Reviews
83 reviews    1 2 3
Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   20 September 2019

Exceeded expectations. Excellent well cared for horses. Faster riding than expected, tailored to our needs.
We were able to get very close to animals, much closer than expected.
The guides were excellent, one in particular (Sekhwiri) was so informative it made the holiday really special.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   10 September 2019

Excellent


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   2 August 2019

Riding was great - well schooled horses get very safe for non experienced riders but fun enough for those with more experience. Plenty of long canters but also lots of time to see game close up. The guides were excellent - good fun and happy to do some cross-country tracking to make sure we saw as much as possible. They were knowledgeable and really seemed to care about our experience of the reserve and were fun - made the holiday great for all the family.
The reserve was very well stocked so we got to see a large selection of game from horseback: giraffe, zebra, wildebeest, warthog, rhino, buffalo, loads of impala, kudu, eland. The night drives were a bonus - porcupine, jackal, civet etc.
[ITS comment: I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed the riding at Ant's Lodges, they have a great selection of horses for all levels.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Hill

4 star rating   20 July 2019

I've been to Ant's (Nest and Hill) several times before, so had a good idea what to expect. They quickly found the right sort of horse for me. On every other safari I've been on over the last 25 years (including Ant's), guests have rotated their position in the ride, so that no-one spends the entire time at the back (out of hearing of the lead guide, eating everyone else's dust, and often missing game that has been spooked by the front riders or missing photo opps because other riders appear between the game and the back riders). Usually this rotation of riders is achieved by the centre's horse allocation and/or by the politeness/fairness/manners of the individual guests concerned. In addition, all guests are usually asked what sort of riding they want to do in order to meet all riders' interests. This time, a couple of guests got to ride at the front all the time and the rides were run to meet their requests in terms of speed and destination. It was only as we were leaving that we were put on a separate ride, which was a completely different experience and the comparison led me to reflect that, until then, we had not been asked what our riding wishes/priorities were. I also discovered a stirrup leather worn half way through at the buckle, which should not have been used. I'm not sure if this apparent drop in standards is just an unfortunate and unrepresentative blip but, if my previous trips had been like this, I'm not sure I would have returned. [ITS comment: Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we are looking into this. We are sorry that the riding didn't meet your expectations on the first couple of days, but are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the other aspects of your holiday.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   5 July 2019

Great all round riding for all abilities


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   27 June 2019

Excellent


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   21 June 2019

The riding was amazing with great game viewing every day. The rides were adjusted to suit each rider so everyone enjoyed the experience. good variation of fast and steady canters. Amazing riding experience


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   19 June 2019

Excellent


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Hill

4 star rating   15 June 2019

Lots of canters on sandy tracks. I rode two horses both of whom knew what was expected of them. The game we encountered was very chilled with the horses presence.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   14 June 2019

The horses, the riding and the guides all exceeded my expectations. The horses were so well cared for and the guides knew the exact personalities and traits of each horse to match them perfectly to each rider.
The rides were so much fun, mixed up with walks and canters and routes were always varied


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Game census

5 star rating   9 June 2019

The riding was varied with lots of walking whilst looking for game or waiting whilst animals were located. There were also plenty of fast canters and exhilarating rides through the bush when keeping track of darted animals. There seemed to be horses to suit a wide variety of riders. The saddles were comfortable and the horses loved the action. The mare which I rode knew exactly what was happening and was an important factor contributing to the enjoyment of the week.
[ITS comment: We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the riding.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Game census

5 star rating   9 June 2019

As always amazing well looked after horses


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   1 June 2019

My only minor suggestion would be to introduce other breads at breakfast if possible. As a group we probably wouldn’t normally choose white sliced (like Mother’s Pride)?
[ITS comment: This is very unusual for Ant's as there are normally several options of fresh bread available. After following this up with the lodge it seems that there was a mix up regarding the food orders.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   1 June 2019

