Reviews
13 reviews   
Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   1 November 2018

6 days in this area is 1 day too many. For me it would be nice with less pork for the meals. And a kettle in the hotel room would be a plus. But overall, very good.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   22 October 2018

A fantastic holiday on well schooled forward going horses. Miguel made it all such fun and was very informative about the area, farming policies etc. Denis cooked first class barbecues and was always there when help was needed with the horses. Saddles were comfortable and the pace was good. I couldn't believe how excited the horses were to be on the beach when it was quite hard work for them.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   18 October 2018

I know we spoil our horses over hear and wouldn't dream of cantering on the hard stoney ground that they do and I know they are used to it, but it still doesn't sit easy with me.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Coastal Trail South to North

4 star rating   3 October 2018

The first day of riding was really long and tasking for me personally, especially in the heat because I forgot to take my cool towel. The canters on that day were so long too, I just wasn't used to it and it showed me how unfit I really was. I wasn't the oldest one there but I think I was the unfitest, if thats an actual word. Maybe a shorter day to start with would have been a better option but that said, the others seemed to cope better than me.
Now I've been back home a little while I can honestly say that I actually miss Portugal and the riding holiday experience. I never thought I would feel like this especially after getting heat stroke on the first day and feeling really ill.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Coastal Trail South to North

5 star rating   18 June 2018

this is a really relaxing trail to suit anyone who enjoys riding. They have horses that will suit those who like a forward going horse to those who want a quiet steady ride and all are well mannered when you are handling them. The countryside you ride through is quiet and picturesque, when we were there in june the whole countryside was carpeted with wild flowers.
There is ony one day with a very early start when you go to the beach, on most days breakfast is at 9 and leave after 10, so it feels like a holiday on a horse.
The food is really good with more than you can eat, the lunchtime picnic is fresh cooked meat or fish with wine everyday.
We enjoyed it so much we have booked to go on the kingdom of the lusitano next year, i highly recomend this ride.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Bottlenose Trail

5 star rating   19 March 2018

The horses and riding exceeded my expectations. They were all so responsive and clearly extremely happy and well cared for. We had challenging weather .... torrential rain, gales, thunder and even a hail storm ... the horses were calm and willing no matter what .... even if at times the riders were feeling less so! The terrain was more varied than I expected and we had much longer canters than I had hoped for. It says it all about this trip that even though we had pretty dreadful weather most days I still loved every moment. The highlight for me was riding through swollen rivers, water rushing over my feet ... I have the rain to thank for that!


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Dolphin Trail

4 star rating   24 October 2017

Long days riding but overall good.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Bottlenose Trail

5 star rating   13 October 2017

The saddle was comfortable for both horse and rider.

The Dolphin Trail - not sure what I was expecting but the basic B&B's were far from basic and what lovely people the Portuguese are!

The guide is so enthusiastic and well organised. The food and accommodation was lovely.

Lovely company, landscapes, history and a very welcome swim in the dam.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Coastal Trail North to South

5 star rating   25 September 2017

I changed horse after one day, because I fell off. The second horse was perfect!


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Dolphin Trail

4 star rating   22 June 2017

We had a good ride but had less and not as fast canters as before.
We are a group of experienced riders and we look for trails at a high level. What we see is that more and more riders are going on trails who cannot handle their horse and who cannot sit good in a saddle.
It would be a good thing to make a test before the trails starts.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Bottlenose Trail

5 star rating   2 December 2016

I have done this trail at least 4 times now and love every minute of it.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   19 October 2016

All riders were very well matched to their horses. There were several long trots and canters and a wonderful gallop on the beach. Portuguese army saddles were very heavy to lift on and off, particularly as mine also had saddle bags, but there was always help a hand. Riding was great particularly on the days we were on sandy tracks.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   19 October 2016

The horses were all well behaved, forward going and everyone was matched well. The riding was excellent with some very long canters in beautiful country.


13 reviews