Reviews
68 reviews    1 2 3
Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   11 August 2019

Excellent


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   17 July 2019

I also loved that Nelson gave us a riding lesson before our time out on the trails - he's an excellent teacher and was able to assess our skill level and no doubt helped with us matching up with the best horse for us.

The riding mostly met my expectations - beautiful trots and canters along dirt paths, blooming hydrangeas, lantana, and ginger lilies all around. I do think my skill level wasn't up to par, so I wasn't comfortable at a gallop, as most of the others were.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   17 July 2019

I overestimated my fitness and experience level, so the Green Island Trail that I signed up for proved to be too much for me. Christina was absolutely wonderful when I confessed this - she cheerfully made special arrangements so I could still ride, but at a more suitable pace for my skill level. The horses were beautifully trained trail horses and were cared for so well. And the countryside is beautiful!


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

4 star rating   13 July 2019

The horses were spectacular--rock solid even in traffic, forward, responsive and clearly well-loved.

The ride is beautiful, absolutely gorgeous, sweeping views of the island. I do think the way the itineraries are set up on In the Saddle leaves one with the impression that choosing the Green Island Trail will put you with more advanced riders and more forward riding. To the contrary, you will ride with those booked for the more beginner programs and the farm will add unevaluated day-trippers (in tennis shoes) to your full-day rides, with the result that we were really only able to have real canters on one day. The last day we were sent out with ten riders of wildly varying abilities and one guide for a full day. The guide was basically superhuman but that is too much to ask of anyone and needless to say there were none of the "lovely canters" advertised in our itinerary.

It was truly enjoyable as a mainly walk-trot riding holiday, but as the forward horses, the chosen trails and itinerary seemed set up for faster riding, it was a bit frustrating. Particularly as it could have easily been bettered by splitting up into smaller groups or more careful evaluation of riders.
[ITS Comment - Thank you for bringing this to our attention. This is unusual feedback and certainly not the norm. We are speaking with our partners in the |azores to ascertain why this occurred during your stay]


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   24 June 2019

The horses were really well mannered and very pleasant to ride. You could really see how much the people who work there care for them. Because they know their horses so well, they can match riders and horses perfectly. There are horses for every kind of rider.

The guides know the island really well and give a lot of information during the rides which makes it even more interesting. Every day we did a different tour, so everyday we were surprised by the countless and wonderful new views.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores
Experience Level

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   25 May 2019

There were two options for this trip, one with slightly more riding than the other. We opted for the lesser option so we had more time to explore the island but our hosts actually gave us more riding than we had booked anyway which was so wonderful! We had different horses each day but they always asked for feedback so we could be matched to ones that suited us. Our riding lesson at the start of the holiday was excellent. Nelson is a fantastic teacher!


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores
Experience Level

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   25 May 2019

All of the horses at the Quinta are well schooled and much loved by Claude, Christina and all of the team. On the first day, we were asked what type of horses we like to ride, and throughout the week I was well matched with lovely, forward going horses who matched my preferences (Aida, Endura, Joya). Many of the horses (and dogs and cats!) at the farm are rescue animals, and the team have done a wonderful job of regaining their trust. There is a file containing the back story and profile of each horse, which was a nice touch and which made for good reading at the end of the day.

The riding itself was brilliant, with lots of varied landscapes across the island. The pace was well suited to our group, and we were able to do some long canters and gallops on each ride. There have been some comments left previously about the amount of road riding - the island is inhabited so there are naturally some roads, but the horses are bombproof even with farm traffic, so this wasn't a concern. A special shout-out goes to our guides Bruno, Caterina, and Nelson, whose enthusiasm for the island and infectious smiles made each day so fun. The number of hours riding was also above what we expected, which was great!

The only feedback I would have would be that it would be useful to have saddle bags for water / sun cream etc., as it got quite hot on the rides.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   25 May 2019

The guides did their best to match each guest with the type of horse they preferred. If you found a horse you particularly liked then you could ride it again. The terrain was varied and we got to see a lot of the island. There was more road work than I expected, sometimes on busy roads, but it was worth it to get to the off road areas. There was lots of opportunities for trots and fast canters. The guides made the rides fun and interesting, particularly Catalina and Bruno.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   27 April 2019

I loved all my horses, Conquistador, Espahnhol, Beladona, and most of all Imperador! Thank you Bruno for choosing him for me. Some nice long canters and gallops, a bit more road work than we expected but the island is so pretty I didn't mind. Lovely views of the scenery and the sea from horseback. The horses all seem well cared for, and have a home for life here.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores
Experience Level

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   16 March 2019

The riding was varied, and transporting the horses by lorry worked extremely well. Beautiful views and lots opportunities for riding at a faster pace.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores
Experience Level

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   11 January 2019

Excellent


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores
Experience Level

Atlantis Ride

4 star rating   1 December 2018

I asked to keep riding the same horse - and they granted my request. As I had recently been riding Western, they offered me a Western saddle - which I accepted. The last two days had good lengths of trots and canters and were almost all off road. I enjoyed them but the early week was dreary with a lot of road work - which I hate. As I had opted for 17 hours not 24, the junior member of staff on Monday and Tuesday rides treated me like a child/beginner. I am not the world's best rider but I have a lot of experience so this was extremely irritating. I do not need telling how to go up and down slopes multiple times. I do not want an "OK?" after 100m of slow trot.
The tack was beautifully simple and uniform, a snaffle on every horse and not a spare piece of leather anywhere. However, I did find the lack of a saddle bag irritating. I don't own one - and what type would I buy to fit an unknown saddle? It would also take me out of hand luggage travel weight (10kg). There was nowhere to keep my sketch book or paints and nowhere to put a discarded garment or keep a bottle of water. The last two did not matter in winter, but it summer would be important. One of the other riders had fainted with dehydration on a previous visit.
The immaculate appearance of the horses was maintained. When they rolled at lunch, they were groomed before the afternoon remount.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   27 October 2018

