Reviews
30 reviews   
El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   6 October 2019

All the horses are very happy and clearly well cared for. The trail rides were varied and different each time. We rode through sand dunes, meadows and forests and it was beautiful. There were also plenty of opportunities for long canters.

The horse I was first paired with ('Katy') was a bit too sensitive especially with me being new to western riding so she did take off with me in the arena and I almost fell off. I did stress to the guides when I first mounted that my stirrups were far too long and not secure enough. I know for western riding the stirrups are supposed to be long but I could barely reach them and hence the hiccup in the arena. My horse got changed for me after that and my stirrups were shortened so that I was more comfortable however I would have been perfectly fine with my first horse if I'd been listened to in the first place with regards to the stirrups.

My second horse ('Sandy') was lovely and I rode her for the duration of my trip. During one ride she did take off with me when cantering back towards the ranch however I managed to stop her eventually. Horses, no matter how sensible they are deemed and where you go, they are still unpredictable animals.

I rode with 2 different groups. The first group (about 8 riders) was great however I found it a bit difficult staying one-by-one and in a certain order all the time. Different horses go at different speeds so it was difficult to get a consistent trot or canter going. I mentioned this to one of the guides after a few rides and I was pleased to then be moved to another, much smaller group (4 riders) and I enjoyed these rides a lot more - it was a lot easier to keep a good distance between horses and there was no strict order or one-by-one. These rides were a lot more enjoyable for me and I had the opportunity for some very very long canters!

We had the choice of going into the arena sometimes for some actual lessons which is great. I always chose the trial rides though due to only being there for a few days however if I had been there for longer I would have taken up the offer.

A few of the guides demonstrated some western riding to us and spoke to us about how they train their horses etc. This was a nice touch.

Overall, the riding met my expectations perfectly. 2 hours of riding in the morning and 2 hours in the afternoon was just about enough in one day. The guides were all very lovely and their English was great.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

4 star rating   24 August 2019

My son Isaac and I had a mixture of western lessons and riding out in the forest. We could choose how many hours riding we would do every morning, depending on the temperature and how tired we felt. Despite Isaac being a novice and me an experienced rider, we both really enjoyed the riding and it was great to ride together on safe horses, with Mum not being at all worried about Isaac!


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   10 August 2019

Once again the horses at El Bronco were amazing. I rode two whilst I was there and both Honey and Maya were well trained, sure footed and responsive.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

4 star rating   25 July 2019

Riding exceeded my expectations. Horses great. Picnic ride for the day was lovely. Lots of long canters. However, it would have been even better if the girls who took us out were a little more knowledgeable about the National Park, the area we were in and the flora etc and talked a little during the rides. The rides were quite 'silent'.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   19 July 2019

The riding at El Bronco 100% met my standards, the horses are happy, incredibly physically fit, well behaved and sensitive. I was matched with a palomino quarter horse called Jackpot and as cheesy as it sounds I really felt like I had won the jackpot! When I had to describe the kind of horse I would like for this holiday, I had written that I know I am a competent rider but that I’m not always confident. By the time the week was over I felt so confident, content and joyful. Even though I ride regularly at home I felt like I was falling in love with riding all over again!

On top of the horses, the instructors and guides need a big mention. This was my first holiday by myself and their attitude made me feel relaxed and safe. I felt comfortable to ask questions, have a joke and really learn form them. I don’t like going on holiday and feeling like a tourist, I prefer to feel like I fit in, this certainly was the case at El Bronco. I would happily go back again and again.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   25 May 2019

Good horses with a good mind and a little to everyone's taste. Fun to try Western riding now that I'm used to English riding style. Skilled teachers if you take some lessons instead of hacking out.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   28 April 2019

Lately, I've been feeling nervous when riding, but my allocated horse and the rides at El Bronco suited me perfectly. I felt comfortable right from the start. My horse was responsive but steady, beautifully trained and a lovely ride. By the end of the week, I felt ready to pick up the pace a little ... next time!


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   28 April 2019

This was my second visit to El Bronco and I was offered the opportunity to ride the same horse, Lily, that I rode last time. There was a great combination of some Western-style work in the school (as the ranch has very good facilities) and riding out on amazing sandy paths across the beautiful national park. The gentle sandy terrain means there are lots of opportunities to jog and canter and the park offers a range of different routes, so there is plenty of variety, including some wildlife sightings out on our rides. The horses are beautifully cared for and most are bred at the ranch.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

2 star rating   8 October 2018

The riding was good for me.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   30 September 2018

We were lucky that the week was not fully booked. The horses were in excellent condition, all staff and support staff were friendly and helpful. We had different instructors and they were very mindful of our abilities and gave us plenty of opportunities to stretch ourselves. A most enjoyable week.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   3 September 2018

Riding was fantastic through beautiful scenic routes, totally off road. Good pace kept, plenty of loping and jogging. Horses were beautifully behaved, forward going and responsive.

