Reviews
1017 reviews    1 2 3 32
Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   16 June 2024

Emily who has been on 25 In The Saddle rides. Lovely riding through the forest and beaches of rural Spain | I had high expectations for this ride due to its reputation for being the best selling ride in Europe and for the number of people who return year after year and it didn’t disappoint. Rachel knows her horses inside out and is able match riders to their perfect horse. The horses are all immaculately cared for. The scenery is picturesque with a blend of forest trails with some lovely beach gallops.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   16 June 2024

Louise who has been on 19 In The Saddle rides. Enjoyable | Great riding as always. Safety of rider and horse uttermost. Breathtaking gallops and fast canters.


Lassithi Trek - Crete

Lassithi Trek

5 star rating   16 June 2024

Marke (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Nice holiday | Our holiday was on the week when the bad heat wave came to Crete, and the temperatures were over +40C during the week. We needed to change our original plan and we opted out from the Lassithi trek. Instead, we stayed at the hotel and did day rides. That was good, as for us, coming from a cold country it was hard enough to ride couple of hours per day in that kind of heat than the actual planned 5-6 hours /day. 3 other riders actually did the trek, but it looked that they were quite exhausted afterwards because of the heat. Our hosts were extremely nice, and our change of plans was ok for them as well. It was a pity not to do the trek, but we needed to consider our health and safety as it would have been difficult to get us back from the mountains if problems would have occurred during the ride.


Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

5 star rating   16 June 2024

Nina who has been on 10 In The Saddle rides. Incredible scenery and fast riding | The riding was very fast and intense. The scenery was incredible and jaw dropping, and so even though I struggled physically at times with all the uphill and downhill (there I a lot of it) and the long hours is the saddle, it was absolutely worth it. The food at every meal was superb and you eat a lot here. The team look after our needs perfectly and are all wonderful people.

The ceremony at the end is the icing on the cake and it was one of my favourite parts of the trip. Vasko had so many wonderful surprises for us up his sleeve.

It is worth mentioning that there is a lot of racing on this trip at full gallop and on uneven ground and long grass in some places, with Grand National type starts. I did love the racing and the speed but I wasn't happy to gallop downhill. ITS 'the riding' description says 'to avoid racing the canters will be in single file'. This is only true in some spots such as the forests, but out in the open you are encouraged to race and overtake. If you love lots of fast riding and racing and can cope with uneven ground then this trip is for you (if not, you may struggle). Its such an adventure and the incredible scenery plus the warm hospitality will blow you away.
[In The Saddle - We are so pleased that you enjoyed visiting this incredible country. It is the case that the riding is fast in places and that, where the terrain permits, riders are encouraged to spread out and take their own line. Some of the horses do know where these fast sections are and of course can get a bit excited about the forthcoming gallop].


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   16 June 2024

Monica who has been on 33 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic | All my expectations were met and surpassed.
I’ve been going to Los Alamos from the beginning, and I return 2 to 3 times per year.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: We are so pleased that you enjoyed your return to Los Alamos :)]


Sierra Nevada - Spain

Alpujarra Short Break

5 star rating   13 June 2024

Judith who has been on 15 In The Saddle rides. Love the Sierra Nevada | I wanted to visit the Alpujarra’s after reading Chris Stewart’s books about El Valero. The scenery did not disappoint and I’m in awe of how Dallas and her very small team run these trails with great efficiency. Glad that I’d done a bit of my own fitness training as there was plenty of leading up and down shaly and often steep paths. The washed out arroyo we had to cross was made easier by letting the horses go by themselves with us going ahead to catch them at the other side. Quite an adventure. June was perfect, still some wildflowers in bloom and not too hot due to the altitude with one very heavy rain. Saddles were comfortable as promised and please mention if you want to use your seatsaver before horses get tacked up on the first morning.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for your email and we're so pleased that you enjoyed riding with Dallas.]


