Reviews
1250 reviews    1 2 3 40
Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   13 October 2019

The rides were perfect for me after I got used to the horse which was kind and very safe and sure footed.


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   13 October 2019

Excellent


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   12 October 2019

It was faster paced than most of the other trails I’ve done, I am glad I did this one. I loved the horse I was matched with & he was so responsive to the slightest touch. Felt completely safe on him. Thoroughly enjoyed myself.

Just be aware you need to be experienced to do this ride.
Excursions were great change as well.


Extremadura - Spain
Experience Level

Monfragüe National Park

2 star rating   12 October 2019

I rode a lovely forward going mare with a sweet temperament. The ride relied on the horses drinking from water we found, during the long days on the trail. Due to the unusual heatwave (four days of 32 to 34 deg C) and drought there was not much water, less grazing at night so they had more hard feed. They had just about started their winter coats. On one day, when we hadn't ridden past water, my horse went downhill, needing a drink. She needed a pain killer injection, rehydration and rest that afternoon. There was not a back up plan with spare water to deal with that. She was fine the next day but I had been worried about her.
Personally, I would have preferred some alteration to the itinerary so we were not out for so long in such heat.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   12 October 2019

I was barely up to the rigors of this ride. It was strenuous with long long canters through the beautiful countryside. But, my daughter and friend were more fit and thus able to enjoy the longer faster pace.
My horse was perfect for me. The family who put on the ride were all genuinely concerned about my safely, comfort and joy. I also loved the tours and the camaraderie among the riders. It was an adventure I will always treasure.


Transylvania Trail - Romania
Experience Level

Transylvania Trail

5 star rating   12 October 2019

The horses were really well cared for, schooled in a menage between trails, so remained fresh and responsive. Very forward going which was a joy. Would have liked more jumping of 'natural obstacles'.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   12 October 2019

This mainly run business was very well organised and thought of in its itinerary. Everyone was very friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. My horse was fit and responsive. The rides pushed me and I felt over the week I became a more confident and comfortable rider. There was loads of riding and it was fast paced, there was nothing boring about any of it. The day excursions were interesting and a nice mix in with the rides.

I felt challenged on this ride which is exactly what I wanted. A good mix of ascents/descents and open plains.


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria
Experience Level

Caves, Waterfalls and Castles of Bulgaria

5 star rating   12 October 2019

Excellent


Okavango Mobile Safari - Botswana
Experience Level

Okavango Mobile Safari

5 star rating   11 October 2019

Amazingly fit horses. Well fed and cared for so you could relax and fully enjoy the experience with your chosen mount.
Seeing all the wonderful wildlife quietly `doing their thing` was extraordinary.
The lead rider instilled so much confidence with his calm, caring approach.


Veláni Country Hotel - Crete
Experience Level

Sun and Riding

5 star rating   10 October 2019

I was a complete beginner and so had one to one lessons with Fleur at Velani. She was great, very patient and encouraging and I made good progress in the week. Unfortunately I fell off the horse on my last day when out on a trek and so arrived home somewhat battered and bruised. In hindsight I suspect the horse I was riding on the trek was not good enough with other horses for me, as a beginner, to be able to control. Despite this, I really enjoyed the holiday and would like to continue riding back home, when I have recovered.


Nile Explorer - Uganda
Experience Level

Nile Explorer

5 star rating   6 October 2019

Great riding - through plantations and small villages! The horses are very well trained for the safaris. They are fit, motivated and with an excellent behaving, even when they are still young.


Round Up - Iceland
Experience Level

October Horse Round Up (1)

5 star rating   6 October 2019

We rode up to three horses a day. The herd was sandwiched between front and back riders. The horses were relaxed because they formed part of a herd but would also listen to individual commands.


South Rhodes Trail - Rhodes
Experience Level

South Rhodes Trail

5 star rating   6 October 2019

The horses were so well cared for and loved, it was lovely to see.


Nile Explorer - Uganda
Experience Level

Nile Explorer

5 star rating   6 October 2019

I have had some excellent experiences with ITS, but this was the best yet! The horses were so well cared for, and as requested mine was certainly forward going but controllable. I have never felt so safe whilst cantering and galloping along sandy tracks, certain that nothing was going to spook my horse, not even the numerous small children who would suddenly appear, particularly when passing schools. Riding through the many villages was fascinating, and the people were so friendly that I almost got repetitive strain injury from so much waving!


