Reviews
1109 reviews    1 2 3 35
Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   29 January 2023

Rachel who has been on 22 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous horses, hosts and setting | The skill they have in matching each rider to a horse that suits their needs and wishes always amazes me. 100% success rate yet again, we all had the perfect mix.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   17 January 2023

Margaret who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. What can I say-just amazing! | We all found perfect horses suited to our ability-particularly for Steve who hadn’t ridden since we were last at Ants in 2017 and he is not an experienced rider -he found Morocco who was such a gem. Steve rode every ride morning and evening and really enjoyed it!
We had a lovey mix of some fast rides with Ant and some more relaxed. Sophie adored Jack and Fugly and especially the speedy rides!
The horses were all amazingly looked after -a credit to Amanda


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   16 January 2023

who has been on In The Saddle rides. Absolutely fantastic in every way | I am always in an odd group as I am quite experienced but I don’t want to go on a flat out gallop all the time. I like to have a ride that includes lots of game viewing and information. So sometimes I fall between the groups and have to choose - either exhaust myself and go on the ‘fast ride’ or go on the slow ride and have much shorter canters etc. I chose the slower and I had a lovely time. I would probably chose to go a bit faster and canter a bit longer but I made my choice and I had the best time. I had a fabulous horse - a Boerperd who used to be one of the fasted but is getting a bit older and he was amazing ..as fast as I wanted and completely controllable and (very important) very comfortable.
We went as a group of 2 friends and we couldn’t have had better companions in the Gorvett family. We got on brilliantly and enjoyed each other’s company.
The team at Ants Nest were amazing. The food was the best ever - delicious and so much of it. The guides were fantastic and we saw the animals so close up.
Everything was absolutely wonderful - the best holiday yet.
Thank you


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   16 January 2023

Carol who has been on 13 In The Saddle rides. Fifth visit - I think that says it all! | Fabulous horses and great rides


Horizon Horseback - South Africa

Horizon

5 star rating   3 January 2023

Mandy who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Brilliant riding, food and accomodation | Excellent


African Explorer - Botswana and South Africa

African Explorer

5 star rating   30 December 2022

Lesley who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Holiday of a lifetime | I was given a beautiful thoroughbred mare in South Africa who was an absolute joy to ride, fit and forward going with a wonderful temperament and amazingly sure footed. Our guide Anneen was brilliant, professional, well informed, extremely hardworking and excellent company, she went above and beyond to ensure we all had a truly enjoyable experience.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: It's wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your holiday.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   29 December 2022

Lucy who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. A trip to remember | Enjoyment of the rides does depend on making sure that all riders are of as equal a level of experience - Ants guides did this well ( probably helped there being 4 of us and 6 being the most sent out together). Speed of rides depended of lead guide somewhat - so those we went out with more frequently tended to be better.
Variety of horses was impressive. Their level of fitness and general health seemed very good. Tack good.


Los Alamos - Spain

Christmas Week

4 star rating   27 December 2022

Rosemary who has been on 41 In The Saddle rides. The usual! Relaxing riding with lovely canters and gallops on great horses! | My sixth time at Los A - my 4th at Christmas - albeit over a period of 20 years. So I know what to expect! Very friendly and relaxed. Approx 3-4 hours riding per day, on lovely horses, much of it quite leisurely, but with several canters and the occasional gallop on the tracks/fire breaks in the forest, and on other days maybe an early start to go down to the beach to catch the tide for exhilarating canters and gallops at the water's edge. A break for lunch and then a short ride home. Plenty of time to chill before supper. Perfect relaxing holiday break.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   13 December 2022

Anya who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Best holiday yet 🙂 | Horses, guides, rides all 10 out of 10
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: This is great to hear!]


