Reviews
14 reviews   
African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa

African Explorer

5 star rating   31 January 2020

Sarah-Lee who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Amazing | Excellent


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa

African Explorer

5 star rating   29 November 2019

Emily who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Absolutely Spectacular | Fantastic riding. We were fortunate enough to have a brave group and were treated to endless winding canters. Being able to spread out in Botswana and pop over fallen logs has spoiled us forever. Canters were long but steady and well balanced with walking in the heat.

The horses are wonderful, brave as can be, responsive and happy in their jobs. The evaluation in Botswana was very nice and provided the opportunity to adjust horses to the desired level.

The guides were wonderful and knowledgeable and we saw far more wildlife than we ever expected, both in the saddle and out. By the end of the trip it felt like a (very adventurous) hack out with good friends. It was a true once in a lifetime experience..except that we’re already planning to go back!! [Sarah from In The Saddle comments: It is wonderful to see that you had an amazing time on this safari and you really must go back sometme!]


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa

African Explorer

5 star rating   22 November 2019

Cathy who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. A great varied trip | Definitely to be recommended


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa

African Explorer

5 star rating   18 October 2019

Lucinda (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Most incredible experience. | The riding in SA was a mixture of walk and fast paced short canters for roughly 3 hours at a time. Terrain was almost sandy, with rocky hills - the canters were fast along tracks or weaving through bushes. Great fun.
The riding in Bots was a mixture of walking and long controlled canters, riding for approx 6 hours at a time. Terrain was dusty and rocky, with a lot of thorny bushes. Canters were either in open spaces, or through the bushes. Be prepared for long canters (they go on and on!).


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa

African Explorer

5 star rating   20 September 2019

Michele (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Amazing views. | Yes my expectations were met.


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa

African Explorer

5 star rating   20 September 2019

Susan who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Back to Africa. | At both camps the staff kept making sure you were still happy with your horse.

The horses had good manners and were easy to ride. I felt totally confident that whatever I asked of either of the horses I rode they would deliver.


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa

African Explorer

5 star rating   6 September 2019

Alison (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) An adventure of a lifetime. | South Africa safari was a good warm up preparation for the much faster, longer rides in Botswana.


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa

African Explorer

5 star rating   9 August 2019

Astrid (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Riding Safari | Excellent surrounding and nice horses. I performed some more jumping- much easier riding than expected.


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa

African Explorer

5 star rating   14 June 2019

Fi who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Exceeded all expectations | I loved my Gazelle at Horizon, and Rodeo at Tuli.
The horse welfare seems to be a very high priority, and they did their best to match us with the horses and give us the option to change if we wanted (no one did!).
I did have a bit of a sore on my leg from the saddle at Horizon, but didn't notice it myself till I got in the shower that evening so just one of those things and they helped to adjust buckles the next day to sort it out.


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa

African Explorer

5 star rating   17 May 2019

Laura (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Simply majestic and amazing | Excellent


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa

African Explorer

5 star rating   3 May 2019

Maria Lundgren who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. In South Africa the canter stretches were very short / slow - also a lot shorter / slower than last time I was there. Therefore only satisfied on the pace. Otherwise there was nice variation in the terrain, but it was also not as challenging as last time I visit. In Botswana was the canters were longer and faster, but for safety reasons (ie because of the possibility of suddenly encountering dangerous game) the pace was still kept at canter and not gallop. I am therefore very satisfied with the riding in Botswana, although I generally like a little more pace and challenge in the terrain.
I was also very pleased with the two horses they had chosen for me in South Africa and Botswana, - and then I would like to also add that both places the horses are well cared for, which is also of great importance to the experience.


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa

African Explorer

5 star rating   21 March 2019

ONEVIZSLA who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Outstanding in every way | Horses were well cared for and brilliant at their job. Tack was clean and in excellent condition


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa

African Explorer

5 star rating   7 December 2018

Zazou (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) African Explorer - South Africa and Botswana | In these countries (South Africa and Botswana) they don't use "trot". All the horses I had were very good.


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa

African Explorer

4 star rating   24 August 2018

Heather who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. African explorer | It did and the riding was wonderful! However I felt the description of my riding ability provided to the stables in Africa was a little outdated.


14 reviews