Reviews
76 reviews    1 2 3
Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   19 March 2020

Helen (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Ant’s Hill, South Africa - Superb! | The riding is tailored to your needs and ability. The horses are extremely well cared for and a dream to ride. One minute your metres away from the wild zebra, giraffe or buffalo and the next you’re galloping along amazing tracks. The accommodation is second to none and Ant’s team take the time to make sure your every need is taken care of. It’s a magical holiday that would recommend without hesitation.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   17 March 2020

JE who has been on 7 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic riding, ranging from fast canters along the sandy tracks to long meanders through the bush tracking the game.
The guys who took us out were terrific- all very knowledgable and fun too. Special thanks to Lucas, Sekwhiri and Mozi (and Ant of course for giving up his precious time to take us out a few times ? ).
I rode 8 different horses and they were all different but I enjoyed each of them in their own way. My favourite was Niassa who I was lucky enough to ride most mornings.
Very happy healthy horses.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   16 March 2020

Eleanor (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Ant's Hill - A very special place | There are plenty of different types of horses available and staff are more than happy to help you find something that matches your wants and needs. You can change horses as much as you like or stick with the same one (although you would also have a backup to ensure they get rested). Horses seem happy and well cared for and it's so lovely that they are free to roam around the reserve and know to come home for food! The riding is excellent and varied and the staff are happy to tailor the riding to you completely - if you prefer to do a different route or pace to other guests you will be catered for.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   13 March 2020

Linnea Lund who has been on 20 In The Saddle rides. Stunning, best riding holiday ever! | I rode two different horses, and they were great bot hof them. Fast polite horses, I could trust them and enjoy the rides trhrough the bush.

I'll be back as soon as possible!
[Becky from In The Saddle replied: We are so pleased you enjoyed the riding at Ant's :-)]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   25 February 2020

Plum who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Out of this world the best hoilday in a long while | The horses were the best I’ve had on this type of hoilday. A joy to ride ex racehorses. They were best cared for horses too .


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   17 February 2020

Karen who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Best holiday ever | The riding was brilliant. The horses were responsive, easy to ride and extremely well cared for. Being able to get so close to the animals without the sound of vehicles was a highlight. We enjoyed the mix of riding. We spent time wandering gently through the bush, climbing and descending rocky slopes, cantering along sandy tracks and galloping for miles on horses that never seem to tire. The absolute best bit of the day was riding to sundowners in a different location each night.
[Becky from In The Saddle replied: It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your holiday and the riding at Ant's! Maybe we can arrange another trip for you soon.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   3 February 2020

Linda who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Most amazing experience ever on holiday | For me the riding was amazing as was the closeness to the horses and other animals. I thoroughly enjoyed leisurely meandering on horseback to see and photograph the wild animals, insects and birds in close up or trotting along the pathways and listening to the different guides' local understanding of the environment and wildlife (the guides had exceptional knowledge at Ant's for birdwatching) The landscape was breathtaking and I loved cantering along sandy tracks, bush riding and open grasslands in the sun at Ant's as my confidence grew and riding up and down the slopes and rocky terrain at Moolmans (especially to explore the cave paintings). Both centres I felt, had close links to the environment, knowledge of the flora and fauna and an exceptional feel for conservation.

I had been a nervous rider to begin with but my horses were always matched to my level of riding confidence. My friends were able to gallop off into the distance when they wanted more challenging riding and we had our own guides with us throughout the rides. Although the terrain was very different at both centres, I was quickly able to adapt and enjoy the comfortable saddles and long rein style with the help of the riding staff and the amazingly surefooted Boerpeds that I rode while others rode equally competent, schooled Arabs, Thoroughbreds or cross- bred horses. This was a spectacularly wonderful riding holiday.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   25 January 2020

Nicolaas (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Great Experience | We had a bad start as we were given horses that were far below what we needed, based on our experience. Especially for my husband (who rides dressage on Grand Prix level, and this was known), this was an extremely disappointing start. My horse was old, could not breath very good and had difficulties in canter.[Sarah from In The Saddle says: It is the policy at Ants to always underhorse all guests during their first ride. This is to be safe just in case someone's riding ability is not as good as they think it is. However we were pleased to hear that after your intial ride you had horses that matched your abilities well].
Everything was discussed in the evening and we were given other horses. The argument was that they wanted to see the level of the riders. This, however, can be done in a different way. Also as my husband had shown the video of one of his tournaments before the horse was chosen..
The rest of the week, the riding was good. We Complained once about the very rocky road up the hill and we changed the route with the guide. [Sarah from In The Saddle says: Unfortunately some of the terrain in South Africa can be rocky in places, but it is good to hear that the guide managed to find an alternative route for you]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   9 December 2019

Svein who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. A marvellous experience! All expectations fullfilled! | Not all of the horses was a good match. But. I wanted to bring the last one at Ant's Hill with me back home. HIS name? Mokabena??


