Reviews
59 reviews    1 2
Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   7 December 2018

All in excellent condition as ever


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   5 December 2018

The horses were well matched to riders ability, the staff really listened to the sort of mount you preferred and found a horse to suit.

The experience here is all about viewing the game and yet the long canters are an immense amount of fun!


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

4 star rating   3 December 2018

Sensibly, I was under-horsed for my first ride and then my feedback taken to ensure I rode a few different and suitable horses. All safe, responsive and with personality.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   30 November 2018

A few of the rides could have had a faster pace although generally the rides were an excellent combination of walk for game viewing and long canters on tracks. On a couple of the rides the group was of a very mixed range of ability, however the guide coped well with this and ensured that everyone enjoyed the ride.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   27 November 2018

Fit happy horses...very pleased with the horses I rode. Staff very rigorous with matching horses, tack, safety. Felt extremely well taken care of , but thrilling riding! An extraordinary experience riding so close to the wildlife.
Overreached ALL my expectations…
[ITS comment: We are so pleased that you loved your holiday to Ant's, it's a fantastic destination.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   27 November 2018

The horses and riding was amazing. Horse were mainly thoroughbreds and ex-race horse - so great pace and very sure footed. The guides were brilliant and so insightful. We rode very close to all animals - buffalo, Zebra, Giraffe, Wildebeests, etc etc. It effeminately met our expectations and there is some thing for every riding ability.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   19 November 2018

I loved the saddles so much I bought one. All the horses were brilliant, I had no complaints at all, everything was brilliant & well catered for.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   16 November 2018

The riding was fabulous - v Informative guides - lovely horses & amazing views


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   15 November 2018

The riding exceeded expectations. Horses were exceptionally fit, well-schooled and immaculately presented for each ride. We achieved the perfect match of horse within a few rides but also enjoyed the opportunity to ride a wide variety of horses. Ride guides were enthusiastic and professional.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   29 October 2018

Mostly good, just did not keep up with the pace of others while walking.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   28 October 2018

Friendly staff gave a variety of choices of horses to suit all riders and made me feel very comfortable and confident.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   25 October 2018

What I particularly like is the willingness of the staff to adapt to any situation that arises


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   24 October 2018

Could not be better.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   23 October 2018

Excellent horses for every ability of riding. Horses are incredibly well looked after. Tack immaculate, every care and thought taken for the horses and riders safety. The staff are wonderful .


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   15 October 2018

My husband hadn’t ridden for many years and expected to do only a little riding. The horses gave him so much confidence that he was soon cantering along with the rest of us!


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   25 September 2018

All horses were great but the horses I rode the second week at Ants Nest were unbelievable. Perfect manners,fast and just never seemed tired. Riding at home just wont seem the same plus not many rhinos in the UK. Naorobi is the best horse I have ever ridden.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   13 September 2018

They were very good at matching you with a horse based on feedback (likes/dislikes) about previous horses ridden there already.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   11 July 2018

At the Nest I rode with a lady of a similar standard; at the Hill I was the only experienced rider during my stay so rode just with my super guides Michelle and Tim. A number of horses could not be used as they had recently had their injections against African Horse Sickness, but I was able to try several horses to get the best ‘fit’. The morning rides are approx. 3 hours long, and the afternoon rides approx. one and a half hours (culminating in a Sundowner). It is also possible to do guided Bush Walks and Game Drives (daytime and nighttime). An afternoon Bush Walk I did with the rhinos was a highlight.

The game was very relaxed with the horses, particularly with my small group at the Hill. The horses are turned out on the Reserve at night, so they and the game are used to each other.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   27 June 2018

All the riding was fabulous meet our expectations and guides where great


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   25 May 2018

We had two differing abilities of riding. My wife rides regularly and is extremely competent; I on the other hand hadn't ridden for 30 years. My wife, once she'd been matched with the right horse was very happy with the quality provided. I really didn't have much knowledge but built up a comfortable relationship with the allotted horse, which was well behaved and gave me a feeling of confidence while out for the rides. While there were opportunities for canters, the real pleasure on this holiday is to hack out and get up and personal with the wildlife, including giraffes, zebras and the various antelope and gazelles. Despite it not being a big 5 reserve it does have rhino and buffalo (and even leopard, though they are not a danger to visitors). We came across both while out riding, which made it a very special experience. [ITS comment: We are glad that you enjoyed the riding and game veiwing so much]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   24 May 2018

Lovely horses, plenty to choose from for any ability.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Hill

2 star rating   23 May 2018

As you already know I had an accident. I do not blame my horse at all. In my opinion the guide should not walked, leading the horses into a deep dam without a warning. And usually we let the horses drink, and that’s it. I have already wrote that the horses are lovely and I like the rides as well.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   8 May 2018

More than 40 horses, all well schooled. Hosts were brilliant. Huge variety of riding from slow meandering walks to fast cantering through tight trails - had a ball. Thanks!


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   8 May 2018

exceeded all my expectations


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   6 April 2018

The riding was tailored to suit. I rode 10 different horses in the time that I was there and enjoyed them all in different ways and learnt something from all of them. This was my choice. If you want to ride mostly the same horse then this is possible within reason.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   22 March 2018

The staff at Ant's Nest go out of there way to make sure you are happy with your horse.
The horse they choose for me and my daughter on our first ride turned out to be our favourites.
Prefect, we wanted to take them home with us.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   26 February 2018

Took a couple of days to find the right horse - they are a little reluctant to trust that you are a good rider no doubt to previous experiences with people overstating their ability. However this didn't distract from the holiday as we were there to see the animals and the horses knew their job and were very well behaved and responsive when required. Most of the riding was one behind the other due to the terrain as it was mostly bush so not much open spaces - it would have been nice to have the odd gallop in an open area and perhaps some trotting - it was either walk or canter. The saddles took a bit of getting used to and my UK saddle saver wouldn't fit as they are cavalry type saddles but we still managed 4-5 hours of riding each day without any rubs or blisters!


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   29 January 2018

The horses were superb. They were fit and glowing with health and beautifully trained to do their job. There really was a horse for all abilities from complete beginner to the most expert. They seemed to love their job and were a pleasure to ride.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   22 January 2018

Horses in good condition. Good guides. You see that the staff is taking good care for them.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   15 December 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed every minute. The horses were great, the guides and staff were amazing. It is lovely to get so close to the game.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   13 December 2017

Absolutely stunning time at Ants Nest, superb game viewing and gorgeous horses.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   28 November 2017

It more than met my expectations.


59 reviews    1 2