Reviews
1190 reviews    1 2 3 38
Sierra Nevada Short Break - Spain

Alpujarra Short Break

5 star rating   29 September 2022

Ebba Weigelt who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. The weather was impeccable - the horse super good and the terrain as I had imagined - so all in all a trip I would like to recommend to others. The fact that it also was an excellent group does not make the experience any worse!
Consideration was given to the work load on the horses going downhill, and they were given adequate rest when going uphill.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   25 September 2022

Anita who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. 5 Star | Absolutely love the horses the wonderful people that look after us, the amazing food, all round fantastic.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed Los Alamos.]


Velani Country Hotel - Crete

Sun and Riding

5 star rating   25 September 2022

Charlotte (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Excellent


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Coastal Trail South to North

5 star rating   25 September 2022

Louisa (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Holiday of a lifetime! | Had the best week in Portugal with Miguel and Anwar. My first riding holiday and it certainly lived up to what I’d been hoping it would be! I travelled solo but met an incredible group of people and felt at home straight away.
The horses were all incredibly well cared for and fit.
We rode through some beautiful scenery, on a variety of tracks and terrain finishing off with the incredible gallop on the beach on our final day at sunrise.
There were long days in the saddle, usually averaging 4-5 hours with a break for a lovely bbq lunch in the middle while the horses were fed, watered and rested. The longest day was 6.5 hours. You therefore definitely need to be riding fit for this one to fully enjoy it!

[In The Saddle replies: Thank you for taking the time to review your holiday. We are so pleased that you enjoyed it].


Sierra De Gredos - Spain

Castles of the Gredos Mountains

5 star rating   24 September 2022

Katie who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Out of this world amazing horses, delicious food, warm and lovely hosts, fabulous accommodation, | The riding was great. I always felt safe. Emilio was calm and professional. The horses were all very well behaved. We had a chance for canters. We could have trotted a bit more but all the walking didn't detract from the holiday. The days were long, we loved the tapas stop and then we rode on for a late lunch, which was always home made and delicious, and then a long siesta and back in the saddle for two more hours and getting to our accommodation about 7:30. This is the Spanish way but not much time for relaxing before dinner.

[Abbie from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for your feedback. I am so glad that you enjoyed your trip.]


Wild Coast - South Africa

Kei River Mini Trail

5 star rating   23 September 2022

Judith who has been on 11 In The Saddle rides. Worth the second trip | Due to very wet weather we had to adapt the trail and therefore did not get to do the long beach gallop. This was an expected amendment but obviously disappointing.
[In The Saddle - you were very unlucky with the weather on your visit to the Wild Coast. I'm glad that overally you enjoyed your adventure. Olwen]


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   21 September 2022

Catherine who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. A fabulous holiday | On the last trail ride, I felt a little out of my depth on the horse I was riding.


Lassithi Trek - Crete

Lassithi Trek

5 star rating   18 September 2022

Debby (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fantastic | Excellent


Nile Explorer - Uganda

Nile Explorer

5 star rating   18 September 2022

Fiona who has been on 10 In The Saddle rides. Amazing riding experience along Nile with fabulous hosts, Natalie and TJ | It is clear that Natalie is 100% committed to the welfare of the horses. All were beautifully trained and in great condition.

[In The Saddle - we are so glad that you enjoyed this wonderful holiday in Uganda]


Balkan Rides - Bulgaria

The Devetaki Plateau

4 star rating   17 September 2022

Berit who has been on 14 In The Saddle rides. Good | My horse had problems with the bridle, nodding his head constantly. On the last day the guide admitted that they needed to try with another bridle for him. Would have been nice if this was dealt with earlier.

In general , the Riding was great! Well aligned group of horses and felt safe all the time. Many long canters but always controlled.

The guide and the hosting family (with all services, lunches, dealing with horses etc) was great! Perfect english knowledge and did their best to please our needs:)


White Stallion Ranch - Arizona

White Stallion Ranch

5 star rating   12 September 2022

Bethan (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) The riding was amazing and if we were ever unsure about certain things as we weren’t familiar with western everyone was keen to help and give advice to make things easier for us.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   12 September 2022

Charlotte who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. A beautiful life experience | I was matched well with the horses, however sometimes it was difficult for me to be placed constantly at the back as the result of a number of other strong personalities who complained a lot. Their riding ability was much poorer so I had to spend a lot of time focused on their erratic riding to keep my experience enjoyable. After 6 consecutive rides I asked to be placed in a different group however as it was change over day the following day was much more enjoyable. I particularly loved the safari and guided elements but unfortunately i couldn't always hear or engage due to the other strong personalities taking precedence. However because I was often at the back I was near the rear guide Texshaw who was always very happy to give me my own tour and I was very thankful for that! The riding itself was wonderful and to ride through the safari animals was incredible


Velani Country Hotel - Crete

Sun and Riding

4 star rating   11 September 2022

Katherine who has been on 11 In The Saddle rides. Velani Hotel, Crete - gentle riding and a beautiful view | The riding was very steady and the terrain was demanding on the horses. Very rough going and concrete roads. Cantering on hard road surfaces. Lots of walking up and down the steep hills. Fabulous views but very similar every day. The horses really knew their job but were rather bored and robotic. Good for the not-so-experienced.

