Reviews
1074 reviews    1 2 3 34
African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa
Experience Level

African Explorer

5 star rating   13 December 2018

In these countries (South Africa and Botswana) they don't use "trot". All the horses I had were very good.


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   11 December 2018

Horses were extremely fit and well cared for. Very safe and steady to ride. They were responsive and controllable individually, even on the beach!


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   10 December 2018

Rachel is a veritable magician at matching her variety of "guest-proof," sure-footed, extraordinarily fit set of horses to visitors. Everyone in our group had mounts that perfectly suited not just riding ability but personality, with the result that every single one of us would have taken our horse home in a heartbeat.


Kambaku Safari Lodge - Namibia
Experience Level

Kambaku Safari Lodge

4 star rating   10 December 2018

I was very pleased with my horse, Omandudu, who I rode almost every riding session - he was very responsive and friendly and had a lovely smooth gait. Chris did not get on with the first horse he was allocated (Pockel) but the staff soon chose another horse (Oshaly) who was perfect. Chris was able to ride him for the rest of the stay. The terrain was flat and not very varied as the landscape was the same over the whole reserve and, because of the time of year, everything looked brown and dry. Many of the trees looked dead or had been affected by last year's fire.
However while riding we saw many animals - zebra, giraffes, many different antelope, warthogs and a good number of interesting birds.
The pace of rides was nice and varied with some very long fast canters on winding, sandy tracks - it was especially exhilarating galloping alongside a herd of zebra!
Because it was so hot in the middle of the day (40 degrees plus) the staff were very flexible and arranged the morning ride at 6.30 and the afternoon ride at 5.30pm, at our request.


Horses, Dunes & Nomads - Morocco
Experience Level

Horses, Dunes & Nomads

5 star rating   7 December 2018

Just perfect. Both my horses, Cheb and Bahr, were a joy to ride.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   7 December 2018

All in excellent condition as ever


Quinta do Rol - Portugal
Experience Level

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   6 December 2018

As a repeat customer of Quinta Do Rol, i come back elated with my vastly improved mastery of equitation. The quality of the horses with their phenomenal care headed up by Pedro never cease to impress.
Highly recommended ! Horses heaven, i just wish it was on my back door.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores and Portugal
Experience Level

Atlantis Ride

4 star rating   6 December 2018

I asked to keep riding the same horse - and they granted my request. As I had recently been riding Western, they offered me a Western saddle - which I accepted. The last two days had good lengths of trots and canters and were almost all off road. I enjoyed them but the early week was dreary with a lot of road work - which I hate. As I had opted for 17 hours not 24, the junior member of staff on Monday and Tuesday rides treated me like a child/beginner. I am not the world's best rider but I have a lot of experience so this was extremely irritating. I do not need telling how to go up and down slopes multiple times. I do not want an "OK?" after 100m of slow trot.
The tack was beautifully simple and uniform, a snaffle on every horse and not a spare piece of leather anywhere. However, I did find the lack of a saddle bag irritating. I don't own one - and what type would I buy to fit an unknown saddle? It would also take me out of hand luggage travel weight (10kg). There was nowhere to keep my sketch book or paints and nowhere to put a discarded garment or keep a bottle of water. The last two did not matter in winter, but it summer would be important. One of the other riders had fainted with dehydration on a previous visit.
The immaculate appearance of the horses was maintained. When they rolled at lunch, they were groomed before the afternoon remount.


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

4 star rating   5 December 2018

I was definitely bottom of the class! but positively showed how much I have to learn. Had a different teacher each day and each did have their own approach/preferences but all was useful. I think they had a lot more they could have taught had I been more advanced


Assam Tea Gardens - India
Experience Level

Heritage Ride

5 star rating   5 December 2018

Lovely forward going horses with really comfortable saddles. The horses were well turnout. We went to the stables too and saw how well kept they were. Good sized clean stables with excellent facilities for the horses


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   5 December 2018

The horses were well matched to riders ability, the staff really listened to the sort of mount you preferred and found a horse to suit.

The experience here is all about viewing the game and yet the long canters are an immense amount of fun!


