Reviews
14 reviews   
African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa

African Explorer

5 star rating   22 November 2019

Definitely to be recommended


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa

African Explorer

5 star rating   18 October 2019

The riding in SA was a mixture of walk and fast paced short canters for roughly 3 hours at a time. Terrain was almost sandy, with rocky hills - the canters were fast along tracks or weaving through bushes. Great fun.
The riding in Bots was a mixture of walking and long controlled canters, riding for approx 6 hours at a time. Terrain was dusty and rocky, with a lot of thorny bushes. Canters were either in open spaces, or through the bushes. Be prepared for long canters (they go on and on!).


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa

African Explorer

5 star rating   20 September 2019

Yes my expectations were met.


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa

African Explorer

5 star rating   20 September 2019

At both camps the staff kept making sure you were still happy with your horse.

The horses had good manners and were easy to ride. I felt totally confident that whatever I asked of either of the horses I rode they would deliver.


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa

African Explorer

5 star rating   6 September 2019

South Africa safari was a good warm up preparation for the much faster, longer rides in Botswana.


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa

African Explorer

5 star rating   9 August 2019

Excellent surrounding and nice horses. I performed some more jumping- much easier riding than expected.


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa

African Explorer

5 star rating   14 June 2019

I loved my Gazelle at Horizon, and Rodeo at Tuli.
The horse welfare seems to be a very high priority, and they did their best to match us with the horses and give us the option to change if we wanted (no one did!).
I did have a bit of a sore on my leg from the saddle at Horizon, but didn't notice it myself till I got in the shower that evening so just one of those things and they helped to adjust buckles the next day to sort it out.


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa

African Explorer

5 star rating   17 May 2019

Excellent


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa

African Explorer

5 star rating   3 May 2019

In South Africa the canter stretches were very short / slow - also a lot shorter / slower than last time I was there. Therefore only satisfied on the pace. Otherwise there was nice variation in the terrain, but it was also not as challenging as last time I visit. In Botswana was the canters were longer and faster, but for safety reasons (ie because of the possibility of suddenly encountering dangerous game) the pace was still kept at canter and not gallop. I am therefore very satisfied with the riding in Botswana, although I generally like a little more pace and challenge in the terrain.
I was also very pleased with the two horses they had chosen for me in South Africa and Botswana, - and then I would like to also add that both places the horses are well cared for, which is also of great importance to the experience.


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa

African Explorer

5 star rating   21 March 2019

Horses were well cared for and brilliant at their job. Tack was clean and in excellent condition


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa

African Explorer

5 star rating   7 December 2018

In these countries (South Africa and Botswana) they don't use "trot". All the horses I had were very good.


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa

African Explorer

5 star rating   30 March 2018

Great riding holiday on good horses in a beautiful terrain. We saw all the wild animals, did swim with our horses, long canters on the Savannah and had game drive while the sun went down. High service.


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa

African Explorer

5 star rating   9 February 2018

despite coming off once - i was matched with all the other horses i think Bosman HRH in botswana had a bad day - i tried him a second time but i gues he did not want me .....lol - deffo preferred his guide …


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa

African Explorer

5 star rating   22 December 2017

Riding was varied and the guides accommodated as to our wishes.


14 reviews