Reviews
1129 reviews    1 2 3 36
Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   20 February 2019

Hi
We really enjoyed the holiday
All the people were friendly and welcoming and horses were well turned out, nicely behaved and good to ride
I think the training could have been managed better, assessment of your riding and your expectations including a plan for the training during your stay could have improved the experience further


Across the Andes - Argentina and Chile
Experience Level

Across The Andes

5 star rating   20 February 2019

I have done this trip before so I know the route - to the extent of being asked for confirmation that we were going the right way! The first day has lots of long canters but the other days are slower due to the terrain. On this occasion all the riders were sensible about this and we had a lovely time.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   19 February 2019

Great riding experience. Horses were very well trained, fit and cared for. Pace was varied but with plenty of long canters.


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   18 February 2019

The riding more than met my expectations. The horses were wonderful - talented, patient and safe and the tuition was exceptional - all teachers had a slightly different focus which was really helpful.


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   17 February 2019

Great ride - we both loved our horses.


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Kei River Trail

5 star rating   14 February 2019

I rode five different horses during the Kei Mouth Trail and all of them were extremely fit, incredibly sure-footed and very willing. They scrambled over rocks and canter over hills and gallop on the beaches beautifully. It was very hard to pick a favourite as they were all so good. The deserted beaches are perfect for long canters and gallops but I also enjoyed cantering up and down hills inland. Credit to team for keeping 40+ horse in such top condition!


Alcainca - Portugal
Experience Level

Riding Holiday

5 star rating   13 February 2019

Very good instruction, good accommodation and meals. A lovely setbup


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

4 star rating   13 February 2019

Monte Velho provides both dressage lessons and trail rides. So, second answer above relates to trail rides.I had specifically enquired about these before booking but found the first one very disappointing. Any canters were very slow and in a very collected pace. This turned out to be because horses had been little ridden and so were very fresh. It would have been preferable to be told this beforehand not after one has questioned it! This is likely to be an annual issue and I-t-S might like to warn clients considering riding out in the first week or 2 of February. The other trail ride I did was much better.

The dressage lessons were good with an interesting range of horses. It is worth noting that you will need to explain your goals to each instructor. None will ask and info does not seem to be shared between them.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   13 February 2019

Was as articulated.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   12 February 2019

This is our third visit to Ant's Nest so they knew our favourite horses, and riding skills. We were matched perfectly with the right horse.


Provence Trails - France
Experience Level

Luberon and The Camargue

4 star rating   10 February 2019

This isn't advertised as a fast ride, and I was very happy to go at a relaxed pace and enjoy the scenery which was my main reason for choosing this ride. However, I was a bit disappointed with my horse which - although sweet on the ground and a perfectly nice ride in walk and trot - was very reluctant to canter, even on the beach. To be fair, the guide did seem surprised by this, so perhaps he was just having a bad week!


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Camp Safari

5 star rating   8 February 2019

The horses that I rode were the best trained I think I've ever had on a holiday (Nugget, Theakston and Ice), not lacking in personality (Nugget had a little go at sitting down in a pond), but very responsive whilst relaxed, and as happy at the front as at the middle or back of the ride. You get closer to the game on this safari than any other one I've been on, just a few yards away from a rhino, for example. The horses are immaculately turned out , and seat savers readily provided on our request. The only thing I got really fed up were the thorn bushes, but there's not a lot can be done about that! Pace was a little slower at times as we had a couple of mishaps with riders being unshipped, and one rider had aggravated a previous back injury on the last day.


Winter Ride - Romania
Experience Level

Winter Ride

5 star rating   6 February 2019

The riding on the winter ride was amazing. It was a little challenging at times, but In The Saddle as well as the staff at Equus prepared us for this. The horses are great, super well trained, taken care of and really excited at times, but stil very well behaved. Everything is arranged in such a way that everyone is happy, both rider and horses.


Across the Andes - Argentina and Chile
Experience Level

Across The Andes

5 star rating   6 February 2019

In Argentina the rides were all I expected the only thing I did not expect was the amount of dust. The Chilean rides were also lovely and so different. Excellent horses on both sides.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   6 February 2019

All expectations met. As usual Mod matched us to our horses really well. I had Zorba and Blue who were comfortable and forward going with good brakes - also brave with the game. We cantered with giraffes and zebra and also, memorably, with hyenas! Not much water around (we were there in December) so not much chance for water canters. However, the lack of water meant we could travel further afield. We asked for, and got, trail saddles which we prefer for this type of riding. They were comfortable.


Cape Winelands riding - South Africa
Experience Level

Cape Winelands Riding

5 star rating   6 February 2019

Nice horses, clearly well loved and cared for. We had Texas, Tallahassee and Chenook - all great. Riding is mostly through vineyards, fields and fruit orchards, perfect tracks for cantering. Nice comfortable trail saddles. Only down side was the walk by the side of a busy road for a few hundred yards. The road needs to be crossed to get to the vineyards, crossing is not a problem but it would be good if you could come out on one side and cross immediately without having to walk beside it. Our guide, Ellen was knowledgeable and good company - also knows her wines!


