Reviews
74 reviews    1 2 3
Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   18 March 2024

Catherine who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Another fabulous holiday at Ant’s Nest. | Excellent


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   29 February 2024

Liz who has been on 20 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic! | Great range of horses, I rode 5 during the holiday. They offer horses to suit every level from complete beginner right up to livelier horses for charging about on. You can bring along non-riding friends and they can have a go too! A novice rider was being taught to canter while she was staying there, which she was loving. The riding varies slightly according to which lodge you pick (we stayed at both). As a nervous rider I felt super-safe, and the horses aren't at all fazed by the wildlife. They're very sure-footed on the steeper tracks.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   12 February 2024

Bob who has been on 11 In The Saddle rides. Never fails to amaze! | I was initially in a mixed abilities group but was taken off for some lovely canters.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   12 February 2024

Hetty who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. A holiday of a lifetime! | Beyond our expectations! My husband only had about 6 lessons before coming. They matched him with appropriate horses and gave him huge amounts of confidence. He was able to keep up with the advanced group and absolutely loved it. We both loved the riding and loved the way that the horses roam free in the reserve.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for your feedback and we are so pleased that you had such a wonderful time.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   5 February 2024

Sara who has been on 8 In The Saddle rides. Wonderful holiday | Lovely, fit well trained horses who know and really enjoy their job.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   16 January 2024

Simone who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Everything we hoped it would be and more! | Myself and my two sons were complete beginners to horse riding. The staff at Ant's nest took very good care of us. They ensured that at all times we felt comfortable and safe on the horses that had been chosen for us. Day by day they built our confidence and our skill level. They gave us plenty of encouragement.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   7 January 2024

Paula who has been on 7 In The Saddle rides. 2nd visit and amazing again! | All the horses I have ridden have been matched to my ability, forward going and well schooled. Even in a mixed ability ride they try to cater for everyone e.g. splitting for fast canters.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   29 November 2023

Lucy who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Wonderful | Rides cater to the whole group so you are rather dependent on people in your group - which, on occasion, can be a little frustrating.
[Olwen from In The Saddle replies - we do urge you always to have a quiet word with the lodge manager or horse manager if you aren't happy with the pace of the ride- because it is normally possible for something to be done.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   21 November 2023

Karen who has been on 11 In The Saddle rides. Ant Africa safari | Excellent


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   15 November 2023

Jade who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Ant’s Nest / Ant’s Hill | I just came back from my holidays at Ant’s Nest / Ant’s Hill in South Africa. I have had such a wonderful time, one of the best holidays I have ever had to be honest.
As a solo woman traveler, I was a bit anxious of the unknown (it was the first time that I traveled by myself) but everything was organised perfectly and I felt very safe.
I met wonderful people (guests/ guides/hosts) and the riding and the horses were amazing.
This is an adventure/a holiday that touched my heart. The connection to nature and to such a peaceful environment had a huge impact on me.

I really wanted to thank in the Saddle for taking care of my booking and answering all my questions and for proposing such a wonderful trip. And of course thank you to Ant Baber.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   11 November 2023

Vivien who has been on 40 In The Saddle rides. Perfect, relaxing holiday | I was given a wonderful horse to ride for most of the rides, an ex-racehorse called Nala. She was perfect, fast and powerful and beautifully re-schooled. She was super-polite and you just needed to ask her once to do something by shifting your seat (very soft mouth) and she obliged. A real credit to Amanda's training and I felt very honoured to ride her. We had some fab fast, long and windy canters. The other horses I rode were lovely too! Being able to be so close to the wildlife on the rides is very special as they are used to grazing with the horses, a USP of Ants I feel.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   10 November 2023

Karolyn who has been on 16 In The Saddle rides. Winter sun | Like many horse safaris, it's mostly walk or canter, no trot. The wildlife is very habituated, so you can make a lot of noise and still get up close to most things. Ideal first horse safari.
The guides didn't ask what I wanted and just assumed that if you could canter, you would want to and the faster the better.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for your feedback, I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your return to Ant's Lodges.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   4 November 2023

Kristin who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Safari on horseback | Steady, good horses well acquainted with the terrain, and they knew what was expected of them.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   29 September 2023

Angie who has been on 24 In The Saddle rides. My 4th visit and I will be going back again and again | Lovely and varied with a fast and furious ride out with Ant.

[Abbie from ITS replied: We're thrilled that you had yet another great holiday at Ant's Lodges. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us].


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   29 September 2023

Rosemary who has been on 41 In The Saddle rides. Relaxing and fun riding among wildlife | My third visit to Ants so knew what to expect, including one ride with Ant himself which is full-on!
Unfortunately my 'favourite' horse Xai-Xai was in quarantine after his annual AHS vaccination which was disappointing and I didn't quite fall in love again, though the other horses I rode were all good.
These must be among the happiest horses ever - as once you finish the ride and stop for your sundowner or brunch the tack comes off and the horses make their own way home, so the rhinos, buffalos and other wildlife are very used to them and vice versa. They turn up at the stables for supper or breakfast where they compete with the local warthogs for their food!!!!!


