Reviews
944 reviews    1 2 3 30
Castellare di Tonda - Italy
Experience Level

Medieval Tuscany

5 star rating   16 October 2018

This ride did meet our expectations. The guides were very safety conscious and also were charming company. They couldn't have worked harder to meet our needs and give us a great experience. It might be worth mentioning to future riders that this ride is over hilly ground including sometimes steep inclines (up and down). This didn't worry us as we are used to that type of riding, but some people might find it a challenge. As ther had been some rain recently, some of the descents were tricky and a certain level of fitness is needed.


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina
Experience Level

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   16 October 2018

Very fast but very safe riding on open ground on very comfortable horses. We were able to herd cattle, play polo and there was plenty of galloping. The horses are well cared for and clearly much loved.


Borana - Kenya
Experience Level

Lodge stay

5 star rating   15 October 2018

We really loved being able to ride different horses, we also liked the the fact that we could decide how long we wanted to ride.


Tuli Trail - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Trail

5 star rating   15 October 2018

Limpopo Horse Safaris are known for the quality and well being of their horses. Our group of 8 were well matched with our horses and no one felt the need to ask for a change.
Interesting terrain with lots of walking, then long canters to make up ground. We were in the saddle for 4-6 hrs a day but it passed very quickly.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

4 star rating   15 October 2018

I have two observations/suggestions regarding tack:

Firstly, it is quite inconvenient that no saddle savers are provided/offered. I understand the need for the synthetic saddles as a result of the wet conditions but we felt that it would not have been hard for the camp to carry a couple of spare saddle savers for those few guests who may request them. We took our own but this does take up quite a lot of the limited weight and space in bags.

Secondly, the condition of the tack. Again, I understand the use synthetic tack for bridles and saddles; reins and stirrup leathers being the only leather tack. Therefore I found it a little disappointing that there was not better care taken for these. We often rode with reins (which were originally plaited), which were frayed to the point that they were getting caught on gloves, other tack and clothing. We often found the reins tied together with bits of elastic and tape and very twisted. Also, out cantering fast once a stirrup leather broke as it was simply too old and warn.

Considering the cost of this holiday, we felt that there should be seat savers offered and that it wouldn't take a great deal of time to ensure that the little leather tack there is is better cared for.

Regarding the riding:

I feel most of our party was happy the majority of the time.
I only had one concern. One morning we were sent out with three horses in our group that all kicked which caused some uncomfortable moments when they would buck mid canter when cantering in a line. One of the horses was kicked quite hard and one kicked at the horse my mother was riding and caught her just below her knee which resulted in a very nasty bruise. Perhaps fewer kickers all out on the same ride would be advisable.

Otherwise we were all very happy with the riding and the condition of the horses.


Provence Trails - France
Experience Level

Luberon and The Camargue

5 star rating   15 October 2018

Happy that there was more time in the saddle than I'd expected. Pleased that I was riding fit, particularly as it was quite hot most days. A good variety of scenery and pace. The guide was very knowledgeable about the history of the area.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   15 October 2018

My husband hadn’t ridden for many years and expected to do only a little riding. The horses gave him so much confidence that he was soon cantering along with the rest of us!


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   12 October 2018

We were lucky that the week was not fully booked. The horses were in excellent condition, all staff and support staff were friendly and helpful. We had different instructors and they were very mindful of our abilities and gave us plenty of opportunities to stretch ourselves. A most enjoyable week.


Castellare di Tonda - Italy
Experience Level

Medieval Tuscany

5 star rating   11 October 2018

Beautiful terrain and nice well mannered horse. The group size was quite big and it would have enhanced the experience if it was limited to 6 or 8 max. The assist trek leader was quite stressy and needed reminding that we were all competent riders and didn't need every single slight dip in the ground pointing out! All staff were really lovely. It could easily be manageable for beginners as there was nothing challenging in the riding - but it was a super way to de-stress and enjoy some head space.


Extremadura - Spain
Experience Level

Conquistadors ride

5 star rating   10 October 2018

Super good horses that are really well looked after. The pace was slow. Either walk or short canters. No trot. Perhaps I would have liked a little more faster pace, but overall the riding was fine.


Wolves and Wild Horses - Portugal
Experience Level

Wolves and Wild Horses - Ride and Walk

5 star rating   10 October 2018

The riding corresponded perfectly with my experience and expectations.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores and Portugal
Experience Level

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   9 October 2018

Good and well-behaved horses that are perfect for tourists with different riding abilities


Wild Coast - South Africa
Experience Level

Wild Coast Adventure Trail

5 star rating   9 October 2018

The horses were all superb, obviously so well looked after, immensely fit and fabulously fast on the beach canters.


Provence Trails - France
Experience Level

Luberon and The Camargue

4 star rating   8 October 2018

The riding exceeded my expectations! Enjoyed every moment and felt challenging and rewarding .Huge thanks to Didier and Piero who made the holiday amazing


Footsteps of Lawrence - Jordan
Experience Level

Ride (8 nights)

1 star rating   8 October 2018

Horses: Bedouin hoses in the desert are different from other Arabic horses that I rode. They are super sensitive to ambience and this means riders need to pay much more attention on controlling them. Almost all our nine horses do not befriend each other and kick even when walking. When cantering, they all intend to run in full speed and be first instead of following an order. However, they are very powerful and there is a great pleasure to canter / gallop. It is definitely valuable to ride Bedouin horse in Wadi Rum.

