Reviews
18 reviews   
Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Coastal Trail South to North

5 star rating   21 April 2024

Heather who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Wonderful ride | Well matched horses with great guide & support team. Some shorter and some longer days riding in beautiful countryside.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   29 October 2023

Charlie (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) What a Mix! | All riding types and times in the saddle were accurate. It’s difficult to match up to people’s expectations when it comes to a beach ride, and we may have had overly ambitious thoughts of a gallop, but due to sea state, time of year, the sand just seemed too deep. So any preconceived ideas of a gallop where quickly quashed. It was still lovely but hard work for the horses and riders rather than the joyful blast.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Bottlenose Trail

5 star rating   3 September 2023

Lisa (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Really enjoyed this holiday - never done anything like this before. Thought the whole holiday was well thought through and the hotels / restaurants etc were a nice mix, mostly with great local food. Really good mix of riding and having some 'down time'.

Only a few very minor thoughts about how to improve: maybe the first ride could have been one of the loops (the last one?) - just to help people readjust to riding who hadn't done so for a while and also adjust to heat - first day was pretty gruelling but understand we needed to get to where we were going early on - this may not be possible because of how it affects other things I'm not sure?

[In The Saddle replies: Many thanks for your great feedback on this ride. We're really pleased you enjoyed the Bottlenose Trail - it's certainly one you need to be riding fit for.]


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Dolphin Trail

4 star rating   25 June 2023

Annette who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. One of the best | Yes. Very hot mainly walking, but did have some long canters


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Coastal Trail South to North

4 star rating   11 June 2023

Len who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Lusitano experience | Horses were superb, fast but calm, very comfortable and safe at all paces. These are the best horses I have ever ridden.
The first day was a 30km loop near the farm, so was the second day, so was the third day.
The forth day we rode off to the next venue. That was very much better. The fifth day was only half a days ride, but still very enjoyable. The last day was brilliant.
After the first day, there were never more than six on the ride, not always the same six. This made it difficult for Miguel, as we had two “empty horses” with us most days. We had no back rider guide, only Miguel who had to do everything. Fine when everyone is okay, but hard when you have non riders every day. There were four non riders on the last day.
The pace was good for me, the right balance of walk, trot and canter to give interest and excitement. However, I think it was too much for some riders who weren’t totally fit and who weren’t experienced in English type saddles and stirrups. (just an impression really they need to speak for themselves)
Overall the riding was great, Miguel went out of his way to help me beat a personal best and I’ve never seen better looked after horses. I loved it!


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Coastal Trail South to North

4 star rating   11 June 2023

Steven who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Alentejo trail Portugal | Riding was set at right pace, majority in walk but some long trots and varied canters. I found it concerning that there was no back marker, as when we cantered the group became wide spread so if anything happened the guide wouldn't have noticed. For the amount of time in the saddle one small bottle of water wasn't sufficient. Luckily the weather was not too hot on our riding days so could cope with amount of water. If the weather was in the high 20's then more water would be needed.

[In The Saddle replies: Thank you for your feedback, which is much appreciated.

We have discussed the provision of water with the ride operator. He assures us that additional water is available and refills are also made at the lunch stops.

We understand it may feel unusual if you are accustomed to riding with two guides, but Miguel has been running his rides very successfully for many years without a back-up rider. We are confident that he does everything possible to ensure guest safety, in the training of his horses, his experience as a guide and the manner in which his trails are conducted.]


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Bottlenose Trail

5 star rating   9 October 2022

Jackie who has been on 8 In The Saddle rides. Bottlenose Trail Portugal - A brilliant week of horse riding, scenery, guiding support and fun with friends | Exceeded expectations. I was concerned that it wouldn’t be enough riding as we had chosen a trail of 4-6 hours per day. But actually it was more than enough time in the saddle. Must be getting older! Scenery more varied and remote than expected. I don’t think we met anyone on the whole trail and only very little roadwork connection tracks with some spectacular views.