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   26 September 2023

Sarah (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Incredible experience | Well schooled horses for the riding, the guides knowledge was exceptional and provided brilliant information on the wildlife.
They checked on riders and comfort with horses provided during and after every ride, nothing was to much hassle. The riding experience was fantastic.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday to Ant's and thank you very much for leaving feedback.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   16 September 2023

Karon who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Incredible | On day one I injured my back. Gutted. But the lovely staff at Ants took out a more gentle ride and ensured I was okay all the way through the holiday ensuring if I wanted to ride I could, which I did everyday. So grateful for that.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   16 September 2023

Karan who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Beyond You’re Expectations!! | Stunning well behaved horses, extremely well looked after. Very fit albeit a “Go faster stick” was required on a couple of occasions….lol


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   16 September 2023

Colette who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Wonderful horses, wildlife and people. | The Ants team were so welcoming, flexible and very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. They look after their animals so well and are the horses are responsive yet footsure. The lodge was beautiful and having our meals in different place felt really special. And the standard of food was excellent. Could not fault the holiday. An amazing place.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for your feedback and we are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your holiday to Ant's]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   12 September 2023

Ann (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) We were in the barn and saw the horses being fed. The horses have their temperature checked twice a day, and ticks removed. And new shoes every 6 weeks.
The horses' body is slightly thinner than in Denmark, but most horses in Denmark also have overweight 🙂
The horses here were fit, lean and in good shape.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   6 September 2023

Sandra who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic experience. A very high standard of accommodation, food, activities, staff and guides. Well cared for horses with excellent temperaments. | Amazing experience!
We were riding for five to six hours a day and made comfortable by staff making sure the saddle was a correct fitting for each of us. Every day we rode a different trail, which combined meandering through the bush with plenty of exciting canters along sandy tracks. On all the rides we were accompanied by two friendly and expert guides (one in front and one behind), who were very knowledgeable about flora and fauna, and were always able to find the wild animals. They were very accommodating and made sure we got good photos opportunities. We were well matched with our horses and we were able to change to a different one if we felt like a change. It was obvious that the horses were well cared for and well trained for this environment. There were opportunities to do non riding activities such as the Night time Sky safari, with Dr Philip, which was truly inspiring. All staff at both Nest and Hill lodge were fantastic. We had the most exceptional stay and we are already planning our return.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   22 August 2023

Sadie who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. The most wonderful holiday! | Fast fun riding on super fit horses, made sure everyone was safe and happy. Opportunity to ride different horses. The guides were fantastic with my son having assessed his ability allowed him to ride on all the fast rides!


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   5 August 2023

Lizzy who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Wonderfull | Horses were lovely to ride and impeccably trained. They adjusted so we could ride the faster horses which was appreciated. Exceeded expectations.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   21 June 2023

Judith who has been on 15 In The Saddle rides. Riding with Ant | Love it that the horses make their own way back home and live in the bush. It definitely makes a difference how close you get to the wildlife especially comparing with Macatoo. Last day we had the privilege of riding with Ant over land he has recently bought – great long canter on old airstrip, and great fun with this larger than life character.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the riding at Ant's :-)]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Game census

5 star rating   4 June 2023

Angelika who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Dreams come true | It”s always the most fun and sometimes challenging when I ride with Ant. When Ant isn't on a horse there is no one to fill that gap for the Nest riders. I was lucky and rode with him on every day he was in the saddle that made up for the days he wasn’t. I’m very happy but also said this at Ants. The Alpha for the Nest riders when Ant isn’t there needs to be determined in my opinion


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Game census

5 star rating   4 June 2023

Katrine who has been on 9 In The Saddle rides. Game Census Week | Really varied. A lot of walk and some fast canters. However, my horse preferred to trot, which made it less comfortable. However, it was quite sure on its feet unlike another horse I tried. It was often the case that we had to ride quickly to a place and then wait for a longer time, which is to be expected based on the conditions of this holiday.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Game census

5 star rating   4 June 2023

Jane who has been on 13 In The Saddle rides. Ants Census Ride : South Africa | Thrilling riding - it more than met expectations. There was lots of cantering and challenging riding through difficult terrain.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   27 May 2023

Eve (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) AMAZING! | A truly unforgettable experience from the riding, the scenery, the hosts, the massages, the food, the drink, the weather! Faultless and magical. Thank you!

[Abbie from ITS replies: So happy that you enjoyed your safari at Ant's Lodges. We really appreciate your feedback, thank you.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   24 May 2023

Tina (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Great adventure | I brought my 11 year old son. None of us could ride before the holiday. The guides at the resort were great teachers and now both me and my son can canter. It was a great way to do a safari as we got really close to the animals.

[Abbie from In The Saddle replies: Thank you for your feedback. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your holiday and that your riding progressed so quickly - well done!].


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   23 May 2023

Lou who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Amazing! | Exceeded expectations. As a non rider at time of booking, Uk lessons paid dividends and allowed me to comfortably ride alongside much more experienced riders


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   13 May 2023

Ruth who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. An unforgettable experience | My current physical limitations mean that I need frequent changes of pace and this wasn't always possible because of the nature of the terrain and/or the group I was with. This is in no way a reflection on the guides or organisation: they did their very best to accommodate my needs and the way in which everyone from complete beginners to experienced riders was catered for was truly remarkable.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   9 May 2023

Ase who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Famtastic | Excellent


74 reviews    1 2 3