Reviews
10 reviews   
Extremadura - Spain
Experience Level

Monfragüe National Park

5 star rating   18 May 2019

The riding was at a relaxed pace, no trotting and mostly walking, but we did canter 4-5 times each day. The first morning is at walk to get to know your horse. My horse Datil was very responsive and walked out well and was polite and easy on the canters. The horses were very sure footed, managing the sometimes rocky terrain like mountain goats. All tack was in good condition and the saddle seat savers were very comfortable. The riding hours were long (6.5hrs) but a long day was broken up with tapas stops and a long lunch, and followed by a shorter days riding (5hrs).


Extremadura - Spain
Experience Level

Conquistadors ride

5 star rating   11 May 2019

The riding takes place in the hills, where it goes very up and down. Therefore, it is not the fastest ride with a lot of canters, as it will be too hard on the horses. But every day there is a canter at medium pace (absolutely perfect, as it does not go too slow or too fast) when the terrain allows it. I think it has been appropriate, as there were several good and long stretches of tracks where we canter.
Emilio is really good at assessing which horse best suits each rider. He hits the spot almost every time, it is wildly amazing!


Extremadura - Spain
Experience Level

Monfragüe National Park

5 star rating   27 April 2019

Yes, lovely and varied countryside. Very nice horses indeed that were well trained and very safe though still responsive. They are well cared for and obviously very much loved. Super lunches provided by Mamen. The hotel in Trujillo was excellent and the other places to stay were absolutely fine. Highly recommended.


Extremadura - Spain
Experience Level

Monfragüe National Park

5 star rating   27 April 2019

I am nervous about cantering despite lots of experience. We spent the first morning entirely in walk which gave horses and riders an opportunity to settle down with each other and build a trusting relationship. Canter was introduced carefully and I was able to enjoy every moment thanks to skilled leadership by Emilio and to my wonderful horse. On most days we had long steady canters, there was very little trotting and the majority of the riding was in walk. The terrain was perfect for riding - large areas of beautiful rolling pasture in a deeply rural region. Twenty minutes on a quiet but fast road was enough to demonstrate that these horses are absolutely traffic proof.


Extremadura - Spain
Experience Level

Monfragüe National Park

5 star rating   27 April 2019

excellent PRE horse, strong and sensible, friendly and reliable;
variation of terrain: countryside or national park, up and down hill;
mostly walk, canter where possible;
confidence giving guide;
nice tapas/picknicks on lovely places (thank you for the vegetarian alternatives, and the tent when it's was raining...), smooth organisation of the whole holiday


Extremadura - Spain
Experience Level

Conquistadors ride

5 star rating   20 October 2018

It was as good as it could be.


Extremadura - Spain
Experience Level

Conquistadors ride

5 star rating   6 October 2018

Super good horses that are really well looked after. The pace was slow. Either walk or short canters. No trot. Perhaps I would have liked a little more faster pace, but overall the riding was fine.


Extremadura - Spain
Experience Level

Conquistadors ride

5 star rating   26 May 2018

Could have been faster and shorter time in the saddle.


Extremadura - Spain
Experience Level

Conquistadors ride

5 star rating   26 May 2018

My mum booked this holiday for us both so I had no real expectations beforehand. The horses were lovely, responsive and a comfortable ride. A true riding holiday! Long hours in the saddle with a wide variety of real rural Spanish scenery.


Extremadura - Spain
Experience Level

Monfragüe National Park

5 star rating   20 May 2018

I have been on a lot of trail riding holidays and this is certainly one of my very best experiences to date. Emilio and Mamen are amazing hosts, very welcoming and friendly. They have a passion for their horses and what they do which is clearly evident in the experience that they provide. The horses are very well looked after, well trained and responsive, which makes for a very enjoyable ride. Emilio is a very skilled horseman and guide and is very good at matching you with the right horse. The riding is through the most amazing and varied scenery - the wild flowers were in full bloom which added to the beauty and the birdlife was outstanding. When I book a riding holiday, then I want to experience a full day of riding and that is exactly what I got! The pace was varied, with good opportunities for canters. The day was broken up nicely, with Mamen's tapas breaks and a long lunch which were all very enjoyable. Mamen looks after you SO well - the food was delicious, and my waistline definitely increased! Overall, I cannot fault this experience - great horses, great riding, great scenery, great food and great company. I will definitely book again with this company - they offer a number of different trail rides and I want to experience them all. I can't wait to return!


10 reviews