Reviews
17 reviews   
Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina

Estancia Los Potreros

4 star rating   1 March 2024

Katrine who has been on 9 In The Saddle rides. Los Potreros | Fantastic surroundings, which however become a bit monotonous after a few days. However there were various experiences that helped with that, including helping to drive cattle, capturing some of the horses and a polo day. Also a good thing is that you ride criollo/polo horses in the morning and paso horses in the afternoon.

Some horses had girth wounds but the guides were very aware of this and moved the girth if it was on it. However, they had no ointment or similar to treat with.


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   18 February 2024

Jane who has been on 17 In The Saddle rides. Best adventure ever in Argentina | I could not be happier with the riding I experienced at Los Potreros. During my stay I rode 14 different horses, all wonderfully comfortable and well mannered, and the pasos were to die for! Soooo smooth and comfortable. If I had stayed longer there were more horses for me to try - I fell in love with all the horses I rode.

The saddles were extremely comfortable for long rides and the care that was taken by the gauchos and guides was second to none. Their passion for their horses and providing guests with nothing but the best experience was so evident.

I rode in the mornings from 10 am until around 2 pm and again in the evenings from 5.30 pm until 7.30 ish. Sometimes we were able to help with work on the farm such as moving cattle or horses for specific reasons and I really enjoyed this. I was also glad that it was a working farm and not events specially put on for the benefit of the guests. Having grown up on a farm it was wonderful to be herding cattle. Made me feel that I was 10 years old again.

Los Potreros more than met my expectations and I would love to go back.


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   31 October 2023

Evie who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. A new experience in many ways | Excellent variety of hacking, horses, terrain with different experiences as part of the rides. The los pots team were very friendly and helpful too - they went out of their way to give us a polo experience and we got to experience gaucho games. These were our favourite parts. To make it even better, more of these types of activities would be great.


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   16 October 2023

Ursula (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) A fantastic experience! | The riding experience was adapted on a daily basis with a focus on it being a holiday rather than an ordeal. Each ride was interesting with a different focus and the horses were very well schooled and responsive.

[Abbie from ITS replies: Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We're absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Los Potreros so much].


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   1 April 2023

Margi who has been on 7 In The Saddle rides. Exceeded all expectations | Fabulous views.


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   1 April 2023

Carol (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Los Potreros - Fabulous | Excellent


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   1 April 2023

Jane (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Beyond Expectation | The riding experience was excellent.
I think it helped that we where a group of 8 with similar abilities and expectation.
We never had the same horse to ride, all of them had their individual characteristics but as they were bred on the Estancia they knew their job.
Always felt safe even on steep, rocky downhill parts of the ride. Best bit the gallopee with the gauchos.


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina

Estancia Los Potreros

4 star rating   1 April 2023

Gwenan (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Argentina | Enjoyed riding different horses every day. All were very well behaved. I was looking forward to playing polo, swimming in the waterfall and visiting a nearby village, but was told the weather did not permit any of these. This would have given more variety to the holiday.

[Abbie from In The Saddle replies: The team at Los Potreros always do their very best to ensure as many activities as possible are offered, but they are subject to the weather, the duration of your stay and other local conditions. We are really glad that you enjoyed your holiday nontheless.]


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   1 April 2023

Gwen who has been on 10 In The Saddle rides. Absolutely amazing time had at Los Potreros, Argentina | The riding experience way exceeded our expectations! All the horses were wonderful - we rode different ones on each ride which I was a bit unsure about, but it totally worked. The Pasos in particular were a delight to ride with their fifth gait - so comfortable. We soon mastered the Western style riding with one hand and neck reining - all the horses were so much fun, very sure footed over some rough terrain at times and totally responsive to whatever speed we went at - the 'Gallop-e' was great fun, especially across the polo field!
The whole week was totally amazing with wonderful terrain and scenery but the highlight had to be the two days of rounding up the cattle to bring them into the corrals for vaccinations. Watching the gauchos at work was fascinating. All the gauchos and guides were such good company out on the rides and we learnt a lot about the wildlife and farming there.

[Abbie from In The Saddle replies: We are so pleased that you had such special experiences and enjoyed your holiday so much. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about it].


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   26 March 2023

Plum who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous | The best riding we’ve had around the world. Such fantastic and beautiful horses. Great pace on the rides - lots of variation. We particularly loved experriencing the pasos gait - so comfortable and unusual! So the riding far surpassed our expectations.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: It's wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your holiday.]