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   6 December 2019

Christopher who has been on 8 In The Saddle rides. A unique experience riding amongst the wildlife | The riding suited our abilities and wishes apart from one morning when the guide set too fast a pace making the horses over excited and competitive and difficult to control. We drew this to the attention of the senior staff at Ant's Hill and they undertook to retrain the guide in question who had behaved in a similar way quite recently. We found the guides at Nest to be generally more sociable, helpful and informative about the wildlife and environment than those at Hill.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   29 November 2019

Karen who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Excellent


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   25 November 2019

Katherine (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Best family holiday of my life | The rides were great, the guides chose the best times of the day to avoid the real heat of the day and to ensure the horses were cared for.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   18 November 2019

Andrew who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Another wonderful experience at Ant's Nest | As with our previous trip to Ant's, the riding was exceptional - varied and exciting. The guides were engaging, entertaining and knowledgable. The quality , variety and preparation of the horses was outstanding and the team went to great lengths to match horses, riders and groups to ensure we all got the best from our rides.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   17 November 2019

Tracy who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Fun riding, superb food | Early in the week we found the riding a little too focused on long canters and then over an hour of walking. However, once we mentioned we would prefer shorter canters and shorter periods of walk changes were made and the result was superb. Plenty of close up animals and fantastic riding.
[Becky from In The Saddle replied: It's great to hear you enjoyed the riding :-)]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   8 November 2019

Rosemary who has been on 37 In The Saddle rides. A relaxing and fun week of riding and wildlife viewing | Horses are lovely. I rode four, all very acceptable but one of which particularly took my fancy. A lovely little Arab called Xia Xia , keen, with a bit of 'personality'. The other three were absolutely fine too but it's always good to have a favourite.
We were especially pleased to have some faster paced riding with some long canters with Moses, among others. Obviously we spent a lot of time just walking and watching the wildlife and it's a pleasure to be able to get so close.
[Becky from In The Saddle replied: Thank you so much for your lovely feedback and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your return visit to Ant's Nest]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   8 November 2019

Bridie who has been on 12 In The Saddle rides. Game viewing extravaganza. | The terrain was not as varied as I have experienced in other parts of the world. However I was very happy with the riding and the dedication of the guides. The horses were amongst the most happy and contented that I have met anywhere. They are not only very well cared for but also enjoy a great deal of freedom to behave naturally. They are valued as individuals and appear to have a wonderful work/life balance.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   18 October 2019

Philippa (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Safari on horseback | The riding and experience of seeing the wild animals in the bush at close hand even surpassed our high expectations. It was fantastic. My daughters and I are all at different levels of riding but we all totally enjoyed the same rides by being on well matched horses. I liked being on a steady horse whilst one of my daughters enjoyed riding forward going horses


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   11 October 2019

Robert who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Stunning countryside - great horses and people - perfectly organised. | It is a pleasure to ride on horses which are so clearly well cared for and with guides who really know their job and care about the customers. They were very safety conscious, but also looking to give you the best possible experience. Some of the riding was hard physical work, but well worth it. We came back tired but having had some perfect riding.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   20 September 2019

Leila who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Riding safari | Exceeded expectations. Excellent well cared for horses. Faster riding than expected, tailored to our needs.
We were able to get very close to animals, much closer than expected.
The guides were excellent, one in particular (Sekhwiri) was so informative it made the holiday really special.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   10 September 2019

