Reviews
1228 reviews    1 2 3 39
Namib Desert - Namibia
Experience Level

Namib Desert

5 star rating   10 June 2019

Excellent


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Coastal Trail South to North

5 star rating   9 June 2019

The horses were extremely fit and well looked after.
The riding was amazing. Very comfortable saddles and the horses were very well mannered and responsive.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   9 June 2019

Excellent


Transylvania Trail - Romania
Experience Level

Transylvania Trail

4 star rating   8 June 2019

I had two horses during the ride as the first horse was tired by the third day and unable to keep up with the group in gallup.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Kingdom of Thracians

5 star rating   8 June 2019

Exceeded all expectations..brilliant guides, fantastic horses..gloriously varied riding country


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Kingdom of Thracians

5 star rating   8 June 2019

Maria Monica and Rossan were an exceptional team looking after us. Very professional fun and really fun to be with. All the horses were great, the picnics they provided were yummy.

Places we stayed had brat mineral pools and swimming pools plus two very good massages.

Thoroughly enjoyed the riding - I loved my horse Priam. Light mouthed, very comfortable, loved riding him and we passed through some amazing country.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Kingdom of Thracians

5 star rating   8 June 2019

Excellent


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

5 star rating   8 June 2019

There was just one horse that maybe wasn’t a great match but one had gone lame and he was ok and they did look after me.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Coastal Trail North to South

5 star rating   2 June 2019

My horse was the best, loved him! Fantastic match!


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Coastal Trail North to South

4 star rating   2 June 2019

This ride was an enjoyable mix of terrains and countryside, looking particularly lovely in late Spring. I'm also into birding and hearing and seeing birds that are rare in UK was an added pleasure- even if Miguel, our guide, called everything that was not a stork a sparrow. It was also good to have more than one night at some locations so we didn't spend every morning re-packing. The weather was unseasonable hot and keeping adequately hydrated was an issue when their saddlebag only provided space for a single 500ml bottle.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

4 star rating   2 June 2019

Rachel and her team seemed to look after the horses well and were very welcoming and happy to change horses as needed.
The riding described on the web site indicated later starts and riding some country trails. We started early every morning, it was not always hot, and no country trails so the forest riding was a bit repetative, the beach rides were great fun.
[ITS comment: We have followed this up with Los Alamos and they have told us that during your holiday there was extremely high winds which curtailed riding in the open countryside. Each day they have to assess the weather conditions before determining which route is taken and what the ride involves.]


Castle Leslie Estate - Ireland
Experience Level

Riding Programme

5 star rating   2 June 2019

Absolutely met expectations, both horses and instructors.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   1 June 2019

My only minor suggestion would be to introduce other breads at breakfast if possible. As a group we probably wouldn’t normally choose white sliced (like Mother’s Pride)?
[ITS comment: This is very unusual for Ant's as there are normally several options of fresh bread available. After following this up with the lodge it seems that there was a mix up regarding the food orders.]


Rocking Z - Montana
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

4 star rating   1 June 2019

would have loved some longer faster paced rides, but season fitness was not great for the horses just coming out of a snowny spring and other riders were not prepared for such riding. It was really good but just not great.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   1 June 2019

Ant's staff were fabulous at matching us well to horses - not only in terms of ability but also in terms of character. They were incredibly helpful in providing rides of varying speeds and routes, kept us safe and were and also very knowledgeable and entertaining.
[ITS comment: It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed the riding at Ant's Lodges.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   1 June 2019

Excellent


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   1 June 2019

This holiday was fantastic. I loved every minute of it and 100% intend to return at the earliest time I can.
The hosts did everything in their power to ensure all of your needs and requests were met. The food was delicious, the accommodation was absolutely perfect.
The ability to have washing done after a days full riding in the dust meant that packing was manageable.
The horses, rides and safari animals were astonishing. What a brilliant holiday. Thank you so much.


