Reviews
1207 reviews    1 2 3 38
Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   12 May 2019

Wonderful responsive horses. Rachel always matched everyone with the perfect horse for them.


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   11 May 2019

Excellent


Extremadura - Spain
Experience Level

Conquistadors ride

5 star rating   11 May 2019

The riding takes place in the hills, where it goes very up and down. Therefore, it is not the fastest ride with a lot of canters, as it will be too hard on the horses. But every day there is a canter at medium pace (absolutely perfect, as it does not go too slow or too fast) when the terrain allows it. I think it has been appropriate, as there were several good and long stretches of tracks where we canter.
Emilio is really good at assessing which horse best suits each rider. He hits the spot almost every time, it is wildly amazing!


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   10 May 2019

From show jumping to dressage was a struggle for me personally. But everyone else had fun for sure.


Cappadocia Trails - Turkey
Experience Level

Cappadocia Highlights

5 star rating   10 May 2019

The horses and riding more than met my expectations. The horses were Arabian endurance mares - just what I am used to riding - very forward going and spirited, and of the highest standard being from one of the top Turkish Endurance yards. My friend and I rode the current Turkish champion and last year's champion so we were very happy. The countryside was also some of the best I have ridden through in any country; being amazingly varied and absolutely stunning visually, and the horses were happy, confident and fit enough to cope with the hills, valleys and the flat open steppe and eager to canter whenever the opportunity arose. However these mares are certainly for experienced, regular riders and not casual, inexperienced and infrequent riders.


Cappadocia Trails - Turkey
Experience Level

Cappadocia Highlights

5 star rating   10 May 2019

Excellent


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   10 May 2019

We had a brilliant time. Rode horses of a high standard of training under expert instruction. The instructors were very good, enthusiastic and friendly.
We had three different trainers - all excellent! All were good but particularly liked Cendrine who was really enthusiastic and encouraging. The whole experience was great - the horses were very well cared for and turned out to a high standard. Diago was attentive as ever - took us on a really interesting wine tasting session tour of the stud and explained the breeding programme. His parents had lunch with us one day and were equally friendly and good company - explaining the history of Monte Velho. We also had the chance to see some of the young horses in the schooling sessions.


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   9 May 2019

Hmmmm. After last year's exceptional time at Monte Velho I was surprised at the slightly chaotic arrangements for trail riding this year. Lessons were fine, and I was well-matched with horses and the instruction was excellent - Sandrine, Coralie and Leana were all great teachers. I felt I really progressed in the ring and built on my novice skills, gaining confidence - a real necessity for me.

However the trail rides were a bit of a mishmash. There were beginner riders (4 lessons only in once case) on trail rides, and the matching of riders to horses was haphazard, with experienced rider guests intervening and rearranging the mounts to accommodate the beginners as the staff seemed to have no real idea of individual capacities. There seemed to be a limited range of trail horses and juggling became an issue.

Also, the leaders were mixed. Beatrice was fine but there were difficulties with Cesar, who is new to Monte Velho. He is a real horseman, and has very fixed ideas about how the rides should be managed which resulted in one of our fellow guests (not a beginner) losing all confidence and wasting two days before a lunge instructor could be found for her and her beginner companion. I found his lack of teaching skill and fixed views on what constituted a collected canter a bit bullying. A fellow (very experienced) rider confided to me during this ride that he felt that Cesar lacked the psychological insight to handle the situation. I felt humiliated and was relieved that he left after my second ride out for an operation.

Having said that, my hip was giving me problems and so I dipped out of the last two trail rides I was booked for in order to preserve myself for the fabulous lessons.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   9 May 2019

The staff at Ant's nest were very flexible to adjust the ride when needed due to sore back. This really helped me get the most out the the ride and I didn't have to feel like I slowed down the others when I needed a slower pace. Thanks to them for that!


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   9 May 2019

Excellent


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

4 star rating   9 May 2019

David Meilton writes: the whole holiday was great fun and a wonderful experience, with lovely people, both the staff and owners of Monte Velho and our fellow guests.
The one caveat is that more attention should have been paid to the organisation of the rides, particularly the trail rides. It was silly that my wife Anne Shevas's name was on the riding lists and not mine: it was always clear in the booking and run-up that I was riding and she was not.
More importantly, we all filled in competency forms, and it made no sense that experienced and adventurous riders were paired with novices. thus limiting what they could do. Nor did the trail-ride leaders seem properly briefed on our relative competency: before two of my three rides out, horses had to be swapped around after relative novices were paired with more fractious horses, in one case quite frighteningly, which introduced an unnecessary level of tension.
That said, it was a beautiful setting, we had a brilliant time, and would happily do it again.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa
Experience Level

