Reviews
28 reviews   
Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

5 star rating   14 March 2020

Fiona (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fabulous time with lovely Lusitanos! 🙂 | The horses were highly trained and very responsive; the instructors often changes horses to help you improve your riding and learn/experience specific movements.
Instructors are very passionate about their horses and helping you get as much as you can from you tuition.
It was lovely to be as hands on with your horse as you wanted to be; grooming, tacking up etc.
A lovely bonus was to see how their breeding programme works; the day I arrived a foal was born!
Right from the instructors down to the groom/chef/cleaners, I felt like one of the family by the time I left. 🙂


Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

4 star rating   29 November 2019

Henriette Hvid (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) All the horses were well schooled, but some were better than others in gaits and agility. The boxes were a little small for some of the horses. The tack ranged from "good condition to easier worn." I was challenged on my riding skills that I can use on the horses at home in Denmark. This is not the last time I book a holiday with Rid & Rejs.


Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

5 star rating   19 November 2019

Graham who has been on 8 In The Saddle rides. Excellent | Instruction was brilliant. You often are asked to do things whilst riding, carry your hands at a certain height, sit on this or that seat bone, but not often are the effects of the aids explained in detail. George was excellent at doing this. I enjoyed his and Renato's lessons very much and look forward to a return visit.


Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

5 star rating   15 November 2019

Caroline who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic | Excellent


Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

5 star rating   27 June 2019

F (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Piaffes in Portugal | had wanted to go on a dressage holiday and it was certainly that. The dressage teaching, schoolmaster level of the horses and therefore the level of execution possible even for me was to a level that I have not been able to access at local riding schools.


Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

5 star rating   12 June 2019

Myrla (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Horses were excellent.


Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

5 star rating   12 June 2019

Golondrina (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Exactly what I wanted. | I was very impressed with the quality of the horses and their training and I was very pleased with how much I learned.


Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

5 star rating   21 May 2019

Dressage Fan who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Alcainca dressage | Excellent instructors and wonderful horses. Tack somewhat stiff - especially the reins which is difficult for people with small hands.


Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

5 star rating   8 April 2019

Caro (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Wonderful Horses and Instructors | It rained and was cold the whole stay, so we weren’t able to ride outside. Other than that I had a wonderful time there! I found one horse that I liked, and others that I didn’t like that much..


Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

4 star rating   8 April 2019

Fjord horse (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Good or Very Good


Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

5 star rating   8 April 2019

Portugal (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Amazing | Excellent


Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

5 star rating   5 April 2019

Frida Aasdol (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Great | Excellent


Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

4 star rating   5 April 2019

Regine (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Good or Very Good


Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

4 star rating   5 April 2019

Juliane (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Good or Very Good


Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

5 star rating   2 April 2019

Silje (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) It was good | Yes it did.


Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

4 star rating   30 March 2019

Gritte (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Exciting | Good or Very Good


Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

5 star rating   30 March 2019

Katrine (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Very good. | Excellent


Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

4 star rating   30 March 2019

Sigrid (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fun | Yes, it was good. Maybe a little more variety of the exercises and horses.


Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

5 star rating   9 February 2019

Annette (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Classical dressage | Very good instruction, good accommodation and meals. A lovely setbup


Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

4 star rating   8 November 2018

Rockhopper who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Riding Portuguese style | All 3 instructors very good
Patient and gave me a chance to try new things


Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

4 star rating   8 November 2018

Caroline who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Learned a lot about Dressage | I needed to refresh my basic riding skills and learn basic introductory skills in dressage, these were all met.


Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

2 star rating   27 October 2018

Bodil (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) The horses were in small boxes after Danish conditions and did not get out in fields while we were there. The saddles were somewhat different, both newer Kentauer and very old Passions saddles. There were, however, generally used with gel saddle pads.


Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

4 star rating   19 October 2018

Pernille who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Alcainca - Portugal | Good or Very Good


Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

4 star rating   12 October 2018

Inny who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Good, with reservations | I've done this holiday twice before and this time I was surprised at how 'naughty' the horses were. There was quite a bit of spooking and bucking and one woman's horse reared up. I thought it was quite good fun really, but I can imagine not everyone would feel like that. [In The Saddle comment: We are sorry to hear that you had these experiences with the horses. This is unusual to hear and we will investigate this further with our partners.]

For the very last lesson I was put on the most fantastic, responsive horse ever and when I asked why I wasn't put on him before I was told that they didn't think I was capable!

George wasn't there. It was just Paolo and Renato that were teaching and their teaching style is mostly wait until something goes wrong and then shout. Neither of them liked to be questioned or challenged.

But, nevertheless, I got to do loads of riding, eat some lovely home-cooked food and meet some nice interesting people.


Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

5 star rating   29 June 2018

Trevor (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Excellent


Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

5 star rating   12 June 2018

Kat who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Alcainca | Had a very enjoyable experience learning the more advanced moves of dressage on school master horses. All of the horses I rode at Alcainca were well trained, safe but forward! Instruction was clear and easy to follow.


Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

2 star rating   22 April 2018

Helle Birk (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Portugal - Alcainca | The horses were very nice. The outdoor arena was under repair and the indoor arena was a bit small - especially when we rode 3 people (they even suggested we had to ride 4).
It's a bit bad that you had to ride in a row, as only the 1st rider got an experienced "self-riding".
The instruction was generally nice after some initial difficulties understanding the orders. One a time we had to find George on the terrain 1/2 hour after the agreed start of riding and then agree for another time for a lesson. A little annoying for our day planning, when we were 4 persons, who has to coordinate. Otherwise, all riding was very nice.


Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

1 star rating   22 April 2018

Sascha (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Very well-trained horses. Paulo was a very pleasant teacher.
I think the lessons were a little too short.


28 reviews