Reviews
18 reviews   
Alcainca - Portugal
Experience Level

Riding Holiday

4 star rating   19 November 2018

All 3 instructors very good
Patient and gave me a chance to try new things


Alcainca - Portugal
Experience Level

Riding Holiday

4 star rating   15 November 2018

I needed to refresh my basic riding skills and learn basic introductory skills in dressage, these were all met.


Alcainca - Portugal
Experience Level

Riding Holiday

2 star rating   2 November 2018

The horses were in small boxes after Danish conditions and did not get out in fields while we were there. The saddles were somewhat different, both newer Kentauer and very old Passions saddles. There were, however, generally used with gel saddle pads.


Alcainca - Portugal
Experience Level

Riding Holiday

4 star rating   29 October 2018

I've done this holiday twice before and this time I was surprised at how 'naughty' the horses were. There was quite a bit of spooking and bucking and one woman's horse reared up. I thought it was quite good fun really, but I can imagine not everyone would feel like that. [In The Saddle comment: We are sorry to hear that you had these experiences with the horses. This is unusual to hear and we will investigate this further with our partners.]

For the very last lesson I was put on the most fantastic, responsive horse ever and when I asked why I wasn't put on him before I was told that they didn't think I was capable!

George wasn't there. It was just Paolo and Renato that were teaching and their teaching style is mostly wait until something goes wrong and then shout. Neither of them liked to be questioned or challenged.

But, nevertheless, I got to do loads of riding, eat some lovely home-cooked food and meet some nice interesting people.


Alcainca - Portugal
Experience Level

Riding Holiday

5 star rating   15 June 2018

Had a very enjoyable experience learning the more advanced moves of dressage on school master horses. All of the horses I rode at Alcainca were well trained, safe but forward! Instruction was clear and easy to follow.


Alcainca - Portugal
Experience Level

Riding Holiday

2 star rating   30 April 2018

The horses were very nice. The outdoor arena was under repair and the indoor arena was a bit small - especially when we rode 3 people (they even suggested we had to ride 4).
It's a bit bad that you had to ride in a row, as only the 1st rider got an experienced "self-riding".
The instruction was generally nice after some initial difficulties understanding the orders. One a time we had to find George on the terrain 1/2 hour after the agreed start of riding and then agree for another time for a lesson. A little annoying for our day planning, when we were 4 persons, who has to coordinate. Otherwise, all riding was very nice.


Alcainca - Portugal
Experience Level

Riding Holiday

1 star rating   26 April 2018

Very well-trained horses. Paulo was a very pleasant teacher.
I think the lessons were a little too short.


Alcainca - Portugal
Experience Level

Riding Holiday

4 star rating   10 April 2018

Good to get control on the lateral movements - shoulder in etc


Alcainca - Portugal
Experience Level

Riding Holiday

5 star rating   19 February 2018

Went not really knowing what to expect and was very pleasantly surprised. Horses were all excellent, and staff all extremely knowledgeable, kind and pleasant.


Alcainca - Portugal
Experience Level

Riding Holiday

4 star rating   5 October 2017

I was accommodated with the lessons to suit my riding ability. The instructors are very passionate about the correct use of the aids and sometimes could get a little frustrated, probably due to the language getting lost in translation.
Overall I learnt lots.


Alcainca - Portugal
Experience Level

Riding Holiday

5 star rating   15 June 2017

Great trip, will return.


Alcainca - Portugal
Experience Level

Riding Holiday

5 star rating   31 May 2017

The instructors master wisely to match horse and rider in relation to riding level, and there is a great focus on safety.


Alcainca - Portugal
Experience Level

Riding Holiday

5 star rating   19 May 2017

The outdoor arena footing was our only slight criticism. It was deep but the horses seemed to do fine in it. Perhaps more regular grooming might help. The horses as always were wonderful and everyone went out of their way to be helpful. Lena, even though she speaks no English, was very friendly and welcoming, took us to the local church (I think she is sacristan) and gave us a tour, it is a small village church but just beautiful. Also she cooked special meals for the vegetarians and provided gluten free bread for Linda who cannot eat gluten.


Alcainca - Portugal
Experience Level

Riding Holiday

5 star rating   19 May 2017

I loved my holiday at Alcainca, great horses and facilities, very well educated trainers, lovely place, fabulouse food and all people around very kind and nice.


Alcainca - Portugal
Experience Level

Riding Holiday

4 star rating   4 February 2017

It is important that the riders who goes to Alcainca ride on a high level - not for beginners.


Alcainca - Portugal
Experience Level

Riding Holiday

5 star rating   14 December 2016

You had to get used to the way of instruction. Southern European people have a slightly different way to express themselves than us from the Nordic countries - maybe a little louder and a different temperament. I would recommend the holiday to others, but you have to be prepare mentally for that to get things to know in a little more harsh tone than what you are used to from home. For me it was fine when I had got used to it after a few lessons, but mentally you have to just be prepared if you are not used to it.


Alcainca - Portugal
Experience Level

Riding Holiday

5 star rating   8 December 2016

It was a pleasure to learn dressage on highly trained Lusitanos from George Mallerone and Paulo. The farm is low-key, small scale and has a nice indoor arena as well as a large outdoor one. The 60 degree F temperature was perfect for riding (late November). The instructors are highly trained and experienced and are used to instructing top level riders. My daughter took 2 one and a half hour lessons a day, with her and one other rider and rode several different horses over the week, all of which were fabulously trained and lovely. I am a casual rider, without "ambition" per se, but took one lesson a day which actually inspired me to want to do more dressage with my own horse.
Alcainca was a fabulous experience overall and I would love to do it again some day.


Alcainca - Portugal
Experience Level

Riding Holiday

4 star rating   16 November 2016

I did swap two lessons for instruction in Working Equitation. It was super fun to try! Perhaps Rid & Rejs might consider riding holiday / course in WE, or that offer you could have half of each, dressage and WE.
One instructors was annoying screaming too much. It does not make sense for me to pay for instruction for then to also be yelled at. I am not sensitive or difficult, and it was not aimed at me personally, it was everyone. It is probably just his"style";. He was sweet, friendly etc ..... just quite annoying as an instructor. I reckon he just was very passionate …… BUT, and should certainly be highlighted, I have learned a lot.
I had a little trouble at first with the English riding-technical terms. Can not remember if I received the English terms? Otherwise Ride & Rejs may want to consider them as part of the "pre-material". Just a suggestion. I was super happy for stay and would love to again. I will then probably prefer the other instructor 😉


18 reviews