Reviews
31 reviews   
Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   12 October 2019

It was faster paced than most of the other trails I’ve done, I am glad I did this one. I loved the horse I was matched with & he was so responsive to the slightest touch. Felt completely safe on him. Thoroughly enjoyed myself.

Just be aware you need to be experienced to do this ride.
Excursions were great change as well.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   12 October 2019

I was barely up to the rigors of this ride. It was strenuous with long long canters through the beautiful countryside. But, my daughter and friend were more fit and thus able to enjoy the longer faster pace.
My horse was perfect for me. The family who put on the ride were all genuinely concerned about my safely, comfort and joy. I also loved the tours and the camaraderie among the riders. It was an adventure I will always treasure.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   12 October 2019

It was outstanding; The combination of fast pace on well trained horses riding freely over stunning countryside was truly a treat.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   12 October 2019

This mainly run business was very well organised and thought of in its itinerary. Everyone was very friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. My horse was fit and responsive. The rides pushed me and I felt over the week I became a more confident and comfortable rider. There was loads of riding and it was fast paced, there was nothing boring about any of it. The day excursions were interesting and a nice mix in with the rides.

I felt challenged on this ride which is exactly what I wanted. A good mix of ascents/descents and open plains.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   12 October 2019

Excellent


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   14 September 2019

The countryside is perfect for riding, huge open spaces, no gates or fences. The riding was varied, sometimes we rode along tracks, up and down steep paths to cross valleys, cantered across long flat fields and clattered through seemingly empty villages. There was a lot of cantering and the canters were much longer than we can do in the UK which made for a fantastic ride overall, I really enjoyed it. The itinerary was perfect with exactly the right number of hours in the saddle and cultural trips so that by the time we got to the fourth and longest days riding it didn't seem nearly as difficult as we were expecting. We did not gallop but once Maria was happy we had control of our horses we cantered as a group across the fields and the horses behaved impeccably. Some of the horses did have back sores but the care given to the horses at every stop reassured me that they were receiving the highest standard of care. Numnahs/saddlecloths and tack was in good condition and was changed promptly to ensure the horses comfort at all times. Lots of reviews say this is a ride where you need to be fit and experienced, I didnt find the ride too difficult, I rode once a week before i went for a couple of hours and was fine in Bulgaria, the horses are forward going but sensible. I rode with loose reins all week. The canters are long and sitting in the saddle, push your feet forward Western style, relax and remember to breathe! A ride for fit experienced riders but I wouldn't have said fast paced, definitely not 75% canter as one review has written.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   14 September 2019

The riding exceeded my expectations. This is the best trail ride I've ever done.
The horses are perfectly trained and all the riders loved their horses. They are very forward going and extremely responsive.
The pace of the riding is excellent. Lots of lovely long canters and often there is lots of space, you dont need to canter nose to tail. You pick your own line in the fields.
The western style of riding is awesome as you never get tired, it's so comfy.
The scenery is stunning! It changes everyday from pine forests to sunflower and corn fields to mountain views, then pretty villages.
The family that looks after you all week are some of the most wonderful people I've ever met. I felt like i was part of the family while I was there. Super friendly and caring.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

Balkan National Park

5 star rating   10 August 2019

It could have been a little more galloping


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   29 June 2019

The riding on this holiday was fabulous. Fast but safe. 2km canters were quite normal.
The horses were all extremely well schooled and responsive.
The flies were a problem for both horses and riders but nobody could have predicted that.
We rode through stunningly beautiful countryside


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   15 June 2019

Riding was one of the best I have ever had.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

Kingdom of Thracians

5 star rating   8 June 2019

Exceeded all expectations..brilliant guides, fantastic horses..gloriously varied riding country


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

Kingdom of Thracians

5 star rating   8 June 2019

Maria Monica and Rossan were an exceptional team looking after us. Very professional fun and really fun to be with. All the horses were great, the picnics they provided were yummy.

Places we stayed had brat mineral pools and swimming pools plus two very good massages.

