Reviews
12 reviews   
Catalan Coastal Trails - Spain
Experience Level

Mediterranean Trail

5 star rating   7 November 2018

The ride was slightly more demanding than I expected, long long extended canters and trots. Very much about riding and little time to appreciate scenery. I did originally wanted to book the Bandit Trail, which might have been slightly more leisurely. However we were all well taken care of by our guide, Nacho, who meet us at lunch and most nights. Accomadation was good, as was the food. Brilliant group of people.


Catalan Coastal Trails - Spain
Experience Level

Mediterranean Trail

5 star rating   29 October 2018

Excellent horses & tack, all very well cared for. Pace was a bit on the slow side generally for a very experienced group but improved as the holiday progressed. The only negative is that the company insist one stays in line all the time & some horses, including mine, wanted to have it's nose very close to the horse in front.


Catalan Coastal Trails - Spain
Experience Level

Mediterranean Trail

5 star rating   29 October 2018

should be much better emphasized on this ride that one should have both riding experience and be fit ; I enjoyed it but I am athletic and fit for my age. Others my age (60's ) found it to be overwhelming physically. : [ITS comment: We are glad that you were able to enjoy your holiday due to your level of fitness. We advise that these rides have long hours in the saddle and that guests need to be riding fit on our website and itinerary and we are sorry if this was not obvious in both.]


Catalan Coastal Trails - Spain
Experience Level

Pirate Trail

5 star rating   12 June 2018

Riding exceeded expectations. Lovely horse and obviously the terrain indicated paces but walking up and down mountains an experience as was wonderful last day gallops on the beach.


Catalan Coastal Trails - Spain
Experience Level

Pirate Trail

5 star rating   6 June 2018

I have been on many trails and this was one of the bests. We were up at the mountains and also on the beach. Cantering at the beach in the early morning was the highlight. My horse was brilliant and very enjoyable to ride. Niki and Dani were amazing to organize everything so well. Our group was excellent and we had a lot of fun.


Catalan Coastal Trails - Spain
Experience Level

Pirate Trail

5 star rating   16 May 2018

It was great , horses in amazing condition and very well cared for and well trained . I so enjoyed riding my horse , perfect for me .


Catalan Coastal Trails - Spain
Experience Level

Mediterranean Trail

5 star rating   24 October 2017

The horses and tack are clearly of top quality, no problems there. As we know, horses are not a constant quantity and the one that I had did not represent the best or even the average of those available. That is not to say that it was unsuitable, just that it could have had a faster pace, particularly when walking; it could have had a more comfortable gait in trot and canter and it could have been less difficult to groom and tack-up. I just bring this to your attention to provide an honest reply, not to complain, because I did have a wonderful riding experience; it is just that at times, it was uncomfortable. (ITS comment: We are sorry to hear that you didn’t entirely enjoy your horse but we are glad that you had a great holiday overall.)


Catalan Coastal Trails - Spain
Experience Level

Pirate Trail

5 star rating   28 September 2017

Great ride and amazing trails up the mountains horses where well looked after and in good condition


Catalan Coastal Trails - Spain
Experience Level

Pirate Trail

5 star rating   5 April 2017

The riding was fast paced and the horses tackled the mountain terrain like goats. They were surefooted and nicely schooled. You do need a good level of fitness for the steep walking sections but the riding is great fun!


Catalan Coastal Trails - Spain
Experience Level

Mediterranean Trail

2 star rating   22 March 2017

Horses were fit and fast, we had some incredible fast gallops and nice long trots/canters. Many of the horses liked to be ridden nose to tail, which meant you were using the horse in front for brakes - not ideal, especially if the one in front kicks (I have the bruise to prove it!). Some horses were more relaxed and others suited different styles of riding. The guide/owner (Rudi) did nothing other than ask 'Do you have your own horse?' when trying to match us to our steed. I ended up with a sensitive, young horse who wanted to gallop to the hills on the beach. Worse was that Rudi suggested I stay near the front of the pack (making it harder to stop), whereas actually the horse was much calmer in the middle. Although the horse had lovely paces, a lot of the time I felt that at any moment I'd overtake the guide and be bolted away. Luckily a friend (heavier, taller, able to ride Spanish style) swapped mid week. My second horse was very gentlemanly, strong, but responsive.


Catalan Coastal Trails - Spain
Experience Level

Mediterranean Trail

4 star rating   15 March 2017

I rode two horses during the week. The first one, Tizon, was a PRE with a lovely Spanish trot and rolling canter. The second, Flamenco, was also nice but required a long rein and seemed to prefer being ridden the Spanish way, with one hand only on the reins. Both were incredibly fit and could canter for long stretches without getting tired or slowing down.


Catalan Coastal Trails - Spain
Experience Level

Pirate Trail

5 star rating   15 November 2016

The horse and tack was generally very good, although I did find the saddle rather uncomfortable. Having found the saddle I used for 2 weeks on the Pyrenees trail to be very comfortable, I was a bit disappointed that the one for this trail was in such contrast.


12 reviews