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   5 May 2019

We changed horses every day - some very good, others OK.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa
Experience Level

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   5 May 2019

Excellent


Horizon Lodge - South Africa
Experience Level

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   5 May 2019

Excellent


Horizon Lodge - South Africa
Experience Level

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   5 May 2019

Excellent


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   5 May 2019

Being a novice rider (9 lessons under my belt!) I was a little apprehensive but I was soon put at my ease and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   5 May 2019

I had not ridden seriously for some years and India suited me very well. A comfortable ride , controllable but keen to go when given the chance.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   5 May 2019

Exciting rides over varied terrain. Good selection of well-schooled horses. Knowledgeable guides and close-up game encounters. Plenty of wow factor here!


Old Mulberry - Croatia
Experience Level

Fixed Programme

4 star rating   4 May 2019

Much bolder than we'd do in England: cantering over really boggy land with mud in your face and clothes; galloping up steep hills - well, I guess a bit like hunting (which I've never done). Quite thrilling in places.
We'd have done more if some in the group had not been so cautious, but it was well-adapted to suit us all - as long as you don't mind staying in line.


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa
Experience Level

African Explorer

5 star rating   3 May 2019

In South Africa the canter stretches were very short / slow - also a lot shorter / slower than last time I was there. Therefore only satisfied on the pace. Otherwise there was nice variation in the terrain, but it was also not as challenging as last time I visit. In Botswana was the canters were longer and faster, but for safety reasons (ie because of the possibility of suddenly encountering dangerous game) the pace was still kept at canter and not gallop. I am therefore very satisfied with the riding in Botswana, although I generally like a little more pace and challenge in the terrain.
I was also very pleased with the two horses they had chosen for me in South Africa and Botswana, - and then I would like to also add that both places the horses are well cared for, which is also of great importance to the experience.


Castle Leslie Estate - Ireland
Experience Level

Riding Programme

5 star rating   1 May 2019

Did meet my expectations, although I would have preferred more cross country but I understand they need to give jumping lessons to make a good assessment of the rider. Horses are lovely, kind and steady. They very well taken care of.


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Tailored Itinerary

5 star rating   1 May 2019

At Ant's Nest I rode a few too slow horses, but ended up with a very nice horse.


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Tailored Itinerary

5 star rating   1 May 2019

At Ant's Nest I rode a few too slow horses, but ended up with a very nice horse.


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Tailored Itinerary

5 star rating   1 May 2019

At Ant's Nest I rode a few too slow horses, but ended up with a very nice horse.


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Tailored Itinerary

5 star rating   1 May 2019

The one room I had in the guest house at Kei Mouth had plumbing problems and the door didn't close properly. It could use an upgrade.


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Tailored Itinerary

4 star rating   1 May 2019

Good or Very Good


Namib Desert - Namibia
Experience Level

Namib Desert

5 star rating   29 April 2019

The horses were super fit and extremely well looked after


Footsteps of Lawrence - Jordan
Experience Level

Ride and Visit to Dead Sea

4 star rating   29 April 2019

There were a couple of older riders in our group which meant the ride was slower than everyone else would have wanted. I don't think they were well suited to the trip. I got on really well with my mare Na'am - very forward going and great temperament - also responsive.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   28 April 2019

This was my second visit to El Bronco and I was offered the opportunity to ride the same horse, Lily, that I rode last time. There was a great combination of some Western-style work in the school (as the ranch has very good facilities) and riding out on amazing sandy paths across the beautiful national park. The gentle sandy terrain means there are lots of opportunities to jog and canter and the park offers a range of different routes, so there is plenty of variety, including some wildlife sightings out on our rides. The horses are beautifully cared for and most are bred at the ranch.


Kingdom of the Lusitano - Portugal
Experience Level

Kingdom of the Lusitano

5 star rating   28 April 2019

This was the second time we have been on a ride with Miguel. It lived up to our expectations with plenty of fast long canters and trots. The horses are well cared for and forward going. Miguel and Dennis were always helpful and accommodating and good company throughout. The scenery was delightful and the visit to the Alter do Chão stud, where we were able to meet the foals, was a highlight.


Wolves and Wild Horses - Portugal
Experience Level

Wolves and Wild Horses

5 star rating   28 April 2019

I loved the horse that I rode, he was calm, yet very responsive and well trained.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Kingdom of Thracians

5 star rating   27 April 2019

The riding was faster than I expected, given that we also packed in a lot of climbing. The faster paces were all over appropriate terrain and the guide spent a lot of time checking that all the riders were ok and felt safe.


1207 reviews    1 2 3 38