Reviews
76 reviews    1 2 3
Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   25 November 2019

The rides were great, the guides chose the best times of the day to avoid the real heat of the day and to ensure the horses were cared for.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   18 November 2019

As with our previous trip to Ant's, the riding was exceptional - varied and exciting. The guides were engaging, entertaining and knowledgable. The quality , variety and preparation of the horses was outstanding and the team went to great lengths to match horses, riders and groups to ensure we all got the best from our rides.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   17 November 2019

Early in the week we found the riding a little too focused on long canters and then over an hour of walking. However, once we mentioned we would prefer shorter canters and shorter periods of walk changes were made and the result was superb. Plenty of close up animals and fantastic riding.
[Becky from In The Saddle replied: It's great to hear you enjoyed the riding :-)]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   8 November 2019

Horses are lovely. I rode four, all very acceptable but one of which particularly took my fancy. A lovely little Arab called Xia Xia , keen, with a bit of 'personality'. The other three were absolutely fine too but it's always good to have a favourite.
We were especially pleased to have some faster paced riding with some long canters with Moses, among others. Obviously we spent a lot of time just walking and watching the wildlife and it's a pleasure to be able to get so close.
[Becky from In The Saddle replied: Thank you so much for your lovely feedback and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your return visit to Ant's Nest]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   8 November 2019

The terrain was not as varied as I have experienced in other parts of the world. However I was very happy with the riding and the dedication of the guides. The horses were amongst the most happy and contented that I have met anywhere. They are not only very well cared for but also enjoy a great deal of freedom to behave naturally. They are valued as individuals and appear to have a wonderful work/life balance.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   18 October 2019

The riding and experience of seeing the wild animals in the bush at close hand even surpassed our high expectations. It was fantastic. My daughters and I are all at different levels of riding but we all totally enjoyed the same rides by being on well matched horses. I liked being on a steady horse whilst one of my daughters enjoyed riding forward going horses


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   11 October 2019

It is a pleasure to ride on horses which are so clearly well cared for and with guides who really know their job and care about the customers. They were very safety conscious, but also looking to give you the best possible experience. Some of the riding was hard physical work, but well worth it. We came back tired but having had some perfect riding.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   20 September 2019

Exceeded expectations. Excellent well cared for horses. Faster riding than expected, tailored to our needs.
We were able to get very close to animals, much closer than expected.
The guides were excellent, one in particular (Sekhwiri) was so informative it made the holiday really special.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   10 September 2019

Excellent


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   2 August 2019

Riding was great - well schooled horses get very safe for non experienced riders but fun enough for those with more experience. Plenty of long canters but also lots of time to see game close up. The guides were excellent - good fun and happy to do some cross-country tracking to make sure we saw as much as possible. They were knowledgeable and really seemed to care about our experience of the reserve and were fun - made the holiday great for all the family.
The reserve was very well stocked so we got to see a large selection of game from horseback: giraffe, zebra, wildebeest, warthog, rhino, buffalo, loads of impala, kudu, eland. The night drives were a bonus - porcupine, jackal, civet etc.
[ITS comment: I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed the riding at Ant's Lodges, they have a great selection of horses for all levels.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   5 July 2019

Great all round riding for all abilities


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   27 June 2019

Excellent


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   21 June 2019

The riding was amazing with great game viewing every day. The rides were adjusted to suit each rider so everyone enjoyed the experience. good variation of fast and steady canters. Amazing riding experience


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   19 June 2019

Excellent


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   14 June 2019

The horses, the riding and the guides all exceeded my expectations. The horses were so well cared for and the guides knew the exact personalities and traits of each horse to match them perfectly to each rider.
The rides were so much fun, mixed up with walks and canters and routes were always varied


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Game census

5 star rating   9 June 2019

The riding was varied with lots of walking whilst looking for game or waiting whilst animals were located. There were also plenty of fast canters and exhilarating rides through the bush when keeping track of darted animals. There seemed to be horses to suit a wide variety of riders. The saddles were comfortable and the horses loved the action. The mare which I rode knew exactly what was happening and was an important factor contributing to the enjoyment of the week.
[ITS comment: We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the riding.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Game census

5 star rating   9 June 2019

As always amazing well looked after horses


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   1 June 2019

My only minor suggestion would be to introduce other breads at breakfast if possible. As a group we probably wouldn’t normally choose white sliced (like Mother’s Pride)?
[ITS comment: This is very unusual for Ant's as there are normally several options of fresh bread available. After following this up with the lodge it seems that there was a mix up regarding the food orders.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   1 June 2019

Ant's staff were fabulous at matching us well to horses - not only in terms of ability but also in terms of character. They were incredibly helpful in providing rides of varying speeds and routes, kept us safe and were and also very knowledgeable and entertaining.
[ITS comment: It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed the riding at Ant's Lodges.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   1 June 2019

Excellent


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   1 June 2019

This holiday was fantastic. I loved every minute of it and 100% intend to return at the earliest time I can.
The hosts did everything in their power to ensure all of your needs and requests were met. The food was delicious, the accommodation was absolutely perfect.
The ability to have washing done after a days full riding in the dust meant that packing was manageable.
The horses, rides and safari animals were astonishing. What a brilliant holiday. Thank you so much.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   1 June 2019

The horses are AMAZING. Willing, fit and obviously happy in their work. There is a wide selection of horses and literally every type and size of rider is catered for. The horses can canter for long long periods and rides vary from fast to just walking and looking at wild life. Whatever type of ride you want - the Ants team will supply.

The riding is great - up hills, across plains, through water, through woodlands. The horses are sure-footed and seem able to happily negotiate any terrain.

I found the saddles very comfortable and the tack was fine.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   31 May 2019

Loved looking out for animals, interspersed with long canters through the bush!


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   25 May 2019

It was lovely to have long canters on sand tracks. The guides were very knowledgeable and informative and we weren’t disappointed with our encounters with the wildlife.
[ITS comment: Iti's great to hear that you enjoyed the riding!]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   25 May 2019

Excellent


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   25 May 2019

Riding was all at walk or canter, due to the terrain - walking through the bush and long canters on the sandy tracks. Riding at the Nest was generally faster. I rode 2 horses (boerperds) at the Nest, one of which I did not find comfortable or particularly responsive, the other was good. The 2 I rode at the Hill were great (arab and tb). One saddle was uncomfortable, it was replaced on request. Tack was generally in good condition and 'bumnahs' provided. The horses are hard working and get on with their job. Hours of riding were just right.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   22 May 2019

I had lovely horses well matched to my riding ability - especially the lovely Frisian at Ants Hill.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   16 May 2019

It exceeded my expectations. Both venues could not do enough to please and were very focussed on making the holiday enjoyable. Horses were a delight and very well cared for


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   9 May 2019

The staff at Ant's nest were very flexible to adjust the ride when needed due to sore back. This really helped me get the most out the the ride and I didn't have to feel like I slowed down the others when I needed a slower pace. Thanks to them for that!


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   9 May 2019

Excellent


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   5 May 2019

Being a novice rider (9 lessons under my belt!) I was a little apprehensive but I was soon put at my ease and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   5 May 2019

Our party included two almost complete novices who rode every day and thoroughly enjoyed themselves. All the horses were lovely and obviously much loved by the staff.


76 reviews    1 2 3