Reviews
28 reviews   
Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Kingdom of Thracians

5 star rating   5 November 2018

I was pleased that the riding group was small (5 + excellent guide) but apparently they do have some quite big groups.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   30 October 2018

Far exceeded expectations - incredible how much land we had total open access too - varying terrain and awesome views. As the 8th In the Saddle holiday it was definitely the best for the riding and personally I do think it was far better than described in your information!!


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   26 October 2018

Very long canters - took a day and a bit to adjust to western style of riding. Horse Hector was a stallion - couldn't fault his behavior. Forward going but very responsive, a terrific choice if you prefer a smaller horse.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

4 star rating   23 October 2018

The riding was 10, hotels and guest houses 7, for me I think they need to look at the food but that is only my taste.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   8 October 2018

The riding was wonderful. It took us on a trail through miles and miles of beautiful wilderness. With amazing views of distant mountains and long canters over grassy meadows on fit horses.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   8 October 2018

The riding terrain was varied with many breath taking views, not a gate or fence to negotiate. A brilliant ride.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   5 October 2018

The riding exceeded all our expectations .so much country to explore with no boundaries such lovely and varied views


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   5 October 2018

We've had a marvellous time., couldn't fault it. Don't feel your brochure does it justice! We did about 150 kms and only about 5 kms were on the road.
We all really enjoyed the cultural visits too. Rumi is very well informed.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   4 October 2018

The riding actually exceeded my expectations as the pace was varied & included some good sections of trot & canter. The countryside is very open & similar on most days but interesting enough as is undulating with some wonderful views. It is possible on many occasions to see where you have ridden - or will be riding - for a distance of at least 5 miles.
The horses were all in good condition, very well behaved & forward going. Our guides were fantastic & looked after our every need.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   18 September 2018

Excellent riding country - not one gate in the whole week. Plenty of lovely fast canters on sensible but willing horses.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Medieval Bulgaria

5 star rating   31 August 2018

Excellent horse, good riding country. Perfect.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Balkan National Park

5 star rating   2 August 2018

I was paired with a fantastic horse who was full of energy and character. The ride was varied in terms of terrain and pace; the weather meant some of the terrain was tougher going than normal but the horses needs and safety were always put first.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Balkan National Park

5 star rating   1 August 2018

The horses were very well trained, willing to work, and comfortable to ride. The scenery was beautiful, with a lot of fields with beautiful flowers, and nice cool mountain trails. The staff were very nice, and we were amazed by Maria who guided us and cleared the paths with a machete like a warrior princess!
The weather didn't cooperate, and after 3 days we could not continue as originally planned. The horses were taken to another location by trailer where we continued with a different route. Although we were sorry about this, this was a good solution under the circumstances, and the new route was really nice as well.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   8 July 2018

Horses were brilliant and seemed very well cared for. Tack was in good nick and I found my saddle comfortable. Poor weather meant we couldn't do as much cantering as we might have wanted and we had to shorten/miss some days of riding, but this couldn't be helped.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

4 star rating   3 July 2018

The horses were willing and well mannered. Some of the guests complained about the tack but I found my trail saddle comfortable and my horse rode well in his hackamore.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls & Castles of Bulgaria - Special

5 star rating   26 June 2018

I always wondered how it would be to ride a horse in the old ages where you could be really free. Now I know 🙂


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls & Castles of Bulgaria - Special

5 star rating   29 May 2018

It was far more than I expected. Everything about the holiday was great. The people the horses the accommodation the sightseeing tours. Bulgaria is far prettier than I imagined and would definitely consider going back


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Kingdom of Thracians

4 star rating   2 May 2018

Had to change saddle after 1st day, as the 1st one was very uncomfortable.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Medieval Bulgaria

4 star rating   20 October 2017

Everything was well organised and they could not have been more helpful.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

4 star rating   9 October 2017

Maria is a very capable ride leader and made sure everyone was able to cope. The horses were generally well behaved and fun. The countryside is pretty and we rode through oak woods, open plains and over steep hills. What was less enjoyable was the poor state of some of the villages we passed. Many empty houses and a lot of rubbish strewn around the outskirts. It is very obvious that people are leaving the rural areas in favour of the town's and cities. This isn't something our hosts can control but it was depressing.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

4 star rating   6 October 2017

My horse was very sweet though possibly a little too 'push button' for my taste (and he did stumble a lot), but I'd rather that than being over-horsed. The overall pace was a little slower than I'd hoped though of course it was often dictated by terrain, but there were places where some longer, faster canters would have been very enjoyable. No gallops either which was a little disappointing.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   22 September 2017

The horses were all in excellent condition with comfortable well maintained tack. The horses were responsive and willing but not spooky or silly.
The riding was great over vast expanses of open countryside with many many long canters (the like of which we just do not see in the UK). Its mainly over crop fields and along farm tracks, very minimal roads and those you do see have very little traffic, crossing a few rivers and up and down the hills.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

4 star rating   1 September 2017

The Bulgarians have trot and gallop, no canter! We did no galloping, it was all cantering and there were places that would have allowed for a good old gallop. The terrain went from thick undergrowth that required a machete to be used to make a path, to wide recently harvested fields to canter along, grasslands, sunflower fields and rivers to cross. No lake swimming, they are not very keen on riders doing it especially as the water is not always that clean!


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Balkan National Park

5 star rating   15 August 2017

Well schooled horses each with individual personalities. Stunning scenery and good riding on a mixture of terrains with wide open spaces and no fences. The horses were all forward going even after a long day. Saddles were comfortable.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Balkan National Park

5 star rating   8 August 2017

All horses very well trained and easy to ride. Comfy saddle too. Bulgaria is a great place to ride - lots of open fields and tracks.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   29 June 2017

The members of this family run business and those working with them are rightly proud of their horses, their country and their culture which serves to enhance the holiday experience. The quality of the horses and the excellent itinerary were complimented by the generosity of the hospitality extended to us throughout our trip.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   28 June 2017

MARVELLOUS! If you are a capable rider who appreciates a beautiful wilderness country, fit, well schooled horses with excellent comfortable tack then this is the place for you to do one of their weeks trails. The added bonus is the wonderful family and their lovely Monika who look after you in every way......clever, confident trail guiding, impressive historical and cultural knowledge, gorgeous local food and wines....the list goes on.......
Get it booked! You won't regret it!


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   22 May 2017

There had been a lot of rain previous to our arrival and during one night. The ground is clay and horrendously slippery when wet, so our ride was slower than it would have been in dry conditions and we had to have a change of schedule, not riding one day. This was fine and I had no problem with the decision, but it's worth noting. Time keeping was sometimes a bit fluid, which didn't bother me but did annoy someone.


28 reviews