Reviews
36 reviews    1 2
El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

2 star rating   20 October 2018

The riding was good for me.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   12 October 2018

We were lucky that the week was not fully booked. The horses were in excellent condition, all staff and support staff were friendly and helpful. We had different instructors and they were very mindful of our abilities and gave us plenty of opportunities to stretch ourselves. A most enjoyable week.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   14 September 2018

We all had a fantastic time and we’re kept in a private group which made the holiday perfect


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   12 September 2018

Riding was fantastic through beautiful scenic routes, totally off road. Good pace kept, plenty of loping and jogging. Horses were beautifully behaved, forward going and responsive.

We had good humour with Robert and Sophie (I think that was her pronunciation) on the rides and both were really helpful.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   30 August 2018

Robert and his trainers helped my son, Isaac, who is ten years old. He started as a total beginner, and by the end of the week was cantering safely around the arena on his own. They were absolutely wonderful with him and have inspired him to ride more at home.
I am an experienced rider but learnt a great deal more on this holiday. It was really interesting to learn the western style of riding, and my horse was very sensitive and well behaved.
I would say that the riding and tuition exceeded my expectations.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

4 star rating   30 August 2018

Everything horse-related was absolutely marvellous. Horses are very well trained, treated gently and with care. They have plenty of space and excellent conditions. Trainers are competent and helpful, and they can find perfect balance between teaching and fun.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

4 star rating   9 July 2018

I had the impression from In The Saddle that you would be able to choose between lessons for learning Western Riding in the arena and try different things, yet on arrival it seems that they only offered trail riding (with the exception of a first "orientation" lesson in the arena to gauge that you were ok to hack).

If you pushed them really hard to do some arena work and then they would only agree if the "whole group of customers" wanted a lesson. If you did not push hard for this you would have just got 2 trail rides every day. Learning the arena based riding work was very interesting. We did also persuade them to do our group a Western Riding demonstration one day, which was a real highlight.

The trail riding itself was very pleasant but very samey and really a few days of this would have been enough for me. In fact on the last day I opted not to ride on the hack and stayed by the pool for a bit of relax time instead.

My horse Elvis was lovely. You could not fault the care of the horses, tack, safety standards etc. at this place.

Insects were awful - you need lots of bug spray and that did not seem to work on me either so I got bitten alot!


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

2 star rating   3 July 2018

The riding was rather 'samey' and very controlled ie we kept to the same formation and tracks as the leader each time. This may have been because the others were less experienced but made it quite dull.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   28 June 2018

Amazing horses with a good mind. Terrain is not so varied, but that is how it is when riding from a center base. Good instructors, but they teach a little differently, which I had to get used to.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   15 June 2018

It was great to be matched with people with the same ability. The horses were fantastic and very well looked after. The guides were very helpful especially miley, Gabor and Robert.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   10 June 2018

The riding was wonderful. The horses were well schooled, responsive and forward going yet calm and easy to ride. They were in super condition, very relaxed and clearly well cared for and content. It was a joy to ride them. We had lots of long leisurely rides out but there was plenty of opportunity to jog and loop. Riders were grouped according to ability and the groups kept small. We kept the same horse throughout which (as a nervous rider) I really appreciated as the more confidence I gained in my mount the more adventurous I became in my riding.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   17 May 2018

Fantastic riding. Well-trained horses, knowledgeable guides who were happy to adjust plans to sits the rides we wanted to do. We were also offered time in the hall/paddock to practise western-style riding. Lovely accommodation and location.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   11 April 2018

Riding was great although maybe a little more tuition on lopping would have been beneficial for our non-riding friend


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   29 March 2018

Wonderful horses, knowledgeable guides, wonderful terrain with varied walks, jogs and canters.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   22 February 2018

Tack very well maintained with both excellent trainers and instructors.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   30 November 2017

An excellent return visit, they had taken the time to check from the records the horses we had last time and the room we had. Same steads, same room ..... equalled 2 happy ladies!


