Reviews
53 reviews    1 2
Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   7 March 2020

Vanessa who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Beautiful island views from the back of willing horses | I rode five different horses, each with their own unique character. All of them were extremely capable and willing and very well suited to the terrain. The owner, Christina, and the guides asked for feedback after every ride and took that into account when matching you up with a horse for the following day.

The riding was varied and fun. Walk where it was steep, but plenty of trots and canters were faster paces were possible. Also some really fun gallops where it was safe. They really look after their riders and check on the wellbeing of everyone regularly. The horses are well-loved and well looked after.

Very knowledgeable guides who shared detailed information about the local flora and fauna.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   8 February 2020

Susan who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Horse riding in paradise | Thrilling riding on much loved ,well trained ,reliable ,forward going horses through varied, breath taking landscapes with well informed guides who told us all about the local environment, history and geology as we went. And so many fields of dairy cows! i loved every moment.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   28 December 2019

Pamela who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Refreshing | I loved all the horses I was given to ride. They each had their own personality and were all responsive, willing and relaxed about pretty much everything we encountered.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   14 December 2019

Hannah who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. "Will be Back" | Lovely mixture between long fast paced canters and relaxing walks where you wouldn't want to go to fast as the scenery is so beautiful. Our guide "Nelson" catered for all standards while making sure horses were content. He works extremely hard and never shows any crack of exhaustion! His care and attention to detail is exquisite.

Only hold back was one of the riders was a little weaker than the rest, so waiting was sometimes needed.

There are a lot of steep steep hills so if you are going on this ride - I would advise practising light seat if you can't already!

Horses themselves we almost all rescues - with journals of their back stories which Christina has so beautifully put together, are all perfectly suited to the tasks given. Whether you are more experienced, a bit nervous or not so sturdy on the saddle they have a horse for all!


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   2 November 2019

Holly who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Wonderful! | I took some extra dressage lessons from the trainer, Nelson, and had a blast riding and learning on their beautiful and well trained Lusitanos.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

4 star rating   8 September 2019

Rida (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Good people but need more guides. | The horses were a bit hard in the mouth. I exclusively ride western. I am used to horses that pay attention to the reins. I had to constantly fight to hold the horses in an effort to prevent them from sticking their nose into the horse in front. Perhaps that's how the English snaffle bit works. That wasn't fun.

The horses had to be ridden nose to tail in a particular order; apparently they don't get along. On my first day I was the 9th guest rider out of 9. I did not hear a single thing that the guide said. On my second day I was 8th out of nine. I was aimlessly following the rider ahead without hearing anything that the guide had to state. I did not learn anything about the islands.

I then skipped a few rides. On my 3rd full day ride I was 4th in line and head some of what the guide had to say. On the last day I was second last again. Did not hear a thing.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

4 star rating   8 September 2019

Victor (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Horses could be more responsive.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   17 August 2019

Mie who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. The horses in the Quinta are wonderfully well-schooled and well-behaved. They have 49 horses, so if you want to try a little different, you can come up with your wishes. After each ride you are asked if you like that type of horse or if you want more/less of something. You never get the same horse two days in a row, as they always have a day off the day after a ride. This in turn means that the horses are always fresh for a ride.

I rode four different horses on the six rides I was on, and every one was beautiful in their own way!


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   11 August 2019

Deborah who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Just Perfect | Excellent


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   3 August 2019

Catherine (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fabulous riding & hospitality in The Azores | The riding exceeded my expectations. Information about riding ability had clearly been read and this was reflected in the horses chosen for the rides. Assessment lesson on arrival was thorough and Nelson (the instructor) quickly and accurately identified level of ability and (the many!!) areas needing work !
Guides out on the trails were helpful and gave clear instructions during the rides.
For the majority of the rides there were only 4 or 5 in the group which added to the enjoyment. We also had an extra ride!

The Quinta has a variety of horses catering for riders of all abilities. Some of the horses are rescues & the team have done a fabulous job of returning them to happy, healthy horses who enjoy their work.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   17 July 2019

Mare who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Atlantis and the Green Island Trail - Wonderful horses and guides and staff! | I also loved that Nelson gave us a riding lesson before our time out on the trails - he's an excellent teacher and was able to assess our skill level and no doubt helped with us matching up with the best horse for us.

