Reviews
1155 reviews    1 2 3 37
Horses, Dunes & Nomads - Morocco

Horses, Dunes & Nomads

5 star rating   5 January 2020

It was the 4th time for my husband and me that we booked a ride in Morocco. There always have been the same four men who guided the tour, groomed the horses, drove the trucks and prepared the food; it is so nice the see how well they work together as a team, there is never a loud word but a lot of laughter and joy.

We had nine stallions with us, some of them were more difficult to handle than the others. Here again there was never a loud word, they were handled very calmly.

(ABBIE FROM ITS: We are so pleased that you enjoyed your fourth visit to Morocco. It is a special place and we can understand why you choose to return).


Los Alamos - Spain

New Year Week

5 star rating   5 January 2020

This trip exceeded my high expectations. The terrain was fabulous and the hosts and fellow regulars extremely warm and friendly. The riding was pacey and exciting. The day out at Jerez was interesting.

A note to myself is that as per the weight limit advertised, I'd definitely want to be trimmer before returning as the Spanish horses are beautiful and delicate.


Los Alamos - Spain

New Year Week

5 star rating   5 January 2020

The riding was fast and fun but always felt safe.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   28 December 2019

I loved all the horses I was given to ride. They each had their own personality and were all responsive, willing and relaxed about pretty much everything we encountered.


Learn to Ride in a Week - Azores

Learn to Ride in a Week

5 star rating   28 December 2019

Exceeded my expectations.


Atlantis and Green Island Trail - Azores

Green Island Trail

5 star rating   14 December 2019

Lovely mixture between long fast paced canters and relaxing walks where you wouldn't want to go to fast as the scenery is so beautiful. Our guide "Nelson" catered for all standards while making sure horses were content. He works extremely hard and never shows any crack of exhaustion! His care and attention to detail is exquisite.

Only hold back was one of the riders was a little weaker than the rest, so waiting was sometimes needed.

There are a lot of steep steep hills so if you are going on this ride - I would advise practising light seat if you can't already!

Horses themselves we almost all rescues - with journals of their back stories which Christina has so beautifully put together, are all perfectly suited to the tasks given. Whether you are more experienced, a bit nervous or not so sturdy on the saddle they have a horse for all!


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   9 December 2019

Not all of the horses was a good match. But. I wanted to bring the last one at Ant's Hill with me back home. HIS name? Mokabena??


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   8 December 2019

The riding was just as described by Sarah. Long swinging canters and fantastic close sightings of wildlife. Stunning scenery and was fun popping over some logs.


Canyons and Waterfalls - Brazil

Canyons and Waterfalls

4 star rating   7 December 2019

Really good and safe horses, but enough to look after for them with my 90 kg.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   6 December 2019

The riding suited our abilities and wishes apart from one morning when the guide set too fast a pace making the horses over excited and competitive and difficult to control. We drew this to the attention of the senior staff at Ant's Hill and they undertook to retrain the guide in question who had behaved in a similar way quite recently. We found the guides at Nest to be generally more sociable, helpful and informative about the wildlife and environment than those at Hill.


Hacienda Zuleta - Ecuador

Hacienda Zuleta

5 star rating   4 December 2019

A hugely enjoyable trip.

The vast majority of riders visiting Zuleta are beginners; I was the only experienced rider for the entire 10 days I was there. This had a considerable upside as it meant every day just myself and my 2 guides set out (Jose lead guide with no English, and Mauricio the English-speaking guide). We all had an absolute blast going on routes they had never been before - always great fun in stunning scenery.

The best ride (Ventana Grande plus The Towers), was one of the best day rides I have ever done. This route was a massive adventure, riding at 4,000m in stunning scenery, but it was very tough on both rider and horse, so for adventurous and experienced riders only.

I also had the pick of all 3 horse they describe as ‘advanced ‘ (Martina, Caracol II, Canela) and all were a joy to ride. The rides I ended up doing were better than the 10 night trail ride I did in Ecuador a few years ago.


