Reviews
90 reviews    1 2 3
Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   22 June 2022

Benedicte (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) We are not the best riders, but both the horses and the pace were adapted to our level and wishes. And we saw lots of wildlife.
The guides had great knowledge of the Game and the vegetation. They were always smiling, helpful and attentive and created a good atmosphere both on the rides and during the dinners.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   15 June 2022

Eve (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Brilliant | Lovely variety - some steady chilled out rides and some fast pace races!


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   17 May 2022

Simone (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Out of this world holiday | For two years we waited do this holiday, and what was built up in my head still couldn't have matched what i saw and did. Have never smiled so much and enjoyed a holiday. It was my first equestrian holiday and couldn't have hoped for better organisation, Olwen really made it effortless and kept up communication throughout. The travel pack received in the post was a lovely touch. I will definitely be back in Ants Nest, and definitely will use In the Saddle for future holidays.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   17 May 2022

Fanchea (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Holiday of a lifetime - exceeded all expectations! | Whatever Ant and his team are doing here, they've got it 100% right.

From our arrival, the staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful, from Ant himself through to the volunteers. We stayed in the Nest, and the rooms were immaculate. A special mention has to go to the chefs, as the food was 5*.

The riding was a perfect mix of paces managed by the guides (ours were Ali and Kiara - both super), allowing for time to ride up with the wildlife, take photos, ask questions, explore the landscape, and then have lovely canters through sandy tracks, ending up back at the stables at lunchtime, or different spots around the reserve for sundowners at the end of each day (spectacular views). The horses are really fit, healthy, and well cared for and living on the reserve means they are completely at ease with the animals they come across each day.

The highlight has to be when the team included us in a game capture of an roan antelope bull, as he needed medical attention; this brought me back to my childhood dreams of living in a Daktari episode (does anybody else remember this?). The care and attention the bull was given was wonderful, and it reinforced the importance of the critical conservation work that goes on here, and throughout other reserves.

Finally, a huge thank you to Olwen and the Inthesaddle team. Olwen made the whole process of booking painless (particularly as we had to postpone twice due to lockdowns), answered all queries we had, and already has my name down for next year!


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   13 May 2022

Hilary who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. A lifetime high | Lovely sandy tracks to canter along on well schooled forward going horses.
Beautiful scenery with lots of game, we were led by knowledgeable guides who made the riding interesting and fun whatever the pace.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   8 May 2022

Paul who has been on 14 In The Saddle rides. What a fantastic holiday for all | All horses were very well looked after, very well behaved, good variety for beginners and experienced, we rode with people the at the level, so no body was held back, lots of long canters, with animals all around us very close too!
We rode for 2.5 hrs in the morning and 1.5 hours in the afternoon, enjoyed every single ride we did


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   11 March 2022

Nuph who has been on 10 In The Saddle rides. Ants Nest - we all had the most amazing holiday | The riding as always was brilliant- horses were great and Amanda was really good at organising everyone and making sure we had the correct horses everyday.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   10 March 2022

Linnea Lund who has been on 22 In The Saddle rides. Perfect | Excellent


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   19 February 2022

Vivien who has been on 34 In The Saddle rides. Making memories | We had some wonderful game viewing, I couldn't believe how relaxed the game were, just kept on chewing the grass and letting us watch them close up. We had some full on long, speedy canters along the tracks and went for a swim with the horses but, best of all, we took part in an impromptu game capture session, complete with helicopter (vet hanging off the side with his dart gun at the ready). I'm not sure how helpful I was but it was the best fun ever! So exciting and different from any other riding experience I've ever had. That memory will last with me forever, seriously good fun, and we actually caught some of the intended game as well, which always helps!


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   19 February 2022

Carol who has been on 12 In The Saddle rides. An incredible experience | The horses are superbly fit and very well cared for.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   12 February 2022

Ruth (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Ants lodge - Absolutely fabulous | It far exceeded expectations. We didn't realise how close we would be able to get to all the animals from horse back. It was magical. We also really enjoyed the swimming with the horses in the dam. We did that twice and it was fabulous. The canters were wonderful too.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   8 February 2022

Sue who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic ! | Above and beyond all expectations but then this was my second visit !


