Reviews
18 reviews   
Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   27 October 2019

Ashley (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Wonderful Holiday in Portugal | Excellent


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   13 October 2019

Mary (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Brilliant | The rides were perfect for me after I got used to the horse which was kind and very safe and sure footed.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   6 October 2019

Caroline who has been on 10 In The Saddle rides. Amazing holiday, wonderful horses, beautiful country lots of fun! | Excellent


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   6 October 2019

who has been on In The Saddle rides. Fantastic Holiday in the sun | My horse was not what I’m used to riding and needed kicking on quite a lot but he was very well behaved and responsive so I just switched off at the back of the group most of the time rather than giving him a hard time.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   6 October 2019

Gwen who has been on 10 In The Saddle rides. Portugal Alentejo - Fabulous Portugal experience | All round excellent week, only thing would have been nice would if we could have had canters through open places, not just tracks.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   6 October 2019

Jane who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Dolphin Trail, Grandola, Portugal - Fab food, accommodation, horses, weather, guides and trails | Excellent


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   6 October 2019

Rosemary who has been on 7 In The Saddle rides. Great Ride | The trail provided different scenery every day. The horses were mainly forward going but extremely disciplined and a pleasure to ride. Highlights were the half day dolphin watching and the beach ride although due to the tide we couldn’t have a good gallop. This day was clearly a highlight for the horses as well as they were expecting a gallop too.
Miguel and Dennis looked after us brilliantly albeit with military precision.
Long days in the saddle so there was no slacking but the lunch time stops provided great food and ambience.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   6 October 2019

Lindy who has been on 10 In The Saddle rides. Dolphin Trail - Wonderful | We , The Mane-iacs are a group of 8/10 ladies in age group 50-73 yrs, who have been with In the Saddle on 9 riding holidays. Portugal rates very high....... couldn’t fault anything. The horses were good, interesting terrain and accommodation excellent. We were blessed with good weather too. Miguel was a super guide and Dennis was a good backup. They really looked after us. Thank you.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   6 October 2019

Lesley who has been on 10 In The Saddle rides. The whole holiday was brilliant, riding, horses,guides,accommodation,food,weather,swimming pools,dolphin trip. | Always a hard question to answer as you never know what to expect. Each day was different enjoyed by all of us. I think we were all expecting to be able to have more of a gallop on the beach but fully appreciated that the sand was far too deep and testing to only have a few short bursts. The horses welfare far more important and it was lovely to ride as the sun rose and hear the Atlantic waves crashing on the beach.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Coastal Trail North to South

5 star rating   15 September 2019

Julie (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Wonderful Experience | It was quite demanding & some on the holiday struggled. Perhaps a day off instead of 1/2 day could be an optional choice as the trip to the fishing village could of been for a day.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Coastal Trail South to North

5 star rating   9 June 2019

Nellie who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Amazing experience | The horses were extremely fit and well looked after.
The riding was amazing. Very comfortable saddles and the horses were very well mannered and responsive.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Coastal Trail North to South

5 star rating   2 June 2019

Bregje who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Good hotels, especially Verdemar, our last place where we stayed. Great food, best BBQ at lunch, fantastic horse!!! | My horse was the best, loved him! Fantastic match!


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Coastal Trail North to South

4 star rating   2 June 2019

Jockey123 who has been on 12 In The Saddle rides. Enjoyable ride | This ride was an enjoyable mix of terrains and countryside, looking particularly lovely in late Spring. I'm also into birding and hearing and seeing birds that are rare in UK was an added pleasure- even if Miguel, our guide, called everything that was not a stork a sparrow. It was also good to have more than one night at some locations so we didn't spend every morning re-packing. The weather was unseasonable hot and keeping adequately hydrated was an issue when their saddlebag only provided space for a single 500ml bottle.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   31 March 2019

Brdy who has been on 8 In The Saddle rides. Dolphin Trail Portugal | Excellent


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Bottlenose Trail

5 star rating   18 November 2018

Jen who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Great value riding holiday on fantastic horses | All the horses were fantastic and very well schooled. They were all confident and calm, not one put a foot wrong even when presented with many barking dogs in the villages. They were happy and content, always eager to go in the mornings but still very willing at the end of the day. A herd of well cared for horses. Tack was comfortable and in good condition but no saddle bags are provided or cords for tying clothes to the saddle. We ended up tying clothes round our waists which is not ideal.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   28 October 2018

Abbis (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Good horses, nice area, good food, nice accomondation. | 6 days in this area is 1 day too many. For me it would be nice with less pork for the meals. And a kettle in the hotel room would be a plus. But overall, very good.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   14 October 2018

Sarah who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Great fun | A fantastic holiday on well schooled forward going horses. Miguel made it all such fun and was very informative about the area, farming policies etc. Denis cooked first class barbecues and was always there when help was needed with the horses. Saddles were comfortable and the pace was good. I couldn't believe how excited the horses were to be on the beach when it was quite hard work for them.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   14 October 2018

Ros who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Dolphin experience, Portugal | I know we spoil our horses over hear and wouldn't dream of cantering on the hard stoney ground that they do and I know they are used to it, but it still doesn't sit easy with me.


18 reviews