Moolmanshoek - South Africa

Riding Holiday

5 star rating   3 December 2019

We are very very happy of our riding vacation at Moolmanshoek! We are both experienced riders and we have to say that the horses at Moolmanshoek are the best we ever ride! Very well trained horses, well responsive and quite! The guides are amazing ad well and the tracks we did were different every day!


Bahia Beach Ride - Brazil

Bahia Beach Ride

5 star rating   30 November 2019

I have never experienced such joy while being in the saddle riding a horse - I literally had tears of joy in my eyes during several moments. For example on the beach in tropical Bahia and riding along the canyons and waterfalls surrounded by so much beauty. It was a dream come true and I had to keep reminding myself where I was!!

The horses were faultless. They had a lovely nature, temperament and boy did they have stamina and endurance.

Whoever trains them has to be commended - the horses are so calm and beautiful to ride, each and everyone of them - I want a Criollo !!


Lesotho Expedition - Lesotho and South Africa

Lesotho Expedition

5 star rating   30 November 2019

The riding was challenging in places due to the terrain. There were periods most days where we had to lead our horses on the steeper, often rocky, mountain tracks. The horses were amazing; fit, sure-footed and completely comfortable in the mountains. I trusted my pony completely to navigate her way up and down the mountain passes. There were opportunities to canter every day, where the terrain allowed.


Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

4 star rating   29 November 2019

All the horses were well schooled, but some were better than others in gaits and agility. The boxes were a little small for some of the horses. The tack ranged from "good condition to easier worn." I was challenged on my riding skills that I can use on the horses at home in Denmark. This is not the last time I book a holiday with Rid & Rejs.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   29 November 2019

Excellent


Assam Tea Gardens - India

Heritage Ride with Arunachal Pradesh

5 star rating   28 November 2019

A second horse was arranged after the first did not suit me, and after that I really enjoyed the riding. It was very clear that the horses were cared for to the highest standard and we saw the stables where they live when they are not out on rides. They are used for other equestrian activities, such as show jumping there. The riding was enhanced by being able to see the local people in the tea plantations, the children who came out to wave to us and a group of students who wanted to talk.
The horses are extremely good in traffic - not that there is any of them once you are in the plantations themselves.


Ultimate Uruguay - Uruguay

Ultimate Uruguay

5 star rating   27 November 2019

The riding wasn’t very exciting, but was pleasant once you got used to the riding style. It was a fantastic way to see the country and very laid back.


Ultimate Uruguay - Uruguay

Ultimate Uruguay

5 star rating   27 November 2019

It took me a day or two to adjust to the Uruguay gaucho style of riding (different from other gaucho/western riding I've done) but it was a great way to see a beautiful country. The beaches, especially in the Rocha province, were absolutely stunning and we did the most chilled out, relaxed canters I've ever done on a beach.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   25 November 2019

The rides were great, the guides chose the best times of the day to avoid the real heat of the day and to ensure the horses were cared for.


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   24 November 2019

Excellent


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   24 November 2019

The horses are a dream, beautiful Spanish horses perfectly matched to each rider, Rachel is a genius at knowing which would suit you best.


Fin del Mundo - Argentina

Mitre Peninsula

5 star rating   23 November 2019

This ride has varied terrain and pace. Adolfo had the perfect combination of safe rider restraint without being overly controlling. I thoroughly enjoyed this ride experience.


Fin del Mundo - Argentina

Mitre Peninsula

5 star rating   23 November 2019

The riding was a good combination of slow and fast with a bit of climbing thrown in for good measure. Excellent. Good to have had the same horse for the whole trip as that builds a bond and confidence and allows for more independent riding which gives an amazing sense of freedom.


Wait A Little - South Africa

Ride and Dine Safari

4 star rating   23 November 2019

The riding was described as pacy with jumps. It wasn't which gave us one extremely awkward day when the issue was raised and dealt with aggressively and in a very confrontational way by the owners.