Riding is execdlent . Terrain is vary variable and the Azores are beautiful so that every day’s riding was different. We had terrible weather at times so the rides sometimes had to change to adapt but we still managed to have long canters and gallops as well as more sedate paces. The guides are very knowledgeable about the local landscape and they know the horses very well so will give you very good advice about how best to ride them. There is also plenty of scope to move up and down gears in terms of horses so that my very experienced riding daughters were able to ride to their level whilst I had a more relaxed, but still fun, ride. On day one we did a lesson with Christina to check out our ability which I found very useful and reassuring as I hadn’t ridden for a couple of years.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   23 October 2018

They are really good at matching one with the right horses. Only once did I get a horse that I did not like (looked at a lot on things and with a pretty bad stop signal - it did not matter) but the 3 other horses I rode were beautiful! We rode almost in a storm on the last day, and even there the horses were surprisingly cool. However, it is noteworthy that the horses are a little used to tourists, so some of them take their freedoms when there is grass or other eatable nearby when stopping to take pictures, etc.
The pace is a wonderful mix of all, and there were also a couple of very fast-paced centers at times.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   23 October 2018

A good mix of riding through varied landscapes and villages. Pace, of course, depends on the terrain, but most times there is the possibility of some good canters


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   13 October 2018

Terrific mixture including a couple of wonderful lessons with Christina


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   2 October 2018

Good and well-behaved horses that are perfect for tourists with different riding abilities


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   22 September 2018

The riding terrain was more extreme than i expected. Especially the walking down very steep slippery hills leading my horses, but the horses were so well behaved it was not a problem.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores
Experience Level

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   8 September 2018

I rode different horses most days which was very exciting and gave me the opportunity to experience the variety of horses available.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores
Experience Level

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   8 September 2018

The horses are forward going and wonderfully cared for.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   11 August 2018

Excellent


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores
Experience Level

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   4 August 2018

Excellent


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   28 July 2018

Better.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   21 July 2018

We were concerned both that the horses might be rather ploddy riding school types and that the other riders might be far less experienced than us. While we were the most experienced of the group the guides and owner provided us with horses that were very forward going and fun to ride. Over the week I rode six different horses (I only rode one twice). For the first couple of rides the horses I rode were not particularly forward going but I spoke to the owner and guides and they then assigned me horses more at my level. As a one horse rider (I've had my current horse for 12 years) I thoroughly enjoyed riding a range of different horses. The other people on our rides were great fun both on and off the horses. All in all we had a wonderful week.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   14 July 2018

I enjoyed the riding very much. The lesson with Christina on the fabulous Ole was a lovely surprise and the rides out with Bruno, Filipa and Contanze were varied, fun and exciting at times! I rode 5 different horses over the course of the week - all were very forward going and sure-footed. I especially enjoyed my rides on the delightful Noguiera.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   7 July 2018

The scenery was very varied and being driven to the start of a number of rides enabled us to see large parts of the island and ride over very different terrains.
We rode different horses each day. Our guide Bruno was excellent and very helpful and friendly. The back up team, including Marco who helped us at the beginning and end of the day and set up our lunch stops was brilliant.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   7 July 2018

The riding certainly met with my expectations and loved the lesson we got before we went out to assess the riders. Wish they would all do this. Every day was different some days more challenging than others but couldn't find one fault with anything.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   30 June 2018

The riding exceeded my expectation in the variety of the terrain that we rode over.
We were guided very safely through towns in traffic,countryside, wonderful cliffs top with seaviews.
around the crator , around the lakes.

Quite fabulous, the scenery was quite spectacular.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   30 June 2018

The horses were forward going but I felt safe at all times. The pace was good, there were enough gallops and canters yet some nice walks to enjoy the views.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   30 June 2018

I didn't ride but all the others, without exception spent the entire holiday raving about the ponies, the riding, everything..


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   30 June 2018

I was so thrilled with my holiday experience - can't fault a single thing. It exceeded my expectations!
The horse were beautifully and kindly cared for, and without exception were happy, willing, and forward going. Christina was very intuitive in matching us to our horses. The one she chose for me on our first ride turned out to be my favourite - and I was able to ride him twice more in the week. The other two horses I rode were almost equal favourites!
The guides were friendly, helpful and safety standards were exemplary - regularly checking our girths etc. We had plenty of trots and canters and fast safe gallops. The riding terrain was very often along stony tracks, rather than open fields, but I was expecting this, and the horses were sure footed and well used to it. It was alarmingly dusty whilst cantering at times - and I would recommend wearing sunglasses so you can keep your eyes open!
The balance of riding time and excursion/rest time during the week suited me perfectly.
I plan to go back for sure!


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

4 star rating   23 June 2018

The introduction lesson with Cristina was a breathe of fresh air. My partners words were: Why didn't I meet you 10 years ago. Horses were bombproof, as unfortunately you ride on a lot of roads across the island, but despite fire crackers, school children, plastic on floor, tractors, cars with flags on top, buses, lorries and cars not slowing down they didn't seem to mind and knew their job. It was sometimes a relief to get to the jungle parts of the ride and personally we hadn't appreciated that there would be as much road work. It was a little disappointing that our group was joined by a couple on the last day who had just booked the twin lakes ride and turned out not that confident or aware of the dangers of putting two horses too near to each other that might not be pals. This caused a horse to kick out and narrowly missed another one before we started the day and then resulted in the guide not able to relax, a new group dynamic and therefore a slower last ride than we had hoped for. Atmosphere was understandably not the same as it had been all week, as we had a good group of people up to that point.


68 reviews    1 2 3