Lesotho Expedition - Lesotho and South Africa
Experience Level

Lesotho Expedition

5 star rating   3 December 2018

Although not big the horses were brillant. I've been on many rides but these horses ability over rough ground is outstanding, sure footed ,willing and very sensible and yet quick when the terrine allows. This was a mixed pace ride, much at walk as you climbed and descended the mountains but then wonderful gallops on the mountain tops where the ground is relatively flat. All this whilst surrounded by amazing scenery.
Saddles also very comfortable and in good condition..


Pushkar Fair - India
Experience Level

Pushkar Trail (with Ranthambore) 9 nights

5 star rating   3 December 2018

Bonnie and Prakash looked after us so well on the rides and Sunaya was amazing in terms of her organisation and support. Their experience, kindness, maturity and customer service the riding was incredibly well organised with regard to safety (traffic) and managing the pace of a large group. The best experience I've had with In The Saddle in terms of consistent care, mindfulness with regards to the customer and professionalism. leadership at it's best.

I'm also hugely grateful to Lucy and the travel team in India for their incredible patience and assistance with my plan changes and late bookings. Thank you so much


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

4 star rating   3 December 2018

Sensibly, I was under-horsed for my first ride and then my feedback taken to ensure I rode a few different and suitable horses. All safe, responsive and with personality.


Tropical Sands - Mozambique
Experience Level

African Paradise - Four Nights

4 star rating   3 December 2018

I probably expected a little more challenging riding in relation to the terrain.


Pushkar Fair - India
Experience Level

Pushkar Fair Forts & Palaces full ride

5 star rating   30 November 2018

Anju was a very nice horse with so much stamina! Her only "problem" is that she actually trotted constantly for 6 days


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   30 November 2018

A few of the rides could have had a faster pace although generally the rides were an excellent combination of walk for game viewing and long canters on tracks. On a couple of the rides the group was of a very mixed range of ability, however the guide coped well with this and ensured that everyone enjoyed the ride.


Mlilwane Explorer - eSwatini (formerly Swaziland)
Experience Level

World Horse Welfare Mlilwane Explorer

5 star rating   29 November 2018

Fantastic well trained horses- all matched to us individually- in great condition- fit- happy healthy animals.
Went as a sponsored ride for WORLD HORSE WELFARE- so there was quite a few of us-


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Short Break

5 star rating   29 November 2018

Riding and horses fantastic as usual, Rachel is so good at knowing which horses you like to ride and everyone in the group was very happy.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   28 November 2018

The riding blew my expectations out of the water, it was amazing! What I really loved was that we had so many opportunities to canter and gallop. it really was amazing. The horses are fantastic and the guides are fabulous.


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Beach Trails (7 nights)

5 star rating   28 November 2018

I really enjoyed my riding experience on the Wild Coast. Loved the horse I had, pace and terrain were excellent and guides exceptional.


Tuli Trail - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Trail

5 star rating   28 November 2018

Right from the beginning from the booklet of what to expect ,advice what to take the itinerary even included my flight details which I booked ,
Met up with Lindy and her lovely horses after some lunch we We’re introduced to are horse, after a brief ride for 5min,we set off to
are first camp, the standard of the tents, beds, food .throughout each camp was fantastic,
Some of the many highlights were the baboons about 30 of them running through the camp at 6:00 in the morning, the sighting of a leopard under a clump of bushes when the leopard Told us we were close enough with a growl the horse only jump side ways ,,,,didn’t bolt off, and the heynena cubs just 5yards away, the fathers taking them back in his mouth to safer ground, cantering with the giraffe and widerbeast,the horses side stepping the rocks in canter, we saw lots more animals and birds, Thank you to every one the guides the Cooke’s and grooms for a fantastic holiday hope to see you next year jeff pritchard November 2018


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   28 November 2018

All the horses were very well behaved, fun and safe. They were all extremely well looked after as was the tack. The riding was fun, varied and exciting.


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   28 November 2018

The riding at Monte Velho was amazing. During lessons, I was well matched to my horses and the tuition was excellent and very encouraging, with good focus on strengths and areas for improvement. I liked that different instructors focused on different areas. The horses were beautifully turned out every time and cared for to the highest standards. I also enjoyed two trail rides where I was able to ride the same horse both times, and there were good opportunities for cantering and exploring different areas across beautiful countryside.