Ant's staff were fabulous at matching us well to horses - not only in terms of ability but also in terms of character. They were incredibly helpful in providing rides of varying speeds and routes, kept us safe and were and also very knowledgeable and entertaining.
[ITS comment: It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed the riding at Ant's Lodges.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   1 June 2019

Excellent


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   1 June 2019

This holiday was fantastic. I loved every minute of it and 100% intend to return at the earliest time I can.
The hosts did everything in their power to ensure all of your needs and requests were met. The food was delicious, the accommodation was absolutely perfect.
The ability to have washing done after a days full riding in the dust meant that packing was manageable.
The horses, rides and safari animals were astonishing. What a brilliant holiday. Thank you so much.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   1 June 2019

The horses are AMAZING. Willing, fit and obviously happy in their work. There is a wide selection of horses and literally every type and size of rider is catered for. The horses can canter for long long periods and rides vary from fast to just walking and looking at wild life. Whatever type of ride you want - the Ants team will supply.

The riding is great - up hills, across plains, through water, through woodlands. The horses are sure-footed and seem able to happily negotiate any terrain.

I found the saddles very comfortable and the tack was fine.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   31 May 2019

Loved looking out for animals, interspersed with long canters through the bush!


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   25 May 2019

It was lovely to have long canters on sand tracks. The guides were very knowledgeable and informative and we weren’t disappointed with our encounters with the wildlife.
[ITS comment: Iti's great to hear that you enjoyed the riding!]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   25 May 2019

Excellent


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   25 May 2019

Riding was all at walk or canter, due to the terrain - walking through the bush and long canters on the sandy tracks. Riding at the Nest was generally faster. I rode 2 horses (boerperds) at the Nest, one of which I did not find comfortable or particularly responsive, the other was good. The 2 I rode at the Hill were great (arab and tb). One saddle was uncomfortable, it was replaced on request. Tack was generally in good condition and 'bumnahs' provided. The horses are hard working and get on with their job. Hours of riding were just right.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   22 May 2019

I had lovely horses well matched to my riding ability - especially the lovely Frisian at Ants Hill.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   16 May 2019

It exceeded my expectations. Both venues could not do enough to please and were very focussed on making the holiday enjoyable. Horses were a delight and very well cared for


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   9 May 2019

The staff at Ant's nest were very flexible to adjust the ride when needed due to sore back. This really helped me get the most out the the ride and I didn't have to feel like I slowed down the others when I needed a slower pace. Thanks to them for that!


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   9 May 2019

Excellent


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   5 May 2019

Being a novice rider (9 lessons under my belt!) I was a little apprehensive but I was soon put at my ease and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   5 May 2019

Our party included two almost complete novices who rode every day and thoroughly enjoyed themselves. All the horses were lovely and obviously much loved by the staff.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   5 May 2019

Exciting rides over varied terrain. Good selection of well-schooled horses. Knowledgeable guides and close-up game encounters. Plenty of wow factor here!


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   21 April 2019

the horses are all amazing - fast, strong with lots of endurance. they are extremely well looked after.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   14 April 2019

Great horses, great riding, game viewings, guides were excellent. Only dissatisfied with the saddles and tack provided - old and poor quality, bridles fraying and seat quite worn. I found it strange that the same saddle was given to me, the rider on different horses. Horses didn’t have their own individual saddles as if one size fits all. Very fit and healthy horses in great living conditions and open space. They are clearly treated well within the stables and out.
[ITS comment: We are so glad you enjoyed the riding! Usually because they are using South African Trail saddles which disperse the riders weight more evenly, one saddle is assigned to each rider. Of course this depends on the horses allocated.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   15 March 2019

They have a lovely heard of over 40 horses at Ants Nest and try their best to match you to a perfect combination of horses, every day you are asked how did you find your horse, any requests etc, because of the number of rides you do, 2 a day in our case over 8 days, you ride a minimum of 2 different horses, up to pretty much as many as you like, I rode 4 and loved them all, all different some easy some a little more of a challenge but that suited me and what I wanted.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   15 March 2019

Excellent


83 reviews    1 2 3