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   5 December 2022

Janet who has been on 16 In The Saddle rides. An Amazing Experience | The riding was over some rough terrain with rocks among the tall clumps of grasses. Sometimes up and down steep slopes and through small streams. The views at the top were panoramic. It was incredible to ride over a varied landscape without meeting any other humans - dog walkers, cyclists or hikers!!! The rides were geared to the level of the rider slow or faster for the more experienced. Mainly walking but with long canters for those that wanted them. The gauchos (Argentinians) and guides (mainly English girls 21+) were all very helpful.


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   5 December 2022

Sue who has been on 8 In The Saddle rides. ABSOLUTELY OUTSTANDING | The rides were varied and always interesting and as a rather rusty rider, I appreciated going on the slow rides. The horses are superb, very well looked after and unbelievably sure footed on the rugged terrain. I rode five different horses, Paso and Criollo and cannot praise them enough. The views on the estancia from whichever direction you go are incredible especially riding to the 'Top of the World' outlook. The gauchos and guides looked after us all the time without fail. I have rarely felt so comfortable riding (after a gap of over 30 years) and confident in the ability of my horse to look after me. Some of the terrain is challenging but these horses never wavered. Most are bred on the estancia and are a tribute to Kevin Begg and his breeding policies.


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   5 December 2022

Elizabeth who has been on 13 In The Saddle rides. Amazing in every way! | Surpassed expectations!
The horses - Peruvian Pasos and Criollos - were forward going and sure footed.
The gauchos were so competent, kind and helpful.


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   5 December 2022

Mike (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Los Potreros | What a fantastic experience and Argentina is great and amazing country to visit!!

The estancia, the horses, the food were all amazing. Kevin and Georgia are fantastic hosts as are all the guides and gauchos who made sure we had the best experience and did everything possible to make us feel comfortable, and to make the our stay fit our personal wishes.


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   21 November 2022

Joanna who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Los Potreros Argentina - This holiday provided bucket list memories that weren't even on my bucket list! | Returning to the same place I loved in under a year, I was doubtful whether it would live up to my expectations and be as truly amazing second time... it absolutely exceeded my expectations! The riding was superb and I found myself having bucket list moments that I didn't even know were on my bucket list - riding across the estancia in the heat to jump into a beautiful rock pool, hidden away where we swam and relaxed whilst the horses dozed with the Gaucho. I rode some previous favourite horses again and lots of new ones. Georgia knows my riding style and horse tastes so well that when she brought out the beautiful grey Peruvian horse, Aguito proclaiming "I think this might be love for you" she was 100% right! The quality of riding was brilliant, I can't think of a better place to ride!


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   17 March 2022

Joanna who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Los Potreros Argentina - out of this world - eat, ride, sleep, repeat! | The riding at the estancia is absolutely superb. The terrain is hilly and rocky and the horses are incredibly sure-footed, managing the rocks like mountain goats. They are beautifully calm and well trained, yet forward going and fun to ride, all absolute sweethearts! I really enjoyed riding the Peruvian Pasos with their extra gait, the Paso, which is so comfortable to ride. We rode out twice a day, in the morning at around 10:00 returning for lunch at the estancia followed by a siesta and then a late afternoon ride after afternoon tea. I rode at every given opportunity and maxed out the opportunity. Bringing the foals in off the hills in the evening was a highlight. We also rounded up the brood mares for pregnancy testing. A real highlight was herding the cattle to the cattle station which was so much fun, channelling our "inner gaucho". A few of the later afternoon rides were "sun downer" rides - a special gin and tonic stop on the eve of my birthday (complete with ice and lemon) was incredibly special, as was the moonlight ride under the full moon for "Rose on the Rocks. The gauchos were amazing as were our three guides, Kim, Milly and Niek who were incredibly attentive, ensuring we were always safe and well cared for as well as fun.


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   4 February 2022

Dilys who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Estancia Los Potreros - So good I went there twice! | Yes, but the "average" UK rider, whose experience is of riding schools, arenas, competitions and occasional hacking (but very circumscribed unless you live in certain areas) can have little idea of what to expect - it's as if you own, for a short space of time, your very own 60,000 hectares of ranch, free to roam the wide open spaces at will, without cars or other people. Riding across pampas grass is good for horse and rider, and the horses are well-trained and experienced on the rocky hilly terrain. You really can just sit back and leave them to it. In my normal UK environment I am not the most confident of riders, but there I feel absolutely confident. The landscape is varied and stunning. Every ride is accompanied by a gaucho and one of the English-speaking guides, who are fun company.
Guests who are not riders at all but decide to "try sitting on a horse" often have a wonderful experience. The back of a horse is simply the best way to experience that scenery.


17 reviews