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   25 January 2022

Davina (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) What a phenomenal week! | The horses were so well looked after and impeccably behaved. They had horses for every level of ability.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   3 September 2021

Nour (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) An amazing, unforgettable, luxurious horse riding vacation | The riding exceeded expectation. I went on this vacation with my wife who is a beginner rider - she was able to canter from the first day given how lovely, well trained, and well-disciplined the horses were. The rides were tailored to our levels (I would sometimes go cantering with a guide while she would go on a chill afternoon walk on the horse with another guide).


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   19 March 2020

Helen (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Ant’s Hill, South Africa - Superb! | The riding is tailored to your needs and ability. The horses are extremely well cared for and a dream to ride. One minute your metres away from the wild zebra, giraffe or buffalo and the next you’re galloping along amazing tracks. The accommodation is second to none and Ant’s team take the time to make sure your every need is taken care of. It’s a magical holiday that would recommend without hesitation.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   17 March 2020

JE who has been on 8 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic riding, ranging from fast canters along the sandy tracks to long meanders through the bush tracking the game.
The guys who took us out were terrific- all very knowledgable and fun too. Special thanks to Lucas, Sekwhiri and Mozi (and Ant of course for giving up his precious time to take us out a few times ? ).
I rode 8 different horses and they were all different but I enjoyed each of them in their own way. My favourite was Niassa who I was lucky enough to ride most mornings.
Very happy healthy horses.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   16 March 2020

Eleanor (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Ant's Hill - A very special place | There are plenty of different types of horses available and staff are more than happy to help you find something that matches your wants and needs. You can change horses as much as you like or stick with the same one (although you would also have a backup to ensure they get rested). Horses seem happy and well cared for and it's so lovely that they are free to roam around the reserve and know to come home for food! The riding is excellent and varied and the staff are happy to tailor the riding to you completely - if you prefer to do a different route or pace to other guests you will be catered for.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   13 March 2020

Linnea Lund who has been on 22 In The Saddle rides. Stunning, best riding holiday ever! | I rode two different horses, and they were great bot hof them. Fast polite horses, I could trust them and enjoy the rides trhrough the bush.

I'll be back as soon as possible!
[Becky from In The Saddle replied: We are so pleased you enjoyed the riding at Ant's :-)]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   25 February 2020

Plum who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Out of this world the best hoilday in a long while | The horses were the best I’ve had on this type of hoilday. A joy to ride ex racehorses. They were best cared for horses too .


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   17 February 2020

Karen who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Best holiday ever | The riding was brilliant. The horses were responsive, easy to ride and extremely well cared for. Being able to get so close to the animals without the sound of vehicles was a highlight. We enjoyed the mix of riding. We spent time wandering gently through the bush, climbing and descending rocky slopes, cantering along sandy tracks and galloping for miles on horses that never seem to tire. The absolute best bit of the day was riding to sundowners in a different location each night.
[Becky from In The Saddle replied: It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your holiday and the riding at Ant's! Maybe we can arrange another trip for you soon.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   3 February 2020

Linda who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Most amazing experience ever on holiday | For me the riding was amazing as was the closeness to the horses and other animals. I thoroughly enjoyed leisurely meandering on horseback to see and photograph the wild animals, insects and birds in close up or trotting along the pathways and listening to the different guides' local understanding of the environment and wildlife (the guides had exceptional knowledge at Ant's for birdwatching) The landscape was breathtaking and I loved cantering along sandy tracks, bush riding and open grasslands in the sun at Ant's as my confidence grew and riding up and down the slopes and rocky terrain at Moolmans (especially to explore the cave paintings). Both centres I felt, had close links to the environment, knowledge of the flora and fauna and an exceptional feel for conservation.

