Reviews
9 reviews   
Catalan Coastal Trails - Spain

Mediterranean Trail

5 star rating   27 September 2019

who has been on In The Saddle rides. Fantastic! Coastal mountains, old stone villages, a dawn beach canter! | This was a superb riding holiday! The horses were excellent and very well cared for, our guide was superb and the riding terrain so varied from Old Medieval stone villages to oak and pine forests and river valleys! It was also extremely well orchestrated to provide a couple of incredible catered picnics on the trail and always a stash of food for our horses. We stopped each night at a different inn where we enjoyed being well fed. I would highly recommend this!


Catalan Coastal Trails - Spain

Mediterranean Trail

5 star rating   21 September 2019

Johanna (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Beautiful scenery and amazing horses! | The riding was amazing!
Plenty of it and wonderful horses, who were well cared for beautiful Andalusians and and matched perfectly with their riders
The guide was very experienced, but rather lacking in empathy, which was particularly apparent when my friend's horse shied and she fell off. A few words of kindness and support at the time would have been appreciated, as would help remounting and support during the remainder of the afternoon's ride.

I loved the holiday and the experience. It was physically exhausting, but in a mind enhancing way!


Catalan Coastal Trails - Spain

Mediterranean Trail

2 star rating   21 September 2019

Helen who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. not great | The horse I was given was super nervy of being groomed and at times to ride although a nice temperament otherwise. He spooked really badly on day 1 whilst we were at a standstill waiting for the guide to clear a path and threw me off. Obviously this made me rather nervous and this probably passed to the horse! The guide did nothing to help, he did not even come back to see if I was ok!
The riding was generally quite hard, with long hours in the saddle and often at either a walk or full tilt! The guide did not engage with us apart from to drill the importance of 'the line' into us, and because of this we were unable to socialise amongst ourselves as much as I would have liked, or relax whilst riding because at any time we were suddenly galloping along narrow bendy trails. When we asked if we could slow the pace down a little our request was met rather scornfully, although he did slow it down a little. We were 6 women and 1 man in the group and only 1 really regular rider so the majority of us were there to enjoy our riding not (as the guide was determined to do) challenge ourselves.
As a final note it must be said that our guide made me very worried about the beach ride (gallop)and whilst I did enjoy it my main feeling was relief that it was over. I would imagine it was also terrifying for the poor people on the beach for early morning walks, fishing etc as we galloped unto them at full pelt with the guide shouting at them to get out of the way!
[Olwen from In The Saddle writes - Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Falling off on the first day must have really shaken you. The riding is quite long and hard on these trails. We feel that our website does highlight this, but I'm sorry to read that the guide didn't make much adjustment to the pace despite your requests. We have forwarded this feedback to the Ride Operator.]


Catalan Coastal Trails - Spain

Mediterranean Trail

5 star rating   21 September 2019

David who has been on 8 In The Saddle rides. Mediterranean Trail - second time as good, or better than the first | Excellent


Catalan Coastal Trails - Spain

Mediterranean Trail

5 star rating   25 May 2019

Wanja (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Amazing holiday | I loved my horse, he was beautiful, very nice, calm and experienced.
The nature/surroundings were wonderful. The places er stayed varier from ok to very good.
Nacho, our guide, was absolutely amazing.


Catalan Coastal Trails - Spain

Mediterranean Trail

5 star rating   25 May 2019

Anne (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) It was wonderful, had a great experince. Good horses and nice peoples. | Excellent


Catalan Coastal Trails - Spain

Mediterranean Trail

5 star rating   4 November 2018

Tall horse (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Meditrean trail | The ride was slightly more demanding than I expected, long long extended canters and trots. Very much about riding and little time to appreciate scenery. I did originally wanted to book the Bandit Trail, which might have been slightly more leisurely. However we were all well taken care of by our guide, Nacho, who meet us at lunch and most nights. Accomadation was good, as was the food. Brilliant group of people.


Catalan Coastal Trails - Spain

Mediterranean Trail

5 star rating   20 October 2018

Paul2809 who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Mediterranean Trail | Excellent horses & tack, all very well cared for. Pace was a bit on the slow side generally for a very experienced group but improved as the holiday progressed. The only negative is that the company insist one stays in line all the time & some horses, including mine, wanted to have it's nose very close to the horse in front.


Catalan Coastal Trails - Spain

Mediterranean Trail

5 star rating   14 October 2018

jody who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. very challenging and i thoroughly enjoyed it | should be much better emphasized on this ride that one should have both riding experience and be fit ; I enjoyed it but I am athletic and fit for my age. Others my age (60's ) found it to be overwhelming physically. : [ITS comment: We are glad that you were able to enjoy your holiday due to your level of fitness. We advise that these rides have long hours in the saddle and that guests need to be riding fit on our website and itinerary and we are sorry if this was not obvious in both.]


9 reviews