Reviews
23 reviews   
Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   12 September 2020

Frans (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Everthing was so well organised. The day/s were well filled with riding, hiking, excursions and time to relax | Above expactation in every way. Well schooled horses. Indoor lessons were excelent. Guides were skilled, helpfull and friendly.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   7 March 2020

who has been on In The Saddle rides. Relaxing, fun, superbly organised | The week began with a lesson in the indoor school - very worthwhile. It gave us a chance to get a feel for the horses and the instructor/guides an opportunity to assess our riding. Quite a lot of the terrain is either uphill or downhill, but the horses are familiar with the routes, know their jobs and seem happy in their work. Pace was varied throughout the day. Trots and canters were plentiful. Significant advance planning by the team made sure we rode a variety of different routes - not always starting or ending in the same place.

I rode 4 different horses across the week and enjoyed being able to swap. If nothing else, it eases any saddle/stirrup pressures and gives welcome variety. We rode out with 3 different guides and this was also a good thing. Each guide had something different to tell us, a slightly different approach/attitude, new conversation, etc. Without fail every guide was incredibly cheerful, helpful and great at balancing safety with excitement.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   7 March 2020

Vanessa who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Beautiful island views from the back of willing horses | I rode five different horses, each with their own unique character. All of them were extremely capable and willing and very well suited to the terrain. The owner, Christina, and the guides asked for feedback after every ride and took that into account when matching you up with a horse for the following day.

The riding was varied and fun. Walk where it was steep, but plenty of trots and canters were faster paces were possible. Also some really fun gallops where it was safe. They really look after their riders and check on the wellbeing of everyone regularly. The horses are well-loved and well looked after.

Very knowledgeable guides who shared detailed information about the local flora and fauna.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   8 February 2020

Susan who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Horse riding in paradise | Thrilling riding on much loved ,well trained ,reliable ,forward going horses through varied, breath taking landscapes with well informed guides who told us all about the local environment, history and geology as we went. And so many fields of dairy cows! i loved every moment.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   28 December 2019

Pamela who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Refreshing | I loved all the horses I was given to ride. They each had their own personality and were all responsive, willing and relaxed about pretty much everything we encountered.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   14 December 2019

Hannah who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. "Will be Back" | Lovely mixture between long fast paced canters and relaxing walks where you wouldn't want to go to fast as the scenery is so beautiful. Our guide "Nelson" catered for all standards while making sure horses were content. He works extremely hard and never shows any crack of exhaustion! His care and attention to detail is exquisite.

Only hold back was one of the riders was a little weaker than the rest, so waiting was sometimes needed.

There are a lot of steep steep hills so if you are going on this ride - I would advise practising light seat if you can't already!

Horses themselves we almost all rescues - with journals of their back stories which Christina has so beautifully put together, are all perfectly suited to the tasks given. Whether you are more experienced, a bit nervous or not so sturdy on the saddle they have a horse for all!


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   2 November 2019

Holly who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Wonderful! | I took some extra dressage lessons from the trainer, Nelson, and had a blast riding and learning on their beautiful and well trained Lusitanos.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

4 star rating   8 September 2019

Rida (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Good people but need more guides. | The horses were a bit hard in the mouth. I exclusively ride western. I am used to horses that pay attention to the reins. I had to constantly fight to hold the horses in an effort to prevent them from sticking their nose into the horse in front. Perhaps that's how the English snaffle bit works. That wasn't fun.

The horses had to be ridden nose to tail in a particular order; apparently they don't get along. On my first day I was the 9th guest rider out of 9. I did not hear a single thing that the guide said. On my second day I was 8th out of nine. I was aimlessly following the rider ahead without hearing anything that the guide had to state. I did not learn anything about the islands.

I then skipped a few rides. On my 3rd full day ride I was 4th in line and head some of what the guide had to say. On the last day I was second last again. Did not hear a thing.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

4 star rating   8 September 2019

Victor (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Horses could be more responsive.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   17 August 2019

Mie who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. The horses in the Quinta are wonderfully well-schooled and well-behaved. They have 49 horses, so if you want to try a little different, you can come up with your wishes. After each ride you are asked if you like that type of horse or if you want more/less of something. You never get the same horse two days in a row, as they always have a day off the day after a ride. This in turn means that the horses are always fresh for a ride.

I rode four different horses on the six rides I was on, and every one was beautiful in their own way!


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   11 August 2019

Deborah who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Just Perfect | Excellent


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   3 August 2019

Catherine (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fabulous riding & hospitality in The Azores | The riding exceeded my expectations. Information about riding ability had clearly been read and this was reflected in the horses chosen for the rides. Assessment lesson on arrival was thorough and Nelson (the instructor) quickly and accurately identified level of ability and (the many!!) areas needing work !
Guides out on the trails were helpful and gave clear instructions during the rides.
For the majority of the rides there were only 4 or 5 in the group which added to the enjoyment. We also had an extra ride!

The Quinta has a variety of horses catering for riders of all abilities. Some of the horses are rescues & the team have done a fabulous job of returning them to happy, healthy horses who enjoy their work.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   17 July 2019

Mare who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Atlantis and the Green Island Trail - Wonderful horses and guides and staff! | I also loved that Nelson gave us a riding lesson before our time out on the trails - he's an excellent teacher and was able to assess our skill level and no doubt helped with us matching up with the best horse for us.

The riding mostly met my expectations - beautiful trots and canters along dirt paths, blooming hydrangeas, lantana, and ginger lilies all around. I do think my skill level wasn't up to par, so I wasn't comfortable at a gallop, as most of the others were.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   17 July 2019

Ellen B who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Azores Green Island Trail | I overestimated my fitness and experience level, so the Green Island Trail that I signed up for proved to be too much for me. Christina was absolutely wonderful when I confessed this - she cheerfully made special arrangements so I could still ride, but at a more suitable pace for my skill level. The horses were beautifully trained trail horses and were cared for so well. And the countryside is beautiful!


