Reviews
17 reviews   
Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina
Experience Level

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   16 October 2018

Very fast, but very safe riding on open ground on very comfortable horses. We were able to herd cattle, play polo and there was plenty of galloping. The horses are well cared for and clearly much loved.


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina
Experience Level

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   30 August 2018

The riding met my expectations and more. I rode eight different horses over the ten rides I completed over the seven days. These included both Pasos, Criollos and polo horses. It was fantastic! We rode out across the beautiful landscape, helped herd the cattle and 'holiday' horses and even got to play polo. It was quality riding for a good portion of the day. These being mixed up with full-day picnic rides to half day treks or 'jobs' with a trip back to the Estancia in between.


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina
Experience Level

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   15 May 2018

I couldn't believe how rough the riding was - if you showed my horse that terrain he would go lane! The horses were incredibly sure footed and very confident in the ground even in gallop, and without exception they were enthusiastic and responsive. I only wish we'd had the weather to try some polo there!


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina
Experience Level

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   2 January 2018

Really lovely horses; couldn’t recommend them highly enough


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina
Experience Level

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   18 December 2017

The horses are beautifully trained. I did not believe that absolute beginners could head out safely and happily while experienced riders got to go at speed, but it is made possible by the terrific group of horses that have been so well trained. The "paso" is a treat and it is also really educational to sit on a horse who knows cattle work.


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina
Experience Level

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   23 November 2017

The riding far exceed my expectations! Sure footed horses that could be quiet with a novice rider and still fun for those with more experience. The Pasos must be the most comfortable horses out there! We played polo and my horses was very responsive and really adjusted (down!) to my level of playing.

Terrain was varied enough to feel challenging without every feeling "hairy"


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina
Experience Level

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   31 July 2017

On every level the horses are fantastic, they really look after the guests judging who they have riding them. The horses really know their job as working animals but also enjoy a good few gallops on the trails. The gaucho takes you somewhere new on the farm everyday and gets you working from day one, anyone who has an inner cowboy would love every second.


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina
Experience Level

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   4 May 2017

Everything was wonderful - expectations exceeded. Hosting and riding could not be faulted - Louisa and Kevin, management, guides, gauchos, cooks and housekeeping. First Easter Egg Hunt on horseback and introduction to Polo!

(ITS NOTE: So glad you enjoyed your time at the wonderful Los Potreros. Congrats on your first go at polo - and Easter egg hunt of course!).


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina
Experience Level

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   13 March 2017

The riding was superb. I rode two horses each day. The horses seemed to be beautifully matched to the ability of each rider in the group. They were forward going and responsive. I felt safe at all times but without any reduction in adrenalin on the rides.


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina
Experience Level

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   25 January 2017

Wonderful selection of well mannered horses.


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina
Experience Level

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   9 January 2017

I really enjoyed the riding. I was so taken with the Peruvian horses, their fifth gate is so comfortable. I really enjoyed the criollo horses too. I rode twice a day, so I was happy with the amount of riding I got in. You also get to try a variety of horses who are all really fit and very well mannered. They were certainly able to canter up some steep hills. The views from the riding were stunning, it was such a nice feeling to canter to the top of a hill and overlook it. '

The criollo horses were great for polo and so easy to ride on the pitch. They know their job so it's a good opportunity to try polo if you have never played.

All the horses were in pelhams but I felt comfortable riding with them and I never felt that the horses were too strong. The saddles were English or Australian stock saddles with sheep skins on so they were extremely comfortable.


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina
Experience Level

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   6 January 2017

Lou knows all her horses by name and disposition, and there wasn't a mean spirited one in the group. I found all the horses I rode to be very safe. They were honest, agile as cats, even tempered, and reliable. Willing to go forward at a gallop but easily guided or restrained as needed. They got along with each other, no pinned ears, no out-of-control sprints while at a canter.


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina
Experience Level

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   3 January 2017

Found that Lou was very responsive to any requests that we had and did her best to match the horse and rider. Loved that due to the large number of horses, there was plenty of choices.Yes this ride did meet my expectations and know that the entire group of nine riders would feel the same way.


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina
Experience Level

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   3 January 2017

The horses were healthy, agile, forward-going and even-tempered; a pleasure to ride no matter which one it was on any given day. Lovely introduction to Criollo and Peruvian Paso horses.

Some of the terrain is rocky, uneven and steep, but where a faster pace was possible and safe, we cantered and galloped through outstanding scenery. Excellent and exciting mix of paces. Enjoyed opportunities for pointers and lessons on types of riding and activities: polo, roping, herding, etc.

Gauchos and local staff were attentive and dedicated to seeing that saddles, girths, tack were checked and re-checked before and during riding. Level of safety and care is excellent.


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina
Experience Level

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   3 January 2017

The whole trip was outstanding. Great people, excellent horses, Lou and Kevin have really created magic for people that want to ride.


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina
Experience Level

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   23 December 2016

Loved the variety of horses


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina
Experience Level

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   23 December 2016

Awesome horses and so sure footed. Comfortable and clean tack.


17 reviews