[In The Saddle replies: We really appreciate your feedback and are so pleased that your holiday exceeded your expectations.]


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Bottlenose Trail

5 star rating   9 October 2022

Lizzie (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fabulous | The riding was fabulous with the good mix of walk trot and canter. The beach ride was really great and our guide Miguel was professional and good fun always making sure the horses were well cared for.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Bottlenose Trail

5 star rating   9 October 2022

Ira who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Bottlenose trail - Brilliant holiday, well organised and fabulous riding | Yes as described.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Coastal Trail South to North

5 star rating   25 September 2022

Louisa (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Holiday of a lifetime! | Had the best week in Portugal with Miguel and Anwar. My first riding holiday and it certainly lived up to what I’d been hoping it would be! I travelled solo but met an incredible group of people and felt at home straight away.
The horses were all incredibly well cared for and fit.
We rode through some beautiful scenery, on a variety of tracks and terrain finishing off with the incredible gallop on the beach on our final day at sunrise.
There were long days in the saddle, usually averaging 4-5 hours with a break for a lovely bbq lunch in the middle while the horses were fed, watered and rested. The longest day was 6.5 hours. You therefore definitely need to be riding fit for this one to fully enjoy it!

[In The Saddle replies: Thank you for taking the time to review your holiday. We are so pleased that you enjoyed it].


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Bottlenose Trail

4 star rating   4 September 2022

Bridie who has been on 14 In The Saddle rides. Bottlenose Trail Portugal - Trial Ride | Yes that's right...trial not trail!
Long hours in the saddle with long trots and even longer canters. I had worried about my fitness level as I hadn't been riding as much as usual due to my aged horse. However my prep, a few weekly lessons a local stable, turned out to be an adequate top up. Sadly some of the other riders didn't do so well and suffered with pain and saddle sores. Make sure to take advice from ITS and be as ride fit as you can be. Then you can enjoy the whole experience and beautiful scenery... along with the challenge of approx 170 km on horseback.
The horses knew their jobs and were totally professional. Quiet, easy but on the whole very willing.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Bottlenose Trail

5 star rating   3 July 2022

Lucia (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Just amazing!! | The riding was demanding for someone not adequately trained but always very pleasant and fun.
We had a lot of walking in beautiful landscape, long canters and amazing beach riding were the horses were very excited about!
I really liked how we were taking care of them, un-tacking them during lunch time and made them have a well deserved break.
Miguel the guide tries always to rotate them to don’t over work them and during the night they are kept in the field together.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   26 June 2022

David who has been on 11 In The Saddle rides. Good horses in forests and hill | Very long canters over flat terrain - quite demanding


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Coastal Trail North to South

5 star rating   5 June 2022

Hanne Tang Koch (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) The horses were well taken care of, well-schooled and in good health. Lovely horses who know their job and are happy with it.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   7 November 2021

Linda who has been on 15 In The Saddle rides. The Amazing Dolphin Trail | More than met my expectations, the canters were so long and controlled as were the trots loved all of it, the horses are strong and very fit


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   7 November 2021

Wendy who has been on 7 In The Saddle rides. long. long canters ! | this ride offers long.long canters along forest and dirt tracks . There are also lots of very long trots too !
in addition to the tracks there are climbs up and down the hills with some lovely views
The horses are very sure footed, reliable and willing, a real joy to ride .


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Coastal Trail South to North

5 star rating   26 September 2021

Ann who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Superb experience | Yes more than, I was worried it wouldn't be fast enough for my husband who has a 'need for speed' but there were plenty of long collected canters on sandy tracks and we all rode forward going sweet tempered fit horses who were well schooled and cared for.
[Becky from the In The Saddle replies: We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the riding on this holiday.]


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   1 November 2020

Janet who has been on 9 In The Saddle rides. Portugal Alentejo Trails - Fabulous | Excellent


18 reviews