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   9 December 2022

Linda who has been on 20 In The Saddle rides. Botswana Macatoo - Amazing horseback safari | All expectations met. Mod has again excelled himself in matching us with wonderful horses that suited us perfectly. Great care was also taken to match our riding expectations and that of the group of 10 (mostly far more adventurous than us) who were there at the same time as us - not an easy feat! Everyone seemed happy.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   7 December 2022

Christopher who has been on 10 In The Saddle rides. A wonderful riding safari | We liked all the horses we rode but thought the ones at Nest were particularly good - forward going and responsive but always obeyed the guides' signals when cantering. Our favourites were Pumbaa and Leo. We also thought Nest had more guides so the rides were more varied as a consequence. We especially enjoyed our rides with Sehkiri, Kiara, Hannah and Ali. We liked Moses at Hill - he is an excellent guide and took us on many different routes around the reserve which made the rides very interesting and varied. Ginger was also good but we only had the 2 guides while at Hill.
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for your feedback and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your return to Ant's Lodges.]


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   5 December 2022

Janet who has been on 16 In The Saddle rides. An Amazing Experience | The riding was over some rough terrain with rocks among the tall clumps of grasses. Sometimes up and down steep slopes and through small streams. The views at the top were panoramic. It was incredible to ride over a varied landscape without meeting any other humans - dog walkers, cyclists or hikers!!! The rides were geared to the level of the rider slow or faster for the more experienced. Mainly walking but with long canters for those that wanted them. The gauchos (Argentinians) and guides (mainly English girls 21+) were all very helpful.


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   5 December 2022

Sue who has been on 8 In The Saddle rides. ABSOLUTELY OUTSTANDING | The rides were varied and always interesting and as a rather rusty rider, I appreciated going on the slow rides. The horses are superb, very well looked after and unbelievably sure footed on the rugged terrain. I rode five different horses, Paso and Criollo and cannot praise them enough. The views on the estancia from whichever direction you go are incredible especially riding to the 'Top of the World' outlook. The gauchos and guides looked after us all the time without fail. I have rarely felt so comfortable riding (after a gap of over 30 years) and confident in the ability of my horse to look after me. Some of the terrain is challenging but these horses never wavered. Most are bred on the estancia and are a tribute to Kevin Begg and his breeding policies.


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   5 December 2022

Michael (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Los Potreros | What a fantastic experience and Argentina is great and amazing country to visit!!

The estancia, the horses, the food were all amazing. Kevin and Georgia are fantastic hosts as are all the guides and gauchos who made sure we had the best experience and did everything possible to make us feel comfortable, and to make the our stay fit our personal wishes.


Macatoo - Botswana

Riding Safari

5 star rating   3 December 2022

Susan (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Close observation of animals from horseback with relaxing camp comfort. | Able to ride out in all directions from the camp and only once saw any other safari groups and that was right at the far edge of the jeep's range.
The guides went to great lengths to ensure we saw a lot of wildlife, passed on a lot of information but were not shouting commands and instructions. Loved the hand signs given for the animals spotted and change of pace.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   2 December 2022

Annette who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Just Fab! | All of the horses were lovely; even Morocco who I fell off after he went from fast canter to dead stop after grounding himself in the sand!

The tack was in good condition and very comfortable.

The guides were AMAZING 🙂 Very knowledgable with good senses of humour and could spot an animal a mile away!


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   2 December 2022

Annette who has been on 6 In The Saddle rides. Magical | The horses are wonderful, so well cared for and genuine. The team know their horses and are very good at matching people with horses.


Tierra del Fuego - Argentina

Mitre Peninsula

5 star rating   1 December 2022

Anna who has been on 5 In The Saddle rides. Tierra del Fuego - A fantastic adventure in a wild and remote place | The horses were incredible - so responsive, and confident on the trickiest of terrains.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   30 November 2022

Joy who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Outstanding! | The riding and variety of terrain far exceeded my expectations. Tha guides were so knowledgeable about the area and horse welfare was paramount with regular access to water


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   30 November 2022

Karen who has been on 8 In The Saddle rides. The Best Visit Yet! | Exceeded expectations


Footsteps of Lawrence - Jordan

Bedouin Trails and Dead Sea

5 star rating   28 November 2022

Amy who has been on 10 In The Saddle rides. Rewind and repeat - I’d go again tomorrow! | Absolutely. Not everyone had experience riding in a group but Osama did a great job educating. Riding Amira I was usually in front and seeing the scenery through her ears took my breath away. Letting her out during our race was a highlight - I think she could have gone for miles at speed.


