Reviews
759 reviews    1 2 3 24
Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   16 January 2022

Julie who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Safari holiday | All the horses were in lovely condition and all got on with each other too.


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   16 January 2022

Michael who has been on 8 In The Saddle rides. Great | Excellent


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

4 star rating   5 January 2022

Nicola (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Macatoo - The Okavango Delta on horseback is always magical! | Staff were lovely, friendly and knowledgeable, and honestly this made a lot of the trip for me. Katie is great, as is Mod, Bernie, Thabo and Chief. I liked that guides eat and socialise with you beyond riding / guiding. I liked the effort to eat in different locations, and enthusiasm to go out in the car when makes sense (i.e. having seen lions on horseback).
I'd prefer a bit more mixed pace on the riding. It's quite a set formula - 90% walking with a few long canters in the morning or a couple of trots in the evening ride. Horses were also generally wonderful, clearly kept in good healthy condition and happy. Some horses perhaps could benefit from additional schooling.


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   1 January 2022

Caroline (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Macatoo - The most incredible holiday with fantastic horses, stunning wildlife and nature | The riding was fantastic and I was very spoilt in the range of horses I was given. I loved riding them all and they looked after me, but you definitely need to know how to ride as they were forward and sensitive to commands. It exceeded all my expectations and more.


Los Alamos - Spain

Christmas Week

5 star rating   28 December 2021

who has been on In The Saddle rides. Utterly wonderful | The horses were wonderful. Very well behaved and trained, with wonderful personalities. They were chosen very well for each guest. The scenery is fantastic and there was ample opportunities for long canters and gallops. Just perfect!


Footsteps of Lawrence - Jordan

Ride and Visit to Dead Sea

5 star rating   27 December 2021

Jill (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Excellent


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   18 December 2021

Caroline who has been on 15 In The Saddle rides. Azores Green Island Trail - Fantastic ride in a beautiful island | The horses had interesting histories and unique characters, with several having been rescued from difficult circumstances. It was wonderful to see that they had become very good riding horses, highly sensitive and also sensible. They tackled steep hills with no hesitation and were enjoyably relaxed in canter. It's the kind of riding we cannot do in England - lots of climbs and descents and long canters along sand tracks. Bruno, our guide, was remarkably well informed about the local flora and a very entertaining person to spend the day with. He matched us very well to our different riding preferences and styles. It was lovely being able to ride a different horse every day, and also feel sure that each one was getting a good rest after lots of exercise.


Velani Country Hotel - Crete

Sun and Riding

5 star rating   17 December 2021

Juliet who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. A fun and relaxing week with lovely horses, people, scenery and food | I was given Mangas on my first day, I had mentioned I enjoyed riding Icelandic horses and Mangas was about their size! I was pretty nervous as I had not ridden for so long due to lockdown, and Mangas, though he was the Grandma Giles of the equine world, was perfect for me because he just carried on through everything that came his way, sure footed, eager to trot and canter, ignoring any excitement around him, patient with my useless fumbling with his tack and entirely unconcerned with anything that might make a lesser horse shy.

I was really impressed with how fast this little powerhouse walked and easily kept up with the others.

My holiday included 2 hours riding a day and they were very generous with this.

I really enjoyed the rides as they were so interesting, riding up to the cave which we were able to visit inside. (I was impressed with the way the horses were left tethered, probably the safest way I have seen this done.)
Also the ride to the "drowned village" in the lake, up on to the plateau, and through the village which was really fun, as was encountering flocks of sheep with clanging bells and seeing all the different trees. Not to mention 30 griffon vultures coming out of the mist and circling right over our heads.

I really enjoyed the fact we were encouraged to groom, tack up / untack, as I hadn't done this for years and Beau was exceptionally patient in demonstrating this.
The horses were really well cared for and Beau who took us out was among the best guides I have ever had - she was so calm, kind, encouraging - and funny! And of course, always safe.

On my second day I had Olympia, she was a very beautiful mare and had I not been so rusty I would have enjoyed trying more of the horses, but I went back to Mangas from the third day.

The horses happily trot over stony ground that many would baulk at, but they are so used to it...


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   12 December 2021

Rachel who has been on 19 In The Saddle rides. Absolutely perfect | Lovely mix of pottering around the forest with some speedy canters and gallops thrown in, not forgetting the wonderful beach rides.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   10 December 2021

Hanne (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Very well-schooled horses. Fine instruction.
Conversation equipment can be used to advantage when, like me, you come for the first time and have difficulty hearing, translating and understanding the instructions at the pace they come.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

5 star rating   10 December 2021

Line Berg who has been on 7 In The Saddle rides. At Quinta Do Rol in Portugal, you ride different horses to learn to feel the horses and thus improve your riding, but they also listen to your wishes. I rode 4 different horses in 10 lessons. The horses are also specialists in various exercises, so depending on whether you want to train flying changes or traverse, the horse is selected for you.


Donana Trail Ride - Spain

Donana Trail Ride

4 star rating   27 November 2021

Anne Charlotte who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. The riding was very calm, safe and mindful. The horses were easy and well-behaved, and the Spanish Vaquera saddles were great to ride in. We were assigned horses on the first day, and although I dreamed of trying some of the beautiful Lusitanos, there was no way to switch to a new horse along the way.
The local guide could tell about the flora and fauna of Donana which was super exciting. The back-up guide was lively, wonderful and super attentive to us - and linked the group together.
A minor issue was that it did not make a good impression was that the local guide worked on the rides, i.e.. made phone calls, responded to emails and text messages on horseback.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you so much for your valuable feedback about this new ride. I understand that you were able to ride three different horses throughout the week but I am sorry to hear about the guide on the phone. This is something that we will follow up.]