The riding mostly met my expectations - beautiful trots and canters along dirt paths, blooming hydrangeas, lantana, and ginger lilies all around. I do think my skill level wasn't up to par, so I wasn't comfortable at a gallop, as most of the others were.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   17 July 2019

Ellen B who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Azores Green Island Trail | I overestimated my fitness and experience level, so the Green Island Trail that I signed up for proved to be too much for me. Christina was absolutely wonderful when I confessed this - she cheerfully made special arrangements so I could still ride, but at a more suitable pace for my skill level. The horses were beautifully trained trail horses and were cared for so well. And the countryside is beautiful!


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

4 star rating   13 July 2019

Emily who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Stunning scenery! | The horses were spectacular--rock solid even in traffic, forward, responsive and clearly well-loved.

The ride is beautiful, absolutely gorgeous, sweeping views of the island. I do think the way the itineraries are set up on In the Saddle leaves one with the impression that choosing the Green Island Trail will put you with more advanced riders and more forward riding. To the contrary, you will ride with those booked for the more beginner programs and the farm will add unevaluated day-trippers (in tennis shoes) to your full-day rides, with the result that we were really only able to have real canters on one day. The last day we were sent out with ten riders of wildly varying abilities and one guide for a full day. The guide was basically superhuman but that is too much to ask of anyone and needless to say there were none of the "lovely canters" advertised in our itinerary.

It was truly enjoyable as a mainly walk-trot riding holiday, but as the forward horses, the chosen trails and itinerary seemed set up for faster riding, it was a bit frustrating. Particularly as it could have easily been bettered by splitting up into smaller groups or more careful evaluation of riders.
[ITS Comment - Thank you for bringing this to our attention. This is unusual feedback and certainly not the norm. We are speaking with our partners in the |azores to ascertain why this occurred during your stay]


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   24 June 2019

Ecollet (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) The perfect holiday | The horses were really well mannered and very pleasant to ride. You could really see how much the people who work there care for them. Because they know their horses so well, they can match riders and horses perfectly. There are horses for every kind of rider.

The guides know the island really well and give a lot of information during the rides which makes it even more interesting. Every day we did a different tour, so everyday we were surprised by the countless and wonderful new views.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   25 May 2019

Lucyrachel1 (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Holiday of a Lifetime- Paradise! | There were two options for this trip, one with slightly more riding than the other. We opted for the lesser option so we had more time to explore the island but our hosts actually gave us more riding than we had booked anyway which was so wonderful! We had different horses each day but they always asked for feedback so we could be matched to ones that suited us. Our riding lesson at the start of the holiday was excellent. Nelson is a fantastic teacher!


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   25 May 2019

Niamh (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) An absolutely fantastic holiday - I loved every minute | All of the horses at the Quinta are well schooled and much loved by Claude, Christina and all of the team. On the first day, we were asked what type of horses we like to ride, and throughout the week I was well matched with lovely, forward going horses who matched my preferences (Aida, Endura, Joya). Many of the horses (and dogs and cats!) at the farm are rescue animals, and the team have done a wonderful job of regaining their trust. There is a file containing the back story and profile of each horse, which was a nice touch and which made for good reading at the end of the day.

The riding itself was brilliant, with lots of varied landscapes across the island. The pace was well suited to our group, and we were able to do some long canters and gallops on each ride. There have been some comments left previously about the amount of road riding - the island is inhabited so there are naturally some roads, but the horses are bombproof even with farm traffic, so this wasn't a concern. A special shout-out goes to our guides Bruno, Caterina, and Nelson, whose enthusiasm for the island and infectious smiles made each day so fun. The number of hours riding was also above what we expected, which was great!

