, truly memorable! Many thanks to all involved.


Footsteps of Lawrence - Jordan

Bedouin Trails & Dead Sea

5 star rating   27 December 2021

Jill (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Excellent


Footsteps of Lawrence - Jordan

Bedouin Trails & Dead Sea

5 star rating   16 September 2019

Eleanor who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. A unforgettable trip | What a wonderful week! Wonderful people, beautiful scenery and lovely horses.


Footsteps of Lawrence - Jordan

Bedouin Trails & Dead Sea

5 star rating   16 September 2019

Julie who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic riding in an awesome environment | Forward going horses, which were very fit.


Footsteps of Lawrence - Jordan

Bedouin Trails & Dead Sea

5 star rating   6 May 2019

Salty (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Arabian Desert Adventurer | I’ve wanted to do this ride for near on 20 years, it didn’t disappoint! The riding and scenery was stunning. My horse was spritly and fun without ever making me feel unsafe. The wadi rum desert is unspoilt with few tourists. Every corner turned reminded me of being on a hollywood film set!
The simplicity of sleeping outside under the stars was magical. But equally arriving in the static camp after a couple of sweaty dusty days riding for a ‘real’ shower was most welcome.
The pace of the ride was slower than I first anticipated with perhaps 2 canters per ride, however this allowed you to admire the stunning rock formations and beauty of the desert.
The rhythm of wake, eat, ride, sleep, ride, eat, sleep! was alien to begin with, I never get a chance to stop! But by day 3 I felt fully relaxed and looked forward to each part of the day.
The food was outstanding, I feel inspired to buy a Jordanian cookbook!
Overall I loved this holiday and would recommend it to any horsey enthusiast who enjoys amazing scenery and good food!


Footsteps of Lawrence - Jordan

Bedouin Trails & Dead Sea

4 star rating   29 April 2019

Sarah Malcolm (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Adventure | There were a couple of older riders in our group which meant the ride was slower than everyone else would have wanted. I don't think they were well suited to the trip. I got on really well with my mare Na'am - very forward going and great temperament - also responsive.


Footsteps of Lawrence - Jordan

Bedouin Trails & Dead Sea

5 star rating   15 October 2018

Acacia who has been on 7 In The Saddle rides. Excellent


Footsteps of Lawrence - Jordan

Ride (8 nights)

1 star rating   7 October 2018

Jason (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Large room to improve riding guide and services | Horses: Bedouin hoses in the desert are different from other Arabic horses that I rode. They are super sensitive to ambience and this means riders need to pay much more attention on controlling them. Almost all our nine horses do not befriend each other and kick even when walking. When cantering, they all intend to run in full speed and be first instead of following an order. However, they are very powerful and there is a great pleasure to canter / gallop. It is definitely valuable to ride Bedouin horse in Wadi Rum.

Guide: our 9 people only have 1 riding guide (normally 2). With different levels of riding capability, it is hard to canter/gallop as a group. So we almost walked throughout the journey. Landscape is similar and this made the trip very boring. Biggest issue is that our guide is quite introvert and silent. Bedouin culture is rich. Bedouin people are full of wisdom and great stories. There are skills to survive in desert. There are stories of Arab independence and wars. As our guide is silent, we almost did not learn anything from him. So it is important to make sure your guide is right.
[In The Sadde - This was a private group. We had been informed that all were experienced riders, but unfortunately this wasn't the case and so to ensure there were no accidents the ride had to go at the pace of the weakest riders. The guide was our regular guide Salem who normally gets really excellent feedback, so we cannot understand the comments. There may have been a language barrier.]


Footsteps of Lawrence - Jordan

Bedouin Trails & Dead Sea

5 star rating   10 September 2018

Fi who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Footsteps of Lawrence - Jordan | The guide & grooms were very knowledgeable. You could tell that they really cared for the horses. Both the horses & tack were well looked after.


9 reviews