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

4 star rating   13 July 2019

Emily who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Stunning scenery! | The horses were spectacular--rock solid even in traffic, forward, responsive and clearly well-loved.

The ride is beautiful, absolutely gorgeous, sweeping views of the island. I do think the way the itineraries are set up on In the Saddle leaves one with the impression that choosing the Green Island Trail will put you with more advanced riders and more forward riding. To the contrary, you will ride with those booked for the more beginner programs and the farm will add unevaluated day-trippers (in tennis shoes) to your full-day rides, with the result that we were really only able to have real canters on one day. The last day we were sent out with ten riders of wildly varying abilities and one guide for a full day. The guide was basically superhuman but that is too much to ask of anyone and needless to say there were none of the "lovely canters" advertised in our itinerary.

It was truly enjoyable as a mainly walk-trot riding holiday, but as the forward horses, the chosen trails and itinerary seemed set up for faster riding, it was a bit frustrating. Particularly as it could have easily been bettered by splitting up into smaller groups or more careful evaluation of riders.
[ITS Comment - Thank you for bringing this to our attention. This is unusual feedback and certainly not the norm. We are speaking with our partners in the |azores to ascertain why this occurred during your stay]


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   24 June 2019

Ecollet (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) The perfect holiday | The horses were really well mannered and very pleasant to ride. You could really see how much the people who work there care for them. Because they know their horses so well, they can match riders and horses perfectly. There are horses for every kind of rider.

The guides know the island really well and give a lot of information during the rides which makes it even more interesting. Every day we did a different tour, so everyday we were surprised by the countless and wonderful new views.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   25 May 2019

Lucyrachel1 (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Holiday of a Lifetime- Paradise! | There were two options for this trip, one with slightly more riding than the other. We opted for the lesser option so we had more time to explore the island but our hosts actually gave us more riding than we had booked anyway which was so wonderful! We had different horses each day but they always asked for feedback so we could be matched to ones that suited us. Our riding lesson at the start of the holiday was excellent. Nelson is a fantastic teacher!


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   25 May 2019

Niamh (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) An absolutely fantastic holiday - I loved every minute | All of the horses at the Quinta are well schooled and much loved by Claude, Christina and all of the team. On the first day, we were asked what type of horses we like to ride, and throughout the week I was well matched with lovely, forward going horses who matched my preferences (Aida, Endura, Joya). Many of the horses (and dogs and cats!) at the farm are rescue animals, and the team have done a wonderful job of regaining their trust. There is a file containing the back story and profile of each horse, which was a nice touch and which made for good reading at the end of the day.

The riding itself was brilliant, with lots of varied landscapes across the island. The pace was well suited to our group, and we were able to do some long canters and gallops on each ride. There have been some comments left previously about the amount of road riding - the island is inhabited so there are naturally some roads, but the horses are bombproof even with farm traffic, so this wasn't a concern. A special shout-out goes to our guides Bruno, Caterina, and Nelson, whose enthusiasm for the island and infectious smiles made each day so fun. The number of hours riding was also above what we expected, which was great!

The only feedback I would have would be that it would be useful to have saddle bags for water / sun cream etc., as it got quite hot on the rides.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   25 May 2019

Cheryl who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Amazing experience | The guides did their best to match each guest with the type of horse they preferred. If you found a horse you particularly liked then you could ride it again. The terrain was varied and we got to see a lot of the island. There was more road work than I expected, sometimes on busy roads, but it was worth it to get to the off road areas. There was lots of opportunities for trots and fast canters. The guides made the rides fun and interesting, particularly Catalina and Bruno.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   27 April 2019

Fiona who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Wonderful! | I loved all my horses, Conquistador, Espahnhol, Beladona, and most of all Imperador! Thank you Bruno for choosing him for me. Some nice long canters and gallops, a bit more road work than we expected but the island is so pretty I didn't mind. Lovely views of the scenery and the sea from horseback. The horses all seem well cared for, and have a home for life here.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   16 March 2019

Caroline who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Super holiday - beautiful green island with well cared for happy horses | The riding was varied, and transporting the horses by lorry worked extremely well. Beautiful views and lots opportunities for riding at a faster pace.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   11 January 2019

Mich and KT (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Amazing landscapes | Excellent


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Atlantis Ride

4 star rating   1 December 2018

Rocky who has been on 20 In The Saddle rides. Good but probably not my preferred type of location | I asked to keep riding the same horse - and they granted my request. As I had recently been riding Western, they offered me a Western saddle - which I accepted. The last two days had good lengths of trots and canters and were almost all off road. I enjoyed them but the early week was dreary with a lot of road work - which I hate. As I had opted for 17 hours not 24, the junior member of staff on Monday and Tuesday rides treated me like a child/beginner. I am not the world's best rider but I have a lot of experience so this was extremely irritating. I do not need telling how to go up and down slopes multiple times. I do not want an "OK?" after 100m of slow trot.
The tack was beautifully simple and uniform, a snaffle on every horse and not a spare piece of leather anywhere. However, I did find the lack of a saddle bag irritating. I don't own one - and what type would I buy to fit an unknown saddle? It would also take me out of hand luggage travel weight (10kg). There was nowhere to keep my sketch book or paints and nowhere to put a discarded garment or keep a bottle of water. The last two did not matter in winter, but it summer would be important. One of the other riders had fainted with dehydration on a previous visit.
The immaculate appearance of the horses was maintained. When they rolled at lunch, they were groomed before the afternoon remount.


23 reviews