The only feedback I would have would be that it would be useful to have saddle bags for water / sun cream etc., as it got quite hot on the rides.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   25 May 2019

Cheryl who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Amazing experience | The guides did their best to match each guest with the type of horse they preferred. If you found a horse you particularly liked then you could ride it again. The terrain was varied and we got to see a lot of the island. There was more road work than I expected, sometimes on busy roads, but it was worth it to get to the off road areas. There was lots of opportunities for trots and fast canters. The guides made the rides fun and interesting, particularly Catalina and Bruno.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   27 April 2019

Fiona who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Wonderful! | I loved all my horses, Conquistador, Espahnhol, Beladona, and most of all Imperador! Thank you Bruno for choosing him for me. Some nice long canters and gallops, a bit more road work than we expected but the island is so pretty I didn't mind. Lovely views of the scenery and the sea from horseback. The horses all seem well cared for, and have a home for life here.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   16 March 2019

Caroline who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Super holiday - beautiful green island with well cared for happy horses | The riding was varied, and transporting the horses by lorry worked extremely well. Beautiful views and lots opportunities for riding at a faster pace.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   11 January 2019

Mich and KT who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Amazing landscapes | Excellent


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Atlantis Ride

4 star rating   1 December 2018

Rocky who has been on 21 In The Saddle rides. Good but probably not my preferred type of location | I asked to keep riding the same horse - and they granted my request. As I had recently been riding Western, they offered me a Western saddle - which I accepted. The last two days had good lengths of trots and canters and were almost all off road. I enjoyed them but the early week was dreary with a lot of road work - which I hate. As I had opted for 17 hours not 24, the junior member of staff on Monday and Tuesday rides treated me like a child/beginner. I am not the world's best rider but I have a lot of experience so this was extremely irritating. I do not need telling how to go up and down slopes multiple times. I do not want an "OK?" after 100m of slow trot.
The tack was beautifully simple and uniform, a snaffle on every horse and not a spare piece of leather anywhere. However, I did find the lack of a saddle bag irritating. I don't own one - and what type would I buy to fit an unknown saddle? It would also take me out of hand luggage travel weight (10kg). There was nowhere to keep my sketch book or paints and nowhere to put a discarded garment or keep a bottle of water. The last two did not matter in winter, but it summer would be important. One of the other riders had fainted with dehydration on a previous visit.
The immaculate appearance of the horses was maintained. When they rolled at lunch, they were groomed before the afternoon remount.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   27 October 2018

Sandra who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Amazing Azores | Riding is execdlent . Terrain is vary variable and the Azores are beautiful so that every day’s riding was different. We had terrible weather at times so the rides sometimes had to change to adapt but we still managed to have long canters and gallops as well as more sedate paces. The guides are very knowledgeable about the local landscape and they know the horses very well so will give you very good advice about how best to ride them. There is also plenty of scope to move up and down gears in terms of horses so that my very experienced riding daughters were able to ride to their level whilst I had a more relaxed, but still fun, ride. On day one we did a lesson with Christina to check out our ability which I found very useful and reassuring as I hadn’t ridden for a couple of years.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   23 October 2018

Pernille Nygaard who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. They are really good at matching one with the right horses. Only once did I get a horse that I did not like (looked at a lot on things and with a pretty bad stop signal - it did not matter) but the 3 other horses I rode were beautiful! We rode almost in a storm on the last day, and even there the horses were surprisingly cool. However, it is noteworthy that the horses are a little used to tourists, so some of them take their freedoms when there is grass or other eatable nearby when stopping to take pictures, etc.
The pace is a wonderful mix of all, and there were also a couple of very fast-paced centers at times.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   23 October 2018

Lone who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. A good mix of riding through varied landscapes and villages. Pace, of course, depends on the terrain, but most times there is the possibility of some good canters


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   13 October 2018

Happy Holidays who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Varied, beautiful, hospitable | Terrific mixture including a couple of wonderful lessons with Christina


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   2 October 2018

Marrit (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Good and well-behaved horses that are perfect for tourists with different riding abilities


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   22 September 2018

Susan who has been on 12 In The Saddle rides. Great riding on loverly horses on a beautiful island | The riding terrain was more extreme than i expected. Especially the walking down very steep slippery hills leading my horses, but the horses were so well behaved it was not a problem.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   8 September 2018

Kes who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Azores | I rode different horses most days which was very exciting and gave me the opportunity to experience the variety of horses available.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   8 September 2018

Happy Hacker who has been on 8 In The Saddle rides. Azores | The horses are forward going and wonderfully cared for.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   11 August 2018

Diane (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fantastic | Excellent


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   4 August 2018

Two old ladies (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Brilliant week | Excellent


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   28 July 2018

The Derbyshire farmers. (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Welcoming friendly staff. Excellent horses.cant find anything to fault . | Better.


53 reviews    1 2