I am unsure exactly what happened but to me that day...on an expensive holiday …. was wasted and deeply unpleasant

I don’t expect hosts to shout at their guests! I do expect a holiday to match descriptions


Wait A Little - South Africa

Ride and Dine Safari

5 star rating   23 November 2019

The horses were amazing and extremely well cared for.

The pace was a lot slower than advertised in the holiday description….. Although we did eventually get to canter along the tracks there was no fast riding or jumping.

[Olwen from In The Saddle adds - gallops are rare and the only jumping would be should there be a small log in your path. We are sorry if we misled you on this].

Ray is a very different guide to Rusty who no longer works there and so the style and pace of the riding has changed dramatically. This is fine but it may be worth changing the description so people know what to expect. Had we known this in advance then expectations of a very fast ride would not have been so high and the whole problem might not have occurred.

The animal sightings from the horses exceeded all expectations and our guide Ray was amazing- such a knowledgeable young man with a total love of all things in the bush- I learnt a lot and it was really interesting riding with him learning about tracking and all the animals.
In no way am I complaining about Ray as a guide- he is awesome and I’d happily ride with him again any time, But as I said above he is a lot slower than Rusty!)


Wait A Little - South Africa

Ride and Dine Safari

4 star rating   23 November 2019

The riding is different as the countryside is dense and careful riding is required. I felt that we were treated like learner riders with little thought of the fact that we may know what we were doing and that we did have considerable past knowledge behind us. The guide is a young budding natural horseman and is keen to impress and the follow at the rear girl is a student keen to pick fault as she is a budding dressage rider/showjumper, unfortunately with no knowledge of cross country riding. Rather spoils the feel of the ride. The discription in your itinery says long fast canters and that they can be long in duration so require to be fit. Ray our guide did not like more than a walk we did canter very short canters but because they were start stop it became untidy to keep organised.

[Olwen from In The Saddle writes - we have spoken to Wait A Little about your feedback. They have told me that there was a lot of rain prior to your holiday which made it very slippy in the first couple of days and so made faster riding impossible. Wait A Little have also explained that their impression was that some of the group were very happy with the slower pace.
Everyone has commented that Ray was a great guide and that you had amazing sightings, which of course would not have been possible if you had been going very fast].

As a guide Ray was amazing, maybe a chancer with the wildlife but we learnt an awful lot from him.


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa

African Explorer

5 star rating   22 November 2019

Definitely to be recommended


Alcainca - Portugal

Riding Holiday

5 star rating   19 November 2019

Instruction was brilliant. You often are asked to do things whilst riding, carry your hands at a certain height, sit on this or that seat bone, but not often are the effects of the aids explained in detail. George was excellent at doing this. I enjoyed his and Renato's lessons very much and look forward to a return visit.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   18 November 2019

As with our previous trip to Ant's, the riding was exceptional - varied and exciting. The guides were engaging, entertaining and knowledgable. The quality , variety and preparation of the horses was outstanding and the team went to great lengths to match horses, riders and groups to ensure we all got the best from our rides.


Lesotho Expedition - Lesotho and South Africa

Lesotho Expedition

5 star rating   18 November 2019

This is a fantastic ride with a good amount of time in all paces. Some brilliant long canters on lovely terrain, the horses on our ride were all strong, sure footed, polite and trustworthy - total heroes.

The landscape is beautiful and different every day - with good, clean and comfortable accommodation every night, even when basic.

The team were amazing - absolutely nothing was too much trouble - friendly and welcoming (I am a solo traveller and never felt at a loose end), excellent company and a lot of fun. The guides were very knowledgable about the country and its history (I learnt a lot), about the mountains and about the horses. They looked after the horses brilliantly.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   17 November 2019

Early in the week we found the riding a little too focused on long canters and then over an hour of walking. However, once we mentioned we would prefer shorter canters and shorter periods of walk changes were made and the result was superb. Plenty of close up animals and fantastic riding.
[Becky from In The Saddle replied: It's great to hear you enjoyed the riding :-)]


1155 reviews    1 2 3 37