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   6 October 2019

Excellent


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   6 October 2019

My horse was not what I’m used to riding and needed kicking on quite a lot but he was very well behaved and responsive so I just switched off at the back of the group most of the time rather than giving him a hard time.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   6 October 2019

All round excellent week, only thing would have been nice would if we could have had canters through open places, not just tracks.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   6 October 2019

Excellent


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   6 October 2019

The trail provided different scenery every day. The horses were mainly forward going but extremely disciplined and a pleasure to ride. Highlights were the half day dolphin watching and the beach ride although due to the tide we couldn’t have a good gallop. This day was clearly a highlight for the horses as well as they were expecting a gallop too.
Miguel and Dennis looked after us brilliantly albeit with military precision.
Long days in the saddle so there was no slacking but the lunch time stops provided great food and ambience.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   6 October 2019

We , The Mane-iacs are a group of 8/10 ladies in age group 50-73 yrs, who have been with In the Saddle on 9 riding holidays. Portugal rates very high....... couldn’t fault anything. The horses were good, interesting terrain and accommodation excellent. We were blessed with good weather too. Miguel was a super guide and Dennis was a good backup. They really looked after us. Thank you.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal
Experience Level

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   6 October 2019

Always a hard question to answer as you never know what to expect. Each day was different enjoyed by all of us. I think we were all expecting to be able to have more of a gallop on the beach but fully appreciated that the sand was far too deep and testing to only have a few short bursts. The horses welfare far more important and it was lovely to ride as the sun rose and hear the Atlantic waves crashing on the beach.


El Bronco - Hungary
Experience Level

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   6 October 2019

All the horses are very happy and clearly well cared for. The trail rides were varied and different each time. We rode through sand dunes, meadows and forests and it was beautiful. There were also plenty of opportunities for long canters.

The horse I was first paired with ('Katy') was a bit too sensitive especially with me being new to western riding so she did take off with me in the arena and I almost fell off. I did stress to the guides when I first mounted that my stirrups were far too long and not secure enough. I know for western riding the stirrups are supposed to be long but I could barely reach them and hence the hiccup in the arena. My horse got changed for me after that and my stirrups were shortened so that I was more comfortable however I would have been perfectly fine with my first horse if I'd been listened to in the first place with regards to the stirrups.

My second horse ('Sandy') was lovely and I rode her for the duration of my trip. During one ride she did take off with me when cantering back towards the ranch however I managed to stop her eventually. Horses, no matter how sensible they are deemed and where you go, they are still unpredictable animals.

I rode with 2 different groups. The first group (about 8 riders) was great however I found it a bit difficult staying one-by-one and in a certain order all the time. Different horses go at different speeds so it was difficult to get a consistent trot or canter going. I mentioned this to one of the guides after a few rides and I was pleased to then be moved to another, much smaller group (4 riders) and I enjoyed these rides a lot more - it was a lot easier to keep a good distance between horses and there was no strict order or one-by-one. These rides were a lot more enjoyable for me and I had the opportunity for some very very long canters!

We had the choice of going into the arena sometimes for some actual lessons which is great. I always chose the trial rides though due to only being there for a few days however if I had been there for longer I would have taken up the offer.

A few of the guides demonstrated some western riding to us and spoke to us about how they train their horses etc. This was a nice touch.

Overall, the riding met my expectations perfectly. 2 hours of riding in the morning and 2 hours in the afternoon was just about enough in one day. The guides were all very lovely and their English was great.


Canyons and Waterfalls - Brazil
Experience Level

Canyons and Waterfalls

5 star rating   5 October 2019

I did the Darwin’s Trail & Canyons & Waterfalls. These are great combo rides for experienced riders. The Darwin’s Trial involves a lot of ascending and descending, so you need to be secure on your horse. My horse, Hercules, was amazing and a great jumper, which I really enjoyed. Some of the accommodation was basic, so be prepared for wet boots, wet clothes with no drying facilities (it poured when we were there). Ending up riding on sunny Buzios beach was a fitting end to the ride. The other ride (Canyons & Wterfalls) is a great contrast, more rolling plains and faster pace and country dirt roads. Scenery was diverse and these two rides gave you a perfect overview of different parts of Brazil.