[In The Saddle replies: Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your holiday. We appreciate your constructive comments].


Tsylos Lodge - British Columbia

Lodge Horseback Riding

4 star rating   11 September 2022

Shirley who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. The riding was much harder and faster than expected. If I’d been fit enough it would have been better.


Tsylos Lodge - British Columbia

Lodge Horseback Riding

5 star rating   11 September 2022

Alison (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) The holiday was fantastic.
The staff were all lovely and so helpful, chatty, interesting and experienced.
The horses were amazing - mine was so trustworthy and a great match for my experience while challenging me a little on the harder terrain.
The accommodation was excellent, a two bedroom each ensuite lodge with a lovely wee sitting room with a decking area outside - we did encounter mice in the cabin but these were to be expected given the location and the staff did their best to control them.
The scenery was amazing - from the 7,000 feet high mountain to the river's edge, it was out of this world, and the weather 4th to 11th Sept'22 was great.
The wild life was just amazing - we saw grizzly bears, bald and golden eagles, falcons, fox, chipmunks, salmon jumping, trout being caught by the fishermen.....just amazing.
The riding was great - the terrain was a bit more challenging than I thought, narrow mountain paths for some of the cantering, but a few lovely and open spaces for us to have great free and relaxed canters too, leading the horses down the mountain on one ride due to the stone underfoot was a bit daunting but I survived unscathed. Would definitely say this riding is not for novices and I, a competent intermediate, was just able to keep up, but I did ask for shorter rides on the last 2 days due to the anticipated nature of the terrain for canters - narrow up & down mountain trails - which they were happy to accommodate.
But really was a great, adventurous holiday, memories to treasure and I would definitely recommend it to competent experienced riders.


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   11 September 2022

Halina who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Epic! | All the horses were fit for their job and well cared for. The riding was fast and technical at times (with obstacles to navigate such as steep up and down hills, rocks and low hanging trees - making the riding fun and challenging). My horse suited me well; Horizon had clearly listened to the type of horse I liked to ride and matched me to a suitable horse. There was also the opportunity for a test ride after which a horse could be swapped.


Wolves and Wild Horses - Portugal

Wolves and Wild Horses

5 star rating   10 September 2022

Ella-Louise Wennerberg (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) If you expect to come to a top tuned stable where everything is posh and is about prestige, then I would recommend that you choose another travel destination.
At Pedro, Anabela and Mariana, the horse's welfare is top priority, and you are matched with the horse you will ride during the week, among other things on the basis of chemistry with the individual horse.


White Stallion Ranch - Arizona

White Stallion Ranch

5 star rating   10 September 2022

Kelly (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Very good | Hi the riding was very good but that was if you had a wrangler who knew the horses well and could place them correctly in line and u also got people who could ride and didn't keep slowing up. Some riders only ride once a year at the ranch and have to hold the saddle to stop themselves falling and they were on the fast rides. But overall it was amazing.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Atlantis Ride

5 star rating   10 September 2022

Patricia who has been on 15 In The Saddle rides. Wonderful Scenery, beautiful accommodation and well looked after horses | The initial horse I was given was very lazy, so rather hard work. Then they gave me a more forward going horse, unfortunately he had girth galls so had to take time off. By the Thursday I was given a horse I enjoyed riding. Horses all well cared for, and obviously loved. Tintin (her nickname) our guide, always asked how we got on with our horses. She tended to do quite a fast ride but always asked what kind of ride we wanted. Christina was excellent in organising the riding and programme around the weather which was not that great during our week. Just a shame that the cloud was so low on the final ride around the rim of the extinct volcano that we were riding in fog!!! Very disappointing.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   8 September 2022

Elizabeth who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Five star riding safari | The riding was superb, plenty of fast canters but also time taken by the excellent guides to allow us to view the wildlife and learn about the flora and fauna. The horses were impeccably behaved and completely at ease up close to the wildlife, the pace was tailored perfectly to each person’s abilities.


Hestasport Escapes - Iceland

Home at Hestasport

5 star rating   8 September 2022

Sue (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Best holiday | Our guides , Sarah and Liz from Hestasport were terrific and made the 3 days thoroughly enjoyable. The colleagues in the office were also very welcoming and we enjoyed hot chocolate and the Icelandic horse film. I think our party of 6 came away with. Dry special memories and a huge respect for the Icelandic horses.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for your feedback. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed riding the Icelandic Horses.]


