Reviews
78 reviews    1 2 3
Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   10 November 2022

Ruth Georgina who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Another delightful African stay | The riding was excellent. We (Myself and my daughter Rebecca) were always asked what sort of ride we would like by our first class guides. We opted for long canters interspersed with close encounters with a variety of game viewings.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   1 October 2022

Rachel who has been on 20 In The Saddle rides. Perfect riding safari | They are really good at matching horse and rider, for me I had a perfect combo straight away and fell in love with all the ponies I rode. Each of us in our group found their ideal pony after a couple of rides. All abilities catered for.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: It's great to hear that you enjoyed your holiday to Ant's :-)]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   1 October 2022

Karen who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Amazing in every way | The guides ensured the riding was geared to all members of the group. We had some steady and some faster rides depending on how everyone was feeling on the day. The horses were great, forward going but sensible and we all found a favourite.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   12 September 2022

Charlotte who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. A beautiful life experience | I was matched well with the horses, however sometimes it was difficult for me to be placed constantly at the back as the result of a number of other strong personalities who complained a lot. Their riding ability was much poorer so I had to spend a lot of time focused on their erratic riding to keep my experience enjoyable. After 6 consecutive rides I asked to be placed in a different group however as it was change over day the following day was much more enjoyable. I particularly loved the safari and guided elements but unfortunately i couldn't always hear or engage due to the other strong personalities taking precedence. However because I was often at the back I was near the rear guide Texshaw who was always very happy to give me my own tour and I was very thankful for that! The riding itself was wonderful and to ride through the safari animals was incredible


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   8 September 2022

Elizabeth who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Five star riding safari | The riding was superb, plenty of fast canters but also time taken by the excellent guides to allow us to view the wildlife and learn about the flora and fauna. The horses were impeccably behaved and completely at ease up close to the wildlife, the pace was tailored perfectly to each person’s abilities.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   18 August 2022

Debbie who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Out of this World | The guides match you carefully to the horses based on your abilities and your wishes. On one particular day I was put on a lovely horse who I did not gel as well with and it was no problem to change at all.
The riding is wonderful, lots of time to take in the game but also the most exhilarating long canters on perfect tracks…..i desperately wished to be able to take my favourite horse ‘Cheeks’ home, Fresians are my new love 🙂


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   24 June 2022

Angie who has been on 18 In The Saddle rides. Ants is Heaven on Earth | I had the most fabulous horse at Ants - Shamane, a darling. The others were also lovely but she was my favourite. If you like long canters this is the place to go. 7 minutes or about 3 miles, fabulous. All the guides are amazing especially Ali and Sekhwiri. Went out with Ant one morning, he does love a gallop! The quality of riding and horses is perfect.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   22 June 2022

Benedicte (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) We are not the best riders, but both the horses and the pace were adapted to our level and wishes. And we saw lots of wildlife.
The guides had great knowledge of the Game and the vegetation. They were always smiling, helpful and attentive and created a good atmosphere both on the rides and during the dinners.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   17 June 2022

who has been on In The Saddle rides. Ant's Nest - Amazing experience, fantastic people and animals - a little slice of heaven! | Excellent


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   15 June 2022

Eve (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Brilliant | Lovely variety - some steady chilled out rides and some fast pace races!


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   11 June 2022

Mary who has been on 11 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous Experiences, Not to be missed | I did three rides on this trip which was quite a challenge for my fitness, but it was well worth it. I started off with Ants Camp (then went to the Wild Coast and then Botswana). Ant's is the gold standard and both the horses and accommodation are fantastic. Ant himself took us on some rides and he does not hang back. We had amazing times with the wildlife and learnt so much. Food was first class.
On all the rides, we had a great group of people. Everyone contributed and will remember these holidays!


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   17 May 2022

Simone who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Out of this world holiday | For two years we waited do this holiday, and what was built up in my head still couldn't have matched what i saw and did. Have never smiled so much and enjoyed a holiday. It was my first equestrian holiday and couldn't have hoped for better organisation, Olwen really made it effortless and kept up communication throughout. The travel pack received in the post was a lovely touch. I will definitely be back in Ants Nest, and definitely will use In the Saddle for future holidays.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   17 May 2022

Fanchea who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Holiday of a lifetime - exceeded all expectations! | Whatever Ant and his team are doing here, they've got it 100% right.

