Reviews
47 reviews    1 2
Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   2 November 2019

I took some extra dressage lessons from the trainer, Nelson, and had a blast riding and learning on their beautiful and well trained Lusitanos.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   17 August 2019

The horses in the Quinta are wonderfully well-schooled and well-behaved. They have 49 horses, so if you want to try a little different, you can come up with your wishes. After each ride you are asked if you like that type of horse or if you want more/less of something. You never get the same horse two days in a row, as they always have a day off the day after a ride. This in turn means that the horses are always fresh for a ride.

I rode four different horses on the six rides I was on, and every one was beautiful in their own way!


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   11 August 2019

Excellent


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   3 August 2019

The riding exceeded my expectations. Information about riding ability had clearly been read and this was reflected in the horses chosen for the rides. Assessment lesson on arrival was thorough and Nelson (the instructor) quickly and accurately identified level of ability and (the many!!) areas needing work !
Guides out on the trails were helpful and gave clear instructions during the rides.
For the majority of the rides there were only 4 or 5 in the group which added to the enjoyment. We also had an extra ride!

The Quinta has a variety of horses catering for riders of all abilities. Some of the horses are rescues & the team have done a fabulous job of returning them to happy, healthy horses who enjoy their work.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   17 July 2019

I also loved that Nelson gave us a riding lesson before our time out on the trails - he's an excellent teacher and was able to assess our skill level and no doubt helped with us matching up with the best horse for us.

The riding mostly met my expectations - beautiful trots and canters along dirt paths, blooming hydrangeas, lantana, and ginger lilies all around. I do think my skill level wasn't up to par, so I wasn't comfortable at a gallop, as most of the others were.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   17 July 2019

I overestimated my fitness and experience level, so the Green Island Trail that I signed up for proved to be too much for me. Christina was absolutely wonderful when I confessed this - she cheerfully made special arrangements so I could still ride, but at a more suitable pace for my skill level. The horses were beautifully trained trail horses and were cared for so well. And the countryside is beautiful!


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   24 June 2019

The horses were really well mannered and very pleasant to ride. You could really see how much the people who work there care for them. Because they know their horses so well, they can match riders and horses perfectly. There are horses for every kind of rider.

The guides know the island really well and give a lot of information during the rides which makes it even more interesting. Every day we did a different tour, so everyday we were surprised by the countless and wonderful new views.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   25 May 2019

There were two options for this trip, one with slightly more riding than the other. We opted for the lesser option so we had more time to explore the island but our hosts actually gave us more riding than we had booked anyway which was so wonderful! We had different horses each day but they always asked for feedback so we could be matched to ones that suited us. Our riding lesson at the start of the holiday was excellent. Nelson is a fantastic teacher!


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   25 May 2019

All of the horses at the Quinta are well schooled and much loved by Claude, Christina and all of the team. On the first day, we were asked what type of horses we like to ride, and throughout the week I was well matched with lovely, forward going horses who matched my preferences (Aida, Endura, Joya). Many of the horses (and dogs and cats!) at the farm are rescue animals, and the team have done a wonderful job of regaining their trust. There is a file containing the back story and profile of each horse, which was a nice touch and which made for good reading at the end of the day.

The riding itself was brilliant, with lots of varied landscapes across the island. The pace was well suited to our group, and we were able to do some long canters and gallops on each ride. There have been some comments left previously about the amount of road riding - the island is inhabited so there are naturally some roads, but the horses are bombproof even with farm traffic, so this wasn't a concern. A special shout-out goes to our guides Bruno, Caterina, and Nelson, whose enthusiasm for the island and infectious smiles made each day so fun. The number of hours riding was also above what we expected, which was great!

The only feedback I would have would be that it would be useful to have saddle bags for water / sun cream etc., as it got quite hot on the rides.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   25 May 2019

The guides did their best to match each guest with the type of horse they preferred. If you found a horse you particularly liked then you could ride it again. The terrain was varied and we got to see a lot of the island. There was more road work than I expected, sometimes on busy roads, but it was worth it to get to the off road areas. There was lots of opportunities for trots and fast canters. The guides made the rides fun and interesting, particularly Catalina and Bruno.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   27 April 2019

I loved all my horses, Conquistador, Espahnhol, Beladona, and most of all Imperador! Thank you Bruno for choosing him for me. Some nice long canters and gallops, a bit more road work than we expected but the island is so pretty I didn't mind. Lovely views of the scenery and the sea from horseback. The horses all seem well cared for, and have a home for life here.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   16 March 2019

The riding was varied, and transporting the horses by lorry worked extremely well. Beautiful views and lots opportunities for riding at a faster pace.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   11 January 2019