Donana Trail Ride - Spain

Donana Trail Ride

5 star rating   27 November 2021

Anne who has been on 16 In The Saddle rides. A great experience of the Donana national park on horseback. | The different riding style took a while to get used to and the horses didn’t seem as relaxed in walk as I’m used too. Definitely a ride for experienced riders who are willing to adapt to a different style.


Donana Trail Ride - Spain

Donana Trail Ride

5 star rating   27 November 2021

Rachel who has been on 13 In The Saddle rides. Wonderful horses and food | Beautiful forward going Spanish horses, mostly riding on sand tracks though the forest , one day on the beach with wonderful long canters in the sea


Donana Trail Ride - Spain

Donana Trail Ride

5 star rating   27 November 2021

Christopher who has been on 12 In The Saddle rides. Amazing | Beautiful horses with amazing paces


Donana Trail Ride - Spain

Donana Trail Ride

4 star rating   27 November 2021

Katrine Hojfeldt who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. The guide was often unconcentrated about us riders as he had to answer calls and generally fix things on his phone. This meant that he was often unaware of what was happening further back in the group. However, it was a good back-up guide he had with him.


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   26 November 2021

Lucy (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Monte Velho - Riding experience of a lifetime | The school horses were amazing. I experienced GP dressage movements that I had always wanted to do (two time changes, piaffe) on horses that were so generous to a rider who was new to these.


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   25 November 2021

Brian who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Great holiday | Great lessons, but gets a bit crowded when 4 in arena


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   21 November 2021

Rosemary who has been on 38 In The Saddle rides. Consistently good riding and hospitality | My fifth time at Los A, so I knew what to expect. Lovely horses, great people, and a very relaxed atmosphere.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   21 November 2021

Julie who has been on 10 In The Saddle rides. Los Alamos - Fabulous | Excellent


Velani Country Hotel - Crete

Sun and Riding

5 star rating   21 November 2021

Sarah who has been on 14 In The Saddle rides. Great horses and scenery with excellent accomodation. | Excellent


Ol Donyo Lodge - Kenya

Ol Donyo Lodge

5 star rating   19 November 2021

Helge (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Ol Donyo Lodge - Value for money | Nice horses very well mannered. They assess your riding capabilities, and recommend horses according to your taste and skills. The riding was made very safe, with one guide riding in front of you and one in the back.


Los Alamos - Spain

Short Break - Sunday to Thursday

5 star rating   11 November 2021

Katalin (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fabulous | Those who horse riding know, that the most important is to keep both the horses and the riders safe. It was great to see that the ridings were well planned each day, according to the weather circumstances and the condition of the trails.


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   7 November 2021

Wendy who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. long. long canters ! | this ride offers long.long canters along forest and dirt tracks . There are also lots of very long trots too !
in addition to the tracks there are climbs up and down the hills with some lovely views
The horses are very sure footed, reliable and willing, a real joy to ride .


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Dolphin Trail

5 star rating   7 November 2021

Linda who has been on 14 In The Saddle rides. The Amazing Dolphin Trail | More than met my expectations, the canters were so long and controlled as were the trots loved all of it, the horses are strong and very fit


Catalan Coastal Trails - Spain

Mediterranean Trail

5 star rating   7 November 2021

Christine who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Mediterranean Trail in Catalonia at a Gallop - Everything perfect | The riding was fabulous, varied, fast-paced at times. Riders had to keep their distance, some horses needed quite a lot of personal space.


Velani Country Hotel - Crete

Sun and Riding

5 star rating   31 October 2021

Teresa who has been on 14 In The Saddle rides. Olive groves and mountains on horseback - what’s not to like? | So impressed with these tough, happy horses - really enjoying their work and so fit!


Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

5 star rating   31 October 2021

Sara (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) A breath of fresh air | The horses are incredibly fit and sure-footed on the roughest terrain. It was a pleasure to ride them and they were always ready for a canter without ever being too forward-going. The horses are trained to walk fast and much of the ride was at this pace, although we had fast canters/gallops every day. The terrain included tracks through vast forests of beech trees and high mountain grassland pastures, with exceptional scenery and stunning views as far as Greece and Bulgaria. We brought dual purpose hiking/riding boots and these were really useful on rough terrain when we had to lead the horses. We found the Western saddles really comfortable.


Wolves and Wild Horses - Portugal

Wolves and Wild Horses

5 star rating   30 October 2021

Amanda who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous holiday, great experience for my first in the saddle holiday! | Yes the riding more than met my expectations.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   24 October 2021

Synnove who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Perfect week - great horses, good rides, lovely host and wonderful lazy afternoons | Excellent


El Bronco - Hungary

Ranch Stay

5 star rating   23 October 2021

Dan (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Outstanding!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! | The riding tour was wonderful, the host was wonderful, In the saddle was wonderful!
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you for your feedback Dan and it's great to hear you enjoyed the riding.]


Sierra Nevada - Spain

Contraviesa Ride

5 star rating   23 October 2021

Jane who has been on 14 In The Saddle rides. Very enjoyable week riding a beautiful horse in fabulous country side | It was a privilege to be able to ride such a high quality horse for the week. The pace of the ride was completely suited to the terrain. The countryside was stunningly beautiful and varied and we were blessed with sunny, warm and dry weather.


759 reviews    1 2 3 24