Hestasport Escapes - Iceland

Home at Hestasport

5 star rating   8 September 2022

Kerry (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) One of the best holidays ever! | The riding exceeded all of my expectations. The horses were incredible, very willing, jolly but safe - they made us smile every day!
The riding was on tracks, across grassy plains, through river delta's and up mountains. We walked, tolted and galloped.
We helped tack up (although weren't expected to) the horses were very well cared for and the stable area was clean and tidy. All of the tack was in reasonably good condition.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: It's great to hear you had such a great holiday and thank you very much for giving us your feedback.]


Monte Velho - Portugal

Monte Velho

5 star rating   8 September 2022

Peta (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Utterly perfect! | The riding more than met my expectations! The horses were incredible and the instruction was of the highest quality. I hadn't ridden at the level I was aiming at for thirty years (!), but am still on a high from what I achieved. I honestly can't wait to go back.


Damara Ride - Namibia

Damara Elephant Safari

5 star rating   5 September 2022

Vivien who has been on 35 In The Saddle rides. Damaraland - stunning | I was matched with the perfect horse for me (Schnapps) and rode her everyday throughout the holiday. The scenery was unbelievably breath-taking, so beautiful and vast it's hard to describe. We did some fast canters and gallops when the landscape opened out which were so much fun. Couldn't keep the smile off my face (inner cowgirl definitely emerged!). The other guests were great company too, all topped off by the new addition of little Woody, the camp puppy who joined us for this ride.

[Abbie from In The Saddle replies: I am so pleased that you enjoyed your return visit to Namibia. It is such a special experience - thank you for taking the time to share your feedback].


Alentejo Trails - Portugal

Bottlenose Trail

4 star rating   4 September 2022

Bridie who has been on 14 In The Saddle rides. Bottlenose Trail Portugal - Trial Ride | Yes that's right...trial not trail!
Long hours in the saddle with long trots and even longer canters. I had worried about my fitness level as I hadn't been riding as much as usual due to my aged horse. However my prep, a few weekly lessons a local stable, turned out to be an adequate top up. Sadly some of the other riders didn't do so well and suffered with pain and saddle sores. Make sure to take advice from ITS and be as ride fit as you can be. Then you can enjoy the whole experience and beautiful scenery... along with the challenge of approx 170 km on horseback.
The horses knew their jobs and were totally professional. Quiet, easy but on the whole very willing.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   4 September 2022

Katherine who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous horses, stunning scenary and great hospitality | I visited Los Alamos with my daughter and good friends. Los Alamos holds a special place in our hearts and memories of a very dear friend.
We had a wonderful week and Rachel as always matched us to suitable horses. I rode Gordi and Hercules who were both absolute gentleman but also fast and fun rides.
The scenary as you ride through the forest, along the coast and on the huge beach is stunning. Much of the riding is at a steady pace so you can take it all in but there are also some very fast and exhilarating gallops. Cantering and galloping through the forest in darkness to get to the beach for sunset was an amazing experience!
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your return to Los Alamos.]


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   4 September 2022

Karon who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Didn’t want to come home | The accommodation was lovely very comfortable and you are made to feel very welcome. The food was amazing, couldn’t fit into one of my dresses by the end of the week! How Rachel matches you with a horse is incredible just from a small informal chat. The riding is fast but you feel so safe on the horses as they know their job. The scenery is beautiful and everyday you see something new. Will be back for sure.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   4 September 2022

Julie (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Truly Magical | The guides knew the terrain so well, they made every ride magical - the scenery was breathtaking, riding on the beaches and through the National Park was idyllic.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: We are so pleased you enjoyed your time at Los Alamos, thank you for leaving us feedback.]


Tsylos Lodge - British Columbia

Lodge Horseback Riding

5 star rating   4 September 2022

Tracey who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Tsylos - Stunning location and exhilarating riding | Super horses. Very fit, well cared for and well fed. Riding was suitable for experienced riders.

Our riding guide, Anna, was a huge contributor to us having the very best riding experience. Personable warm and engaging.


Highland Trails - Iceland

Snæfellsnes Beach and Mountain Ride

5 star rating   3 September 2022

Karena who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Amazing adventure | Riding was superb the horses were loved and part of the Icelandic family as were we. The guide made an extra effort to suit me to each horse and the riding was awesome. Would recommend to anyone and would certainly go back!

We rode in beaches and across lava fields some of the most beautiful countryside I’ve ever seen. Strong sturdy and sure footed speedy horses !

Love loved it!


Wolves and Wild Horses - Portugal

Wolves and Wild Horses

5 star rating   3 September 2022

Ed (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fantastic | OMG what a ride. The scenery and pace of the ride was perfect. Thank you Mariana for being a tremendous guide, and to Pedro for having such outstanding horses.


Miyak Tribe Trail - North Macedonia

Miyak Tribe Trail

5 star rating   28 August 2022

Kate who has been on 9 In The Saddle rides. Stunning Macedonia, exciting and amazing trial riding and life experience | The riding exceeded expectations. Every terrain and some steep climbs up and down along with faster paces where possible. Wonderful mountain horses and saddle saver really helped with long days riding!


1190 reviews    1 2 3 38