Reviews
18 reviews   
Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   13 October 2019

The rides were perfect for me after I got used to the horse which was kind and very safe and sure footed.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   6 October 2019

Excellent


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   6 October 2019

My horse was not what I’m used to riding and needed kicking on quite a lot but he was very well behaved and responsive so I just switched off at the back of the group most of the time rather than giving him a hard time.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   6 October 2019

All round excellent week, only thing would have been nice would if we could have had canters through open places, not just tracks.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   6 October 2019

Excellent


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   6 October 2019

The trail provided different scenery every day. The horses were mainly forward going but extremely disciplined and a pleasure to ride. Highlights were the half day dolphin watching and the beach ride although due to the tide we couldn’t have a good gallop. This day was clearly a highlight for the horses as well as they were expecting a gallop too.
Miguel and Dennis looked after us brilliantly albeit with military precision.
Long days in the saddle so there was no slacking but the lunch time stops provided great food and ambience.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   6 October 2019

We , The Mane-iacs are a group of 8/10 ladies in age group 50-73 yrs, who have been with In the Saddle on 9 riding holidays. Portugal rates very high....... couldn’t fault anything. The horses were good, interesting terrain and accommodation excellent. We were blessed with good weather too. Miguel was a super guide and Dennis was a good backup. They really looked after us. Thank you.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   6 October 2019

Always a hard question to answer as you never know what to expect. Each day was different enjoyed by all of us. I think we were all expecting to be able to have more of a gallop on the beach but fully appreciated that the sand was far too deep and testing to only have a few short bursts. The horses welfare far more important and it was lovely to ride as the sun rose and hear the Atlantic waves crashing on the beach.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Coastal Trail North to South

5 star rating   15 September 2019

It was quite demanding & some on the holiday struggled. Perhaps a day off instead of 1/2 day could be an optional choice as the trip to the fishing village could of been for a day.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Coastal Trail South to North

5 star rating   9 June 2019

The horses were extremely fit and well looked after.
The riding was amazing. Very comfortable saddles and the horses were very well mannered and responsive.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Coastal Trail North to South

5 star rating   2 June 2019

My horse was the best, loved him! Fantastic match!


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   31 March 2019

Excellent


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Bottlenose Trail

5 star rating   18 November 2018

All the horses were fantastic and very well schooled. They were all confident and calm, not one put a foot wrong even when presented with many barking dogs in the villages. They were happy and content, always eager to go in the mornings but still very willing at the end of the day. A herd of well cared for horses. Tack was comfortable and in good condition but no saddle bags are provided or cords for tying clothes to the saddle. We ended up tying clothes round our waists which is not ideal.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   28 October 2018

6 days in this area is 1 day too many. For me it would be nice with less pork for the meals. And a kettle in the hotel room would be a plus. But overall, very good.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   14 October 2018

A fantastic holiday on well schooled forward going horses. Miguel made it all such fun and was very informative about the area, farming policies etc. Denis cooked first class barbecues and was always there when help was needed with the horses. Saddles were comfortable and the pace was good. I couldn't believe how excited the horses were to be on the beach when it was quite hard work for them.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   14 October 2018

I know we spoil our horses over hear and wouldn't dream of cantering on the hard stoney ground that they do and I know they are used to it, but it still doesn't sit easy with me.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Coastal Trail South to North

5 star rating   10 June 2018

this is a really relaxing trail to suit anyone who enjoys riding. They have horses that will suit those who like a forward going horse to those who want a quiet steady ride and all are well mannered when you are handling them. The countryside you ride through is quiet and picturesque, when we were there in june the whole countryside was carpeted with wild flowers.
There is ony one day with a very early start when you go to the beach, on most days breakfast is at 9 and leave after 10, so it feels like a holiday on a horse.
The food is really good with more than you can eat, the lunchtime picnic is fresh cooked meat or fish with wine everyday.
We enjoyed it so much we have booked to go on the kingdom of the lusitano next year, i highly recomend this ride.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Bottlenose Trail

5 star rating   11 March 2018

The horses and riding exceeded my expectations. They were all so responsive and clearly extremely happy and well cared for. We had challenging weather .... torrential rain, gales, thunder and even a hail storm ... the horses were calm and willing no matter what .... even if at times the riders were feeling less so! The terrain was more varied than I expected and we had much longer canters than I had hoped for. It says it all about this trip that even though we had pretty dreadful weather most days I still loved every moment. The highlight for me was riding through swollen rivers, water rushing over my feet ... I have the rain to thank for that!


18 reviews