Quinta do Rol - Portugal

Quinta do Rol

4 star rating   28 November 2022

Claudia who has been on 11 In The Saddle rides. Quinta do Rol - A very nice and good place for riding Lusitano horses. | Good


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   27 November 2022

Judith who has been on 13 In The Saddle rides. Hospitality professionals | My knees would always appreciate a bit of trotting.


Horizon Horseback - South Africa

Horizon

5 star rating   26 November 2022

Philippa who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Horizon - so much fun! | The riding was excellent, a great mix of wildlife spotting and canters through varied terrain and, for those who wanted to do it, jumping. The horses were great, forward going but I felt comfortable riding every single one they put me on.

[Abbie from ITS replies: Thanks so much for taking the time to tell us about your holiday. We're so pleased you had such a wonderful time at Horizon].


Skeleton Damara Ride - Namibia

Skeleton Damara Ride

5 star rating   21 November 2022

Susan who has been on 4 In The Saddle rides. Adventurous, exciting, inspiring and humbling | The riding was often thrillingy fast and we had regular canters. We went up and down steep rocky slopes often and along ridges. On the flats there was SO much room in many places for us all to spread out that it often felt like you had the desert to yourself. I have my own horse and ride often at home and I found it challenging at times. But in a really good way. My horse was amazingly fit for the job and made the riding easier for me. Did the riding meet expectations? No, it exceeded them!
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for your feedback and we are so happy that you enjoyed your adventure in Namibia.]


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Hill

5 star rating   21 November 2022

who has been on In The Saddle rides. Ants Hill - Amazing | Really good. Lovely horses and knowledgeable guides.


Skeleton Damara Ride - Namibia

Skeleton Damara Ride

5 star rating   21 November 2022

Emily who has been on 22 In The Saddle rides. An adventure along the Skeleton Coast of Namibia | Excellent


Estancia Los Potreros - Argentina

Estancia Los Potreros

5 star rating   21 November 2022

Joanna who has been on 3 In The Saddle rides. Los Potreros Argentina - This holiday provided bucket list memories that weren't even on my bucket list! | Returning to the same place I loved in under a year, I was doubtful whether it would live up to my expectations and be as truly amazing second time... it absolutely exceeded my expectations! The riding was superb and I found myself having bucket list moments that I didn't even know were on my bucket list - riding across the estancia in the heat to jump into a beautiful rock pool, hidden away where we swam and relaxed whilst the horses dozed with the Gaucho. I rode some previous favourite horses again and lots of new ones. Georgia knows my riding style and horse tastes so well that when she brought out the beautiful grey Peruvian horse, Aguito proclaiming "I think this might be love for you" she was 100% right! The quality of riding was brilliant, I can't think of a better place to ride!


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   20 November 2022

Jane (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Fabulous | The riding met my expectations.
The guides were very good - Mpho (lead) and Poloco (second guide were engaged and knowledgeable (horses, schedule, history, changes to plan - flooding of Limpopo, Motloutse, Mojali and Majele rivers ) and Poloco had exceptional knowledge fo the plant life) .
[Becky from In The Saddle replies: Thank you very much for your feedback and we are so pleased you enjoyed riding in the Tuli]


Tuli Safari - Botswana

Tuli Safari

5 star rating   20 November 2022

Robyn (this is their first In The Saddle holiday) Absolutely Incredible! | The riding was excellent - my horse was wonderful! Exceeded expectations


Los Alamos - Spain

Villa Based Ride

5 star rating   20 November 2022

Rachel who has been on 22 In The Saddle rides. Fabulous in every regard | Rachel has a genuine gift for matching riders with the right horse for them, the whole group were perfectly matched, no easy task. I rode Paloma and Galeno this time and they were absolutely perfect for me, loved them!!!

Jose and Roberto look after you on the ride, and check that all are happy and there is a great mix of gentle pottering around with some lovely fast riding mixed in.


Ant's Lodges - South Africa

Ant's Nest

5 star rating   20 November 2022

David who has been on 2 In The Saddle rides. Outstanding | Excellent


1109 reviews    1 2 3 35