Reviews
10 reviews   
Cape Winelands riding - South Africa
Experience Level

Cape Winelands Riding

5 star rating   14 March 2019

Well behaved horse, perfect for my level.


Cape Winelands riding - South Africa
Experience Level

Cape Winelands Riding

5 star rating   29 December 2018

Great fun horses, stunning scenery and a great team to look after us - will definitely be going back!


Cape Winelands riding - South Africa
Experience Level

Cape Winelands Riding

5 star rating   20 December 2018

Excellent


Cape Winelands riding - South Africa
Experience Level

Cape Winelands Riding

5 star rating   11 December 2018

Nice horses, clearly well loved and cared for. We had Texas, Tallahassee and Chenook - all great. Riding is mostly through vineyards, fields and fruit orchards, perfect tracks for cantering. Nice comfortable trail saddles. Only down side was the walk by the side of a busy road for a few hundred yards. The road needs to be crossed to get to the vineyards, crossing is not a problem but it would be good if you could come out on one side and cross immediately without having to walk beside it. Our guide, Ellen was knowledgeable and good company - also knows her wines!


Cape Winelands riding - South Africa
Experience Level

Cape Winelands Riding

5 star rating   25 November 2018

Excellent


Cape Winelands riding - South Africa
Experience Level

Cape Winelands Riding

5 star rating   12 April 2018

Absolutely fantastic. All off-road with a great mix of walk, trot, canter and even gallop (depending on your horse :-)). The pace was perfectly set by my guide Ellen, and tailored to maximise the rider's experience without compromising the horses' welfare and fitness. There's clearly a great deal of care that goes into keeping the horses happy and healthy, which isn't always the case on riding holidays. That was really wonderful to see.

I was matched with three fantastic horses - two on my first two days who basically chauffeured me, allowing me to really drink in the stunning scenery. On my third and final day, I was lucky enough to find my South African soulmate - a gorgeous little fellow with a zest for life and turn of pace that belied his small stature and had me grinning from ear to ear. I knew very quickly I'd be back again, but he really sealed the deal.


Cape Winelands riding - South Africa
Experience Level

Cape Winelands Riding

5 star rating   22 March 2018

I absolutely loved the riding here. The horses were extremely fit and there are a wide range of horses to suit all abilities. I said I liked fast horses, so I enjoyed riding the endurance trained horses. There were loads of opportunities for fast riding and a lot of galloping up hills. It is not often you get to gallop on horseback holidays. There were also stunning views from the saddle and we rode in South African trail/endurance saddles, which I found extremely comfortable.


Cape Winelands riding - South Africa
Experience Level

Cape Winelands Riding

5 star rating   4 November 2017

The horses were forward going, fit and in great condition, and very well looked after. My husband and I were given the opportunity to ride a variety of horses, but also ride our favourites more than once. The terrain was challenging for them at times, (very hilly) and the weather was hot, but our guide Ellen gave them plenty of opportunities to take a breather, and we could then enjoy the spectacular views. Our guides were very knowledgeable about the winelands, the wildlife, and the history of the area, so it was a pleasure to listen to them, and as there were only 3 guests for the week, we really got to know them and feel at home on the farm. In terms of pace, there were times when I think we would have enjoyed a faster pace, (there was quite a lot of walking) but I guess they didnt want us to rush past all the beautiful scenery. In the UK we would have probably not cantered on some of the hard ground, but I believe they are used to it and don't incur injuries, the horse's welfare was clearly of paramount importance. Our hosts couldn't do more for us, they were charming, and hopefully now, our friends


Cape Winelands riding - South Africa
Experience Level

Cape Winelands Riding

5 star rating   4 November 2017

My expectation was of bimbling along sandy paths enjoying the scenery and just chilling as high-octane stuff does not mix well with as much as you can eat wine and cheese. The riding met that expectation - although there were lots of controlled canters. Some of the horses are ridden bitless and I liked that.


Cape Winelands riding - South Africa
Experience Level

Cape Winelands Riding

5 star rating   25 June 2017

Excellent, fast pace riding. All the staff on the farm were extremely welcoming and friendly. I had a fabulous time.


10 reviews