I had been a nervous rider to begin with but my horses were always matched to my level of riding confidence. My friends were able to gallop off into the distance when they wanted more challenging riding and we had our own guides with us throughout the rides. Although the terrain was very different at both centres, I was quickly able to adapt and enjoy the comfortable saddles and long rein style with the help of the riding staff and the amazingly surefooted Boerpeds that I rode while others rode equally competent, schooled Arabs, Thoroughbreds or cross- bred horses. This was a spectacularly wonderful riding holiday.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   25 January 2020

Nicolaas who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Great Experience | We had a bad start as we were given horses that were far below what we needed, based on our experience. Especially for my husband (who rides dressage on Grand Prix level, and this was known), this was an extremely disappointing start. My horse was old, could not breath very good and had difficulties in canter.[Sarah from In The Saddle says: It is the policy at Ants to always underhorse all guests during their first ride. This is to be safe just in case someone's riding ability is not as good as they think it is. However we were pleased to hear that after your intial ride you had horses that matched your abilities well].
Everything was discussed in the evening and we were given other horses. The argument was that they wanted to see the level of the riders. This, however, can be done in a different way. Also as my husband had shown the video of one of his tournaments before the horse was chosen..
The rest of the week, the riding was good. We Complained once about the very rocky road up the hill and we changed the route with the guide. [Sarah from In The Saddle says: Unfortunately some of the terrain in South Africa can be rocky in places, but it is good to hear that the guide managed to find an alternative route for you]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   9 December 2019

Svein who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. A marvellous experience! All expectations fullfilled! | Not all of the horses was a good match. But. I wanted to bring the last one at Ant's Hill with me back home. HIS name? Mokabena??


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   6 December 2019

Christopher who has been on 8 In The Saddle rides. A unique experience riding amongst the wildlife | The riding suited our abilities and wishes apart from one morning when the guide set too fast a pace making the horses over excited and competitive and difficult to control. We drew this to the attention of the senior staff at Ant's Hill and they undertook to retrain the guide in question who had behaved in a similar way quite recently. We found the guides at Nest to be generally more sociable, helpful and informative about the wildlife and environment than those at Hill.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   29 November 2019

Karen who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Excellent


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   25 November 2019

Katherine who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Best family holiday of my life | The rides were great, the guides chose the best times of the day to avoid the real heat of the day and to ensure the horses were cared for.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   18 November 2019

Andrew who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Another wonderful experience at Ant's Nest | As with our previous trip to Ant's, the riding was exceptional - varied and exciting. The guides were engaging, entertaining and knowledgable. The quality , variety and preparation of the horses was outstanding and the team went to great lengths to match horses, riders and groups to ensure we all got the best from our rides.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   17 November 2019

Tracy who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Fun riding, superb food | Early in the week we found the riding a little too focused on long canters and then over an hour of walking. However, once we mentioned we would prefer shorter canters and shorter periods of walk changes were made and the result was superb. Plenty of close up animals and fantastic riding.
[Becky from In The Saddle replied: It's great to hear you enjoyed the riding :-)]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   8 November 2019

Rosemary who has been on 39 In The Saddle rides. A relaxing and fun week of riding and wildlife viewing | Horses are lovely. I rode four, all very acceptable but one of which particularly took my fancy. A lovely little Arab called Xia Xia , keen, with a bit of 'personality'. The other three were absolutely fine too but it's always good to have a favourite.
We were especially pleased to have some faster paced riding with some long canters with Moses, among others. Obviously we spent a lot of time just walking and watching the wildlife and it's a pleasure to be able to get so close.
[Becky from In The Saddle replied: Thank you so much for your lovely feedback and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your return visit to Ant's Nest]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   8 November 2019

Bridie who has been on 13 In The Saddle rides. Game viewing extravaganza. | The terrain was not as varied as I have experienced in other parts of the world. However I was very happy with the riding and the dedication of the guides. The horses were amongst the most happy and contented that I have met anywhere. They are not only very well cared for but also enjoy a great deal of freedom to behave naturally. They are valued as individuals and appear to have a wonderful work/life balance.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   18 October 2019

Philippa (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Safari on horseback | The riding and experience of seeing the wild animals in the bush at close hand even surpassed our high expectations. It was fantastic. My daughters and I are all at different levels of riding but we all totally enjoyed the same rides by being on well matched horses. I liked being on a steady horse whilst one of my daughters enjoyed riding forward going horses


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   11 October 2019

Robert who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Stunning countryside - great horses and people - perfectly organised. | It is a pleasure to ride on horses which are so clearly well cared for and with guides who really know their job and care about the customers. They were very safety conscious, but also looking to give you the best possible experience. Some of the riding was hard physical work, but well worth it. We came back tired but having had some perfect riding.


90 reviews    1 2 3