Thoroughly enjoyed the riding - I loved my horse Priam. Light mouthed, very comfortable, loved riding him and we passed through some amazing country.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

Kingdom of Thracians

5 star rating   8 June 2019

Excellent


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

Kingdom of Thracians

5 star rating   27 April 2019

The riding was faster than I expected, given that we also packed in a lot of climbing. The faster paces were all over appropriate terrain and the guide spent a lot of time checking that all the riders were ok and felt safe.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

Kingdom of Thracians

5 star rating   20 April 2019

The riding was in a beautiful area with stunning views. The service was terrific, Maria, Alexander and Monica are great and take very good care of their guests. I asked for and got the same horse as on our previous visit and was very happy with him again: forward going, sure footed and very comfortable. And a sweet horse as well. The horses get along very well too, so there is no kicking each other, overtaking each other, or anything like that. Would recommend this trip to other guests.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

Kingdom of Thracians

5 star rating   20 April 2019

Not getting off horses back while cantering and trotting downhill - need to get used to.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

Kingdom of Thracians

5 star rating   27 October 2018

I was pleased that the riding group was small (5 + excellent guide) but apparently they do have some quite big groups.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   13 October 2018

Very long canters - took a day and a bit to adjust to western style of riding. Horse Hector was a stallion - couldn't fault his behavior. Forward going but very responsive, a terrific choice if you prefer a smaller horse.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   29 September 2018

Far exceeded expectations - incredible how much land we had total open access too - varying terrain and awesome views. As the 8th In the Saddle holiday it was definitely the best for the riding and personally I do think it was far better than described in your information!!


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   29 September 2018

The riding exceeded all our expectations .so much country to explore with no boundaries such lovely and varied views


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   29 September 2018

The riding actually exceeded my expectations as the pace was varied & included some good sections of trot & canter. The countryside is very open & similar on most days but interesting enough as is undulating with some wonderful views. It is possible on many occasions to see where you have ridden - or will be riding - for a distance of at least 5 miles.
The horses were all in good condition, very well behaved & forward going. Our guides were fantastic & looked after our every need.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   29 September 2018

We've had a marvellous time., couldn't fault it. Don't feel your brochure does it justice! We did about 150 kms and only about 5 kms were on the road.
We all really enjoyed the cultural visits too. Rumi is very well informed.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   29 September 2018

The riding was wonderful. It took us on a trail through miles and miles of beautiful wilderness. With amazing views of distant mountains and long canters over grassy meadows on fit horses.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   29 September 2018

The riding terrain was varied with many breath taking views, not a gate or fence to negotiate. A brilliant ride.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   15 September 2018

Excellent riding country - not one gate in the whole week. Plenty of lovely fast canters on sensible but willing horses.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

Medieval Bulgaria

5 star rating   25 August 2018

Excellent horse, good riding country. Perfect.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

Balkan National Park

5 star rating   28 July 2018

I was paired with a fantastic horse who was full of energy and character. The ride was varied in terms of terrain and pace; the weather meant some of the terrain was tougher going than normal but the horses needs and safety were always put first.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

Balkan National Park

5 star rating   28 July 2018

The horses were very well trained, willing to work, and comfortable to ride. The scenery was beautiful, with a lot of fields with beautiful flowers, and nice cool mountain trails. The staff were very nice, and we were amazed by Maria who guided us and cleared the paths with a machete like a warrior princess!
The weather didn't cooperate, and after 3 days we could not continue as originally planned. The horses were taken to another location by trailer where we continued with a different route. Although we were sorry about this, this was a good solution under the circumstances, and the new route was really nice as well.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   30 June 2018

Horses were brilliant and seemed very well cared for. Tack was in good nick and I found my saddle comfortable. Poor weather meant we couldn't do as much cantering as we might have wanted and we had to shorten/miss some days of riding, but this couldn't be helped.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

Caves, Waterfalls & Castles of Bulgaria - Special

5 star rating   20 May 2018

I always wondered how it would be to ride a horse in the old ages where you could be really free. Now I know 🙂


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

Caves, Waterfalls & Castles of Bulgaria - Special

5 star rating   20 May 2018

It was far more than I expected. Everything about the holiday was great. The people the horses the accommodation the sightseeing tours. Bulgaria is far prettier than I imagined and would definitely consider going back


31 reviews