Reviews
75 reviews    1 2 3
Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores and Portugal
Experience Level

Atlantis Ride

4 star rating   6 December 2018

I asked to keep riding the same horse - and they granted my request. As I had recently been riding Western, they offered me a Western saddle - which I accepted. The last two days had good lengths of trots and canters and were almost all off road. I enjoyed them but the early week was dreary with a lot of road work - which I hate. As I had opted for 17 hours not 24, the junior member of staff on Monday and Tuesday rides treated me like a child/beginner. I am not the world's best rider but I have a lot of experience so this was extremely irritating. I do not need telling how to go up and down slopes multiple times. I do not want an "OK?" after 100m of slow trot.
The tack was beautifully simple and uniform, a snaffle on every horse and not a spare piece of leather anywhere. However, I did find the lack of a saddle bag irritating. I don't own one - and what type would I buy to fit an unknown saddle? It would also take me out of hand luggage travel weight (10kg). There was nowhere to keep my sketch book or paints and nowhere to put a discarded garment or keep a bottle of water. The last two did not matter in winter, but it summer would be important. One of the other riders had fainted with dehydration on a previous visit.
The immaculate appearance of the horses was maintained. When they rolled at lunch, they were groomed before the afternoon remount.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores and Portugal
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   19 November 2018

They are really good at matching one with the right horses. Only once did I get a horse that I did not like (looked at a lot on things and with a pretty bad stop signal - it did not matter) but the 3 other horses I rode were beautiful! We rode almost in a storm on the last day, and even there the horses were surprisingly cool. However, it is noteworthy that the horses are a little used to tourists, so some of them take their freedoms when there is grass or other eatable nearby when stopping to take pictures, etc.
The pace is a wonderful mix of all, and there were also a couple of very fast-paced centers at times.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores and Portugal
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   1 November 2018

A good mix of riding through varied landscapes and villages. Pace, of course, depends on the terrain, but most times there is the possibility of some good canters


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores and Portugal
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   31 October 2018

Riding is execdlent . Terrain is vary variable and the Azores are beautiful so that every day’s riding was different. We had terrible weather at times so the rides sometimes had to change to adapt but we still managed to have long canters and gallops as well as more sedate paces. The guides are very knowledgeable about the local landscape and they know the horses very well so will give you very good advice about how best to ride them. There is also plenty of scope to move up and down gears in terms of horses so that my very experienced riding daughters were able to ride to their level whilst I had a more relaxed, but still fun, ride. On day one we did a lesson with Christina to check out our ability which I found very useful and reassuring as I hadn’t ridden for a couple of years.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores and Portugal
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   22 October 2018

Terrific mixture including a couple of wonderful lessons with Christina


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores and Portugal
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   9 October 2018

Good and well-behaved horses that are perfect for tourists with different riding abilities


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores and Portugal
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   2 October 2018

The riding terrain was more extreme than i expected. Especially the walking down very steep slippery hills leading my horses, but the horses were so well behaved it was not a problem.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores and Portugal
Experience Level

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   13 September 2018

I rode different horses most days which was very exciting and gave me the opportunity to experience the variety of horses available.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores and Portugal
Experience Level

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   13 September 2018

The horses are forward going and wonderfully cared for.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores and Portugal
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   6 August 2018

I didn't ride but all the others, without exception spent the entire holiday raving about the ponies, the riding, everything..


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores and Portugal
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   1 August 2018

Better.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores and Portugal
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   24 July 2018

We were concerned both that the horses might be rather ploddy riding school types and that the other riders might be far less experienced than us. While we were the most experienced of the group the guides and owner provided us with horses that were very forward going and fun to ride. Over the week I rode six different horses (I only rode one twice). For the first couple of rides the horses I rode were not particularly forward going but I spoke to the owner and guides and they then assigned me horses more at my level. As a one horse rider (I've had my current horse for 12 years) I thoroughly enjoyed riding a range of different horses. The other people on our rides were great fun both on and off the horses. All in all we had a wonderful week.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores and Portugal
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   20 July 2018

I enjoyed the riding very much. The lesson with Christina on the fabulous Ole was a lovely surprise and the rides out with Bruno, Filipa and Contanze were varied, fun and exciting at times! I rode 5 different horses over the course of the week - all were very forward going and sure-footed. I especially enjoyed my rides on the delightful Noguiera.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores and Portugal
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   17 July 2018

The horses were forward going but I felt safe at all times. The pace was good, there were enough gallops and canters yet some nice walks to enjoy the views.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores and Portugal
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   16 July 2018

The riding certainly met with my expectations and loved the lesson we got before we went out to assess the riders. Wish they would all do this. Every day was different some days more challenging than others but couldn't find one fault with anything.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores and Portugal
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   11 July 2018

The scenery was very varied and being driven to the start of a number of rides enabled us to see large parts of the island and ride over very different terrains.
We rode different horses each day. Our guide Bruno was excellent and very helpful and friendly. The back up team, including Marco who helped us at the beginning and end of the day and set up our lunch stops was brilliant.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores and Portugal
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   9 July 2018

I was so thrilled with my holiday experience - can't fault a single thing. It exceeded my expectations!
The horse were beautifully and kindly cared for, and without exception were happy, willing, and forward going. Christina was very intuitive in matching us to our horses. The one she chose for me on our first ride turned out to be my favourite - and I was able to ride him twice more in the week. The other two horses I rode were almost equal favourites!
The guides were friendly, helpful and safety standards were exemplary - regularly checking our girths etc. We had plenty of trots and canters and fast safe gallops. The riding terrain was very often along stony tracks, rather than open fields, but I was expecting this, and the horses were sure footed and well used to it. It was alarmingly dusty whilst cantering at times - and I would recommend wearing sunglasses so you can keep your eyes open!
The balance of riding time and excursion/rest time during the week suited me perfectly.
I plan to go back for sure!


