Reviews
79 reviews    1 2 3
Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Game census

5 star rating   9 June 2019

As always amazing well looked after horses


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   1 June 2019

My only minor suggestion would be to introduce other breads at breakfast if possible. As a group we probably wouldn’t normally choose white sliced (like Mother’s Pride)?
[ITS comment: This is very unusual for Ant's as there are normally several options of fresh bread available. After following this up with the lodge it seems that there was a mix up regarding the food orders.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   1 June 2019

Ant's staff were fabulous at matching us well to horses - not only in terms of ability but also in terms of character. They were incredibly helpful in providing rides of varying speeds and routes, kept us safe and were and also very knowledgeable and entertaining.
[ITS comment: It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed the riding at Ant's Lodges.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   1 June 2019

Excellent


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   1 June 2019

This holiday was fantastic. I loved every minute of it and 100% intend to return at the earliest time I can.
The hosts did everything in their power to ensure all of your needs and requests were met. The food was delicious, the accommodation was absolutely perfect.
The ability to have washing done after a days full riding in the dust meant that packing was manageable.
The horses, rides and safari animals were astonishing. What a brilliant holiday. Thank you so much.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   31 May 2019

Loved looking out for animals, interspersed with long canters through the bush!


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   25 May 2019

It was lovely to have long canters on sand tracks. The guides were very knowledgeable and informative and we weren’t disappointed with our encounters with the wildlife.
[ITS comment: Iti's great to hear that you enjoyed the riding!]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   25 May 2019

Excellent


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   25 May 2019

Riding was all at walk or canter, due to the terrain - walking through the bush and long canters on the sandy tracks. Riding at the Nest was generally faster. I rode 2 horses (boerperds) at the Nest, one of which I did not find comfortable or particularly responsive, the other was good. The 2 I rode at the Hill were great (arab and tb). One saddle was uncomfortable, it was replaced on request. Tack was generally in good condition and 'bumnahs' provided. The horses are hard working and get on with their job. Hours of riding were just right.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   22 May 2019

I had lovely horses well matched to my riding ability - especially the lovely Frisian at Ants Hill.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   16 May 2019

It exceeded my expectations. Both venues could not do enough to please and were very focussed on making the holiday enjoyable. Horses were a delight and very well cared for


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   9 May 2019

The staff at Ant's nest were very flexible to adjust the ride when needed due to sore back. This really helped me get the most out the the ride and I didn't have to feel like I slowed down the others when I needed a slower pace. Thanks to them for that!


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   9 May 2019

Excellent


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   5 May 2019

Being a novice rider (9 lessons under my belt!) I was a little apprehensive but I was soon put at my ease and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   5 May 2019

Exciting rides over varied terrain. Good selection of well-schooled horses. Knowledgeable guides and close-up game encounters. Plenty of wow factor here!


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   21 April 2019

the horses are all amazing - fast, strong with lots of endurance. they are extremely well looked after.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   14 April 2019

Great horses, great riding, game viewings, guides were excellent. Only dissatisfied with the saddles and tack provided - old and poor quality, bridles fraying and seat quite worn. I found it strange that the same saddle was given to me, the rider on different horses. Horses didn’t have their own individual saddles as if one size fits all. Very fit and healthy horses in great living conditions and open space. They are clearly treated well within the stables and out.
[ITS comment: We are so glad you enjoyed the riding! Usually because they are using South African Trail saddles which disperse the riders weight more evenly, one saddle is assigned to each rider. Of course this depends on the horses allocated.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   15 March 2019

They have a lovely heard of over 40 horses at Ants Nest and try their best to match you to a perfect combination of horses, every day you are asked how did you find your horse, any requests etc, because of the number of rides you do, 2 a day in our case over 8 days, you ride a minimum of 2 different horses, up to pretty much as many as you like, I rode 4 and loved them all, all different some easy some a little more of a challenge but that suited me and what I wanted.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   15 March 2019

Excellent


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   15 March 2019

The horses I got from the beginning fitted me perfect.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   12 February 2019

Great riding experience. Horses were very well trained, fit and cared for. Pace was varied but with plenty of long canters.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   7 February 2019

This is our third visit to Ant's Nest so they knew our favourite horses, and riding skills. We were matched perfectly with the right horse.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   18 January 2019

We were 3 girls from 12 to 38 years old and there was always a horse that suited our riding skills, wishes and temperament. The tack was top notch and the horses were fit, sweet and well taken care of. We had the impression that all our guides knew all the horses very well and had a great love for the horses.
The riding were organized according to our wishes and each day was different. I will give a double satified for the guides' knowledge of both the area, the game and the nature.c


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   29 December 2018

We were a family group with ages ranging from 6 to 75+ and with riding experience ranging from beginner to very experienced. The rides were divided into groups based on experience or inclination and there were also opportunities to divide rides if some riders wanted a faster or slower pace. In other words there was total flexibility and the guides were very experienced and attentive. There are a large number of horses and ponies available and great trouble was taken in matching riders with suitable mounts. Game viewing is exceptionally good and often time is spent quietly watching a wide variety of animals including Rhino and Giraffe. Equally there are many opportunities for fast canters and gallops on long sandy tracks.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   30 November 2018

All in excellent condition as ever


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

4 star rating   28 November 2018

Sensibly, I was under-horsed for my first ride and then my feedback taken to ensure I rode a few different and suitable horses. All safe, responsive and with personality.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   25 November 2018

The horses were well matched to riders ability, the staff really listened to the sort of mount you preferred and found a horse to suit.

The experience here is all about viewing the game and yet the long canters are an immense amount of fun!


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   23 November 2018

A few of the rides could have had a faster pace although generally the rides were an excellent combination of walk for game viewing and long canters on tracks. On a couple of the rides the group was of a very mixed range of ability, however the guide coped well with this and ensured that everyone enjoyed the ride.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   21 November 2018

The horses and riding was amazing. Horse were mainly thoroughbreds and ex-race horse - so great pace and very sure footed. The guides were brilliant and so insightful. We rode very close to all animals - buffalo, Zebra, Giraffe, Wildebeests, etc etc. It effeminately met our expectations and there is some thing for every riding ability.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   16 November 2018

Fit happy horses...very pleased with the horses I rode. Staff very rigorous with matching horses, tack, safety. Felt extremely well taken care of , but thrilling riding! An extraordinary experience riding so close to the wildlife.
Overreached ALL my expectations…
[ITS comment: We are so pleased that you loved your holiday to Ant's, it's a fantastic destination.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   10 November 2018

The riding was fabulous - v Informative guides - lovely horses & amazing views


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   10 November 2018

Excellent


79 reviews    1 2 3