Excellent


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   27 October 2018

Riding is execdlent . Terrain is vary variable and the Azores are beautiful so that every day’s riding was different. We had terrible weather at times so the rides sometimes had to change to adapt but we still managed to have long canters and gallops as well as more sedate paces. The guides are very knowledgeable about the local landscape and they know the horses very well so will give you very good advice about how best to ride them. There is also plenty of scope to move up and down gears in terms of horses so that my very experienced riding daughters were able to ride to their level whilst I had a more relaxed, but still fun, ride. On day one we did a lesson with Christina to check out our ability which I found very useful and reassuring as I hadn’t ridden for a couple of years.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   23 October 2018

They are really good at matching one with the right horses. Only once did I get a horse that I did not like (looked at a lot on things and with a pretty bad stop signal - it did not matter) but the 3 other horses I rode were beautiful! We rode almost in a storm on the last day, and even there the horses were surprisingly cool. However, it is noteworthy that the horses are a little used to tourists, so some of them take their freedoms when there is grass or other eatable nearby when stopping to take pictures, etc.
The pace is a wonderful mix of all, and there were also a couple of very fast-paced centers at times.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   23 October 2018

A good mix of riding through varied landscapes and villages. Pace, of course, depends on the terrain, but most times there is the possibility of some good canters


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   13 October 2018

Terrific mixture including a couple of wonderful lessons with Christina


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   2 October 2018

Good and well-behaved horses that are perfect for tourists with different riding abilities


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   22 September 2018

The riding terrain was more extreme than i expected. Especially the walking down very steep slippery hills leading my horses, but the horses were so well behaved it was not a problem.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   8 September 2018

I rode different horses most days which was very exciting and gave me the opportunity to experience the variety of horses available.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   8 September 2018

The horses are forward going and wonderfully cared for.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   11 August 2018

Excellent


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   4 August 2018

Excellent


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   28 July 2018

Better.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   21 July 2018

We were concerned both that the horses might be rather ploddy riding school types and that the other riders might be far less experienced than us. While we were the most experienced of the group the guides and owner provided us with horses that were very forward going and fun to ride. Over the week I rode six different horses (I only rode one twice). For the first couple of rides the horses I rode were not particularly forward going but I spoke to the owner and guides and they then assigned me horses more at my level. As a one horse rider (I've had my current horse for 12 years) I thoroughly enjoyed riding a range of different horses. The other people on our rides were great fun both on and off the horses. All in all we had a wonderful week.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   14 July 2018

I enjoyed the riding very much. The lesson with Christina on the fabulous Ole was a lovely surprise and the rides out with Bruno, Filipa and Contanze were varied, fun and exciting at times! I rode 5 different horses over the course of the week - all were very forward going and sure-footed. I especially enjoyed my rides on the delightful Noguiera.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   7 July 2018

The scenery was very varied and being driven to the start of a number of rides enabled us to see large parts of the island and ride over very different terrains.
We rode different horses each day. Our guide Bruno was excellent and very helpful and friendly. The back up team, including Marco who helped us at the beginning and end of the day and set up our lunch stops was brilliant.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   7 July 2018

The riding certainly met with my expectations and loved the lesson we got before we went out to assess the riders. Wish they would all do this. Every day was different some days more challenging than others but couldn't find one fault with anything.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   30 June 2018

The riding exceeded my expectation in the variety of the terrain that we rode over.
We were guided very safely through towns in traffic,countryside, wonderful cliffs top with seaviews.
around the crator , around the lakes.

Quite fabulous, the scenery was quite spectacular.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   30 June 2018

The horses were forward going but I felt safe at all times. The pace was good, there were enough gallops and canters yet some nice walks to enjoy the views.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   30 June 2018

I didn't ride but all the others, without exception spent the entire holiday raving about the ponies, the riding, everything..


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   30 June 2018

I was so thrilled with my holiday experience - can't fault a single thing. It exceeded my expectations!
The horse were beautifully and kindly cared for, and without exception were happy, willing, and forward going. Christina was very intuitive in matching us to our horses. The one she chose for me on our first ride turned out to be my favourite - and I was able to ride him twice more in the week. The other two horses I rode were almost equal favourites!
The guides were friendly, helpful and safety standards were exemplary - regularly checking our girths etc. We had plenty of trots and canters and fast safe gallops. The riding terrain was very often along stony tracks, rather than open fields, but I was expecting this, and the horses were sure footed and well used to it. It was alarmingly dusty whilst cantering at times - and I would recommend wearing sunglasses so you can keep your eyes open!
The balance of riding time and excursion/rest time during the week suited me perfectly.
I plan to go back for sure!


47 reviews    1 2