Sierra Nevada - Spain

Alpujarra Short Break

5 star rating   13 June 2024

Laura (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Amazing mountain views on lovely well-trained horses | Due to the mountainous terrain and the long hours at a walk i did hike next to my horse quite a bit so as to not get sore. There were brief trots and canters but most of the time we were going up and down with magical views.

The horses were so safe that i took videos at the canter. They were so sure footed that they never tripped. The saddle was very comfortable and i was never sore.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for your feedback :)]


Sierra Nevada - Spain

Alpujarra Short Break

5 star rating   13 June 2024

Karine (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Beautiful horses, stunning surroundings, delicious food | We were rising over rocky paths, riding up and down hill, but if possible we had lovely trots and canters. The horses were great in finding their own way. They were trustworthy, but not at all boring.


Rocking Z - Montana

Ranch Stay 10 nights

5 star rating   12 June 2024

Celia (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Excellent | Excellent


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Two

5 star rating   10 June 2024

Lisa (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Exceeding expectations | Fabulous riding and great combination of cantering and walking— never boring!


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Two

5 star rating   10 June 2024

Tom (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Unforgettable Adventure | The horses (and guides) are 100% what’s advertised. They’re calm, sure footed, experienced and completely capable of any challenges encountered on the ride.


Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

5 star rating   9 June 2024

who has been on In The Saddle rides. Brilliant! | I learnt so much on this holiday. It was necessary to get the aids exactly right which, although difficult at the time, has very noticeably improved my riding at home.

The instructor, Mario, gave me very useful advice about the position of my legs and hands which, when I remembered to do it all, was brilliant.

[Abbie from ITS replies: Thank you for your feedback on Alcainca. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your visit.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Game census

5 star rating   9 June 2024

Kate who has been on 10 In The Saddle rides. Excellent


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Game census

5 star rating   9 June 2024

Jane who has been on 14 In The Saddle rides. Ants South Africa : Census ride 2024 | The riding was very exciting . We had plenty of time in the first couple of days to get to know our horses and to ensure we were well matched. I rode the same horse as last year so I knew she would be reliable and sure footed when things speeded up when the helicopter came in.
The riding can be challenging - one day we cantered for 26 minutes solidly through the bush and along tracks chasing a darted zebra but there are guides in front and back up riders behind you so you always feel looked after.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Game census

5 star rating   9 June 2024

Karen who has been on 11 In The Saddle rides. Holiday that just keeps giving! | My horse was absolutely super fun, keen but not strong and very sure footed.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for your feedback, it's wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your return to Ant's.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Game census

5 star rating   9 June 2024

Bob who has been on 11 In The Saddle rides. Just wow! | The horses at Ants are all amazing! I have ridden a few of them now and they are a mixed bag of breeds but all safe and sound.
I had Mapula every day and although a bit smaller than I like, she was an absolute star even when the helicopter landed next to us!
The care by Amanda and the team is second to none.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   8 June 2024

Michaeleen (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) I had the time of my life! | This riding adventure was not for the meek of heart--it was a dressage boot camp and I learned so much! The trainers were excellent and took their responsibility to make me an improved rider very seriously Rui and Miguel were on point yet kind, allowed questions and did further explanation of a riding skill I was struggling to master. The grooms were kind and the horses were so well taken care of. Even the dogs were a joy. Quinta do Rol met all my expections and more. I look forward to a return visit.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   8 June 2024

Katie who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic in every way | It went beyond my expectations. What wonderful people,horses,scenery. Beautiful place and was welcomed in like a family member. I went as a solo traveler,but at no point did I feel lonely or bored. Guides are fun and knowledgeable. They really look after you here. Would highly recommend going here.
(Olwen from In The Saddle replies - we are so glad that you enjoyed your riding holiday at the wonderful Quinta da Terca).