We had good humour with Robert and Sophie (I think that was her pronunciation) on the rides and both were really helpful.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   3 September 2018

We all had a fantastic time and we’re kept in a private group which made the holiday perfect


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

4 star rating   27 August 2018

Everything horse-related was absolutely marvellous. Horses are very well trained, treated gently and with care. They have plenty of space and excellent conditions. Trainers are competent and helpful, and they can find perfect balance between teaching and fun.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   26 August 2018

Robert and his trainers helped my son, Isaac, who is ten years old. He started as a total beginner, and by the end of the week was cantering safely around the arena on his own. They were absolutely wonderful with him and have inspired him to ride more at home.
I am an experienced rider but learnt a great deal more on this holiday. It was really interesting to learn the western style of riding, and my horse was very sensitive and well behaved.
I would say that the riding and tuition exceeded my expectations.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   19 August 2018

Excellent


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

2 star rating   28 June 2018

The riding was rather 'samey' and very controlled ie we kept to the same formation and tracks as the leader each time. This may have been because the others were less experienced but made it quite dull.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   24 June 2018

Amazing horses with a good mind. Terrain is not so varied, but that is how it is when riding from a center base. Good instructors, but they teach a little differently, which I had to get used to.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

4 star rating   18 June 2018

I had the impression from In The Saddle that you would be able to choose between lessons for learning Western Riding in the arena and try different things, yet on arrival it seems that they only offered trail riding (with the exception of a first "orientation" lesson in the arena to gauge that you were ok to hack).

If you pushed them really hard to do some arena work and then they would only agree if the "whole group of customers" wanted a lesson. If you did not push hard for this you would have just got 2 trail rides every day. Learning the arena based riding work was very interesting. We did also persuade them to do our group a Western Riding demonstration one day, which was a real highlight.

The trail riding itself was very pleasant but very samey and really a few days of this would have been enough for me. In fact on the last day I opted not to ride on the hack and stayed by the pool for a bit of relax time instead.

My horse Elvis was lovely. You could not fault the care of the horses, tack, safety standards etc. at this place.

Insects were awful - you need lots of bug spray and that did not seem to work on me either so I got bitten alot!


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   10 June 2018

It was great to be matched with people with the same ability. The horses were fantastic and very well looked after. The guides were very helpful especially miley, Gabor and Robert.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   24 May 2018

The riding was wonderful. The horses were well schooled, responsive and forward going yet calm and easy to ride. They were in super condition, very relaxed and clearly well cared for and content. It was a joy to ride them. We had lots of long leisurely rides out but there was plenty of opportunity to jog and loop. Riders were grouped according to ability and the groups kept small. We kept the same horse throughout which (as a nervous rider) I really appreciated as the more confidence I gained in my mount the more adventurous I became in my riding.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   13 May 2018

Fantastic riding. Well-trained horses, knowledgeable guides who were happy to adjust plans to sits the rides we wanted to do. We were also offered time in the hall/paddock to practise western-style riding. Lovely accommodation and location.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   6 May 2018

Excellent


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

4 star rating   27 April 2018

Good or Very Good


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   8 April 2018

Riding was great although maybe a little more tuition on lopeing would have been beneficial for our non-riding friend


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   2 April 2018

Excellent


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   25 March 2018

Wonderful horses, knowledgeable guides, wonderful terrain with varied walks, jogs and canters.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   17 February 2018

Tack very well maintained with both excellent trainers and instructors.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   2 February 2018

Excellent


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   19 November 2017

An excellent return visit, they had taken the time to check from the records the horses we had last time and the room we had. Same steads, same room ..... equalled 2 happy ladies!


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   22 October 2017

My second visit to El Bronco. Horses well schooled and staff pleasant, professional and helpful. Accommodation great and Hungarian food plentiful and delicious. I'm now planning two visits for next year as I had such a wonderful time. I never holidayed on my own but now happy to do so as on both occasions have met lovely people. The ranch is an amazing place set within a beautiful National Park - amazing trails with time to de clutter your head space. I didn't want to leave but will return next year.


30 reviews