(Abbie from In The Saddle says: We are so pleased that you enjoyed the Brazilian Odyssey combining the new Darwin's Trail with the Canyons & Waterfalls ride. We were sorry to hear that you encountered such wet weather on the Darwin's Trail. Thank you very much for your feedback about the accommodation and drying facilities, which we have passed on to the ride operator).


Northern Lights Ride - Iceland
Experience Level

Northern Lights Ride

5 star rating   5 October 2019

Riding was beyond my expectations. These horses are extremely well cared for, willing, strong and very competent in their environment. The views were beautiful with the ride carefully planned to get lots of different views of mountains, waterfalls and geysirs. This was my first time riding the Icelandic Horse and I thoroughly enjoyed the Tolt!

There was a beginner on our ride who struggled the first day, but the guide was so kind and supportive that she sorted it out by Day 2. I would suggest though that you will enjoy this ride more if you are not a beginner, but was so pleased to see how much help and kindness the guide was offering the struggling rider.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal
Experience Level

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   5 October 2019

The instructors at Quinta do Rol really take care and anticipate your evolution as a rider during your time at the centre. My learning and progression during my time exceeded anything I could have imagined! The pairing of horses is spot on.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal
Experience Level

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   5 October 2019

The horses and instructors were fabulous. Riding superbly trained, fit and willing Lusitano stallions was an amazing experience. Whilst beautifully trained, they also demanded correct and confident riding to get the best out of them - they exceeded my expectations in every way. They were in tip top condition and obviously very well looked after and loved.

The chief instructor, Pedro, was excellent - he was positive, patient, encouraging and keen to give me new tools to take back home and use when working with my own horse. He carefully chose different horses for me to ride, that would benefit my learning experience and also made sure my holiday ended on a high. All the staff were friendly and professional, calm and well organised. The facilities were also outstanding.


Barichara Ride - Colombia
Experience Level

Barichara Ride

5 star rating   3 October 2019

The riding was challenging, with some very long days in the saddle and some tough terrain. However, the horses were amazing, strong and resilient, in keeping with In The Saddle's ethos. Spare horses travel loose at times, which can lead to some issues but are essential for keeping them all fit.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   3 October 2019

Due to a severe drought, the gallops in water did not happen. That being said, the riding was great with plenty of wildlife. The camp is very nice. I can't imagine a better one, anywhere. The staff was excellent and the food amazing and delicious. Having wild animals, literally, at camp, was a wonderful experience I never tired of. The guides extensive knowledge of wildlife and birds, enriched the experience. A big variety of horses for anyone, provides suitable mounts for all. The horses were taken care of very well, as were we. I'd go back any time, loved it.


Macatoo - Botswana
Experience Level

Riding Safari

5 star rating   3 October 2019

The 2 horses I rode were exactly what I asked for - I loved both of them and wouldn't have changed either of them for the world. The riding was as expected and as described and exactly what I was hoping for. Fantastic!


Los Alamos - Spain
Experience Level

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   29 September 2019

Excellent


Wolves and Wild Horses - Portugal
Experience Level

Wolves and Wild Horses

5 star rating   29 September 2019

Yes it was very good - unusual in that we were up so high and remote, but wonderful that we could see for miles and into Spain. The weather was not too good, but the willing and charming horses made up for that.


Wolves and Wild Horses - Portugal
Experience Level

Wolves and Wild Horses

5 star rating   29 September 2019

Pedro, Is really concerned about all his animals in his care. The horses are well cared for, used to their work and very fit. The speed of riding is very much governed by the terrain most is walking admiring the wonderful wild mountain scenery. Pedro is very relaxed and so calm and patient with his horses and makes the guests feel really well cared for. He is very knowledgeable and happy to inform one all about his horses and the animals which reside in the National Park. It's a great holiday to combine riding with sightseeing and visiting places of interest within a wild national Park. Pedro adjusted the days riding and programme dependent on the weather in the region.


1250 reviews    1 2 3 40