Sierra Nevada - Spain

Poqueira Ride

5 star rating   5 June 2024

Nila (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Amazing trip and wonderful horses! | This was my first riding vacation, and I had the best time on this trip! The horses were magnificent, very well cared for, and a pleasure to ride. The trails we went on were breathtaking, and while the pace was slower for most of the ride, the terrain kept the ride very interesting. Some of my favorite parts were when we had to get off and lead the horses through some of the trails as you had to really trust your horse and your own two feet. Dallas Love is an exceptional host and horsewoman. It is clear that her horses' wellbeing and safety are extremely important to her, and it was a pleasure getting to know her and the rest of her team. We had a great group on the trip of mixed ages and backgrounds. The house we stayed in was clean well kept, and had everything I needed. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone interested!


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   2 June 2024

Ros who has been on 17 In The Saddle rides. Fantastic, exciting holiday. | I had a bad riding accident, 3.5 years ago but managed to get back in the saddle a year after. However I was missing fast riding in open country. In Spain the weather (end of May) was glorious, if quite hot. I had 3 lovely horses to ride and the riding exceeded my expectations. We had exciting long canters and gallops in the umbrella pine forests and along sandy beaches. I went on my own but both our hosts, Andrew, Rhiannon, Rachel and Jack and the other riders (who had been before) were so welcoming, that I felt at home. The horses were fantasic, well cared for and matched to each rider. My favourite of the 3 (Portabello) was my first ride and a joy to ride but it was nice to be able to try a couple of other horses as well. I felt really safe despite have lost some of my confidence after the accident.


White Stallion Ranch - Arizona

White Stallion Ranch

5 star rating   2 June 2024

Lisa who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. It was a really fun experience, less of a Riding holiday and more of a holiday with riding. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, all the horses were lovely, care was taken to make sure you enjoyed your horse.

I was a solo traveller and I fitted in and made new friends.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had a good time at the ranch and I would absolutely agree with your description. It is a holiday with riding rather than a full on 'riding holiday' :)]


Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

5 star rating   2 June 2024

Bree (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) An epic week of riding in a stunning national park setting | Vasko and team provided super fit, well-educated horses who knew their job. The horses were very well cared for and extremely sure-footed on the rocky mountain terrain. Much of the tack was brand new this year (saddles, bridles and saddle bags) and the team made sure to stop and check several times a day for any rubbing or chafing. The riding scenery was beautiful and varied, from forests to meadows, lakesides to mountains. I would have appreciated more pace in the first two days, however toward the end of the week we had many more canters. I absolutely loved the 'rock and roll' races and only wish they were longer!


Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

5 star rating   2 June 2024

Jessica (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Unforgettable adventure | Excellent riding on forward going and sure footed horses who seemed to have enjoyed the ride too. Lots of fast canters in magnificent landscape. The horses were very well looked after by Vasko and his amazing team. Long days in the saddle and every minute a single pleasure.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   31 May 2024

Nigel (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fantastic | Long , fast canters


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   27 May 2024

Rosie who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous ! | The riding lessons were just fabulous. The instructors were lovely and so knowledgeable! Right from the first lesson I was put at ease and Miguel and Joao matched me with the suitable horses for my level. They both pushed me out of my comfort zone and made me have the confidence to give it all a go and do movements that I had dreamed about doing ! All of the horses are well cared for and are very well trained!
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday.]


Transylvania Trail - Romania

Transylvania Trail

5 star rating   25 May 2024

Svenja who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Wonderful active vacation | We were both matched to lovely horses. The trail is fast and the horses are all very eager, especially when getting closer to areas where they are used to gallop. There are many canters, on the last day also very long ones; there was some trotting at the start of each day; and from day 3 there were several gallops uphill or through meadows in the midst of beautiful spring flowers. One day has the option to jump fallen logs on the path, but the riders could also chose to go around.

Requiring a high level of both rider fitness and riding experience is definitely not misplaced here. Being in shape (half-marathon running) definitely made us enjoy the ride more.

Still being in the beginning of the season most horses where exchanged after the 3rd day, while my horse Zaphir was my faithful companion throughout the whole ride.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

Kingdom of Thracians

5 star rating   25 May 2024

Jacqui who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Great riding with lovely horses and super hosts | Great riding countryside, super horses and hosts were very friendly helpful, making sure tack was ok for me (first trip back after recovering from a back injury). Lots of cantering on the later days, through beautiful meadows and fields.