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores and Portugal
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   8 July 2018

The riding exceeded my expectation in the variety of the terrain that we rode over.
We were guided very safely through towns in traffic,countryside, wonderful cliffs top with seaviews.
around the crator , around the lakes.

Quite fabulous, the scenery was quite spectacular.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores and Portugal
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   29 June 2018

Over the 6 days, I rode 5 different horses. They were all good. Some of them were rather slow in walk, which meant, as I was near the back, I had to keep pushing them on to catch up with the others (somewhat tiring in hot weather). The last day I had my favourite horse, who I would have chosen again, given the chance. All the horses had lovely natures and were very well cared for. The introductory lesson, by Christina, was very helpful.
There is quite hard riding, particularly on the full day rides, with canters and gallops on gravel tracks. The horses were up to it but 2 full days consecutively, in the heat, was quite tiring. It helps to be fit and to have some form of bottom protection!


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores and Portugal
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

4 star rating   28 June 2018

The introduction lesson with Cristina was a breathe of fresh air. My partners words were: Why didn't I meet you 10 years ago. Horses were bombproof, as unfortunately you ride on a lot of roads across the island, but despite fire crackers, school children, plastic on floor, tractors, cars with flags on top, buses, lorries and cars not slowing down they didn't seem to mind and knew their job. It was sometimes a relief to get to the jungle parts of the ride and personally we hadn't appreciated that there would be as much road work. It was a little disappointing that our group was joined by a couple on the last day who had just booked the twin lakes ride and turned out not that confident or aware of the dangers of putting two horses too near to each other that might not be pals. This caused a horse to kick out and narrowly missed another one before we started the day and then resulted in the guide not able to relax, a new group dynamic and therefore a slower last ride than we had hoped for. Atmosphere was understandably not the same as it had been all week, as we had a good group of people up to that point.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores and Portugal
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   22 June 2018

Great riding and felt the horses had excellent response.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores and Portugal
Experience Level

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   8 June 2018

Enjoyed all my horses. We changed horses each day although we’re asked to chose one for the last ride. I have always stuck with one or two horses in the past and prefer that - assuming you find one you like of course!


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores and Portugal
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   8 June 2018

Overall the horses were lovely and Christina was always keen to match our preferences but there were a couple of exceptions:
a) Comfort of the saddles, in particular one extreme dressage saddle that, whilst it was claimed was the right fit for the horse, was the most uncomfortable I have ever encountered. It affected my ability to sit deep to steady what was a very forward going horse and also badly bruised the back of my knees. Fortunately it was only for one afternoon and my legs were fine once I was back on a comfortable saddle again but it meant a very uncomfortable experience and prevented me enjoying the horse.
b) My husband was given very 'steady' and slow horses so mentioned he'd like something a bit keener and it went straight to the other extreme with him ending up with horse with no manners or brakes. It turned out that a lady on the same holiday had had a similar experience with the same horse on a previous holiday there (so it wasn't an isolated incident). Fortunately no harm was done but it spoiled what should have been some lovely canters round the edge of the lake. On the last day my husband finally found his perfect match! NB. We will review again the description of preferred horse types on his profile to see if that will help avoid a similar situation occurring again on other holidays.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores and Portugal
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   5 June 2018

I rode 4 horses and they were all well schooled and responsive. All the horses rode well together with no incidents all week!


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores and Portugal
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   24 May 2018

Once you realised that most of the riding was on hard/loose gravel/shale tracks which ar times were very dusty, it was okay. Not many opportunities to gallop but some fine fast canters especially round the lakes. it was all about the scenery and getting to know the island which was breathtaking and beautiful. You could not pick fault with any of the horses and the guides, esp Bruno who was fantastic.. Christina’s lesson on the first day was an experience in itself, I had not been in an arena for over 25 years! Highly recommend this holiday.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores and Portugal
Experience Level

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   2 May 2018

Very easy riding and I had 4 different horses.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores and Portugal
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   24 April 2018

Great riding


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores and Portugal
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   19 April 2018

The horses were fantastic- we rode a selection over the week, they have horses for different levels of experience.
Most of the horses are rescues and all have an interesting history- it’s a delight to ride them. We had some great fast canters and gallops on happy forward going steeds.
I had a couple of lessons in the arena with Christina which is highly recommended- she is an excellent teacher and I got to ride the beautiful part Lusitana, part Arab Olé.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores and Portugal
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   16 April 2018

I wish we had more opportunities for trot and canter. But it’s a small island and we had to cross quite a few roads


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores and Portugal
Experience Level

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   16 April 2018

The riding was varied and interesting. We rode to different places each day because they had the lorry so could transport the horses across the island. I feel like I saw so many different parts of the island. The horses were full of life and obviously happy and treated well as they all had characters and enjoyed the rides.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores and Portugal
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   3 April 2018

Rode 5 different horses and would have been happy to try more


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores and Portugal
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   1 April 2018

I was very lucky to be by myself for the first 5 days, so my introductory lesson with Christina was very intensive, and I had the pick of so many horses! I rode four different horses. I had fallen from my own horse less than a week before the ride started and this always knocks your confidence a bit, so I started with the very easy horses and worked up. The last two I rode were particularly wonderful - Aurora and Joia. The riding was just what I like - some lovely long canters, combined with wonderful scenery.


75 reviews    1 2 3