Reviews
12 reviews   
El Bronco - Hungary

Trail Clinic

5 star rating   8 March 2020

Ida Karoline who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Great holiday | I asked for calm and well behaved horses for me and my boyfriend, as it's been a while since I've been riding and my boyfriend has never ridden before. I think the horses we had were a little lazy, and difficult to keep going forward, but otherwise the horses seemed very kind and patient. They seemed to have a really nice life at El Bronco.


El Bronco - Hungary

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   18 October 2019

Fiona (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Everything we hoped for and more | The staff and trainers at the ranch were really fantastic.
Both Raj & I were paired perfectly with our horses, Dorris and Pouffy, who were both exceptionally well trained and impeccably behaved.
Raj had had western lessons previously but never ridden outside an arena before and on every trail Pouffy looked after him brilliantly at walk, trot and canter. He was forward going and responsive whilst being utterly safe for an inexperienced rider, Raj's enjoyment went from strength to strength as did his confidence and ability.
Dorris was exactly what I had hoped for and more, calm and dependable whilst being responsive and capable, having felt very nervous about riding again, she looked after me completely and helped me find my feet back in the saddle after a 4 year gap since suffering an injury following an accident.
We were impressed by all the horses we saw, they are clearly cared for to a very high standard, well trained and their individual characters and strengths perfectly understood by those responsible for allocating them to the riders.


El Bronco - Hungary

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   6 October 2019

Laura (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Wonderful ranch, beautiful location and very tranquil. | All the horses are very happy and clearly well cared for. The trail rides were varied and different each time. We rode through sand dunes, meadows and forests and it was beautiful. There were also plenty of opportunities for long canters.

The horse I was first paired with ('Katy') was a bit too sensitive especially with me being new to western riding so she did take off with me in the arena and I almost fell off. I did stress to the guides when I first mounted that my stirrups were far too long and not secure enough. I know for western riding the stirrups are supposed to be long but I could barely reach them and hence the hiccup in the arena. My horse got changed for me after that and my stirrups were shortened so that I was more comfortable however I would have been perfectly fine with my first horse if I'd been listened to in the first place with regards to the stirrups.

My second horse ('Sandy') was lovely and I rode her for the duration of my trip. During one ride she did take off with me when cantering back towards the ranch however I managed to stop her eventually. Horses, no matter how sensible they are deemed and where you go, they are still unpredictable animals.

I rode with 2 different groups. The first group (about 8 riders) was great however I found it a bit difficult staying one-by-one and in a certain order all the time. Different horses go at different speeds so it was difficult to get a consistent trot or canter going. I mentioned this to one of the guides after a few rides and I was pleased to then be moved to another, much smaller group (4 riders) and I enjoyed these rides a lot more - it was a lot easier to keep a good distance between horses and there was no strict order or one-by-one. These rides were a lot more enjoyable for me and I had the opportunity for some very very long canters!

We had the choice of going into the arena sometimes for some actual lessons which is great. I always chose the trial rides though due to only being there for a few days however if I had been there for longer I would have taken up the offer.

A few of the guides demonstrated some western riding to us and spoke to us about how they train their horses etc. This was a nice touch.

Overall, the riding met my expectations perfectly. 2 hours of riding in the morning and 2 hours in the afternoon was just about enough in one day. The guides were all very lovely and their English was great.


El Bronco - Hungary

Ranch Stay

4 star rating   25 September 2019

Karine who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Relaxing holiday | Lovely to see how well cared for and trained the horses are. The staff were also very attentive to everybody’s needs and concerns so one felt safe. There were plenty of canters and some very long, again very nice and rare. The terrain being just flat, the rides were all a bit the same. School work was more varied but the level of teaching was inconsistent ( Robert and Sofia) were brilliant)


El Bronco - Hungary

Ranch Stay

4 star rating   24 August 2019

Hilary who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Another wonderful week at El Bronco | My son Isaac and I had a mixture of western lessons and riding out in the forest. We could choose how many hours riding we would do every morning, depending on the temperature and how tired we felt. Despite Isaac being a novice and me an experienced rider, we both really enjoyed the riding and it was great to ride together on safe horses, with Mum not being at all worried about Isaac!


El Bronco - Hungary

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   10 August 2019

Emma who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic riding in beautiful surroundings | Once again the horses at El Bronco were amazing. I rode two whilst I was there and both Honey and Maya were well trained, sure footed and responsive.


El Bronco - Hungary

Ranch Stay

4 star rating   25 July 2019

Sarah G (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Western Riding at El Bronco in Hungary | Riding exceeded my expectations. Horses great. Picnic ride for the day was lovely. Lots of long canters. However, it would have been even better if the girls who took us out were a little more knowledgeable about the National Park, the area we were in and the flora etc and talked a little during the rides. The rides were quite 'silent'.


El Bronco - Hungary

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   19 July 2019

Sophie Simpson (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) I want to go back! | The riding at El Bronco 100% met my standards, the horses are happy, incredibly physically fit, well behaved and sensitive. I was matched with a palomino quarter horse called Jackpot and as cheesy as it sounds I really felt like I had won the jackpot! When I had to describe the kind of horse I would like for this holiday, I had written that I know I am a competent rider but that I’m not always confident. By the time the week was over I felt so confident, content and joyful. Even though I ride regularly at home I felt like I was falling in love with riding all over again!

On top of the horses, the instructors and guides need a big mention. This was my first holiday by myself and their attitude made me feel relaxed and safe. I felt comfortable to ask questions, have a joke and really learn form them. I don’t like going on holiday and feeling like a tourist, I prefer to feel like I fit in, this certainly was the case at El Bronco. I would happily go back again and again.


El Bronco - Hungary

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   25 May 2019

Peter who has been on 8 In The Saddle rides.
Good horses with a good mind and a little to everyone's taste. Fun to try Western riding now that I'm used to English riding style. Skilled teachers if you take some lessons instead of hacking out.


El Bronco - Hungary

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   28 April 2019

Ludhill (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Amazing! Loved it! Can't wait to go back! | Lately, I've been feeling nervous when riding, but my allocated horse and the rides at El Bronco suited me perfectly. I felt comfortable right from the start. My horse was responsive but steady, beautifully trained and a lovely ride. By the end of the week, I felt ready to pick up the pace a little ... next time!


El Bronco - Hungary

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   28 April 2019

Jill who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic! | This was my second visit to El Bronco and I was offered the opportunity to ride the same horse, Lily, that I rode last time. There was a great combination of some Western-style work in the school (as the ranch has very good facilities) and riding out on amazing sandy paths across the beautiful national park. The gentle sandy terrain means there are lots of opportunities to jog and canter and the park offers a range of different routes, so there is plenty of variety, including some wildlife sightings out on our rides. The horses are beautifully cared for and most are bred at the ranch.


El Bronco - Hungary

Ranch Stay

2 star rating   8 October 2018

bandit who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. El Branco Hungary | The riding was good for me.


12 reviews