Elizabeth (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Excellent


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   2 August 2019

Gay who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Awesome trip from start to finish. First stop at Ants Nest/Ants Hill then onto Garonga (Big 5 reserve but no horse riding) at recommendation of In The Saddle. Exceeded expectations in all respects | Riding was great - well schooled horses get very safe for non experienced riders but fun enough for those with more experience. Plenty of long canters but also lots of time to see game close up. The guides were excellent - good fun and happy to do some cross-country tracking to make sure we saw as much as possible. They were knowledgeable and really seemed to care about our experience of the reserve and were fun - made the holiday great for all the family.
The reserve was very well stocked so we got to see a large selection of game from horseback: giraffe, zebra, wildebeest, warthog, rhino, buffalo, loads of impala, kudu, eland. The night drives were a bonus - porcupine, jackal, civet etc.
[ITS comment: I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed the riding at Ant's Lodges, they have a great selection of horses for all levels.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

4 star rating   20 July 2019

GM who has been on 15 In The Saddle rides. Warm and dusty | I've been to Ant's (Nest and Hill) several times before, so had a good idea what to expect. They quickly found the right sort of horse for me. On every other safari I've been on over the last 25 years (including Ant's), guests have rotated their position in the ride, so that no-one spends the entire time at the back (out of hearing of the lead guide, eating everyone else's dust, and often missing game that has been spooked by the front riders or missing photo opps because other riders appear between the game and the back riders). Usually this rotation of riders is achieved by the centre's horse allocation and/or by the politeness/fairness/manners of the individual guests concerned. In addition, all guests are usually asked what sort of riding they want to do in order to meet all riders' interests. This time, a couple of guests got to ride at the front all the time and the rides were run to meet their requests in terms of speed and destination. It was only as we were leaving that we were put on a separate ride, which was a completely different experience and the comparison led me to reflect that, until then, we had not been asked what our riding wishes/priorities were. I also discovered a stirrup leather worn half way through at the buckle, which should not have been used. I'm not sure if this apparent drop in standards is just an unfortunate and unrepresentative blip but, if my previous trips had been like this, I'm not sure I would have returned. [ITS comment: Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we are looking into this. We are sorry that the riding didn't meet your expectations on the first couple of days, but are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the other aspects of your holiday.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   5 July 2019

Christopher who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Excellent | Great all round riding for all abilities


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   27 June 2019

Helen (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Excellent


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   21 June 2019

Steve and Jill who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Magical | The riding was amazing with great game viewing every day. The rides were adjusted to suit each rider so everyone enjoyed the experience. good variation of fast and steady canters. Amazing riding experience


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   19 June 2019

Regina (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Ants Nest | Excellent


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

4 star rating   15 June 2019

Cathrine who has been on 43 In The Saddle rides. Enjoyable, relaxing start to my Africa trip | Lots of canters on sandy tracks. I rode two horses both of whom knew what was expected of them. The game we encountered was very chilled with the horses presence.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   14 June 2019

Liz who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. The most incredible holiday ever | The horses, the riding and the guides all exceeded my expectations. The horses were so well cared for and the guides knew the exact personalities and traits of each horse to match them perfectly to each rider.
The rides were so much fun, mixed up with walks and canters and routes were always varied


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Game census

5 star rating   9 June 2019

Silvo who has been on 11 In The Saddle rides. An interesting opportunity to experience game on a lovely reserve. The staff were enthusiastic and endeavoured to ensure that everyone had an enjoyable experience | The riding was varied with lots of walking whilst looking for game or waiting whilst animals were located. There were also plenty of fast canters and exhilarating rides through the bush when keeping track of darted animals. There seemed to be horses to suit a wide variety of riders. The saddles were comfortable and the horses loved the action. The mare which I rode knew exactly what was happening and was an important factor contributing to the enjoyment of the week.
[ITS comment: We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the riding.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Game census

5 star rating   9 June 2019

Kate who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Amazing | As always amazing well looked after horses


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   1 June 2019

Pegasus who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Luxurious and thrilling | My only minor suggestion would be to introduce other breads at breakfast if possible. As a group we probably wouldn’t normally choose white sliced (like Mother’s Pride)?
[ITS comment: This is very unusual for Ant's as there are normally several options of fresh bread available. After following this up with the lodge it seems that there was a mix up regarding the food orders.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   1 June 2019

Briony who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. A truly fantastic trip | Ant's staff were fabulous at matching us well to horses - not only in terms of ability but also in terms of character. They were incredibly helpful in providing rides of varying speeds and routes, kept us safe and were and also very knowledgeable and entertaining.
[ITS comment: It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed the riding at Ant's Lodges.]


76 reviews    1 2 3