From our arrival, the staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful, from Ant himself through to the volunteers. We stayed in the Nest, and the rooms were immaculate. A special mention has to go to the chefs, as the food was 5*.

The riding was a perfect mix of paces managed by the guides (ours were Ali and Kiara - both super), allowing for time to ride up with the wildlife, take photos, ask questions, explore the landscape, and then have lovely canters through sandy tracks, ending up back at the stables at lunchtime, or different spots around the reserve for sundowners at the end of each day (spectacular views). The horses are really fit, healthy, and well cared for and living on the reserve means they are completely at ease with the animals they come across each day.

The highlight has to be when the team included us in a game capture of an roan antelope bull, as he needed medical attention; this brought me back to my childhood dreams of living in a Daktari episode (does anybody else remember this?). The care and attention the bull was given was wonderful, and it reinforced the importance of the critical conservation work that goes on here, and throughout other reserves.

Finally, a huge thank you to Olwen and the Inthesaddle team. Olwen made the whole process of booking painless (particularly as we had to postpone twice due to lockdowns), answered all queries we had, and already has my name down for next year!


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   13 May 2022

Hilary who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. A lifetime high | Lovely sandy tracks to canter along on well schooled forward going horses.
Beautiful scenery with lots of game, we were led by knowledgeable guides who made the riding interesting and fun whatever the pace.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   8 May 2022

Paul who has been on 15 In The Saddle rides. What a fantastic holiday for all | All horses were very well looked after, very well behaved, good variety for beginners and experienced, we rode with people the at the level, so no body was held back, lots of long canters, with animals all around us very close too!
We rode for 2.5 hrs in the morning and 1.5 hours in the afternoon, enjoyed every single ride we did


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   11 March 2022

Nuph who has been on 10 In The Saddle rides. Ants Nest - we all had the most amazing holiday | The riding as always was brilliant- horses were great and Amanda was really good at organising everyone and making sure we had the correct horses everyday.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   10 March 2022

Linnea Petra Lund who has been on 22 In The Saddle rides. Perfect | Excellent


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   19 February 2022

Vivien who has been on 36 In The Saddle rides. Making memories | We had some wonderful game viewing, I couldn't believe how relaxed the game were, just kept on chewing the grass and letting us watch them close up. We had some full on long, speedy canters along the tracks and went for a swim with the horses but, best of all, we took part in an impromptu game capture session, complete with helicopter (vet hanging off the side with his dart gun at the ready). I'm not sure how helpful I was but it was the best fun ever! So exciting and different from any other riding experience I've ever had. That memory will last with me forever, seriously good fun, and we actually caught some of the intended game as well, which always helps!


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   19 February 2022

Carol who has been on 13 In The Saddle rides. An incredible experience | The horses are superbly fit and very well cared for.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   12 February 2022

Ruth (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Ants lodge - Absolutely fabulous | It far exceeded expectations. We didn't realise how close we would be able to get to all the animals from horse back. It was magical. We also really enjoyed the swimming with the horses in the dam. We did that twice and it was fabulous. The canters were wonderful too.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   8 February 2022

Sue who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic ! | Above and beyond all expectations but then this was my second visit !


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   25 January 2022

Davina (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) What a phenomenal week! | The horses were so well looked after and impeccably behaved. They had horses for every level of ability.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   3 September 2021

Nour (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) An amazing, unforgettable, luxurious horse riding vacation | The riding exceeded expectation. I went on this vacation with my wife who is a beginner rider - she was able to canter from the first day given how lovely, well trained, and well-disciplined the horses were. The rides were tailored to our levels (I would sometimes go cantering with a guide while she would go on a chill afternoon walk on the horse with another guide).