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   25 October 2017

My second visit to El Bronco. Horses well schooled and staff pleasant, professional and helpful. Accommodation great and Hungarian food plentiful and delicious. I'm now planning two visits for next year as I had such a wonderful time. I never holidayed on my own but now happy to do so as on both occasions have met lovely people. The ranch is an amazing place set within a beautiful National Park - amazing trails with time to de clutter your head space. I didn't want to leave but will return next year.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   20 September 2017

Excellent forward going horses which were all matched well to ability and if the rider was not quite comfortable with the pairing the staff were very accomodating in trying to find an alternative horse to ensure the best holiday was achieved.
The vast national park area provides excellent and varied terrain for all paces and it is possible to go for lovely long lopes in both woodland and open spaces or just walking and taking in the huge variety of senery and plant life.
The horses always appear well cared for with plenty of good food and fresh water available and constant muck removal to keep the number of flies down.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   11 September 2017

They were happy to split the group according to experience if needed. A nice variety of paces and terrain, with beautiful scenery and wildlife.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

4 star rating   6 September 2017

The riding was very pleasant and relaxing but was lacking in variety. The trail rides were varied in pace but the terrain was all pretty much the same: sandy tracks through scrub and woodland. There were no views to speak of and little of interest to see. We were also disappointed that there was nothing going on at the ranch in the way of training or breaking in horses. Apparently this is done in the winter months.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   16 August 2017

Horses and tack are in good shape. The horses are well looked after and much loved by the staff.

Our group wanted an extra lesson in the arena, and that was no problem for the staff to accommodate. We were able to practice on the skills that we wanted, and they were on standby to help the ones who needed it.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   7 August 2017

It could have been nice if we have had some more training; having had more lessons in western horse riding.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   7 August 2017

My horse was incredible and a fantastic match for my novice ability... the most well behaved and highly/well trained horse I've ever been on (Brad Pitt).
We had the choice of taking lessons in the arena in the mornings or going out for a hack both morning and afternoon. The terrain is really lovely and gets more interesting the more you go out, taking it all in and looking a little closer each time.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   4 July 2017

I had a very hard saddle to start with and it took a couple of days for my bottom to recover. The horses were in excellent condition (although Theresa switched from Elvis after a while because he kept pulling to eat while out riding) and the riding was generally very good with a choice for each session of tuition, or riding in a faster or slower group. Heat (it was much hotter than weather guides had suggested) and flies were more of a problem than dust but the terrain was a bit dull.

We would have liked to learn a lot more about the local flora and fauna, the history of the ranch and the national park and so on - both when out riding and in the evenings.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   28 June 2017

Good mix of slower riding (walk and jog) and faster (loping). This worked well as my wife and I had different levels of confidence.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   19 June 2017

The riding was excellent. There was very varied riding abilities when I was there. The ranch couldn't have done more to accomadate what type of ride you wanted to do on any given day. From a walk for the not so confident to the faster pace for the more adventurous


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   19 June 2017

The holiday was great, fantastic talented riders leading the rides and managing the ranch. All the horses were very well cared for, service excellent. Would definitely recommend it and we'll be back there soon. Thanks guys.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   7 June 2017

4 hours in the saddle every day - prepare at home. We were fit and had some wonderful rides, but you're tired afterwards.Everything will be organized according to your wishes.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

4 star rating   31 May 2017

Although the National park was lovely to ride in there was little variation in the terrain so I'm glad we were only there for three days; I think we would have become a little bored if we were there for a week.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   22 May 2017

The horses are all lovely, responsive, forward going and easy to ride. I really liked the relaxed way of Western Riding. The only thing I wasn't prepared for - having never done Western Riding before - is how hard the saddles are! Unfortunately this meant a sore bum on day one which spoilt the rest of the riding a little.
So my suggestion would be to perhaps put something to that effect - hard saddles - in your information, so that riders can come better prepared for this e.g with some form of padding before you even need plasters.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   21 April 2017

We were very disappointed to be put with a group of people with children. This did spoil a couple of our rides out as one of the parents was very vocal shouting each time our horses went near her daughters horse. As they were French though we didn't understand what she was saying.
There was also a very inexperienced rider who was nervous and we had to slow the ride down for her.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   21 April 2017

The horse I was first given to ride was very young and inexperienced meaning that rather than riding with my friends I had to ride at the front of the ride behind a guide. Working in the arena, she constantly bucked and jumped around resulting in me missing one lesson as I had to work her in the corner away from the lesson to make her behave. On rides she didn't like any other horses being near her and was a tad grumpy. However, before the second lesson in the arena I asked to change horse and was given one that was quiet but forward going. For the remainder of the rides I could ride with my friends and also join in the second lesson which was much more enjoyable.

Our group of riders was quite a large group and on a couple of rides there were very young children and even a non-rider. I feel that rides should be split into groups for children being lead on lead rein and non-riders / inexperienced riders, and also a ride for experienced, confident riders so they can go at a faster pace.

Overall though, the terrain was perfect, even on a moody mare, the rides were enjoyable. The well being of the horses and quality of the tack were second to none. Guides were really helpful, friendly and easy to get along with.


36 reviews    1 2