Guide: our 9 people only have 1 riding guide (normally 2). With different levels of riding capability, it is hard to canter/gallop as a group. So we almost walked throughout the journey. Landscape is similar and this made the trip very boring. Biggest issue is that our guide is quite introvert and silent. Bedouin culture is rich. Bedouin people are full of wisdom and great stories. There are skills to survive in desert. There are stories of Arab independence and wars. As our guide is silent, we almost did not learn anything from him. So it is important to make sure your guide is right


Chianti Castles and Wine Tasting - Italy
Experience Level

Chianti Castles and Wine Tasting

5 star rating   8 October 2018

Horses were very well cared for and tack in good condition. Riding was varied and was even better than I expected.


Perol Chico - Peru
Experience Level

The Sacred Valley Ride

5 star rating   8 October 2018

The horses, company and riding far exceeded my expectations. The scenery was incredible as was the hospitality.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   8 October 2018

The riding was wonderful. It took us on a trail through miles and miles of beautiful wilderness. With amazing views of distant mountains and long canters over grassy meadows on fit horses.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   8 October 2018

The riding terrain was varied with many breath taking views, not a gate or fence to negotiate. A brilliant ride.


Nile Explorer - Uganda
Experience Level

Nile Explorer

5 star rating   8 October 2018

The horses were like police horses. They were totally unflappable despite going through villages with every kind of frightening object to a horse imaginable


Desert Trails - Morocco
Experience Level

Siroua Saffron (first and last night Marrakech)

5 star rating   8 October 2018

The horses were forward but well trained, and more than met my expectations.


Chianti Castles and Wine Tasting - Italy
Experience Level

Chianti Castles and Wine Tasting

5 star rating   5 October 2018

The horses were a better standard than I expected, and very well cared for. There was plenty of riding, even on 1/2 day rides. The terrain is a little challenging in places, but exactly as I expected it to be. We had a nervous rider(s) in the group (not In the Saddle clients) which probably made the ride slower than usual, especially the first few days.


Castellare di Tonda - Italy
Experience Level

Medieval Tuscany

5 star rating   5 October 2018

A few more longer canters would have been nice. I was really pleased with my Quarter Horse and the scenery was lovely with no two rides being the same. The guides were excellent and very hard working.


White Stallion Ranch - Arizona
Experience Level

White Stallion Ranch

5 star rating   5 October 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed my riding holiday at White Stallion Ranch. Despite having my own horse, this was my first riding holiday and my first experience of riding Western style. The hosts and wranglers at the ranch really made us feel welcome and put us at ease and I was delighted with the horse they matched me with - Moby - if only I could have brought him home 🙂 The riding was excellent, with a great variety of ride types including slow and fast rides, breakfast rides, beer and Cheetos rides, mountain rides, lessons and even ‘team penning’ - like One Man and His Dog but on horseback and with longhorn cattle. It was so much fun!! The food and accommodation were first class, as were the pool and ranch facilities. Many other guests we spoke to were regular annual visitors to the ranch and there was a real sense of friendliness and community there. Arrived as a guest and felt like I left as a friend. Fantastic experience and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   5 October 2018

The riding exceeded all our expectations .so much country to explore with no boundaries such lovely and varied views


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   5 October 2018

We've had a marvellous time., couldn't fault it. Don't feel your brochure does it justice! We did about 150 kms and only about 5 kms were on the road.
We all really enjoyed the cultural visits too. Rumi is very well informed.


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   4 October 2018

Fantastic instructors on a variety of well trained horses. It's best to tell the instructor at the beginning of the lesson if you want them to concentrate on a particular area or subject as we found they didn't ask.


El Cid - Spain
Experience Level

Ride to Santander

4 star rating   4 October 2018

I knew I would be riding on the Spanish vaquero saddles and I have ridden in many different types of tack over the years. I was taken aback by just how difficult I found them. I have arthritic hips (not the fault of the ride!) and found the width of the saddle and height of the cantle a real problem. Mounting and dismounting was a struggle (poor horse), but Ula swapped me to an English saddle when she could and things got a lot easier. This is not a criticism, simply a heads up for any older, creakier people considering this ride.
Do ask for a water bottle holder - they are available.


Castellare di Tonda - Italy
Experience Level

Medieval Tuscany

4 star rating   4 October 2018

The rides had the most stunning views of Tuscany, but because of that the pace was slower to what we have been used to on previous riding holidays, it was very hilly and stoney in places, we spent a lot of the time climbing up to get the views which was amazing but what goes up must come down ! it was a little scary to begin with going down the steep stoney tracks but the horses were extremely sure footed so it soon became less of a worry, the guides had the horses safety and our safety as top importance all of the time.


Castellare di Tonda - Italy
Experience Level

Medieval Tuscany

4 star rating   4 October 2018

Beautiful place , liked the fact not riding every single day. Visit to florence was lovely.
Horses were extremely well looked after and thats the most important thing for me. Would like to do an italy trip again, as not so keen on the trekking idea as too much riding for me - Enough horses at home!


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   4 October 2018

The riding actually exceeded my expectations as the pace was varied & included some good sections of trot & canter. The countryside is very open & similar on most days but interesting enough as is undulating with some wonderful views. It is possible on many occasions to see where you have ridden - or will be riding - for a distance of at least 5 miles.
The horses were all in good condition, very well behaved & forward going. Our guides were fantastic & looked after our every need.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Coastal Trail South to North

4 star rating   3 October 2018

The first day of riding was really long and tasking for me personally, especially in the heat because I forgot to take my cool towel. The canters on that day were so long too, I just wasn't used to it and it showed me how unfit I really was. I wasn't the oldest one there but I think I was the unfitest, if thats an actual word. Maybe a shorter day to start with would have been a better option but that said, the others seemed to cope better than me.
Now I've been back home a little while I can honestly say that I actually miss Portugal and the riding holiday experience. I never thought I would feel like this especially after getting heat stroke on the first day and feeling really ill.


944 reviews    1 2 3 30