Reviews
10 reviews   
African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa
Experience Level

African Explorer

5 star rating   17 May 2019

Excellent


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa
Experience Level

African Explorer

5 star rating   3 May 2019

In South Africa the canter stretches were very short / slow - also a lot shorter / slower than last time I was there. Therefore only satisfied on the pace. Otherwise there was nice variation in the terrain, but it was also not as challenging as last time I visit. In Botswana was the canters were longer and faster, but for safety reasons (ie because of the possibility of suddenly encountering dangerous game) the pace was still kept at canter and not gallop. I am therefore very satisfied with the riding in Botswana, although I generally like a little more pace and challenge in the terrain.
I was also very pleased with the two horses they had chosen for me in South Africa and Botswana, - and then I would like to also add that both places the horses are well cared for, which is also of great importance to the experience.


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa
Experience Level

African Explorer

5 star rating   21 March 2019

Horses were well cared for and brilliant at their job. Tack was clean and in excellent condition


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa
Experience Level

African Explorer

5 star rating   7 December 2018

In these countries (South Africa and Botswana) they don't use "trot". All the horses I had were very good.


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa
Experience Level

African Explorer

4 star rating   24 August 2018

It did and the riding was wonderful! However I felt the description of my riding ability provided to the stables in Africa was a little outdated.


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa
Experience Level

African Explorer

5 star rating   30 March 2018

Great riding holiday on good horses in a beautiful terrain. We saw all the wild animals, did swim with our horses, long canters on the Savannah and had game drive while the sun went down. High service.


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa
Experience Level

African Explorer

4 star rating   30 March 2018

Despite delayed arrival, we had a great holiday. However, it seemed that the pace in South Africa was sometimes a little too fast, compared to my desire to have time to see the surroundings


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa
Experience Level

African Explorer

5 star rating   9 February 2018

despite coming off once - i was matched with all the other horses i think Bosman HRH in botswana had a bad day - i tried him a second time but i gues he did not want me .....lol - deffo preferred his guide …


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa
Experience Level

African Explorer

5 star rating   22 December 2017

Riding was varied and the guides accommodated as to our wishes.


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa
Experience Level

African Explorer

5 star rating   22 September 2017

The riding was fun. At Horizon, we had a wonderful guide, lots of fun canters and gallops. It is a rather small reserve, I was ready to move on by the fourth day. Very glad to have gotten to Botswana, which was very different riding, wonderful in its own way. I will say that in Botswana, we all had the impression that we could ride abreast. There were many photos of people doing so. It was much better, and safer, to ride in line. We had some very forward horses, some of whom really wanted to race - even with the Guide! It was so amazing to be on horseback and come upon the beautiful antelope and giraffes, jackels and so many elephants! Really fantastic trip…


10 reviews