Reviews
8 reviews   
Castellare di Tonda - Italy

Medieval Tuscany

4 star rating   5 October 2019

Sue who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Lovely place to ride - on fit, willing and surefooted western trained horses. | The people running riding here were pleasantly surprised to have clients who could not only ride well, but also ride western. I got the impression that having this does not happen very often.
We were the only two clients on our riding programme (which surprised us a little) although we were joined for some afternoon rides by a Dutch couple, who, luckily, could also ride well, and ride Western. Having only two guides, The operation would have been very strained had more levels of riding ability needed to be catered for.
Marco, our guide, turned out to be very capable and a knowledgeable and interesting person to talk to. His English was perfect. He made sure that we achieved the best possible riding experience.
I was initially concerned about being allocated the same horse for all 5 days of riding, but my Sicilian mare, Caramella, proved to be very fit, responsive and reliable. Plus, after experiencing the very steeply sloped up - and down terrain - I was grateful that she was very sure footed too. No scope for long canters or gallops, given the often challenging geography, but plenty of short, sharp canters up slopes. The variety of terrain, plus amazing views, plus the terrific, leisurely picnic lunches on whole day rides, made for an excellent riding experience.


Castellare di Tonda - Italy

Heart of Tuscany

5 star rating   6 July 2019

Vanessa who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Superb Holiday | We had a lovely time. We started off in the school and were instructed on the basics of Western riding, so that you are riding the horses in the best way possible and that you understand each other.
We had breakfast at 7.30 and rode at 8.30 as the weather was hot. Beautiful country side, but some very steep valleys so the pace is dictated by that. Horses are sure footed and responsive.
[Chris from In The Saddle replied: We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday.]


Castellare di Tonda - Italy

Medieval Tuscany

5 star rating   1 June 2019

Burner63 (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Perfectly perfect | The riding was through really beautiful country. It had rained for like 40 days or something before we arrived, making the trails pretty messy, so we had to adjust our paths, sometimes taking the same loops to keep us in the saddle longer. Once the ground dried, we could go out for full days and see some incredible ruins, old towns and amazing views. Our guides, Sammy and Marco were very safety minded: horses and guests first. These horses and tack were impeccably maintained, that tells you what you need to know about a facility and it’s owner, Franco.
[ITS comment: We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the riding.]


Castellare di Tonda - Italy

Heart of Tuscany

5 star rating   1 June 2019

Jill (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) A Western riding adventure in beautiful Tuscany | The horses are very well cared for. The first ride was in the indoor arena to accustom the riders to the Western aids. The terrain is hilly but the horses are very sure-footed. I rode Boy all week, riding two hours per day which worked well as I was able to spend time with my non-riding partner and daughter. The wild flowers are beautiful and I was lucky enough to see a badger and wild boar!


Castellare di Tonda - Italy

Medieval Tuscany

5 star rating   18 May 2019

Earl Grey who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. A Non-rider's Perspective | A Non-rider's Perspective.


Castellare di Tonda - Italy

Medieval Tuscany

5 star rating   18 May 2019

Rosa who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Tuscan adventure | Attentive guides who looked after us very well. It met my expectations, maybe a few more canters would have been nice but I understand why fast riding was limited as the terrain was quite hard in places.


Castellare di Tonda - Italy

Medieval Tuscany

5 star rating   18 May 2019

Kim who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Stunning scenery, wonderful horses and fantastic company. | The variety of terrain was fantastic. Each ride covered different parts of the estate. The reining lesson was great fun with a super sensitive well trained horse.


Castellare di Tonda - Italy

Heart of Tuscany

5 star rating   18 May 2019

Bridget (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Perfect. | Opened my eyes to the skill of Western riding style.
Perfect pace for the beautiful variety of terrain covered.


8 reviews