Reviews
35 reviews    1 2
Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Balkan National Park

5 star rating   10 August 2019

It could have been a little more galloping


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   29 June 2019

The riding on this holiday was fabulous. Fast but safe. 2km canters were quite normal.
The horses were all extremely well schooled and responsive.
The flies were a problem for both horses and riders but nobody could have predicted that.
We rode through stunningly beautiful countryside


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

4 star rating   15 June 2019

Our rides were great! The wildflowers and countryside were beautiful. We loved the horses and how fit they were. We had lots of great canters and loved riding through the oat and sunflower fields.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   15 June 2019

Riding was one of the best I have ever had.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Kingdom of Thracians

5 star rating   8 June 2019

Exceeded all expectations..brilliant guides, fantastic horses..gloriously varied riding country


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Kingdom of Thracians

5 star rating   8 June 2019

Maria Monica and Rossan were an exceptional team looking after us. Very professional fun and really fun to be with. All the horses were great, the picnics they provided were yummy.

Places we stayed had brat mineral pools and swimming pools plus two very good massages.

Thoroughly enjoyed the riding - I loved my horse Priam. Light mouthed, very comfortable, loved riding him and we passed through some amazing country.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Kingdom of Thracians

5 star rating   8 June 2019

Excellent


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Kingdom of Thracians

5 star rating   27 April 2019

The riding was faster than I expected, given that we also packed in a lot of climbing. The faster paces were all over appropriate terrain and the guide spent a lot of time checking that all the riders were ok and felt safe.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Kingdom of Thracians

5 star rating   20 April 2019

The riding was in a beautiful area with stunning views. The service was terrific, Maria, Alexander and Monica are great and take very good care of their guests. I asked for and got the same horse as on our previous visit and was very happy with him again: forward going, sure footed and very comfortable. And a sweet horse as well. The horses get along very well too, so there is no kicking each other, overtaking each other, or anything like that. Would recommend this trip to other guests.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Kingdom of Thracians

5 star rating   20 April 2019

Not getting off horses back while cantering and trotting downhill - need to get used to.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Kingdom of Thracians

5 star rating   27 October 2018

I was pleased that the riding group was small (5 + excellent guide) but apparently they do have some quite big groups.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   13 October 2018

Very long canters - took a day and a bit to adjust to western style of riding. Horse Hector was a stallion - couldn't fault his behavior. Forward going but very responsive, a terrific choice if you prefer a smaller horse.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

4 star rating   13 October 2018

The riding was 10, hotels and guest houses 7, for me I think they need to look at the food but that is only my taste.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   29 September 2018

Far exceeded expectations - incredible how much land we had total open access too - varying terrain and awesome views. As the 8th In the Saddle holiday it was definitely the best for the riding and personally I do think it was far better than described in your information!!


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   29 September 2018

The riding exceeded all our expectations .so much country to explore with no boundaries such lovely and varied views


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   29 September 2018

The riding actually exceeded my expectations as the pace was varied & included some good sections of trot & canter. The countryside is very open & similar on most days but interesting enough as is undulating with some wonderful views. It is possible on many occasions to see where you have ridden - or will be riding - for a distance of at least 5 miles.
The horses were all in good condition, very well behaved & forward going. Our guides were fantastic & looked after our every need.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   29 September 2018

We've had a marvellous time., couldn't fault it. Don't feel your brochure does it justice! We did about 150 kms and only about 5 kms were on the road.
We all really enjoyed the cultural visits too. Rumi is very well informed.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   29 September 2018

The riding was wonderful. It took us on a trail through miles and miles of beautiful wilderness. With amazing views of distant mountains and long canters over grassy meadows on fit horses.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   29 September 2018

The riding terrain was varied with many breath taking views, not a gate or fence to negotiate. A brilliant ride.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   15 September 2018

Excellent riding country - not one gate in the whole week. Plenty of lovely fast canters on sensible but willing horses.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Medieval Bulgaria

5 star rating   25 August 2018

Excellent horse, good riding country. Perfect.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Balkan National Park

5 star rating   28 July 2018

I was paired with a fantastic horse who was full of energy and character. The ride was varied in terms of terrain and pace; the weather meant some of the terrain was tougher going than normal but the horses needs and safety were always put first.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Balkan National Park

5 star rating   28 July 2018

The horses were very well trained, willing to work, and comfortable to ride. The scenery was beautiful, with a lot of fields with beautiful flowers, and nice cool mountain trails. The staff were very nice, and we were amazed by Maria who guided us and cleared the paths with a machete like a warrior princess!
The weather didn't cooperate, and after 3 days we could not continue as originally planned. The horses were taken to another location by trailer where we continued with a different route. Although we were sorry about this, this was a good solution under the circumstances, and the new route was really nice as well.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   30 June 2018

Horses were brilliant and seemed very well cared for. Tack was in good nick and I found my saddle comfortable. Poor weather meant we couldn't do as much cantering as we might have wanted and we had to shorten/miss some days of riding, but this couldn't be helped.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

4 star rating   30 June 2018

The horses were willing and well mannered. Some of the guests complained about the tack but I found my trail saddle comfortable and my horse rode well in his hackamore.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls & Castles of Bulgaria - Special

5 star rating   20 May 2018

I always wondered how it would be to ride a horse in the old ages where you could be really free. Now I know 🙂


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls & Castles of Bulgaria - Special

5 star rating   20 May 2018

It was far more than I expected. Everything about the holiday was great. The people the horses the accommodation the sightseeing tours. Bulgaria is far prettier than I imagined and would definitely consider going back


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Kingdom of Thracians

4 star rating   28 April 2018

Had to change saddle after 1st day, as the 1st one was very uncomfortable.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Medieval Bulgaria

4 star rating   14 October 2017

Everything was well organised and they could not have been more helpful.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

4 star rating   30 September 2017

My horse was very sweet though possibly a little too 'push button' for my taste (and he did stumble a lot), but I'd rather that than being over-horsed. The overall pace was a little slower than I'd hoped though of course it was often dictated by terrain, but there were places where some longer, faster canters would have been very enjoyable. No gallops either which was a little disappointing.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

4 star rating   30 September 2017

Good or Very Good


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

4 star rating   30 September 2017

Good or Very Good


35 reviews    1 2