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Kei River Trail

5 star rating   6 February 2019

The horses and the riding by far exceeded my expectations - the horses are very well trained, with amazing personalities, sure-footed and with outstanding athletic abilities. Even on the steepest terrain, on slippery and wet rocks, I never felt unsafe. It was great that Mel had all participants try different horses at first, and once we'd found our matches, we went on the two-day trail to Wavecrest. The canters along the beach were almost the best - only exceeded by the gallop along the beach - I don't think I've ever been on a horse going so fast!


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina
Experience Level

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   5 February 2019

It surpassed my expectations. Varied terrain, good riding, well guided. The opportunity to "work" horses (in cattle herding) was especially enjoyable when in the UK we almost never have such opportunities.


Explore Winter - Sweden
Experience Level

Explore Winter

5 star rating   4 February 2019

Totally different, cantering in the dark in the snow, learning to tolt, can't say I was terribly good but the horses were great. Lovely natured horses, really a pleasure to spend time with. The scenery was stunning.


Rainforest Adventure - Costa Rica
Experience Level

Cerro Lodge RA (1st and last night San Jose)

5 star rating   2 February 2019

The riding holiday was fantastic, I had a great time.
Costa Rica is a beautiful to ride. The forest, rivers and beach were not normal, so beautiful.
The riding guidance was very good, high quality horses and guidance. They told a lot when riding.


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   1 February 2019

My second time riding the Wild Coast and just as good as before. Weather much more varied this time.

(ITS NOTE: We are so pleased that you enjoyed your return visit despite the varied weather).


Footsteps of Lawrence - Jordan
Experience Level

Ride and Visit to Dead Sea

5 star rating   1 February 2019

The guide & grooms were very knowledgeable. You could tell that they really cared for the horses. Both the horses & tack were well looked after.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   25 January 2019

We were 3 girls from 12 to 38 years old and there was always a horse that suited our riding skills, wishes and temperament. The tack was top notch and the horses were fit, sweet and well taken care of. We had the impression that all our guides knew all the horses very well and had a great love for the horses.
The riding were organized according to our wishes and each day was different. I will give a double satified for the guides' knowledge of both the area, the game and the nature.c


White Stallion Ranch - Arizona
Experience Level

White Stallion Ranch

5 star rating   23 January 2019

Riding that caters to all levels of experience. Wranglers are happy to share their knowledge so that even complete beginners can enjoy faster rides by the end of their stay. For those with experience there are plenty of fast rides, long rides, and cattle work for you to enjoy. To top it all off, the horses are extremely well cared for in all aspects.


Nile Explorer - Uganda
Experience Level

Nile Explorer

5 star rating   21 January 2019

I have ridden a fair bit around the world and the horses here far exceeded my expectations. They are all so well loved and cared for. Bizarrely my ankles swelled up when I arrived in Uganda, something I have never experienced before on a riding trip- but thankfully Natalie took it all in her stride and successfully matched me up with suitable horses. I loved riding Guinness & Ballentine out on the trails, and the handsome Zeus whilst swimming in the Nile. The horses here are impeccably well mannered & trained, I genuinely think nothing would faze them. I had lots of fun on long canters & gallops through the sugar & tea plantations, but also loved the buzz of our walks through the villages.


Veláni Country Hotel - Crete
Experience Level

Sun and Riding

5 star rating   21 January 2019

The horses were all extremely well cared for, in good condition and obviously loved. They all had sweet natures and were all very well trained with very soft mouths. The horses were all fit, forward going but extremely responsive; they were all happy to ride in the position they had been given in the line and got along well with each other so there wasn't any attempt at biting or kicking the other horses. It meant you could truely sit back and enjoy your surroundings and company. The tack was well cared for and the saddles extremely comfortable Wintecs - something I was very grateful for, having been out of the saddle for a while!

The rides were all varied and interesting and the pace appropriate for the terrain.

The guides were both very friendly, interesting and knowledgeable.


Wait A Little - South Africa
Experience Level

Big Five Safari

5 star rating   19 January 2019

Everything was perfect.


Shekhawati Rides - India
Experience Level

Christmas Ride (Finishing in Jaipur)

5 star rating   17 January 2019

Really beautiful and well looked after horses, and great fun to ride.


Horizon Lodge - South Africa
Experience Level

Horizon Lodge

5 star rating   17 January 2019

I had a different horse for every ride bar the last one - which was a lot. I was happy to canter but not gallop which meant for the last few rides I was in a group which separated with the odd canter.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores and Portugal
Experience Level

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   15 January 2019

The room and facilities were great. The mattress had some uncomfortable springs but that is all I can fault. It would esq easily fixed with a mattress topper
Christina is an amazing cook who catered for vegetarians exceptionally well!


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   14 January 2019

Breakfast was fine , but a little bit more variety wouldn't go amiss .


Cape Winelands riding - South Africa
Experience Level

Cape Winelands Riding

5 star rating   9 January 2019

Great fun horses, stunning scenery and a great team to look after us - will definitely be going back!


1129 reviews    1 2 3 36