Galiny Palace - Poland
Experience Level

Jump Tuition Programme (up to 100cm)

5 star rating   1 June 2019

Excellent


Relaxed Ride - Azores
Experience Level

Relaxed Ride

5 star rating   1 June 2019

I cannot praise too highly the care and attention taken to ensure that we all had a good riding experience and the right horses for our ability. We had fun but also learnt so much, and rode some fantastic horses. I have previously enjoyed a wide range of fast and challenging trail rides in some amazing places. but this holiday had an extra dimension. I went in a mixed group with my daughter (an experienced rider) and grandson of 9 who had only ridden previously in confined spaces. We could never have imagined the difference a week could make to his riding, with an inspirational instructor who enabled him to test his skills safely. The lesson for everyone on the first day of the holiday is a fantastic idea, in that riding ability is thoroughly assessed and horse choice confirmed, which is so much more effective than trying to match horses to riders on the basis of personal summaries of riding experience. We enjoyed that so much that we requested more, and one of the great features of being at the Quinta is the commitment to visitors and fulfilling as far as possible their wishes each day. We were very lucky in enjoying more lessons as well as wonderful rides out. Nelson was able to provide Oliver with safe and forward going horses so that from day one he was able to join us on rides out of increasing length, with controlled canters, and by the end of the week riding for 3 hours and more taking everything in his stride and loving every minute. This holiday has transformed his riding and given him opportunities and experiences which will transform his enjoyment of riding. And the grown ups had a fabulous time too!!


Old Mulberry - Croatia
Experience Level

Fixed Programme

5 star rating   1 June 2019

It was a little muddier than I expected, due to the uncharacteristic heavy rainfall...I hadn’t packed strong enough waterproofs to cope with the torrential rain.
As a result of the wet ground, we didn’t canter as much as they would normally as some of the other guests weren’t happy cantering on the mud. There was one day when the rain was too heavy for the other guests however thankfully the guide still agreed to take me out on that day’s leg, this was probably my favourite day as we cantered and trotted most of the way as I’m not bothered by slippery mud.

My horse was an absolute sweetheart, only young at 4 years old but so comfy with a lovely temperament and fast.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal
Experience Level

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   1 June 2019

I was paired very well with horses that matched the type of horses i like and were suitable for my ability.

I learnt so much on this holiday working on the dressage movements i wanted to improve and improving my seat etc. They also guided me to had a go at several very difficult high level dressage moves that i never dreamed i would perform, including spanish walk, piaffe and passage, and canter pirouette! It was exhausting physically and mentally but brilliant, I learned loads and had so much fun.


Castellare di Tonda - Italy
Experience Level

Heart of Tuscany

5 star rating   1 June 2019

The horses are very well cared for. The first ride was in the indoor arena to accustom the riders to the Western aids. The terrain is hilly but the horses are very sure-footed. I rode Boy all week, riding two hours per day which worked well as I was able to spend time with my non-riding partner and daughter. The wild flowers are beautiful and I was lucky enough to see a badger and wild boar!


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   31 May 2019

Loved looking out for animals, interspersed with long canters through the bush!


Pantanal Experience - Brazil
Experience Level

Pantanal Experience

5 star rating   30 May 2019

The non riding elements such as canoeing, going out in a boat at dusk, vehicle safari balance the riding element


Monte Velho - Portugal
Experience Level

Monte Velho

4 star rating   26 May 2019

It was nice to have been recognised and I think they remembered the standard we were at. But it would have been nice to have been asked if there was anything you wanted to achieve.


Tuli Trail - Botswana
Experience Level

Tuli Trail

5 star rating   26 May 2019

Very impressed by the quality, training and care of the horses here. I was matched with a lovely horse who was exactly what I requested!


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   26 May 2019

As usual Rachel matched me with a horse that was perfect for me. she also took into account everyones ability and level of comfort and worked with them. an amazing woman with fabulous staff and great horses.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   26 May 2019

Fabulous horses with lovely temperaments. Forest riding with exciting canters and beautiful beach gallops.Always safety conscious and thoughtful matching of horse to rider.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   26 May 2019

Fantastic riding experience in beautiful surroundings


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores
Experience Level

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   25 May 2019

There were two options for this trip, one with slightly more riding than the other. We opted for the lesser option so we had more time to explore the island but our hosts actually gave us more riding than we had booked anyway which was so wonderful! We had different horses each day but they always asked for feedback so we could be matched to ones that suited us. Our riding lesson at the start of the holiday was excellent. Nelson is a fantastic teacher!


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   25 May 2019

It was lovely to have long canters on sand tracks. The guides were very knowledgeable and informative and we weren’t disappointed with our encounters with the wildlife.
[ITS comment: Iti's great to hear that you enjoyed the riding!]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa
Experience Level

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   25 May 2019

Excellent


1228 reviews    1 2 3 39