Transylvania Trail - Romania

Transylvania Trail

5 star rating   25 May 2024

Donna who has been on 40 In The Saddle rides. Great fun holiday | Great holiday. Lots of fun with lots of canters and gallops across lovely countryside with amazing scenery.

[Abbie from ITS replies: Thank you very much for your feedback. We are really pleased you enjoyed your trail ride through Transylvania].


Castellare di Tonda - Italy

Medieval Tuscany Short Break

5 star rating   22 May 2024

Debbie (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fantastic! | I have been fortunate to ride all over the world and am delighted to say that the horses at Castellare di Tonda were some of the best cared for and well mannered that I have ever experienced. Ailsa our guide was excellent. Her care and attention was second to none and nothing was too much trouble for her.


Castellare di Tonda - Italy

Medieval Tuscany Short Break

5 star rating   22 May 2024

Clare (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Great Riding, Great Scenery, Everything We Could've Asked For | The horses are sooooooooooo well trained and responsive we honestly couldn’t believe it. I cannot speak highly enough about the quality of the horses, how well they were cared for and how well we were matched to them. My horse Roomba was fast, which I'd asked for, but didn't have ANY of the qualities you sometimes get with a highly spirited horse, e.g. cheeky, misbehaving. She was perfect, and forward going. For my husband, who has slightly less experience, they paired him with Binoda who took great care of him without having any of the qualities of a traditionally reliable horse - she could go with the best of them, and was also incredibly responsive.

Franco, their trainer - this is clearly his passion and his life and he looks after and trains those horses better than anyone I've ever met. This is his craft and he's amazing at it - the guides would say you could always tell if a horse had recently worked with Franco because they were so soft on the reins, and to have access to horse with this kind of world class training is incredibly rare.

In terms of pace and terrain, there was lots of variety, a good amount of cantering, trotting and up and down hill work - despite there being weather conditions that slightly tempered the amount of terrain we could cover, they were amazing at making sure we got every last ounce of the riding that we could - without ever compromising our safety, of course.

And last but certainly not least - the guides!!!! Ailsa is the best guide I've ever had in my entire life, in any riding capacity. She made it so unique and personal and clearly cared about helping us improve our riding above and beyond just guiding us through the incredible hills and valleys. She even let us play with her German Shepherd and would give us a lift back to big house after a ride, which she absolutely did not have to do. It's cringe, but I would honestly say we made a new friend in Ailsa!!!


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   21 May 2024

Jane who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. So glad we went on this holiday the riding is BRILLIANT | Excellent riding with a huge variety of landscapes. We rode by lakes, by the coast, through jungle, along lanes and over fields. Some steep hills but horses very sure footed.A certain amount of road work to get to places but horses 100% in traffic.Big effort to box horses so could go to different areas.Guides made sure everyone was happy with the pace and would split up if some less confident. Gave us lots of information on local flora and fauna and made it all great fun.

Brilliant way to combine riding, seeing the Island and some cultural trips.The full day lakes ride will never be forgotten, it was stunning.We were lucky to have clear views and sunshine.Note when it does rain you will get seriously wet but we only had 1 wet day out of 6.

Worth a walk to local beach to swim
(Olwen from In The Saddle - We are so glad you enjoyed this wonderful riding holiday in the Azores).


Chianti Castles and Wine Tasting - Italy

Chianti Castles and Wine Tasting

4 star rating   19 May 2024

Deborah who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Chianti castles and wine tasting | The horses were without exception very well cared for, fit and well suited to their role. Our type of horse preferences were accommodated well.
The riding was less varied in pace than expected / hoped for. That said we covered a lot of ground and saw loads.
Some of the saddles were not comfortable- high pommels - my padded pants made a big difference so would recommend.


1017 reviews    1 2 3 32