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   19 March 2020

Helen (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Ant’s Hill, South Africa - Superb! | The riding is tailored to your needs and ability. The horses are extremely well cared for and a dream to ride. One minute your metres away from the wild zebra, giraffe or buffalo and the next you’re galloping along amazing tracks. The accommodation is second to none and Ant’s team take the time to make sure your every need is taken care of. It’s a magical holiday that would recommend without hesitation.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   17 March 2020

JE who has been on 8 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic riding, ranging from fast canters along the sandy tracks to long meanders through the bush tracking the game.
The guys who took us out were terrific- all very knowledgable and fun too. Special thanks to Lucas, Sekwhiri and Mozi (and Ant of course for giving up his precious time to take us out a few times ? ).
I rode 8 different horses and they were all different but I enjoyed each of them in their own way. My favourite was Niassa who I was lucky enough to ride most mornings.
Very happy healthy horses.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   16 March 2020

Eleanor (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Ant's Hill - A very special place | There are plenty of different types of horses available and staff are more than happy to help you find something that matches your wants and needs. You can change horses as much as you like or stick with the same one (although you would also have a backup to ensure they get rested). Horses seem happy and well cared for and it's so lovely that they are free to roam around the reserve and know to come home for food! The riding is excellent and varied and the staff are happy to tailor the riding to you completely - if you prefer to do a different route or pace to other guests you will be catered for.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   13 March 2020

Linnea Petra Lund who has been on 22 In The Saddle rides. Stunning, best riding holiday ever! | I rode two different horses, and they were great bot hof them. Fast polite horses, I could trust them and enjoy the rides trhrough the bush.

I'll be back as soon as possible!
[Becky from In The Saddle replied: We are so pleased you enjoyed the riding at Ant's :-)]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   25 February 2020

Plum who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Out of this world the best hoilday in a long while | The horses were the best I’ve had on this type of hoilday. A joy to ride ex racehorses. They were best cared for horses too .


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   17 February 2020

Karen who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Best holiday ever | The riding was brilliant. The horses were responsive, easy to ride and extremely well cared for. Being able to get so close to the animals without the sound of vehicles was a highlight. We enjoyed the mix of riding. We spent time wandering gently through the bush, climbing and descending rocky slopes, cantering along sandy tracks and galloping for miles on horses that never seem to tire. The absolute best bit of the day was riding to sundowners in a different location each night.
[Becky from In The Saddle replied: It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your holiday and the riding at Ant's! Maybe we can arrange another trip for you soon.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   3 February 2020

Linda who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Most amazing experience ever on holiday | For me the riding was amazing as was the closeness to the horses and other animals. I thoroughly enjoyed leisurely meandering on horseback to see and photograph the wild animals, insects and birds in close up or trotting along the pathways and listening to the different guides' local understanding of the environment and wildlife (the guides had exceptional knowledge at Ant's for birdwatching) The landscape was breathtaking and I loved cantering along sandy tracks, bush riding and open grasslands in the sun at Ant's as my confidence grew and riding up and down the slopes and rocky terrain at Moolmans (especially to explore the cave paintings). Both centres I felt, had close links to the environment, knowledge of the flora and fauna and an exceptional feel for conservation.

I had been a nervous rider to begin with but my horses were always matched to my level of riding confidence. My friends were able to gallop off into the distance when they wanted more challenging riding and we had our own guides with us throughout the rides. Although the terrain was very different at both centres, I was quickly able to adapt and enjoy the comfortable saddles and long rein style with the help of the riding staff and the amazingly surefooted Boerpeds that I rode while others rode equally competent, schooled Arabs, Thoroughbreds or cross- bred horses. This was a spectacularly wonderful riding holiday.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   25 January 2020

Nicolaas who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Great Experience | We had a bad start as we were given horses that were far below what we needed, based on our experience. Especially for my husband (who rides dressage on Grand Prix level, and this was known), this was an extremely disappointing start. My horse was old, could not breath very good and had difficulties in canter.[Sarah from In The Saddle says: It is the policy at Ants to always underhorse all guests during their first ride. This is to be safe just in case someone's riding ability is not as good as they think it is. However we were pleased to hear that after your intial ride you had horses that matched your abilities well].
Everything was discussed in the evening and we were given other horses. The argument was that they wanted to see the level of the riders. This, however, can be done in a different way. Also as my husband had shown the video of one of his tournaments before the horse was chosen..
The rest of the week, the riding was good. We Complained once about the very rocky road up the hill and we changed the route with the guide. [Sarah from In The Saddle says: Unfortunately some of the terrain in South Africa can be rocky in places, but it is good to hear that the guide managed to find an alternative route for you]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   9 December 2019

Svein who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. A marvellous experience! All expectations fullfilled! | Not all of the horses was a good match. But. I wanted to bring the last one at Ant's Hill with me back home. HIS name? Mokabena??


78 reviews    1 2 3