Fairs & Festivals - India
Experience Level

Fairs & Festivals

5 star rating   28 November 2018

It is a privilege to ride with Bonnie Singh. An elegant man, he takes particular care of his Marwari horses, the people on his staff and his guests.
Sunayana quietly takes care of all details so things run smoothly.
Riding in the small rural villages was wonderful - children greeting us with big eyes and wide smiles. Between the villages, the timeless biblical beauty of the fields - women harvesting, balancing objects on their heads and caring for their small herds. Fast paced riding between villages was fun and the horses are more than willing.

Visiting the Bateshwar horse & camel fair in a very small town was real - we were the only foreign faces. Also, nice to visit a small Jain temple next to the river.

This is India. The air quality is bad - especially in the cities. Avoid this trip if you have respiratory issues. But, it is an opportunity to see the monuments of Delhi, Jaipur and Agra and the countryside.
Food is safe but requires awareness to avoid mistakes.
Bargaining is the way of the world. But once a deal is struck, there is honor.
Traffic in cities moves like a herd of sheep - no lanes and no empty spaces between vehicles. And on the roads between towns, cars and trucks vying to pass each other in the terrifying face of oncoming traffic plus the side show of camel and donkey carts and tut tuts.

Worth it!


Mlilwane Explorer - eSwatini (formerly Swaziland)
Experience Level

World Horse Welfare Mlilwane Explorer

5 star rating   27 November 2018

Horses were excellent, forward going but sensible and extremely well cared for. It was so nice to see the love of the whole team for the horses. The riding was varied, walking across tricky terrain but lots of opportunities for a good canter. Riding amongst the wildlife is amazing and our guides were knowledgeable and entertaining.


Mlilwane Explorer - eSwatini (formerly Swaziland)
Experience Level

World Horse Welfare Mlilwane Explorer

4 star rating   27 November 2018

The horses were wonderful. Well schooled and fantastically well cared for. The campsites were excellently managed and the food and service couldn’t have been improved. The wildlife viewing exceeded my expectations. The only downside was the very long bus journey to and from Swaziland.


Mlilwane Explorer - eSwatini (formerly Swaziland)
Experience Level

World Horse Welfare Mlilwane Explorer

5 star rating   27 November 2018

My first horse was too strong for me so I was given the wonderful Vicki (Victoria Cross) who was much bigger than my usual rides, but who was so smooth and responsive. I really loved her. Unfortunately she struck into herself on a long descent so I was given Nkune who was very different but equally enjoyable to ride. He looked after me when I was unable to ride fast and my only regret was that I did not have a chance to enjoy his lovely canter for longer.
The trails were great with plenty of cantering on the sensible bits - will never forget when the very pregnant zebra joined our group! The river crossing was interesting and showed the trust that the horses had in the staff.


Mlilwane Explorer - eSwatini (formerly Swaziland)
Experience Level

World Horse Welfare Mlilwane Explorer

5 star rating   27 November 2018

The horses were incredibly well looked after. The whole team had a wonderful manner with them and it was clear their welfare was the highest priority. All were easily fit enough for this trail and were well matched to each rider. Every horse had its own fantastic temperament (some rather cheekier than others!) and the care they were given throughout was impeccable.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   27 November 2018

Fit happy horses...very pleased with the horses I rode. Staff very rigorous with matching horses, tack, safety. Felt extremely well taken care of , but thrilling riding! An extraordinary experience riding so close to the wildlife.
Overreached ALL my expectations…
[ITS comment: We are so pleased that you loved your holiday to Ant's, it's a fantastic destination.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   27 November 2018

The horses and riding was amazing. Horse were mainly thoroughbreds and ex-race horse - so great pace and very sure footed. The guides were brilliant and so insightful. We rode very close to all animals - buffalo, Zebra, Giraffe, Wildebeests, etc etc. It effeminately met our expectations and there is some thing for every riding ability.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   23 November 2018

Met all expectations


1074 reviews    1 2 3 34